Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

40 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

40 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 39 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
Frigidaire_AC
4/12/2011

Customer review by jvawter

4.0 stars 4/12/2011 by jvawter
by jvawter

The unit operates very quietly for a 12,000 BTU unit. The features are ample for quiet and comfortable operation. It rolls very nicely on carpeting as well as hard surfaced floor. Nothing in the instructions indicates that condensate needs to be disposed of manually. The air duct that connects to the window is a little difficult to attach to the connectors, but a little talcum powder applied to the inside of the fittings makes it work better. It's a good idea to locate and purchase an automatic condensate pump for use with this unit. This will allow you to set the unit and allow it to run unattended for extended periods of time. The biggest drawback of this unit is that it draws air from the room to cool the condensing unit which forces an exchange of outside air into the room. A separate air duct for outside air coming into the unit would increase its efficiency considerably. Overall, it's a very good buy for the money and functions very well.

jvawter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
okay unit
9/10/2013

Customer review by gadgetsandgizmosguy

3.0 stars 9/10/2013 by gadgetsandgizmosguy
by gadgetsandgizmosguy

It does cool. Has a condensate connection above ground level. Handy because most units like this don't. Allows easier hookup of a hose to drain outside or into a bucket where you collect it to empty manually or with an automatic condensate pump to move it elsewhere. Keep an eye on the second drain all the way at the bottom. The flimsy rubber cover for it was knocked off when moving the unit to a different location. Resulted in very wet carpet. On a good note, once fixed, it sucked all the moisture out of the room and the carpet in 8 hours. Beware, the unit does shut itself OFF when left alone. I keep coming back to find it has yet once again shut itself off. Not good when I'm trying to keep the temperature down when I'm not there to monitor the room. It uses room air to cool the condensation coils so it sucks the nice cool air of the room out. Would not work for sealed rooms where you don't want to suck in 100+ deg air into the room.

gadgetsandgizmosguy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works very well, but is definitely bulky!
4/26/2016

Customer review by aubinhick990

4.0 stars 4/26/2016 by aubinhick990
by aubinhick990

I purchased the unit on Amazon during a sale, so I got an excellent deal already. The unit works very well, once it catches up and begins cooling. I like that there is a standard-sized garden hose diameter threading on it to remove excess water automatically, however I wish there was a smaller sized catcher that came with it instead of just a plug and manual draining. Having the remote is a nice feature, though I don't use it very often due to the location of our unit. There is a nifty storage slot for the remote, which is excellent for keeping track of it! Overall, the unit is very powerful and feature-filled enough for my needs! The circular piece that sits between the vent plastic and the exhaust tube has a broken tab on it though...it's not the most durable thing ever. It also would be nice if the included vent plastic window piece could have been translucent instead of opaque, but now I'm nitpicking! The unit's footprint is small enough for easy enough storage under my eaves upstairs, which is great! I just wrapped it in the bag it came in and let it be for the winter.

aubinhick990
New Hampshire, United States
Hook up the garden hose!!!!
7/3/2012

Customer review by Becky1

4.0 stars 7/3/2012 by Becky1
by Becky1

In the operating instructions page 9 - Cooling mode - it only says "In this mode the exhaust adaptor hose MUST be used" but does not mention the garden hose. Unless you are using the dehumidifying mode the garden hose would not be needed - according to the drainage section on page 10. WELL..... waking up to dripping at 2 a.m. with a lot of water all over the table top we had the unit on and the floor surrounding .... I think there must have been a misprint. That was a bit upsetting to say the least BUT on a good note - once that problem was discovered and fixed we still like the unit. It cools our area very well and is not noisy. We had lived in an apartment at one point and that small wall unit was much much louder. Would recommend this unit but make sure you hook up the garden hose immediately!!!

Becky1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
User Unfriendly
7/13/2013

Customer review by Carey

1.0 stars 7/13/2013 by Carey
by Carey

This unit is labor intensive, messy, and damaging to furniture and flooring! It puts out a lot of water which must be collected and discarded...how? Use a garden hose out the window, but it doesn't gravity feed water uphill, so you would have to get the unit up higher than the windowsill. Drain it into a bucket, and babysit the unit to empty the bucket every couple of hours...not to mention that it drips at the hose connection like a garden hose does!

Carey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Details matter
7/22/2011

Customer review by Shiverslady

3.0 stars 7/22/2011 by Shiverslady
by Shiverslady

I am sure once the unit I bought is hooked up it will work well. It's just that I didn't expect the exhaust hose it came with to be only 5 feet long. I now must find a 6" diameter flexible hose at least 8' long that will work. AND, spend the extra money for it. I will also need to come up with a short garden hose to connect to the unit and run to a drain. Both of these details were omitted from the product description which WOULD HAVE MADE A DIFFERENCE in my decision to buy.

Shiverslady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Works Great!
10/22/2015

Customer review by Lakelady

5.0 stars 10/22/2015 by Lakelady
by Lakelady

Bought one for our second home and it worked great! Three weeks later bought another one for the upstairs. I especially like that it did not make my electric bill go sky high. Proud owner of two!

Lakelady
Tennessee, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Let the water flow
9/26/2011

Customer review by Wolfshadow

1.0 stars 9/26/2011 by Wolfshadow
by Wolfshadow

No hose or outlet for water... once it's full... welcome to your indoor pool. The hose to exhaust the hot air heats up the room so the a/c does double duty trying to cool the air it heats up. May not be an issue up North, but in south Texas... no. I most certainly would NOT recommend this to anyone, had it 4 months.. stopped using it a month ago... looking for a buyer!

Wolfshadow
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
8/26/2015

Customer review by 880joe

4.0 stars 8/26/2015 by 880joe
by 880joe

This was purchased to cool an office with tin roof and siding, that sits directly in the sun, it has worked much better than I expected.

880joe
Humansville, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
keep's me cool!!!!!!!!!!
8/18/2015

Customer review by keeferbear

5.0 stars 8/18/2015 by keeferbear
by keeferbear

I bought my air conditioner at the beginning of summer and it has kept my apartment cool all summer long.

keeferbear
Binghamton, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
9/16/2014

Customer review by Angela Grainger

4.0 stars 9/16/2014 by Angela Grainger
by Angela Grainger

I am really pleased with this unit. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is that it is a bit noisy. If there was some way to quiet it down, this would be the best thing on the market. It cools the space very well.

Angela Grainger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cools well
7/17/2015

Customer review by Karenann80

3.0 stars 7/17/2015 by Karenann80
by Karenann80

This unit cools well but due to it's size the unit it VERY loud.

Comment from Anna - 7/18/2015

Hey Karenann80! Thanks for taking a moment to provide a review on your new Frigidaire dehumidifier, model FRA123PT1.

Karenann80
Jamestown, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Well
8/17/2014

Customer review by MikeG

4.0 stars 8/17/2014 by MikeG
by MikeG

I have had this unit all summer now and it works every bit as well as the window unit it replaced. The biggest plus is that I do not have to pick it up!

MikeG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Good Air Conditioner
9/16/2014

Customer review by MikeG

4.0 stars 9/16/2014 by MikeG
by MikeG

The product is well built, performs well, and cools my office very nicely. Best of all, I don't have to pick it up and put it in a window!

MikeG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Purchase
7/14/2011

Customer review by tercru2977

5.0 stars 7/14/2011 by tercru2977
by tercru2977

When this unit was installed it sure did exactly what it was suppose to. Cooled the small apartment quickly. Easy to use. Set up was also very easy. Two thumbs up on shipping. Received very quickly.

tercru2977
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Great Unit
9/16/2014

Customer review by Dutch

4.0 stars 9/16/2014 by Dutch
by Dutch

Purchased two units. Replaced window units.

Dutch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great unit
8/15/2014

Customer review by Ron

4.0 stars 8/15/2014 by Ron
by Ron

Have recommended to many of my friends.

Ron
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cooled 600 sq ft room easily.
7/21/2014

Customer review by rtkerb

5.0 stars 7/21/2014 by rtkerb
by rtkerb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We've had the air conditioner for a week, with 100 degree heat outside, it's working and keeping us cool.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rtkerb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really does the job.
8/10/2011

Customer review by AClover13

4.0 stars 8/10/2011 by AClover13
by AClover13

I put it in my dining room which is between my living room area and kitchen. I was afraid it wouldn't cover the area, but find that once it gets going it pretty much does the trick. For those weeks of extremely hot, HUMID days we had recently in Western NY it was a God send. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was because of the noise, but for such a large unit that is to be expected. My brother installed it for me, and like what was stated in the reviews I had read before I purchased it, you have to improvise the window kit a little to fit but not much of a problem. Also, one reviewer said they were waiting for an electrician to come and put in a new line for it. I'm not sure what they were talking about as it doesn't require a dedicated line. I would recommend this unit.

Was this review helpful? (43) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AClover13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It works as advertised
11/29/2010

Customer review by emsbilling

4.0 stars 11/29/2010 by emsbilling
by emsbilling

We are using it to cool a room with several computers in it and it does the job well. Since the room didn't have a window, we cut a hole in the floor and exhausted the hot air into the crawl space. You can adjust the angle which the air blows and also change the speed if you don't have it set on automatic mode.

Was this review helpful? (40) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
emsbilling
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews