Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

44 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

44 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 stars
11
1-20 of 42 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews
12v air pump that works
9/10/2010

Customer review by SomeAssemblyNeeded

5.0 stars 9/10/2010 by SomeAssemblyNeeded
by SomeAssemblyNeeded

This is the 3rd 12v air pump I've owned and this one is the best of the three. It's reasonably quiet and vibration free and puts out a good volume of air. The pressure gauge is readable when it's running (not vibrating wildly) and fairly accurate.

Was this review helpful? (77) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SomeAssemblyNeeded
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
If it worked as well as it looks...
9/25/2010

Customer review by REVIEWBLUR

2.0 stars 9/25/2010 by REVIEWBLUR
by REVIEWBLUR

After little over a year, this product fails to inflate anything other than bicycle tires. It struggles to get above 35 psi on standard vehicle tires. The design of this product says "I'm heavy duty" but it is far from that. Guess I can find a use for the nice canvas case. I wasted my money here and now have to find another portable air compressor.

Was this review helpful? (46) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
REVIEWBLUR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not so heavy duty
12/24/2010

Customer review by ozreview

3.0 stars 12/24/2010 by ozreview
by ozreview

Item operates just as the instructions indicate. Kit includes everything needed. The carry pouch keeps all the items together. Ad says it will inflate a tire in 3 min. To my experience, that would be a very small tire. It took about 6 minutes just to increase one of my 4WD tires from 30 to 45 lbs/sq inch. It is called a 'heavy duty' device, but the directions say it must be rested and allowed to cool after just ten minutes of use. I bought this with the hopes of using it to re-inflate my tires after deflating them for driving through soft sand. The speed of this machine will make that a long, slow process. All that said, this should work good for that one off emergency use. It also comes with nozzles and needles for sports equipment which will come in handy when handing out new soccer balls.

Was this review helpful? (37) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ozreview
Australia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Junk
11/1/2010

Customer review by BimmerNut

2.0 stars 11/1/2010 by BimmerNut
by BimmerNut

less than a year of infrequent use blew the fuse in my wife's 4Runner which wasn't that big of a deal but today the on off switch broke. Cheap switch, hopefully I can get this fixed or get a refund.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BimmerNut
Methuen, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
WORKED WELL WHEN NEW BUT LASTED LESS THAN 6 MONTHS
10/15/2010

Customer review by SAINTFAN1

1.0 stars 10/15/2010 by SAINTFAN1
by SAINTFAN1

Was excited when I first used this compressor, thought that I finally found a 12 volt compressor that didn't take all day to air a tire. The only problem is, it quite working in less than 6 months, and I really didn't use it all that much. Will never purchase anything else from Slime

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SAINTFAN1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Seems better to me than some of the reviews I read
8/3/2014

Customer review by RvMan56

5.0 stars 8/3/2014 by RvMan56
by RvMan56

I really like the pump, some reviewer said it was trash, mine however seem very well built, I use it in my Jeep, the hose easy stews on the valve stem, turn it on and get with it. Some say the 12v plug is junk mine is in great shape, of coarse I wouldn't want to run over expect it to work. This pump is good quality and I believe it work for many years.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RvMan56
Deming, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2 years of use - use daily - no problems...
6/22/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/22/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My compressor might be the exception, rather than the rule, but I have had absolutely no problems with this compressor. I have a tire that loses about 15 lbs of pressure overnight (especially if it is cold outside). On my car this is a daily routine right now (until I can save up enough money to replace a couple of the tires). It will take about 5 minutes or so to fill up my deflated 17 inch truck tires (when about 15 lbs low) and about 3 minutes or so on my 15 inch car tires (when about 15 lbs low). It is reasonably quick, for the price and for the size. The combination of the electrical cord and the hose is quite long...I have filled up my camper tires while the camper was attached to my extended cab full size pickup...it only just reached the tires but it was long enough to do the job. I keep expecting it to fail at any time as I know that it is not intended for daily use but it has never failed me and it has not lost any power at all. I have had it for about 2 years and used it intermittently most of the time...I have used it daily for about the past 3 months. I am very, very careful with the compressor and do not handle it roughly at all because I do feel that it might be a bit on the fragile side...if you handle it carefully, it should work well.

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
West Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
blew my car fuse in less than one second
10/26/2010

Customer review by stuknUT

1.0 stars 10/26/2010 by stuknUT
by stuknUT

looked like a good idea. a 12 V air inflator with a high psi rating. it worked for less than one second before it blew the fuse in my car. At the end of the instruction, in the problem solving section, it mentions that a 15 amp fuse is the minimum. Nowhere was this on the box. Going to bring it back to the store. It's in good condition still.

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stuknUT
Salt Lake City,UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Not as heavy duty as it looks or as it is claimed.
4/26/2011

Customer review by bekyan1

1.0 stars 4/26/2011 by bekyan1
by bekyan1

It's just another wimpy air pump. It is NOT heavy duty at all. Heats up very fast that you can't even inflate one tire properly on a hot day and once it heats a hair more than what is considered "normal" it starts making weird noises and it starts loosing umph for good.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bekyan1
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Hose and 12 Volt plug in are bad
6/9/2014

Customer review by UR2HELP

1.0 stars 6/9/2014 by UR2HELP
by UR2HELP

I only used this two times. It worked OK the first time. The second time we were miles from home with a low tire. the 12 volt plug in came apart and I could not find all the parts so could not run the compressor. I heard air leaking and found the coiled hose at the quick connector broken and letting air out of the low tire so quickly unscrewed the fitting at the valve stem. I tried three times to reconnect the hose at the quick connector and it split again all three times. The hose seems to break down with time. The design of the 12 volt plug in is very poor and comes apart easy. We have had this for less than two years so can't take it back to Walmart. What good is a kit like this if it will not work when you need it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UR2HELP
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Work's Great and Reliable
2/12/2012

Customer review by SSplit

5.0 stars 2/12/2012 by SSplit
by SSplit

I bought this pump about a year ago. Have used it about 6 times. Around my 3rd time, I started having trouble with it. I would flip the switch and nothing would happen (Wouldn't power ON#. I tried it in multiple vehicles DC adapter's... all failed. Called Slime support who simply sent me another pump. Well when I tried to use the replacement pump, it also didn't work. Happen's to be, this pump blew out the fuses in every vehicle I tried it in. My point is, if your vehicle has a secondary DC adapter #as did all the vehicles I tried it in did#, use that adapter, not the primary one you would use if your a smoker. Always use the secondary DC port #if you have one) and don't have your vehicle on when using this product, and very thing should be ok. Took some troubleshooting, but if your having trouble with using this product, it's probably just because it's a powerful little pump that your not using the right way. Good Luck!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SSplit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Handy - good value
8/18/2011

Customer review by windygramps

5.0 stars 8/18/2011 by windygramps
by windygramps

I have raised the pressure in auto tires and it works quickly. Need to put in a little extra air because it has a screw on valve attachment and some air is lost is taking it off. Cord and air hose are a good length.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
windygramps
Ralston, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
good tire inflator
5/14/2011

Customer review by VPicker

4.0 stars 5/14/2011 by VPicker
by VPicker

I've had the product for about nine months and have found it to be a good inflator. I like the fact that it screws on to the tire valve. However, the coil air hose is made of plastic and it split, which made the inflator useless because there's no way to get around using the coil air hose. But customer service was very good and said they would send me a hose immediately. It arrived in about two days at no cost to me.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VPicker
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It's NOT Heavy Duty.
9/19/2014

Customer review by Drbuzzkill

1.0 stars 9/19/2014 by Drbuzzkill
by Drbuzzkill

I bought this because it was basically the only thing on Walmart's shelf for saying it inflates 4x4, RV,SUV, and Truck tires. It's states on the out side of the box, "Inflates a standard car tire in 3 minutes (P195/65 R15 to 35 PSI). That's great but I'm needing it for my truck tire. How does that inflate? For me, 20 minutes. Not really heavy duty enough. Will be returning and trying something else. Being stuck with a flat always happens when you really don't have time to spare, so this product is not the one to have when the time comes. Low rating because it's advisement is misleading.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Drbuzzkill
Would recommend to a friend? No
8/12/2011

Customer review by Gordie543

2.0 stars 8/12/2011 by Gordie543
by Gordie543

Green hose broke on first use and the led light didn't work.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gordie543
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poorly built... :(
8/8/2014

Customer review by Drac7777

1.0 stars 8/8/2014 by Drac7777
by Drac7777

Used it to inflate a car tire with low pressure, it ran for 2-3 mins and it overheated and never worked again. Checked fuse it was good. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Drac7777
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't buy
4/26/2012

Customer review by YankeeOtter

1.0 stars 4/26/2012 by YankeeOtter
by YankeeOtter

Doesn't work - plug found broken on receipt. Clasp to carry case broke upon opening.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YankeeOtter
Melbourne, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
won't high pressure start
5/22/2014

Customer review by upsetgil

1.0 stars 5/22/2014 by upsetgil
by upsetgil

Bought to automatically cycle to maintain pressure in a tank using an electric pressure switch to cycle its power. Pump won't restart with a head pressure above 30 psi ...thus was then scrapped since I had cut its cord to install and thus unreturnable.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
upsetgil
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Failed after 3 uses
4/25/2013

Customer review by avark69

1.0 stars 4/25/2013 by avark69
by avark69

The Slime 12 Volt Inflator failed after being used only 3 times. I had to return it to Wal-Mart for a refund. By contrast, I have a Campbell Hausfeld inflator that I have been using regularly for over 10 years and it works as well today as it did when I bought it. Don't waste your money on a Slime inflator.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
avark69
Would recommend to a friend? No
Handy little tool
8/25/2013

Customer review by noslackmack

5.0 stars 8/25/2013 by noslackmack
by noslackmack

excellent

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
noslackmack
Hamilton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews