Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 186 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

186 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

186 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
76
4 stars
54
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 stars
40
1-20 of 164 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 164 total reviews
1-20 of 164 reviews
Not a Bad Inflator
9/30/2012

Customer review by CrashTest355

4.0 stars 9/30/2012 by CrashTest355
by CrashTest355

I used this inflator on a 2004 buick century and it works fine. The built in light is is great. Only drawback is it's little loud but overall its great. Note: The recommended tire pressure is not on side of tire. On newer vehicles its usually on the b-piller on driver side, trunk lid, behind the fuel filler door, or in your owners manual.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CrashTest355
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Broke in 2yrs. but they replaced it
10/4/2011

Customer review by FergusFungusson

3.0 stars 10/4/2011 by FergusFungusson
by FergusFungusson

This is just your basic little compressor in an oversized plastic frame. Don't be in a hurry when you use it. Mine broke after two years of very modest use and I called the Slime folks. A very nice lady made an exception to their warranty and offered me a free replacement - the warranty is 12 months. This compressor is fine to add a few pounds to a regular tire or do bike tires. I would not want to try to inflate an tire from 0 psi with it. NOTE: the directions call for using it with the ACCESSORY port, not a cigarette lighter port, because with the higher power draw you might burn out the lighter fuse. You also need to let it cool for 25 minutes after you use it for 10 min. That just isn't realistic, but it is the manufacturer's requirement. The unit itself has a fuse, so if yours stops working, check that - it is probably inside the plug you plug in. The next time I need to buy a compressor, I'll go up a level and spend a little more for something more durable and a bit faster.

Was this review helpful? (37) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FergusFungusson
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Tire Inflator
10/17/2011

Customer review by strykker31

5.0 stars 10/17/2011 by strykker31
by strykker31

I've been researching tire inflators all last week and was a little skeptical about buying the slime inflator after reading the reviews, but I found it for $15 in store so I decided to go for it. First, its really small and very convenient to keep in the car. Second, the inflator does a great job filling up my tires on my 350z (but keep in mind I'm only adding a 2-3psi here and there). If you plan on filling up multiple deflated tires, then I would recommend buying a much bigger unit, this unit is really meant for 1 tire (meaning filling up a deflated tire in 10 minutes, waiting another 10 minutes or more for the unit to cool down, then on to the next). Overall, its very useful for small tasks, so set realistic expectations when buying this inflator. Also, buy it in the store and you'll save a few dollars vs the online store.

Was this review helpful? (46) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
strykker31
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Ya Get what ya pay for
2/25/2011

Customer review by tranquillity

3.0 stars 2/25/2011 by tranquillity
by tranquillity

The pump pumps, the light works and the pressure gauge functions , but overall the unit has many drawbacks and is not recommended. The "plug into the lighter" plug is very cheaply made and will need very careful handling if it is to last more than a few uses. The contacts on my unit are very loose. The outlet hose which you connect to the tire is way too short, although it is as advertised, two feet long. Two feet isn't much when the valve to the flat tire is at the top of the wheel. The connector itself is hard to manipulate but not much different from others of its type. It takes way more than eight minutes to inflate a deflated auto tire. In fact it took four minutes to inflate a bicycle tire from 45 pounds to 70 pounds. Overall, it works, but Ya get what ya pay for. Not recommended.

Was this review helpful? (50) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tranquillity
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
5/31/2011

Customer review by b12156

4.0 stars 5/31/2011 by b12156
by b12156

Fort the price, this thing is a great buy. I bought this to keep in my trunk for emergency flat tires and to air up bicycle tires and air mattresses. I understand that this is not a full size air compressor, and will not air up multiple tires one after the other without overheating. I have used it to inflate a P185/60R15 tire from completely flat to 35 psi in about 6-7 minutes. Overall, it's a great value and I would recommend it for emergencies or light use. It would be nice to have a longer air hose.

Was this review helpful? (69) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
b12156
Northern Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
So far so good
7/7/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/7/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this product at our local Walmart to inflate my riding mower tires. We found the product for $15.00 and thought that it seems to be a good deal considering manual bicycle pumps were around $10.00. I have to admit I was a bit skeptical but so far this has come in very handy. I have used it on my riding mower tires, my daughter's bicycle tires and for a blow up float at the beach. It has worked perfectly every time. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (107) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Dawsonville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
First Class Product
11/27/2010

Customer review by ExpertReviews

5.0 stars 11/27/2010 by ExpertReviews
by ExpertReviews

This is a great little device to add pressure to your tires or fill up a flat. The price is right and it is a great item to leave in your trunk for emergencies. Obviously it is not going to replace an air compressor that you would use in your garage for filling multiple tires everyday. Other reviews are complaining about overheating but they are mistaken if they think they will get a full time air compressor at this price.

Was this review helpful? (105) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ExpertReviews
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
THIS PRODUCT IS A TIME & MONEY SAVER!!
12/6/2012

Customer review by MrNiteWriter

5.0 stars 12/6/2012 by MrNiteWriter
by MrNiteWriter

I had woke up one morning to find one of my tires had a nail in the middle & was flat as a pancake..I first thought about changing it to my spare but I have a truck which requires me to have to do a little more than others to get it out(A lot of work)..I then thought about using some fix a flat but read how tire changers would not mess with tires with that liquid inside of it because of the dangerous chemicals causing the customer to have to replace instead of repair the tire..I purchased this for less than 17 dollars(Sales tax)..Less then 8mins I was successfully on my way to the tire place who took the nail out & I spent zero money because my tire was still good..It is very lightweight & easy to use & store..Great light to see at night what you are doing..Has all the adapters to air up anything..Makes minimal noise nothing that will cause complaints from neighbors..You will not find a better product that meets all expectations..Buy this so next time you won't be stranded or have to kill yourself getting the spare on & off..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrNiteWriter
Arlington,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
nearly useless product
3/28/2011

Customer review by valueshoppermag

1.0 stars 3/28/2011 by valueshoppermag
by valueshoppermag

The description of this product sounds greats but they fail to mention that it has a tendency to overheat, there could be a twenty plus minute wait for it to cool down between each tire to be inflated, and worst of all the power line from the cigarette lighter jack to the tire inflator unit is only ten feet long meaning it will only reach the back tires on the most shortest vehicles and forget about the longer vehicles or far side tire of a utility or boat trailer. Bottom line for me is this tire inflator is a near useless product as it will only service the shortest of vehicles and nothing else. My advice is unless your have one of the shortest of vehicles and plenty of time to wait to air up it's tires, take your vehicle to the local gas station with an air compressor for tires or find a tire inflator with a longer battery jack power cord.

Was this review helpful? (23) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
valueshoppermag
Magnolia Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Worth Every Penny
7/23/2012

Customer review by Mssoctober

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by Mssoctober
by Mssoctober

This was worth every single red cent. It worked quickly, but the only complaint is the the tire pressure was difficult to read. I had to buy a digital reader. Other than that..It was well worth my money.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mssoctober
Franklin Park, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Not bad for the price.
10/21/2012

Customer review by dan726

4.0 stars 10/21/2012 by dan726
by dan726

I don't think it says this anywhere in the description but the power cord is about 6 feet long so it reaches to your tires fairly easily. I had to fill four flat tires. It took more like about 15 minutes (not 8) to fill each one. Also, you have to let it cool for 25 minutes between each tire. It tells you this in the instructions. Overall, it worked pretty well and for the price you can't beat it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dan726
Saint Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
cheap & YMMV
5/26/2013

Customer review by JackofAll2013

2.0 stars 5/26/2013 by JackofAll2013
by JackofAll2013

I needed a cheap compressor for my bicycle, so I bought one for about $19 (incl tax). When I tested it. it was DEAD - won't pump air, the gauge never moved and was noisy as a jack hammer. It even leaked the air from my tire (maybe there is a leak in the tube near the compressor). When I saw this performance that I truely appreciate the great quality of my Viair 70P compressor (its so quiet that my car engine is louder). Many people who wrote comments here have success with this Slime product, so I am assuming that I got a bad product. I am going to get another one and see if that works. If not, I'll get a bit more expensive compressor. Will I recommend this product? Yes, if you are budget-conscience and your needs for a compressor are minimal. You might want to try it out at a gas station first, in case you'll also have a similar experience as mine. It depends on your luck whether it works or not. This Slime compressor deflated my tire completely when I was testing it. If I didn't have my Viair compressor, I might have to have the car towed to a gas station to fill air.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JackofAll2013
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Saved my bacon!
10/11/2011

Customer review by Mattresshunter

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by Mattresshunter
by Mattresshunter

Driving down the road in the rain in my Honda Civic with my 2 kids in the back I was shocked to discover my R) rear tire was flat as a pancake courtesy of a large nail! (I'm talking rim on the ground here). The slime tire inflator connected effortlessly, ran like a charm and gave me enough air to get the car to a tire repair station. I'm not sure how it would stand-up to daily use but this is the perfect device when you're in a pinch ... no more manual pumps or struggling with car jacks and super-tight tire nuts in the rain. I'm absolutely thrilled, it saved my bacon.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mattresshunter
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Two units have stopped working
10/12/2013

Customer review by NotRealImpressedByThis

1.0 stars 10/12/2013 by NotRealImpressedByThis
by NotRealImpressedByThis

I bought three of these units - one for each car. One had an issue with the power connector - one of the silver wires lost it's shape and causes a poor connection. Another failed after two uses. It won't work at all (not the light or the pump). Price seemed good, but quality poor.

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NotRealImpressedByThis
MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good product to keep around
4/5/2011

Customer review by 770TIP

4.0 stars 4/5/2011 by 770TIP
by 770TIP

Pleased with product, but a better description of it's capabilities would have made me chose a stronger one because I own SUV's which take longer to pump up. Had to order online because the store didn't have it in-stock.

Was this review helpful? (33) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
770TIP
ellenwood, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS
10/28/2012

Customer review by effee

1.0 stars 10/28/2012 by effee
by effee

I picked up one of these in the nearest WM store so that I could inflate a completely flat tire on my C1500 pickup in the back yard as I didn't want to damage the tire by driving it around to the garage to use my shop compressor. Well, it seemed to work fairly well for 3 or 4 minutes putting about 20 psi in the tire. Then, the motor suddenly began to run much faster as it apparently lost engagement with the actual pump inside. That was it-- motor still runs but it doesn't pump ant air. Obviously, these are not meant to take the place of a multi-horsepower shop compressor but it should at least be capable of inflating a single car or light truck tire. I would strongly recommend that you pass this one by as I don't see it lasting long enough to inflate a single tire, in most cases. For a good tire inflator see my review of the Slime model 50063 tire repair kit

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
effee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
great product for the price.
12/23/2014

Customer review by matne

5.0 stars 12/23/2014 by matne
by matne

This is not a 60 gallon compressor that will fill a tire in seconds, but it works great if used properly. I had a tire on a jeep liberty that had only 20psi of air in it. I filled it to 35 pounds of psi in about 5 minutes. The compressor sealed good to the valve stem so I just went and sat down and let the little machine do its things. I will recommend this to my friends and family.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
matne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does the Job
2/27/2011

Customer review by 007Bond007

5.0 stars 2/27/2011 by 007Bond007
by 007Bond007

This is a really good product for the price. Though it looks like a small plastic box for an air compressor. Actually it does a very good job to fill the air. It is quire powerful for its size & definitely a very good item for the price. Along with a puncture repair kit this item will be a very handy one to keep in the trunk!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
007Bond007
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
D..O.A.
9/3/2014

Customer review by Shaggy72

1.0 stars 9/3/2014 by Shaggy72
by Shaggy72

What happened the very first time I took it out of the box & tried testing it to make sure it will work when needed? Absolutely NOTHING. Well, the LED light works. So I guess that's something. But if I wanted a LIGHT, I could BUY a LED light that's 2 times brighter for the same price (which I have). I needed an air compressor. And all I got was... click.. click.. click... I seriously doubt the fuse blew out the very first attempt & I don't have any extra laying around, and even if I did, why should I replace a fuse when the fuse that came with it should've worked to begin with?? IF that was the problem. Maybe I simply got a lemon. I don't know. I'll never know. As I won't be buying this brand again. Waste of time, gasoline (2 round trips from my middle-of-nowhere home to nearest wal mart) When I SHOULD be sleeping as I have a big day ahead of me... which requires I have a working inflator .. so.. i'll down an energy drink to keep these heavy eyes open and back to wal mart I go.. for a second time in one night. Here's hoping my next compressor actually works.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shaggy72
Riesel, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
DO NOT BUT YOUR WASTING YOUR MONEY
9/6/2013

Customer review by JosieWV

1.0 stars 9/6/2013 by JosieWV
by JosieWV

I have a truck and have only used my second one a few times, and low and behold after airing a flat I put it up and ta da ! The next day it wouldn't even turn on, Money wasted yet again, I thought the last one was fluke, well the jokes on me cause this one blew up quicker, I have maybe had this one a month !

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JosieWV
wv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 164 total reviews
1-20 of 164 reviews