Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 138 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

138 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

138 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

42%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
36
4 stars
19
3 stars
9
2 stars
13
1 stars
61
1-20 of 132 total reviews
42%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 132 total reviews
1-20 of 132 reviews
AMAZING Invention!
3/21/2011

Customer review by MT22

5.0 stars 3/21/2011 by MT22
by MT22

We travel A LOT during the summer with our 2 kids and this is the best invention ever! Thank you Philips. We have tried other brands and we really love Philips. It works perfect every time and really helps us make good time on the road. I think every parent should have one.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MT22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Top 1000 contributor
Great for trips
9/8/2010

Customer review by DaPon

4.0 stars 9/8/2010 by DaPon
by DaPon

I purchased this just after Thanksgiving 2009. From day one it has been great for short and long trips. From the moment it came on in our van, my son became a new person. This highly active and energetic 2 year old became calm and focused as he watched the like of Thomas the Train, Little Einsteins, and others. It's a very simple unit and doesn't required any setup. We love it and have been looking for another for our other vehicle. Pros: Convenient. easy to use, has survived Florida summer heat in the vehicle the entire time. Cons: Does not return to place upon re-entering vehicle (this is a bit aggravating after brief runs from vehicle), No input option for main unit

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaPon
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Up grade is best!
4/24/2011

Customer review by mom322

3.0 stars 4/24/2011 by mom322
by mom322

I got this product and was pleased with the price, even paid extra to make sure it arrived before our trip. When we got it one of the screans looked great the other was broken. With no time to return and get one back before our trip, I went to walmart and returned it. The only ones they had in stock were the 9". for more money. I was not happy about the price but for our two long trips this idem is a necessity. (1 3 year old and 2 2 year olds!) The Up grade is AWESOME!!!! Def worth the money! The screan is huge compaired to the7". Who knew 2 inches were so big?! Also the option of playing 2 dvd's at a time is nice and both can come into the hotel and play 2 different movies with a wall outlet!. The 7 " is probably good, but in our case the up grade package is our best value for our money!!!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom322
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Usage:Every day
Great Design
2/11/2011

Customer review by BigBrotherLittleSister

5.0 stars 2/11/2011 by BigBrotherLittleSister
by BigBrotherLittleSister

I previously owned another Walmart-purchased DVD player that was not so wonderfully designed and didn't work as well. These clip securely on the seats and movies can be changed easily. I paid $20 more for this model than the last one but is worth EVERY penny. I have had no frustrations with this one at all and wish I had purchased this one first!

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigBrotherLittleSister
Dayton OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Good deal
12/28/2010

Customer review by cucaracho

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by cucaracho
by cucaracho

This product was very helpful when traveling cross-country with my kids. We would turn them on when they were getting fuzzy in the car. They are great!!! We like them. So far we haven't had any trouble with them. The sound is great. Everything works amazing. The only thing this product is missing is a remote. My wife had to turn around from the passenger seat every time a button needed to be pushed.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cucaracho
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Philips 7" LCD Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player
1/4/2011

Customer review by alouhow

5.0 stars 1/4/2011 by alouhow
by alouhow

Very happy with this product and I appreciate the way the players strap on to the headrest. The last DVD player we bought had a horrible way of strapping to the headrest. Great price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alouhow
lakewood, co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
NOT DOUBLE PLAYER
6/9/2011

Customer review by mstort6

3.0 stars 6/9/2011 by mstort6
by mstort6

I just bought this from my local Wal-Mart store. To my surprise, it does NOT allow you to play 2 different movies at the same time. You can only play 1 movie on the two screens. I couldn't find that information anywhere on this website, nor does it say this on the box in the store. So, I just returned it and bought the Philips 9" 2 pack double dvd player. It was a little bit more money, but I need to be able to play 2 different movies. I have 2 kids and we road trip during the summers. But, it DOES look like a very nice dvd player and I'm looking forward to being able to use it this summer. I will review the 9" ones once we get a chance to use them.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mstort6
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
A piece of junk
7/24/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/24/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This dvd player arrived and when I got it all hooked up and ready to go, it wouldn't turn on. No lights came on nothing. So I plugged it into the wall outlet and still nothing. Piece of junk and waste of money. I have bought 3 different dual dvd players and they were 2 different brands from Wal-Mart and the 1st one worked for a couple of months then just stopped working, the 2nd one only 1 screen worked when I got it, and this one didn't even turn on. I'm going to try RCA next and hopefully that will work. Very disappointed in this product. Keep your receipt if you buy one of these.

Was this review helpful? (14) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Baby Saver
8/30/2010

Customer review by Lovesthebaby

5.0 stars 8/30/2010 by Lovesthebaby
by Lovesthebaby

We took a trip to Flordia from Delaware, and this kept my daughter quiet about 17 hours out of 18 driving time. Excellent Quality too.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lovesthebaby
Wilmington Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Overall good portable DVD
7/16/2011

Customer review by girlinaz

4.0 stars 7/16/2011 by girlinaz
by girlinaz

This is the first portable DVD player I have purchased and I was pleased with it. I did a ton of research and looked at Amazon, Frys Electronics, Radio Shack, Target and Best Buy. This one I felt was the best bang for the buck. It did just what it said it would. No problems hooking it up, and both screens worked well. So far, so good.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
girlinaz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect!
7/24/2011

Customer review by SunnyDays2121

5.0 stars 7/24/2011 by SunnyDays2121
by SunnyDays2121

This is exactly what I was looking for. the straps are not velcro so you don't have to worry about them coming apart in an accident. and the picture is perfect. we only have one child, but its nice to have the pair if a friend comes along. it's great for travel or being stuck in traffic. I just wish it had a remote. other than that, it's a great purchase. And Walmart had the best price! Thanks Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SunnyDays2121
Kent, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Portable DVD Player
12/16/2010

Customer review by 16x9rocks

5.0 stars 12/16/2010 by 16x9rocks
by 16x9rocks

So far so good. This player is working out great. I am still wondering about the overall life of the product but only time will tell. Like all portable DVD players, I am having to put some wedges behind the units to get them at the correct angle for my children. That has more to do with the design of the head rests, not the DVD Player/Monitor. Having poor experiences with portable DVD players/monitors, I remain cautious about recommending this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
16x9rocks
Bella Vista, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
dont buy unless u get an extended warranty plan
12/21/2010

Customer review by snoozegirl114

1.0 stars 12/21/2010 by snoozegirl114
by snoozegirl114

when we first bought the product it was the best thing ever with 4 kids and a busy lifestyle we thought it was the perfect buy. but after 3 months of using the product it stopped working first making a gurling sound and then the dvds wouldnt work. they sent us a refurbished replacement worked for another 3 months then the second screen started to go black on us we had to jiggle the wires here and there then that stopped working completly. now the first screen the most important one is starting to not work right again always displaying (no disc feature) unfortunaly the warranty plan was over and then as u say we were SOL on your own. so pleeeeze if u decide to buy this get a back up Warranty plan or u may be out of luck like we were. if u can afford to pay that much money every year and a half and like phillips customer service then this is the right one for u. i would not recommend anyone buying this for it was a headache for us.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snoozegirl114
st. cloud MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Second try...still a flop
11/21/2010

Customer review by lennox0752

1.0 stars 11/21/2010 by lennox0752
by lennox0752

Returned the first one due to faulty speakers. Returned the second one due to faulty cables and disfunctionality. Do NOT buy this product!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lennox0752
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
We can't hear the movie!
2/5/2012

Customer review by Scout5

1.0 stars 2/5/2012 by Scout5
by Scout5

It's a great price online, and the visual quality is good but we can't hear the movies. The volume is so low no one can hear the movie unless they are sitting directly in front of the player and lean in close. Even when we played it in the house. I have four kids in a minivan so this player is basically useless to us. I'm very disappointed. It was a lot of money to waste. The second screen stopped working altogether after a few months even though we kept it packed carefully in a case between trips. I'm glad I didn't buy it in the store where it cost $50 more than online. This would probably be a good player for a two kid family in a smaller vehicle.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Scout5
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
never worked right
2/6/2012

Customer review by Kds1982

1.0 stars 2/6/2012 by Kds1982
by Kds1982

I bought this 3 months ago. I didn't buy the extended warranty but it does come with a 1 year from Philips. This maybe worked perfect 5 times. It helped on the 1400 mile trip. After that, it never worked right. The second screen started going in and out with the picture. I wiggled the cord and it would work. Finally, the picture just quit in it. I could get sound but it was fuzzy. I spent $120 on this piece of junk. Yeah, they are going to replace it but I highly doubt the new one will last longer. I take care of the things I buy and so do my kids. But this is just NOT WORTH THE MONEY I spent on it. I should have listened to the other reviews and bought something else. Even with the warranty, who wants to get it replaced with the exact same thing and have to do it all over again? Save yourself time and headache and do NOT get this please. (I never even used this often, less than once a week.)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kds1982
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
11/19/2011

Customer review by mom2wildgirls

1.0 stars 11/19/2011 by mom2wildgirls
by mom2wildgirls

The first time I bought these I loved how easy they attached to the head rests and they had great picture quality but after 2-3 months the second screen broke so we just had the DVD screen but the girls wanted to fight over who's head rest it went on so we jammed it between the two seats but if it got bumped it would fall and then trying to put it back into place while driving was a pain. But I really like the phillips brand so I decided that I would buy them again but 6 months later same thing happened. But I only have 1 cigarette lighter and I bought the multi one but it just blows the fuse so I can't play both DVD player screens. Most of my friends bought the Sylvania one's so I think this Christmas Santa will bring them new Sylvania DVD players but I've been thinking since I have a Jeep Cherokee that I might just buy the one that attaches to the roof.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom2wildgirls
Portage, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
2nd Screen gone out
1/4/2012

Customer review by ABR3

1.0 stars 1/4/2012 by ABR3
by ABR3

within 3 months of purchase 2nd screen went out...sent back to philips...they sent new one. Then within 6 weeks again 2nd screen went out. They want to send me yet another one or buy back from me what its worth...R u kidding me....Never Ever buy Philips again!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ABR3
Gardendale, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Cords are wimpy and too short
5/2/2011

Customer review by juan123

1.0 stars 5/2/2011 by juan123
by juan123

Very cheap cords, cords are not very long. A true pain to try and get enough stretch to reach the middle seat. Forget trying to reach the back seat in a suburban or van.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
juan123
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
5/23/2011

Customer review by internetshopper999

1.0 stars 5/23/2011 by internetshopper999
by internetshopper999

worked fine the first day but when trying to use it the second day it would not even turn on. returned back to store.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
internetshopper999
tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
1-20 of 132 total reviews
1-20 of 132 reviews