Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 91 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

91 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

91 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
58
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 78 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 78 total reviews
1-20 of 78 reviews
Best 50" value HD TV
5/26/2010

Customer review by Norder

5.0 stars 5/26/2010 by Norder
by Norder

Pros: Great picture. Great price. 720 dpi is very good high def. If you don't tell your friends I doubt they would be able to tell the difference between the higher res TVs. The sound is OK. I love this TV - especially for the price. Cons: USB port not very useful on the rear of the TV. In fact, there are no front-side jacks at all. I dislike having to toggle through all the inputs (2 tv, 3 hdmi, 3 video, 1 usb, etc.). Like most Plasmas, the screen is quite shiny and reflective so there is some glare. It works best in a dark room.

Was this review helpful? (128) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Norder
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Holy.. Great big TV.. Batman!
8/16/2010

Customer review by vigp17

4.0 stars 8/16/2010 by vigp17
by vigp17

I had a 42" Panasonic 720p Plasma. Which I baught from Costco in 2008 for $840.00, before getting this TV. Although not loaded to the rim with features it should more than cover the needs for most, if not all buyers......especialy for $650.00! PROS: Plasma tech, Big beautiful 50" screen(1366x768p....not 1024x768p...FYI once u get past 42" ALL 720p tv's are 1360,1365, or 1366 by 768), comes with base already attached, no signs of burn-in(even in the first few weeks, but take the 100-200 hour break-in time seriously!), ECO key, 3 1.3b HDMI's(accepts signals up to 1080p...FYI the tv will then down convert signal to 720p), 2 component(accepts signals up to 1080p FYI.. again tv will down covert signal to 720p)/(one of which can be set as a 2nd composite imput), PC imput, 1 composite/S-video imput(FYI S-video will overide composite), semi-backlit remote(does not come with batteries), almost perfect black level/shadow detail, little to no noise, great volume(mute holds your volume level), good speakers(although not quite as good as my Panasonic), uses less power and produces less heat than my 42" did!, very good color(once you fiddle with the settings), accepts a 24p signal(via HDMI and 3:2 pulldown),very little color banding, sleep timer goes to 3 hours, very bright(sometimes too bright!),exellent motion(which is normal for plasma!), and makes non HD,HD cable,Blu-ray,DVD,HD DVD, XBOX 360,and my PS3 all look better than ever! CONS: Screen is too glossy(my Panasonic had a anti-glare filter), imputs take a tad too long to change/come on, no numbers in the picture settings menu(which makes it hard to set and/or carry over your settings to other imputs), both red and contrast are a pain to get 100% right on, stereo and coax digital audio out NO optical, skimpy user manual/menu system(figure it out yourself style/typical Sanyo!), no explination for what each aspect ratio setting is for, NO color temp controls(although this tv seems fine without), audyssey volume fuction confusing, and room light sensor doesn't judge light correctly. Other than the few negative things I listed, most of which are not really big deal breakers... this TV is GREAT! A key thing to remember is your tv's only as good as your sorce and you cables. As far as quality, I've never personaly had issues with Sanyo products. In fact Panasonic as of Dec 2009 has owned Sanyo. Even before then Sanyo has had close ties with Panasonic,Sony, and Samsung for many years. Which includes using Panasonic,Sony, and Samsung parts in their products(this tv in piticular uses a Panasonic plasma panel). Of corse someone has to get a lemon(s), but that goes for any product you buy. Nothings 100% for sure, just sheer odds there!

Was this review helpful? (101) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vigp17
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very pleased and surprised
6/14/2010

Customer review by Airwolf222b

5.0 stars 6/14/2010 by Airwolf222b
by Airwolf222b

This is my first big screen TV experience. I really wasn't sure what to expect but I'll share my thoughts. My first concern was would there be that motion blur so many tv's this size have being 600hz. So far, there have been none. I've watched baseball, basketball, racing and havent seen a single thing be blurry. 720p vs 1080p. I've looked at a lot of these while deciding on my purchase. This is the best 720p I've ever seen. Crisp, vibrant picture and colors. The edges are sharp and it looks great...especially in HD. The sound is good but don't expect to be blown away. Mines hooked up to surround, so I use that for movies and games. The inputs are in the back and difficult to get to. That would be my only complaint. If you're using the stand and placing your tv in the corner. Be prepared to move it out a lot if you have things like laptops or USB cords to hook up and unhook. It could have REALLY used a video input on the side or front. I guess if you were hanging it on the wall, it would be a lot easier to access. Overall I love this TV and would recommend it to anyone. 50" plasma for under $700. Can't be beat.

Was this review helpful? (69) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Airwolf222b
West, Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product/wrong dimensions
9/16/2010

Customer review by AJR25

5.0 stars 9/16/2010 by AJR25
by AJR25

I just purchased this tv today. It is a great value and an excellent product. I could not be more satisfied with it. The picture is great, the sound is great, and it has more than enough inputs and features. The only issue i have is with with the dimensions that Walmart has specified under product details. they state that the "product dimensions in inches" are 19x39x57. These are not the dimensions of the product. they are the dimensions of the box that it comes in. the Television itself is (WxHxD) 49x33.2x14.2. i measured a space out and rearranged my living area to accomodate the specified dimenions and they were incorrect. the dimensions i have stated are what is stated on the box itself for the product details. Once again, the product is EXCELLENT! Thank you for taking your time in reading this. i hope it helps.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AJR25
Taylor, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Use the Plasma Luke!
12/2/2010

Customer review by JimE033

5.0 stars 12/2/2010 by JimE033
by JimE033

This marks my forth Sanyo Plasma TV. My first was a 42" that cost me $1599. That only lasted only one year, but I blamed that on my daughter dropping her end when we got it out of the box. Just in that one year Sanyo 50" Plasma's came down to $999 and I bought another. (I actually bought a LCD to replace my first one but then took it right back to the store after firing it up. LCD TV's cannot hold a candle to Plasma in a quick motion race.) A year later I bought yet another 50" Plasma to use in my den when the price dropped to $799. And just today (another year gone by) I picked up my fourth Sanyo - another 50 incher from Walmart @ $498 bucks - so cheap that I can afford to give this one to my parents for Christmas. As this trend continues there is no sense to buy the top of the line TV because a year later they are obsoleted by price and features. My last one has a USB and PC connection built in. I like the Sanyo and I'll take a 720p Plasma over a 1080p LCD anyday. More pixels doesn't equate to a better experience.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JimE033
Cinnaminson NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV
10/21/2010

Customer review by LovetoFishtoo

5.0 stars 10/21/2010 by LovetoFishtoo
by LovetoFishtoo

I've owned this TV for approx 11 months. I always wait for some time before I review any product because I don't always trust reviews made a few weeks after purchase. This TV has performed great. After some minor adjustment, the picture is fantastic with NO blurring or artifacting and the sound is great also. This only negative comment would be it is to heavy for me to handle by myself. Overall its a Great TV and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovetoFishtoo
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
go big and go plasma
5/31/2010

Customer review by doubledub

5.0 stars 5/31/2010 by doubledub
by doubledub

there is a reason this product has received a 5 star rating so far. its the best size vs value while maintaining excellent quality. I have owned both lcd and plasma tvs and i will never to back to lcd. when you are in the store under those bright flourecent lights, lcd might look good, but try watching your favorite movie or tv show in the dark at home with the lights off.....PLASMA GIVE THE BEST CONTRAST RATIO. This tv is the best i have owned without having to spend a ton of money. The previous review is right, your friends will not be able to tell its not 1080. HD looks amazing, blacks are dark and with excellent detail. 50" is the perfect size for most living rooms. lots of connections and the color is perfect. I will own this tv for a long time.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
doubledub
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sanyo 50" plasma, a great deal!
12/20/2010

Customer review by KJReeves

4.0 stars 12/20/2010 by KJReeves
by KJReeves

This was one deal that was hard to pass up. In fact a couple of weeks after installing it, I bought a second one for my parents. I'm a 30year computer tech, and this plasma is a no-brainer to set up. Unpack, plug it in, turn it on and let the setup run. That's it! I use it instead of a projector and 100" screen for my HTPC (Home Theater PC) during the day. Since it's been installed, the screen now only gets used at night for special "movie nights". So, it gets used every day, and sometimes non-stop for days. Since it's connected to a PC, when they're not watching TV or a movie, the screen saver keeps it going. The picture quality is excellent, no shadows or ghosting on fast action, and the sound is better than most LCD/LED sets I have seen. Since it had to be mounted slightly higher than recommended, I opted for the plasma due to its wide viewing angle. No "sweet spot" as is the case with some of the LCD models. Everyone is awed by the picture quality, and the light-sensing feature is great. The room has a 14 foot window on one side and an 8 foot window on the other, so during the day the screen needs to be fairly bright, but at night the auto light sensor maintains a perfect balance without washing out or over compensating the color. The If you are going to be using this with a computer, don't plan on getting much from the 15 pin VGA connector. There are only a few compatible screen resolutions that will even sync to the screen and even then only about a half or third of the screen is filled. HOWEVER, if you use a DVI to HDMI adapter cable it will auto-sync and fill the screen perfectly. The second unit I bought is connected directly to cable and the clear QAM just auto-scanned the instant the unit was turned on. With the array of Component, HDMI, Composite, USB and audio connections, there aren't many peripherals that can't be easily connected. The rear of the set has mounting points for wall mount brackets, and they're already fitted with screws, unlike a few of the last LCD flat panel sets I've recently installed for some friends and neighbors. All connections are located on the bottom rear as opposed to some which have connectors on the sides. The bottom connectors makes for a much cleaner installation, without unsightly cables hanging off the sides. Other than the aforementioned VGA limitations, there are no other weaknesses I can find with this plasma, and with the price point, you can't beat this deal. Overall this is a well-built flat panel plasma and has most every feature that all but the most ardent videophile will find more than acceptable. I would recommend (and have) the DP50740 to anyone looking for a great HD flat panel that won't break the bank.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KJReeves
DeBary, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
SANYO 50" Class Plasma
8/5/2010

Customer review by pete02813

5.0 stars 8/5/2010 by pete02813
by pete02813

OK, a 50" plasma TV for under $700.00 delivered to my home. This is got to be the deal of all TV's It looks great on my wall. I just Love it!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pete02813
Charlestown, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
EXCELLENT BUY!!!
11/26/2010

Customer review by Foxyflirt

5.0 stars 11/26/2010 by Foxyflirt
by Foxyflirt

It took time to convince my husband to agree to get this brand because it is an "off-brand" but with the warranty offered by walmart he agreed with the comforting thought that if anything went wrong it would be nothing coming out of our pocket. So far the 50' PLASMA has been AMAZING addition to our room, the picture quality is great. As far as sound, as long as you don't crank the volume past 36 your fine, but if you go past that the sound becomes very distorted. We don't have any problems with it because we just use our surround sound. Plenty of inputs for your electronic needs. Remote is user friendly. Easy set-up guide.Switching inputs has a couple second delay, but nothing major. The base is sturdy. The tv is heavy!!!! GREAT TV!! GREAT PRICE!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Foxyflirt
Bourbonnais, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cheap plasma TVs
6/22/2010

Customer review by BoughtItForDad

4.0 stars 6/22/2010 by BoughtItForDad
by BoughtItForDad

Not all plasmas are equal. This one proves it. The picture loads very slowly when switching from one input to another. We also have noticed that the color scheme seems to flicker from time to time. The resolution is what it is and it is better than a regular TV. Given a second chance, I would have bought a smaller one for about the same money with a higher resolution. Overall I am satisfied and will keep this one unless the color flicker becomes a problem!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BoughtItForDad
Would recommend to a friend? No
Donotbuysanyo!!!
6/9/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/9/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this tv on 8/15/09, the tv picture went out on 4/30/10. Sanyo advised me to put the tv in the shop they choose for warranty repair, which I did. As of todays date (6/09/10) I have not received my tv back and all I get is excuses from sanyo customer service. I even spoke to a supervisor about how long the tv has been in the shop and he was even more insensitive and incompetent. Each time he promised a return call with the status, I had to call him back because he never returned the call. Not to mention that this tv did not make it though 1 year of service without a breakdown. I am REALLY sorry I purchased a sanyo tv. I see why sanyo is at the bottom of the list in electronics. The product is of poor quality and the customer service is even worse. If you are considering purchasing this tv...DON'T!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best bang for your buck
6/1/2010

Customer review by onlyforever626

5.0 stars 6/1/2010 by onlyforever626
by onlyforever626

bought this tv in dec 2009 still holding up great! excellent quality.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onlyforever626
manville, nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product!!!
5/31/2010

Customer review by MommyToAandM

5.0 stars 5/31/2010 by MommyToAandM
by MommyToAandM

I've had this television for about 4 months and it is excellent. I wasnt planning on buying one this size, but once I compared it to a smaller LCD, I decided this would be best. I havent had any issues with this television and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. Great picture, sound, and Look.....Great buy...

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MommyToAandM
Loudon, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good item for the price
5/23/2011

Customer review by ChevyFan32

5.0 stars 5/23/2011 by ChevyFan32
by ChevyFan32

Okay,Ill sum it up right here.This tv was $498 plus tax.If your expecting a $1200 dollar tv go give $1200 for one.This tv is well worth this price.My HD package on dish looks awesome.Most of the people who complain here are either hooking to a non HD signal or probably didnt even buy the tv to start with.It does have a slight burn in issue but it has a built in repair called white pattern.It clears mine up very quickly.Just avoid channels with constant logos.I thank Sanyo for giving everyone a chance to own a plasma without going in debt.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChevyFan32
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/21/2011

Customer review by Daddy48180

5.0 stars 3/21/2011 by Daddy48180
by Daddy48180

Have no issues with this TV very good deal. easy setup. picture is nice and clear and the sound is good. hookup on the back of the tv is a pain to get to but for the price and quality its worth it. TV is heavy little worried on mounting on the wall but we will see.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Daddy48180
Taylor, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Short life span.
8/19/2010

Customer review by JOGONZA

3.0 stars 8/19/2010 by JOGONZA
by JOGONZA

I purchased this TV about 2 yrs ago at WalMart for its reasonable price and good picture. No one knows how long a plasma tv is supposed to last so I took a chance. It quit showing a picture last week. So buyer beware, the plasma apparently has a life span of about two years.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JOGONZA
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
glare
3/22/2011

Customer review by kkk1234

3.0 stars 3/22/2011 by kkk1234
by kkk1234

This TV is not good in bright rooms or by windows there is a very high glare its almost mirror like. We also had some issues where it turns off and then back on again by itself. We are returning.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kkk1234
Would recommend to a friend? No
TV stopped working.Less than 2 yrs old...
9/18/2010

Customer review by Jcbjlt

1.0 stars 9/18/2010 by Jcbjlt
by Jcbjlt

LOVED this TV for the first year plus. We purchasedt this TV in November of 2008....TODAY It just turned itself off and will not come back on....I remember reading the fine print and it said somewhere that the plasma screen had a life of 1000 hours or something? We also used it as a computer monitor in our living room for photo slideshows ect.. It was on quite often. It was great while it worked...I would not buy again however...I want a dependable, not disposable TV.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jcbjlt
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bad decision
8/22/2010

Customer review by SilentJay

1.0 stars 8/22/2010 by SilentJay
by SilentJay

I purchased this television about 2 years ago and initially I was very happy with it. That was until one day it just turned itself off and would not turn back on. I called a repair man out and was told that the power board was bad and needed to be replaced to the tune of $375.00. Done. Three monthes later, dead again. I decided to do my own investigation and discovered that there were (2) 8 amp 250 volt ceramic fuses in the power boar that had blown, fortunatly for me there is an electronic supply company close that carries these fuses (radio shack doesnt so dont bother looking) and was able to fix the tv my self much cheaper ( 10 cents per fuse times 2 each fix) Well, 40, yes 40, fuses later, i give up. The last time i "fixed" it, it stayed powered up for about 30 mins. DO NOT BUY THIS TELEVISION!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SilentJay
West Alexandria< Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 78 total reviews
1-20 of 78 reviews