Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

41 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

41 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

46%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 stars
18
1-20 of 37 total reviews
46%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
6/21/2010

Customer review by MSTVWatcher

5.0 stars 6/21/2010 by MSTVWatcher
by MSTVWatcher

I have only had this TV for a week but so far it is a great TV for what you pay. I paid $648. What a deal for a 46 inch LCD TV. This is our fourth Sanyo TV in the past 17 years. I have always had good luck with Sanyo TV's and have 2 that are in childrens rooms (you don't get more abuse than that) and they still work. I think the sound is just fine. I wonder what some people expect with small built in TV speakers. If you are looking for surround sound quality then buy a surround sound system. Don't dog the TV. Here is something that may pertain to one of the other reviews I read on this TV about the sound. I ran into the first night I was setting up this TV. Unlike my other two HD TV's, when using this one with the Cable box you can control the volume seperately from the TV and the Cable box. For example, the cable remote and the TV remote BOTH control the TV volume on my Toshiba (there is no cable box volume that pops up). On this TV I found that the TV remote controls the TV volume and the cable remote controls volume from the cable box. If I turn up the TV volume over 35 and then I turn up the cable volume over half way the TV sound will start to cut out like a cell phone with a bad signal. The TV will not be too loud since I have the cable box volume low but it appears that the AUDYSSEY Dynamic Volume feature of the TV is kicking in to balance the sound, thus, causing the sound from the TV to cut in and out. since the TV THINKS the volume is very loud even though it isn't. I hope that make sense. I have had no other other sound issues once I figured all that out. Now I only use the cable remote for the sound and I just leave the TV volume at one setting. I will update this review if I have any problems but so far it's a great TV.

Was this review helpful? (48) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MSTVWatcher
Hattiesburg MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor sound/ Poor company support
5/25/2010

Customer review by jwhistler31

2.0 stars 5/25/2010 by jwhistler31
by jwhistler31

I purchased this 46 inch sanyo lcd 14 months ago, the sound has always been poor. The sound will break up like a cell phone connection and you have to change the channel back and forth to get it back to a solid stream.... The company did nothing but have you reset settings which did not work. The after 14 months a capicitor went bad on a board which is contained within the sealed panel- half the screen would go black intermittingly. Service techs cant get to the board beacuse its within the panel section and repl;acing the panel is more expensive then a new TV. Sanyos customer service response is the warrant expired 60 days ago. Will never buy another Sanyo product. This from a customer who has Sanyo TV's, camera's, other products.

Was this review helpful? (30) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jwhistler31
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't buy it!
7/21/2010

Customer review by abforgolf

1.0 stars 7/21/2010 by abforgolf
by abforgolf

Purchased this TV from Walmart approx 2 yrs ago..Soon after the 1 yr Warranty expired (How convenient) a black smear started to appear on the screen...It would periodicly appear about 1 hour after being turned on..Then it would go away after leaving it on all day..Eventually it never went away and the picture was still there, but the black "smear" was always present..Sanyo said they could reccommend a local TV Repair shop to take it to...That was about all they had to say about it...It could be a "Lemon" , but who knows how many more are lurking out there.....

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
abforgolf
Melbourne, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
UPSET SHOPPER
6/3/2010

Customer review by vabeachgrl

1.0 stars 6/3/2010 by vabeachgrl
by vabeachgrl

We bought this tv at the end of January 2010 for 800 dollars thinking it was a great deal... It seemed great until the last day of May and it blew out.. The Picture cut out and the tv started making a buzz noise and now it is completely dead.. What trash.. My husband called Sanyo and really had it out with them so they are refunding the tv and warranty and everything else.. We are going to get another brand tv this weekend.. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER SANYO AGAIN....

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vabeachgrl
va beach, va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SETUP A SNAP
6/2/2010

Customer review by EVIE2010

4.0 stars 6/2/2010 by EVIE2010
by EVIE2010

This is my 2nd sanyo. great price.good picture. sound better than expected. set up a snapVERY LIGHT AND STYLISH

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EVIE2010
cALIFORNIA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A member of two others at home.
11/22/2010

Customer review by ADA06401

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by ADA06401
by ADA06401

This unit and my other Sanyo's total up as a: 46 inch, 42 inch and a 19 inch. All over the year mark, they are at least 18 mo. All have great sound and pictures. The value here is great quality. Hope I can find a 60 plus inch for my next buy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ADA06401
Ansonia, CT.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very dissapointed
11/9/2010

Customer review by klvrcn

1.0 stars 11/9/2010 by klvrcn
by klvrcn

The picture was blurry from the start. After about a year I hung it on the wall within a few months the picture started getting spots at the top of the screen. Talked to Sanyo and guess what they only cover it for a year. So spend your 600+ for this after a year and it goes bad. You could always pay someone a few hundred dollars to come and fix it...Take a chance?

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
klvrcn
Would recommend to a friend? No
poor
6/14/2010

Customer review by nuget

1.0 stars 6/14/2010 by nuget
by nuget

it lasted 1year and three monthsand the screen went out.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nuget
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dont Buy!!!!!!
6/2/2010

Customer review by Ifit

1.0 stars 6/2/2010 by Ifit
by Ifit

Unless you enjoy buying TV's every two years, dont buy this one! The picture fades to black after the warranty expires. Sanyo service is like calling the President. I read the reviews too late and learned a $900 lesson. Im warning you....google this model and see for yourself....

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ifit
Mckinney, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value and product
7/17/2010

Customer review by ILoveSyFy

5.0 stars 7/17/2010 by ILoveSyFy
by ILoveSyFy

After reading all the reviews I was skeptical about purchasing. I had been eyeballing the floor model in the store for a couple of months now. It always looked good and the angle of viewing seemed great compared to the Vizio products. Had it a little over a week and am impressed so far with it. We did get the 2 yr extended warranty just in case. But overall, this TV looks great, the picture is great, and the sound quality was way better than expected. We do have it hooked up to surround, but it sounds just fine on it's own if you do not have surround. The ONLY complaint, if you want to call it that, has been voiced here already. If you want to switch inputs you have to run "all the way around the dial" so to speak to get to an input that was listed before yours in the TV. Having to push the input button repeatedly to get to the one you want is aggravating, but for this price, and the quality of this TV so far, it is a small inconvenience.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ILoveSyFy
Jackson, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Waste of money
6/30/2010

Customer review by MomOfBoyz3

1.0 stars 6/30/2010 by MomOfBoyz3
by MomOfBoyz3

I purchased this tv in July 2008. Soon after our 1 year warranty expired, we began to get parts of the screen blacked out intermittently. Over the last 6 months, it has become progressively worse. Now it happens every day, usually for about 30 minutes after turning on the television. According to other customer postings online, it appears that it's a defect in this Sanyo model. We had a tv repair guy come out to diagnose the problem. The part the is going out is no longer available and, even if it was, it would cost more than we paid for the television. So, beware of Sanyo LCD televisions. It's very frustrating to pay this much for a television and only get 1 1/2 years use out of it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomOfBoyz3
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't buy it
1/3/2011

Customer review by Regrocpar

1.0 stars 1/3/2011 by Regrocpar
by Regrocpar

We bought this tv last year at christmas, around thanksgiving this year, the tv started making a static sound when we turned it on, then the picture went completely out, luckily we purchased the warranty, we had to wait a couple of days before the tv repair shop came to look at the tv, they couldn't fix it at our home, so they took it back to the shop, two weeks later we learned that the repair shop could not repair the tv because they couldn't get the part that they needed, but to be fair with the warranty company they offered to replace the tv or send us a check for the total cost of the televison, so two months later we have a brand new vizio tv

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Regrocpar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very nice TV
6/22/2010

Customer review by sparkman7x7

4.0 stars 6/22/2010 by sparkman7x7
by sparkman7x7

Looked a long time and checked prices as well, bought the 42" first saw the 46" would fit better returned 42" and have been very pleased. Don't know what the deal is with the sound mine is wonderful! Picture is what was expected, a little grainy (I don't have HD) but very acceptable and on the HD channels and with movies.... unbelivable! Only had it for a week or so and will buy the extened service plan, just in case. Sill an excellent buy!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sparkman7x7
Heber Springs Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DONT BUY!
1/13/2011

Customer review by TAZZMAN4U

1.0 stars 1/13/2011 by TAZZMAN4U
by TAZZMAN4U

I bought this TV thinking it was a GOOD Tv WRONG! after my warranty ran out a blue line appeard on the left side of my screen. Im 6 weeks out of warranty. It wil cost you $95.bucks just to have the service people look at it! And Sanyo wont help in ANY repairs or cost! even being 6 weeks out of warranty! It seems like this happens as soon as the 1 yr warranty is up do the research before you buy it, Im not the only one this has happend to. I'm by no means telling you to buy the Extended Warranty why buy it? This TV should last longer then 1yr. I dont have children so no ones beatin on it or banging on it or throwin things at it. it just simply sits in its cornner. You dont see the line till your about 3 feet away from the TV,But who watches a 46" TV from 3 ft away?

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TAZZMAN4U
Would recommend to a friend? No
2 seperate tvs broken within a week
1/17/2011

Customer review by ReviewU

1.0 stars 1/17/2011 by ReviewU
by ReviewU

Simply put do not waste your time on this TV I purchased one and brought it home mounted it on the wall. Within a few days the audio just started cutting out here and there for no reason. I returned it and got the same model thinking maybe I got one of the few defective ones. Within a few days of my SECOND brand new TV started having the same problems. On top of that I starting seeing vertical black lines occasionally. I will be returning this one also. I will never purchase anything from SANYO again and suggest you do not waste your time either. I will be purchasing the Samsung even though there is a $200 difference. The price will be worth a TV that doesn't break within the first few days.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ReviewU
Chantilly, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY SANYO
12/5/2010

Customer review by bkean

1.0 stars 12/5/2010 by bkean
by bkean

Can't believe they are still selling this brand. go figure that as soon as the warrenty is out the screen starts going bazerk. We have had this computer 2 years and now have to buy a new one. a major inconvenience for a TV that is supposed to last 60,000 hours. Its ridiculous! It started happening out of the clear blue sky. not gradually. Plan and simple - I will never buy a Sanyo again!

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bkean
Baltimore MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Disappointed in the Quality
7/6/2010

Customer review by asimwill

1.0 stars 7/6/2010 by asimwill
by asimwill

We purchased this TV a 1 1/2 ago and now half of the picture is going out. From what I have read online, it will be more $ to fix the TV rather than buying a new one. It's very frustrating to pay this much for a TV only for it to quit working a little after the warranty expires. There are several other similar comments out there. Do your research so you don't waste your money!

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
asimwill
Would recommend to a friend? No
Waste!!!
12/11/2010

Customer review by ronormil

1.0 stars 12/11/2010 by ronormil
by ronormil

i bought this about 5 months ago at walmart as a birthday gift for my mom. I was excited about it since it's a 1080p and was thinking they could finally use their bluray player. 5 months after it just would not turn on. I called Sanyo and they told me to bring it to a repair center within 24 hours. 6 o'clock in the morning the next day someone from sanyo calls me and tells me not to bring it to the repair man and instead wait for 10 business days and they would replace it. so 2 weeks without TV for my parents. waste of time, effort and money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ronormil
Beaumont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT TV GREAT PRICE!!!!!!
2/3/2011

Customer review by tgrodi87

5.0 stars 2/3/2011 by tgrodi87
by tgrodi87

This tv has amazing picture and sound .....this is my first sanyo and i must say i am pleased!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tgrodi87
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Value product
7/5/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/5/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It's not expensive but is a good product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews