Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 109 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

109 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

109 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
10
1 stars
22
1-20 of 98 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 98 total reviews
1-20 of 98 reviews
Exceeded expectations
6/15/2010

Customer review by SETLLC

5.0 stars 6/15/2010 by SETLLC
by SETLLC

I first bought the 19" Sanyo LCD TV for my wife's workout area. I was pleased with the quality and price so I looked at the 42" 1080p for the livingroom to replace the old 25" traditional tube. I was reassured to see it's a Consumer Reports best buy. Upgraded to DirecTV's HD-DVR and had the new set for the installer to put it all together. The picture is great and so is the sound. We are not using a separate audio system at this time. Note on picture quality with this 1080p set: HD channels are crystal clear and "pop" like you won't believe (yes, you really can read the name of the putter on that golf club); non-blu-ray DVDs are pretty darn good but not HD quality although the depth of color is great compared to regular TV (for example District 9 is much clearer and PBS series The War is awesome on it); regular TV programming that's non-HD is OK but you'll know immediately it's not HD because of lack of sharpness. We're extremely pleased with this purchase for quality and price. Note: the accompanying photos were taken with a cell phone.

Was this review helpful? (89) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SETLLC
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Great Tv
6/26/2010

Customer review by WritingDiva

5.0 stars 6/26/2010 by WritingDiva
by WritingDiva

I love my TV. I had been searching both online and in stores to get a tv for around $500-600. This tv was in my budget and 42 inches. Im able to hook up my computer and watch movies. The only issue I have is that I cant plug up my Wii unless I unplug my tv cables. Besides that I love it! Oh yeah... it looks good on Blu Ray as well.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WritingDiva
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Tv while it lasted !
3/2/2011

Customer review by pappy58

3.0 stars 3/2/2011 by pappy58
by pappy58

I bought this TV in July of 2009, the price sure has dropped since then. I paid 659.00 best deal at that time. I was watching TV last night and it just went black still had sound but no picture. Iv'e tried every thing to get it to come back on, but to avail ! I thought i'd share this with you, it was a good TV until this happened. When I bought it I had read a review that someone had left, that this had happened to them as well ! Don't think I'll be buying any SANYO products in the near future ! I believe that 700.00 for a TV that only lasted a year and a half is kind of steep. I have a VIZIO 37" that I bought some 5 years ago that is still working. I believe I will replace the Sanyo with another Vizio. They seam to have a lot better lasting quality. I hope this helps out any one that reads this review and is looking to buy a Sanyo!

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pappy58
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent TV
8/22/2011

Customer review by HappyHands

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by HappyHands
by HappyHands

I've owned Sanyo TVs for over 17 years and not once have I been disappointed. We chose this TV because it has a matte finish on the frame rather than a shiny one like most are being made now, thus less distraction. The TV has served us well and we couldn't be happier. The HD comes through crisp and clear and the captioning works great. We have had others ask us what kind of TV it is because they, too, like the picture quality the TV offers. Movies, games for Wii and sports all come through at top quality. Some family and friends have mentioned our picture is so clear they feel as though they're attending a real sporting event when we host get togethers. The only small downfall is the sound quality sometimes. But, we hooked ours up to our surround speakers and it delivers some powerful sound when we watch movies. Our other Sanyo, 22", is now on the blink after 15 years. We were discussing purchasing another TV and what brand was mentioned? Sanyo. If you purchase this TV, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyHands
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV AND great computer monitor
9/24/2010

Customer review by EGSEGSEGS

5.0 stars 9/24/2010 by EGSEGSEGS
by EGSEGSEGS

Great picture quality. Very easy to use. I'm also using it as a computer monitor. My new computer has HDMI output for single-cable audio and video connection to the Savyo. The picture quality as a computer monitor is stunning. Great TV, great price.

Was this review helpful? (46) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EGSEGSEGS
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
excellent bang for your buck
11/14/2010

Customer review by buysanyo

5.0 stars 11/14/2010 by buysanyo
by buysanyo

I bought this product about 3 years ago and its still going strong. It is easy to set up. great picture, I am not an electronic gooroo, but I think I have selected an excellent product. Many hookups in the back allow you to do many things. I have been doing some research on tv's because my son wants a big screen for christmas and I think I may buy him this same tv. I would recommend this product to anyone. Thanks Sanyo for a great product. looking forward to purchasing another.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buysanyo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV for a Great Price
6/16/2010

Customer review by SM4K

5.0 stars 6/16/2010 by SM4K
by SM4K

This TV has no glare on the screen even with lights on and a great picture. I spent 8 months looking for the best & biggest TV I could get under $600, and this is definitely it.

Was this review helpful? (66) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SM4K
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Constantly impressed
12/17/2010

Customer review by iMaverick

4.0 stars 12/17/2010 by iMaverick
by iMaverick

I bought this to replace my 26" behemouth tube TV. I thought it was now the right time to buy. I had a $600 budget and a 42" LCD I've been lusting for was considerably below that price. Unfortunately I had to buy HDMI cables so it was back up to the 600 dollar mark. What I can't get over is that for this price I got a TV that blew me over as far as the picture quality went. I've gone back to the store a couple times now, and compared to the LG and the Vizio, the Sanyo screen was much more pleasing. Maybe it was the color settings that the TVs were set at by default, but the sharpness and the clarity and contrast was all there and what I was looking for. It's a 60hz LCD, so you get the picture jitter time and again and I was expecting that. But you're still getting a darn good TV for the price. If this TV lasts for 2 years or more, I got way more than my money's worth!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iMaverick
Honolulu, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buyer Beware
3/22/2011

Customer review by ZZZAAABBB

2.0 stars 3/22/2011 by ZZZAAABBB
by ZZZAAABBB

I purchased this TV a few days ago and I'm very unhappy with it. When you stand to either side of the tv the picture becomes cloudy-only a clear sharp view when directly in front of it. I've been messing with the 'picture control' options for the last few days and still have not produced a good quality picture. The coloring is way off with the many settings I've tried. You will not find a 'trouble shooting' section in the manual. I called the 1-800 'Need Help' number and this is what I got. I explained to the service rep what was going on and her response was for me to return the TV from where I bought it. With this lack of service from a Sanyo Rep, upon returning this TV I will surely not ever buy a Sanyo product. If your considering this TV, you will me on your own when you get it home and start coming across any problems - this was a bad purchase and now a hassle from me to take it off the wall and drive 2 hours to return it. Very dissatisfied!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZZZAAABBB
Ketchum, Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Speakers! Wonderful Remote great Value
6/12/2010

Customer review by Happysummy

5.0 stars 6/12/2010 by Happysummy
by Happysummy

What a pleasant surprise. This floor unit cost me only $366 plus tax. So I took a chance. A small nick here and there, otherwise it looked good to me. I really wasn't expecting much as I only wanted it for a monitor for my wireless keyboard 12 feet away. The first thing I noticed was it's beauty then I heard the sound and was simply amazed; 95 percent of all lcd's have terrible sound quality when you spend under $700. But not this baby, I was hard pressed to believe it has only 2 ten watt speakers that produced this exceptional sound quailty! Since I don't have Dish or Cable I did not care about the 60Hz, however another nice surprise was that it's 1080, cool for later if they ever have anything on TV worth spending $40 a month on, till then it's HULU, DVD's, online stuff etc. for me. The remote has a light whenever you press any button I like that too. If you get HD service it's really all the same anyway isn't it, , Blue-ray too, those devices produce for themselves and any ($500+) LCD will be very very close to each other regardless of price. Buy this one and you'll save heartache and you'll have this big monster monitor too. Not for those who need super crisp deep colors and/or football fast action. Perfect for those who want a tv that works with good performance and easy to use remote. On Screen easy user friendly menu.

Was this review helpful? (22) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happysummy
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Please do not buy
1/29/2011

Customer review by Disgruntledsanyoowner

1.0 stars 1/29/2011 by Disgruntledsanyoowner
by Disgruntledsanyoowner

I have owned a 32in sanyo for a little over two years now, and I absolutley love it, so when it came time to upgrade this was my first choice in tv... Boy am I sorry for that. Two days after owning this pruduct the sound started cutting out followed by sounding like the speakers were under water, next the screen started pixelating. I tried for about a week to locate a Walmart that actually had them in stock, and finally found one. Upon returning my broken tv, I asked the associate to connect the new one to the wall to make sure everything was in good running order... Much to both of our suprise, the tv was broken right out of the box! At this point I wanted a different tv, and the associate obliged, agreeing to the 40in Phillips 1080p (which happens to be the same price). I could not be happier with my phillips, sure you lose 2in off of the screen, but you gain a 120hz proccesser, and full HD. The picture and sound quality of this tv is worlds apart from the Sanyo even when it worked and to be honest, I can not tell one bit of difference in size.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disgruntledsanyoowner
Harrison Township, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy
11/20/2010

Customer review by BKM10

5.0 stars 11/20/2010 by BKM10
by BKM10

I actually worked at WalMart when I purchased this product. I researched tv's for some time before making my decision and for the money I feel that this was certainly the best purchase, at least at the time. I bought it back in June of 2009 and seeing how there were no holiday sales or "Yearly Event" specials it was a good purchase for $628 after being reduced from around $678. I use it almost everyday and sometimes it's on almost all day as I usually fall asleep with it on every night. So far I've had no issues with it. I have friends with Sony's and Samsung's and I also have a 47" Vizio in the living room. These are the 3 best brands in my opinion and in that order. This tv functions just as good as any of them though. I use it mostly with comcast HD cable but I also use Blu-Ray and Xbox with it as well and occasionally connect my laptop to use it as a large monitor. Speakers aren't that great but I haven't seen any tv with excellent speakers. They are good for an HD tv though but I certainly suggest surround sound or a sound bar and sub woofer if placed in living room, especially if you have a vaulted ceiling. I have it in my bedroom now and the speakers work fine there. Great product for a great price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BKM10
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/25/2011

Customer review by saddened112233

1.0 stars 3/25/2011 by saddened112233
by saddened112233

We've had this TV for about 13 months. The warranty ran out 1 month ago. Yesterday, the screen blacked out. Everything worked great up to that point. After doing some research, it seems it's a common problem with Sanyo, so much so that my friend's 50" Sanyo screen blacked out as well. Try google search for "backlight inverter sanyo lcd" and see what comes up.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
saddened112233
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wish it would just stay on
9/21/2010

Customer review by Alkohallick

4.0 stars 9/21/2010 by Alkohallick
by Alkohallick

First off let me say that I have nothing bad to say about the picture quality or sound of this TV. The picture is clear and viewable from almost any angle, setup is very simple, and the sound is good enough for a small/mid sized room. My only gripe with this tv is that it wont stay on!!! If I pause whatever it is that I'm watching(blu-ray on PS3 or TV via DISH Network DVR) the TV will power cycle after about 15 seconds or so. I've called tech support and he suggested not using the HDMI and switch to component cables. ok so that worked for all about 10 mins(until we got off the phone). I'm returning this TV this weekend.....Again if I wasn't having this issue I'd be a happy camper but I cant recommend this product at the moment.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alkohallick
STL, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Buy
4/4/2011

Customer review by atech2

4.0 stars 4/4/2011 by atech2
by atech2

I've had a 37" Sanyo for ~2 years, and love it. This 42" appears to have an even better picture and sound. I can't imagine how you could beat this deal. Good luck.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
atech2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sanyo does it again!
11/7/2010

Customer review by andipandi

5.0 stars 11/7/2010 by andipandi
by andipandi

I am very happy with this tv! I have had a Sanyo before, and it was nice to see that they upgraded their remote control. The picture is incredible when watching a movie with my HD dvd player, and the sound too with my surround sound system(gotta have this for true sound). I have found that it is NOT worth paying extra for HD programming. The picture and sound are fine for regular shows, including sports, we are a football family. My local store even had it for less than the online price, which was also nice! Very satisfied and would recommend to anyone looking for a tv with everything you need!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
andipandi
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sound goes out!
8/5/2010

Customer review by ewey

2.0 stars 8/5/2010 by ewey
by ewey

I had this TV for just a few days and the sound on this tv frequently goes out then comes back. The sound will be real "jagged" so that you cannot understand what is said. Or sometimes it will go out all together. If I change the channel and return to what I was watching...it will return to normal. But it gets frustrating to have to do this several times, say, during a two hour show. I contacted my cable company and they did what they could and determined that it indeed is the TV. I am returning the TV as I only had it less than over a month.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ewey
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Typical for SANYO
12/24/2010

Customer review by ECVMatuca1849

5.0 stars 12/24/2010 by ECVMatuca1849
by ECVMatuca1849

As always in my experience, SANYO delivers excellent quality with a great price. The picture is fantastic, the sound is great, setup was quick and painless. My family loves this TV, as they have threatened to swap me with thier Sony 42" or their Panasonic 46".

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ECVMatuca1849
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/8/2011

Customer review by karendc73

1.0 stars 7/8/2011 by karendc73
by karendc73

We bought this tv less than 6 months ago and the HD has already gone out in it!!! So mad!!! Do not buy this tv... The dish came out to make sure it was not our box and told me that they have seen this a lot w/sanyo tv's!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
karendc73
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good choice
12/21/2010

Customer review by rvn69

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by rvn69
by rvn69

I have had this set only a few weeks but it has already "blown the doors off" the 32 inch set it replaced. Very easy to set up, lots of great features like ports for everything. The sound isn't as good as it should be, but I run the whole thing through a home theater system so sound is not an issue with me. Since I bought this set from their website, WalMart was true to their word as for the delievery date. Great value, lots of bang for the buck.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rvn69
Two Rivers, Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 98 total reviews
1-20 of 98 reviews