Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 164 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

164 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

164 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
96
4 stars
30
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 stars
19
1-20 of 143 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 143 total reviews
1-20 of 143 reviews
Awesome Tv!
9/8/2010

Customer review by DjFraktel

5.0 stars 9/8/2010 by DjFraktel
by DjFraktel

After months and months of search for a new tv, I was deciding between this TV and a Vizio for my room. I originally wanted 32 inches, but they were alot more expensive plus it wouldn't fit in my TV area, and I already have a 40" in my living room. The 26" vizio didnt have as many outputs as this tv, plus it was more expensive. This TV had a better contrast ratio aswell. So I ended up buying this tv. I mainly use if for gaming so I hooked it up with hdmi to my PS3 and the picture was stunning; crystal clear. It also had good sound too, especially when I hooked it up to my surround sound. I had an older Sanyo tv from 1997 and its lasted a long time so i knew that Sanyo was a good brand. So i decided to upgrade with this TV. It does not disappoint. For the price its a steal and Its build quality is good too. It doesnt look cheap or flimsy. I would recommend this TV to anyone. Thats why this tv got straight 5 stars. Awesome TV again!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DjFraktel
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
THE BEST TV
1/23/2011

Customer review by shopaholic051983

5.0 stars 1/23/2011 by shopaholic051983
by shopaholic051983

I bought this tv about two years ago when we lived in a small apartment and it was the perfect size for us since there was not a lot of space. I looked at a lot of tvs before i decided on this one and they just didnt come close to the value of this one. The picture is great. I have it hooked up to dish and would be even better if i had hd programming. The sound is good for the size and in an apartment may blow you away but i recently moved to a house and have alot of space now and it just looks odd within the next couple of weeks i will be buying a 50" sanyo because i liked this one so much ad moving this one to my room. If you are thinking of buying this tv for an apartment dont think about it just do it you will not regret it but if you are looking to use as main tv is a house i would say you should look at something bigger.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shopaholic051983
Bethany, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
An awesome product with great picture quality
1/1/2011

Customer review by OsirisOrca

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by OsirisOrca
by OsirisOrca

This TV by Sanyo met and exceeded my expectations. Very good picture quality and great sound.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OsirisOrca
Palm Harbor, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great T.V.
12/28/2010

Customer review by lorrainek

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by lorrainek
by lorrainek

This is my first flat screen, and i couldn't be happier with it. The picture quality is amazing, the sound is great and it's the perfect size for my bedroom! It is also very easy to get setup with cable, dvd player, ect. I would highly recomend this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lorrainek
Edmond, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good tv, here's why! :)
11/27/2010

Customer review by TDG4Life

5.0 stars 11/27/2010 by TDG4Life
by TDG4Life

I bought this as a replacement for an old tv that finally broke down. I use it in the bedroom. It was VERY simple to set up. It came out of the box very easily, and the tv itself is very light. I am 75lbs, and me saying it is very light says something! Initial setup is extremely simple, it gives you directions the second you first turn on the television! It didn't take any time at all. It has 8 different screen views. You can choose the scene. Picture. Sound. It has a timer, captions, V-chip, internal DTV, you just need an antenna. I even played some CoD on it! Worked out quite nicely. And you can hook up your computer! I am still trying to get used to the remote, but I'm not used to this brand. Anyone buying Sanyo for the first time, don't worry you're not the only one if you can't find a button the first shot. I would definitely recommend this tv to anyone. It's a wonderful thing to have.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TDG4Life
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The Good, The Bad And The Disappointed
3/17/2011

Customer review by seadog7

2.0 stars 3/17/2011 by seadog7
by seadog7

We've owned a 42" Sanyo lcd tv for over 3 years and have been very happy with it's performance. A little over a year ago we purchased the 26" Sanyo for the spare bedroom. Lately, the 26" has acquired a bright yellow span at the top 1/5 of the screen. When the picture is dark, no yellow span, but when the picture is lightened slightly the yellow span occurs. What I don't understand is, if these televisions are all made to the same specifications, why do some last and others fail so quickly? I've come to my own conclusion that the secret lies in the shipping and handling of each individual set. Granted, if you drop or mis-handle most electronic equipment it's going to have potential problems. I can't help but believe, most, if not all television sets leave the factory in good working order but some suffer damage during shipment and the consumer pays the price in the end. Why else would some sets last for years while others only last for days or weeks.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
seadog7
Simpsonville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Newer Sanyo Model
5/31/2010

Customer review by Mitch449

5.0 stars 5/31/2010 by Mitch449
by Mitch449

I have shopped and shopped for a nice HDTV. I finally found one I am pleased with. I was a Vizio owner but when I broke my 32 inch one I had to get a new HDTV. I tried a couple and ended up returning them. I finally chose this one. I went to the Sanyo website after reading all the great reviews for the Sanyo DP26649. The only difference between that one and this model is that this one has a contrast ratio of 3000 to 1 and the DP26649 is 2,500 to 1. So based on all the reviews this is a great tv and from what I have seen since I have had it, it is a great inexpensive HDTV!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (130) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mitch449
Hudson, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Value and Affordable
6/5/2010

Customer review by illiniBlue

4.0 stars 6/5/2010 by illiniBlue
by illiniBlue

Firstly, I really wanted a 32" or larger but I was not willing to pay so much $. That said I conducted as best a research as I could with Wal-Mart and other chain retail stores. For a 26" it is PERFECT for my bedroom and specifically for my PS3. My cable signal is digital but not HD so those who complain about fuzzy pictures or what have you must understand that to really enjoy HD quality one needs a HDMI cable and for cable/satellite, a HD DVR Receiver. Rented Blu-Ray Avatar, watched it thru my PS3 with a HDMI.........WONDERFUL. Invited family over and all of us were gasping with enthusiasm. Rented The Hurt Locker, good quality considering it is a 720 TV. The only knock I have is when I have used it as a monitor for a Desktop PC; it seems like when you are finished using it as a Monitor and go back to the other Input selections, the remote and the TV's direct controls are knocked out of whack. (Takes about 15 minutes for the TV to "catch up" to "TV Mode") And that's why I gave this DTV an overall rating of 4 stars. Hopefully this thing won't die in less than 4 to 5 years or else I'll be ticked off royally. (Based on reviews I read of OTHER TV brands and models)

Was this review helpful? (41) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
illiniBlue
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works good.... If you can keep it working right.
8/25/2011

Customer review by hasjgirl

2.0 stars 8/25/2011 by hasjgirl
by hasjgirl

We bought this TV the end of June. I actually started out with the emerson 22" LED. It wasn't big enough so I opted for this that was in the same price range. It worked good for about 6 wks then it went to making crackling noises and would shut itself off. It would turn back on and be fine but within the week it shut off and wouldn't turn on. So I took it back, and got the same kind. Noticed straight out of the box the color didn't look right. The reds and oranges had a glow, the same you get on crt tvs when the color is going out. I kept it thinking maybe after adjusting the settings I could fix it. 2 weeks later after trying everything I called customer service. They say return it. I give it the rating I did cause the first one I was really pleased with it..... Up until it died. No one else seems to be having the same problems so maybe it's just a fluke but I don't think I'll be getting another sanyo. It's worth the extra money just not to have to return it every few weeks.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hasjgirl
Brookfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Intermittent signal losses
6/1/2010

Customer review by ClintC

1.0 stars 6/1/2010 by ClintC
by ClintC

I had two Sanyo DP26640 LCD TVs from a WalMart store during May 2010. Both had poor flesh tones.. people looked blue or purple on predefined pic settings and could not be significantly improved with manual adjustments. The Sanyo support desk was responsive and sent me a new HDMI cable (which was a nice jesture) but that did not help. I had already tested the pic adjustments with other settop boxes and with other hdmi and component connections. After a couple days I also noticed that the first TV intermittently loss its input signal.. sometimes it displayed a failure msg, flashed a black screen and recovered after a few seconds but other times the picture would stay snowy until I reselected the 'input' setting. I exchanged the first TV but immediately noticed that the second TV had both the pic quality problem as well as the intermittant loss of signal. The rollback price was great but not good enough to keep either set. If it helps, both Sanyo sets were manufactured in March 2010. I like the size and features so will try another Sanyo later - once that batch has cleared the WalMart shelves. My overall rating is low because of the TV defects listed above.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ClintC
Marietta GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sanyo TV
12/5/2010

Customer review by Roclone

5.0 stars 12/5/2010 by Roclone
by Roclone

An excellent value. It is only 720P but it meets all my expectations for it's use. I needed USB, PC and A/V inputs and did not require full 1080P resolution.

Was this review helpful? (41) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roclone
Pompton Lakes, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Picture quality and solidly built
10/28/2010

Customer review by TechGI2010

5.0 stars 10/28/2010 by TechGI2010
by TechGI2010

We were looking for a new smaller sized TV for a spare room. We just bought a new 42" LG for the living room, so wanted to get a good smaller TV but stay under $300. Well, this Sanyo surprised even me, a near TV perfectionist. The Sanyo DP26640 when compared to other 26" sets in the $300 or more range, has all the flexibility you need for getting a really sharp, clear, picture with natural colors. After just a little time spent in adjusting, the picture quality surpassed most 26" TVs on display. I am an avid video techy and this TV rivals larger TVs with ISF adjustments. While it's level of adjustment is moderate, I haven't seen a better picture on a 26" LCD TV and some cost upwards of $400. To get the best picture baseline settings in the "Picture" menu would be: FIRST ! Do this. Go into the picture menu, scroll down to the "Detailed Setting, find "White Balance". Then set : R (red) ~65% G(green) ~52% B(blue) ~40 to 45% Note: Adjustment "sliders" aren't numbered so the settings are approximate. The idea is to get a slightly "warm" tint to whites in the picture. Mainly reduce the blue and increase red slightly to accomplish this. NEXT: Go into the "Setup" mode and select "Level 3" in the "Energy Saver" setting. Then make the following settings: Manual mode Color ~33% Tint ~55% Contrast ~80% Brightness ~ 45% Sharpness ~53% Dynamic Contrast On (off for softer picture) You can vary these settings a bit depending on your room lighting, but keep Energy Saving at Level 3. The idea is to go for nice , natural colors, brightness, and contrast. Not over saturated "cartoonish" colors. . . unless that's what you like? :-) With these settings you will get great black levels and color for a TV of this size and price range. I am comparing this to my LG that cost almost 3 times as much and ,friends, the picture is very, very close. I wasn't a Sanyo fan, but this TV also has a great selection of inputs,more than other TVs in this price range. It is solid, and comes packed in a very thick solid box. The build quality looks and feels superb. The cons are: remote is a bit small, lot of button pushing to get to a settings you want to adjust, no individual settings for each input (but DVD/Blu-ray still looks great) on HDMI or component inputs. A plus on the remote is that you can quickly swtich form ,say, the last TV channel to a DVD input by using the "recall button". So all in all, this little Sanyo TV has more than enough to even satisfy a techy like me. Even PC inputs and the necessary settings for that, along with legacy inputs for video gaming and DVD/Blu-ray players if desired. So far reliability is good and my brother has a 32" Sanyo LCD he uses for 8 to 10 hours a day for the past 5 years. Any product line has some quality fall out, but based on the number of TVs Sanyo makes and sells, it seems as good as the rest.

Was this review helpful? (202) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TechGI2010
Midwest U.S.A.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
sanyo 26" hdtv review
12/29/2010

Customer review by Blasteromega

2.0 stars 12/29/2010 by Blasteromega
by Blasteromega

Now this TV would be good, but being a Gamer I found some problems with it. First off I plugged my TV in and it worked perfectly, colors take a bit adjusting to get them right. Now I get to a problem, the screen when first using the TV will blur the picture, but when you get past that(if you don't have HD) standard definition right from a cable the TV will double the picture making it hard to watch the TV. Next problem, now as a gamer I expect the TV to automatically work along with the system, but there is an obvious screen lag, while playing halo reach or Black ops I could notice a lag when I pressed the button and then a second later it shot on my screen, I studied even further by grabbing my old standard definition TV also made by sanyo that still works, and compared to plays of rock band my study concluded that there is lag I could play a song on expert on the SDTV but not on the HDTV. So in conclusion, if your a gamer don't get this TV, also only get this TV if you have HD with your cable or sattelite provider

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blasteromega
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not a fan of Sanyo's...but this is a good TV.
9/19/2010

Customer review by GreenMachine09

5.0 stars 9/19/2010 by GreenMachine09
by GreenMachine09

I'm a college student. This tv was a great price for it's size. The picture quality is good. I mean, it's not as great as a Sony, but for the price it's nice. No complaints. :)

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GreenMachine09
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV for bedrooms
8/3/2010

Customer review by IdahoFatherOf3

5.0 stars 8/3/2010 by IdahoFatherOf3
by IdahoFatherOf3

Shopped around for lots of flat screen tv's. This one wasn't even on my radar until i saw it at the store and i couldn't pull away from it. The price is great and the product is top quality. Word to the wise if your looking for a flat screen tv. Figure the distance from where the tv will be installed and figure 5" for every foot your away from the tv. This Sanyo TV was perfect. I was able to mount it on the wall and its pretty light weight and it keeps my son from staying to close to the tv. The picture and sound are perfect. If you have HD service this tv will work great for you. A couple things that i would like to share from my time and research. The HDMI cables are the best. There expensive but there less cable to have to deal with. The next best is the blue green and red cable. There cheaper but in away there bulky. Lastly when you decide to get your tv look first where your going to install it. If on the wall then more chance that the cables will show. I learned that once you decide look at the connections on the back of the tv. This Sanyo has its connections on the side. I was able to cover most of the cables but still not completely. But i mounted mine on the wall. If i left it to be on a dresser i might have had a easier time to hide them. This is something to consider when shopping so you have the best installation. The simple directions that came with this tv made installing a piece of cake. I do plan on buying another one for my office at home. It is perfect for the office and i will mount this on the wall as well.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IdahoFatherOf3
Boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
price was right
6/1/2010

Customer review by smoky01

5.0 stars 6/1/2010 by smoky01
by smoky01

Got this TV lastnight and found it to be better then first thought. For a 720p it looks like a 1080. picture can be vewed from any angle real nice and clear,sharp.Thought I had been geven wrong TV had to look on the web to make sure. Now if it last will be very happy!!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smoky01
Jamestown,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV
6/22/2010

Customer review by EdFJr

5.0 stars 6/22/2010 by EdFJr
by EdFJr

I bought this TV to replace an old 20 inch CRT that was failing. It is hooked up to a DishNetwork receiver, but is attached via cable and standard definition TV. And it is very good. Picture, color and sound are superb. I have a larger HDTV directly connected to the Dish receiver and this TV rivals it with just standard definition.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EdFJr
Greensboro, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Poor remote design.
7/29/2010

Customer review by radioshack

4.0 stars 7/29/2010 by radioshack
by radioshack

The only complaint I have about this TV is the remote control. After setup(if you are using the supplied remote) don't accidently press the reset button on the remote, it makes you search for all your channels again before you can watch TV again. Lets face it this isn't most peoples main TV. Most people are putting this in a bedroom or somewhere dark. The remote dosent light up and the reset button is way to easy to hit on accident. Other than that for the price its not to bad. I like that the ports are on the side makes it easy to be a bedroom TV.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
radioshack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
$$ Sanyo 26 $$
12/27/2010

Customer review by NevadaCruiser

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by NevadaCruiser
by NevadaCruiser
Top 500 contributor

Had my new TV for over 3 weeks now and have had no problems. Picked it up at my local Wal-Mart store ( Fallon, Nevada) Great picture, sound and price. Very easy to set up, Worked great off the antenna on the roof, then hooked it up to my D-TV satellite box and dish and now have hundreds of channels to view. I did get the extra warranty coverage for only $20 and added an extra 2 years on the 1 year warranty. Very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NevadaCruiser
Hawthorne, Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Sanyo 26" - Excellent TV Excellent Value!!!
10/20/2010

Customer review by KC1964

5.0 stars 10/20/2010 by KC1964
by KC1964

I purchased this TV for my son's bedroom recently, and it is fantastic. The picture quality & size are just perfect. I picked this particular model because it has the PC monitor option, and that will be useful to him in the near future. I also want to mention the exceptional service I received from Wal-Mart on the shipping of this item. I chose standard shipping, and the TV arrived a week earlier than I expected. It was a nice surprise for me and my son! Highly recommend Walmart and this TV!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KC1964
Urbana, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 143 total reviews
1-20 of 143 reviews