Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 62 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

62 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

62 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
36
4 stars
18
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 stars
3
1-20 of 51 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews
Best picture I've seen
9/12/2010

Customer review by noptical

5.0 stars 9/12/2010 by noptical
by noptical

Other than an almost near flawless display, the menu could use more options. I was disappointed there weren't more options under the format picture menu where we can select zoom, stretch, etc... I think there should be levels of zoom, levels of stretch. There should also be automatic presets for dealing with standard definition broadcasts sharing the same input as high definition broadcasts so that when watching a hi def show on hdmi dvr box, if you change the channel to a standard definition broadcast, the screen should automatically adjust based on a preference. Anyway, this is really just a minor complaint. It is a stretch looking for something wrong with this HDTV. The picture is so absolutely stunning it makes up for any menu problem. There just aren't very many HDTV's with this kind of view quality. Philips even claims a low 1:20,000 contrast ratio but it appears much better than that. The color representation is so perfect, you just see too much imperfection in film. Watch Star Wars 3 after Anakin kills Windu, you can see a big zit on Padme's face. I never noticed it on my Vizio HDTV thats for sure haha. I love this TV

Was this review helpful? (45) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
noptical
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best bang for the buck.
2/9/2011

Customer review by HomeBruin

5.0 stars 2/9/2011 by HomeBruin
by HomeBruin

After weeks of "windows" shopping, searching for a great TV for under five bills. I decided on this Phillips and have no regrets. the picture is crisp and rich. even on the Standard def. channels. If your looking for a good value, 1080p/120Hz. this is the unit to purchase.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HomeBruin
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
First HDTV
11/28/2010

Customer review by mam29

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by mam29
by mam29

After an overwhelming ton of reviews read I went to the store to buy a 42" Vizio as my first choice and this as my second choice. In looking at the actually displays on the wall, the Philips had a better picture and so went with the Philips. It was easy to set up and since it was over the weekend, I have to wait until Monday to get high definition from my cable company. I have yet to get all of my components hooked up to the tv, but from what I can tell it should be very easy. I've only had the tv for two days but I am very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mam29
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GET THE UPDATE
2/9/2011

Customer review by RGuy

4.0 stars 2/9/2011 by RGuy
by RGuy

I see many people are buying this TV now and I wanted to post this review for gaming issues. The gaming lag has been fixed. Go here http://www.usa.philips.com/c/televisions/3000-series-40-inch-class-full-hd-1080p-digital-tv-40pfl3705d_f7/prd/;jsessionid=911F675F82CFC9B1600832446E2D9376.app101-drp1?t=support Download the firmeware update. There are step-by-step instructions on how to do this. You will NEED a flash drive (haven't tried it with an external HDD) This has been updated THIS year and I doubt out-of-the-box tvs will have this update.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Fantastic Picture!!!!!!
12/30/2010

Customer review by BarackObama13

5.0 stars 12/30/2010 by BarackObama13
by BarackObama13

I bought this TV for my bonus room to replace an older set. After reading the reviews and for the price, I thought I'd give it a chance. WOW, was I surprised!!! Watching movies has been unbelieveable!!! The images appear so real that you feel like you are in the scene . . . almost 3-dimensional. The color is great, deep and saturated. I now watch TV on this set versus my 46" Sharp in my family room. Better than expected experience.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BarackObama13
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV, Superb Value.
5/13/2011

Customer review by UnbiasBargainBrowser

5.0 stars 5/13/2011 by UnbiasBargainBrowser
by UnbiasBargainBrowser

As most people have stated this TV is quite simply the best value for your $ that is out there currently. There are TV's that come close, but your shelling more of the precious ol $'s. I would agree that the menu is limited to the basics, although gives you nice control over subtitles, including Fonts, Sizes, colors etc. I was concerned about the TV being top heavy, but have found no wobbling etc. The speakers are quite impressive as far as HDTV's go. Volume running at 30-40% is plenty for general TV viewing. I had experienced some lag playing Halo Reach, Xbox 360 via components hook-ups. Glad to read that there is now a firmware update to correct the issue. Bluray's look just superb, sometimes 3D looking as the clarity is amazing. Old shows and cartoons play nice. Upscaling through a PS3 also works quite well, HD quality with no pixilation. I would recommend this TV to anyone looking for a great HDTV at a decent price. I will be purchasing another one soon for the bedroom as can't find another TV as cost effective as this one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UnbiasBargainBrowser
Bartlesville, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very pleased with price versus quality.
6/1/2011

Customer review by hepcat1

5.0 stars 6/1/2011 by hepcat1
by hepcat1

I am very pleased with the quality and performance of this product. It is comparable to my Sharp LCD which cost $2800.00!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hepcat1
Corning, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
HORRIBLE FOR GAMING
2/6/2011

Customer review by Xboxgirl

2.0 stars 2/6/2011 by Xboxgirl
by Xboxgirl

If you are a person who is interested in playing a xbox, ps, or wii then DO NOT BUY this tv. This tv has a lag of 2 to 3 seconds, so if you are playing a "fast-paced" game (like MW, for example) there is no way that you will do well. You can move the joystick or push a button on your game controller and nothing will happen for a couple of seconds. I tried connecting my 360 to the tv several different ways and tried changing the settings on the tv and the 360, but nothing helped. I returned this tv after only a day. I bought a Vizio and I love it. There is no delay/lag on the Vizio...great for gaming and watching sports and movies. All in all I'd go with a Vizio, which also has many more settings and controls for you to customize it to your liking.

Was this review helpful? (8) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Xboxgirl
Geneseo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Poor Gaming Quality
11/26/2010

Customer review by MRHGaming

2.0 stars 11/26/2010 by MRHGaming
by MRHGaming

Usually when you buy a television with specs of 2 MS and 120 hertz you are generally expecting a good gaming value. However, this television is garbage and does not meet expectations of good gaming. Trying to play a first person shooter is impossible. There is so much lag to it and I know it's the television and not the internet because I played the game on regular campaign mode and it was still lagging behind, even after turning it onto the game setting and turning off the hertz. If you want this tv for just watching television or movies then you will be fine. However, if you plan on playing video games prepared to become disappointed in this. I marked the sound lower because sometimes it gets to be like an echo. I plan on returning this soon.

Was this review helpful? (14) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MRHGaming
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Probably one of the best sub-$500 TVs you'll find.
7/24/2011

Customer review by linkinkampf19

4.0 stars 7/24/2011 by linkinkampf19
by linkinkampf19

Gotta say, I was on the line about buying this TV at first, hearing all of the negativity surrounding the 120Hz lag and all. But, that has been fixed, for the most part. Philips had released firmware specific to squashing the lag issues, and although it's not the most efficient way of stopping the problem, it's certainly not a bad way. The game mode, used for PC and console gaming signals removes the post-processing the TV adds, aka the 120Hz. Still this TV is great when I want to flip on XBMC or streaming Netflix through Firefox or Chrome. I just turn the Game mode off, and voila, smooth, crisp 1080p resolution from my computer. Now, one thing that seems to happen with many TV-as-monitor setups is the horrendous overscan. After some slight tweaking and fiddling with my Nvidia card's internal control panel, I get no overscan and it's a beautiful thing. Playing games like Fallout: New Vegas and STALKER: CoP are a treat for the eyes. Still coming from a 16:10 setup to 16:9 makes the internal per-game tweaking a might bit awkward (Just Cause 2 refuses to use 1080p and switches to 1080i... still can't figure that one out, and no config file either...) Only downfall is that the power saving mode, if turned off, makes the screen way too bright, but that same mode also muddles the screen slightly. I guess it's all about how your eyes adjust. One thing I have to spend time with is calibration. Not sure if it'll make things "pop" more, but it's worth a shot. Anyway, for the price I paid, it's a solid TV, and definitely a huge leap away from the now tiny 20" widescreen monitor I had been used to playing on. Now just to upgrade my computer to get solid frame-rates in all the latest games. I'm looking at you, Crysis 2.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
linkinkampf19
Holland, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Phillips 40" Tv
2/7/2011

Customer review by Mnbuck

4.0 stars 2/7/2011 by Mnbuck
by Mnbuck

I found the picture to be amazing, as far as gaming, i have found it to very good for that purpose, unlike the previous review. But to each his own i guess. I haven't had this product very long but so far I am extremely pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mnbuck
Braham, Mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Why???????
2/4/2011

Customer review by neverbeendone

1.0 stars 2/4/2011 by neverbeendone
by neverbeendone

I went to walmart because my magnavox lcd t.v. that i had for six years wouldn't turn on. love that t.v..........(taking to the shop to see if it can be repaired)so i decided to get a new t.v. for my master bedroom. any way i purchased the phillps because i new that magnavox and phillps used to be one company. boy was i ever to disappionted the color was very dark and i tried playing with the settings to see if it would help. no luck needless to say i will return the t.v. and try something else.

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
neverbeendone
pittsburgh pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Value for the Price, amazing picture!
6/18/2011

Customer review by JMcWhorter

5.0 stars 6/18/2011 by JMcWhorter
by JMcWhorter

One of the Best Pictures I have seen for a price under $500. I have HD set up on the TV and it has a amazing picture. The background sound sounds a bit muffled sometimes esp, when you are watching sports and the crowd cheers. The 120hz option is awesome for sports, and it slows the picture down for movies. If it looks different to you, you can easily turn the 120hz option off. For Gaming they seemed to have fixed the lag issue that other reviewers have complained about. Phillips has updated the TV's software for you in the newest TV's. There is a lag from changing channels. Especially when you go from HD channels to non HD channels, but I am very happy with the price and picture that i am not worried about this. Overall, if you are looking for a great picture at a great price, and not a hard TV to figure out, I would suggest buying it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JMcWhorter
Wyandotte
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this HDTV
2/10/2011

Customer review by downtown95

5.0 stars 2/10/2011 by downtown95
by downtown95

I Love the Picture on this tv you can see everything. and the price was just right.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
downtown95
warden,wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice HD TV
4/4/2011

Customer review by Pghbuc001

5.0 stars 4/4/2011 by Pghbuc001
by Pghbuc001

I researched a lot of HD TVs and read a lot of video/audiophile reviews and went with the Philips 40 inch, 1080p/120 Hz. This is for an office in my home and used as a secondary TV for sports for me (Steelers, Pens, Pirates, and NASCAR!) and TV for my children. * nice picture, and 120 Hz is required to me for watching hockey for sure which is very nice on this set * very "deep" picture * wide viewing angles * the sound is good but would be better if the speakers were in the front. I understand it is a design compromise and if you are hooked to a surround system it does not matter. * I got a good deal on this as it was one of the last from last years "model" I am very happy with the HD quality from this TV in this price range. I have had it for about a month FYI.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pghbuc001
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
4/11/2011

Customer review by DsNewMove

5.0 stars 4/11/2011 by DsNewMove
by DsNewMove

This is a great tv. I can say anything bad about it!!!! It is a great price for this tv...and I did a lot of research!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DsNewMove
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great product !!! great price!!!
4/19/2011

Customer review by mom2beee

5.0 stars 4/19/2011 by mom2beee
by mom2beee

The TV is great ....picture is great ..sound is great and the other reviews for this TV is the reason I bought this one instead of the Sanyo....the only thing I dont like about it is the lag when you push the button to change the channel... if I used the TV for gaming I would be upset but since its for the family room its no big deal.... love the Tv happy with my purchase

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom2beee
Auburndale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV
5/13/2011

Customer review by LW53

5.0 stars 5/13/2011 by LW53
by LW53

Nice TV, good value, easy to set up!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LW53
Phila, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great tv
4/16/2011

Customer review by brianmbb

4.0 stars 4/16/2011 by brianmbb
by brianmbb

great picture, not worried about sound; goes through stereo, picture lag though, software update should fix that.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brianmbb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
"one" for the money
7/10/2011

Customer review by thrifTshpr44

4.0 stars 7/10/2011 by thrifTshpr44
by thrifTshpr44

It is great for the money. I wanted to upgrade for the bedroom and the 40" is more than big enough.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thrifTshpr44
Gardena
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews