Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 533 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

533 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

533 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
406
4 stars
97
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 stars
13
1-20 of 474 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 474 total reviews
1-20 of 474 reviews
Awesome Machine
2/10/2012

Customer review by kbyrd2

5.0 stars 2/10/2012 by kbyrd2
by kbyrd2

1st off I did a ton of research, and I just found that this machine was getting the best reviews of any out there. I had not used a sewing machine much but my daughter is having twins so I was willing to do my best to learn. The instructions in the box are not the best. I went to a local sewing store for advice on stablizer, thread, and needles. I also bought a bigger hoop, not that the maching will do bigger that 4X4 just because its easier to hoop and you don't have to rehoop to add a design to your project. Once I figured everything out I have been going non-stop ever since it was purchased. You can not beat this machine. I downloaded a free digitizing program off the internet (Stitch Era) bought the designs I wanted and went to town. My work looks as good as the professional Embroidery store. You have to do your home work to get the best results, buy good thread, stablizer and needles. This is the way to go, no dought!!!! Love my Brother!!!!

Was this review helpful? (280) (59)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kbyrd2
Laurel MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great machine, great price
7/28/2010

Customer review by Ponette

5.0 stars 7/28/2010 by Ponette
by Ponette

I am a novice sewer and I had been using an old machine before upgrading to this. What a difference!! All of the sewing functions are easy... automatic threader, easy bobbin winding and placement, etc. On top of a great little sewing machine, you get an embroidery machine, too! The two towel photos I uploaded were created with designs included in the machine. I also purchased the accessory that allows you to download any .pes design onto your computer and then place it on a card that inserts into the machine. There are limitless possibilities and lots of free designs available online. I have had a few issues with embroidery jamming, but I've figured out that you really must use the correct type of needle, a new needle, and the correct stabilizer for every fabric. I highly recommend this machine for any beginner to advanced sewer, as well as beginner machine embrioderers.

Was this review helpful? (210) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ponette
Clearwater, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
From a new sewer, THIS IS AMAZING!
2/3/2011

Customer review by ashleighnc

5.0 stars 2/3/2011 by ashleighnc
by ashleighnc

I've had this for about a month. I am brand new to sewing, I did have some basic training in high school 12 years ago. This machine is sooooooooooo simple to get started with. I watched the instructional DVD first and an hour later I was in business. Before this machine I had bought a Singer Futura CE 200 and WOW I hated it! Bobbin kept popping out and I cried! I sold it and thought I would try again since this machine had great reviews and my experience has been night and day. LOVE LOVE LOVE it! I can already tell I am outgrowing the 4x4 hoop that comes with it for the embroidery. Transfering graphics from online to the machine is SIMPLE! You can find several free websites to get them. This is an awesome starter!

Was this review helpful? (120) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ashleighnc
Morehead City, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I LOVE this machine
12/31/2011

Customer review by WalmartReviewerTexas

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by WalmartReviewerTexas
by WalmartReviewerTexas

I was looking for a new machine when my 25-year-old Singer finally died. I was only familiar with the Singer brand and was a little leery about trying something new. My aunt had recently done a ton of research on new machines and she recommended this model. I am SO glad I listened to her and bought it. It has so many upgrades and features that I had never even heard of before, self threading, automatic thread cutting, drop in, self threading bobbin and a wonderful and easy to understand on-screen function panel. I have been going crazy with this little gem. In my house, if it isn't tied down, I've embroidered on it! Have only had time to do a few actual sewing projects, but it has performed flawlessly. I can not say enough about the value for the price. This is a fabulous deal.

Was this review helpful? (59) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartReviewerTexas
Arlington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great for embroidery beginners
6/16/2011

Customer review by GMASUNEE

5.0 stars 6/16/2011 by GMASUNEE
by GMASUNEE

Delighted with my Brother SE 400! If you follow instructions, adjust settings for thread,needle and project- it works wonderfully! Effortless thread changes during a multi-color embrodiery, the threading system is simple, and needle threader works every time! I've stitched on tee-shirts, a quilt and samples on flour sacks for kitchen towels. I have also downloaded free embrodiery designs from internet and made them. Very satisfied with this machine. Wish it had a larger area for embroidery-especially for words. Get creative and buy proper quality threads for perfect results!

Was this review helpful? (48) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GMASUNEE
Waterford, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it! Great for beginners like me.
1/1/2012

Customer review by JCgracie

5.0 stars 1/1/2012 by JCgracie
by JCgracie

I have had this machine for a few weeks. I am a complete newby when it comes to embroidery machines. I only bought it to do the monogramming on the baby blankets I've been making because I was sick of having a friend do it for me. It took me about an hour to get started going. With some practice, I am getting pretty good. The size of the font is the only limitation- if I want to have it be very big, then it either has to be a short name, or I have to get more comfortable with breaking it up- which can be done with practice. I've about got it figured out, I think. between the quick start guide and the instruction manual, it's got all the info you need. I have not used it for sewing, but the features are fantastic and I have read nothing but good reviews on the sewing feature. Overall, 5 stars. Great product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (51) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JCgracie
Lubbock, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent Machine!!
2/17/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/17/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was looking to replace my old and tired Kenmore machine and saw this one online. I was a little skeptical about it at first...a sewing AND embroidery machine for the price of a good quality sewing machine alone? I thought it may be cheap or that the stitch quality wouldn't be good...but Brother DEFINITELY delivers on this one! While the body itself is plastic it doesn't feel cheap or flimsy at all. The stitch quality is outstanding especially considering the low price tag on this machine. I was intimidated when setting it up because of all the controls and touchscreen, but it was a breeze to get up and running. I think it took about 10 minutes to start my first stitches, which would have been less if I didn't read through the setup part of the manual first (which I highly recommend doing!). The manual is very easy to read and understand. I didn't find it lacking at all. Choosing a stitch is easy. The machine tells you what foot to use for each stitch so there is no confusion. Switching from sewing to embroidery is a cinch. Simply shut off the machine, change the presser foot, and attach the embroidery head which snaps easily into place. Importing embroidery images from the computer is literally drag-and-drop. No software required at all! I also purchased the sidecutter foot from Amazon (walmart didn't have it) for 30$ for this machine, which basically makes it a serger as well, less the multiple threads. I have found seams made with this foot to be extremely strong and durable. Overall, this is the best machine for the value that I have found to date. I absolutely LOVE it and I wouldn't trade it for any of the higher priced machines out there!! I've attached a couple pictures. Keep in mind my camera isn't the greatest.

Was this review helpful? (203) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Rome, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Super Sewing
5/5/2011

Customer review by SewItPretty

5.0 stars 5/5/2011 by SewItPretty
by SewItPretty

I love my new Brother Sewing and Embroidery Machine. It is super easy to use. I love that it threads the needle automatically. and has a screen that shows you step by step how to use many of the features. I haven't used the embroidery yet. Look forward to learning. I am including a picture of an Adult Bib that I made as my first project on this machine.

Was this review helpful? (37) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SewItPretty
Macon, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A Great Value for this Machine
3/18/2011

Customer review by EMBROIDEROO

5.0 stars 3/18/2011 by EMBROIDEROO
by EMBROIDEROO

I just bought my SE-400 at my local Walmart yesterday. I am very pleased with the machine, and even though I am experienced with machine embroidery, I took the time to review the enclosed CD about every aspect of the machine. I have already tested some embroidery on a lightweight bridal fabric and a fleece fabric (using the appropriate stabilizers), and they came out great. When I ran out of upper thread, it was easy to re-set and get it going again. After reviewing the CD, I learned that the machine had features I didn't even know of, that are really great.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EMBROIDEROO
San Bernardino, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Above expectations
1/4/2011

Customer review by melmarsh

5.0 stars 1/4/2011 by melmarsh
by melmarsh

This sewing machine was the best present that I ever gave to myself. It exceeds my expectations. I have already out grown the hoop size of 4 X 4 for applique and embroidery, but I knew that would happen and I purchased this with eyes open to the fact. Point is, for the money...this machine can't be beat. Not only is the embroidery and applique function so easy and so fun, the regular sewing stitches and capabilites are making me look SOOOOO good!

Was this review helpful? (21) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
melmarsh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Machine
8/22/2011

Customer review by nancypalmetto

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by nancypalmetto
by nancypalmetto

So far so good. I'm an experienced sewer, but new at embroidery. Still learning the embroidery & really wish I could blog w/someone to get ideas. I am impressed with all the features like the threader & cuter. I have monogrammed about 5 things & all have turned out. I plan to take a class to learn how to utilize all the features. Again, I want to connect with someone to learn more what the machine will do.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nancypalmetto
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fantastic machine for first timers
6/4/2012

Customer review by TXStitchhappy

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by TXStitchhappy
by TXStitchhappy

I bought this machine 1 1/2 yrs ago when my daughter was expecting her first baby. I never stop using it! Have made book bags, baby clothes, burp cloths, baby blankets, soft books, decorated kitchen towels and my bathrobes. I made pillows with deer and bobcat designs for my grandson, and am working on a collage of fish and flies for him. I have so many projects in my head! It is easy to use, never have any problems. Recommended it to my sister who wants to start monograming. Explained the limits on the size of designs, but I really have no need for 5x7 designs. The 4x4 is large enough for what I do. My one question: Why is it an extra 4MB memory card sells for over $200 but I can buy the PED-basic system (again) and get an included memory card for under $100. Something here does not make sense. The machine itself is fantastic and I would recommend it and buy another one myself.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TXStitchhappy
Mineola, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Machine
11/28/2011

Customer review by Kbyrd

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by Kbyrd
by Kbyrd

Just purchased this machine 2 days ago. I apsolutely love it. I got online and downloaded several free .dst files that I can upload to the sewing machine and once you upload it that's it. I also downloaded a free program for momogram font. One thing I will say is you MUST follow directions. Use the needles, stabilizer and thread they recommend. If you do not you will have problems it will jam up in the middle of the project. If you purchase at Walmart keep your receipt. They are very good about taking purchases back when you have a problem, but I think if you give it a shot and get over the learning curve you will Love it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kbyrd
Laurel MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE this machine!!!!!!!!!
1/2/2014

Customer review by Debi212

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by Debi212
by Debi212

I have loved this machine every since the day I bought it. Three years ago my machine stopped working and I had to find a new one right away. I decided to look at the ones in Wal-Mart to see if I could find me one to get by with till I could look for a new one with all the bells and whistles I was looking for. I decided to try this one. After I started using it I decided not to look for a new one. This machine is so easy to use and has so much on it why buy one that cost so much more. Like I said before, I have had it for 3 years and have made many clothes for my cousin's daughter. I have also made crafts and quilts on it. I love to embroidery with it also. The only improvement they could make is to have different size embroidery hoops for it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Debi212
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Unexpected surprise!
12/14/2012

Customer review by apdmama

5.0 stars 12/14/2012 by apdmama
by apdmama

Directed my mom to this machine last Black Friday and so glad I did! Excellent value for a great product! She used it daily for the past year. She just upgraded so she could use 5x7 designs because this one only does 4x4 and smaller.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
apdmama
Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome!
9/21/2013

Customer review by MenSew2

5.0 stars 9/21/2013 by MenSew2
by MenSew2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this machine. It worked well right out of the box. It tells you when the bobbin thread is getting low, and it lifts the presser foot and cuts the thread for you. It's insane. I connected it to my computer and copied a Superman design to the sewing machine. I then embroidered a hat with a really fun Superman emblem. I also made a couple Superman patches and have sewn them on a messenger bag. You can do so many thinks with this machine. It's light, takes up so little room. It's an affordable, fun, creative addition to my craft area.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MenSew2
Portland, Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far, it's great.
10/20/2011

Customer review by mtngramma

5.0 stars 10/20/2011 by mtngramma
by mtngramma

The instructions and DVD tutorials are very helpful. I really enjoy all the automatic features. I haven't used the embroidery option, yet, but I see no problems. Everything I have read has been excellent, and I have to agree.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mtngramma
Foresthill,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
SE400
1/27/2016

Customer review by MaryLH

4.0 stars 1/27/2016 by MaryLH
by MaryLH

The stitching of this machine is fine for normal sewing. I bought it for the embroidery function which I am still learning. I do wish that I could slow the machine down when embroidering which is probably an unusual request. The built-in designs and alphabets stitch out okay. Designs that I purchase and ones I design myself sometimes stitch out nicely and sometimes don't. I did not find it difficult to install the embroidery attachment and use the embroidery functions. The needle threader and thread cutter work well for the month that I have had the machine. Replacing a needle can be a problem. I have been using a Brother CS6000i for the past 3 years. I never had a problem with needle replacement. But the SE400 I have is "off" somehow and it takes me awhile to line up the new needle correctly to replace it. Cleaning is easier than with the CS6000i. Overall, for general sewing this one works better than my other machine. Embroidering is still something I have to practice.

MaryLH
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding Sewing Machine!
1/15/2016

Customer review by CarolC

5.0 stars 1/15/2016 by CarolC
by CarolC

I have been sewing for almost 50 years, started out in 4H and have never stopped. My Lady Kenmore machine that faithfully sewed everything from fine lace to canvas boat covers died after 35 yrs! You won't believe this, but it was my Husband who researched and found the Brother SE400. Fabulous! Fabulous machine. Love the new innovations like auto needle threader and thread cutter! Love the minut increments that the needle can be moved right and left. I have no problems sewing fine blouse fabrics, and just the weekend replaced a Carhart zipper in a pair of coveralls.Then the Embroidery! I had never given thought to an Embroidery machine, but this opened up entirely new crafting ideas for me. I monogrammed all of the Christmas gifts I made for my friends at work. I love this machine, it's a shame I cannot attach a photo of my monogram handy work. Can't say enough good things about this machine. Oh yes, it's light too, as I carry it to my computer to download embroidery patters to it!

CarolC
Newton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Husband
10/28/2010

Customer review by Bruska

5.0 stars 10/28/2010 by Bruska
by Bruska

Being new to sewing machines, I wasn't sure what to expect when I bought this for my wife. I learned a lot along the way and have used it as much as her. What we found was an incredibly easy to use machine that results in professional looking work. The embroidery aspect of the machine is simple to use and yields an excellent quality. Being able to connect via USB allows to download almost any design file out there. The limitations lie in the size of the designs that can be used. At most, the machine can handle 4" x 6.5" designs. This is big enough for 95% of the designs out there. The machine is easy to switch from embroidery to sewing, or from one foot to another. This is a great tool to work and learn with. Although we're novices, we've already produced great looking things. We haven't had the machine long enough to really attest to it's long term durability. However, it is well made and I know that this will be very durable. It's used heavily and I can tell how well this machine is made - definitely not a flimsy product.

Was this review helpful? (465) (68)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bruska
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 474 total reviews
1-20 of 474 reviews