Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 933 reviews
5 stars
688
4 stars
168
3 stars
40
2 stars
15
1 stars
22
Sort by: 
1-20 of 874 reviews
1-20 of 874 reviews
Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!
2/22/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am a 63 year old man and never sewed anything in my life. My wife only sews on buttons with a needle and I just got tired of going to the cleaners and having pants hemmed up. I could never buy pants with the right length. So I got this great idea and decided to sew my own and after looking at a couple of YouTube videos and also seeing how easy it was to do embroidery. I thought I would give it a go. Now the first week was the worst. Because I bought a comparable singer machine and it was the worst because I spent more time adjusting the thread and cutting tangles out. Needless to say I boxed up and sent it back. Went on line and started checking reviews and found the Brother SE400. I bought it and have found it actually fun to use so much that I'm going to try to embroidery with it. I've been the proud owner for about 3 weeks and only hemmed 6 pairs of pants and though not quit a pro I am impressed with them. So if your considering buying the model don't hesitate because you will not be sorry.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very nice machine
11/8/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very nice machine. Works well and very quiet. Unfortunately the software does not work for a Mac computer. Embroidery does nice, but would be nice if stitching could go denser.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Beginner Embroidery Machine
11/3/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm a beginner at embroidery machines so this one was perfect for me, easy to understand directions, very easy to thread and the needle threader is Awesome I wish my main machine had one. Overall it's a great beginner machine for both embroidery or just plain sewing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Really easy to use.
11/3/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
While I love this machine I would be cautious about buying it online somewhere. The finer settings get messed up and you have to bring it to a licensed dealer to get adjusted. Works like a dream now. I’ve been sewing and embroidering with it like crazy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So far so good!
11/3/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Grand daughter (9) and I enjoy learning how to use the embroidery tools to make great designs. Soon her first heritage quilt will be finished.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not what I needed
11/3/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Did not have a USB port, I am a Mac user. Had many designs already in it but not but one or two I would actually use. I returned this item.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
so much for so little
10/31/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Best embroidery/sewing machine you can get for such little money in my opinion. I only bought an upgrade because of the hoop size. This one is just a little workhorse.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
it is hard to learn to use
11/2/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It is so fun to try. I'm sure I will learn how to make it work.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This machine does it all!
10/27/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This machine is so simple to set up for embroidery or quilting or just regular sewing. I have always wanted a machine that would do all the things this machine will do, but could not afford one. This machine was super affordable and does all the special stitches that the high dollar one does.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Outstanding Sewing Machine!
1/15/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been sewing for almost 50 years, started out in 4H and have never stopped. My Lady Kenmore machine that faithfully sewed everything from fine lace to canvas boat covers died after 35 yrs! You won't believe this, but it was my Husband who researched and found the Brother SE400. Fabulous! Fabulous machine. Love the new innovations like auto needle threader and thread cutter! Love the minut increments that the needle can be moved right and left. I have no problems sewing fine blouse fabrics, and just the weekend replaced a Carhart zipper in a pair of coveralls.Then the Embroidery! I had never given thought to an Embroidery machine, but this opened up entirely new crafting ideas for me. I monogrammed all of the Christmas gifts I made for my friends at work. I love this machine, it's a shame I cannot attach a photo of my monogram handy work. Can't say enough good things about this machine. Oh yes, it's light too, as I carry it to my computer to download embroidery patters to it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Endless enjoyment!
10/22/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Absolutely a terrific way to begin embroidery. Easy to follow instructions, many features like self needle threading with a push of a lever. Designs are very unique and very nicely chosen to be on machine
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
SE400
1/27/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The stitching of this machine is fine for normal sewing. I bought it for the embroidery function which I am still learning. I do wish that I could slow the machine down when embroidering which is probably an unusual request. The built-in designs and alphabets stitch out okay. Designs that I purchase and ones I design myself sometimes stitch out nicely and sometimes don't. I did not find it difficult to install the embroidery attachment and use the embroidery functions. The needle threader and thread cutter work well for the month that I have had the machine. Replacing a needle can be a problem. I have been using a Brother CS6000i for the past 3 years. I never had a problem with needle replacement. But the SE400 I have is "off" somehow and it takes me awhile to line up the new needle correctly to replace it. Cleaning is easier than with the CS6000i. Overall, for general sewing this one works better than my other machine. Embroidering is still something I have to practice.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Machine
10/20/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wish I'd chosen another machine. This one isn't bad but it would be great if the embroidery area was bigger. Also, the automatic threader keeps failing. This is pretty aggravating.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Machine is fine for Windows users, not MAC.
10/11/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I received this machine for my birthday from my daughters, and my initial experince is satisfactory. The problem is that the advanced software for iOS machines is ridiculously expensive, and so I probably won't use the machine very much. Macbroidery is three times as expensive for MAC as it is for Windows users, which makes it prohibitive for me. I can have the embroidery applied by a professional much more reasonably.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A terrific little machine!
3/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had this machine now only a month and a half, but I have put it through its paces. The needle threader is a dream! Best needle threader ever and I have a couple of machines of other brands with threaders. The machine is responsive, smooth, VERY quiet and does both sewing and embroidery well. Sewing on it is a charm! Really - the stitches are as good as any brand of machine, and I haven't needed to touch the tension setting for any of the projects I have done. It does free motion really nicely too and I didn't have to change the tensions for that either. I have used several different threads top and bottom on it and all does well. The light is rather dim, but I put LEDs in the harp, so it doesn't matter. I am a novice embroiderer and that is why I bought this machine - for the fun of a little embroidery, but now I love to sew on it! I wouldn't think this is a choice for a large free motioned quilt, since the harp is rather small, but for overall sewing and 4x4 embroidery you cannot go wrong with this machine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A Wonder of a machine
10/18/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
A wonderful machine with automation that makes it easy to use. Built in stitch patterns are so great! Love this machine!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
One of the best purchases I ever bought.
10/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is far the one of the best purchases that I have ever bought. The ease in which I have to understand how to use this machine is pretty awesome!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sew far I love it
10/13/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My old machine broke and I replaced it with my SE400 I love the fact that it does both regular and embroidery sewing. It was a bit overwhelming at first but turned out to be so simple to learn embroidery. Wish I had had one years ago now so much to embroider so little time!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it
10/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very easy machine for a beginner to learn on, I'm very happy with it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best Machine I could have purchased
7/1/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This machine has met all my expectations. The embroidery patterns that are preloaded are excellent and I have done names on all my co-workers shirts, and aprons for my mothers work. i have also bought a couple from the brother website and uploaded them onto the machine via usb and it was actually very simple and I was able to save them on the machine for future use. Sewing is a breeze, I have had this machine for about 6 months and for the first time this week attached the pressor foot. I absolutely love the start stop button and the automatic thread cutter. I have been able to let my creativity run wild. along with constantly learning about this machine, sewing and embroidery in general. I started sewing with a old maching from the 40's and wanted a new fancy one. this machine is great for begginers and can grow with the more talent you gain. I have and will continue to recommend this to people who want to get started sewing and experts alike. No buyers remorce here!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642849, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-10.1.1, SHA-cd91c60c037ec69024941e99664518ad4edafe94, CID-