Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 793 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

793 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

793 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
593
4 stars
143
3 stars
26
2 stars
11
1 stars
20
1-20 of 734 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 734 total reviews
1-20 of 734 reviews
Another great Brother product!
2/6/2017

Customer review by MissSheila

5.0 stars 2/6/2017 by MissSheila
by MissSheila

I've been using Brother sewing machines exclusively for many years (sewing, quilting, etc.) so when I decided to buy an embroidery machine, of course I looked at what Brother had to offer. I decided on the SE400 and I couldn't be happier. It's a good starter embroidery machine....meaning I'll probably want to upgrade in a couple of years; but when I do, I know it'll be another Brother machine. It's easy to use and works beautifully. The sky's the limit on the available designs you can download. You're only restricted by the 4x4 embroidery area.

MissSheila
Minden, LA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great purchase
1/17/2017

Customer review by Jojo13

5.0 stars 1/17/2017 by Jojo13
by Jojo13

I purchased the SE400 a few months ago. I absolutely love it! I'm so happy I bought a combo machine. I sew a lot and its so nice having the availability of the embroidering to personalize the items I make. I love that this machine has the needle threader and so many different stitches to choose from. Another feature this machine has is a thread cutter so when your done sewing a seam you press the little scissor icon button and it cuts the thread. No more pulling the fabric from under the presser foot and wasting some thread to cut it. This machine has a screen on it to navigate you through the different stitches and the embroidery feature. Everything about this machine is user friendly. The instructional book and DVD that came with machine are very helpful.

Jojo13
Buffalo, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great machine!
2/10/2017

Customer review by MrsM

5.0 stars 2/10/2017 by MrsM
by MrsM

My last machine was 20 yrs old and it was definitely not the best. After much research (9 months worth!) I chose the SE400, and I absolutely love it! (And my, how things have changed in 20 years!) Things I love: the images on the machine to remind me which way to place the bobbin, the threading of the needle, the smoothness of the run, and the embroidery option. I've yet to find anything that's a con. Highly recommended!

MrsM
SW USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Machine fr my needs
2/13/2017

Customer review by Kat1

5.0 stars 2/13/2017 by Kat1
by Kat1

I love this machine! My husband gave it to me for Christmas and I have been sewing up a storm every since. The self threading needle is absolutly the best ever. I never knew how much fun I could have embroidering. This machine makes it so easy.

Kat1
Fuquay Varina, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
use Windows or Mac only.
2/12/2017

Customer review by LHayes

3.0 stars 2/12/2017 by LHayes
by LHayes

This machine sews and embroiders beautiful. The instructions are complete and well written. I only have one problem that I had to call and find out about. I bought a HP Chrome laptop to store and download my patterns with. It will not work. The tech says I have to use Windows or Mac only.

LHayes
Reno
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
best buy for me
2/13/2017

Customer review by Bluerose

4.0 stars 2/13/2017 by Bluerose
by Bluerose

I thing it is a great beginners machine. I am sure I will want a more advanced machine in a few years. I already have ideas for projects that I think will make some money.

Bluerose
Newark, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Treated myself
2/9/2017

Customer review by Dmackie127

5.0 stars 2/9/2017 by Dmackie127
by Dmackie127

Finally gave up my 40-year old Kenmore and stepped into the new world of LOVING to sew again. Embroidery from the machine patterns is a breeze as is download from the Internet. Purchased monogram software and having a great time. Too bad not compatible with my MacBook - need to have a PC with CD-ROM. Great investment for my leisure time!

Dmackie127
Raleigh, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love My New SE400
2/10/2017

Customer review by Jeanne234

5.0 stars 2/10/2017 by Jeanne234
by Jeanne234

I have just begun to explore all the options on my new SE400. The embroidery part is great and so much fun. I am new to embroidery work. I am just now starting to review and learn all the computerized sewing options. Can't wait to learn it all.

Jeanne234
Tulsa, OK, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Brother you come along way!! This machine is great
2/9/2017

Customer review by Jillvcooper

5.0 stars 2/9/2017 by Jillvcooper
by Jillvcooper

I shown this sewing machine to one of my quilting friends and she went out that very day and purchase one for her self. I also turning my two supervisor into purchasing this Brother *SE400. Hire me as a sale rep. (smile). I love my machine. its smarter than the average human. Thank goodness I'm not average.

Jillvcooper
Sacramento, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SE 400
2/5/2017

Customer review by gmaflor

3.0 stars 2/5/2017 by gmaflor
by gmaflor

I am just learning how to use it and so far I love it. The only thing is I wish is, it came with a larger hoop or at least the ability to obtain and use larger size. Perhaps a 6.5 as a standard would be much more appealing to those of us who are not using for business but just for the few gifts, etc we might engage in. the 4" really limits what we can do, I did not realize how small the designs are

gmaflor
Macon, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Need bigger hoops
2/9/2017

Customer review by Cjvogel

5.0 stars 2/9/2017 by Cjvogel
by Cjvogel

I got this machine to sew along with "It's Sew Easy" and found that I love it. I've had to get some accessories to keep up with the show but the machine is awesome. Next I need the largest hoop, the 4x4 is just not big enough for all the designs.

Cjvogel
North Dakota, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good beginner Embroidery Machine
2/11/2017

Customer review by Witchy

3.0 stars 2/11/2017 by Witchy
by Witchy

Embroidery directions not through enough, have to search online for additional instructions. Works well, sews well.

Witchy
New Hampshire, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best gift ever
2/6/2017

Customer review by Shari925

5.0 stars 2/6/2017 by Shari925
by Shari925

I got this machine as a surprise gift from my husband for Christmas and I must say that it is the best thing he has ever bought me. What a shock. He did his homework, read reviews, and got the machine he thought would be best for me. It does everything I could have wanted it to do. He cant keep me out of my sewing room now.

Shari925
Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding Sewing Machine!
1/15/2016

Customer review by CarolC

5.0 stars 1/15/2016 by CarolC
by CarolC

I have been sewing for almost 50 years, started out in 4H and have never stopped. My Lady Kenmore machine that faithfully sewed everything from fine lace to canvas boat covers died after 35 yrs! You won't believe this, but it was my Husband who researched and found the Brother SE400. Fabulous! Fabulous machine. Love the new innovations like auto needle threader and thread cutter! Love the minut increments that the needle can be moved right and left. I have no problems sewing fine blouse fabrics, and just the weekend replaced a Carhart zipper in a pair of coveralls.Then the Embroidery! I had never given thought to an Embroidery machine, but this opened up entirely new crafting ideas for me. I monogrammed all of the Christmas gifts I made for my friends at work. I love this machine, it's a shame I cannot attach a photo of my monogram handy work. Can't say enough good things about this machine. Oh yes, it's light too, as I carry it to my computer to download embroidery patters to it!

CarolC
Newton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great sewing machine.
2/6/2017

Customer review by Jerry M

5.0 stars 2/6/2017 by Jerry M
by Jerry M

I am new to sewing and I thought the computerized machine would be intimidating but it was so easy to operate. I had a small problem which was my fault and called tech support and they walked me through the problem. I would not hesitate to buy another one of this type machine.

Jerry M
Abingdon, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sew much fun to use
2/8/2017

Customer review by Jenab73

5.0 stars 2/8/2017 by Jenab73
by Jenab73

Watching YouTube videos really helped to take advantage of every option available on the se400!

Jenab73
CNY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Oh, Brother!!
2/6/2017

Customer review by sgerringer4

5.0 stars 2/6/2017 by sgerringer4
by sgerringer4

Got my new machine before Christmas and was able to make lots of Christmas gifts with the embroidery option on the machine wonderful machine never owned a brother before but it is great

sgerringer4
Burlington, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Happy with purchase
2/2/2017

Customer review by wendy1791

5.0 stars 2/2/2017 by wendy1791
by wendy1791

I bought this for a Christmas gift to replace my old singer. I'm loving all the new features like the needle threader & side cutter. It also is much quieter. I've been playing around with the embroidering and was easy to set up and implement. Right now I'm in the middle of a quilt and all is going well. I'm a happy customer.

wendy1791
Massachusetts, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Really is a nice machine
2/7/2017

Customer review by mjlady51

4.0 stars 2/7/2017 by mjlady51
by mjlady51

I need to practice more with the embrodiery. It is not picking up the color from the spool.

mjlady51
St Cloud, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best machine ever,,,so far
2/1/2017

Customer review by Lee Lee

4.0 stars 2/1/2017 by Lee Lee
by Lee Lee

I am really enjoying my new machine,,it's sews so smooth and the threader really comes in handy ...makes sewing buttonholes a snap .havent tried the embroider yet ,need to get more thread ,,but I'm sure I won't be disappointed,,this is my first Brother machine and I was inspired to buy this from watching project runway

Lee Lee
Jackson, MS, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 734 total reviews
1-20 of 734 reviews