Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 850 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

850 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

850 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
630
4 stars
154
3 stars
33
2 stars
12
1 stars
21
1-20 of 791 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 791 total reviews
1-20 of 791 reviews
Awesome Machine
2/10/2012

Customer review by kbyrd2

5.0 stars 2/10/2012 by kbyrd2
by kbyrd2

1st off I did a ton of research, and I just found that this machine was getting the best reviews of any out there. I had not used a sewing machine much but my daughter is having twins so I was willing to do my best to learn. The instructions in the box are not the best. I went to a local sewing store for advice on stablizer, thread, and needles. I also bought a bigger hoop, not that the maching will do bigger that 4X4 just because its easier to hoop and you don't have to rehoop to add a design to your project. Once I figured everything out I have been going non-stop ever since it was purchased. You can not beat this machine. I downloaded a free digitizing program off the internet (Stitch Era) bought the designs I wanted and went to town. My work looks as good as the professional Embroidery store. You have to do your home work to get the best results, buy good thread, stablizer and needles. This is the way to go, no dought!!!! Love my Brother!!!!

Was this review helpful? (422) (75)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kbyrd2
Laurel MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Great machine, great price
7/28/2010

Customer review by Ponette

5.0 stars 7/28/2010 by Ponette
by Ponette

I am a novice sewer and I had been using an old machine before upgrading to this. What a difference!! All of the sewing functions are easy... automatic threader, easy bobbin winding and placement, etc. On top of a great little sewing machine, you get an embroidery machine, too! The two towel photos I uploaded were created with designs included in the machine. I also purchased the accessory that allows you to download any .pes design onto your computer and then place it on a card that inserts into the machine. There are limitless possibilities and lots of free designs available online. I have had a few issues with embroidery jamming, but I've figured out that you really must use the correct type of needle, a new needle, and the correct stabilizer for every fabric. I highly recommend this machine for any beginner to advanced sewer, as well as beginner machine embrioderers.

Was this review helpful? (284) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ponette
Clearwater, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
A terrific little machine!
3/7/2017

Customer review by Mufffet

5.0 stars 3/7/2017 by Mufffet
by Mufffet

I have had this machine now only a month and a half, but I have put it through its paces. The needle threader is a dream! Best needle threader ever and I have a couple of machines of other brands with threaders. The machine is responsive, smooth, VERY quiet and does both sewing and embroidery well. Sewing on it is a charm! Really - the stitches are as good as any brand of machine, and I haven't needed to touch the tension setting for any of the projects I have done. It does free motion really nicely too and I didn't have to change the tensions for that either. I have used several different threads top and bottom on it and all does well. The light is rather dim, but I put LEDs in the harp, so it doesn't matter. I am a novice embroiderer and that is why I bought this machine - for the fun of a little embroidery, but now I love to sew on it! I wouldn't think this is a choice for a large free motioned quilt, since the harp is rather small, but for overall sewing and 4x4 embroidery you cannot go wrong with this machine.

Mufffet
Vermont, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I LOVE this machine
12/31/2011

Customer review by WalmartReviewerTexas

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by WalmartReviewerTexas
by WalmartReviewerTexas

I was looking for a new machine when my 25-year-old Singer finally died. I was only familiar with the Singer brand and was a little leery about trying something new. My aunt had recently done a ton of research on new machines and she recommended this model. I am SO glad I listened to her and bought it. It has so many upgrades and features that I had never even heard of before, self threading, automatic thread cutting, drop in, self threading bobbin and a wonderful and easy to understand on-screen function panel. I have been going crazy with this little gem. In my house, if it isn't tied down, I've embroidered on it! Have only had time to do a few actual sewing projects, but it has performed flawlessly. I can not say enough about the value for the price. This is a fabulous deal.

Was this review helpful? (104) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartReviewerTexas
Arlington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
From a new sewer, THIS IS AMAZING!
2/3/2011

Customer review by ashleighnc

5.0 stars 2/3/2011 by ashleighnc
by ashleighnc

I've had this for about a month. I am brand new to sewing, I did have some basic training in high school 12 years ago. This machine is sooooooooooo simple to get started with. I watched the instructional DVD first and an hour later I was in business. Before this machine I had bought a Singer Futura CE 200 and WOW I hated it! Bobbin kept popping out and I cried! I sold it and thought I would try again since this machine had great reviews and my experience has been night and day. LOVE LOVE LOVE it! I can already tell I am outgrowing the 4x4 hoop that comes with it for the embroidery. Transfering graphics from online to the machine is SIMPLE! You can find several free websites to get them. This is an awesome starter!

Was this review helpful? (187) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ashleighnc
Morehead City, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Love it! Great for beginners like me.
1/1/2012

Customer review by JCgracie

5.0 stars 1/1/2012 by JCgracie
by JCgracie

I have had this machine for a few weeks. I am a complete newby when it comes to embroidery machines. I only bought it to do the monogramming on the baby blankets I've been making because I was sick of having a friend do it for me. It took me about an hour to get started going. With some practice, I am getting pretty good. The size of the font is the only limitation- if I want to have it be very big, then it either has to be a short name, or I have to get more comfortable with breaking it up- which can be done with practice. I've about got it figured out, I think. between the quick start guide and the instruction manual, it's got all the info you need. I have not used it for sewing, but the features are fantastic and I have read nothing but good reviews on the sewing feature. Overall, 5 stars. Great product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (79) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JCgracie
Lubbock, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Super Sewing
5/5/2011

Customer review by SewItPretty

5.0 stars 5/5/2011 by SewItPretty
by SewItPretty

I love my new Brother Sewing and Embroidery Machine. It is super easy to use. I love that it threads the needle automatically. and has a screen that shows you step by step how to use many of the features. I haven't used the embroidery yet. Look forward to learning. I am including a picture of an Adult Bib that I made as my first project on this machine.

Was this review helpful? (51) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SewItPretty
Macon, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
A Great Value for this Machine
3/18/2011

Customer review by EMBROIDEROO

5.0 stars 3/18/2011 by EMBROIDEROO
by EMBROIDEROO

I just bought my SE-400 at my local Walmart yesterday. I am very pleased with the machine, and even though I am experienced with machine embroidery, I took the time to review the enclosed CD about every aspect of the machine. I have already tested some embroidery on a lightweight bridal fabric and a fleece fabric (using the appropriate stabilizers), and they came out great. When I ran out of upper thread, it was easy to re-set and get it going again. After reviewing the CD, I learned that the machine had features I didn't even know of, that are really great.

Was this review helpful? (29) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EMBROIDEROO
San Bernardino, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Great for embroidery beginners
6/16/2011

Customer review by GMASUNEE

5.0 stars 6/16/2011 by GMASUNEE
by GMASUNEE

Delighted with my Brother SE 400! If you follow instructions, adjust settings for thread,needle and project- it works wonderfully! Effortless thread changes during a multi-color embrodiery, the threading system is simple, and needle threader works every time! I've stitched on tee-shirts, a quilt and samples on flour sacks for kitchen towels. I have also downloaded free embrodiery designs from internet and made them. Very satisfied with this machine. Wish it had a larger area for embroidery-especially for words. Get creative and buy proper quality threads for perfect results!

Was this review helpful? (74) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GMASUNEE
Waterford, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Excellent Machine!!
2/17/2011

Customer review by CarlaValentine

5.0 stars 2/17/2011 by CarlaValentine
by CarlaValentine

I was looking to replace my old and tired Kenmore machine and saw this one online. I was a little skeptical about it at first...a sewing AND embroidery machine for the price of a good quality sewing machine alone? I thought it may be cheap or that the stitch quality wouldn't be good...but Brother DEFINITELY delivers on this one! While the body itself is plastic it doesn't feel cheap or flimsy at all. The stitch quality is outstanding especially considering the low price tag on this machine. I was intimidated when setting it up because of all the controls and touchscreen, but it was a breeze to get up and running. I think it took about 10 minutes to start my first stitches, which would have been less if I didn't read through the setup part of the manual first (which I highly recommend doing!). The manual is very easy to read and understand. I didn't find it lacking at all. Choosing a stitch is easy. The machine tells you what foot to use for each stitch so there is no confusion. Switching from sewing to embroidery is a cinch. Simply shut off the machine, change the presser foot, and attach the embroidery head which snaps easily into place. Importing embroidery images from the computer is literally drag-and-drop. No software required at all! I also purchased the sidecutter foot from Amazon (walmart didn't have it) for 30$ for this machine, which basically makes it a serger as well, less the multiple threads. I have found seams made with this foot to be extremely strong and durable. Overall, this is the best machine for the value that I have found to date. I absolutely LOVE it and I wouldn't trade it for any of the higher priced machines out there!! I've attached a couple pictures. Keep in mind my camera isn't the greatest.

Was this review helpful? (238) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarlaValentine
Rome, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Above expectations
1/4/2011

Customer review by melmarsh

5.0 stars 1/4/2011 by melmarsh
by melmarsh

This sewing machine was the best present that I ever gave to myself. It exceeds my expectations. I have already out grown the hoop size of 4 X 4 for applique and embroidery, but I knew that would happen and I purchased this with eyes open to the fact. Point is, for the money...this machine can't be beat. Not only is the embroidery and applique function so easy and so fun, the regular sewing stitches and capabilites are making me look SOOOOO good!

Was this review helpful? (42) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
melmarsh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Great Machine
8/22/2011

Customer review by nancypalmetto

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by nancypalmetto
by nancypalmetto

So far so good. I'm an experienced sewer, but new at embroidery. Still learning the embroidery & really wish I could blog w/someone to get ideas. I am impressed with all the features like the threader & cuter. I have monogrammed about 5 things & all have turned out. I plan to take a class to learn how to utilize all the features. Again, I want to connect with someone to learn more what the machine will do.

Was this review helpful? (13) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nancypalmetto
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
What a wonderful machine!!!!
11/8/2016

Customer review by ZoumysCreatureFeature

5.0 stars 11/8/2016 by ZoumysCreatureFeature
by ZoumysCreatureFeature

I am an artist/arts instructor that works teaching college level art to people with disabilities through a nonprofit alled Arts Unbound. More on that in a moment. I recieved my machine through a barter for artwork since i wanted to make soft sculpture and clothing of my own design. I used it to make halloween costumes. The ability to embroyder stars came in handy as i was making a Wonder Woman cape for my sister. i didnt order the right size and i made several using my machine. I gave my little machine a good run because right after that, i made my cosplay outfit for comicon. (i went as a vulcan science officer from STOS you can see pictures on my instagram Zoumys CreatureFeature) i was very please with the performance of the machine. But what i am most happy with is that it has the option to go without the pedal. Now getting back to my job, i have many student with many types if disabilities and one in particular wanted to start fashion design. She is in a wheelchair and is not able to use her legs for the pedal. Your machine has made it possible for me to be able to teach her how to be independent and I'm in the process of teaching her how to make her own clothes. She told me its much easier for her to use my machine then the one that she has at home because she can now use both hands to control the fabric. At home, she holds the pedal with one and the fabric with the other. Our nonprofit is small, and cannot afford to get new machines since we rely on donations and grants (but i definitely recommended them!! I wish i was able to make it possible to get a few more of these as we have several students that sew as well that are not so fortunate to have the use of my machine) i bring my student mine to use once a week when we meet. That much i can do! Thank you for making it possible for me to teach my student how to sew! My machines will Always be Brother!

ZoumysCreatureFeature
Newark, NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best decision I ever made, was buying the SE400!
5/12/2016

Customer review by dkcourt

5.0 stars 5/12/2016 by dkcourt
by dkcourt

I love the SE400! I can't believe they make a machine that cost so little, and does so much! Two hours out of the box, and I was embroidering. You can go to You Tube and find a video on everything you would want to know about this machine. It is very easy to use. I love it, love it, love it. Easy to download designs from the internet, and lots of free designs. Easy to find parts, and accessories for the SE400.

dkcourt
Arlington, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic machine for first timers
6/4/2012

Customer review by TXStitchhappy

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by TXStitchhappy
by TXStitchhappy

I bought this machine 1 1/2 yrs ago when my daughter was expecting her first baby. I never stop using it! Have made book bags, baby clothes, burp cloths, baby blankets, soft books, decorated kitchen towels and my bathrobes. I made pillows with deer and bobcat designs for my grandson, and am working on a collage of fish and flies for him. I have so many projects in my head! It is easy to use, never have any problems. Recommended it to my sister who wants to start monograming. Explained the limits on the size of designs, but I really have no need for 5x7 designs. The 4x4 is large enough for what I do. My one question: Why is it an extra 4MB memory card sells for over $200 but I can buy the PED-basic system (again) and get an included memory card for under $100. Something here does not make sense. The machine itself is fantastic and I would recommend it and buy another one myself.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TXStitchhappy
Mineola, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Best machine ever
12/6/2016

Customer review by Rachaelescobedo

5.0 stars 12/6/2016 by Rachaelescobedo
by Rachaelescobedo

I am posting this review as part of my entry in Walmart's Holiday Sewing contest. I received this machine as a gift from my mother when I started sewing. The instructional manual has been a treasure trove of information as a newbie to sewing. It describes ever function, stitch and part of the sewing machine. It has helped me learn how to make a seam, blind hem a pair of pants, embroider names and decorative scenes on my new granddaughter's blanket, and sew countless buttons and button holes. Yes, this machine even sews on buttons!! There is not one thing I can think of that I haven't been able to conquer on this machine, from a silken buttresse on my daughter's costume to jeans for m my son. Every function works exactly like it is supposed to. The only down side to this machine,is that it only likes brother model bobbins, so you cannot get the cheep ones.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rachaelescobedo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Machine
11/28/2011

Customer review by Kbyrd

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by Kbyrd
by Kbyrd

Just purchased this machine 2 days ago. I apsolutely love it. I got online and downloaded several free .dst files that I can upload to the sewing machine and once you upload it that's it. I also downloaded a free program for momogram font. One thing I will say is you MUST follow directions. Use the needles, stabilizer and thread they recommend. If you do not you will have problems it will jam up in the middle of the project. If you purchase at Walmart keep your receipt. They are very good about taking purchases back when you have a problem, but I think if you give it a shot and get over the learning curve you will Love it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kbyrd
Laurel MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
From hobby to small business
12/28/2016

Customer review by JCSEW

5.0 stars 12/28/2016 by JCSEW
by JCSEW

I am posting this review as part of my entry in Wal-Mart's Holiday Sewing Contest. I purchased this machine in 2010. It has been and continues to be an affordable and reliable option with all of the features I need. Over the past 6 years, I've used it equally as both a sewing and embroidery machine. As a sewing machine, I've used it to create everything from wedding gowns to table linens. As an embroidery machine, it produces beautiful lettering for personalization and decorative elements. Switching between sewing and embroidery machine is very simple and requires a minimal amount of time. Even with the amount I've used this machine, I still haven't utilized all of the features. This is a very user friendly and easy to maintain machine. Over the past year, I've begun using it for my growing home business. Please see the attached image of a Christmas stocking I created on my Brother SE400. For this particular piece, my machine sewed neatly through layers of linen, lining and interlining while also helping me create handcrafted sequin appliques. Because this machine was affordable and 6 years old, I was afraid it couldn't keep up with the extra usage created by my growing business, but it has done so beautifully!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JCSEW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Holiday Contest
12/13/2016

Customer review by Melinda

5.0 stars 12/13/2016 by Melinda
by Melinda

I am submitting this review as part of Salary's Holiday Contest. This machine was easy to use. I wanted an embroidery machine to do lettering. You just have to make sure you thread the machine correctly. The lettering was fast. I like the automatic needle threader.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Melinda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little machine/even better price point
4/18/2017

Customer review by JzyGail

5.0 stars 4/18/2017 by JzyGail
by JzyGail

I bought this machine primarily for sewing (travel and quilt piecing classes); I already have a top/mid-line sewing embroidery machine, so the embroidery feature was simply an additional bonus for me. I've used it but not extensively. For sewing, I have the mid/top line machine in a cabinet, as well as a computerized sewing machine, both of which I love, but both are too bulky to travel to classes easily. I wanted something smaller/lighter, but with many of the features her bigger siblings have (start/stop, speed control, thread cutters and a good quality threader, as well as the ability to edit stitches and save the edits. The SE400 has all of these, and it sews beautifully. I loved it straight out of the box, where it sewed a perfect straight stitch and all its features worked just as the (easy to read) user manual explained. In fact, my sewing only machine is made by the other B-label sewing manufacturer and it and the SE400 are just close enough with their features to prompt me to declare the SE400 to be her younger, cuter sister. It's a fabulous sewing machine, before you ever even get to the embroidery features. And they are not problematic at all. To take the SE400 through her embroidery paces, I stitched out 8 embroidery quilt blocks, and created the quilt top with her. The quilting and binding were done on another machine but as you can see in the attached photo, the SE400 is well able to do everything I bought her for. I could not be more pleased.

JzyGail
Jungles of Carroll County, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 791 total reviews
1-20 of 791 reviews