Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 371 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

371 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

371 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
293
4 stars
59
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 stars
6
1-20 of 312 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 312 total reviews
1-20 of 312 reviews
FABULOUS! (although the manual is lacking)
12/15/2010

Customer review by JenInAlaska

5.0 stars 12/15/2010 by JenInAlaska
by JenInAlaska

I just purchased this last night to embroider some quilt squares. I read the manual and watched the DVD. Still yet, each time I tried to embroider the thread knotted up underneath the needle above the bobbin. It was so bad that I had to cut the fabric out - that is what fabric hadn't been ripped and shredded being caught up in the mess. I was packing it back up in the box frustrated today that I had spent the ENTIRE day wasting time, and fabric, trying to make this thing work when I noticed the slider on the lower back of the machine. It's the slider that raises and lowers the grips that move the fabric along while sewing. Low and behold, the grips were in the RAISED position. Thinking this was surely the problem, that the grips were snagging the thread and fabric as the hoop moved along, I decided to give it one more shot. Thank goodness I did. I pushed the slider to the lowered position and VIOLA!! Problem solved!! Now, anything I've tried to embroider - with or without using stablizer - had been perfection. I tried several different fabrics including cotton, denim, terry cloth, and a poly/cotton blend. They all came out perfectly. I also tried using cheap non-brand thread and then embroidery thread. Absolutely no difference whatsoever. What DOES matter is making sure those grips are lowered!! I went online and downloaded a few designs and was pleasantly surprised at how simple it was. I thought I had surely skipped a few steps or that they hadn't saved because it was that simple. They were all there and have worked wonderfully this evening. So, back to the quilting squares I went. It works so seemlessly (of course now that the grips were lowered - which, by the way, the manual said NOTHING about) that I have stepped away from it all evening while it's running. I turn it on, get it started, and walk away to work on other things around the house. When it beeps letting me know it's ready for a thread color change (which is remarkably simply) or that it's finished I change it out and keep going. Now that I figured out what was causing my thread and fabric to snag up and/or tear, I'm thrilled with this machine. This was my first attempt at embroidering and I'm so glad it is this easy.

Was this review helpful? (984) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JenInAlaska
Fairbanks, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Top 250 contributor
Amazing Performance!
8/24/2010

Customer review by Adonia

5.0 stars 8/24/2010 by Adonia
by Adonia

I have been the proud owner of this machine since 2008 and I am still loving it!!! It was amazing to me how many things this machine made so much EASIER to do, changing stitch sizes/frequency/styles is done with the touch of a button, the machine automatically threads itself, backstitches or cuts the thread with the touch of a button, TELLS YOU when the bobbin is running out of thread!!! This is the most reasonably priced sewing machine I found anywhere that had the computerized feature and could stitch letters/words. I am still happy with my purchase two years later!

Was this review helpful? (442) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Adonia
coffeyville, ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Starter!!!
12/15/2010

Customer review by madebygrace

5.0 stars 12/15/2010 by madebygrace
by madebygrace

The world of embroidery is an expensive addiction! This is a great machine to get you started. I had it out of the box and going within one afternoon and by the weekend had made a dozen custom designed scarves. It accepts 2 types of files, PES & DST - which is fairly easy to find. The hard part is finding designs within the 4x4 hoop. I bought a 3 pack of all the hoops off eBay so I could go bigger, but the real gem was downloading Stitch Era which allows me to adjust the size AND type of files I get off the internet. Transferring from the computer to the machine is a breeze. It's not my mom's Janome but it's great for what I want to do - I HIGHLY recommend it :)

Was this review helpful? (342) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
madebygrace
Chicagoland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The Husband
10/28/2010

Customer review by Bruska

5.0 stars 10/28/2010 by Bruska
by Bruska

Being new to sewing machines, I wasn't sure what to expect when I bought this for my wife. I learned a lot along the way and have used it as much as her. What we found was an incredibly easy to use machine that results in professional looking work. The embroidery aspect of the machine is simple to use and yields an excellent quality. Being able to connect via USB allows to download almost any design file out there. The limitations lie in the size of the designs that can be used. At most, the machine can handle 4" x 6.5" designs. This is big enough for 95% of the designs out there. The machine is easy to switch from embroidery to sewing, or from one foot to another. This is a great tool to work and learn with. Although we're novices, we've already produced great looking things. We haven't had the machine long enough to really attest to it's long term durability. However, it is well made and I know that this will be very durable. It's used heavily and I can tell how well this machine is made - definitely not a flimsy product.

Was this review helpful? (371) (55)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bruska
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Machine
2/10/2012

Customer review by kbyrd2

5.0 stars 2/10/2012 by kbyrd2
by kbyrd2

1st off I did a ton of research, and I just found that this machine was getting the best reviews of any out there. I had not used a sewing machine much but my daughter is having twins so I was willing to do my best to learn. The instructions in the box are not the best. I went to a local sewing store for advice on stablizer, thread, and needles. I also bought a bigger hoop, not that the maching will do bigger that 4X4 just because its easier to hoop and you don't have to rehoop to add a design to your project. Once I figured everything out I have been going non-stop ever since it was purchased. You can not beat this machine. I downloaded a free digitizing program off the internet (Stitch Era) bought the designs I wanted and went to town. My work looks as good as the professional Embroidery store. You have to do your home work to get the best results, buy good thread, stablizer and needles. This is the way to go, no dought!!!! Love my Brother!!!!

Was this review helpful? (176) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kbyrd2
Laurel MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great machine, great price
7/28/2010

Customer review by Ponette

5.0 stars 7/28/2010 by Ponette
by Ponette

I am a novice sewer and I had been using an old machine before upgrading to this. What a difference!! All of the sewing functions are easy... automatic threader, easy bobbin winding and placement, etc. On top of a great little sewing machine, you get an embroidery machine, too! The two towel photos I uploaded were created with designs included in the machine. I also purchased the accessory that allows you to download any .pes design onto your computer and then place it on a card that inserts into the machine. There are limitless possibilities and lots of free designs available online. I have had a few issues with embroidery jamming, but I've figured out that you really must use the correct type of needle, a new needle, and the correct stabilizer for every fabric. I highly recommend this machine for any beginner to advanced sewer, as well as beginner machine embrioderers.

Was this review helpful? (166) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ponette
Clearwater, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Excellent Machine!!
2/17/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/17/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was looking to replace my old and tired Kenmore machine and saw this one online. I was a little skeptical about it at first...a sewing AND embroidery machine for the price of a good quality sewing machine alone? I thought it may be cheap or that the stitch quality wouldn't be good...but Brother DEFINITELY delivers on this one! While the body itself is plastic it doesn't feel cheap or flimsy at all. The stitch quality is outstanding especially considering the low price tag on this machine. I was intimidated when setting it up because of all the controls and touchscreen, but it was a breeze to get up and running. I think it took about 10 minutes to start my first stitches, which would have been less if I didn't read through the setup part of the manual first (which I highly recommend doing!). The manual is very easy to read and understand. I didn't find it lacking at all. Choosing a stitch is easy. The machine tells you what foot to use for each stitch so there is no confusion. Switching from sewing to embroidery is a cinch. Simply shut off the machine, change the presser foot, and attach the embroidery head which snaps easily into place. Importing embroidery images from the computer is literally drag-and-drop. No software required at all! I also purchased the sidecutter foot from Amazon (walmart didn't have it) for 30$ for this machine, which basically makes it a serger as well, less the multiple threads. I have found seams made with this foot to be extremely strong and durable. Overall, this is the best machine for the value that I have found to date. I absolutely LOVE it and I wouldn't trade it for any of the higher priced machines out there!! I've attached a couple pictures. Keep in mind my camera isn't the greatest.

Was this review helpful? (169) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Rome, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
From a new sewer, THIS IS AMAZING!
2/3/2011

Customer review by ashleighnc

5.0 stars 2/3/2011 by ashleighnc
by ashleighnc

I've had this for about a month. I am brand new to sewing, I did have some basic training in high school 12 years ago. This machine is sooooooooooo simple to get started with. I watched the instructional DVD first and an hour later I was in business. Before this machine I had bought a Singer Futura CE 200 and WOW I hated it! Bobbin kept popping out and I cried! I sold it and thought I would try again since this machine had great reviews and my experience has been night and day. LOVE LOVE LOVE it! I can already tell I am outgrowing the 4x4 hoop that comes with it for the embroidery. Transfering graphics from online to the machine is SIMPLE! You can find several free websites to get them. This is an awesome starter!

Was this review helpful? (83) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ashleighnc
Morehead City, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best little machine ever!
11/25/2010

Customer review by ClaudiaSews

5.0 stars 11/25/2010 by ClaudiaSews
by ClaudiaSews

As I am writing this, I am embroidering on this machine. It is so simple to use. Once again, Walmart listens to it's customers! This is a very affordable machine with great features. I have several machines (8) and a VERY EXPENSIVE embroidery machine but this is my favorite. I take it to embroidery club meetings since it is so light and since I am an older woman, I don't want to carry a heavy machine! I have recommended this to first time machine embroiderers as well as to the very experienced.

Was this review helpful? (68) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ClaudiaSews
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
LOVE IT!
7/2/2010

Customer review by maxandmeena

5.0 stars 7/2/2010 by maxandmeena
by maxandmeena

I was given this machine as a gift. I LOVE IT! It was very easy to set up the embroidery part of the machine. I already have a regular brother sewing machine so I have not tried to sewing functions on this machine but it looks identical to my other machine. The stitches come out very nicely and I have not had any problems with malfunctions.

Was this review helpful? (100) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maxandmeena
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pretty Good Product! Horrible Customer Service
3/10/2011

Customer review by sconn117

1.0 stars 3/10/2011 by sconn117
by sconn117

Ok, let me start off to say that I really like my machine and use it daily to sew/embroider for my 3 children. However, when I started breaking needles, I decided to have it serviced especially since it was still within the one year complete manufacturer's warranty. When I took it in, they told me that it needed cleaning even though I clean it after every project (so that was $80). Then they found my bobbin case had a hole in it that wasn't covered under warranty (another $40)so they managed to get $120 out of me on the spot! Then, the needle bushing had gone out (was covered under warranty). They said it may be a few days to get the part in. Well over 3 weeks later, NO PART. Then when I questioned them, they completely turned it around on me and voided my warranty on my machine on the account of "I use it daily and this machine is not made to use daily" So basically what they were telling me was if you sew on your sewing machine you void your warranty. I tried to contact Brother International with no luck. I still have not received my machine back b/c they have not gotten the part for it and it has been WEEKS! This is so sad b/c I buy all my threads and backings and all supplies from that same Brother Authorized Dealer and this is what I get in return. I was told later on by someone who is much more knowledgeable of embroidery machines to expect your machine to last a year for every $500 you spend on it. So, if you buy a $2000 machine you will get about 4 good years out of it. I am a huge brother fan, I have 4 brother machines but after my service experience this one was my last. I will save my money and purchase a Janome or Bernina next time.

Was this review helpful? (117) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sconn117
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great machine!
8/14/2010

Customer review by JMsing

5.0 stars 8/14/2010 by JMsing
by JMsing

I've had this machine for 3 weeks and have embroidered 78 t-shirts then appliqued on the same 78 shirts. This machine is fabulous!! No glitches and it starts right up from the box with a quick start guide. It included lots of different feet and attachments, even a pair of scissors for nipping threads. This machine threads itself, backstitches at the touch of a button and then cuts the threads. I'm speechless!!! I have not yet tried to download pes. files, but there are tons of fonts and graphics on the internet just waiting. Can't wait to try it!

Was this review helpful? (45) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JMsing
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I LOVE this machine
12/31/2011

Customer review by WalmartReviewerTexas

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by WalmartReviewerTexas
by WalmartReviewerTexas

I was looking for a new machine when my 25-year-old Singer finally died. I was only familiar with the Singer brand and was a little leery about trying something new. My aunt had recently done a ton of research on new machines and she recommended this model. I am SO glad I listened to her and bought it. It has so many upgrades and features that I had never even heard of before, self threading, automatic thread cutting, drop in, self threading bobbin and a wonderful and easy to understand on-screen function panel. I have been going crazy with this little gem. In my house, if it isn't tied down, I've embroidered on it! Have only had time to do a few actual sewing projects, but it has performed flawlessly. I can not say enough about the value for the price. This is a fabulous deal.

Was this review helpful? (45) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalmartReviewerTexas
Arlington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Brother SE400
1/7/2011

Customer review by tmjjj

5.0 stars 1/7/2011 by tmjjj
by tmjjj

So far I am very Pleased with this machine that I got for Christmas 2010. I was just so Amazed with all the Wonderful things that this machine could do and how easy it was to use right out of the box. My helpful hints to pass along is... you might want to get some embroidery thread & extra stabilizer it's no fun when you got the machine but can't embroidery without the stabilizer & all the different colors (found mine on line 50 different colors for less then a dollar a spool), you can only embroidery 4x4" area but you can move the hoop over to do a bigger space, in files of PES & DST, I LOVE IT! BEST SEWING MACHINE I HAVE EVER OWNED...

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tmjjj
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worked Good at First then Not.
8/17/2010

Customer review by cole2756

3.0 stars 8/17/2010 by cole2756
by cole2756

I am a first time embroidery machine buyer. I loved this machine when I first bought it. It worked so good and I was so excited to be able to put names on items. Then all at once needles started breaking one after another and the bobbin thread would tangle and bunch under the metal guard. I actually ripped holes in my towel trying to get it to turn it loose. I have read many reviews about this machine and everyone seems to be happy with it, so maybe I just had a factory defect. I have returned it and am looking into buying another machine soon.

Was this review helpful? (44) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cole2756
Douglas, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for embroidery beginners
6/16/2011

Customer review by GMASUNEE

5.0 stars 6/16/2011 by GMASUNEE
by GMASUNEE

Delighted with my Brother SE 400! If you follow instructions, adjust settings for thread,needle and project- it works wonderfully! Effortless thread changes during a multi-color embrodiery, the threading system is simple, and needle threader works every time! I've stitched on tee-shirts, a quilt and samples on flour sacks for kitchen towels. I have also downloaded free embrodiery designs from internet and made them. Very satisfied with this machine. Wish it had a larger area for embroidery-especially for words. Get creative and buy proper quality threads for perfect results!

Was this review helpful? (38) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GMASUNEE
Waterford, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Sweet Machine
5/16/2011

Customer review by NiftyPat

5.0 stars 5/16/2011 by NiftyPat
by NiftyPat

I have beem looking at machines for quite awhile. I have picked out several all of which were above my budget. I seen this machine and reviewed it on-line. I have only seen positive results. I finally bought one and I have to say it is all I had hoped it would be. It runs smooth and is easy to understand the sticthes are smooth and even. Don't be afraid to buy this machine it is well worth it's resonable price.

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NiftyPat
Hornell,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very disappointed
10/19/2010

Customer review by Rmenda

2.0 stars 10/19/2010 by Rmenda
by Rmenda

I had a Brother SE350 and it was constantly jamming,threads getting tangled around bobbin case. Got rid of it to get the SE400 which replaced the SE350. The moment I opened the box.. I should of returned this machine to walmart. The thread breaks EVERY TIME I embroidery !! It tears holes in shirts.. I've tried new needles, changed tension,3 different brands of threads. I've taken the top case off and nothing caught in the machine.. Nothing in the bobbin case tangled. This machine is ONE WEEK OLD and its a piece of junk machine !!! Maybe I got a LEMON cause other's love this little machine. I don't want to pay $50 to take it to the shop and wait several days to get it back. Plus the 4 hrs I will be on the road totally to get to the shop. Really frustrated the machine is one week old and has all these issues. At my my other brother was over a month old before it started having issues. I'm going to upgrade to a bigger machine in Feb/March and hope to have better luck, but in the meantime I NEED a machine that works.

Was this review helpful? (48) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rmenda
Disney, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Brother SE-400
2/12/2011

Customer review by angelizr95

5.0 stars 2/12/2011 by angelizr95
by angelizr95

Sooo, I read all the reviews on the Brother SE-400 and my husband ordered it for me for Christmas! I am so very glad he did!!! I am sooo not a sewer in any way, shape or form...but fresh out of the box I did embroider my husbands name on his shirts for work. I then began taking some classes on sewing and quilting and I am loving this machine. When I showed up to my first class on learning how my machine works, all the stitches and so much else to learn...well everyone else in the class had VERY EXPENSIVE sewing machines....in the $2000.00 on up range....well I am so happy that my Brother does what there's does and more!!!! Others were envious of my machine. Crazy huh!!! They don't even sell Brother sewing machines, but were very educated on my machine and treated me like I bought my Brother from them. The one thing I am not happy about, I went to our local Brother dealer and they were NOT HELPFUL at all about classes or information because I did not purchase the machine locally from them and they told me that I should have bought the exact same machine there for twice what I paid for my purchase at Walmart. I will never go back to that dealer again.....So I went on long enough...I love this machine!!!! For those that have had issues..that's a bummer....sorry to hear that, but maybe just maybe not so much the machines fault as the OPERATOR!!!!! Instruction manual and cd is very helpful and EZ to understand!!!

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
angelizr95
Sioux Falls, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Super Sewing
5/5/2011

Customer review by SewItPretty

5.0 stars 5/5/2011 by SewItPretty
by SewItPretty

I love my new Brother Sewing and Embroidery Machine. It is super easy to use. I love that it threads the needle automatically. and has a screen that shows you step by step how to use many of the features. I haven't used the embroidery yet. Look forward to learning. I am including a picture of an Adult Bib that I made as my first project on this machine.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SewItPretty
Macon, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 312 total reviews
1-20 of 312 reviews