Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 916 reviews
5 stars
676
4 stars
167
3 stars
38
2 stars
14
1 stars
21
Sort by: 
1-20 of 857 reviews
1-20 of 857 reviews
Awesome Machine
2/10/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
1st off I did a ton of research, and I just found that this machine was getting the best reviews of any out there. I had not used a sewing machine much but my daughter is having twins so I was willing to do my best to learn. The instructions in the box are not the best. I went to a local sewing store for advice on stablizer, thread, and needles. I also bought a bigger hoop, not that the maching will do bigger that 4X4 just because its easier to hoop and you don't have to rehoop to add a design to your project. Once I figured everything out I have been going non-stop ever since it was purchased. You can not beat this machine. I downloaded a free digitizing program off the internet (Stitch Era) bought the designs I wanted and went to town. My work looks as good as the professional Embroidery store. You have to do your home work to get the best results, buy good thread, stablizer and needles. This is the way to go, no dought!!!! Love my Brother!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (446)No (77)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great machine, great price
7/28/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am a novice sewer and I had been using an old machine before upgrading to this. What a difference!! All of the sewing functions are easy... automatic threader, easy bobbin winding and placement, etc. On top of a great little sewing machine, you get an embroidery machine, too! The two towel photos I uploaded were created with designs included in the machine. I also purchased the accessory that allows you to download any .pes design onto your computer and then place it on a card that inserts into the machine. There are limitless possibilities and lots of free designs available online. I have had a few issues with embroidery jamming, but I've figured out that you really must use the correct type of needle, a new needle, and the correct stabilizer for every fabric. I highly recommend this machine for any beginner to advanced sewer, as well as beginner machine embrioderers.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (297)No (57)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I LOVE this machine
12/31/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was looking for a new machine when my 25-year-old Singer finally died. I was only familiar with the Singer brand and was a little leery about trying something new. My aunt had recently done a ton of research on new machines and she recommended this model. I am SO glad I listened to her and bought it. It has so many upgrades and features that I had never even heard of before, self threading, automatic thread cutting, drop in, self threading bobbin and a wonderful and easy to understand on-screen function panel. I have been going crazy with this little gem. In my house, if it isn't tied down, I've embroidered on it! Have only had time to do a few actual sewing projects, but it has performed flawlessly. I can not say enough about the value for the price. This is a fabulous deal.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (121)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
From a new sewer, THIS IS AMAZING!
2/3/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had this for about a month. I am brand new to sewing, I did have some basic training in high school 12 years ago. This machine is sooooooooooo simple to get started with. I watched the instructional DVD first and an hour later I was in business. Before this machine I had bought a Singer Futura CE 200 and WOW I hated it! Bobbin kept popping out and I cried! I sold it and thought I would try again since this machine had great reviews and my experience has been night and day. LOVE LOVE LOVE it! I can already tell I am outgrowing the 4x4 hoop that comes with it for the embroidery. Transfering graphics from online to the machine is SIMPLE! You can find several free websites to get them. This is an awesome starter!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (199)No (24)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for embroidery beginners
6/16/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Delighted with my Brother SE 400! If you follow instructions, adjust settings for thread,needle and project- it works wonderfully! Effortless thread changes during a multi-color embrodiery, the threading system is simple, and needle threader works every time! I've stitched on tee-shirts, a quilt and samples on flour sacks for kitchen towels. I have also downloaded free embrodiery designs from internet and made them. Very satisfied with this machine. Wish it had a larger area for embroidery-especially for words. Get creative and buy proper quality threads for perfect results!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (84)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A terrific little machine!
3/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had this machine now only a month and a half, but I have put it through its paces. The needle threader is a dream! Best needle threader ever and I have a couple of machines of other brands with threaders. The machine is responsive, smooth, VERY quiet and does both sewing and embroidery well. Sewing on it is a charm! Really - the stitches are as good as any brand of machine, and I haven't needed to touch the tension setting for any of the projects I have done. It does free motion really nicely too and I didn't have to change the tensions for that either. I have used several different threads top and bottom on it and all does well. The light is rather dim, but I put LEDs in the harp, so it doesn't matter. I am a novice embroiderer and that is why I bought this machine - for the fun of a little embroidery, but now I love to sew on it! I wouldn't think this is a choice for a large free motioned quilt, since the harp is rather small, but for overall sewing and 4x4 embroidery you cannot go wrong with this machine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it! Great for beginners like me.
1/1/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had this machine for a few weeks. I am a complete newby when it comes to embroidery machines. I only bought it to do the monogramming on the baby blankets I've been making because I was sick of having a friend do it for me. It took me about an hour to get started going. With some practice, I am getting pretty good. The size of the font is the only limitation- if I want to have it be very big, then it either has to be a short name, or I have to get more comfortable with breaking it up- which can be done with practice. I've about got it figured out, I think. between the quick start guide and the instruction manual, it's got all the info you need. I have not used it for sewing, but the features are fantastic and I have read nothing but good reviews on the sewing feature. Overall, 5 stars. Great product for the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (84)No (52)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Machine!!
2/17/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was looking to replace my old and tired Kenmore machine and saw this one online. I was a little skeptical about it at first...a sewing AND embroidery machine for the price of a good quality sewing machine alone? I thought it may be cheap or that the stitch quality wouldn't be good...but Brother DEFINITELY delivers on this one! While the body itself is plastic it doesn't feel cheap or flimsy at all. The stitch quality is outstanding especially considering the low price tag on this machine. I was intimidated when setting it up because of all the controls and touchscreen, but it was a breeze to get up and running. I think it took about 10 minutes to start my first stitches, which would have been less if I didn't read through the setup part of the manual first (which I highly recommend doing!). The manual is very easy to read and understand. I didn't find it lacking at all. Choosing a stitch is easy. The machine tells you what foot to use for each stitch so there is no confusion. Switching from sewing to embroidery is a cinch. Simply shut off the machine, change the presser foot, and attach the embroidery head which snaps easily into place. Importing embroidery images from the computer is literally drag-and-drop. No software required at all! I also purchased the sidecutter foot from Amazon (walmart didn't have it) for 30$ for this machine, which basically makes it a serger as well, less the multiple threads. I have found seams made with this foot to be extremely strong and durable. Overall, this is the best machine for the value that I have found to date. I absolutely LOVE it and I wouldn't trade it for any of the higher priced machines out there!! I've attached a couple pictures. Keep in mind my camera isn't the greatest.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (243)No (49)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Super Sewing
5/5/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love my new Brother Sewing and Embroidery Machine. It is super easy to use. I love that it threads the needle automatically. and has a screen that shows you step by step how to use many of the features. I haven't used the embroidery yet. Look forward to learning. I am including a picture of an Adult Bib that I made as my first project on this machine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (56)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A Great Value for this Machine
3/18/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just bought my SE-400 at my local Walmart yesterday. I am very pleased with the machine, and even though I am experienced with machine embroidery, I took the time to review the enclosed CD about every aspect of the machine. I have already tested some embroidery on a lightweight bridal fabric and a fleece fabric (using the appropriate stabilizers), and they came out great. When I ran out of upper thread, it was easy to re-set and get it going again. After reviewing the CD, I learned that the machine had features I didn't even know of, that are really great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Above expectations
1/4/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This sewing machine was the best present that I ever gave to myself. It exceeds my expectations. I have already out grown the hoop size of 4 X 4 for applique and embroidery, but I knew that would happen and I purchased this with eyes open to the fact. Point is, for the money...this machine can't be beat. Not only is the embroidery and applique function so easy and so fun, the regular sewing stitches and capabilites are making me look SOOOOO good!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (49)No (22)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great beginners machine
8/9/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this machine knowing nothing about sewing or embroidery. It was something I always wanted to learn but never got around to until recently. The onscreen directions helped me learn the basics of the machine and I have been off and running ever since
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Machine
8/22/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
So far so good. I'm an experienced sewer, but new at embroidery. Still learning the embroidery & really wish I could blog w/someone to get ideas. I am impressed with all the features like the threader & cuter. I have monogrammed about 5 things & all have turned out. I plan to take a class to learn how to utilize all the features. Again, I want to connect with someone to learn more what the machine will do.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great pricing for the value
7/13/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
As a new grandmother I was so excited to find a machine that I could sew, quilt, and embroidery all of those cute little outfits for my Ruby! Price was with my budget and the SE 400 had most of the features that are was looking for
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Affordable Sewing/Embroidery Machine
6/14/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love to quilt. My first project was a crazy quilt for my son. Embroidered wolves and intricate machine stitching make this quilt a future family heirloom. My next project was for my granddaughter. She loves her reversible quilt. My SE400 machine embroideres beautiful designs collected from the internet. The self threading and thread cutting feature is wonderful. Having "sew much" fun in my craft room.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What a wonderful machine!!!!
11/8/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am an artist/arts instructor that works teaching college level art to people with disabilities through a nonprofit alled Arts Unbound. More on that in a moment. I recieved my machine through a barter for artwork since i wanted to make soft sculpture and clothing of my own design. I used it to make halloween costumes. The ability to embroyder stars came in handy as i was making a Wonder Woman cape for my sister. i didnt order the right size and i made several using my machine. I gave my little machine a good run because right after that, i made my cosplay outfit for comicon. (i went as a vulcan science officer from STOS you can see pictures on my instagram Zoumys CreatureFeature) i was very please with the performance of the machine. But what i am most happy with is that it has the option to go without the pedal. Now getting back to my job, i have many student with many types if disabilities and one in particular wanted to start fashion design. She is in a wheelchair and is not able to use her legs for the pedal. Your machine has made it possible for me to be able to teach her how to be independent and I'm in the process of teaching her how to make her own clothes. She told me its much easier for her to use my machine then the one that she has at home because she can now use both hands to control the fabric. At home, she holds the pedal with one and the fabric with the other. Our nonprofit is small, and cannot afford to get new machines since we rely on donations and grants (but i definitely recommended them!! I wish i was able to make it possible to get a few more of these as we have several students that sew as well that are not so fortunate to have the use of my machine) i bring my student mine to use once a week when we meet. That much i can do! Thank you for making it possible for me to teach my student how to sew! My machines will Always be Brother!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best decision I ever made, was buying the SE400!
5/12/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love the SE400! I can't believe they make a machine that cost so little, and does so much! Two hours out of the box, and I was embroidering. You can go to You Tube and find a video on everything you would want to know about this machine. It is very easy to use. I love it, love it, love it. Easy to download designs from the internet, and lots of free designs. Easy to find parts, and accessories for the SE400.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Starter machine
10/15/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this machine to learn to do machine embroidery and for general sewing. While the largest hoop size is 4" x 4", it was a good machine for me to learn the basics to see if I wanted to do more with machine embroidery. From towel embellishments to burp cloths, this machine is a work horse. I also used this machine to sew upholstery fabrics for home dec projects. It never had an issue sewing through those thick seams, and my valances throughout the house get rave reviews. People think they are store bought. (image attached) There are two reasons that I gave this machine 4 stars instead of 5. One is the automatic needle threader. This gets out of adjustment quite easily. I've taken it to the local repair shop several times, and finally just started using an sewing machine needle threader. The second reason is that the machine has to be connected to the computer to import a purchased design for embroidery. If this had a USB port for uploading designs, it would be so much easier. After using this for lots of projects, I upgraded to a sewing/embroidery machine that has larger hoop sizes. I have given this machine to my daughter for her to learn to sew and embroidery.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great machine
10/12/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Just started using it for embroidery this year. Nothing is safe in my house now! I am in awe of what this machine does. I had my dogs picture digitized and have put it on eveything. The only thing I wish someone had told me was that I would want a bigger hoop size.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic machine for first timers
6/4/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this machine 1 1/2 yrs ago when my daughter was expecting her first baby. I never stop using it! Have made book bags, baby clothes, burp cloths, baby blankets, soft books, decorated kitchen towels and my bathrobes. I made pillows with deer and bobcat designs for my grandson, and am working on a collage of fish and flies for him. I have so many projects in my head! It is easy to use, never have any problems. Recommended it to my sister who wants to start monograming. Explained the limits on the size of designs, but I really have no need for 5x7 designs. The 4x4 is large enough for what I do. My one question: Why is it an extra 4MB memory card sells for over $200 but I can buy the PED-basic system (again) and get an included memory card for under $100. Something here does not make sense. The machine itself is fantastic and I would recommend it and buy another one myself.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641747, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-