Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 95 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

95 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

95 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
75
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 85 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 85 total reviews
1-20 of 85 reviews
Sewers Delight
3/31/2011

Customer review by CharmedSewer

4.0 stars 3/31/2011 by CharmedSewer
by CharmedSewer

At less that $150.00, the Brother CE 5500PRW Sewing Machine is a true bargain! Fifty stitch styles is very nice but, automatic buttonholes are a dream!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CharmedSewer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WOW! I am so very impressed!
9/16/2010

Customer review by ssbeadslee

5.0 stars 9/16/2010 by ssbeadslee
by ssbeadslee

I bought a Singer Simple for $99.00 to make sure that I actually was going to like sewing. I did not want to make a huge investment up front so I thought the singer would be a good base model and I could get my comfort level on it and then move up. I was WRONG! The Singer was horrible but I did not know how bad it was so I thought I was horrible and got very frustrated. I started attending a sewing class and quickly found out that not only was the Singer Simple a bad value, it was making things so much more difficult and causing massive frustration on my part. I tried a Phaff Hobby and was amazed at the difference but a little hesitant given the price point of over $200 for the base model. I decided to take my Singer back and trade it for a Brother... I have a Brother printer and have always been happy with it so I figured I'd give it a shot. I CAN NOT beleive the difference. The Brother is much easier, much quieter, has so many more functions and foots included. I set it up, wound a bobbin, set the thread and started sewing in less than 5 mintues including reading the directions. Within 2 minutes of playing with all the options I was giddy!! HUGE lesson learned and the beginning of many content and productive moments with me and my Brother.

Was this review helpful? (72) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ssbeadslee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for a beginner
9/15/2010

Customer review by prittinnpink

5.0 stars 9/15/2010 by prittinnpink
by prittinnpink

I have never touched a sewing machine before buying this. I followed the instructions in the book and was up and running almost instantly. The manual is great with how to and explaining what each stitch is for and what you will need to use it. This is seriously the simplest machine. I recommend it to anyone who is just starting out. I love how the machine will flash an E for error if something isn't right and you can just look up the Error number in the book and quickly fix it. VERY user friendly.

Was this review helpful? (178) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
prittinnpink
Bayonne, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
OH.....MY.......GOSH.....THIS IS AWESOME!!!
3/13/2011

Customer review by FashionGirl19

5.0 stars 3/13/2011 by FashionGirl19
by FashionGirl19

I just got my machine about a week ago and I can hardly pull myself away from it!!! This machine is so easy to use! Beginners will have no problem using this machine. Even seasoned professionals can use the machine with ease. I purchased some fabric to try out all of the different stitches that the machines has and i have a hard time deciding my favorite!! Also I will admit that the words "Limited Edition" made me want to purchase the machine even more and I am so glad that I did. I have made two dresses already and I am starting on a third. Threading the machine is a piece of cake with the automatic needle threader it was a little complicated to learn at first but now I can't stop using it. Also the machine comes with sooooo many extras stored in a small cute case tucked away in the awesome removable arm. Oh gosh I can't stop gushing about the amazingness of this machine. I really recommend this sewing machine for everyone.....besides saying that you have a limited edition project runway machine is bound to make someone jealous...right??

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FashionGirl19
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Super Easy & Fantastically Functional!
2/9/2011

Customer review by ArtsyFartsyBaby

5.0 stars 2/9/2011 by ArtsyFartsyBaby
by ArtsyFartsyBaby

I bought this machine about 6 months ago and have used just about every day since then. I was a total novice at using sewing, especially at using a 'fancy' machine. I had been borrowing my mom's 40+ year old machine and had to call her every time the bobbin ran out so that she could walk me through the confusing way to replace it. I bought this machine, barely browsed through the manual and figured it out in a snap. The bobbin is ridiculously easy to replace and change, the stitches are easy to switch back and forth, the presser feet are even super easy! I was nervous at first to do this, so I stayed on the same few basic stitches for the first month or so, just because I thought it would be such a hassle to change the foot, but I finally tried it, and it was so easy a monkey could have done it. No, seriously, I think my 3 year old could have done it. I highly recommend this machine, it's easy and quick and I haven't experienced any problems in the last 6 months (although, with my luck, now that I've written this review, the thing will probably blow up in my face or something!) and I use this machine A LOT. If Brother is reading this, a nice feature to add would be some sort of notification that your bobbin is out of thread. It drives me CRAZY when I'm sewing and then 1/3 of the way through I notice that none of my stitches were done because I had run out of bobbin thread. www.ArtsyFartsyBaby.Etsy.com

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArtsyFartsyBaby
Northern, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this product
3/4/2011

Customer review by Outspoken13502

5.0 stars 3/4/2011 by Outspoken13502
by Outspoken13502

I owned a Kenmore for over 15 years, but it didn't function the way I needed it to. I am very picky when it comes to spending money on an investment so I researched for hours on a practical, easy to use machine that will perform well and stand up to the wear and tear I plan on putting it through. I finally bought this machine and I am not disappointed. The easy to load bobbin is very convenient. The automatic needle threader is awesome, but you have to do it step by step from the book to understand it the first time through. I have not stopped using this machine since I bought it. I am constantly looking for things to sew just to try a new stitch. Even my husband and teenage son are sewing on it! I love this product and would highly recommend it. My Kenmore still works, but it might find it's way to Ebay.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Outspoken13502
Utica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great machine!!! I love it!
11/9/2010

Customer review by Ebrodzriv

5.0 stars 11/9/2010 by Ebrodzriv
by Ebrodzriv

I had a Singer, basic model before this one, so I was skeptical of switching brands, but I gotta tell you, I absolutely love it. The feature that I love most is the button hole stitching. For those of us who've had to stitch a button hole by manually selecting all the different stitches and stitch lengths, this machine is an affordable God send. It takes all of the hard work out of sewing. The embroidery stitches are lovely and with a creative mind the possibilities are endless. The only thing I had a slight issue with was that there is no setting for positioning the needle on the right side of the plate. You can position the needle on the left and in the center of the plate, but no right side. The issue wasn't a major flaw and I can learn to live without it. I love my machine, and I LOVED the price. :)

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ebrodzriv
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Pleased and Surprised
12/18/2010

Customer review by HappySewingPerson

5.0 stars 12/18/2010 by HappySewingPerson
by HappySewingPerson

My wife just bought this machine yesterday after reading a few reviews online for it as well as several Singer machines. I was pleasantly surprised to see that it really works as well as advertised and reviewed by most. We had none of the problems mentioned in some reviews. I really love the speed control, how you can start out as slowly as you want without it "taking off" on you like other inexpensive machines do with their AC rheostat type controls. I also like the automatic slow reversing without having to even use the pedal. These great speed control and reverse functions alone are enough to really impress me about this machine as well as all the other functions which also work very well, including the wonderful auto threader and quick and easy bobbin placing. The sheer number of stitches is amazing, not to mention digital control and readout of settings, particularly the presser foot notification. Also, the fact that you can't make settings that are impossible for the machine to actually do mechanically, as well as the "default" indicators for length and width. There is so much more than there is room here to mention. I definitely recommend this machine for anyone wanting a new machine.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappySewingPerson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/22/2010

Customer review by QuiltingIgo

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by QuiltingIgo
by QuiltingIgo

I am a beginner quilter and I haven't sewn since I was in high school. I love this sewing machine & I didn't have to spend alot of money. I have had no problem with quilting on this machine.

Was this review helpful? (51) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QuiltingIgo
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful machine
7/1/2010

Customer review by parentsof1boy1girl

5.0 stars 7/1/2010 by parentsof1boy1girl
by parentsof1boy1girl

When picking out this machine I not only looked at price, but what I was getting for that price. A similar one was asking for another $40 yet it didnt have the features this has. It has 7 different feet that allow for almost EVERYTHING to be done with this machine. Never having owned my own sewing machine before it is not only very advanced, but its also simple enough that a beginner can use it. It may not have flowers and everything all over it to make its exterior beautiful, but these are used to make beautiful things, not make a fashion statement with the machine itself. I find that unless youre going to get one of the 1970 machines that come in a suitcase like grandma had then its quite durable and all the features are beyond my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
parentsof1boy1girl
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Machine- So far
8/24/2010

Customer review by mom2bys1grl

5.0 stars 8/24/2010 by mom2bys1grl
by mom2bys1grl

I've had this machine for a few weeks and have had no problems with it thus far. The machine runs very smooth and it has many different stitches. I really only need it for one .02, but it's great to have different options. I will add more to the review if anything changes.

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mom2bys1grl
savannah, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it!!!!
10/22/2010

Customer review by mightyirishmouse

5.0 stars 10/22/2010 by mightyirishmouse
by mightyirishmouse

I sew a lot of stretch materials and it is perfect. This is the first Brother sewing machine I have ever purchased and I will not switch back.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mightyirishmouse
Kansas City, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome
7/9/2010

Customer review by 456123A

5.0 stars 7/9/2010 by 456123A
by 456123A

This is a fantastic sewing machine! BUY IT!! I love all the stitches it can do. It is easy to use. I love the self-threading needle. It is totally worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (96) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
456123A
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'm in love with my Brother
11/10/2010

Customer review by NaiderBolt

5.0 stars 11/10/2010 by NaiderBolt
by NaiderBolt

I was raised on Singer sewing machines, I've ben using them since I was old enough to reach them. I got this machine as a gift for my birsthday and my Mother, who knows me too well, picked it out. It is an incredible machine...it's one of the easiest machines I've ever used, it's quiet, it's stable and it has a ton of options!! Love it!!! I want 5 more! :D Sorry Singer... :(

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NaiderBolt
Clinton, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Marvelous machine
8/14/2010

Customer review by Detroitlady

5.0 stars 8/14/2010 by Detroitlady
by Detroitlady

I am "extremely" happy with my new sewing machine. My thirteen year old niece was learning to sew. I gave her my original 14 stiches Brother machine and was skeptical about what I should buy to replace it. This machine suits me well as I begin to improve my sewing skills. Love the features, the various stiches, button holes...just everything is absolutely wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Detroitlady
Detroit, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A GREAT sewing machine
9/6/2010

Customer review by tercra

5.0 stars 9/6/2010 by tercra
by tercra

I bought my first sewing machine at Penneys 35 years ago and paid about $150. I have used it primarily for sewing basic items and mending. When it stopped working, I debated sending it in for repair vs. replacing it. Even if fixed, it would cost a minimum $75 service fee and it would still be 35 years old. I felt that this machine didn't owe me anything and so started looking. I found this machine on Walmart for less than what I paid for mine 35 years ago! It also has all the bells and whistles that I didn't have before, and really didn't need, but now that I have it I want to start sewing stuff again. It has so many pretty stitiches (more like embroidery that my Grandmother used to do by hand!) that I can visualize using them for all kinds of decorative hems and stitiches. I will never be able to hand-thread a needle again after being spoiled by the automatic needle threader! My eyes definitely aren't what they used to be! The machine is fairly light-weight to carry, and it appears to be sturdy, but I am going to invest in some kind of carrying case, mainly to protect it from the dust it will gather in my closet when not in use. I am VERY HAPPY!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tercra
Tampa Bay, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
LOVE IT
8/22/2010

Customer review by Macsew

5.0 stars 8/22/2010 by Macsew
by Macsew

I just got this sewing machine yesterday. This machine is easy to use and very quiet. I can't believe how quickly it responds and how easy it was to make a button hole. My old machine had the same set up for button holes but it was always frustrating to use. It was hard at first to thread the machine, only because it was different from any other machine that I have used. The instructions were very good and within 30 minutes I was sewing. I also love the needle threader. I can tell this machine is going to spoil me for any other.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Macsew
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I LOVE this machine!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3/15/2011

Customer review by justlove2sew4mygirls

4.0 stars 3/15/2011 by justlove2sew4mygirls
by justlove2sew4mygirls

This is a great machine for the money !!!!! I find that I sew something everyday on it. The needle threader is great its really not that hard to figure out it only took me a few minutes. If this is your first machine it will spoil you. Well I have to go and finish the dress that I am working on. This machine has brought the joy back into sewing for me!!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
justlove2sew4mygirls
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bobbin Tangles
8/17/2010

Customer review by CantFindaUniqueNamexxx

3.0 stars 8/17/2010 by CantFindaUniqueNamexxx
by CantFindaUniqueNamexxx

Just bought this machine. Used it for a couple of easy hemming projects. The first garment went fine, and I thought that I had a good machine. On the second garment, the thread on the bobbin began to tangle and I had a mess on my hands, both on the bobbin and on the hem line that I had just sewn. I tore up the line and re-sewed it, only to have the same problem. Now, I get the problem no matter what I do. Full disclosure, I am a novice sewer, so it is very possible that my criticism of this machine can be attributed to user error. However, the fact that I cannot figure out what is wrong has to be at least partially attributed to the machine or the documentation that comes with it. If this is a common novice error, then the documentation should anticipate this and show me what I am doing wrong. Otherwise, the machine is fine, so if you know how to avoid this problem, then it seems to work well.

Was this review helpful? (10) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CantFindaUniqueNamexxx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very good sewing machine
9/27/2010

Customer review by CountryGalLikesToShop

5.0 stars 9/27/2010 by CountryGalLikesToShop
by CountryGalLikesToShop

I am so pleased with this sewing machine! It is so easy to change the stiches and works beautifully! The see through bobbin compartment is excellent. You can see when the thread is running low on the bobbin so you don't keep sewing along without the bobbin thread. I think anyone would be very happy with this machine!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CountryGalLikesToShop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 85 total reviews
1-20 of 85 reviews