Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 52 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

52 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

52 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 stars
10
1-20 of 50 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
awesome for beginners
10/28/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/28/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is my first sewing machine. The dvd is amazing. The instruction manual, very easy to use. I learned the basics in two hours. I have a lot to learn still but I have managed to recycle my own clothes into different new items and adjust pieces to fit better. By far it is the best hobby-related purchase I’ve ever made and highly recommend it. It is a starter sewing machine so I’m sure that as I learn more, I will probably upgrade to another Brother machine.

Was this review helpful? (107) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great starter machine!
8/3/2010

Customer review by SabbathLily

4.0 stars 8/3/2010 by SabbathLily
by SabbathLily

I own an old Janome/New Home machine but wanted to get something new to learn on. You can't beat the price of this machine and has all the things you need to have when learning how to sew for the first time. The plates are cute as well. I love the fact that you don't need to change the foot when you want to zigzag and the button hole maker is a breeze. It has all the features that you need and when you upgrade you will know all those features because you have them here. The operation manual is a little hard to read but the enclosed DVD makes everything a breeze! I was threaded and sewing in less than a half hour. My only caveat is that this machine is LOUD. My old machine is no where near as loud as this but because of the value and ease of use as well as the great customer support Brother offers I will let that go. Overall even with the noise (!) this is a great value and great for new sewers.

Was this review helpful? (68) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SabbathLily
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Thrilled with this Machine
12/2/2010

Customer review by buttercakebaker

5.0 stars 12/2/2010 by buttercakebaker
by buttercakebaker

I have owned my machine for about a year now and must say I love it! It does everything I need it to do. I had not touched a sewing machine since I was little girl and so I needed a machine that would be user friendly. The DVD that comes with it helped alot. If you are a visual learner, it's a definite plus. I highly recommend this machine for anyone who wants to learn to sew. I will be buying one for my 9 y/o to learn on. I have purchased several different feet for this machine: ruffler foot, walking foot, rolled hem foot, 1/4" edge guide foot, stitch in the ditch foot and an embroidery foot. The machine has a low-shank, so just make sure to buy feet for a low-shank machine and you'll be fine. I purchased my additional feet from JC penney, Joann Fabric and sewingmachinesplus.com. I use my machine alot... at least a couple times a week and I must say it honestly does everything I need it to do and then some!

Was this review helpful? (49) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buttercakebaker
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product and DVD!
4/7/2011

Customer review by Juli216

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by Juli216
by Juli216

This product is great, I am new to the world of sewing and this product and the DVD are amazing. I purchased curtains in Walmarts clearance section and decided to make one into a shower curtain, I tried using grommets for the holes and it would not work right, so I put in the DVD and was happy to see instructions for button holes! My whole life I was told by all family members who are excellent seamstress that button holes were hard, but not with this machine! Great product! I am attaching two pic one of the shower curtain the other of pillow I made from valances!

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Juli216
Dallas GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Not a fan.
10/19/2010

Customer review by SewingChick

2.0 stars 10/19/2010 by SewingChick
by SewingChick

After owning several brother machines and some more expensive machines (Husqvarna), I must say that you get what you pay for. Yes, the machine is cute with its interchangeable plates. Yes it does have the stitches that it boasts about. However, the bobbin case is a nightmare! I am a very experienced seamstress, so I know how to load a bobbin and this doggone thing keeps tangling up. My main thread snaps constantly and is apparently getting wrapped up in something on the inside. I will be returning this machine and purchasing a more reliable model.

Was this review helpful? (57) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SewingChick
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great beginner's machine!
5/12/2011

Customer review by homeschoolinmomoffive

5.0 stars 5/12/2011 by homeschoolinmomoffive
by homeschoolinmomoffive

I bought this sewing machine for my daughter. I didn't want to bother with those "toy" machines that only break or don't do a good job. So I found this one for the price that fit our budget. Was a little apprehensive about getting a front-loading bobbin, but it hasn't given us a bit of trouble! She's loving learning to sew on her own machine, and she'll then graduate up to my fancier machine later!

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
homeschoolinmomoffive
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
LOVE ITTT!!!
9/5/2010

Customer review by JustBree

5.0 stars 9/5/2010 by JustBree
by JustBree

It's perfect!! Light weight, easy to use, perfect for beginners... and it's cute!! Love the zebra face plate... all at the perfect price, fell well below my budget.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustBree
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Terrible product
5/27/2011

Customer review by caliv0608

1.0 stars 5/27/2011 by caliv0608
by caliv0608

I'm a fairly experience sewer on a budget. I bought this a while back and have had nothing but problems. The thread snaps, sometimes stitches fine but is black with grease from somewhere in the bobbin case, and I couldn't ever get the tension right. The top side would look fine, but looking on the underside, the thread is in a bunch of loops. Like I said, I have some experience with sewing machines and this is the worst one I have ever used. I bought it to make baby clothes while I was pregnant and ended up with it just sitting on the shelf for the last year. Total waste.

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
caliv0608
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Fantastic gift for the young as well as anyone
10/9/2013

Customer review by Bellen66

5.0 stars 10/9/2013 by Bellen66
by Bellen66

My Granddaughter had a wonderful Birthday turning 12. She loves arts and crafts and sewing and making anything possible. She learned simple things on my Sewing machine so I decided it would be a great gift for her. She loves using it and has learned how to run the machine by herself. It is a wonderful machine and also comes with a CD to show you things to make it run properly. I would say anyone looking for a great Christmas gift also this machine would be perfect for anyone starting out or just wanting a machine to do little things far better then the ones that have a lot of depth to learning how to use them. I intend to get the next step up for myself of the Brother Sewing machine. I have always used only Singer but now I see Brother has a fine machine also. I learned to sew on my Grandmothers Singer the one in the cabinet with the foot plate you pushed on not the electric ones. Times have changed but the enjoyment of sewing still reaches out to young ones even in this day and age......not always just electronic items like Ipods to PC's to texting it is wonderful to find our children still enjoy learning all sorts of things including projects using your hands making things I know it sure made my heart happy knowing my Granddaughter is enjoying the gift I thought would be the best .

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bellen66
Pasadena Md.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible!
3/28/2011

Customer review by thehibs

2.0 stars 3/28/2011 by thehibs
by thehibs

This machine is horrible. The tread constantly comes undone and gets tangled in the bobbin. If you want to sew anything make sure you've got 3 hours to just mess with this machine to sew a straight line. Terrible. I wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thehibs
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good machine!
9/8/2010

Customer review by Japokie

4.0 stars 9/8/2010 by Japokie
by Japokie

I used to sew a lot when I younger but haven't done any sewing in quite a few years. My old machine was one of those heavy duty metal things that was great. This one is lightweight, ALL plastic (which I'm not used to), but I was pleasantly surprised to find that it sews great and is easy to use. The DVD is helpful, don't forget to watch it. I bought this as part of a bundle with the carrying case which is, well, very lightweight and kind of cheapish feeling but it works quite well to hold the sewing machine and a few extra things to keep them all together in one place. I kept the bottom styrofoam thing that the sewing machine came in to keep it steady in the case. I would recommend this to anyone who just needs to do some light sewing and mending.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Japokie
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Love it!
1/26/2011

Customer review by meeganm02

5.0 stars 1/26/2011 by meeganm02
by meeganm02

Had a machine given to me by my grandmother and while it is a great machine, it was so complicated to use! Decided I was going to get a new one and bought the brothers. So far I don't have a single bad thing to say about it! I make some clothes for my daughter and it does great! I've used it every single day so far making pillowcase dresses, little bloomers, pants etc and I LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
meeganm02
frankewing,tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
poor
6/12/2011

Customer review by mseverything

2.0 stars 6/12/2011 by mseverything
by mseverything

I feel that I wasted my money on this machine, it is very noisy and sews poorly. I have tried to set the tension, and no matter what number you set it at, the bobbin thread is still loose. I wish I had never bought this machine. I have an old machine that came from a sewing factory, but is really heavy, I bought this one thinking I would enjoy it much more, because it is light weight and I can move to where ever I want. I'll stick to my old machine, at least it works.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mseverything
Lancaster,KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
DO NOT FALL FOR THE CUTENESS OF THIS MACHINE!!!!
6/5/2011

Customer review by Suhmantha

1.0 stars 6/5/2011 by Suhmantha
by Suhmantha

i bought this machine to begin sewing clothes and whatever else i could imagine. i watched the dvd, which was very helpful with learning but when i began sewing the thread became tangled. I re-thread the machine (correctly) and began sewing... not even five minutes later did it become tangled again. I am thinking in my head... is this what people who sew have to deal with? A straight line of stitching that measured about a foot long took me 20 minutes... i honestly had to keep re-threading over and over. I ask my mother (who is an experienced craft and sewer) she said i have threaded correctly and that a quality machine will not do this. so.... all in all... do not buy this machine if you are seriously trying to sew... it is just terrible.. the bobbin case is the BIGGEST problem, not to mention how loud it truly is. is bangs and clanks soo loud my fiance was wondering what i was doing LOL. but now i am stuck with a junk machine and trying to find the reciept so that i can take it back. thank God my fiance bought me a new singer with a computerized screen. BTW. i wouldnt even buy this for a teen or a pre-teen to learn on. how frustrating it was trying to learn on this thing and thinking that i was doing it wrong. (i am 22 years old) :):)

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Suhmantha
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great machine for in house use
2/8/2012

Customer review by Pita11

5.0 stars 2/8/2012 by Pita11
by Pita11

This machine does everything that I need it to do with a few extras that I haven't played with yet. Brother is a top notch company. The machine is well made; price is affordable and I like it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pita11
Auburn, ME.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
2/13/2012

Customer review by Aleeah

3.0 stars 2/13/2012 by Aleeah
by Aleeah

I've been sewing since high school. I'm now 67 and have owned several machines. I use mainly for custom fitting jeans and shirts. Let me say this to all the whiners. What did you expect for 80 bucks? You can buy a bicycle for the same price and it will get you where are going but it sure ain't no Harley. This is a good little machine for geneal home use. Hem a few pairs of jeans and it's paid for it self.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aleeah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Tangled bobbin!
5/19/2011

Customer review by mom2babyb

1.0 stars 5/19/2011 by mom2babyb
by mom2babyb

I felt like I was constantly fixing the the bobbin case. Kept jamming up and get all tangled up in the bobbin case. Also you cannot adjust the speed of the machine and goes way to fast which makes it hard to sew a straight line at times. I returned today. The DVD was very good and useful tho. I think I'll just shell out the money and buy something that won't be so difficult to use.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom2babyb
Indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I wouldn't recommend for anybody who sews
1/10/2012

Customer review by LadyOya

1.0 stars 1/10/2012 by LadyOya
by LadyOya

Where do I even start... The thread breaks constantly. The tension is always screwed up. There is always a tangle somewhere. You will be ecstatic IF you can get 10 good stitches from it. I am not bothered about how loud it is, because i'm too busy praying I can finish a stitch without complication.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyOya
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
I'm a new sewer
3/6/2011

Customer review by maymay6

5.0 stars 3/6/2011 by maymay6
by maymay6

i got this for valentines day gift...i love this machine!! i have never owned a machine before and so glad i own this one. i have sewen new curtain for livingroom and kitchen, a few dresses and pillows and i even did a hem job...i don't wanna stop sewing now!! Anyone who is new to sewing i would get this machine..the instruction in book are great. i had to sew a zipper and did dteps in book and it worked just great!! Now if i could just master patterns..i'm learning !!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maymay6
walworth ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
One tough litle machine..
12/19/2010

Customer review by LadeeJane

5.0 stars 12/19/2010 by LadeeJane
by LadeeJane

I bought this for my 10 year old granddaughter for Christmas. I have used it twice for small jobs. It sewed through 3 very thick layers of terry cloth very nicely. She has to leave it here until she learns how to use it properly and safely. When it goes home with her, I will very probably get another for myself...

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadeeJane
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews