Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 59 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

59 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

59 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 stars
10
1-20 of 57 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews
Great product and DVD!
4/7/2011

Customer review by Juli216

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by Juli216
by Juli216

This product is great, I am new to the world of sewing and this product and the DVD are amazing. I purchased curtains in Walmarts clearance section and decided to make one into a shower curtain, I tried using grommets for the holes and it would not work right, so I put in the DVD and was happy to see instructions for button holes! My whole life I was told by all family members who are excellent seamstress that button holes were hard, but not with this machine! Great product! I am attaching two pic one of the shower curtain the other of pillow I made from valances!

Was this review helpful? (34) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Juli216
Dallas GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
AWESOME Machine!
7/8/2014

Customer review by OneMoreReviewPlease

5.0 stars 7/8/2014 by OneMoreReviewPlease
by OneMoreReviewPlease

My instructional videos on YouTube for the brother sewing machine received lots of comments and I figured they may help with your decision to buy. I've used it for years now. I'm no professional but it's pretty easy once you get the hang of it. The instructions are pretty good too but the videos are great if you're more of a visual person. I've sewn cushions, pillows, curtains, bags and more. Excellent sewing machines! Here's the link on "how to insert the bobbin". It's tricky sometimes so the video helps :) http://youtu.be/EVAVs0R7cOQ If the link doesn't post, just search AGCReviews on YouTube.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OneMoreReviewPlease
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ONLY BUY FROM WALMART.COM!!!
1/14/2016

Customer review by DNJMOM

4.0 stars 1/14/2016 by DNJMOM
by DNJMOM

PRODUCT IS AS STATED. have no issues with product itself....daughter is happy with it . but this is more a buyer beware review. purchased from partner seller: barginstation.com ----DO NOT DO THIS ONLY buy from Walmart!!! Barginstaion customer service is HORRIBLE.....I need to rtn item bc it's missing parts anreturn shipping for me (and I am rel. close to rtn ctr) is over $23!!! And there are slow to deal with ....not helpful. and said they may even reject the rtn and send back to me. Awful seller!!! I contacted wal.com and they said they will try to help me......

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DNJMOM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great starter machine!
8/3/2010

Customer review by SabbathLily

4.0 stars 8/3/2010 by SabbathLily
by SabbathLily

I own an old Janome/New Home machine but wanted to get something new to learn on. You can't beat the price of this machine and has all the things you need to have when learning how to sew for the first time. The plates are cute as well. I love the fact that you don't need to change the foot when you want to zigzag and the button hole maker is a breeze. It has all the features that you need and when you upgrade you will know all those features because you have them here. The operation manual is a little hard to read but the enclosed DVD makes everything a breeze! I was threaded and sewing in less than a half hour. My only caveat is that this machine is LOUD. My old machine is no where near as loud as this but because of the value and ease of use as well as the great customer support Brother offers I will let that go. Overall even with the noise (!) this is a great value and great for new sewers.

Was this review helpful? (72) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SabbathLily
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Thrilled with this Machine
12/2/2010

Customer review by buttercakebaker

5.0 stars 12/2/2010 by buttercakebaker
by buttercakebaker

I have owned my machine for about a year now and must say I love it! It does everything I need it to do. I had not touched a sewing machine since I was little girl and so I needed a machine that would be user friendly. The DVD that comes with it helped alot. If you are a visual learner, it's a definite plus. I highly recommend this machine for anyone who wants to learn to sew. I will be buying one for my 9 y/o to learn on. I have purchased several different feet for this machine: ruffler foot, walking foot, rolled hem foot, 1/4" edge guide foot, stitch in the ditch foot and an embroidery foot. The machine has a low-shank, so just make sure to buy feet for a low-shank machine and you'll be fine. I purchased my additional feet from JC penney, Joann Fabric and sewingmachinesplus.com. I use my machine alot... at least a couple times a week and I must say it honestly does everything I need it to do and then some!

Was this review helpful? (53) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buttercakebaker
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
awesome for beginners
10/28/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/28/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is my first sewing machine. The dvd is amazing. The instruction manual, very easy to use. I learned the basics in two hours. I have a lot to learn still but I have managed to recycle my own clothes into different new items and adjust pieces to fit better. By far it is the best hobby-related purchase I’ve ever made and highly recommend it. It is a starter sewing machine so I’m sure that as I learn more, I will probably upgrade to another Brother machine.

Was this review helpful? (113) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
DO NOT BUY!
2/20/2013

Customer review by WalMartCustomer786575

1.0 stars 2/20/2013 by WalMartCustomer786575
by WalMartCustomer786575

DO NOT BUY THIS SEWING MACHINE!!! I receive this sewing machine as a gift for Christmas. After I moved out from home, I needed a machine of my own instead of using my mom’s machine. I had previously seen this machine and was aware that it was a “cheap” sewing machine (cheap in price). Well I started using it and almost immediately ran into problems. The thread in the bobbin comes loose and out of place after only sewing slow and straight for about 3 inches. I had to stop every few inches just to put the thread back into its place because if I didn’t all the thread would accumulate and be extremely loose and loopy at the back of the fabric (I don’t know if there is a technical sewing term for this). My mom’s old machine NEVER did this despite the fact that it was about 15 years older. So save your time, frustration and money and opt to buy a machine that might be a little bit more expensive but at least it won’t give you problems like this one.

Was this review helpful? (6) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalMartCustomer786575
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
great beginner's machine!
5/12/2011

Customer review by homeschoolinmomoffive

5.0 stars 5/12/2011 by homeschoolinmomoffive
by homeschoolinmomoffive

I bought this sewing machine for my daughter. I didn't want to bother with those "toy" machines that only break or don't do a good job. So I found this one for the price that fit our budget. Was a little apprehensive about getting a front-loading bobbin, but it hasn't given us a bit of trouble! She's loving learning to sew on her own machine, and she'll then graduate up to my fancier machine later!

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
homeschoolinmomoffive
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fantastic gift for the young as well as anyone
10/9/2013

Customer review by Bellen66

5.0 stars 10/9/2013 by Bellen66
by Bellen66
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My Granddaughter had a wonderful Birthday turning 12. She loves arts and crafts and sewing and making anything possible. She learned simple things on my Sewing machine so I decided it would be a great gift for her. She loves using it and has learned how to run the machine by herself. It is a wonderful machine and also comes with a CD to show you things to make it run properly. I would say anyone looking for a great Christmas gift also this machine would be perfect for anyone starting out or just wanting a machine to do little things far better then the ones that have a lot of depth to learning how to use them. I intend to get the next step up for myself of the Brother Sewing machine. I have always used only Singer but now I see Brother has a fine machine also. I learned to sew on my Grandmothers Singer the one in the cabinet with the foot plate you pushed on not the electric ones. Times have changed but the enjoyment of sewing still reaches out to young ones even in this day and age......not always just electronic items like Ipods to PC's to texting it is wonderful to find our children still enjoy learning all sorts of things including projects using your hands making things I know it sure made my heart happy knowing my Granddaughter is enjoying the gift I thought would be the best .

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bellen66
Pasadena Md.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a fan.
10/19/2010

Customer review by SewingChick

2.0 stars 10/19/2010 by SewingChick
by SewingChick

After owning several brother machines and some more expensive machines (Husqvarna), I must say that you get what you pay for. Yes, the machine is cute with its interchangeable plates. Yes it does have the stitches that it boasts about. However, the bobbin case is a nightmare! I am a very experienced seamstress, so I know how to load a bobbin and this doggone thing keeps tangling up. My main thread snaps constantly and is apparently getting wrapped up in something on the inside. I will be returning this machine and purchasing a more reliable model.

Was this review helpful? (61) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SewingChick
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Terrible product
5/27/2011

Customer review by caliv0608

1.0 stars 5/27/2011 by caliv0608
by caliv0608

I'm a fairly experience sewer on a budget. I bought this a while back and have had nothing but problems. The thread snaps, sometimes stitches fine but is black with grease from somewhere in the bobbin case, and I couldn't ever get the tension right. The top side would look fine, but looking on the underside, the thread is in a bunch of loops. Like I said, I have some experience with sewing machines and this is the worst one I have ever used. I bought it to make baby clothes while I was pregnant and ended up with it just sitting on the shelf for the last year. Total waste.

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
caliv0608
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
DO NOT FALL FOR THE CUTENESS OF THIS MACHINE!!!!
6/5/2011

Customer review by Suhmantha

1.0 stars 6/5/2011 by Suhmantha
by Suhmantha

i bought this machine to begin sewing clothes and whatever else i could imagine. i watched the dvd, which was very helpful with learning but when i began sewing the thread became tangled. I re-thread the machine (correctly) and began sewing... not even five minutes later did it become tangled again. I am thinking in my head... is this what people who sew have to deal with? A straight line of stitching that measured about a foot long took me 20 minutes... i honestly had to keep re-threading over and over. I ask my mother (who is an experienced craft and sewer) she said i have threaded correctly and that a quality machine will not do this. so.... all in all... do not buy this machine if you are seriously trying to sew... it is just terrible.. the bobbin case is the BIGGEST problem, not to mention how loud it truly is. is bangs and clanks soo loud my fiance was wondering what i was doing LOL. but now i am stuck with a junk machine and trying to find the reciept so that i can take it back. thank God my fiance bought me a new singer with a computerized screen. BTW. i wouldnt even buy this for a teen or a pre-teen to learn on. how frustrating it was trying to learn on this thing and thinking that i was doing it wrong. (i am 22 years old) :):)

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Suhmantha
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
LOVE ITTT!!!
9/5/2010

Customer review by JustBree

5.0 stars 9/5/2010 by JustBree
by JustBree

It's perfect!! Light weight, easy to use, perfect for beginners... and it's cute!! Love the zebra face plate... all at the perfect price, fell well below my budget.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustBree
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good machine!
9/8/2010

Customer review by Japokie

4.0 stars 9/8/2010 by Japokie
by Japokie

I used to sew a lot when I younger but haven't done any sewing in quite a few years. My old machine was one of those heavy duty metal things that was great. This one is lightweight, ALL plastic (which I'm not used to), but I was pleasantly surprised to find that it sews great and is easy to use. The DVD is helpful, don't forget to watch it. I bought this as part of a bundle with the carrying case which is, well, very lightweight and kind of cheapish feeling but it works quite well to hold the sewing machine and a few extra things to keep them all together in one place. I kept the bottom styrofoam thing that the sewing machine came in to keep it steady in the case. I would recommend this to anyone who just needs to do some light sewing and mending.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Japokie
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
WORST SEWING MACHINE EVER
6/14/2015

Customer review by Pamela

1.0 stars 6/14/2015 by Pamela
by Pamela

So many problems with this machine. Too many to mention. Main thing is the bobbin compartment keeps falling apart. Tension keeps changing and have to keep fixing it. Thread gets caught around tension wheel. Bought one for my mother and I. Hers was the same thing. All kinds of problems with this stupid machine. Brought my mothers back after she passed away. Too bad she couldn't enjoy one of her favourite things to do before she died of cancer. I could not bring mine back because someone had thrown out the box. We have used many sewing machines over the years, but this one is BY FAR the Worst we have ever used. We Never recommend this garbage to anyone. And most likely I will not buy another 'Brother' sewing machine.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pamela
Would recommend to a friend? No
great value for beginner
11/18/2011

Customer review by orchid145

4.0 stars 11/18/2011 by orchid145
by orchid145

I made my machine's value worth the first project was a pikachu costume that was online for about $90, and I only spent at most $20 in materials. I've used heavy fleeces and sewn through posterboard material covered in fleece to achieve a firm upright tail for the costume. I did this after not touching a sewing machine in about a decade. I've only used my mom's sturdy powerhorse Singer prefessional machine. This was delightfully quiet. It's not as powerful, but it does the job. So far it came out of the box w/ the reverse broken, but i'm assuming that's why it was returned to the store/open box to begin with. All in all I'm still keeping the machine because for the $60 that I paid for it, it runs great and it's made it's worth in hemming pants and making baby blankets for my daughter. I'm not a seamstress, just a mom who wants to do a few light jobs throughout the year. Perfect match. As far as the thread tangling up. I had a great deal of it until I googled the problem. This machine is very finicky about the threads being pulled straight to the back. I by habit always sewed with the thread to the left. That change in position of thread ends when starting has elmimated the tangling situation. I sewed light satin onto a thick berber fleece baby blanket w/o rips/tears/thread tangling using the zigzag stitch. only downfall is the reverse not working but oh well, it's still a great machine for the value.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
orchid145
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Even for the price it's a bad buy.
9/12/2011

Customer review by supertropy

1.0 stars 9/12/2011 by supertropy
by supertropy

I learned to sew on my mom's machine and didn't realize how spoiled this would make me. As an adult I decided to start sewing again and needed a machine. I wasn't sure if I would still enjoy it so I went with an affordable machine. Well I still love sewing but I do not like this machine at all. The tension does not set well and the thread snaps free because of this. Also the bobbin is terrible and creates loops for the thread to tangle in. When working with stretch fabrics for barbie clothes the machine eats the material. I thought it was the way I had the machine set up but my mom looked at it, tweaked a few things and came to the same conclusion...this is a terrible machine. Currently looking for a better one.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
supertropy
Lake Zurich, Il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Terrible!
3/28/2011

Customer review by thehibs

2.0 stars 3/28/2011 by thehibs
by thehibs

This machine is horrible. The tread constantly comes undone and gets tangled in the bobbin. If you want to sew anything make sure you've got 3 hours to just mess with this machine to sew a straight line. Terrible. I wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thehibs
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
poor
6/12/2011

Customer review by mseverything

2.0 stars 6/12/2011 by mseverything
by mseverything

I feel that I wasted my money on this machine, it is very noisy and sews poorly. I have tried to set the tension, and no matter what number you set it at, the bobbin thread is still loose. I wish I had never bought this machine. I have an old machine that came from a sewing factory, but is really heavy, I bought this one thinking I would enjoy it much more, because it is light weight and I can move to where ever I want. I'll stick to my old machine, at least it works.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mseverything
Lancaster,KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great Machine
2/15/2012

Customer review by KatieCap

5.0 stars 2/15/2012 by KatieCap
by KatieCap

Before this machine, I sewed on a tiny $30 dressmaker and two vintage Singer sewing machines from the 40s and 50s. I finally decided to buy myself a modern, decent sewing machine. I absolutely love this sewing machine. I definitely recommend this to anyone beginning to learn how to sew, its so easy to use. It has the perfect amount of stitches to use, its not too intimidating! As far as tension issues, I've only had two major issues, easily fixable with patience. The screw bobbin case just needed to be adjusted. I've had this machine since the summer of 2010, and its going strong. Great for the price!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KatieCap
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews