Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 2023 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

2023 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

5 stars
1127
4 stars
538
3 stars
110
2 stars
97
1 stars
151
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1836 total reviews
10/9/2011

Customer review by TransplantinCharlotteNC

4.0 stars by TransplantinCharlotteNC

Out of the box...It needed some assembly. And looked like a Nascar with all the sticker on it! Seriously, it was ridiculously funny! Now some people complain about this vacuum’s weight, but I find it perfectly balanced, not too heavy, not too light. If anything I think a heavy weight in vacuums feels like better quality to me. This vacuum performs the tasks at hand- handily! To say the suction is Amazing is truly an understatement. As other reviewers have stated…you CAN NOT turn the brushroller off so it may spit out debris when vacuuming bare floors. I think this is its biggest negative. But, I can live with that because most low cost vacuums do not have that feature anyways. No light yall! Really… you WANT a light??? Tape a flashlight to it. (LOL-Just kidding) When we got this vacuum… I vacuumed our white rugs(which ‘look’ very clean) with my 6 year old Hoover bag vacuum, than my 4 year old Bissell Bagless vacuum (which my wife hated from the day we bought it). We than went and Vacuumed the room with this one. We do not have pets now... but we do have two kids (8 & 17). And we never open our windows for fear of pollen. WOW! The dirt that it picked up was amazing! Lint, dust… gross! The thing was visibly full in the first room! That would have been a full bag trashed the first minute. Now, seriously, how many people check their bags to see if they are filled? I do think bag vacuums are old-tech. Bag Vacuum makers make their real money in replacement bags. I think I dumped this thing out three times since I bought it. The canister holds a lot too… I am trying to figure out where all this dirt is coming from! Most Vacuums’ “Empty” monitors display ‘red’ when they are CONSIDERABLY vacuum suction restricted. By that time, your vacuum is already not vacuuming like it would with a freshly ‘dumped’ canister or freshly replaced ‘bag’. Just note that the canister removes from the vacuum. You can take it outside and ‘dump’ it into a plastic bag. The dust that comes out is simply disgusting!!! DO NOT DO THIS IN YOUR HOUSE! This vacuum pushes very easily, and the attachments that come with it are not bad. Watch yourself when using the hand wand to suction up your floor edges, future, curtains etc, it may accidently suck up your couch. ;) I do like the fact the cord self-retracts back into the vacuum with the push of a button. Nice feature… but I wonder how long it will continue to operate for. The power switch is in front of the handle, which is different. We are very happy with this purchase. I thank everyone for their reviews to help me make this purchase decision. I also like the fact that Consumer Reports rated this better than vacuums that cost three times as much! For the 'other' reviewers writing about belts breaking easily... well, time will tell for me. I do not suction up 'hard' objects though with it. If this review was of any help please hit the ‘yes’ tab.

Was this review helpful? (691) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TransplantinCharlotteNC
Indian Trail, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 25 contributor
OUTSTANDING
5/4/2011

Customer review by mlissa026

5.0 stars by mlissa026

I have never written a review on a product before but I felt that I had to with this vacuum. This vacuum has blown me away with how well it works!! I could not beat the price for one thing, 98.00 with .98 shipping. In the store they wanted 139.00. It was well worth the wait as our money is usually tight. I have had this vacuum now for a little over a month. We have 2 dogs and 2 cats (German Shepherds) so you can imagine the hair that we have not to mention dust. Since I have had this vacuum my carpets look phenomenal, the dust is almost at zero. As we all know our T.V.'s are dust magnets, since having this vacuum my t.v. screen has had no dust on it and neither has my other furniture!! The amount of dirt this vacuum picks up out of the carpet amazes me! The first week it was pulling up the arm and hammer stuff that you sprinkle on your carpets along with a whole mess of dirt that my other vacuum did not get. (I hadn't sprinkled anything on my carpet in a while before I got this vacuum) Even after a month it is still pulling up all kinds of dirt that I have no idea where it is coming from, lol. I did not have the problem that some of the other reviewers had with the belt breaking after the first use. The vacuum is light, it is not bulky, the wind up cord is awesome. The only thing it does not have is a light in the front but that by itself does not hinder its performance in anyway. I wanted a Dyson vacuum but I am glad that I did not spend all that money because this little 98.00 vacuum is the bomb!! It has not lost suction one time and the dirt cup is wonderful!! I am not all filthy when having to empty it so that is another A+ for me. I used to clean houses so I have used quite many vacuums over the years including dyson and I would not trade this vacuum for anything else. My husband is even impressed, lol. So that should also tell you something. I hope this review helps. I truly do not think you would be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (771) (55)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mlissa026
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Buy!
2/7/2011

Customer review by 06SHOPNOW11

5.0 stars by 06SHOPNOW11

This vacuum was really more than I expected! I purchased it because it did not require bags. However, it contained many extras not mentioned by other reviews. The reviews I read on this product were very helpful in making my decision and were very accurate on the quality and workmanship. It has a very long retractable cord, the container with the dirt in it is very easy to clean and the vacuum is not too heavy. It has attachments for cleaning steps and/or furniture and it lays flat to go under the furniture. I love it and highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (378) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
06SHOPNOW11
Gaithersburg, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Works great
2/9/2011

Customer review by Pointflushshoot

4.0 stars by Pointflushshoot

I purchased this vacuum as I was frustrated with the ability of my Dyson to pick up dog hair from the carpet. It was rated highly by Consumer Reports and the price was very reasonable so I bought it. It works very well at picking up hair and anything else. While the build quality and features of this vacuum are not what the Dyson is, the performance is better and the value is amazing. Most importantly, my wife is happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (148) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Pointflushshoot
Northern Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Old vacuum didn't make the cut...
6/6/2012

Customer review by jbuck12

4.0 stars by jbuck12

I ordered this vacuum after researching comsumer reports. I wanted a bagless w/good suction and CR gave this the highest rating for bagless catagory. I had an older vacuum which was one i bought at a yardsale and i thought it was doing the job. BOY was i wrong. I vacuumed with my old yardsale model first and then used this model in my living room and my husbands den. If I would have realized how much the old one was missing, i would have purchased this years ago! I had to empty the canister almost three times because it was full. My carpets look renewed and felt "plushier" under my feet. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because the directions say the canister, hose, and dirt release are supposed to "click" open and close. The hose you have to manually click the button so the hose catches and the canister and dirt release dont click in as smooth as I'd like them too. Also, the hose is a bit short for my liking. Other than that, i would definately recommend this product. Great Job!

Was this review helpful? (66) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jbuck12
South Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
greatly disappointed
12/18/2011

Customer review by THRDHBOSTON

1.0 stars by THRDHBOSTON

I couldn't wait to get this vacuum from all the great reviews it got..it finally arrived at the house and I used it immediately..couldn't believe that the reviews were right..it was a fantastic vacuum at first, then it broke down 3 weeks later..SO VERY DISAPPOINTED..I called the service dept. and they said that the vacuum has an internal "kill" switch that turns the vacuum off if it overheats, but it can't be reactivated, unless you bring it to a service center..I'm glad that there is a safety built into the vacuum, but there should be an accessible "reset" button that the customer can switch on afterwards..seems like such an inconvenience, so I had to return it to the store..SADLY, WILL NOT BUY AGAIN...

Was this review helpful? (76) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
THRDHBOSTON
BOSTON, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Vacuum
1/11/2011

Customer review by lovenana69

5.0 stars by lovenana69

We bought this vacuum based on a Consumer Reports recommendation I read while in the doctor's office. We have had it for a little over a month, and it performs great. We have three dogs and the amount of dog hair it has picked up not only from the carpet but the furniture is amazing. We thought we were getting a good cleaning from the previous vacuum we were using, but not so! I would recommend this vacuum wholeheartedly.

Was this review helpful? (413) (126)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lovenana69
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
perfect for old ladies like me
2/24/2011

Customer review by WaterfrontLover

5.0 stars by WaterfrontLover

My last vacuum was a real dog to push all around the house while this one not only is easily managed it does a much better job of picking up dog hair and such. I recommend using it without anyone else present the first time because all the dirt other vacuums don't get but this one picks up is downright embarrassing. Think of myself as a finicky housekeeper but egad, this thing gives new meaning to clean carpets! And being of Scottish persuasion the price was greatly to my liking.

Was this review helpful? (113) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
WaterfrontLover
Chesapeake Bay area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
considering a dyson? buy this hoover instead
6/22/2011

Customer review by bargainhntr10

5.0 stars by bargainhntr10

I couldn't decide on a dyson or this vacuum. I went online to do my homework and I realized very quickly this vacuum was scoring better with the critics and with the consumers who purchased this item than the dyson was. I have family and friends with dysons. I have used them. This vacuum is just as good but for 1/4 the price. Honestly I wanted the dyson to be the winner... hoping to convince my husband it was worth the money. I couldn't even lie to him after reading so many convincing reviews. I needed to see for myself. This hoover is amazing. I have 2 cats and it has such incredible suction that I don't feel like I have animals any more. Easy to clean and dump the dirt from the canister with a washable hepa filter - LOVE THIS! The only thing I would change is a longer hose; but with all the attachments you can easily reach the ceiling. The hose suction is also out of this world. Super easy to push... it is also suprisingly quiet.

Was this review helpful? (147) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bargainhntr10
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
good vacuum for the price
10/12/2013

Customer review by singleguyinva

4.0 stars by singleguyinva

a friend looked up vacuums in consumer reports for me, and this was the second highest rated vacuum in the price range, and considered a best buy at $130. walmart had it for $99, so i ordered it. assembly was super easy, and it does a remarkable job on my carpets, picking up a lot more dirt, lint, etc, than i knew was there. the only thing that is a little bothersome is the cord coming off near the bottom. the auto rewind is nice, but if you aren't the sort to hold the cord up (which i always have, even with the cord being up higher on some models), then you'll be running over it frequently. oh, and the hose is kinda stiff, so when you use it, you almost have to hold the vacuum with one hand to keep it from tipping over when you try to extend the hose. emptying the dirt compartment is easy. i haven't tried washing the filter yet, so i've no idea how that'll be. works ok on bare floors, too; at least the exhaust doesn't blow dirt and dust around before you can vacuum it like some models i've seen. unless you can afford a dyson, i'd say buy this one.

Was this review helpful? (65) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
singleguyinva
lynchburg, va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wall to wall carpet cleaner
10/3/2011

Customer review by CleanFrk

5.0 stars by CleanFrk

I previously owned a bissel upright also sold by walmart. It wasn't picking up anymore. I could still see lint on the surface of the carpet. I bought this hoover, it took me five minutes to assemble and I did my living room and dining room in ten minutes. It was easier to push than my old vacuum. I did the couch and sofa, steps and upstairs. Two hours of vacuuming and three empty containers later my new vacuum had picked up three years worth of dirt and dust and everything the previous owners left behind! I love my vacuum now. Before purchasing new carpet get a new vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (108) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CleanFrk
Philadelphia, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
better then expected
1/19/2011

Customer review by joey311

5.0 stars by joey311

we had a dyson and had to get repaired for the 3rd time so bought this for my wife on christmas for 100bucks werent expecting a vacuum as good as i got suction seems as good as my dyson picks up pet hair on rug and couch perfectly retractable cord and acc. are all working great should have bought this first great vacuum at a great price

Was this review helpful? (49) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
joey311
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great vacuum at a great price
12/8/2010

Customer review by TurboMomma

5.0 stars by TurboMomma

I bought this Hoover for myself after buying one for my son. It was his first Hoover. He had already vacuumed with his "old" machine but wanted to try his new one and was shocked to see how much "stuff" the Hoover got up. I already had a version of the Hoover wind-tunnel myself but I wanted a second machine so I could keep one upstairs, and one downstairs. I LOVE this machine. It does the basics and does them well. I love the cord rewind, the ease of use and the on board tools. Great features, great price.

Was this review helpful? (72) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TurboMomma
Durham CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this vacuum!
11/16/2013

Customer review by Birdleaf

5.0 stars by Birdleaf

I purchased this vacuum based on many great reviews I read by others. With the first use, I just loved this vacuum! It is very easy to push and maneuver around, it has really strong suction, and it has a wide path, so it takes less time to cover a room than my old vacuum, which was very narrow. The only thing I'm less than fond of is how the hose works: It is supposed to stretch out to a longer length, but it is weird. Instead of just easily stretching straight out, it twists a little when it stretches, so your handheld tool ends up in a different position and you have to take it off and re-position it. Then, to compound matters further, it wants to shrink back to size on its own while you're still using it, so you have to continually pull on the hose to keep it stretched out. This causes arm tiredness! This model has confirmed durability issues, so it's too early to say how long the vacuum will last, but for now I'm very happy with my purchase (super price, too!).

Was this review helpful? (75) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Birdleaf
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Real powerhouse for the price!
4/8/2014

Customer review by samidnas

5.0 stars by samidnas

I have been using this vacuum extensively since I bought it, and have found it to be easy to use. It's lightweight, easy to maneuver, and really gets the dirt. I use it on tile floors, carpet, and wood floors. It goes from one type of flooring to the other with no problem. I don't necessarily have to change any of the settings or turn off the rotary brush on the hard floors. I vacuumed the tile floor, then wetmopped, and the mop came out really clean. It surprised me, because my previous vacuum didn't clean hard floors nearly as well as this one does. Changing from floor to hose is a snap, and the hose is quite long. Another great feature is the retracting cord. I love it!! Very smart that they put the foot pedal for it on the opposite side as the cord goes into, so you don't get your ankle smashed by the plug whipping into the hole! All in all, a very good vacuum. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
samidnas
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
W-M doesn't carry the non-washable HEPA filter.
12/21/2011

Customer review by MelodyJune

1.0 stars by MelodyJune

Only the filter above the dust collection canister is washable! The HEPA filter under the dust canister is NOT washable! And Walmart does NOT carry this filter and neither does Lowe's, Sears, K-Mart, True Value Hardwares or any of my county's stores. When you need to replace the filter after it falls to shreds and starts blowing dust clouds out after you've had it a year like I have, it is a DISPOSABLE vacuum. Don't look to have this vacuum long term. So, figure that into the price before you buy it. The performance was only fair/good, so it was too highly priced for a year of service.

Was this review helpful? (75) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MelodyJune
Somerset, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great vac
7/19/2010

Customer review by icemom011

5.0 stars by icemom011

Bought this vac about a month ago and i really like it. It does a good job with the carpets, i wish it had a stop button for the floor brush. We have many pets, cats and dogs and it works great. the only downfall i see so far is that when you empty out the canister, which i need to do after cleaning every room, more often than not you need to stick your hand in there to help dislodge the pet hair. It comes out easier if you do not overfill the canister. Also i noticed crack on the body that does not affect anyting but still... that might have been me allowing alot of carpet ends to unravel and tangle on the brush ( really old and worn out carpet in the garage). Overall- i love it

Was this review helpful? (37) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
icemom011
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A great buy fr this price point!
8/2/2011

Customer review by JohnS2112

4.0 stars by JohnS2112

Consumers reports rated this vacuum cleaner highly, so I bought it - as it is getting really hard to find parts for my $250 ten year old panasonic. That old vacuum was top notch. This cleans ALMOST as well. I bought a Shark Navigator last December and this Hoover beats it hands down. What I like: Good suction, detachable hose onboard for use with onboard tools. Auto rewind for the cord. Cord is just long enough. This is the first upright I have used that actually works on my tile floor without just launching stuff all over the place! What I don't like: Cleaning width (while wider than the shark) is less than the old vacuum. Location of the cord makes me have to hold it up high to keep from running over it. It's pretty much all plastic, even on the very bottom. locations for onboard attachments don't hold onto the attachments very securly. When opening the dirt container to empty it, I have always had to use 2 hands both for opening it (it doesn't just pop open) and to actually pull the dirt out (it doesn't just fall out) when mixed with clumps of carpet fibers). I also wish the detachable hose was just a little longer. But overall, I am very pleased with this vacuum. Most others don't clean this well.

Was this review helpful? (35) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JohnS2112
Detroit, Mi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
http://www.walmart.com/cservice/writeRe
12/7/2013

Customer review by Sistervicky

2.0 stars by Sistervicky

I purchased this item online from Walmart at a great price. My decision for purchasing was based Consumer Reports rating of this vacuum, which was very high for the price. While it does work great when it is together correctly, I find getting it together too difficult. I am amazed that Hoover did not change this before they manufactured it. When I empty the dirt bin, I go to put it back on and it NEVER locks correctly unless I fiddle with it for numerous minutes. It should lock tightly with a button that it easy to release and lock. This Hoover does not have that capability. I have to hold the entire compartment tightly going up the stairs or it will fall off. If you just hold the canister lightly, it releases and then you have to go through the process again of putting it together. I would not ever buy this item again and since Walmart did not have it in there store, I couldn't pretest it. If anyone knows the magic key for making it stay together besides ducktape, please let me know.

Was this review helpful? (56) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sistervicky
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Broke the second time I used it.
8/6/2011

Customer review by moonroks

1.0 stars by moonroks

The on and off switch broke the second time I used it. We returned it to Walmart and bought a different model Hoover. I hope this one lasts a little longer. I sure miss the old days when things were made in the good old USA and they ran a life time.

Was this review helpful? (43) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
moonroks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 1836 total reviews