Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 164 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

164 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

164 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
54
4 stars
32
3 stars
18
2 stars
18
1 stars
42
1-20 of 163 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 163 total reviews
1-20 of 163 reviews
Good Vacuum, but not easy to find filter.
8/18/2011

Customer review by loujaz

2.0 stars 8/18/2011 by loujaz
by loujaz

I bought this vac a few weeks ago. It did a good job up untill I needed to replace the filter. I went to two different wal-marts to find the filter. Did not find. Went on walmart.com, did not find. Went to dirt devil.com, found it, but it was out of stock. If you are going to sell a vacuum in your store you should sell the filters that go with it. And make them readily avaliable. Because this vacuum is pretty worthless just setting in my cabinet.

Was this review helpful? (68) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
loujaz
Waco, TX.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Little Machine
12/29/2010

Customer review by SunnytheCat

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by SunnytheCat
by SunnytheCat

This vac works great. I used the pullout crevice tool to clean my steps and all around the baseboards in my house. I was amazed at how much fur(two cats) and dirt it picked up. It works as well as a normal sized vac. I bought it since my full size vac came without tools. Well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SunnytheCat
Pearland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Battery Died
6/30/2011

Customer review by DelawareKat

1.0 stars 6/30/2011 by DelawareKat
by DelawareKat

I had this dustbuster for three days and it will no longer hold any charge at all! Do not buy this.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DelawareKat
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great for the car!
12/4/2012

Customer review by kiwidoc2009

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by kiwidoc2009
by kiwidoc2009

I bought this to keep my brand new car looking that way on the inside. I leave it charging by the back door and use it on my entire interior carpet and seats a couple of times a week. The extension is great to get between the seats and the pedals. Suction is great! For the price it is excellent value and I am ordering another one for my dad's car today.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kiwidoc2009
Penfield, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
6/14/2012

Customer review by Mamacusa

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by Mamacusa
by Mamacusa

Nice product, and powerful for hand-held device. Would recommend for light cleaning: I use it for cleaning cat hair off the furniture.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mamacusa
Shaker Heights, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Filters easily obtainable online
12/2/2013

Customer review by ShopperChicago

4.0 stars 12/2/2013 by ShopperChicago
by ShopperChicago

Uses F38 Filters - available starting at $2.75 online via 3rd party Those complaining about filters aren't looking very hard.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopperChicago
Chicagp, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Junk! Won't suck and filter stays filthy.
3/19/2013

Customer review by Zbison

1.0 stars 3/19/2013 by Zbison
by Zbison

I was looking for a nice hand vac that would suck up what I sweep off the floor. Fine if it's dust, but if there's a small rock bigger than 1/4 inch, forget it. You'll have to bend down and pick those pieces up. I've never run the battery out, so it must stay charged well. However, I was disappointed it didn't come with any kind of wall-mount charger like my old hand vac. Finally, the side buttons that open the dust cup are convenient. Now if only the filter would allow the dirt/hair/dust to fall out. You have to reach your finger up in the cup to clean it out. Any hair that gets vacuumed up, stays in there and holds everything in there with it. Totally worthless. I wish I had returned it the first week, but I don't have the receipt/box anymore and I'm too cheap to just throw it away. I hope I accidentally leave it out, so my kids break it and I can buy a new one.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zbison
Courtland, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
very disappointed
2/27/2011

Customer review by ThriftyMom34

2.0 stars 2/27/2011 by ThriftyMom34
by ThriftyMom34

Purchased this to replace an old hand vac that didn't have great suction. This does NOT hold it's charge long at all. I can barely get through one room before I need to plug it back in again. I have followed the manual for charging (which is vague at best) and still cannot get the performance I was hoping to have. Will not buy a cordless hand vac from Dirt Devil again.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThriftyMom34
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Works ok- but battery doesn't hold a long charge
9/27/2012

Customer review by Southernbell001

3.0 stars 9/27/2012 by Southernbell001
by Southernbell001

I owned this unit about a year now and I bought it because my corded hand vac gave out after 10 yrs. I guess I expected too much from a cordless vac. Don't get me wrong it works good and has good suction as I primarily use it to keep the cat litter picked up around my cats litter box- but the battery doesn't hold a long charge... I can use it 3-4 times and its only for a few minutes and it then has to be charged? Wow, I thought it would go alot longer than that. It's nice not to have a cord in my way but I don't like having to recharge it so often. For those looking for a new filter as many people seem to be looking for one, you have to go to the Dirt Devil web site and buy one for $4.27 but of course as of this date-- they are out of stock. So next I recommend to Google it and see if anyone else sells the filter. My final thoughts are I just wish they would make a better battery!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Southernbell001
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Small but powerful.
8/15/2014

Customer review by Cucaorama

5.0 stars 8/15/2014 by Cucaorama
by Cucaorama

Is amaizing how powerful is this Hand Vac,I love it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cucaorama
Hialeah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Go with what's proven!!!
4/14/2012

Customer review by OldCorps725

5.0 stars 4/14/2012 by OldCorps725
by OldCorps725

I had a ***** * ******* brand handheld vac which lasted fairly well and did the job adequately, however, was old enough that it wouldn't hold a charge. Hence, the DD 9.5V GATOR. From what I've used it so far, great little tool. I understand this is only an appliance for very small vacuum jobs and have an upright as well for what this one cannot do. Too many people believe this tiny vac is all they need to clean their homes with, that's not very CONSERVATIVE thinking..... If you have to re-sod a football field, you gonna use sod or plant individual seeds?!?!?! This little machine is perfect for the job it was manufactured to do. Semper Fidelis

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldCorps725
St. Charles, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love it!
7/14/2014

Customer review by asoldierswife28

5.0 stars 7/14/2014 by asoldierswife28
by asoldierswife28

I love this little vacuum it comes in very handy in the car for road trips and things like that or around the house.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
asoldierswife28
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Battery won't charge after 6 months
7/27/2014

Customer review by bonbuttercup

1.0 stars 7/27/2014 by bonbuttercup
by bonbuttercup

It's a disposable handheld vacuum. Battery won't hold a charge after 6 months of ownership. It's garbage - don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from DirtDevil - 7/31/2014

Hi bonbuttercup! This is not good to hear. We strive for quality products and owner satisfaction. We want to further assist. Please email Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com Thank you. <br /><br />-Giselle <br />Dirt Devil Customer Care

bonbuttercup
Would recommend to a friend? No
ABSOLUTELY EXCELLENT!
1/21/2012

Customer review by PrincessPaki

5.0 stars 1/21/2012 by PrincessPaki
by PrincessPaki

It's TERRIFIC++++++! I bought a 2nd one for our Summer home!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PrincessPaki
Rancho Mirage, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
WONT STAY CHARGED
10/15/2014

Customer review by carolinagirl64

1.0 stars 10/15/2014 by carolinagirl64
by carolinagirl64

I bought this not even a year ago. It worked great at first then it stopped charging. I moved it to another outlet to see if that help. Red light came on then went off within minutes. Looks like Ill be buying a different brand...DON'T BUY!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from DirtDevil - 10/17/2014

Hi Carolinagirl64,<br />We are sorry to hear about your troubles with your hand vac. Please remember to charge it 24 hours to get a full charge. If it still shuts down after only a few seconds, please email Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com so we can provide further assistance. Thanks! --John, Dirt Devil Customer Care

carolinagirl64
cocoa fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
easy to use
10/26/2013

Customer review by thriftyrider

5.0 stars 10/26/2013 by thriftyrider
by thriftyrider

easy/light/handy to have around

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thriftyrider
los angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
12/10/2013

Customer review by Mntneers

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by Mntneers
by Mntneers

The Dirt Devil 9.6V Gator Hand Vac is a great product. It picks up everything, and the extender on it is wonderful for reaching in small places. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking to buy it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mntneers
Cyclone, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/2/2013

Customer review by borntobewarm

3.0 stars 2/2/2013 by borntobewarm
by borntobewarm

this is a great little vac. but as stated in previous reviews stated you can't find a filter for them anywhere. So now its useless sitting the bottom of my storage closet. i used to use it 3 to 4 times a week but now i can't.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
borntobewarm
LaFayette, ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
very poor
9/1/2014

Customer review by fuzzybell

1.0 stars 9/1/2014 by fuzzybell
by fuzzybell

piece of garbage. after being on charge for 6 days, it runs down after about 45 seconds. recharge it and the same result. it has been used about 8 times in 18 months. would definitely not purchase another dirt devil.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from DirtDevil - 9/3/2014

Hi fuzzybell, <br />Your Gator should last longer then that. Please email Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com so we can better assist you. Thanks! --John, Dirt Devil Customer Care

fuzzybell
Would recommend to a friend? No
Product battery does not keep charge
8/26/2014

Customer review by Zukkie

1.0 stars 8/26/2014 by Zukkie
by Zukkie

I bought this vacuum last Christmas to use to clean a small bathroom floor, after having the vacuum plugged in to charge for days here is no battery power. Very disappointed.,

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from DirtDevil - 8/28/2014

Hi Zukkie,<br />We want to help. First, verify that your socket is working by plugging another appliance in there. If that's not an issue, please email Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com so we can get some more info. Thanks! --John, Dirt Devil Customer Care

Zukkie
Effie, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 163 total reviews
1-20 of 163 reviews