Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 231 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

231 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

231 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
95
4 stars
48
3 stars
26
2 stars
17
1 stars
45
1-20 of 230 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 230 total reviews
1-20 of 230 reviews
Gator with defective power supply
6/8/2016

Customer review by jcmx5

1.0 stars 6/8/2016 by jcmx5
by jcmx5

First I would like to say that I had a Black & Decker dustbuster for 20 + years & was very pleased. It was not cost effective to buy new rechargeable batteries so I bought the Gator. Worked well for about a month and then had very poor power. I am a retired Electrician and I tested the power supply and it was not putting out enough to charge the batteries. I have only had it for a few months and after reading the warranty you need to have kept the receipt to get warranty results. Also the warranty says to mail complete unit to acquire warranty service. That also would not be cost effective as the unit costs $40. My dumb for trusting this hand vac; guess I threw away $40 + tax. Thanks alot dirt devil; serves me right should have stuck to the dustbuster Black & Decker products.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 6/10/2016

Hi jcmx5! Oh no, that doesn't sound too good. Your Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld vacuum should last longer than this. We want to help. On a full 24 hour charge the unit should run between 8-10 minutes. If you're not receiving this run time sometimes it's necessary to reset the charger. Please give this a try:1. Unplug the charger for 1-2 minutes. 2. Run the unit down until it completely dies. 3. Charge for a complete 24 hours. Once completed the unit should run for the allotted time. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We’re here for you! -Karissa, Dirt Devil Customer Care

jcmx5
Would recommend to a friend? No
poor battery and suction
3/25/2016

Customer review by Anna

1.0 stars 3/25/2016 by Anna
by Anna

I wish I read the reviews before I bought this product. We needed something that we can pull out and use for our couch or small messes. It has a great feature the 'Crevice Tool' which helped with the hard to reach areas; however, the suction was poor. The battery was poor as well. After charging it it lasted for maybe 10-15 minutes. Then it had to be put back on the charger. I started noticing that the battery life slowly depreciated over the last few weeks. It was to the point where it stopped working all together. I'm not sure if it's this particular model that has this issue, but it's not worth purchasing in my opinion. Save your money and purchase a better product. Hope this helps someone!!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/12/2016

Hi Anna! Your Gator 9.6V should last longer than this. For optimum suction performance we recommend emptying the dirt cup and cleaning the filter after each use. On a full 24 hour charge the unit should run between 8-10 minutes. Sometimes it's necessary to reset the charger. Please give this a try: 1. Unplug the charger for 1-2 minutes. 2. Run the unit down until it completely dies. <br />3. Charge for a complete 24 hours. Once completed the unit should run for the allotted time. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We’re here for you!

Anna
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works ok- but battery doesn't hold a long charge
9/27/2012

Customer review by Southernbell001

3.0 stars 9/27/2012 by Southernbell001
by Southernbell001

I owned this unit about a year now and I bought it because my corded hand vac gave out after 10 yrs. I guess I expected too much from a cordless vac. Don't get me wrong it works good and has good suction as I primarily use it to keep the cat litter picked up around my cats litter box- but the battery doesn't hold a long charge... I can use it 3-4 times and its only for a few minutes and it then has to be charged? Wow, I thought it would go alot longer than that. It's nice not to have a cord in my way but I don't like having to recharge it so often. For those looking for a new filter as many people seem to be looking for one, you have to go to the Dirt Devil web site and buy one for $4.27 but of course as of this date-- they are out of stock. So next I recommend to Google it and see if anyone else sells the filter. My final thoughts are I just wish they would make a better battery!

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Southernbell001
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
disappointed
7/15/2016

Customer review by DCSsouthcarolina

2.0 stars 7/15/2016 by DCSsouthcarolina
by DCSsouthcarolina

When I first purchased the Dirt Devil Gator, it worked great. but, just like everyone else the battery. it had great suction, lightweight, everything was fine. It done everything I wanted it to do, like everyone, the battery SACKED. Honestly. if the batter issue was fixed and made everyone else who had one whole. you would sale a lot more. So I went and traded it for the Dirt Devil FLIPOUT. All because you put a bigger battery in it doesn't make it any better because IT DIDN'T!!!! THE SM A L L PE U CENTER YOU PUT ON DOESN'T stay on. take it our and the entry in the front isn't big enough. So 16v is just not worth it. that older ones was a lot better and we had it for 20 years. I suppose I'll have to be buying me a Brussels or Shark. All that money I spent is lost. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED IN DIRT DEVIL.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/26/2016

Hi DCSsouthcarolina! We don’t want you to feel disappointed in your Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum. We want to help. On a full 24 hour charge the unit should run between 8-10 minutes. Sometimes it's necessary to reset the charger if you're not receiving this run time. Please give the following steps a try: 1.) Unplug the charger from the wall for 2 minutes. 2.) Run the unit down until it completely dies. 3.) Charge for a complete 24 hours. Once completed the unit should run for the allotted time. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 M-F from 8a-6p EST. We’re here for you! –Karissa, Dirt Devil Customer Care

DCSsouthcarolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not happy at all
3/29/2016

Customer review by Trollibear

1.0 stars 3/29/2016 by Trollibear
by Trollibear

My husband got this for me and it only worked ONE time. It hasn't charged since. I hate to tell him that's it's a piece of junk because I do not want to hurt his feelings. I have seen nothing but bad reviews about this product. If given the choice I would not have bought it. It was a waste of money. I have been doing without a small vacuum for over 6 months now because I do not have the heart to tell my husband that he got me junk. I secretly sweep with a broom when he isn't around. When he asks how I like, I bite my tongue, smile and lie to him. Very very very disappointed and will NEVER buy another dirt devil product.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/19/2016

Hi Trollibear! We don't want you to feel disappointed in your Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum. We want to help. Feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST) for further assistance in this matter. -Karissa, Dirt Devil Customer Care

Trollibear
Would recommend to a friend? No
Dirt Devil...Gator 9.6V
2/12/2016

Customer review by NMBKAT

1.0 stars 2/12/2016 by NMBKAT
by NMBKAT

I haven't had my vacuum but about 2 months and it will not work. The battery will not hold a charge. In fact, it won't even charge. I tried all the things you posted to help other people having the same problem and it didn't help mine at all. It still will not work....Maybe it's not the battery? I'm very disappointed as I am a widow and spent money I did not have so I could vacuum up my cat litter. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/18/2016

Hi NMBKAT! We don't want you to be disappointed in your Gator 9.6V Cordless Hand Vac. On a complete 24 hour charge you should have a run time between 8-10 minutes. Please give this reset procedure a try: 1. Unplug the charger for 1-2 minutes. 2. Run the unit down until it dies. 3. Charge for a complete 24 hours. The unit should then run between 8-10 minutes after the reset. If you have any further questions please give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We want to help! -Karissa, Dirt Devil Customer Care

NMBKAT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Will not hold it's charge
4/12/2016

Customer review by butterfliqueen

1.0 stars 4/12/2016 by butterfliqueen
by butterfliqueen

We purchased this item a year and a half ago. Within the first couple of months it stopped holding it's charge. We have contacted customer service twice, but they stopped answering my emails. It's just a paper weight now. Just read all the reviews about this product before purchase, there is obviously a bug with this device as multiple people can't get it to hold a charge.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/19/2016

Hi butterfliqueen! Your Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum should last longer than this. We want to help. On a full 24 hour charge the unit should run between 8-10 minutes. Sometimes it’s necessary to reset the charger if you’re not receiving this run time. Please give this a try:<br />1. Unplug the charger for 1-2 minutes. 2. Run the unit down until it completely dies. 3. Charge for a complete 24 hours. Once completed the unit should run for the allotted time. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We’re here for you! -Karissa, Dirt Devil Customer Care

butterfliqueen
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bad battery
8/16/2016

Customer review by Goatgrl

2.0 stars 8/16/2016 by Goatgrl
by Goatgrl

Bought same model last summer for 2nd home so only used once or twice last summer. This spring, dead battery, won't charge. Did receive replacement vac. Seems OK. Time will tell. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Goatgrl
Good Vacuum, but not easy to find filter.
8/18/2011

Customer review by loujaz

2.0 stars 8/18/2011 by loujaz
by loujaz

I bought this vac a few weeks ago. It did a good job up untill I needed to replace the filter. I went to two different wal-marts to find the filter. Did not find. Went on walmart.com, did not find. Went to dirt devil.com, found it, but it was out of stock. If you are going to sell a vacuum in your store you should sell the filters that go with it. And make them readily avaliable. Because this vacuum is pretty worthless just setting in my cabinet.

Was this review helpful? (78) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loujaz
Waco, TX.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Service
8/2/2016

Customer review by Nicki

5.0 stars 8/2/2016 by Nicki
by Nicki

My wife loves this product. First one quite working after 6 months. Replacement came quickly and works like a dream. Thanks for excellent service.

Nicki
Alto, NM, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Weak battery and stops recharging
7/30/2016

Customer review by DrACS

1.0 stars 7/30/2016 by DrACS
by DrACS

Our dirt devil is used to clean up the kitchen. We've used it only a very few times. And now the so-called rechargeable batteries will not recharge. Or they recharge for at most a minute and with weak power output. Don't buy it!

DrACS
Montreal, QC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Battery Died
6/30/2011

Customer review by DelawareKat

1.0 stars 6/30/2011 by DelawareKat
by DelawareKat

I had this dustbuster for three days and it will no longer hold any charge at all! Do not buy this.

Was this review helpful? (52) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DelawareKat
Would recommend to a friend? No
Junk! Won't suck and filter stays filthy.
3/19/2013

Customer review by Zbison

1.0 stars 3/19/2013 by Zbison
by Zbison

I was looking for a nice hand vac that would suck up what I sweep off the floor. Fine if it's dust, but if there's a small rock bigger than 1/4 inch, forget it. You'll have to bend down and pick those pieces up. I've never run the battery out, so it must stay charged well. However, I was disappointed it didn't come with any kind of wall-mount charger like my old hand vac. Finally, the side buttons that open the dust cup are convenient. Now if only the filter would allow the dirt/hair/dust to fall out. You have to reach your finger up in the cup to clean it out. Any hair that gets vacuumed up, stays in there and holds everything in there with it. Totally worthless. I wish I had returned it the first week, but I don't have the receipt/box anymore and I'm too cheap to just throw it away. I hope I accidentally leave it out, so my kids break it and I can buy a new one.

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zbison
Courtland, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Little Machine
12/29/2010

Customer review by SunnytheCat

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by SunnytheCat
by SunnytheCat

This vac works great. I used the pullout crevice tool to clean my steps and all around the baseboards in my house. I was amazed at how much fur(two cats) and dirt it picked up. It works as well as a normal sized vac. I bought it since my full size vac came without tools. Well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (39) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SunnytheCat
Pearland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great dirt/dust getter
7/27/2016

Customer review by Trico JoJo

5.0 stars 7/27/2016 by Trico JoJo
by Trico JoJo

Since I received the great DIRT DEVIL my carpet and other throw items are all smiling [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Trico JoJo
Folsom, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Red devil dirt buster
7/27/2016

Customer review by Maur

4.0 stars 7/27/2016 by Maur
by Maur

I love it to clean out crumbs from a drawer and for quick spills [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Maur
Tannersville, new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good performance!
7/23/2016

Customer review by Rsnel1

4.0 stars 7/23/2016 by Rsnel1
by Rsnel1

Got the vac for quick pic ups, works great! Convenience

Rsnel1
SC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/14/2012

Customer review by Mamacusa

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by Mamacusa
by Mamacusa

Nice product, and powerful for hand-held device. Would recommend for light cleaning: I use it for cleaning cat hair off the furniture.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mamacusa
Shaker Heights, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
More cadmium in our drinking water
7/9/2016

Customer review by Hoover

1.0 stars 7/9/2016 by Hoover
by Hoover

Not only are they still using NiCd batteries, but the make it impossible for normal people to recycle the batteries. So, people toss them in the trash not realizing the implication of their action. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Hoover
Upstate ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible product
7/11/2016

Customer review by michelle1971

1.0 stars 7/11/2016 by michelle1971
by michelle1971

I have had mine less than a year and it just stopped working. Terrible product

michelle1971
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 230 total reviews
1-20 of 230 reviews