Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 214 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

214 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

214 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

56%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
71
4 stars
38
3 stars
23
2 stars
19
1 stars
63
1-20 of 213 total reviews
56%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 213 total reviews
1-20 of 213 reviews
Works ok- but battery doesn't hold a long charge
9/27/2012

Customer review by Southernbell001

3.0 stars 9/27/2012 by Southernbell001
by Southernbell001

I owned this unit about a year now and I bought it because my corded hand vac gave out after 10 yrs. I guess I expected too much from a cordless vac. Don't get me wrong it works good and has good suction as I primarily use it to keep the cat litter picked up around my cats litter box- but the battery doesn't hold a long charge... I can use it 3-4 times and its only for a few minutes and it then has to be charged? Wow, I thought it would go alot longer than that. It's nice not to have a cord in my way but I don't like having to recharge it so often. For those looking for a new filter as many people seem to be looking for one, you have to go to the Dirt Devil web site and buy one for $4.27 but of course as of this date-- they are out of stock. So next I recommend to Google it and see if anyone else sells the filter. My final thoughts are I just wish they would make a better battery!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Southernbell001
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does not last long!
1/25/2016

Customer review by unhappy purchaser

1.0 stars 1/25/2016 by unhappy purchaser
by unhappy purchaser

This particular model of Dirt Devil 9.6v seems to have a flaw. The battery stops working and won't take a charge by 6 -7 months...even with very little usage. If I turned it on more then 3 times a week, to clean a small bathroom floor, that was a lot. This is my fourth one since 2014.

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/26/2016

Hi there! This seems quite strange and we have a pretty clear idea why your Gator may not be operating at peak performance. It sounds like the battery needs to go through a resetting procedure. It's fairly simple to complete and we suggest following the steps below: 1. First, unplug the charger from the outlet and leave it unplugged for 1-2 minutes. 2. Next, power on the hand vac and allow the battery to run down completely. 3. Finally, re-charge the Gator for 24 hours in full. After completing these steps, your run time should be restored to 8-10 minutes of run time. We can always be reached at 1-800-321-1134 (Monday-Friday 8:00-6:00 p.m. EST), if you have any more concerns or questions. That should do it!

unhappy purchaser
Westbury, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great small vacum
1/27/2016

Customer review by bettyboo

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by bettyboo
by bettyboo

The vacuum has such a good suction for it's size.It is a replacement for a previous model which was obviously defective.

bettyboo
Lafayette, LA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
1/25/2016

Customer review by Nena

5.0 stars 1/25/2016 by Nena
by Nena

Received this as a replacement for a defective model. It is small but has powerful suction and is excellent for small areas in my home. Like the color too!

Nena
Rancho Mirage, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wont hold charge
1/24/2016

Customer review by mary lee

2.0 stars 1/24/2016 by mary lee
by mary lee

look online first for reviews - will not hold a charge

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/26/2016

Hi mary lee! We have a few suggestions so that you can get your Gator in to tip-top shape! Over time, the battery's function will decrease and it's highly beneficial for the unit to go through a battery reset procedure. We've put together step-by-step instructions and would like for you to give them a shot. Please complete the steps below: 1. Unplug the charger from the wall. It must be unplugged for at least 1 minute. 2. Run the unit until it completely shuts down. 3. Place the unit back on the charger and charge it for a complete 24 hours. On your next use, your run time should be restored to 8-10 minutes. Please don't hesitate to let us know if you still need us. We're available via Facebook, Twitter @ Dirt Devil, or can be reached at 1-800-321-1134 (Monday-Friday 8:00-6:00 p.m. EST.) Thank you!

mary lee
ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
I'm amazed!
1/19/2016

Customer review by Jyll

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Jyll
by Jyll

We received this Dirt Devil as a replacement for a defective previous model, and I can't believe how fantastic it is! I expected decent pickup for a hand vac, but instead I've found that this Dirt Devil is a monster in a pint size - LOVE IT!!

Jyll
Pennsylvania, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does a good job
1/18/2016

Customer review by C65ds

3.0 stars 1/18/2016 by C65ds
by C65ds

This does a good job but the battery doesn't last very long. I have to completely sweep the floor in our popular camper before using the vacuum. Not a big deal, but for the small 2x4 space the battery goes dead before the job is done.

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/19/2016

Hi C65ds! Your Gator should be running for at least 8-10 minutes on a full charge. We want to help get everything back into tip-top shape! Over time, the battery's function will gradually decrease and may need to go through a battery/reset procedure. We've put together step-by-step instructions to help restore the run time to your hand vac. Please complete these instructions below: 1. Unplug your charger from the outlet and leave it unplugged for at least 1-2 minutes. 2. Then, power on your Gator and allow it to run until the battery drains. 3. Lastly, place the unit on to the charger and let it charge for 24 hours in full. On your next use, you should be back in business. If you still need anything more, please don't hesitate to reach out to us at 1-800-321-1134 (Monday-Friday 8:00-6:00 p.m. EST), leave us a comment on Facebook, or tweet us @DirtDevil. Thank you!

C65ds
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great product
1/19/2016

Customer review by no nickname

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by no nickname
by no nickname

thanks for the replacement THIS product is wonderful

no nickname
fort worth texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrible battery
1/17/2016

Customer review by Tucker99

1.0 stars 1/17/2016 by Tucker99
by Tucker99

Battery life is terrible and cannot be replace. Would not recommend

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/20/2016

Hi Tucker99! In no way, do we wish for you to be disappointed with your Gator and there is no reason you should have to endure these issues. We want to help! With continued usage, the battery's power will decrease. Sometimes all it takes is a simple battery reset procedure to help restore the run time. Please give these steps below a try: 1. First, unplug your charger from the outlet for at least 1-2 minutes. 2. Next, power on the Gator and let the unit run until the battery drains. 3. Lastly, re-charge the unit for a full 24 hours. On your next use, the run time should be any where from 8-10 minutes. If you still need any more assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us at 1-800-321-1134 (Monday-Friday 8:00-6:00 p.m. EST.) We're here for you!

Tucker99
Would recommend to a friend? No
was good until battery went flat
1/12/2016

Customer review by bikinchris

1.0 stars 1/12/2016 by bikinchris
by bikinchris

My Gator 9.6v does not hold a charge. It worked pretty well for about 7 months. Now it will run for a few seconds, then needs to be plugged in. My previous hand vac lasted about 15 years before it wouldn't't hold a charge.

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/13/2016

Hi bikinchris! On a full charge, your Gator should run for at least 8-10 minutes. We definitely understand this is frustrating, but the great thing is, it can be easily remedied. We've created a helpful battery/reset procedure to improve short run time. Please give these steps below a try: 1. First, unplug the vacuum from the outlet. Be sure to leave it unplugged for 1-2 minutes. 2. Next, turn on the vacuum and allow it to run until the battery drains. 3. Finally, re-charge the hand vac for a complete 24 hours. On your next use, the run time should improve to 8-10 minutes. If you still have further questions, please don't hesitate to let us know. Thanks!

bikinchris
Louisiana, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Vacuum, but not easy to find filter.
8/18/2011

Customer review by loujaz

2.0 stars 8/18/2011 by loujaz
by loujaz

I bought this vac a few weeks ago. It did a good job up untill I needed to replace the filter. I went to two different wal-marts to find the filter. Did not find. Went on walmart.com, did not find. Went to dirt devil.com, found it, but it was out of stock. If you are going to sell a vacuum in your store you should sell the filters that go with it. And make them readily avaliable. Because this vacuum is pretty worthless just setting in my cabinet.

Was this review helpful? (74) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loujaz
Waco, TX.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Won't hold a charge
1/3/2016

Customer review by sunshine61

1.0 stars 1/3/2016 by sunshine61
by sunshine61

I have had three of these and they work great for a while and then they will not hold a charge and are worthless. I took the first one back to the store and got another one and this last time the company sent me another one. All three, same problem, will not hold a charge.

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/5/2016

Hi sunshine61! We completely understand how frustrating must be, but this is quite an easy fix! With continued use, the run time will decrease and it may be beneficial for the Gator to go through a battery reset procedure. Please give these steps below a try: 1. Unplug the charger from the wall. It must be unplugged for at least 1 minute. 2. Run the unit until it completely shuts down. 3. Place the unit back on the charger and charge it for a complete 24 hours. If this doesn't do the trick, please call us at 1-800-321-1134, leave us a comment on Facebook, or tweet us @Dirt Devil. Thanks!

sunshine61
wilson, nc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Little Machine
12/29/2010

Customer review by SunnytheCat

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by SunnytheCat
by SunnytheCat

This vac works great. I used the pullout crevice tool to clean my steps and all around the baseboards in my house. I was amazed at how much fur(two cats) and dirt it picked up. It works as well as a normal sized vac. I bought it since my full size vac came without tools. Well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (39) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SunnytheCat
Pearland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Battery Died
6/30/2011

Customer review by DelawareKat

1.0 stars 6/30/2011 by DelawareKat
by DelawareKat

I had this dustbuster for three days and it will no longer hold any charge at all! Do not buy this.

Was this review helpful? (49) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DelawareKat
Would recommend to a friend? No
Junk! Won't suck and filter stays filthy.
3/19/2013

Customer review by Zbison

1.0 stars 3/19/2013 by Zbison
by Zbison

I was looking for a nice hand vac that would suck up what I sweep off the floor. Fine if it's dust, but if there's a small rock bigger than 1/4 inch, forget it. You'll have to bend down and pick those pieces up. I've never run the battery out, so it must stay charged well. However, I was disappointed it didn't come with any kind of wall-mount charger like my old hand vac. Finally, the side buttons that open the dust cup are convenient. Now if only the filter would allow the dirt/hair/dust to fall out. You have to reach your finger up in the cup to clean it out. Any hair that gets vacuumed up, stays in there and holds everything in there with it. Totally worthless. I wish I had returned it the first week, but I don't have the receipt/box anymore and I'm too cheap to just throw it away. I hope I accidentally leave it out, so my kids break it and I can buy a new one.

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zbison
Courtland, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Malfunction
1/1/2016

Customer review by Lupe

1.0 stars 1/1/2016 by Lupe
by Lupe

The red LED light does not come on, and it does not charge. My guess is the cheap charger that it comes with.

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/3/2016

Hi Lupe! Hmm this seems strange and we're sorry for your troubles. We want to help! You'll be receiving a private email shortly, we need a bit more information. Thank you!

Lupe
Inglewood, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does the job!
12/27/2015

Customer review by Like it clean

5.0 stars 12/27/2015 by Like it clean
by Like it clean

This is a replacement. Really appreciate Dirt Devil standing behind their products. This model is sooo much better at holding the charge and sucking up the crumbs and kitty litter.

Like it clean
Burgess South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bad!
12/29/2015

Customer review by Cd400

1.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Cd400
by Cd400

I bought it last week and the power lasts only 5 or 6 minutes then fades rapidly.

Comment from Joscelyn - 12/29/2015

Hi Cd400! Surely, your Gator should be holding up to its name and perform at the best of its ability. On a full charge, you should be receiving an average run time of 8-10 minutes. We've implemented this battery/reset procedure below to help alleviate the issues you're experiencing. Give it a shot! 1. First, unplug the charger and leave it unplugged for 1-2 minutes. 2. Next, power on the hand vac and let it run until the battery drains. 3. Finally, re-charge the Gator for a complete 24 hours. On your next use, the runtime should improve and run for 8-10 minutes. If you still need any more assistance, please don't hesitate to reach out to us on Facebook, tweet us @Dirt Devil, or call us at 1-800-321-1134 (Monday-Friday 8:00-6:00 p.m. EST.) We're here for you!

Cd400
Douglas, Arizona, Estados Unidos
Would recommend to a friend? No
6/14/2012

Customer review by Mamacusa

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by Mamacusa
by Mamacusa

Nice product, and powerful for hand-held device. Would recommend for light cleaning: I use it for cleaning cat hair off the furniture.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mamacusa
Shaker Heights, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Filters easily obtainable online
12/2/2013

Customer review by ShopperChicago

4.0 stars 12/2/2013 by ShopperChicago
by ShopperChicago

Uses F38 Filters - available starting at $2.75 online via 3rd party Those complaining about filters aren't looking very hard.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopperChicago
Chicagp, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 213 total reviews
1-20 of 213 reviews