Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 206 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

206 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

206 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
85
4 stars
44
3 stars
25
2 stars
14
1 stars
38
1-20 of 205 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 205 total reviews
1-20 of 205 reviews
poor battery and suction
3/25/2016

Customer review by Anna

1.0 stars 3/25/2016 by Anna
by Anna

I wish I read the reviews before I bought this product. We needed something that we can pull out and use for our couch or small messes. It has a great feature the 'Crevice Tool' which helped with the hard to reach areas; however, the suction was poor. The battery was poor as well. After charging it it lasted for maybe 10-15 minutes. Then it had to be put back on the charger. I started noticing that the battery life slowly depreciated over the last few weeks. It was to the point where it stopped working all together. I'm not sure if it's this particular model that has this issue, but it's not worth purchasing in my opinion. Save your money and purchase a better product. Hope this helps someone!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/12/2016

Hi Anna! Your Gator 9.6V should last longer than this. For optimum suction performance we recommend emptying the dirt cup and cleaning the filter after each use. On a full 24 hour charge the unit should run between 8-10 minutes. Sometimes it's necessary to reset the charger. Please give this a try: 1. Unplug the charger for 1-2 minutes. 2. Run the unit down until it completely dies. <br />3. Charge for a complete 24 hours. Once completed the unit should run for the allotted time. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We’re here for you!

Anna
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works ok- but battery doesn't hold a long charge
9/27/2012

Customer review by Southernbell001

3.0 stars 9/27/2012 by Southernbell001
by Southernbell001

I owned this unit about a year now and I bought it because my corded hand vac gave out after 10 yrs. I guess I expected too much from a cordless vac. Don't get me wrong it works good and has good suction as I primarily use it to keep the cat litter picked up around my cats litter box- but the battery doesn't hold a long charge... I can use it 3-4 times and its only for a few minutes and it then has to be charged? Wow, I thought it would go alot longer than that. It's nice not to have a cord in my way but I don't like having to recharge it so often. For those looking for a new filter as many people seem to be looking for one, you have to go to the Dirt Devil web site and buy one for $4.27 but of course as of this date-- they are out of stock. So next I recommend to Google it and see if anyone else sells the filter. My final thoughts are I just wish they would make a better battery!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Southernbell001
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dirt Devil...Gator 9.6V
2/12/2016

Customer review by NMBKAT

1.0 stars 2/12/2016 by NMBKAT
by NMBKAT

I haven't had my vacuum but about 2 months and it will not work. The battery will not hold a charge. In fact, it won't even charge. I tried all the things you posted to help other people having the same problem and it didn't help mine at all. It still will not work....Maybe it's not the battery? I'm very disappointed as I am a widow and spent money I did not have so I could vacuum up my cat litter. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/18/2016

Hi NMBKAT! We don't want you to be disappointed in your Gator 9.6V Cordless Hand Vac. On a complete 24 hour charge you should have a run time between 8-10 minutes. Please give this reset procedure a try: 1. Unplug the charger for 1-2 minutes. 2. Run the unit down until it dies. 3. Charge for a complete 24 hours. The unit should then run between 8-10 minutes after the reset. If you have any further questions please give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We want to help! -Karissa, Dirt Devil Customer Care

NMBKAT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not happy at all
3/29/2016

Customer review by Trollibear

1.0 stars 3/29/2016 by Trollibear
by Trollibear

My husband got this for me and it only worked ONE time. It hasn't charged since. I hate to tell him that's it's a piece of junk because I do not want to hurt his feelings. I have seen nothing but bad reviews about this product. If given the choice I would not have bought it. It was a waste of money. I have been doing without a small vacuum for over 6 months now because I do not have the heart to tell my husband that he got me junk. I secretly sweep with a broom when he isn't around. When he asks how I like, I bite my tongue, smile and lie to him. Very very very disappointed and will NEVER buy another dirt devil product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/19/2016

Hi Trollibear! We don't want you to feel disappointed in your Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum. We want to help. Feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST) for further assistance in this matter. -Karissa, Dirt Devil Customer Care

Trollibear
Would recommend to a friend? No
Will not hold it's charge
4/12/2016

Customer review by butterfliqueen

1.0 stars 4/12/2016 by butterfliqueen
by butterfliqueen

We purchased this item a year and a half ago. Within the first couple of months it stopped holding it's charge. We have contacted customer service twice, but they stopped answering my emails. It's just a paper weight now. Just read all the reviews about this product before purchase, there is obviously a bug with this device as multiple people can't get it to hold a charge.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/19/2016

Hi butterfliqueen! Your Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum should last longer than this. We want to help. On a full 24 hour charge the unit should run between 8-10 minutes. Sometimes it’s necessary to reset the charger if you’re not receiving this run time. Please give this a try:<br />1. Unplug the charger for 1-2 minutes. 2. Run the unit down until it completely dies. 3. Charge for a complete 24 hours. Once completed the unit should run for the allotted time. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We’re here for you! -Karissa, Dirt Devil Customer Care

butterfliqueen
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great value, powerful suction, Dirt Devil delivers
5/13/2016

Customer review by Pickm

5.0 stars 5/13/2016 by Pickm
by Pickm

I received a replacement Dirt Devil at no cost to me. Customer service was great. I will continue to buy their products.

Pickm
Florida
Received free product:Yes
Replacement Unit
5/11/2016

Customer review by cutlass

5.0 stars 5/11/2016 by cutlass
by cutlass

Our original unit failed after 1 1/2 yrs and dirt devil replaced it no charge to me. Great company that backs their products.

cutlass
Troy, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Solid Machine
5/6/2016

Customer review by vyasa

3.0 stars 5/6/2016 by vyasa
by vyasa

I like this unit. it does the job. The frustrating part is that there is no way accompanying holder. The previous DD could be hung on a hook. This one cannot.

Comment from Michael - 5/6/2016

145146305 Hi Vyasa! We appreciate the time you took to review your Gator 9.6 Volt! This particular model was not designed with a base, but we do have models that come with this feature. You can check out the Accucharge 15.6V that comes with a base here: http://bit.ly/1ftp86G. Hope this helps!

vyasa
New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
No power
5/22/2016

Customer review by Disappointed

1.0 stars 5/22/2016 by Disappointed
by Disappointed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product had hardly any power to it with a full charge. The suction was extremely poor. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/24/2016

Hi there! Your battery should be lasting longer than that. We want to help. To ensure longevity for your Gator 9.6v we recommend doing a battery reset. To do the reset, please follow these steps: Run the battery down completely. Allow the unit to charge for 24 hours. This should bring life back to the battery. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We&#39;re here for you! –Michael, Dirt Devil Customer Care

Disappointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Vacuum, but not easy to find filter.
8/18/2011

Customer review by loujaz

2.0 stars 8/18/2011 by loujaz
by loujaz

I bought this vac a few weeks ago. It did a good job up untill I needed to replace the filter. I went to two different wal-marts to find the filter. Did not find. Went on walmart.com, did not find. Went to dirt devil.com, found it, but it was out of stock. If you are going to sell a vacuum in your store you should sell the filters that go with it. And make them readily avaliable. Because this vacuum is pretty worthless just setting in my cabinet.

Was this review helpful? (76) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loujaz
Waco, TX.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Junk.
4/25/2016

Customer review by Cigar

1.0 stars 4/25/2016 by Cigar
by Cigar

I bought this to pick up light spills but,I couldn't find it. Come to find out it stopped working so my wife just unplugged it and put in a cabinet. So I decided to see what was going on and found out it would not charge. Haven't used this thing six times. Biggest waisted of money I've seen. Don't buy one. I have one that doesn't work you can have.

Comment from Karissa - 5/2/2016

Hi Cigar! Oh no, that doesn't sound good. We want to help. If the unit is no longer charging then the charger may need to be reset for your machine. Please give this a try: 1. Unplug the charger for 1-2 minutes. 2. Run the unit down until it completely dies. 3. Charge for a complete 24 hours. Once completed the unit should between 8-10 minutes. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We’re here for you!

Cigar
Allen, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great look!
4/29/2016

Customer review by Rubys mom

5.0 stars 4/29/2016 by Rubys mom
by Rubys mom

Dirt Devil Gator is sleek looking, easy on the eye and the hand!!! Fits perfectly in your hand. What suction!!!!! I love it!!!!

Rubys mom
Staten Island, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Replacement for the 7.2
3/19/2016

Customer review by Blynn

5.0 stars 3/19/2016 by Blynn
by Blynn

I initially purchased the 7.2 hand vac, but like so many people who are writing into this forum, the battery pack eventually failed to recharge properly, and then, not at all. I opted to contact Dirt Devil customer service. They responded by offering to replace it and about 10 days later, I received the Gator 9.6. Kudos to Dirt Devil for standing behind their products. That means a lot to consumers in a time when the corporate bottom line usually trumps customer satisfaction. And the 9.6, so far at least, appears to be a superior product. It's more powerful and yet less noisy, and is holding the charge extremely well. I'm very happy with it, and very happy to have a hand vac in the house again for all those quick clean-ups. I use it everywhere - floors, rugs, and furniture.

Blynn
Victoria, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Junk! Won't suck and filter stays filthy.
3/19/2013

Customer review by Zbison

1.0 stars 3/19/2013 by Zbison
by Zbison

I was looking for a nice hand vac that would suck up what I sweep off the floor. Fine if it's dust, but if there's a small rock bigger than 1/4 inch, forget it. You'll have to bend down and pick those pieces up. I've never run the battery out, so it must stay charged well. However, I was disappointed it didn't come with any kind of wall-mount charger like my old hand vac. Finally, the side buttons that open the dust cup are convenient. Now if only the filter would allow the dirt/hair/dust to fall out. You have to reach your finger up in the cup to clean it out. Any hair that gets vacuumed up, stays in there and holds everything in there with it. Totally worthless. I wish I had returned it the first week, but I don't have the receipt/box anymore and I'm too cheap to just throw it away. I hope I accidentally leave it out, so my kids break it and I can buy a new one.

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zbison
Courtland, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
My Dirt Devil is a handy helper for small clean up jobs.
4/27/2016

Customer review by Aunt B

4.0 stars 4/27/2016 by Aunt B
by Aunt B

I love my Dirt Devil, it is convenient to use and it has excellent pick up ability.

Aunt B
Lebanon, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Little Machine
12/29/2010

Customer review by SunnytheCat

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by SunnytheCat
by SunnytheCat

This vac works great. I used the pullout crevice tool to clean my steps and all around the baseboards in my house. I was amazed at how much fur(two cats) and dirt it picked up. It works as well as a normal sized vac. I bought it since my full size vac came without tools. Well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (39) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SunnytheCat
Pearland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Battery Died
6/30/2011

Customer review by DelawareKat

1.0 stars 6/30/2011 by DelawareKat
by DelawareKat

I had this dustbuster for three days and it will no longer hold any charge at all! Do not buy this.

Was this review helpful? (49) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DelawareKat
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't Expect to have enough suction to lift a bowling ball
4/21/2016

Customer review by Dutch

4.0 stars 4/21/2016 by Dutch
by Dutch

The suction is sufficient to pickup light weight debris. This was the exact purpose of my purchase. Emptying is easy, but I wish that the dust bag could be freed of debris with a little less effort. I am happy with the buy and now I hope that vacuum works for a long time.

Dutch
Virginia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to handle
4/22/2016

Customer review by Cutbait

5.0 stars 4/22/2016 by Cutbait
by Cutbait

Replacement for the first one I bought. What a difference.

Cutbait
Pennsylvania, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quick clean ups!!!
4/19/2016

Customer review by FedEx6290

5.0 stars 4/19/2016 by FedEx6290
by FedEx6290

Perfect for a household with children and pets. It makes cleaning up dry spilled cereal, small candies, and cat food a breeze. The hand vac is easy to clean after use. The children even offer to do some housework with it!

FedEx6290
KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 205 total reviews
1-20 of 205 reviews