Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 225 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

225 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

225 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
93
4 stars
46
3 stars
26
2 stars
16
1 stars
44
1-20 of 224 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 224 total reviews
1-20 of 224 reviews
poor battery and suction
3/25/2016

Customer review by Anna

1.0 stars 3/25/2016 by Anna
by Anna

I wish I read the reviews before I bought this product. We needed something that we can pull out and use for our couch or small messes. It has a great feature the 'Crevice Tool' which helped with the hard to reach areas; however, the suction was poor. The battery was poor as well. After charging it it lasted for maybe 10-15 minutes. Then it had to be put back on the charger. I started noticing that the battery life slowly depreciated over the last few weeks. It was to the point where it stopped working all together. I'm not sure if it's this particular model that has this issue, but it's not worth purchasing in my opinion. Save your money and purchase a better product. Hope this helps someone!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/12/2016

Hi Anna! Your Gator 9.6V should last longer than this. For optimum suction performance we recommend emptying the dirt cup and cleaning the filter after each use. On a full 24 hour charge the unit should run between 8-10 minutes. Sometimes it's necessary to reset the charger. Please give this a try: 1. Unplug the charger for 1-2 minutes. 2. Run the unit down until it completely dies. <br />3. Charge for a complete 24 hours. Once completed the unit should run for the allotted time. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We’re here for you!

Anna
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works ok- but battery doesn't hold a long charge
9/27/2012

Customer review by Southernbell001

3.0 stars 9/27/2012 by Southernbell001
by Southernbell001

I owned this unit about a year now and I bought it because my corded hand vac gave out after 10 yrs. I guess I expected too much from a cordless vac. Don't get me wrong it works good and has good suction as I primarily use it to keep the cat litter picked up around my cats litter box- but the battery doesn't hold a long charge... I can use it 3-4 times and its only for a few minutes and it then has to be charged? Wow, I thought it would go alot longer than that. It's nice not to have a cord in my way but I don't like having to recharge it so often. For those looking for a new filter as many people seem to be looking for one, you have to go to the Dirt Devil web site and buy one for $4.27 but of course as of this date-- they are out of stock. So next I recommend to Google it and see if anyone else sells the filter. My final thoughts are I just wish they would make a better battery!

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Southernbell001
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not happy at all
3/29/2016

Customer review by Trollibear

1.0 stars 3/29/2016 by Trollibear
by Trollibear

My husband got this for me and it only worked ONE time. It hasn't charged since. I hate to tell him that's it's a piece of junk because I do not want to hurt his feelings. I have seen nothing but bad reviews about this product. If given the choice I would not have bought it. It was a waste of money. I have been doing without a small vacuum for over 6 months now because I do not have the heart to tell my husband that he got me junk. I secretly sweep with a broom when he isn't around. When he asks how I like, I bite my tongue, smile and lie to him. Very very very disappointed and will NEVER buy another dirt devil product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/19/2016

Hi Trollibear! We don't want you to feel disappointed in your Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum. We want to help. Feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST) for further assistance in this matter. -Karissa, Dirt Devil Customer Care

Trollibear
Would recommend to a friend? No
disappointed
7/15/2016

Customer review by DCSsouthcarolina

2.0 stars 7/15/2016 by DCSsouthcarolina
by DCSsouthcarolina

When I first purchased the Dirt Devil Gator, it worked great. but, just like everyone else the battery. it had great suction, lightweight, everything was fine. It done everything I wanted it to do, like everyone, the battery SACKED. Honestly. if the batter issue was fixed and made everyone else who had one whole. you would sale a lot more. So I went and traded it for the Dirt Devil FLIPOUT. All because you put a bigger battery in it doesn't make it any better because IT DIDN'T!!!! THE SM A L L PE U CENTER YOU PUT ON DOESN'T stay on. take it our and the entry in the front isn't big enough. So 16v is just not worth it. that older ones was a lot better and we had it for 20 years. I suppose I'll have to be buying me a Brussels or Shark. All that money I spent is lost. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED IN DIRT DEVIL.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/26/2016

Hi DCSsouthcarolina! We don’t want you to feel disappointed in your Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum. We want to help. On a full 24 hour charge the unit should run between 8-10 minutes. Sometimes it's necessary to reset the charger if you're not receiving this run time. Please give the following steps a try: 1.) Unplug the charger from the wall for 2 minutes. 2.) Run the unit down until it completely dies. 3.) Charge for a complete 24 hours. Once completed the unit should run for the allotted time. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 M-F from 8a-6p EST. We’re here for you! –Karissa, Dirt Devil Customer Care

DCSsouthcarolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gator with defective power supply
6/8/2016

Customer review by jcmx5

1.0 stars 6/8/2016 by jcmx5
by jcmx5

First I would like to say that I had a Black & Decker dustbuster for 20 + years & was very pleased. It was not cost effective to buy new rechargeable batteries so I bought the Gator. Worked well for about a month and then had very poor power. I am a retired Electrician and I tested the power supply and it was not putting out enough to charge the batteries. I have only had it for a few months and after reading the warranty you need to have kept the receipt to get warranty results. Also the warranty says to mail complete unit to acquire warranty service. That also would not be cost effective as the unit costs $40. My dumb for trusting this hand vac; guess I threw away $40 + tax. Thanks alot dirt devil; serves me right should have stuck to the dustbuster Black & Decker products.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 6/10/2016

Hi jcmx5! Oh no, that doesn't sound too good. Your Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld vacuum should last longer than this. We want to help. On a full 24 hour charge the unit should run between 8-10 minutes. If you're not receiving this run time sometimes it's necessary to reset the charger. Please give this a try:1. Unplug the charger for 1-2 minutes. 2. Run the unit down until it completely dies. 3. Charge for a complete 24 hours. Once completed the unit should run for the allotted time. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We’re here for you! -Karissa, Dirt Devil Customer Care

jcmx5
Would recommend to a friend? No
Dirt Devil...Gator 9.6V
2/12/2016

Customer review by NMBKAT

1.0 stars 2/12/2016 by NMBKAT
by NMBKAT

I haven't had my vacuum but about 2 months and it will not work. The battery will not hold a charge. In fact, it won't even charge. I tried all the things you posted to help other people having the same problem and it didn't help mine at all. It still will not work....Maybe it's not the battery? I'm very disappointed as I am a widow and spent money I did not have so I could vacuum up my cat litter. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/18/2016

Hi NMBKAT! We don't want you to be disappointed in your Gator 9.6V Cordless Hand Vac. On a complete 24 hour charge you should have a run time between 8-10 minutes. Please give this reset procedure a try: 1. Unplug the charger for 1-2 minutes. 2. Run the unit down until it dies. 3. Charge for a complete 24 hours. The unit should then run between 8-10 minutes after the reset. If you have any further questions please give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We want to help! -Karissa, Dirt Devil Customer Care

NMBKAT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Will not hold it's charge
4/12/2016

Customer review by butterfliqueen

1.0 stars 4/12/2016 by butterfliqueen
by butterfliqueen

We purchased this item a year and a half ago. Within the first couple of months it stopped holding it's charge. We have contacted customer service twice, but they stopped answering my emails. It's just a paper weight now. Just read all the reviews about this product before purchase, there is obviously a bug with this device as multiple people can't get it to hold a charge.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/19/2016

Hi butterfliqueen! Your Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum should last longer than this. We want to help. On a full 24 hour charge the unit should run between 8-10 minutes. Sometimes it’s necessary to reset the charger if you’re not receiving this run time. Please give this a try:<br />1. Unplug the charger for 1-2 minutes. 2. Run the unit down until it completely dies. 3. Charge for a complete 24 hours. Once completed the unit should run for the allotted time. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We’re here for you! -Karissa, Dirt Devil Customer Care

butterfliqueen
Would recommend to a friend? No
strong vacuum for great price
7/26/2016

Customer review by TantaKringle

5.0 stars 7/26/2016 by TantaKringle
by TantaKringle
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great price and easy to use. Suction power is just what I needed. Light weight, looks good. Not for heavy duty jobs but great for medium sized jobs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TantaKringle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible product
7/11/2016

Customer review by michelle1971

1.0 stars 7/11/2016 by michelle1971
by michelle1971

I have had mine less than a year and it just stopped working. Terrible product

Comment from Karissa - 7/12/2016

Hi michelle1971! Oh no, your Gator 9.6 Volt Cordless Hand Vac should last longer than this. We want to help. It sounds like the charger may need to be reset. Please unplug the unit from the charger, then unplug the charger from the wall for 2 minutes. Once completed allow the unit to charge for a complete 24 hours. The unit should have a run time between 8-10 minutes. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We're here for you!

michelle1971
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
More cadmium in our drinking water
7/9/2016

Customer review by Hoover

1.0 stars 7/9/2016 by Hoover
by Hoover

Not only are they still using NiCd batteries, but the make it impossible for normal people to recycle the batteries. So, people toss them in the trash not realizing the implication of their action. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Comment from Karissa - 7/12/2016

Hi there! The Nickel Cadmium batteries are recyclable. For proper disposal information of the unit please contact 1-800-8-BATTERY. This information can be found in the owner's manual as well. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We're here for you!

Hoover
Upstate ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Vacuum, but not easy to find filter.
8/18/2011

Customer review by loujaz

2.0 stars 8/18/2011 by loujaz
by loujaz

I bought this vac a few weeks ago. It did a good job up untill I needed to replace the filter. I went to two different wal-marts to find the filter. Did not find. Went on walmart.com, did not find. Went to dirt devil.com, found it, but it was out of stock. If you are going to sell a vacuum in your store you should sell the filters that go with it. And make them readily avaliable. Because this vacuum is pretty worthless just setting in my cabinet.

Was this review helpful? (76) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loujaz
Waco, TX.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Complete piece of junk
7/15/2016

Customer review by LisaD

1.0 stars 7/15/2016 by LisaD
by LisaD

Suction is weak and barely holds a charge. Because of this, I've rarely used mine. Today I discovered it no longer works at all. Have it used it less than ten times since I bought it a year ago. Don't waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/26/2016

Hi LisaD! Oh no, your Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum should last longer than this. We want to help. It sounds like the charger may need to be reset. Please give the following steps a try: 1.) Unplug the charger from the wall for 2 minutes. 2.) Run the unit down until it completely dies. 3.) Charge for a complete 24 hours. Once completed the unit should hold a run time between 8-10 minutes. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 M-F from 8a-6p EST. We’re here for you! –Karissa, Dirt Devil Customer Care

LisaD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Convenient Vac
6/29/2016

Customer review by TonyG

4.0 stars 6/29/2016 by TonyG
by TonyG

Recently received item as a replacement that would not hold the charge. This one appears to be much better. It's nice to know that the company stands behind their product. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

TonyG
Austin, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Junk! Won't suck and filter stays filthy.
3/19/2013

Customer review by Zbison

1.0 stars 3/19/2013 by Zbison
by Zbison

I was looking for a nice hand vac that would suck up what I sweep off the floor. Fine if it's dust, but if there's a small rock bigger than 1/4 inch, forget it. You'll have to bend down and pick those pieces up. I've never run the battery out, so it must stay charged well. However, I was disappointed it didn't come with any kind of wall-mount charger like my old hand vac. Finally, the side buttons that open the dust cup are convenient. Now if only the filter would allow the dirt/hair/dust to fall out. You have to reach your finger up in the cup to clean it out. Any hair that gets vacuumed up, stays in there and holds everything in there with it. Totally worthless. I wish I had returned it the first week, but I don't have the receipt/box anymore and I'm too cheap to just throw it away. I hope I accidentally leave it out, so my kids break it and I can buy a new one.

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zbison
Courtland, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Battery Died
6/30/2011

Customer review by DelawareKat

1.0 stars 6/30/2011 by DelawareKat
by DelawareKat

I had this dustbuster for three days and it will no longer hold any charge at all! Do not buy this.

Was this review helpful? (50) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DelawareKat
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Little Machine
12/29/2010

Customer review by SunnytheCat

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by SunnytheCat
by SunnytheCat

This vac works great. I used the pullout crevice tool to clean my steps and all around the baseboards in my house. I was amazed at how much fur(two cats) and dirt it picked up. It works as well as a normal sized vac. I bought it since my full size vac came without tools. Well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (39) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SunnytheCat
Pearland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
So Surprise
6/13/2016

Customer review by Buck

5.0 stars 6/13/2016 by Buck
by Buck

I had got this Dirt Devil at Christmas and I forgot I had it until my other started not keeping charge. So,when I thought I would buy one I remember I had got this as a gift ......plug it in and then I went to use it 3-4 days later it wasn't working. It won't charge I called the company they told me to try a couple of things but none work. So I was surprise when they agree to send me another at no charge. Thank you Dirt Devil [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Buck
Highland, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Stopped working after a few months
7/5/2016

Customer review by David

1.0 stars 7/5/2016 by David
by David

Our Black and Decker hand vac died after a few months, so I bought this one. The Royal Dirt Devil also died after a few months.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/7/2016

Hi David! If you are experience a low run time, please try this: Unplug the charger from the wall for 10 minutes, and run the unit's battery down completely. Once this has been done, charge the unit for at least 24 hours. This should restore the battery to its full run time. Hope this helps! -Michael, Dirt Devil Customer Care

David
Would recommend to a friend? No
A great company to deal with.
6/16/2016

Customer review by Margarette

5.0 stars 6/16/2016 by Margarette
by Margarette

Works much better than my Dust Buster. Much more power. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Margarette
Goodyear, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
6/14/2012

Customer review by Mamacusa

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by Mamacusa
by Mamacusa

Nice product, and powerful for hand-held device. Would recommend for light cleaning: I use it for cleaning cat hair off the furniture.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mamacusa
Shaker Heights, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 224 total reviews
1-20 of 224 reviews