Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 661 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

661 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

661 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
280
4 stars
181
3 stars
41
2 stars
53
1 stars
106
1-20 of 649 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 649 total reviews
1-20 of 649 reviews
Light Weight And Easy To Use
8/17/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/17/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I literally jumped up and down when I found out that I was going to get to review the Hoover Wind Tunnel!!! Yes I am a weirdo, getting very excited about cleaning, but come on, why wouldn't you!!! With two kids, three rabbits and many rugs in my house, I go through vacuums like normal people go through sliced bread!! I let Hubby put the vacuum together. He's good at those things!!! It took him about 10 minutes to set up, and figure out how to use it. He even read the directions!!! This vacuum is so light weight. Our old vacuum had to be carried with two hands. This one I could lift with one, and not worry about breaking my arm!!! At first it was a little confusing on how to start the brushes at the bottom. Then we realized you needed to tilt the vacuum like you were about to start pushing for the brushes to move. I like that feature a lot. With two very curious boys, I feel safer knowing they can't activate the vacuum without my help!! The vacuum is extremely powerful. The bunnies throw their shaving all over the floor. Normally I have to get out the vacuum wand to pick up the clippings. With the Hoover Wind Tunnel, one swipe was all it took. The wand feature on this vacuum is a little confusing. You have to detach the hose from the bottom of the vacuum to then connect the wand. After we figured out the wand, it was actually not that hard to use, and made the vacuum even lighter. Perfect for if you have cobwebs in the corner or are carrying it up the stairs. If you are looking for a light weight, powerful Vacuum, the Hoover Wind Tunnel is for you!! "I received a sample of this product to facilitate my review, but my opinions are entirely my own."

An anonymous customer
Greenfield, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
We Are In Love With Our WindTunnel Aur
8/1/2012

Customer review by Maria's Space

5.0 stars 8/1/2012 by Maria's Space
by Maria's Space

t's here. My Hoover WindTunnel Air Vacuum cleaner review product is here and I am sooo excited to vacuum tomorrow. What is it about new appliances that make us so happy? We got a vacuum about 6 years ago from my in-laws and it was never a good one. I have so much trouble with it and Teach takes it apart every other month for a deep cleaning and I give it a haircut after every vacuum because my and Goddess have waist long hair and lose quite a bit. My kids both have severe allergies which means we vacuum the house weekly and the kids rooms every other day to keep dust down. They are both allergic to dust, feathers, grass, trees and peanuts so keeping their carpets fairly clean is imperative to their health. Otherwise we go through a ton of tissues, eye drops, nasal drops and allergy medication. We never felt we were getting a deep down clean with our vacuum and after using our new WindTunnel Air from Hoover, it was obvious we were not! My 7 year old and I were way too excited to vacuum and we took turns because she really wanted to use it. Our Favorite Features: The vacuum is extremely light weight, only 12.4 pounds. Which means both kids can help! Chores make mommy happy and give kids a sense of responsibility. A carry handle for moving up and down the stairs. You can really reach under the furniture because the vacuum body can literally recline to the floor so you can get as far under as you can. The filter is rinse able The vacuum easily and without mess dispenses all that collected dust with a simple button release and trap door fallout over the garbage bag rather than my last one which I needed to pull out an entire top and move my head over the filter to remove everything. No more overheating because the brush stops once the vacuum is put into an upright position. Love it! Don't have to worry about the kids vacuuming anymore. The cord is super long. I used to have to plug in continually as I moved throughout the house. I was able to vacuum my entire top floor without having to change out the plug 8 times as I usually do. 30' cord! All vacuums should have this. The 3-in-1 attachment for corners, upholstery, and more makes it easy not to lose pieces or worse have them continually fall off as I move around the house. This is a great little vacuum. It even looks cool. I received a sample of this product to facilitate my review, but my opinions are entirely my own."

Maria's Space
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
strong suction vacuum
11/14/2012

Customer review by Familyoffiveo

3.0 stars 11/14/2012 by Familyoffiveo
by Familyoffiveo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this vacuum after my Dyson stopped working and am very pleased. I didn't want to pay the extra money again for a Dyson vaccum that only lasted three years. The Hoover Air is great quality for the money. The ease of pulling it straight out of the box and basically plugging it in was a huge plus for me. The suction is so strong that I don't feel like I have compromised in buying the Hoover vs. the Dyson. It tilts down so that I can easily vaccum under beds and tables and has attachements that I can use for upholstery, corners, etc. The extension cord is also very long so I am able to vacuum multiple rooms and hallway without unplugging and changing locations. I didn't give it a higher rating because I cannot reach the hose completely up the two sets of stairs that I have, like I could with my last vaccum and the hose connections when changing out the attachments take multiple steps instead of the ease of my last vaccum. Overall I am happy with the Hoover and would recommend this alternative to anyone on a budget.

Was this review helpful? (24) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Familyoffiveo
Charlottesville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
How do I clean stairs?
10/17/2015

Customer review by vangroovy

3.0 stars 10/17/2015 by vangroovy
by vangroovy

My friend told me that I absolutely had to have this the Hoover Windtunnel Air and they were on sale so I bought one that day. I tried it on a patch of carpet and it was awesome. The small brush attachment was great and convenient for getting the edges of the floor trim. But how on earth do you do stairs with this. I'm surprised that there's no stair specific attachment, nor can I find one on the Hoover website to buy. Based on my manual, I'm supposed to use the tiny brush attachment for stairs. Not only will this take far too much time, but the soft brush is a little useless for carpeted stairs. I'll be returning this product but if you don't have carpeted stairs and you have time to vacuum you stairs with a two inch attachment, then it's an awesome vacuum. It also seems a little flimsy compared to older vacuums. I've always had vacuums last for years. As a matter of fact, I didn't really need to replace the 15 year old vacuum that I had. However, this one seems like pieces will fall off of it in no time.

vangroovy
BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Plastic parts all breaking
1/29/2016

Customer review by like to clean

1.0 stars 1/29/2016 by like to clean
by like to clean

I have had my Hoover for about a year and really love the way it cleans. However, not long after I bought it, the plastic clip broke that holds the bottom hose in place for upright cleaning and for using the attachment hose. With a small metal pipe and duct tape, I was able to rig the cleaner so it will still work. However, the plastic clip on the attachment hose has since broken as well as the plastic clip that opens and closes the dirt cup. Now when I empty the dirt cup, I have to hold the bottom closed until I get it over the trash can. If the parts had not all been made out of very breakable plastic, this would be a great product. As it is, it was made very cheaply and not worth the money I paid for it.

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/29/2016

Hi like to clean! This sure does sound frustrating and your WindTunnel Air should stand up to the test of time. We want to help so you'll be receiving a private email for further assistance. Thank you!

like to clean
Rockville, MD, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wow!
2/17/2012

Customer review by CRAWWILK

5.0 stars 2/17/2012 by CRAWWILK
by CRAWWILK

We were happy with our Hoover T Series Windtunnel but decided to try the next generation. The cyclonic power of this vaccum is superb. It is quiet, extremely light weight and the telescopic feature is great. This isn't just a vaccum, it's a multi function cleaning machine. We have a mix of plush and berber carpet, laminate and linoleum flooring. The one touch button to turn off the brush for hard surfaces is easy to use and works great. It doesn't push dust around like nearly every vaccum on a hard surface. The crevice tool is ideal to clean baseboards, fans, cobwebs and easily fits behind furniture by extending the telescopic tool. We are amazed at the amount of small particles this picks up. It even sucked up small styrofoam pieces off carpet and baby powder out of a bathroom shelf. If you are looking for a cost effective equivalent to the Dyson's technology, this is it. My kids even stopped complaining when asked to do their vaccuming chore! That alone made this product worth it. We also have four dogs. They are no match for this vaccum! No fine hair anywhere.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CRAWWILK
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Meh
1/18/2016

Customer review by housewifey

1.0 stars 1/18/2016 by housewifey
by housewifey

I have had this unit for less then a year. I have had issues for about the last six months. The ends of the hoses fall off constantly. I have glued the ends back together several times, but they just keep coming apart. Its so frustrating. I cant get them to stay together. I cant seem to find replacement parts anywhere, All the major retailers in my area don't sell replacement hepa filters for this particular model. Its frustrating that they only carry parts for the newer models of hoovers, while mine is less then a year old. I would expect it to be a little better quality for the price. I'm beginning to think I need to switch to a different brand after owning several Hoovers. I'm really disappointed in this purchase.

Comment from Kenya - 1/20/2016

Hi housewifey! Replacement filters are available through your local Hoover dealers. To locate one near you simply visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. The HEPA filter is also available online from Hoover here: http://bit.ly/1nmNR8M The hoses on your WindTunnel Air should be holding up better than that. We want to help. We are sending you an email to better assist.

housewifey
DeWinton, AB
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lightweight, quiet, great on hard surface flooring
3/6/2011

Customer review by Syd25

5.0 stars 3/6/2011 by Syd25
by Syd25

I just recently purchased this vacuum. The major advantages are 1- it's light, 2 - it's VERY quiet, 3 - it has an adjustable length handle, 4 - the rollerbrush can be turned off, 5 - it has a washable filter, 6 - it has an easy to empty dirt receptacle, 7 - the suction is powerful (at least up until this point), 8 - it has a long cord (30 ft). The attachments are very basic and take some time to assemble so I wouldn't purchase this if you tend to vacuum a lot with the attachments. I also wouldn't purchase this if you have high-pile carpets as the height is not adjustable and it would be very difficult to push on a high-pile carpet. I purchased this vacuum predominantly for hardwood flooring (and a few area carpets) and it's great - the wheels are a soft rubber (ie. they won't damage your floors), it has a rubber bumper, and the roller brush can be turned off. I have never used a Dyson, but after using this vacuum I wouldn't dream of spending an additional 2 to 3 hundred dollars. Compared to the $80 Eureka that I purchased three years ago (also 12 lbs), this vacuum is a dream!

Was this review helpful? (56) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Syd25
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pleasantly surprised!!
1/13/2011

Customer review by CorneyMore

5.0 stars 1/13/2011 by CorneyMore
by CorneyMore

I purchased this vac a few months ago with high expectations. I wanted something quiet, lightweight, powerful on all my floor types, and a vacuum that could lay flat to get under my furniture. This vacuum meets all my expectations! It works wonderfully on carpeting, as well as bare floors (it has a brushroll shutoff that keeps the vacuum from "scattering" the dirt everywhere on bare floors. The vacuum is not bulky at all (like most new bagless vacuums..), so it can easily get around and under furniture. It also has a fab hose and extension hose that lets the vacuum easily clean a full flight of stairs! The combo-tool could be better, and the bin has to be emptied often (don't let it get above the "max" line, or the pre-motor filter will get dirty really fast), but overall this a very fun, lightweight, quiet, versatile vacuum that I would recommend to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (87) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CorneyMore
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Powerful. Lightweight. Great for multi pet households.
1/26/2016

Customer review by FloridaBeachFan

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by FloridaBeachFan
by FloridaBeachFan

Reliable. Powerful. Quality item. Lightweight enough for my elderly mother and powerful enough for me to really clean. Use multiple times a week and works like the day I got it (over 2 years ago). Attachments easy to switch between and also to switch back to upright vacuum. Recommend purchasing additional attachment tools available.

FloridaBeachFan
Fort Myers, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Less Than A Year Old
2/3/2013

Customer review by Cindee

1.0 stars 2/3/2013 by Cindee
by Cindee

I purchased this Hoover by phone after watching an infomercial on the product. When I received it, I liked that fact that it is lightweight as I have MS. It did work well on my hardwood floors, but was difficult to use on carpets. Emptying the dirt may look easy, but you better be wearing old clothes and gloves, and be outside. Now, it stops completely after only five minutes or so. I can smell plastic burning and the motor housing is extremly hot. After letting the motor cool for about 2 hours, it will start again, run another 5 minutes, then overheats, and quits. I gave my other vacuums away to my daughters when I bought this, and now I have nothing to use. I always kept the filters and dirt cup clean. There was also no debris in the hoses to cause the motor to overheat. This vacuum is less than a year old, and for over $200.00 I expect a much better product. I am certainly thinking of going back to my old brand of vacuum. My girls tell me that they are still running after 17 years!!!!

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 2/3/2013

Cindee, sorry to hear about hte recent troubles you've had with your Air. It sounds like the thermo fuse is shutting the unit off. That will happen if air is not getting to the motor. If you're sure there isn't a clog somewhere, make sure to clean the filter. If the filter hasn't ever been washed, it may need to be replaced.

Cindee
Ghent, New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Hard to control, not manuverable
1/17/2016

Customer review by bad back

2.0 stars 1/17/2016 by bad back
by bad back

This vacuum is not maneuverable like the demo implied, very misinformed . The head does not pivot with a twist of your wrist. I had to lift the vacuum up off my rug in order to move it in another direction. This makes it very difficult for people with bad back problems like I do, my whole body ached just from vacuuming my carpet. Good on bare floors, not on carpets.

Comment from Kenya - 1/17/2016

Hi bad back! We hate to hear that you’re having a hard time with your WindTunnel Air. We want to clarify. The WindTunel Air isn’t steerable. It’s maneuverable in that it’s extremely lightweight at only 13lbs. We think you may’ve been looking for the Air Steerable. See it here: http://bit.ly/1nyEVKd. We are sorry for any confusion. Hope this helps!

bad back
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Powerful Lightweight Vacuum Cleaner
8/15/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

With a house full of four people and two dogs, the Hoover Wind Tunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum is one of the lightest weight vacuums I had ever used. It transitioned nicely from carpet to laminate. The small canister did fill up rather quickly, but was easy to empty. With the push of a button it was emptied out and ready to go again. The handle is super flexible, this vacuum cleaner goes way down to the ground, so you can get under beds and all types of furniture. The light on top seemed to be more for cosmetic purposes, not so much from a functional point of view, and I will say it does look nice. The amazing suction made up for any downfalls this vacuum cleaner has. From a functionality point of view, this vaccum is top notch. The attachments were easy to use and not bulky when it comes to storing the vacuum cleaner. From a noise point of view, it was quiet when it comes to vacuum cleaners. I received a sample product to facilitate my review, but my opinions are entirely my own.

An anonymous customer
Mason City, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very lightweight and easy to use
8/7/2012

Customer review by Fabulous Finds

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by Fabulous Finds
by Fabulous Finds

This has got to be the best vacuum I've ever used. There wasn't any assembly required. I just pulled it out of the box and plugged it in. It did take me a little while to figure out how to use the cleaning wand attachments but after I got the hang of it I had no problems at all. I never knew cleaning could be so easy, and fun. I've been using the Hoover WindTunnel Air Bagless Upright for over two weeks now and haven't had a single problem with it. This vacuum is lightweight, easy to carry, and use. I've used other vacuums in the past that aren't very user friendly. I like that this vacuum is bagless and easy to empty. The cleaning wand is long enough that I can vacuum my ceiling fans and the suction is good enough that no dust falls on my face while vacuuming upside down. This vacuum isn't very loud. I can easily vacuum while the kids are near me and they don't get startled. Disclosure: I received a sample of this product to facilitate my review, but my opinions are entirely my own.

Fabulous Finds
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Review
1/22/2016

Customer review by Bjr47

4.0 stars 1/22/2016 by Bjr47
by Bjr47

Works great on all sufaces good suction powerful easy to use like retractable cord

Bjr47
Or st Lucie fla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Broken
1/10/2016

Customer review by Bbcd

1.0 stars 1/10/2016 by Bbcd
by Bbcd

I loved this vacuum until it stopped working. We've had it less than a year and it suddenly went out and doesn't work. It was great for pet hair and keeping our tiles floors clean. I am very disappointment because we paid about $200 for it. I would love to get a refund or get it replaced but can't find my receipt.

Comment from Kenya - 1/11/2016

Hi Bbcd! That’s certainly not good to hear. We want to help. The WindTunnel Air is equipped with a thermal protector that’ll shut it off if it becomes overheated. Overheated is caused by a clog. For assistance with locating and removing obstructions, see here: http://bit.ly/1EzInPb. Follow these steps to get your cleaner back up and running. If your WindTunnel Air has been off for over 24 hours, this may be something we need to take a look at. This model carries a 2 year warranty against manufacturing defects. To locate your nearest repair center please visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. Thanks!

Bbcd
Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love this vacuum!
8/16/2012

Customer review by Apryl @ Christian Clippers

5.0 stars 8/16/2012 by Apryl @ Christian Clippers
by Apryl @ Christian Clippers

I love this vacuum! I previously had a Hoover vacuum but it was really bulky and didn't suck very well. This vacuum is petite and lightweight. The attachments are easy to attach to each other. One of my favorite things about the attachments is that they fit tightly on the vacuum. There's nothing more annoying then trying to vacuum and the attachments keep falling off. The attachment hose extends 30" which is perfect for me because we have vaulted ceilings with ceiling fans. The attachments also do a great job cleaning the blinds which is one of my cleaning downfalls. My number #1 favorite thing about this vacuum is the kids can use it. The vacuum handle is adjustable and is the perfect height for my 7 year old's. I've been trying to figure out a way for them to help me vacuum but all my other vacuums have been too hard for them to push. Now I just need to teah them how to go back and forth properly. I received a sample of this product to facilitate my review, but my opinions are entirely my own.

Apryl @ Christian Clippers
Big Bear City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ew - the amount of dirt this picks up!
7/28/2012

Customer review by Twofermom

4.0 stars 7/28/2012 by Twofermom
by Twofermom

I just got this vacuum a few days ago as part of a review program and immediately vacuumed an area rug I had just done less than a week prior with my old bagless vacuum. I was SHOCKED at how much dirt it picked up! The canister was nearly full. Clearly my old bagless, upright, lightweight vacuum wasn't doing the job. The Hoover windtunnel is very powerful, but it's also lightweight. I had my 9 yr old daughter use it too. I like the hose options and attachments - there are three plus and extension hose that you can use for stairs. One of the best things is the filter that you can rinse off and reuse (let it dry for 24 hours first) which will cut down on the money I spend on replacement filters with my old one! The only negative this is that I'm not sure I can use this on my hardwood floors. My old vacuum I can safely use but I'm not sure the brush will stop on the h/w floor. As I mentioned at the top, I received a sample of this product to facilitate my review, but my opinions are entirely my own.

Twofermom
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just Amazing!
1/10/2011

Customer review by Canuck4Ever

5.0 stars 1/10/2011 by Canuck4Ever
by Canuck4Ever

I debated between the Dyson dc24 and the Hoover WindTunnel Air and boy I'm so glad I went with this one! For half the price of the Dyson this Hoover is a steal and it works as advertised! It's light, it sucks like a champ and it looks great! What else can you ask for? Three thumbs up to Hoover for this beauty!

Was this review helpful? (135) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Canuck4Ever
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Must Have For Families With Kids & Pets
8/9/2012

Customer review by My Springfield Mommy

5.0 stars 8/9/2012 by My Springfield Mommy
by My Springfield Mommy

If you kids and pets this vaccum is a must. It is easy to assemble and lightweight enough that your kids will have no reason not to be able to help. I tend to vacuum a lot, and did not expect to see any more in the canister than I had been with my other vaccum, which is not a Hoover. The first time I ran it across the living room carpet I got the expected fuzzy dusty mix. I wanted to see what would happen if I would try it again and the second time I was shocked to find pure dust. The suction is so powerful that it had to have reached down to the pad. I honestly do not know if having a professional cleaning would have gotten that much dust. One feature that I do notice is that the brush roll turns making getting under tables and around chairs easy. There is also so much power that even the hard to reach area where the carpet meets the molding gets vaccummed. The only con I see to the Windtunnel air is that you will suddenly want to vaccum! *I was sent a Hoover Windtunnel air for use in this review*

My Springfield Mommy
Gillespie, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 649 total reviews
1-20 of 649 reviews