Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 771 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

771 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

771 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
331
4 stars
199
3 stars
52
2 stars
62
1 stars
127
1-20 of 759 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 759 total reviews
1-20 of 759 reviews
Light Weight And Easy To Use
8/17/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/17/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I literally jumped up and down when I found out that I was going to get to review the Hoover Wind Tunnel!!! Yes I am a weirdo, getting very excited about cleaning, but come on, why wouldn't you!!! With two kids, three rabbits and many rugs in my house, I go through vacuums like normal people go through sliced bread!! I let Hubby put the vacuum together. He's good at those things!!! It took him about 10 minutes to set up, and figure out how to use it. He even read the directions!!! This vacuum is so light weight. Our old vacuum had to be carried with two hands. This one I could lift with one, and not worry about breaking my arm!!! At first it was a little confusing on how to start the brushes at the bottom. Then we realized you needed to tilt the vacuum like you were about to start pushing for the brushes to move. I like that feature a lot. With two very curious boys, I feel safer knowing they can't activate the vacuum without my help!! The vacuum is extremely powerful. The bunnies throw their shaving all over the floor. Normally I have to get out the vacuum wand to pick up the clippings. With the Hoover Wind Tunnel, one swipe was all it took. The wand feature on this vacuum is a little confusing. You have to detach the hose from the bottom of the vacuum to then connect the wand. After we figured out the wand, it was actually not that hard to use, and made the vacuum even lighter. Perfect for if you have cobwebs in the corner or are carrying it up the stairs. If you are looking for a light weight, powerful Vacuum, the Hoover Wind Tunnel is for you!! "I received a sample of this product to facilitate my review, but my opinions are entirely my own."

An anonymous customer
Greenfield, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
We Are In Love With Our WindTunnel Aur
8/1/2012

Customer review by Maria's Space

5.0 stars 8/1/2012 by Maria's Space
by Maria's Space

t's here. My Hoover WindTunnel Air Vacuum cleaner review product is here and I am sooo excited to vacuum tomorrow. What is it about new appliances that make us so happy? We got a vacuum about 6 years ago from my in-laws and it was never a good one. I have so much trouble with it and Teach takes it apart every other month for a deep cleaning and I give it a haircut after every vacuum because my and Goddess have waist long hair and lose quite a bit. My kids both have severe allergies which means we vacuum the house weekly and the kids rooms every other day to keep dust down. They are both allergic to dust, feathers, grass, trees and peanuts so keeping their carpets fairly clean is imperative to their health. Otherwise we go through a ton of tissues, eye drops, nasal drops and allergy medication. We never felt we were getting a deep down clean with our vacuum and after using our new WindTunnel Air from Hoover, it was obvious we were not! My 7 year old and I were way too excited to vacuum and we took turns because she really wanted to use it. Our Favorite Features: The vacuum is extremely light weight, only 12.4 pounds. Which means both kids can help! Chores make mommy happy and give kids a sense of responsibility. A carry handle for moving up and down the stairs. You can really reach under the furniture because the vacuum body can literally recline to the floor so you can get as far under as you can. The filter is rinse able The vacuum easily and without mess dispenses all that collected dust with a simple button release and trap door fallout over the garbage bag rather than my last one which I needed to pull out an entire top and move my head over the filter to remove everything. No more overheating because the brush stops once the vacuum is put into an upright position. Love it! Don't have to worry about the kids vacuuming anymore. The cord is super long. I used to have to plug in continually as I moved throughout the house. I was able to vacuum my entire top floor without having to change out the plug 8 times as I usually do. 30' cord! All vacuums should have this. The 3-in-1 attachment for corners, upholstery, and more makes it easy not to lose pieces or worse have them continually fall off as I move around the house. This is a great little vacuum. It even looks cool. I received a sample of this product to facilitate my review, but my opinions are entirely my own."

Maria's Space
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Surprisingly powerful
1/7/2017

Customer review by Granny K

4.0 stars 1/7/2017 by Granny K
by Granny K

I can't remember when I bought this vacuum, it must have been four or five years ago. As soon as I tried this new vacuum I sent my heavy, bulky Dyson to the basement. This Hoover is amazingly lightweight and easy to use yet has tons of power. Contrary to many of the other reviews, I have never had to replace a belt or any other parts. Clips, hoses, everything is all original. The easy adjusting handle is fantastic. I like the low-profile base of it because it cleans under the edges of my cabinets easily. My Dyson was too bulky and I could never get to those spaces. My only issue has been the poor quality attachments and the way they will not stay attached to the back as designed. I prefer an old round duster brush from a '70's Sears vac. I use this vacuum for everything - carpets, tile, wood floors and even cleaning out my car.

Granny K
West Lafayette, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Less Than A Year Old
2/3/2013

Customer review by Cindee

1.0 stars 2/3/2013 by Cindee
by Cindee

I purchased this Hoover by phone after watching an infomercial on the product. When I received it, I liked that fact that it is lightweight as I have MS. It did work well on my hardwood floors, but was difficult to use on carpets. Emptying the dirt may look easy, but you better be wearing old clothes and gloves, and be outside. Now, it stops completely after only five minutes or so. I can smell plastic burning and the motor housing is extremly hot. After letting the motor cool for about 2 hours, it will start again, run another 5 minutes, then overheats, and quits. I gave my other vacuums away to my daughters when I bought this, and now I have nothing to use. I always kept the filters and dirt cup clean. There was also no debris in the hoses to cause the motor to overheat. This vacuum is less than a year old, and for over $200.00 I expect a much better product. I am certainly thinking of going back to my old brand of vacuum. My girls tell me that they are still running after 17 years!!!!

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 2/3/2013

Cindee, sorry to hear about hte recent troubles you've had with your Air. It sounds like the thermo fuse is shutting the unit off. That will happen if air is not getting to the motor. If you're sure there isn't a clog somewhere, make sure to clean the filter. If the filter hasn't ever been washed, it may need to be replaced.

Cindee
Ghent, New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
suction nation!
2/9/2017

Customer review by martay

5.0 stars 2/9/2017 by martay
by martay

this vacuum is completely unbelievable it has tremendous suction power and very light weight love it, love it ,love it!

martay
Suffolk County, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very lightweight and easy to use
8/7/2012

Customer review by Fabulous Finds

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by Fabulous Finds
by Fabulous Finds

This has got to be the best vacuum I've ever used. There wasn't any assembly required. I just pulled it out of the box and plugged it in. It did take me a little while to figure out how to use the cleaning wand attachments but after I got the hang of it I had no problems at all. I never knew cleaning could be so easy, and fun. I've been using the Hoover WindTunnel Air Bagless Upright for over two weeks now and haven't had a single problem with it. This vacuum is lightweight, easy to carry, and use. I've used other vacuums in the past that aren't very user friendly. I like that this vacuum is bagless and easy to empty. The cleaning wand is long enough that I can vacuum my ceiling fans and the suction is good enough that no dust falls on my face while vacuuming upside down. This vacuum isn't very loud. I can easily vacuum while the kids are near me and they don't get startled. Disclosure: I received a sample of this product to facilitate my review, but my opinions are entirely my own.

Fabulous Finds
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerful Lightweight Vacuum Cleaner
8/15/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

With a house full of four people and two dogs, the Hoover Wind Tunnel Air Bagless Upright Vacuum is one of the lightest weight vacuums I had ever used. It transitioned nicely from carpet to laminate. The small canister did fill up rather quickly, but was easy to empty. With the push of a button it was emptied out and ready to go again. The handle is super flexible, this vacuum cleaner goes way down to the ground, so you can get under beds and all types of furniture. The light on top seemed to be more for cosmetic purposes, not so much from a functional point of view, and I will say it does look nice. The amazing suction made up for any downfalls this vacuum cleaner has. From a functionality point of view, this vaccum is top notch. The attachments were easy to use and not bulky when it comes to storing the vacuum cleaner. From a noise point of view, it was quiet when it comes to vacuum cleaners. I received a sample product to facilitate my review, but my opinions are entirely my own.

An anonymous customer
Mason City, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wish it had manual carpet height adjustment
1/17/2017

Customer review by BJ8986

2.0 stars 1/17/2017 by BJ8986
by BJ8986

This vacuum is light and quiet and has tremendous suction. We have 3 different carpet pile heights in our home; two of which it works splendidly on, the third, which is just a slightly higher pile, causes the red light to come on and the brush to stop. I wish there were a manual height adjustment to eliminate this from happening. Also, the crevice tool (which is integral to all the other on-board tools) broke the second time we used it and is out of stock currently on the website. Whether or not to recommend to others would depend on what type of carpet they have. Would definitely suggest trying it first if possible. I bought online, so didn't have the chance to do so.

Comment from Karissa - 1/17/2017

Hi BJ8986! Your WindTunnel Air has an automatic height adjustment, unfortunately it cannot be changed manually. Since the unit has strong suction, you may try using it with the brushes turned off for your higher pile carpet. The 2-in-1 crevice tool is in stock and can be found here: http://bit.ly/1Jv66Qv. If further assistance is needed feel free to reach out to us via Facebook or Tweet us @HooverUSA. We’re here for you!

BJ8986
Wisconsin, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'm so happy with this vacuum
2/7/2017

Customer review by Chirine

5.0 stars 2/7/2017 by Chirine
by Chirine

I bought this a 2year ago and I'm so happy I'm a cleaner I used it everyday for minimum I hours .So easy to clean.but I

Chirine
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awful!!!,
1/22/2017

Customer review by Maym

1.0 stars 1/22/2017 by Maym
by Maym

My husbamd bought this for me and it works ok on carpet but on hard surfaces it's awful. The venting for the air blows out the front and down so you chase the dirt and dog hair across the floor. It takes twice as long to vacuum and it's still dirty. All the attachments fall off as you vacuum. I'm a second generation Hoover only vacuum purchaser. I've never owned any other brand and this is only my 3rd one in 25 years but I hate this vacuum and dpent way too much for it.

Comment from Kenya - 1/25/2017

Hi Maym! That sounds frustrating. We want to help. For best performance on hard floors, we recommend disengaging the brushes. To turn off the brushes, simply press the brushroll on/off button directly next to the power button. We hope this helps!

Maym
Charlotte, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love this vacuum!
8/16/2012

Customer review by Apryl @ Christian Clippers

5.0 stars 8/16/2012 by Apryl @ Christian Clippers
by Apryl @ Christian Clippers

I love this vacuum! I previously had a Hoover vacuum but it was really bulky and didn't suck very well. This vacuum is petite and lightweight. The attachments are easy to attach to each other. One of my favorite things about the attachments is that they fit tightly on the vacuum. There's nothing more annoying then trying to vacuum and the attachments keep falling off. The attachment hose extends 30" which is perfect for me because we have vaulted ceilings with ceiling fans. The attachments also do a great job cleaning the blinds which is one of my cleaning downfalls. My number #1 favorite thing about this vacuum is the kids can use it. The vacuum handle is adjustable and is the perfect height for my 7 year old's. I've been trying to figure out a way for them to help me vacuum but all my other vacuums have been too hard for them to push. Now I just need to teah them how to go back and forth properly. I received a sample of this product to facilitate my review, but my opinions are entirely my own.

Apryl @ Christian Clippers
Big Bear City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ew - the amount of dirt this picks up!
7/28/2012

Customer review by Twofermom

4.0 stars 7/28/2012 by Twofermom
by Twofermom

I just got this vacuum a few days ago as part of a review program and immediately vacuumed an area rug I had just done less than a week prior with my old bagless vacuum. I was SHOCKED at how much dirt it picked up! The canister was nearly full. Clearly my old bagless, upright, lightweight vacuum wasn't doing the job. The Hoover windtunnel is very powerful, but it's also lightweight. I had my 9 yr old daughter use it too. I like the hose options and attachments - there are three plus and extension hose that you can use for stairs. One of the best things is the filter that you can rinse off and reuse (let it dry for 24 hours first) which will cut down on the money I spend on replacement filters with my old one! The only negative this is that I'm not sure I can use this on my hardwood floors. My old vacuum I can safely use but I'm not sure the brush will stop on the h/w floor. As I mentioned at the top, I received a sample of this product to facilitate my review, but my opinions are entirely my own.

Twofermom
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I hate this horrible vacuum cleaner
11/28/2016

Customer review by CHERYLE618

1.0 stars 11/28/2016 by CHERYLE618
by CHERYLE618

I've had it just under a year and thought it would just take some time getting used to compared to my old Hoover non steerable vacuum. But every time I use it the more I dislike it. It's heavy for its size, and it is very unwieldy to Move It from place to place even when the head is locked into position. When you pick it up to move it over a stair for example the head drops down. It is not good on hard flooring. It just doesn't seem to pick up dog hair off of hard floors. The attachments are always falling off of the unit and if you're using the tube into the hose, it almost always comes out every time you stretch it even slightly. Even though it says you have 15 feet of reach, even if you barely pull on the hose the entire vacuum cleaner will fall over. the attachment head that is bendable does not lock into place, so even the slightest bit of pressure will cause it to bend at the angle you do not want it to be. You have to hold it in position with your hand in order to get enough pressure to vacuum a bookshelf without it bending. It's far too expensive for what you get. I've had it too long to return it so I have to just live with it.

Comment from Kenya - 12/7/2016

Hi CHERYLE618! We certainly don’t want you to be disappointed with your WindTunnel Air. We want to help. For best results, we recommend turning the brushes off on your bare floor surfaces. To disengage the brushes, press the brushroll on/off button located next to the power button. Loss of suction is typically a simple maintenance concern. Try rinsing the foam filter located beneath the dirt cup lid. Be sure to allow 24 hours to air dry. We hope this helps!

CHERYLE618
Orlando, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Must Have For Families With Kids & Pets
8/9/2012

Customer review by My Springfield Mommy

5.0 stars 8/9/2012 by My Springfield Mommy
by My Springfield Mommy

If you kids and pets this vaccum is a must. It is easy to assemble and lightweight enough that your kids will have no reason not to be able to help. I tend to vacuum a lot, and did not expect to see any more in the canister than I had been with my other vaccum, which is not a Hoover. The first time I ran it across the living room carpet I got the expected fuzzy dusty mix. I wanted to see what would happen if I would try it again and the second time I was shocked to find pure dust. The suction is so powerful that it had to have reached down to the pad. I honestly do not know if having a professional cleaning would have gotten that much dust. One feature that I do notice is that the brush roll turns making getting under tables and around chairs easy. There is also so much power that even the hard to reach area where the carpet meets the molding gets vaccummed. The only con I see to the Windtunnel air is that you will suddenly want to vaccum! *I was sent a Hoover Windtunnel air for use in this review*

My Springfield Mommy
Gillespie, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The little vacuum that could
1/20/2017

Customer review by Cbc0201

5.0 stars 1/20/2017 by Cbc0201
by Cbc0201

Perfect for my needs. My place is rather small so I didn't want a full-size vacuum, but I still wanted something decent. First, it's a quality vacuum. Well constructed and just feels like a quality product. It's light and small which means it has a small canister. You can turn the brush-head in or off and the wand / handle plus extension works really.

Cbc0201
Las Vegas, NV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Second review
1/17/2017

Customer review by RN Educator

1.0 stars 1/17/2017 by RN Educator
by RN Educator

I posted an honest review regarding my two Wind Tunnel vacuums. It was denied bc I added details about plastic parts and breakage. Warranty is fine. Covered handle breaking off from roller and clip breaking on hose. Called online number and brought it in. Machines were under two years old. Reposted with less to ensure review is accepted. Reviews are only accepted if favorable, perhaps. Will not purchase again.

Comment from Karissa - 1/17/2017

Hi RN Educator! We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. If the review did not pertain to the product itself it may not meet the review guidelines to be published. Both positive and negative reviews can be seen for each product on the Hoover website. We're happy to hear the unit was repaired through the warranty. If further assistance is needed feel free to reach out to us via Facebook or Tweet us @HooverUSA. We’re here for you!

RN Educator
Mt Vernon, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love the power/unhappy with the cheap plastic parts
11/24/2016

Customer review by KimberlyU

2.0 stars 11/24/2016 by KimberlyU
by KimberlyU

When I bought this I absolutely LOVED it. The power is GREAT, it maneuvers GREAT, I WAS SO happy with it. After 1 month (which is 4 times vacuuming my very small apartment), a little plastic clip broke off. This clip is literally the ONLY thing that connects the handle of the vacuum to the body of the vacuum. Now I can't pick it up by the handle because the whole container comes up with the handle. It is so sad that I have to pick up my entire vacuum and carry it like a baby just to bring it to the next room. Not only that but I have to detach the hose every time I carry it like a baby into the next room because it is next to impossible to carry it with the hose attached. I don't understand why on this great and powerful vacuum, they ruined it by using a teeny cheap piece of plastic to hold it all together. I'm very disappointed.

Comment from Kenya - 12/5/2016

Hi KimberlyU! Your WindTunnel Air should be holding up better than that. We want to help. This looks like something we may need to get our hands on. We recommend bringing it in for service at your nearest authorized repair center. To locate one near you visit: http://hoover.com/locator/

KimberlyU
Massachusetts, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Doesn't hold up to regular use....
8/11/2013

Customer review by WickedOne74

1.0 stars 8/11/2013 by WickedOne74
by WickedOne74

My husband bought this vacuum for me for a Christmas present. At first I was impressed. It has a pretty powerful suction for a light vacuum and is relatively quiet. After 2 times using this vacuum, the crevice/brush attachment broke. I chalked this up to poor design and decided to use some tools from my last Hoover vacuum. Then the hoses kept popping out. I was able to screw them back in, but this happens on a regular basis. The transition to using the tools and hose, is clunky and a pain in the butt. Trying to work through these issues and giving the vacuum the benefit of the doubt, I was using it yesterday when it shut-off on me. I thought maybe the cord had come out of the plug. The power button was still "on", but when the vacuum was in the upright position, it acted like it was shut-off. When I would "recline" the vacuum, it would then turn on again. I have 2 dogs, 2 cats and live with 3 "men". I need a vacuum that is going to be able to get the job done - this vacuum is NOT it. Very disappointed.

WickedOne74
West Bend, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Hoover gone wrong...
8/4/2013

Customer review by JacobK

1.0 stars 8/4/2013 by JacobK
by JacobK

Hoover is typically a name associated with quality, but this product reflects very badly on the brand's image. I have had the product less than 2 months and every single hose has detached from the main connection outlets. It seems that the glue utilized to hold the hose to the base is extremely poor quality and pulls out. Once this happens, that hose is rendered useless. After the first connection hose broke off, I shrugged it off - no big deal, right!? Well, then the second connector broke so I used the base hose with the handle and guess what? Yep... You got it! The hose broke on this one as well! So now I'm left with a shell of a cleaner that suctions air through the side of the canister (again because a hose no longer exists anywhere on the product) that truly no longer serves its purpose. Hoover - Quality Assurance standards should have caught this! Sorry to say I can not recommend this product and will be cautious of any other Hoover products in the near future.

Comment from Ian - 8/6/2013

Hi Jacobk, we've read the reviews on this issue and our Quality Team has developed a solution. We're reaching out to you via e-mail so that we can make this right. Thanks so much!

JacobK
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Fantastically Fast
1/20/2012

Customer review by Train Guy

4.0 stars 1/20/2012 by Train Guy
by Train Guy

Hoover has always been in our family since my parents married and bought one in 1947 -- and it is still working. This vac is great if you have a lot of furniture and need to maneuver around them easily. The width is perfect vacuuming our 2,000 sq. ft. home with a lot of furniture on carpets and hardwood floors. The automatic carpet height adjustment works great (first vac we have had with this feature) and the detachable handle to attach the hose to do baseboards works just as I wanted. I decided to go with a bagless after reading many reviews comparing bagless vs bags and feel that a bagless vac traps dust better without escaping. However, empty outside. I always use a canister vac (without a power head) to clean our hardwood floors before I steam clean), but I may just use this vac even in the kitchen. The power head ON-OFF button is a thoughtful feature. If you need a light-weight vacuum that does it all, this is the perfect one for the price and Hoover reputation.

Train Guy
Macclenny, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 759 total reviews
1-20 of 759 reviews