Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 48 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

48 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

48 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

56%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 stars
11
1-20 of 46 total reviews
56%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews
Great Handheld
3/24/2014

Customer review by Evalyne

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by Evalyne
by Evalyne
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my first handheld vacuum. I bought it to help pick up the little messes that seems to trail behind my one year old or cleaning out her car seat. I charged it the full 24 hours and the battery life if fine. I usually just put it back on the charger once i'm finished no problem.Perfect for quick pick up on my carpet or couch. I don't use it as a replacement for my full size vacuum its not what it is deigned for. I've also used it to clean out my car and it it works wonderful for that. HAd to keep emptying it out but car was really dirty so it was expected. Easy to clean out once finished using the vac. My only problem is that the crevice extender doesn't stay open and it isn't straight. Pros: Small & Portable Long Battery Life about 30-45 mins Powerful hand held vac Easy Clean Up and disposal of trash Cons: Crevice extender doesn't stay put Crevice Extender isn't straight

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Evalyne
Denham Springs, LA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Small yet powerful
1/2/2016

Customer review by JenMikeBob

5.0 stars 1/2/2016 by JenMikeBob
by JenMikeBob

I use my Dirt Devil all the time. I have one large dog and two fuzzy cats, and this machine has never failed to clean up a mess. It's strong enough to suck up spilled kitty litter without missing a beat, and the pet hair brush is better than the one on my big upright.

JenMikeBob
Jacksonville FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good deal
5/8/2011

Customer review by BABSshopstolive

4.0 stars 5/8/2011 by BABSshopstolive
by BABSshopstolive

PROS: *Pretty good battery life so far. Have had it 1 month. *Nice flip top feature to empty container. I like to open the trash and then flip open the container in the trash so it all goes straight in. *Pull out crevice tool is VERY handy! CONS: *Pull out crevice tool is curved, so it's a little hard to get it all the way under my cabinets. I have to get down pretty low to have it at the correct angle. -wish the pull out tool was straight. *Suction doesn't seem to be as strong as my previous hand vac.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BABSshopstolive
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Product!
12/27/2015

Customer review by Arlene

5.0 stars 12/27/2015 by Arlene
by Arlene

This is the second time I bought this item, love it. Lasted at least five years and is easy to manipulate and charge. Strong power for everyday use.

Arlene
New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT
3/1/2014

Customer review by ggadd

5.0 stars 3/1/2014 by ggadd
by ggadd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Charged it up for 24 hrs as instructed, then vacuumed my car, got up kitty litter on our hardwood floor, and finished off by vacuuming the stairs, and it was still going strong when I plugged it back in. Only had it for two weeks, so can't comment on the longevity of this thing. The suction is very good, I'm well-satisfied with it so far.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ggadd
Antioch, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible battery life
11/22/2015

Customer review by djs4591

1.0 stars 11/22/2015 by djs4591
by djs4591

From the very start the battery barely lasted long enough to sweep a flight of wood stairs. Now, just 6 months after purchasing it won't hold a charge at all. Since this is not the first Dirt Devil product I've owned I'm surprised at the poor quality of this product. I wouldn't recommend buying!

Comment from Kenya - 11/23/2015

Hi djs45911! We agree, that doesn’t sound like Dirt Devil quality at all. You should be getting an 8-10 minute run time with your Gator hand vacuum. If you notice the run time diminishing we recommend resetting the battery/charger. To do that simply unplug the charger from the outlet for 1-2 minutes. Run the vacuum until it completely shuts off and re-charge for a full 24 hours. That should do it. If you’re still having issues please don’t hesitate to reach out to us. We are here for you!

djs4591
Akron, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
great vacum
6/29/2013

Customer review by pauld49

5.0 stars 6/29/2013 by pauld49
by pauld49
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i was surprised at the power for a small handheld vacum..........i just have it a week but so far........great vacum

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pauld49
new rochelle ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use, good for light to moderate jobs
4/20/2014

Customer review by Kylasmommy

4.0 stars 4/20/2014 by Kylasmommy
by Kylasmommy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I read the instructions and identified the parts. After charging it for 24 hours it was ready to go. It sat unused and unplugged for days and didn't seem to lose any charge. Used it several times, and my daughter (not understanding the purpose of it) began vacuuming a large area with it. Yet, still ran well. After a while, it didn't seem to suck as well, but, I had used it on ashes, among other things, and the filter was getting clogged. Easy to undo, rinsed the pre-filter which came clean easily, accidently dropped the regular filter, which was good, because all kinds of dust came from that. Decided it probably needed recharging. My mom has a 7 year old model, and when she saw me pop open the canister, she was wowed at how easy it was to empty. The motorized head seems to work pretty well. Haven't had a real good trial, but it worked on my comforter (cat hair) and my bathroom shag rug. It's no surprise that the head uses up more of the charge, so have it full when you have a project requiring the head. It seems to have pretty good pick up power. I chose to get this one instead of the 18v because I figured the 18v would be too heavy. This one is not light, but not bad.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kylasmommy
Greenbsoro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very disappointing!
11/10/2015

Customer review by Dechie

2.0 stars 11/10/2015 by Dechie
by Dechie

I bought this Aug, 2014, and the battery has already gone kaput. After charging as instructed, I get about 30 s-e-c-o-n-d-s of operation. Always thought highly of the Dirt Devil brand, but this experience has really soured me.

Comment from Joscelyn - 11/11/2015

Hi Dechie! You should be definitely getting more than 30 seconds of run time from your Gator! We've implemented a battery and reset procedure that will help maximize and restore the run time. Please give the reset steps below a try and if you still need any more assistance, please call us at 1-800-321-1134. Thank you! 1. Unplug your charger from the outlet. Please leave it unplugged for 1-2 minutes. 2. Then, turn on the hand vac and let it run until the battery completely dies. 3. Lastly, return the Gator to the charger and let it charge for 24 hours in full. After completing this procedure, the unit should run for 8-10 minutes on a full charge. Hope this helps!

Dechie
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Terrible battery
11/2/2015

Customer review by Dale

1.0 stars 11/2/2015 by Dale
by Dale

Same issue as reported by many others here. Bought device about a year ago. Worked great for the first few months. Then the battery life began to degrade quickly. Now it barely runs for 30 secs (and only with partial strength at that). We tried this procedure mentioned in this thread "battery/charger reset procedure". No better. Don't buy this product!

Comment from Joscelyn - 11/3/2015

Hi Dale! Wow, this is not good to hear and you should be getting the maximum amount of runtime from your Gator! We want to help so you'll be receiving an email for further questions. Thank you!

Dale
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great hand held vacuum cleaner
3/29/2014

Customer review by Zadem

4.0 stars 3/29/2014 by Zadem
by Zadem
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had it for a few weeks now and is working great. I like it it does the job well. Once it is fully charged, the battery lasts few days, which is very convenient.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zadem
Glendale
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice features but...
10/12/2015

Customer review by toddfman

1.0 stars 10/12/2015 by toddfman
by toddfman

Unit led light sometimes solid, sometimes flashes quickly. Bought at Home Depot. Vacuum time less than 5 mins after initial 24 plus uninterrupted charge cycle. Would really recommend a corded and cordless feature for all battery operated items. I eith got a bad unit or battery just no good. Suction is really good at first but doesn't last more than 5 minutes. Going back to corded hand held vac.

Comment from Kenya - 10/21/2015

Hi toddfman! Five minutes is just unacceptable. You should be getting a run time of about 8-10 minutes with your Gator 15.6V. We want to help. We are sending you a private email to further assist. Thanks!

toddfman
Orlando, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
They fixed a problem
10/21/2015

Customer review by Larry221

4.0 stars 10/21/2015 by Larry221
by Larry221

Had a problem with the one I bought. Customer service fixed with no hassle. Replacement Devil is working very well.

Larry221
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SUPERIOR HAND VAC-
4/18/2013

Customer review by NCLREZ

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by NCLREZ
by NCLREZ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was highly impressed by the amount of suction power. This is by far the best Hand Vac I've ever owned/used...I HIGHLY Recommend this to anyone and all who are looking for a hand vac...

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NCLREZ
Miami Lakes, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent vac
1/24/2011

Customer review by waeshop

4.0 stars 1/24/2011 by waeshop
by waeshop

Haven't used it long enough, but the power is pretty good and the battery lasts longer than my Dirt Devil

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
waeshop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dirt Devil Gator
9/29/2015

Customer review by Roger67

5.0 stars 9/29/2015 by Roger67
by Roger67

Light-weight and very easy to use for the basement steps. This was a good purchase.

Roger67
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Need to find a charger
9/27/2015

Customer review by robdaroc

3.0 stars 9/27/2015 by robdaroc
by robdaroc

i have the 15.6 v gator and i damaged my cord to charger can you helpm me

Comment from Kenya - 9/28/2015

Hi robdaroc! Sure, we can help with that. A replacement charger for your Gator 15.6V is available here: http://bit.ly/1O4Zj3g . Hope this helps!

robdaroc
Poor battery
10/12/2015

Customer review by Toddfman

1.0 stars 10/12/2015 by Toddfman
by Toddfman

Purchased at Home Depot. Charged for exactly 24 hrs. Started out really strong on loves eat then the motor and suction dropped off sharply after about 30 seconds. Lasted under 2 mins and quit. I plugged it back in and the light is solid, before it was blinking. Will see if it stays solid over the next 24 hours. Wanted to use it on the car but I see this going back in the next couple of days. Corded hand vacs seem to still be the best for upholstery. Too bad it seems defective right away.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 10/13/2015

Hi Toddfman! This seems very strange, but is an easy fix! The average run time should be anywhere from 8-10 minutes on a full charge and the suction should stay consistent during the operation period. Give this battery reset procedure a shot for us: Unplug the charger from the outlet. It must be unplugged for 1-2 minutes. Next, turn on the Gator and let it run until the battery completely drains. Then, place the hand vac onto the charger and let it charge for a complete for 24 hours. After doing this, the run time will boost up and it shouldn&#39;t diminish. You may check the filter by removing it out and tapping it against the inside of a waste can. A clean filter will ensure strong suction power. Give this a try and you should be good to go! Please give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 if you need any more assistance. Thanks!<br />-Joscelyn,<br />Dirt Devil Customer Care

Toddfman
Would recommend to a friend? No
bad charger
9/16/2015

Customer review by jerry s

1.0 stars 9/16/2015 by jerry s
by jerry s

after 6 months charging light does not go on after plugging in unit. cannot get a complete charge to operate normally.

Comment from Joscelyn - 9/17/2015

Hi jerry s! Your Gator should definitely be maintaining a charge after 6 months! We have a battery/charger reset procedure we'd like for you to give a go.! 1. Unplug the charger from the wall. It must be unplugged for at least 1-2 minutes. 2. Let the unit run until it completely shuts down. 3. Place the unit back on the charger and charge it for a complete 24 hours 4. Run the unit again until it turns off (keeping track of exactly how many minutes it runs.) After completing this procedure, it should boost up the run time on your hand vac. Let us know if you've more questions, we're here for you!

jerry s
New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product
2/19/2012

Customer review by tuppens

5.0 stars 2/19/2012 by tuppens
by tuppens

Great product, almost takes the place of a conventional vac

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tuppens
Menomonee Falls WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews