Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 565 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

565 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

565 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
282
4 stars
109
3 stars
38
2 stars
22
1 stars
114
1-20 of 501 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 501 total reviews
1-20 of 501 reviews
Excellent Dirt Devil Steam Mop
10/2/2015

Customer review by WraithWriterReviews

5.0 stars 10/2/2015 by WraithWriterReviews
by WraithWriterReviews

This steam mop is great for cleaning floors and carpet. It comes with two microfiber cleaning pads, one shaggy microfiber dusting pad, a carpet glider accessory that can be simply attached over the cleaning pad and onto the steam head, one fill cup and one funnel. The pivoting wedge shaped steam head allows one to clean corners very easily, and the telescoping handle is also easily adjustable. It only takes 30 seconds for this mop to generate steam. It does clean very well, I use it every other day to clean textured and smooth tile flooring, in addition to my wood floors. It is useful for cleaning rugs and carpeting as well. It produces steam continuously when it is on, and shouldn't be left standing in one spot for too long while it is on, as the floor can get very hot underneath, so caution when walking over the area in which it stood is advised. I have washed the pads after use, and they hold up well. The manufacturer recommends tilting the handle to a 45-degree angle and clean the floor area slowly.

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WraithWriterReviews
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Steamer
3/1/2012

Customer review by jennrn61299

5.0 stars 3/1/2012 by jennrn61299
by jennrn61299

I had a Shark steam mop and loved it until it broke. I was in the market for a replacement and saw this one with good reviews and at less then half the price. No brainer! I have had dirt devil products over the years and have always found them to be of good quality, so I thought "Why not try it?" Easy to use right out of the box. Gets into corners with the V shaped head and has plenty of extra pads. I like that replacements pads are cheap and that they have a drawstring to hold them on. My Shark had velcro and the pad was forever falling off. Love that it has a standby button so the steamer doesn't have to heat back up or waste water in the reservoir, but with the flick of a button you have steam again! My 7 year old loves to use it. It just melts and absorbs sticky messes on the floor, like chocolate syrup or grape jelly. It's also nice for cleaning and sanitizing around my cats litterbox. Works great on laminate flooring and linoleum. Great value!

Was this review helpful? (51) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jennrn61299
Saratoga, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
fantastic!
3/11/2011

Customer review by onekidsmom

5.0 stars 3/11/2011 by onekidsmom
by onekidsmom

I sound like a commercial when I talk about my steam mop! I cannot tell you how much I love this product!! First of all, I live in the country with 4 dogs, (husband and son too but they aren't messy) and its gets filthy on the floor! I just plug it in, fill it up with distilled water and GO! The floor DRIES in MINUTES, and it is CLEAN! I have even put on the extra mop head and gone over it to 'check' and it comes up clean! Ground in stuff comes up like magic, and I even had some old latex paint stuck on my floor that came off! No cleaners to harm family or dogs, and the floor is clean clean clean! WOW, saved me lots of time not fussing with disposable pads and $ too on cleaners. It is so nice to start it up, and it quickly heats up and cleans away the grime. My husband put a hook on the closet just for it! The pads wash up great, wash and hang dry. I can't recommend it enough!!

Was this review helpful? (91) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
onekidsmom
western NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Terrible steam mop - leaves horrible streaks
2/21/2014

Customer review by mattie1

1.0 stars 2/21/2014 by mattie1
by mattie1
Top 1000 contributor

I have laminate hardwood floors. Anyone that has hardwood laminate floors know that this type of flooring shows absolutely everything. So I needed a really good steam mop - one that deep cleans really well yet leaves my floors streak free and shinny. I read a lot of the reviews on here and they all compared this mop to shark steam mops - which I took to mean this mop is awesome - I was sold. I ordered it and it arrived 2 days later - I was so excited! The first time I used this steam mop it left the worst streaks I have ever had on my floors. I thought that maybe, just maybe my floors were somehow just that dirty. So I put on a new pad (even though the one I took off was barely even dirty) and tried again - this time using more pressure & going super slow. That did not help at all! I was absolutely disgusted & so disappointed in this product! I got out my swifer wet mop pads and cleaned my floors to a streak free shine. Mine will be going back to the store as soon as I can get it there. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY

Was this review helpful? (29) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mattie1
Bloomer, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
10/3/2011

Customer review by HOVERD

5.0 stars 10/3/2011 by HOVERD
by HOVERD

I'm a little on the OCD side. My Shark I had just was losing it's ability to meet my expectations so I searched online for another steam mop to fulfill my house cleaning needs. I believe I read every review about the Dirt Devil and decided that many of the negative comments were about minor things and not how the Dirt Devil performed. So, I purchased the Dirt Devil. I spent an additonal $20 just to have it rushed (Did I mention I was OCD?). I loved loved loved it. I did follow all the instructional information for cleaning the pads prior to use, which did bother me a little cause I really wanted to use it that day. I was so impressed with my floors after using it. My floors were so clean, felt so clean and shined. Unfortuntaley after 10 days it did stop working (might have been my fault but I'm not exactly sure). When I contacted Dirt Devil about it and told the very nice lady about my issues and how much I loved the steam mop, she went ahead and sent another Dirt Devil to me without me having to follow their replacement policy. I will say the Dirt Devil is a whole lot better than the Shark

Was this review helpful? (75) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HOVERD
Montgomery, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Favorable over all
9/17/2011

Customer review by realturnip

4.0 stars 9/17/2011 by realturnip
by realturnip

The price was right, cheap shipping helped as well. Delivery time was excellent, less than two days. I have had bad luck with Dirt Devil products, namely vacuums, and have jumped ship to Bissell. So I was hesitant to buy this product, but user reviews prodded me to try it. It seems solid, and not prone to handle and "part" breakage like the shark products I have tried. It is easy to fill and heats very quickly, I had hot steam in no time. It is light weight, a must for me. The pads are easy on, easy off. My only two complaints... The cap on the fill valve for the water tank is small, hard to handle if you have any disability. Also, it is tethered on a string so short you have to tug hard to line it up in the neck of the tank. Second...the triangular steam head moves easily, but it needs more flexibility at the neck so you can twist the handle to round corners, go around furniture legs, or angle into corners, a swivel head like a swiffer or a dyson would be nice. All in all, I call this a thumbs up product that could benefit from a few updates...a swivel head, a cord mounted higher up the unit and an easier to manuever fill cap.

Was this review helpful? (41) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
realturnip
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
disappointed in shipping...
7/15/2011

Customer review by ilovemycopandkids

1.0 stars 7/15/2011 by ilovemycopandkids
by ilovemycopandkids

based on other reviews i'm sure the product works well. HOWEVER the condition i received this in was pathetic so i never had a chance to actually try it! it was left on my porch pretty much opened...i assumed fedex may have roughed it up UNTIL i looked inside. the pieces weren't even wrapped in plastic...not even the cloths...just thrown in the box!! you could clearly tell that it had been used because it had scratches & scuff marks all over it! oh yah...the cord was just jumbled up in the box...not nice, neat and wrapped like cords usually are when you get something that's actually NEW!! anyhow...i immediately took it to walmart and they kindly refunded my money and i bought a shark brand steam mop since they didn't carry this one. let me add that the lady at the service desk said that i was the 2nd one this week to return an item from walmart.com because of the same problems! someone really needs to get on the ball and quit sending used items...NOT COOL!

Was this review helpful? (17) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ilovemycopandkids
oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
It does just fine!
4/23/2011

Customer review by OakleyGuy

4.0 stars 4/23/2011 by OakleyGuy
by OakleyGuy

A lot of people want to compare the Dirt Devil to the Shark and that's fine. The two basically do the exact same thing which is steam mop the floor. However... both go about it in a different way. This Dirt Devil provides continuous steam while the Shark, you have to pump the steam out with a jerky back and forth movement. The Shark therefore lasts longer but who cares??? After all, re-filling the Dirt Devil takes no time at all and it only takes abot 30 seconds to start steaming! Some reviews on here complainned that this Dirt Devil runs out of steam to quickly... nonsense! It does just fine. Granted the Shark lasts longer, since you have to pump the steam out naturally while you are not pumping the steam doesn't escape. I really like the Dirt Devil, it picks up a lot of crud off the floor and washing the pad is as simply as throwing it in with my other laundry.

Was this review helpful? (184) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OakleyGuy
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/6/2011

Customer review by divadog4

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by divadog4
by divadog4

Originally, I was looking at buying a Shark mop, but after reading the reviews for both products, the Dirt Devil was the better deal. It was 1/3 of the cost and most people who purchased a Shark had to replace it a year later. I bought the warranty as well ($3) so mine is covered for a long time. I have 2 kids and 4 dogs so I'm always mopping. My one dog pees in the same spot ona an almost daily basis so my bathroom used to smell. This steam mop actually got rid of the smell completely!!! It even cleaned in between the tiles so I don't have to hand scrub them anymore!!! I use it on all my tiles and hardwood. It's quick and easy to use as well as easy to clean- you just throw the pad in the washer and dryer. I love it and will never go back to a regular mop again!

Was this review helpful? (46) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
divadog4
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dirt Devil Easy Steam Mop
2/4/2016

Customer review by Dori

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Dori
by Dori

Today is the first day I used my new steam mop. It was recommended to me by a good friend. She said that she loved it. So for the price I purchased it online. It didn't take that long to be delivered. Since I am no longer to scrub the kitchen floor on my knees, this steam mop is perfect. I like that fact that the cord is long and it was easy to fill the tank with distilled water. I thought that the line where you are to stop filling was difficult to see since that window is to small. I do recommend this mop as a "must have" especially for us seniors.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dori
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful Helper
7/7/2011

Customer review by Ringhappysappy

5.0 stars 7/7/2011 by Ringhappysappy
by Ringhappysappy

I Didn't know what I was missing not having one of these! My son hit the table I had a dark purple candle on and the wax meshed into the carpet, I had a stain in the bathroom floor since I have moved in, I had dark spots in the kitchen floor that I couldn't get out, I have five cats that love to leave hair in the kitchen floor where they lay. This product steamed up the wax, got out the stains in bathrooms and kitchen, hair dye that I spilled, black mind you! I said, I wish they had come up with this sooner! What an awesome product, cat hair clings to the cloth, you always have some even when you have swept. My son had some crayon and ink pen from a sleep over art party in his room and it came right out of the carpet! I can't say anything but if you don't buy this your making a mistake!

Was this review helpful? (72) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ringhappysappy
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Over 2 years of use
9/2/2014

Customer review by tina74682002

5.0 stars 9/2/2014 by tina74682002
by tina74682002
Walmart associate

I bought this product over 2 years ago at tax time. This steamer works! It feels cheap when your handling it but don't be deceived. I have banged, dropped (while carrying and mopping), over filled, twisted it in angles that should have broken it AND had my dog chew up the cord ..... it still works great! I can only guess that some of the other people on here got a hold of a bad batch. Now on how well it cleans . . . . I live in a house with 2 birds, 2 BIG dogs, 2 cats, my 20 year old son (messy), my 18 year old daughter (messy + hair dye and make up) and my 40 year old husband (OMG). Hopefully you get the picture. It cleans up everything! Mud, food, grease, animal odors and dust. PLUS no Velcro pads! the pads cinch up tight and you just throw them in the washer. AWESOME!

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tina74682002
Rome, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Walmart associate
Better than Shark
3/14/2011

Customer review by JaneDough

4.0 stars 3/14/2011 by JaneDough
by JaneDough

I got this mop after owning a Bissel Steam mop (awesome) and moving cross country with no room for my mop (not so awesome). I tried the Shark brand that was over double this in price and found the Shark to be vastly inferior (who wants to be hunched over pumping a darn mop handle to get "steam"?) Pros: This does what it says Easy to use Light weight Fast to heat up Washable mop heads Cons: A bit longer handle would be nice Tank is a bit small. Undecided: The carpet thingy. Tried it once. It is like blowdrying a french poodle. Maybe that's your cup of tea, but yeah... Overall: Great value. Sincerely I had my doubts, but after washing my floors (fast dry too, no puddles unless you had wax build up) with this I can say it works and really does what the thing says it will. I have not used the duster(?!) that comes with it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JaneDough
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
wonderful item
10/9/2010

Customer review by GrandmaMeem

5.0 stars 10/9/2010 by GrandmaMeem
by GrandmaMeem

I've been wanting to try a steam mop for a long time but didn't want to pay big dollars. I have had many Dirt Devil products and have always been satisfied. I saw this steam mop and decided to give it a try. I LOVE IT ! It's so simple to put together. One click and it's done !! Easy operating instructions too. It cleaned my kitchen floor in a snap and dried almost instantly ! I have linoleum and had a few spots that I never got off with a sponge mop. This took them right up ! I haven't tried the carpet pad yet so I'm not sure about it, but the pads for hard floors work really well. I was not dissapointed and would reccomend this product to others for sure

Was this review helpful? (55) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandmaMeem
Central Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
3/25/2011

Customer review by blondie446

5.0 stars 3/25/2011 by blondie446
by blondie446

My steam mop works amazing!! I love it!! Use it at least once to twice a week. I have small children so I love the fact they can crawl on a floor that isnt covered in cleaner but is still sanitzied. I love the fact that animals will also be safe because they're not getting cleaner on their paws and then licking it. I think this product is a must especially if someone has children. Plus the fact that I can use it on my carpet as well is a huge bonus. Also loving that it is light weight, simple to use and all the mop heads can be cleaned in the washer. This product is BRILLANT!!

Was this review helpful? (205) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blondie446
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
a handsome devil
12/17/2010

Customer review by Designme

5.0 stars 12/17/2010 by Designme
by Designme

I finally took the leap to buy a steam mop after much researching. I made a very good decision to buy this Dirt Devil Steam Mop Deluxe, PD2000B. It performs so well and looks nifty that i bought one for my Father for Christmas. Once I started my kitchen floor, I could not put it down and did every room. Floor drys real quick, no streaking, heats up super fast and has long cord. Reviews about the mop head pulling upwards on a back stroke are false. it happens but only if you do not hold the handle at the right angle. Not a problem at all. Works great. No more chemical cleaners and dirty water. Drop in the washing machine. Deluxe comes with extra pad and rug edger. Have not tried on rugs yet but I will soon. I think it should do okay.

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Designme
St. Petersburg, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful
11/22/2010

Customer review by Glamorgoddess

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by Glamorgoddess
by Glamorgoddess

When you can get your husband and daughter to both think that they are playing and having fun cleaning you know you've got a great product! Other than that this product heats up almost instantly. It is wonderful and cleans my ceramic tile and hardwoods beautifully. We love this steam mop!

Was this review helpful? (250) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Glamorgoddess
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dirt Devil Steam Mop
1/23/2011

Customer review by Mamabugof4

5.0 stars 1/23/2011 by Mamabugof4
by Mamabugof4

I am so glad that I bought this, and that I didnt listen to the negitive remarks. I have owned a Shark and it did not last one year. The DD is built alot better and works just as good with out the pumping. If this does not last a year, its cheaper to replace. Definate rebuy if this one ever dies.

Was this review helpful? (400) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mamabugof4
Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great steam mop!!
4/16/2011

Customer review by MarineWife1003

5.0 stars 4/16/2011 by MarineWife1003
by MarineWife1003

I have owned the shark steam mop for a year and a half and hate it. It doesn't steam up enough, you have to pump it non stop and the mop pad is velcro and it falls off. I bought this one and it's 20x better! It heats up very fast, the pad stays on, and I don't have to pump it! I highly recommend this product, best I have used so far! Plus I own 2 dogs and I rescue others so keeping my floor clean is a big priority and this mop does an amazing job at doing that! :) great deal for the price!

Was this review helpful? (272) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarineWife1003
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Dirt Devil Steam mop
10/11/2010

Customer review by glendajo58

5.0 stars 10/11/2010 by glendajo58
by glendajo58

I love this product. took it out of the box put a mop head on it plugged it in and cleaned my whole kitchen floor have been using it every 2 days now.This mop is very good and cleans good thanks

Was this review helpful? (55) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
glendajo58
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 501 total reviews
1-20 of 501 reviews