Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 571 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

571 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

571 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
285
4 stars
110
3 stars
39
2 stars
22
1 stars
115
1-20 of 507 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 507 total reviews
1-20 of 507 reviews
Extremely good at regularly cleaning tile and linoleum floors for 3 years BUT no steam out of the bottom any more
8/24/2015

Customer review by elizabethB

4.0 stars 8/24/2015 by elizabethB
by elizabethB

I recently moved house and the Dirt Devil stood upright in a corner of my kitchen (without a pad attached) for two months. This morning, I filled it with distilled water and plugged it in, ready to clean my kitchen floor. Light was on, I could hear gurgling from the tank as the water heated, but no steam came out of the BOTTOM of the machine (pad was dry) - only a small amount where the stick handle meets the cleaning head. First time this machine has ever let me down. Unable to find specific help for this online, and currently waiting for a callback from the Dirt Devil customer service#. Can I unscrew the faceplate from the cleaning head? Could there be mineral buildup and, if so, how do I remove it? Has something corroded inside the cleaning head, and can I fix it? I hope that DD customer service is able to help ..... we'll see. Until this morning would have given this steamer an Excellent rating, but if buying a new one is the only advice I receive from DD, the overwhelming number of very negative reviews I'm seeing is cause for concern.

elizabethB
Orlando, FL, United States
Disappointing
11/27/2016

Customer review by ladyroxy

1.0 stars 11/27/2016 by ladyroxy
by ladyroxy

Thought I would try this steam mop after my other steam mop which lasted 10 years stopped working. This steamed for about 4mins and I was very impressed how fast is was to clean my floors....then it stopped steaming and just hummed. Never came on again. checked everything and proper water level. This is getting packed up and returned to the store. Poor quality for sure!

ladyroxy
Milton, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
stop working less than a year...i did love it:(
8/30/2016

Customer review by charlieLee

3.0 stars 8/30/2016 by charlieLee
by charlieLee

worked great while it worked. went to use it 1 day and the lights came on but it would not steam,,,really sucks. I will not buy 1 every few months

charlieLee
NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Leaves a film...even with distilled water.
7/4/2016

Customer review by Pmta

1.0 stars 7/4/2016 by Pmta
by Pmta

I bought this a year ago and have never had good luck with it. At first, I thought I just had a really dirty house!! It kept leaving a film and streaks from day one, but I thought it was from the Swiffer Wet Wipe cleaner I had used before this. Now, I realize that it just does this! I followed the recommended usage of distilled water from the onset but it didn't make a difference. I'm done with it.

Pmta
Cambridge, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sad in Cincy
4/19/2015

Customer review by janjan

1.0 stars 4/19/2015 by janjan
by janjan

I purchased this product a year ago I read some of the reviews not all good, but I thought maybe some of them were wrong, fool me once shame on you, you described your product as being this tremendous power steam cleaner, after 4 uses it has stopped working completely, no steam, no nothing, it was wonderful in those first 4 uses but now is the time that I really need it the most because of a badback so mopping is extremely painfully. I can in all honesty not recommend your product to anyone, I should have heeded the advice and been a more vigilant shopper, but I thought all these reviews could not be wrong, shame on me. I will never ever buy any dirt devil products again. SHAME, SHAME, SHAME ON YOU FOR MAKING SUCH AN INFERIOR PRODUCT.

janjan
Cincinnati, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
Rubbish
6/27/2016

Customer review by Susanob16

1.0 stars 6/27/2016 by Susanob16
by Susanob16

This is the second mop I have purchased and both have broke. After a few weeks the mop stop produces steam same happened to both . Sadly I have lost my receipt so am stuck with it . Will never purchase this make again!

Susanob16
Uk
Would recommend to a friend? No
Replacement
6/11/2016

Customer review by Hammer 2

5.0 stars 6/11/2016 by Hammer 2
by Hammer 2

After having a problem with the first unit, Dirt Devil made it easy to get a replacement for the faulty machine. I wish to thank them for that. It makes it nice when a company does the right thing like Dirt Devil. Bless you! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Hammer 2
Bay City, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Broken out of the box.
5/17/2016

Customer review by Phillyboy0726

1.0 stars 5/17/2016 by Phillyboy0726
by Phillyboy0726

Bought this at Walmart yesterday, returned immediately to the store since it wouldn't heat up and steam. Got the new one back home and it steamed for maybe 15 minutes before it started to make a loud clicking noise and quit. The green light stays on but the mop will not steam. Now I am stuck with a glorified swiffer duster. Sad!!!

Phillyboy0726
Atlanta, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Steamer mop
5/1/2016

Customer review by road service

2.0 stars 5/1/2016 by road service
by road service

Retired service tech. and do not recommend this product for the following reason. Used it apprrx. 5 times and I dropped it! No big deal, I thought! I will order replacement part and all will be "good". Surprise!! Part that I broke comes apart but you cannot purchase this part. Next purchase of anything will have to come with a complete parts list availability, if not, it with be a no sale!!

road service
PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Carpet? does it work?
6/11/2016

Customer review by kailovelady

4.0 stars 6/11/2016 by kailovelady
by kailovelady

Has anyone used it on carpet like is says you can ? What were the results? Thanks [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

kailovelady
I thought it was great...
4/6/2016

Customer review by sk12

1.0 stars 4/6/2016 by sk12
by sk12

This was our first steam mop, and it was the greatest thing I thought, saved so much time and energy to clean the wooden floor. We kept great maintance and wash the cloth each time. But after less than 5 uses, the machine failed, light & sound was on, but no steam. I didn't expect to be researching on another brand so soon, I was disappointed as we had other great experience with Dirt Devil before.....

sk12
Would recommend to a friend? No
Really, Really Hard To Push!
4/14/2016

Customer review by UnhappyHome

1.0 stars 4/14/2016 by UnhappyHome
by UnhappyHome

Got this about 2 months ago to replace a steam mop that 'exploded' (the head blew off because the inlet was clogged). The old mop (when it worked) was easy to push over our laminated flooring. This one is a BEAR! Really hard to push and it leaves streaks all over the floor (we only use water in the steam mop). Not at all happy with this product.

UnhappyHome
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worked twice and died! DO NOT BUY THIS!
10/19/2015

Customer review by Tinapuppy

1.0 stars 10/19/2015 by Tinapuppy
by Tinapuppy

I read the reviews and thought it can't be that bad. Well, it is. I used twice. Third try it gets hot at the base where it connects to the steamer head, sounds like it's working but nothing comes out. No steam, nothing. I stored it dry hoping it would not get messed up by storing it with water. Made no difference. I have to admit that when it worked it did a great job but apparently there is no quality in the construction of this steamer. I got this almost free using my Sears card points but still, what a waste of points! I should have bucked of the extra money and gotten the Shark.

Tinapuppy
Cape Cod, MA, United States
Worst product I've ever purchased.. TWICE!!!
6/12/2015

Customer review by Ole Toad

1.0 stars 6/12/2015 by Ole Toad
by Ole Toad

I bought two of these Dirt Devil steam mops a year apart. First one died in about 8 months (failed to deliver steam). Giving the company the benefit of the doubt, I then bought a second unit and it died just over 10 months after purchase with the same failure to deliver steam problem. You would think that a product's design which is no more complicated than a simple steam iron I own made by Proctor Sylex which is 7 years old and still functional would be more dependable than to fail in less than a year. NEVER AGAIN will I buy or ever recommend a product made by Dirt Devil. You have been warned.

Ole Toad
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Piece of poop!!
4/30/2016

Customer review by Manda34

1.0 stars 4/30/2016 by Manda34
by Manda34

This is this biggest waste of money I've ever spent!! After 2 months it doesn't steam!!!

Manda34
Norfolk, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love this Steam Mop
9/26/2013

Customer review by Pepper

5.0 stars 9/26/2013 by Pepper
by Pepper

I did a lot of research on all the various brands.  Some complain that this one is not as good as others but in my experience it is equal to or better than others.  My daughter-in-law has a very expensive name brand model and my Dirt Devil works as well and cleans deeper and faster than hers.  It takes her about an hour to clean her bedroom floor and I clean mine - solid wood, by the way, in less than 20 minutes in the same amount of sq footage.   Anything that is man-made is bound to have an individual product fail occasionally.  I have had no problems and love the product.  

Pepper
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
Quit working after three uses
1/28/2015

Customer review by Densie

2.0 stars 1/28/2015 by Densie
by Densie

I bought the steam vac when I decided I was buying a house with wood floors. I used it a couple of times on the tile floors in my kitchen at old house and really loved how it worked. It was several months before I finally got the new house and a couple more before I moved in but when I went to use it, it would heat up but no steam. Unfortunately,the 1 yr. warranty had elapsed, but I only got to use it maybe four times in total. Just not worth the money to me as that averaged about $15 per use. Looking at other reviews, there seems to be a pattern.

Densie
Olney, MD, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:3 months
poor quality
1/30/2016

Customer review by Jamie

1.0 stars 1/30/2016 by Jamie
by Jamie

Worked well for a year and then stopped steaming. From the reviews here it seems to b a common issue. Nothing should only last a year. It's the only dirt devil product I've owned. If their product can only last a year then the quality of dirt devil products must b poor. Will be avoiding dirt devil products from here on in.

Jamie
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't waste your money
3/26/2016

Customer review by MIke A

1.0 stars 3/26/2016 by MIke A
by MIke A

Used it twice , didn't even go through the pads it came with and now all it is good for is a noise maker.

MIke A
New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Like others said - it quits after a few uses!
12/22/2015

Customer review by peter20

1.0 stars 12/22/2015 by peter20
by peter20

We used it 3-4 times and, like many others stated, steam no longer comes out. I hear it heating, the reservoir is hot but the pad is dry. We only used bottled, distilled water. I say that because that seems to be the company response to complaints. I am wondering about taking it apart and seeing if I can figure it out. It I can't, no loss - it's garbage the way it is now.

peter20
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 507 total reviews
1-20 of 507 reviews