Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 520 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

520 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

520 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
268
4 stars
102
3 stars
33
2 stars
20
1 stars
97
1-20 of 456 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 456 total reviews
1-20 of 456 reviews
Dirt Devil Steam Mop
1/23/2011

Customer review by Mamabugof4

5.0 stars 1/23/2011 by Mamabugof4
by Mamabugof4

I am so glad that I bought this, and that I didnt listen to the negitive remarks. I have owned a Shark and it did not last one year. The DD is built alot better and works just as good with out the pumping. If this does not last a year, its cheaper to replace. Definate rebuy if this one ever dies.

Was this review helpful? (383) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mamabugof4
Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Wonderful
11/22/2010

Customer review by Glamorgoddess

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by Glamorgoddess
by Glamorgoddess

When you can get your husband and daughter to both think that they are playing and having fun cleaning you know you've got a great product! Other than that this product heats up almost instantly. It is wonderful and cleans my ceramic tile and hardwoods beautifully. We love this steam mop!

Was this review helpful? (238) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Glamorgoddess
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/25/2011

Customer review by blondie446

5.0 stars 3/25/2011 by blondie446
by blondie446

My steam mop works amazing!! I love it!! Use it at least once to twice a week. I have small children so I love the fact they can crawl on a floor that isnt covered in cleaner but is still sanitzied. I love the fact that animals will also be safe because they're not getting cleaner on their paws and then licking it. I think this product is a must especially if someone has children. Plus the fact that I can use it on my carpet as well is a huge bonus. Also loving that it is light weight, simple to use and all the mop heads can be cleaned in the washer. This product is BRILLANT!!

Was this review helpful? (190) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blondie446
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great steam mop!!
4/16/2011

Customer review by MarineWife1003

5.0 stars 4/16/2011 by MarineWife1003
by MarineWife1003

I have owned the shark steam mop for a year and a half and hate it. It doesn't steam up enough, you have to pump it non stop and the mop pad is velcro and it falls off. I bought this one and it's 20x better! It heats up very fast, the pad stays on, and I don't have to pump it! I highly recommend this product, best I have used so far! Plus I own 2 dogs and I rescue others so keeping my floor clean is a big priority and this mop does an amazing job at doing that! :) great deal for the price!

Was this review helpful? (260) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarineWife1003
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
It does just fine!
4/23/2011

Customer review by OakleyGuy

4.0 stars 4/23/2011 by OakleyGuy
by OakleyGuy

A lot of people want to compare the Dirt Devil to the Shark and that's fine. The two basically do the exact same thing which is steam mop the floor. However... both go about it in a different way. This Dirt Devil provides continuous steam while the Shark, you have to pump the steam out with a jerky back and forth movement. The Shark therefore lasts longer but who cares??? After all, re-filling the Dirt Devil takes no time at all and it only takes abot 30 seconds to start steaming! Some reviews on here complainned that this Dirt Devil runs out of steam to quickly... nonsense! It does just fine. Granted the Shark lasts longer, since you have to pump the steam out naturally while you are not pumping the steam doesn't escape. I really like the Dirt Devil, it picks up a lot of crud off the floor and washing the pad is as simply as throwing it in with my other laundry.

Was this review helpful? (149) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OakleyGuy
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
fantastic!
3/11/2011

Customer review by onekidsmom

5.0 stars 3/11/2011 by onekidsmom
by onekidsmom

I sound like a commercial when I talk about my steam mop! I cannot tell you how much I love this product!! First of all, I live in the country with 4 dogs, (husband and son too but they aren't messy) and its gets filthy on the floor! I just plug it in, fill it up with distilled water and GO! The floor DRIES in MINUTES, and it is CLEAN! I have even put on the extra mop head and gone over it to 'check' and it comes up clean! Ground in stuff comes up like magic, and I even had some old latex paint stuck on my floor that came off! No cleaners to harm family or dogs, and the floor is clean clean clean! WOW, saved me lots of time not fussing with disposable pads and $ too on cleaners. It is so nice to start it up, and it quickly heats up and cleans away the grime. My husband put a hook on the closet just for it! The pads wash up great, wash and hang dry. I can't recommend it enough!!

Was this review helpful? (60) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onekidsmom
western NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Dirt Devil Steam mop
10/11/2010

Customer review by glendajo58

5.0 stars 10/11/2010 by glendajo58
by glendajo58

I love this product. took it out of the box put a mop head on it plugged it in and cleaned my whole kitchen floor have been using it every 2 days now.This mop is very good and cleans good thanks

Was this review helpful? (50) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
glendajo58
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful Helper
7/7/2011

Customer review by Ringhappysappy

5.0 stars 7/7/2011 by Ringhappysappy
by Ringhappysappy

I Didn't know what I was missing not having one of these! My son hit the table I had a dark purple candle on and the wax meshed into the carpet, I had a stain in the bathroom floor since I have moved in, I had dark spots in the kitchen floor that I couldn't get out, I have five cats that love to leave hair in the kitchen floor where they lay. This product steamed up the wax, got out the stains in bathrooms and kitchen, hair dye that I spilled, black mind you! I said, I wish they had come up with this sooner! What an awesome product, cat hair clings to the cloth, you always have some even when you have swept. My son had some crayon and ink pen from a sleep over art party in his room and it came right out of the carpet! I can't say anything but if you don't buy this your making a mistake!

Was this review helpful? (63) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ringhappysappy
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
wonderful item
10/9/2010

Customer review by GrandmaMeem

5.0 stars 10/9/2010 by GrandmaMeem
by GrandmaMeem

I've been wanting to try a steam mop for a long time but didn't want to pay big dollars. I have had many Dirt Devil products and have always been satisfied. I saw this steam mop and decided to give it a try. I LOVE IT ! It's so simple to put together. One click and it's done !! Easy operating instructions too. It cleaned my kitchen floor in a snap and dried almost instantly ! I have linoleum and had a few spots that I never got off with a sponge mop. This took them right up ! I haven't tried the carpet pad yet so I'm not sure about it, but the pads for hard floors work really well. I was not dissapointed and would reccomend this product to others for sure

Was this review helpful? (50) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandmaMeem
Central Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
10/3/2011

Customer review by HOVERD

5.0 stars 10/3/2011 by HOVERD
by HOVERD

I'm a little on the OCD side. My Shark I had just was losing it's ability to meet my expectations so I searched online for another steam mop to fulfill my house cleaning needs. I believe I read every review about the Dirt Devil and decided that many of the negative comments were about minor things and not how the Dirt Devil performed. So, I purchased the Dirt Devil. I spent an additonal $20 just to have it rushed (Did I mention I was OCD?). I loved loved loved it. I did follow all the instructional information for cleaning the pads prior to use, which did bother me a little cause I really wanted to use it that day. I was so impressed with my floors after using it. My floors were so clean, felt so clean and shined. Unfortuntaley after 10 days it did stop working (might have been my fault but I'm not exactly sure). When I contacted Dirt Devil about it and told the very nice lady about my issues and how much I loved the steam mop, she went ahead and sent another Dirt Devil to me without me having to follow their replacement policy. I will say the Dirt Devil is a whole lot better than the Shark

Was this review helpful? (51) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HOVERD
Montgomery, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
9/6/2011

Customer review by divadog4

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by divadog4
by divadog4

Originally, I was looking at buying a Shark mop, but after reading the reviews for both products, the Dirt Devil was the better deal. It was 1/3 of the cost and most people who purchased a Shark had to replace it a year later. I bought the warranty as well ($3) so mine is covered for a long time. I have 2 kids and 4 dogs so I'm always mopping. My one dog pees in the same spot ona an almost daily basis so my bathroom used to smell. This steam mop actually got rid of the smell completely!!! It even cleaned in between the tiles so I don't have to hand scrub them anymore!!! I use it on all my tiles and hardwood. It's quick and easy to use as well as easy to clean- you just throw the pad in the washer and dryer. I love it and will never go back to a regular mop again!

Was this review helpful? (37) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
divadog4
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Favorable over all
9/17/2011

Customer review by realturnip

4.0 stars 9/17/2011 by realturnip
by realturnip

The price was right, cheap shipping helped as well. Delivery time was excellent, less than two days. I have had bad luck with Dirt Devil products, namely vacuums, and have jumped ship to Bissell. So I was hesitant to buy this product, but user reviews prodded me to try it. It seems solid, and not prone to handle and "part" breakage like the shark products I have tried. It is easy to fill and heats very quickly, I had hot steam in no time. It is light weight, a must for me. The pads are easy on, easy off. My only two complaints... The cap on the fill valve for the water tank is small, hard to handle if you have any disability. Also, it is tethered on a string so short you have to tug hard to line it up in the neck of the tank. Second...the triangular steam head moves easily, but it needs more flexibility at the neck so you can twist the handle to round corners, go around furniture legs, or angle into corners, a swivel head like a swiffer or a dyson would be nice. All in all, I call this a thumbs up product that could benefit from a few updates...a swivel head, a cord mounted higher up the unit and an easier to manuever fill cap.

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
realturnip
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
easy way to mop floors
11/8/2010

Customer review by RealhousewifeofPSL

5.0 stars 11/8/2010 by RealhousewifeofPSL
by RealhousewifeofPSL

Way easier than mopping and seems much more sanitary. Heated up quick and made my tile floors literally shine..

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RealhousewifeofPSL
PSL, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
EXCELLENT!!!!
3/1/2011

Customer review by mojo2608

5.0 stars 3/1/2011 by mojo2608
by mojo2608

I purchased this steam mop after doing lots of research and reading lots of reviews. I LOVE it!!!! Light and easy to use, heats up quickly, and has just enough steam to do my kitchen floor very thoroughly. Great product.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mojo2608
San Manuel AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
a handsome devil
12/17/2010

Customer review by Designme

5.0 stars 12/17/2010 by Designme
by Designme

I finally took the leap to buy a steam mop after much researching. I made a very good decision to buy this Dirt Devil Steam Mop Deluxe, PD2000B. It performs so well and looks nifty that i bought one for my Father for Christmas. Once I started my kitchen floor, I could not put it down and did every room. Floor drys real quick, no streaking, heats up super fast and has long cord. Reviews about the mop head pulling upwards on a back stroke are false. it happens but only if you do not hold the handle at the right angle. Not a problem at all. Works great. No more chemical cleaners and dirty water. Drop in the washing machine. Deluxe comes with extra pad and rug edger. Have not tried on rugs yet but I will soon. I think it should do okay.

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Designme
St. Petersburg, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Dirt Devil Steam Mop
3/22/2011

Customer review by mammaw9

5.0 stars 3/22/2011 by mammaw9
by mammaw9

Love this Devil !!!! Awesome job of cleaning, floors shine when done. Wish tank was bigger as I have a huge kitchen and super large masterbathroom. But still worth having to fill a couple times to get the great looking floors. Buy this product...won't be sorry.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mammaw9
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
It works well...
6/10/2011

Customer review by NoNameDrD

4.0 stars 6/10/2011 by NoNameDrD
by NoNameDrD

I've been using it for a month now and it is much easier and less time consuming than a regular mop. My hardwood floors look great! The only odd thing is that Walmart and Dirt Devil do not stock the reusable pads that came with the mop. The "shaggy" pad that came with the package does not work well at all. It leaves a mess of water. I'd recommend buying the cheaper package without the shaggy pad and carpet accessory. At one time Dirt Devil offered the steam mop with 4 of the standard pads. That would be be the best deal to look for. DrD

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NoNameDrD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Steam Mop, Not a Miracle Worker
1/18/2012

Customer review by Emily1988

4.0 stars 1/18/2012 by Emily1988
by Emily1988

I'm glad I bought this item. The negative reviews were too nit-picky. I bought this steam mop because I am pregnant and I cannot scrub my floors on my hands and knees. I will never resort to doing that again! I also wanted to know if a steam mop was for me, if I preferred this way of cleaning. I most certainly do! For the first use, it took a couple minutes to produce steam and it made a clicking noise. This is normal. It brought up dried pasta sauce, grease and various other stuck-on goop (please remember, I haven't been able to do anything more than use a Swifter on my floors for months). By the next use, it only took the stated 30 seconds to heat up and kept bringing up dirt and messes easily. As for durability, the handle is a little shaky. But remember what you're paying for this product. I was a bit disappointed that the cleaner head does not swivel. So to get up against a flat wall, you have to turn your body as well as the mop. It takes a couple tries to get used to it, but not a deal breaker. I see no reason that this mop would not last a couple of years at least with non-abusive (slamming it into the wall, pushing too hard, frequent dropping), every-dew-days/weekly use. As for appearance: Come on, it's red! It looks pretty sexy sitting in my laundry room. Features: I like the viewing window so you can see how much water is in the tank. It does go through water rather quickly, though. When I first used it, because of how dirty my kitchen floor was, it took about 20 minutes. I had to refill once when the red light came on. The cleaning pads work very well. BUT MAKE SURE YOU FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS FOR THEM. Wash and air dry before the first use and use only a free and clear detergent on them and always air dry. This was not a deal breaker for me. They only take about 6 hrs to air dry...about the same as a cotton shirt. This product exceeded my expectation, but be realistic when you're looking for any steam mop. The negative comments were very nit-picky and they had unrealistic expectations. This is a steam mop: it will not change the color of your grout, it will not take a cigarette burn off a floor, it will not get rid of the stain that fluffy left on the carpet 2 years ago and yes, this is water you're using...you're floor will be wet for a short period of time after you use steam on it. I recommend this mop if you've never used a steam mop before and are interested in trying it. I plan to invest on a whole system when this one dies...though I'm not expected that for while. I would not recommend this or any other steam mop on natural hard wood floors. My mother-in-law has a Shark (which I hear nothing but bad things about, specifically its durability) and it has taken the finish off of the floors. NOTE: I have not used the carpet glider on this unit yet. I'm expecting it to do a very good job on the carpets-just like on the hard floors. Remember it is meant to "freshen" carpets, not deep-clean them. It is also a rather small cleaning head, I do not plan to use it on large areas of carpet.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Emily1988
Northern Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great little cleaner
3/9/2014

Customer review by baileystreet

5.0 stars 3/9/2014 by baileystreet
by baileystreet

I shopped around for over 2 years, comparing steam cleaners. After much research I decided to try this because it not only cleaned floors it also would work on carpet spots. I can't say enough good things about this little steam cleaner. It arrived and set up was a breeze, used it on my kitchen floor and was amazed how much dirt came up. Then I tried it on a carpet spot and the spot disappeared. The price is worth it, if you haven't decided yet on what brand to purchase, try this one.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
baileystreet
michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ok for the price
11/29/2010

Customer review by Phonecia

4.0 stars 11/29/2010 by Phonecia
by Phonecia

The tank is small and requires constant refilling. The mop is sleek and lightweight. The handle is not very sturdy and feels as if it is going to snap if I push it too hard. The cord is a nice length. It cleans the floor well. When you walk on the floor after using the mop, you can feel how clean it is. I use it on marbel and wood.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Phonecia
Upper Darby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 456 total reviews
1-20 of 456 reviews