Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

71 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

71 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
21
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 stars
11
1-20 of 54 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews
Not what I expected
5/27/2014

Customer review by kevlaur

5.0 stars 5/27/2014 by kevlaur
by kevlaur

I bought this 2nd hand and did not know what to expect other then it operated. Well I have dogs and have had several puppies and many accidents. I needed to desperately clean a heavily stained carpet or at least have it smell better. Well I cleaned my carpet and I have to say it cleans as well or better then the industrial ones you can rent. I like the fact it was light weight it made it easier to maneuver and to go over heavily stained areas more then once. The suction was very good and the machine is uncomplicated another bonus. 

kevlaur
Houston, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Hoover cleaning your sofa
8/1/2013

Customer review by MrsG1

4.0 stars 8/1/2013 by MrsG1
by MrsG1

I used this to clean our carpet and it did the job. Can't compare this to a heavy duty deep cleaning vacuum, though but for it's price, I am satisfied. What I would give a 5 star to is the upholstery attachment. It really cleaned my sofa as if it was almost new. It's a good thing I bought this vacuum first before buying a new sofa. This same attachment however might not be as efficient to use for carpets on stairs. I would give it a 3 stars on this last one. I noticed the float easily rises which meant to indicate the dirty water tank is full. My remedy is to just empty the dirty water tank.

MrsG1
Manitoba
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Decent light duty cleaner for the price
7/2/2012

Customer review by rx

4.0 stars 7/2/2012 by rx
by rx

A good light duty carpet cleaner. An excellent upholstery and spot cleaner. Recovery tank is low and shallow, if the cleaner is moved too fast or jarred, water will splash up and raise the float and cut the vacuum. Otherwise a decent cleaner for the price. Hoover's web site has the following inaccuracies: hose is 8 feet long, not 6 feet recovery tank is approx 1/2 gallon, not 1 gallon amperage is 5.2 amps, not 6 amps

rx
IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Best
12/27/2014

Customer review by Applejack

5.0 stars 12/27/2014 by Applejack
by Applejack

This is the BEST carpet washer. Why are you discontinuing it? It is Perfect. Lightweight, easy to use, and makes the carpets soo clean! I prefer the power brush to the spin brushes as well. I have had this carpet cleaner for years and my Dad wanted to buy one too but we see that it is being discontinued. So sad.

Applejack
Mechanicsburg, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Didn't work f or very long :(
8/26/2013

Customer review by Liza12

1.0 stars 8/26/2013 by Liza12
by Liza12

Worked maybe twice till it stopped sucking up the water. I did research on what I could do to remedy and still nothing. Contacted Customer service on options and all they could do was refer me to a local repair shop which is over 50 miles away! No thanks! Needless to say I am stuck with a shampooer that doesn't work :(

Comment from Ian - 9/7/2013

Hi Liza, if your Quick & Light is not picking up on carpeting, you may want to make sure that the dirty water tank is not seated onto your machine properly. Check that out and also make sure that the dirty water tank lid is in place. This should get your cleaner picking up the way that it should. We're also going to send you a private email just to make sure that you are taken care of completely. Thanks so much.

Liza12
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Best carpet washer i have ever had (:
6/23/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/23/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I love this carpet cleaner. Evan though it is nosey.. it picks up the drit very well... I did a rug that i thought it was not dirty.. O boy was i sure surpise... I love this carpet washer.. Who ever reads this review.. i say get it.. you will be very happy with it.. \i was very very happy when i got mine...

An anonymous customer
bc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
:(
3/16/2013

Customer review by Tray

1.0 stars 3/16/2013 by Tray
by Tray

I bought this today and I am going to return it. it does NOT suck the water out of the rug. Just a few drops and thats all. Im angry. Also it is VERY LOUD! My ears are ringing from listening to it.

Comment from - 3/22/2013

From your description, it sounds like the dirty water tank is installed incorrectly or the dirty water tank filter is clogged. Take a look at the troubleshooting section of the owner's manual. http://hoover.com/file/947/ . Let us know if you need more help!

Tray
CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Proof is in the Water
3/2/2013

Customer review by Again1x

4.0 stars 3/2/2013 by Again1x
by Again1x

Lightweight, affordable, and a very good cleaner. Just did carpet and chair, dirty water had everything in it grit, dirt, and pet hair. Effective carpet / upholstery cleaner. No frills, it cleans.

Again1x
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
xcustodian
2/13/2015

Customer review by wdhamblen

1.0 stars 2/13/2015 by wdhamblen
by wdhamblen

The vaccuum tank and filter seems to be missing a rubberband other wise it sucks the flow bob and stops working and the operator has to clean filter every minute.

wdhamblen
San Angelo, TX, United States
Gender:Male
Bad Ideal
3/3/2012

Customer review by furious

1.0 stars 3/3/2012 by furious
by furious

The first time I used it, smoke started blowing out and turned my carpet black. thats kinda the opposite of a "clean" floor.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 3/3/2012

We are very sorry hear about the issue you have experienced with your carpet washer! Your cleaner has a manufactures defect warranty. When used and maintained in normal household use with Hoover branded solutions and detergents it is warranted against original defects in material and workmanship for 1 year. Please consult your manual for full warranty details and visit http://hoover.com/locator/ for listing of local warranty service dealers for assistance.

furious
oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does exactly what it's supposed to
4/8/2013

Customer review by jimq26

5.0 stars 4/8/2013 by jimq26
by jimq26

Could not believe how well this unit extracted deep down dirt from the carpet. Even picked up pet hair that had been evading the Hoover high power vac with power roller down in the carpets. Next task is to do the carpeted stairway to the family room in the basement. Tool set up should make this quick and easy as well.

jimq26
Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Could be more efficient
10/31/2012

Customer review by savvyshopper

4.0 stars 10/31/2012 by savvyshopper
by savvyshopper

This product does work but it's quite heavy to operate, and seems to work better on lightly soiled carpets. You really have to apply it several times for more heavily soiled carpets and I think the cleaning solution could be more effective. But I guess for the price and free delivery, it's OK.

savvyshopper
Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Don't judge this carpet cleaner by price
3/8/2012

Customer review by Xtralargebigcheif

5.0 stars 3/8/2012 by Xtralargebigcheif
by Xtralargebigcheif

Well, we were looking for a carpet shampooer that would be easy to use, and lightweight. This carpet cleaner has it all. It is very inexpensive; but that isn't what you should judge this on. "Don't judge a book by its cover", as the old saying goes. Well, I must say; "don't judge a carpet cleaner by price". When I got it, it was on sale on here for [$], and I had a 20% off coupon, so it was a bargin. So, we had it shipped, it was not a long wait at all.Right when it came, I assembled it. It isnt that difficult to assemble, as long as long as you read the directions carefully. So anyways, the day after I assembled it; I used it to clean a rug that gets quite heavy traffic. With this rug never being cleaned; I was worried that it wouldn't be able to handle the heavy dirt/traffic. Well, I was willing to try. I filled up the tank (it is one of the smaller tanks, but it is 1 gallon like most home units), and put it in the cleaner. It has no auto rinse feature, since you mix the soap with water. However, that isn't a problem since you can run it with just plain water.With this in mind, I was all set. I plugged it in, and turned it on. When I heard the noise, I was a bit shocked. It is noisy, but it wasn't so bad. Aside from the noise, it is quite simple to use. It isn't much harder to use than a dry vacuum. The solution spray trigger is in the right spot, it is at your fingertip. Not only was that a pro, but it pulled up alot of dirt! The only thing to keep in mind is to make multiple passes. Making even 3 or 4 passes doesn't come near to oversaturating the carpet. It takes more than 1 pass to remove stains. It gets out more dirt in alot of passes as compared to one pass. This uses more shampoo (the cleaner uses alot), but it works well. So, the dirty water is gross, but that is quite a pro. That shows it is working well!!!Overall, I'd say go for it. Even if you have heavy traffic it is fine. It is very easy to use, and it is fun!

Xtralargebigcheif
Binghamton, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LIKE MR CLEAN
3/14/2013

Customer review by Cleanfreek

5.0 stars 3/14/2013 by Cleanfreek
by Cleanfreek

THIS MAY TAKE A COUPLE OF USES TO DO A EXCELLENT JOB BUT KEEP IT IN USE AND U WILL LOVE IT LIGHT WEIGHT AND EASY TO USE

Cleanfreek
Brantford On
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Very Pleased
10/27/2012

Customer review by JC614

5.0 stars 10/27/2012 by JC614
by JC614
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This steam Vac was a great buy. It was smaller than I had expected when it was delivered, so I was a little hesitant, but it ended up by working a lot better than I had expected for a steam vac a little smaller in size than a vacuum. It holds about a gallon of water, which I thought was ridiculous at first, but it doesnt get used up as quick as I thought it would. While cleaning I realized its probably better to only have to refill a gallon tank, or else it would be really heavy to lug back and forth. Also its designed to keep the clean water separate from the dirty used water which deserves a thumbs up. The upholstery cleaner part works just as well, and came in handy when it was time to give my favorite chair a good clean. The power this thing has is amazing. Its never lost suction and Ive steam cleaned rugs in two very big rooms, and its still running like new. I recommend this steam cleaner to anyone whos looking for a good steam cleaner for their house. Its not heavy or bulky, works great, and is easy to store in a closet somewhere.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JC614
Portsmouth, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Cleaner for the right environment
3/5/2013

Customer review by DogCleaner

3.0 stars 3/5/2013 by DogCleaner
by DogCleaner
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We purchased this cleaner because we have downsized our home but kept our dogs. No matter how well trained, if you have dogs and carpets, a cleaner is an essential. The instructions state that the movement of the cleaner during use should be slower than when vacuuming. It should have said that the movement of the cleaner should be much sloooooooower than when using the vacuum. That said, the carpets did come up clean, the odor was gone and they feel fresh and springy. Water pickup could be better, but is adequate. With the AC and fans on, the carpet was dry to the touch after about 30 minutes. It should be said that Hoover continues to use plastic resins that break and mar far too easy. We managed to snap off a corner of the furniture tool just by pulling it out of the box. The unit is lightweight, easy to clean after use and does meet our needs. We will keep it and hope that no more pieces break.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DogCleaner
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good value
4/25/2011

Customer review by cleaningcrew

4.0 stars 4/25/2011 by cleaningcrew
by cleaningcrew

this machine cleans very well. i was very happy with it for my carpets but not so happy for cleaning funiture. when i tried to use it to clean my sofa i was disappointed the spray is very hard to control and the suction is very weak. if you want something to clean just your carpets this does a great job, is easy to use and light weight. also easy to store, works as well as the bigger more expensive steam cleaners, just not great for the sofa.

Was this review helpful? (53) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cleaningcrew
indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good Value
4/14/2011

Customer review by LoveToCleanGrammy

4.0 stars 4/14/2011 by LoveToCleanGrammy
by LoveToCleanGrammy

This is my third rug cleaner in 20 years. By far the best. It's light, but does the job. I would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (39) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveToCleanGrammy
Chandler, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
great little machine
10/1/2010

Customer review by 2lovebirds

5.0 stars 10/1/2010 by 2lovebirds
by 2lovebirds
Top 1000 contributor

i found this product to be light weight which is one of the main i bought it.i was pretty amazed at the power it had.my carpets came out looking great.i would highly recommend this cleaner.

Was this review helpful? (165) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2lovebirds
syracuse ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Top 1000 contributor
Buy It!
5/1/2013

Customer review by Misokewl

4.0 stars 5/1/2013 by Misokewl
by Misokewl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Let's get the noise part over with first. It is loud. Really loud. But still sounds better than a lot of things passing as music now. And the tank is small; you'll have to take several trips back and forth refilling the cleaning solution and emptying the dirty water compartment. But the Hoover Steam Vac has its good points. 1) It gets the job done. Carpet was grimy before, now it's clean. You can see for yourself the gunk that gets pulled out of the carpet. 2) It's worth the money; you could say it's a bargain. 3) Kinda cute looking, blue, modern. Now, here's a tip: After you're all done cleaning, go over everything again with just plain hot water, no cleaning solution. You'll get out any dirt and suds remaining, and the carpet will look and smell fresher. I'd recommend it to anyone except if you've got a great big mansion with miles of carpet, because it's a fairly small machine with small tanks, clean and dirty, and the number of trips you'll make back and forth would be ridiculous. But otherwise, I'd say go buy it. I've only had it a few weeks, so I can't say if it's durable or not. It takes a while to know that. But right now, it's doing a good job.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Misokewl
Tracy. CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews