Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 139 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

139 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

139 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
82
4 stars
37
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 stars
6
1-20 of 123 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 123 total reviews
1-20 of 123 reviews
Great product! Convenient and easy to use!
4/17/2012

Customer review by cybercyndi

5.0 stars 4/17/2012 by cybercyndi
by cybercyndi

The Allen 522RR, hitch mount (two) bike carrier: This is a great bike carrier with a very reasonable price. It held our bikes for over 2000 miles during a recent vacation. There was a learning curve with figuring out how to mount the bikes onto this carrier and I learned by the trial and error method. The instructions that came with the carrier give good detail on assembling the carrier but do not give good instructions for mounting and attaching bicycles to it. I went to the Allen website and watched the videos there but they did not show how to mount bicycles. Both bicycles had to be mounted with the wheels up and with the bottom, crossways frame tube resting on the carrier arms. One bike has a very large, tall frame that measures 34" from the ground to the top tube. The wheels are large too. This bike had to be mounted closest to the vehicle or it may have dragged the ground under certain terrain conditions. The other bike is a shorter framed bike with large frame tubes. The frame tube it had to be mounted by barely fits between the carrier arms, but it does fit. The instructions do say to strap the wheels so they won't turn and to strap the bikes together, I am guessing that is so the bikes don't swing into each other while on the carrier. I used bungee cords of various sizes to accomplish this. In order to lock the bikes and the carrier to the vehicle, I purchased a long cable and a padlock. The cable, I think is 12' long and barely reaches around the bikes and to the part of the trailer hitch where it can be securely locked. I would suggest that measurements be taken in advance of purchasing any locking devices to make sure everything is long enough. The padlock I bought has a wide space, I think two inches when locked, that both cable ends fit into and there is still room for the lock to go through the hitch piece where I am fastening it. I haven't used all of the features of this Allen hitch carrier yet. The carrier will fold down so it's easier to remove or mount the bicycles but I (so far) have just lifted the bicycles on and off of the carrier. I like that the Carrier is from a U.S. company too. The instructions could be better but I figured out the bike mounting. Overall, this is a great product. It's designed well, built well, and is simple and functional with a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (47) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cybercyndi
Northern, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
should have used velcro
10/28/2010

Customer review by 09876543

4.0 stars 10/28/2010 by 09876543
by 09876543

The belts are a real pain. I mount mine in the front hitch. Double sided velcro would have been much better.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
09876543
Lakeland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Works well. Easy to install.
4/16/2014

Customer review by Silva85

5.0 stars 4/16/2014 by Silva85
by Silva85
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

See title

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Silva85
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bike rake
8/4/2012

Customer review by Gr8ImageMaker

5.0 stars 8/4/2012 by Gr8ImageMaker
by Gr8ImageMaker

Great for the price! I did shop around ; ) Well Engineered! Easy to install 5 Minutes Max! Bike mounts in a couple minutes

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gr8ImageMaker
Sedona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Nice rack for short trips
4/6/2012

Customer review by Calhoosier

4.0 stars 4/6/2012 by Calhoosier
by Calhoosier

The rack was easy to put together -- note that you will need two 9/16" and two 3/4" wrenches or an adjustable wrench. (I recommend a ratchet with a 3/4" socket for the bolt that attaches the rack to the trailer hitch.) There was no wobble once the bolts were tightened and it was very easy to load and unload the bikes. During a 40-mile trip at speeds up to 65mph, both bikes were held securely, even on bumpy roads. Caveats: (1) The instruction manual calls for the bikes to be secured with a 70" strap which is not included and which is not currently available from the manufacturer or from the seller indicated on the manufacturer's website. (2) Although Allen does sell a locking bolt to secure the rack to the hitch, the bolt is somewhat pricey (2/3 the cost of the rack) and doesn't really secure the rack as there are two other bolts that thieves could remove. (3) Owners of mountain bikes should note that the manufacturer advises that the rack is not to be used off road.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Calhoosier
Mishawaka, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
7/9/2013

Customer review by Cranktwister

1.0 stars 7/9/2013 by Cranktwister
by Cranktwister

I bought this bike rack to replace a model purchased from another store that did not work for me. I had read plenty of positive remarks about the Allen Sports 522RR bike rack and felt this was the rack to buy. I was greatly disappointed to find this bike rack would not work with my Draw-Tight 1 1/4 inch receiver hitch. When the bike rack is slid into the receiver hitch the holes the locking bolt is suppose to go through do not line up. There is a stop inside the receiver. The distance from the stop to the locking bolt hole center is 1 3/4 inches. The distance from the edge of the bike rack to the locking bolt hole center is 2 inches. There is a 1/4 inch difference that prevents the locking bolt from going through the holes. Note that I am not giving this bike rack a bad review. Because of the holes being off, I didn't get the chance to know how well this bike rack would work. If you have a Draw-Tight 1 1/4 inch hitch, this bike rack may not work.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cranktwister
Lincoln, Ne
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great way to carry bicycles
4/30/2012

Customer review by RocketCityNortherner

5.0 stars 4/30/2012 by RocketCityNortherner
by RocketCityNortherner

My wife and I just recently purchased two Schwinn Pointe Beach Crusier bicycles and needed something to haul them around on. We were on Walmart website and saw this bike carrier and said it was the perfect fit for what we wanted. As it turned out we were correct. The ease of putting it together and it slips right into my 2" trailer hitch with ease. Putting the bikes onto the carrier to take them anywhere is easy also. When carrying the bikes, other then seeing them in the rear view mirror, you would not know they are even there. There is no rattling or noise from the carrier. The only thing I would prefer they change would be the plastic clips for the tie downs. The second time I was securing the bikes to the carrier, I broke one of the clips. So you have to be careful to not over do it when strapping the bikes in place.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RocketCityNortherner
New Hope, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Nice Rack
6/8/2010

Customer review by haroezrider

4.0 stars 6/8/2010 by haroezrider
by haroezrider

This rack is great for the money. The only thing I don't like is you need to tie a rag or something on the rack where the first bike is mounted because it will rub against the bike frame. If you spend quite a bit of money on your bike like I did, then you will have to wrap the bar a little. It's worse on womens bikes, so I mount mine first and put the wife's on the outside. If you have a 2" receiver it is a little aggravating with the threaded bolt they give you, so I'm gonna modify mine and make my lock pin fit it. Other than that I am real happy with it. I drive a tacoma and when I lay the rack down, I can easily open my tailgate. Definitely a great buy!

Was this review helpful? (65) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
haroezrider
clarkson, ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great quality - needs mod for Jeep
6/18/2011

Customer review by Jeep4wrk

4.0 stars 6/18/2011 by Jeep4wrk
by Jeep4wrk

As others said, sturdy, good paint and tie-down saddles for the bike, really solid on car when tightened down. This fits fine on my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The tilt allows hatch to open. However, not quite as good for my 2002 Wrangler. I have the larger, factory 15" wheels with 30x9.5 tires. When I fold down the bike rack, the bottom of the rear mounted spare tire won't clear the lower vertical part of the bike rack. And even it did, the rack doesn't tilt all the way down, so the side-swinging tailgate door wouldn't clear the rack. I'm going to have to grind the bottom end of the rack so it will fold all the way down. Then I'm either going to cut the top end of the hitch insert part so the tire clears it, or look for a drop-down receiver adapter to lower it an inch. I think this wouldn't be a clearance issue with the standard Jeep tire, but mine don't work. The good news is that the rack assembly is JUST long enough to clear how far the spare tire sticks out from the tailgate. Actually presses against the tire enough to make the rack more solid. I tried one of the bike racks from Harbor Freight first, but the construction quality was terrible. Crooked welds and very wobbly. This Allen 522RR is solid, even the 1 1/4" to 2" receiver adapter. Great value. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeep4wrk
redding, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Flawed ginge
1/9/2016

Customer review by BobL

1.0 stars 1/9/2016 by BobL
by BobL

The ears used to hit the pin when the support bar is folded down will hit the bike frame on the opposite side when the support bar is folded up. You cannot use the first mounting position due to this flaw. Not all bike frames are the same, so if yours is perfectly straight across, it may clear the hinge. Other than that, great product but I cannot recommend a bike rack that scratches the bike due to a terrible flaw.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BobL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent Bike Rack
3/9/2011

Customer review by EverCritical

5.0 stars 3/9/2011 by EverCritical
by EverCritical

I have only had it one day, but this bike rack appears sturdy and very well made. It is super easy to assemble and install/uninstall. Accommodates our two clunky beach cruiser bikes pretty well. Great value for the price!

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EverCritical
Vista, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Bike Hitch Delivers Function and Value
8/2/2010

Customer review by rt128

5.0 stars 8/2/2010 by rt128
by rt128

This bike hitch works flawlessly - easy to assemble - easy to attach or remove from car hitch. Solid construction and quality parts. Easily swings out of way when I need to lift the tail on our SUV. Why pay a LOT more for name brands of competing products on the market when this product provides the same acceptable levels of quality and functionality at less than 1/2 the price?

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rt128
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Champagne taste bike rack for beer budget riders
8/19/2014

Customer review by Boomshacka

5.0 stars 8/19/2014 by Boomshacka
by Boomshacka
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I visited my local bike shop and they didn't have a single bike rack there for under $250. I asked if there was such a thing as a cheap bike rack and they said there wasn't really. After shopping around on Craigslist and REI and discount websites for a few weeks, I was starting to believe they were right. Then I found this one on Walmart's site on sale for $62. I jumped right on it and shipped site-to-store. My husband installed it quickly, in less than an hour. It doesn't wobble at all and we've already used it around town in a highly trafficked area and on interstates 4 times. It's a little tough to seat my Elektra Townie in the slots properly - the rack did scratch up the finish a bit, but we managed to fix it by placing electrical tape and bubble wrap over a few spots. My son's bike fits perfectly and didn't have those issues. I would have no reservations about driving our bikes cross country with this rack. Good luck with your purchase - I hope this helped!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Boomshacka
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Seems good for the price
8/19/2015

Customer review by benjaminlately

5.0 stars 8/19/2015 by benjaminlately
by benjaminlately

I've driven over 2000 miles with two mountain bikes back of my car (14 Forester XT & 2" Curt hitch) Nothing touches the car, but it is a good idea to bike lock the wheels together so the wind can't catch the bike tire closest to the car and force it into the back of the car. This rack seems to do the job and once you get the hang of loading it you will save all kinds of time not having to break your bikes down to fit them in your car(and it's cleaner) I even left my bikes locked to it in Chicago for two days(took the unlocked parts off the bikes to make them look like they had already been robbed). Everything stayed on there so again not to bad. If I did it again I would buy some special nuts so you couldn't get the rack apart. One complaint... I did touch up a couple of spots that started to rust after the first use were I drove in the rain. I always have rust primer and flat black spray paint on hand so it wasn't a big deal, but if you are the kind of person that expects high quality metal this product probably isn't for you. I would keep it inside when not in use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
benjaminlately
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great
6/18/2010

Customer review by MarcJ

4.0 stars 6/18/2010 by MarcJ
by MarcJ

A great simple Bike carrier. Why spend more for a name brand bike rack when this one does the job. Make sure you buy the 70 inch straps to go with it. Wal Mart does not sell them but Allens Website will steer you in the right direction.

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarcJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A good multi-use device
3/16/2011

Customer review by CountryHam

5.0 stars 3/16/2011 by CountryHam
by CountryHam

As a Ham Radio operator involved in emergency communications, often involving mobile responses to remote locations, this rack has some interesting possibilities! This bike rack is well constructed of strong materials and, because of its tilt-over design, has the potential for easy conversion to an emergency/mobile antenna mounting system for a variety of antenna configurations. Simply unbolt the bicycle mounting bars and replace with a similar length of square stock that has been equipped with mounting hardware for your desired antenna. Or, if a variety of smaller whip antennas are required, they can be attached to the bicycle mounting bars with mirror-mounts or U-bolts. The tilt feature of the rack solves many of the problems encountered with rigid receiver-connected devices. Also, when ordering, one should strongly consider ordering the "500L Locking Hitch Pin" for securing the mount to the vehicle's 2" receiver as other security pins may not work properly because of size problems. I hope that Walmart will consider carrying this useful adjunct.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CountryHam
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good item...could be better?
5/3/2012

Customer review by SBLNJ

2.0 stars 5/3/2012 by SBLNJ
by SBLNJ

Have only used this three times so far. On the second time as I was tightening down the web strap that holds the bike to the rack, the plastic clip that holds the strap together broke apart. It is the only way to secure the bike, so I'll have to look to buy a short replacement web strap someplace.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SBLNJ
Holds bike as intended
11/21/2015

Customer review by Pk425

5.0 stars 11/21/2015 by Pk425
by Pk425

I am excited that it has tilt capabilities so I am able to tilt the bike rack away from my cargo door to gain entry to my vehicle.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pk425
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/27/2011

Customer review by papamini

4.0 stars 12/27/2011 by papamini
by papamini

This is the first bike carrier I have owned, so I can't compare to any others. It is built well, goes together with bolts, so very easy for a thief to remove with a wrench. You need a sponge or piece of foam to strap to the upright where the first bike is placed to keep from scratching the finish on the bike. I used a bungee cord to strap the wheels to the upright to keep them from turning. The anti wobble bolt needs to be tightned hard to keep the carrier from wobbling on the 2 inch receiver. It does what I expected, takes my bikes where I want to go and at a decent price. Just wish it was anti theft proof. Use a locking chain on the bikes and run through the receiver if you can't keep it in sight at the gas station or restaurant.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
papamini
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Bike Rack
5/2/2011

Customer review by rlwalkr

5.0 stars 5/2/2011 by rlwalkr
by rlwalkr

Good stronbg product. Easy to set up and use. Already has the 2" adapter, nothing else to buy. Fits over my Rav4 tire, without extension.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rlwalkr
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 123 total reviews
1-20 of 123 reviews