Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 131 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

131 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

5 stars
77
4 stars
35
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 stars
5
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 115 total reviews
Nice Rack
6/8/2010

Customer review by haroezrider

4.0 stars by haroezrider

This rack is great for the money. The only thing I don't like is you need to tie a rag or something on the rack where the first bike is mounted because it will rub against the bike frame. If you spend quite a bit of money on your bike like I did, then you will have to wrap the bar a little. It's worse on womens bikes, so I mount mine first and put the wife's on the outside. If you have a 2" receiver it is a little aggravating with the threaded bolt they give you, so I'm gonna modify mine and make my lock pin fit it. Other than that I am real happy with it. I drive a tacoma and when I lay the rack down, I can easily open my tailgate. Definitely a great buy!

Was this review helpful? (58) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
haroezrider
clarkson, ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product! Convenient and easy to use!
4/17/2012

Customer review by cybercyndi

5.0 stars by cybercyndi

The Allen 522RR, hitch mount (two) bike carrier: This is a great bike carrier with a very reasonable price. It held our bikes for over 2000 miles during a recent vacation. There was a learning curve with figuring out how to mount the bikes onto this carrier and I learned by the trial and error method. The instructions that came with the carrier give good detail on assembling the carrier but do not give good instructions for mounting and attaching bicycles to it. I went to the Allen website and watched the videos there but they did not show how to mount bicycles. Both bicycles had to be mounted with the wheels up and with the bottom, crossways frame tube resting on the carrier arms. One bike has a very large, tall frame that measures 34" from the ground to the top tube. The wheels are large too. This bike had to be mounted closest to the vehicle or it may have dragged the ground under certain terrain conditions. The other bike is a shorter framed bike with large frame tubes. The frame tube it had to be mounted by barely fits between the carrier arms, but it does fit. The instructions do say to strap the wheels so they won't turn and to strap the bikes together, I am guessing that is so the bikes don't swing into each other while on the carrier. I used bungee cords of various sizes to accomplish this. In order to lock the bikes and the carrier to the vehicle, I purchased a long cable and a padlock. The cable, I think is 12' long and barely reaches around the bikes and to the part of the trailer hitch where it can be securely locked. I would suggest that measurements be taken in advance of purchasing any locking devices to make sure everything is long enough. The padlock I bought has a wide space, I think two inches when locked, that both cable ends fit into and there is still room for the lock to go through the hitch piece where I am fastening it. I haven't used all of the features of this Allen hitch carrier yet. The carrier will fold down so it's easier to remove or mount the bicycles but I (so far) have just lifted the bicycles on and off of the carrier. I like that the Carrier is from a U.S. company too. The instructions could be better but I figured out the bike mounting. Overall, this is a great product. It's designed well, built well, and is simple and functional with a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cybercyndi
Northern, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent Bike Rack
3/9/2011

Customer review by EverCritical

5.0 stars by EverCritical

I have only had it one day, but this bike rack appears sturdy and very well made. It is super easy to assemble and install/uninstall. Accommodates our two clunky beach cruiser bikes pretty well. Great value for the price!

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
EverCritical
Vista, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Bike Hitch Delivers Function and Value
8/2/2010

Customer review by rt128

5.0 stars by rt128

This bike hitch works flawlessly - easy to assemble - easy to attach or remove from car hitch. Solid construction and quality parts. Easily swings out of way when I need to lift the tail on our SUV. Why pay a LOT more for name brands of competing products on the market when this product provides the same acceptable levels of quality and functionality at less than 1/2 the price?

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
rt128
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great
6/18/2010

Customer review by MarcJ

4.0 stars by MarcJ

A great simple Bike carrier. Why spend more for a name brand bike rack when this one does the job. Make sure you buy the 70 inch straps to go with it. Wal Mart does not sell them but Allens Website will steer you in the right direction.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MarcJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/9/2013

Customer review by Cranktwister

1.0 stars by Cranktwister

I bought this bike rack to replace a model purchased from another store that did not work for me. I had read plenty of positive remarks about the Allen Sports 522RR bike rack and felt this was the rack to buy. I was greatly disappointed to find this bike rack would not work with my Draw-Tight 1 1/4 inch receiver hitch. When the bike rack is slid into the receiver hitch the holes the locking bolt is suppose to go through do not line up. There is a stop inside the receiver. The distance from the stop to the locking bolt hole center is 1 3/4 inches. The distance from the edge of the bike rack to the locking bolt hole center is 2 inches. There is a 1/4 inch difference that prevents the locking bolt from going through the holes. Note that I am not giving this bike rack a bad review. Because of the holes being off, I didn't get the chance to know how well this bike rack would work. If you have a Draw-Tight 1 1/4 inch hitch, this bike rack may not work.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Cranktwister
Lincoln, Ne
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great way to carry bicycles
4/30/2012

Customer review by RocketCityNortherner

5.0 stars by RocketCityNortherner

My wife and I just recently purchased two Schwinn Pointe Beach Crusier bicycles and needed something to haul them around on. We were on Walmart website and saw this bike carrier and said it was the perfect fit for what we wanted. As it turned out we were correct. The ease of putting it together and it slips right into my 2" trailer hitch with ease. Putting the bikes onto the carrier to take them anywhere is easy also. When carrying the bikes, other then seeing them in the rear view mirror, you would not know they are even there. There is no rattling or noise from the carrier. The only thing I would prefer they change would be the plastic clips for the tie downs. The second time I was securing the bikes to the carrier, I broke one of the clips. So you have to be careful to not over do it when strapping the bikes in place.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RocketCityNortherner
New Hope, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Nice rack for short trips
4/6/2012

Customer review by Calhoosier

4.0 stars by Calhoosier

The rack was easy to put together -- note that you will need two 9/16" and two 3/4" wrenches or an adjustable wrench. (I recommend a ratchet with a 3/4" socket for the bolt that attaches the rack to the trailer hitch.) There was no wobble once the bolts were tightened and it was very easy to load and unload the bikes. During a 40-mile trip at speeds up to 65mph, both bikes were held securely, even on bumpy roads. Caveats: (1) The instruction manual calls for the bikes to be secured with a 70" strap which is not included and which is not currently available from the manufacturer or from the seller indicated on the manufacturer's website. (2) Although Allen does sell a locking bolt to secure the rack to the hitch, the bolt is somewhat pricey (2/3 the cost of the rack) and doesn't really secure the rack as there are two other bolts that thieves could remove. (3) Owners of mountain bikes should note that the manufacturer advises that the rack is not to be used off road.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Calhoosier
Mishawaka, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good item...could be better?
5/3/2012

Customer review by SBLNJ

2.0 stars by SBLNJ

Have only used this three times so far. On the second time as I was tightening down the web strap that holds the bike to the rack, the plastic clip that holds the strap together broke apart. It is the only way to secure the bike, so I'll have to look to buy a short replacement web strap someplace.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SBLNJ
Great quality - needs mod for Jeep
6/18/2011

Customer review by Jeep4wrk

4.0 stars by Jeep4wrk

As others said, sturdy, good paint and tie-down saddles for the bike, really solid on car when tightened down. This fits fine on my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The tilt allows hatch to open. However, not quite as good for my 2002 Wrangler. I have the larger, factory 15" wheels with 30x9.5 tires. When I fold down the bike rack, the bottom of the rear mounted spare tire won't clear the lower vertical part of the bike rack. And even it did, the rack doesn't tilt all the way down, so the side-swinging tailgate door wouldn't clear the rack. I'm going to have to grind the bottom end of the rack so it will fold all the way down. Then I'm either going to cut the top end of the hitch insert part so the tire clears it, or look for a drop-down receiver adapter to lower it an inch. I think this wouldn't be a clearance issue with the standard Jeep tire, but mine don't work. The good news is that the rack assembly is JUST long enough to clear how far the spare tire sticks out from the tailgate. Actually presses against the tire enough to make the rack more solid. I tried one of the bike racks from Harbor Freight first, but the construction quality was terrible. Crooked welds and very wobbly. This Allen 522RR is solid, even the 1 1/4" to 2" receiver adapter. Great value. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jeep4wrk
redding, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Bike Rack
5/2/2011

Customer review by rlwalkr

5.0 stars by rlwalkr

Good stronbg product. Easy to set up and use. Already has the 2" adapter, nothing else to buy. Fits over my Rav4 tire, without extension.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
rlwalkr
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
should have used velcro
10/28/2010

Customer review by 09876543

4.0 stars by 09876543

The belts are a real pain. I mount mine in the front hitch. Double sided velcro would have been much better.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
09876543
Lakeland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
PERFECT!!!
5/15/2012

Customer review by racer612

5.0 stars by racer612

Love it!! It was a GREAT PRICE compared to other brands. The quality is outstanding, heavy sturdy worry free. Would recommend this one over more expensive models. Why pay more for the same quality?!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
racer612
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
7/17/2012

Customer review by Rubdr

5.0 stars by Rubdr

Easy to fit into the hitch and load/unload bikes. Secure too. Have installed some "padding" on the upright to prevent scratches and dings. Overall a very good product for little $$$.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Rubdr
Des Moines, Ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Quality and Value
5/21/2012

Customer review by AverageConsumer2

5.0 stars by AverageConsumer2

Easy to assemble and install. Very sturdy. Comes with two hitch receiver sizes. Cradles do not scratch the bike, they are a soft plastic and the straps are cloth. Versatile; by removing a pin, the arms fold down; by removing another pin, the vertical bar folds down. It places the bikes at a distance that is not too close to the car. My only concern was during assembly. The receiver was coated with a rust-colored powder. It wasn't rust because the metal was covered with black paint. Disconcerting because I don't know what it was.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AverageConsumer2
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
7/9/2012

Customer review by VegasDragger45

5.0 stars by VegasDragger45

This rack is very nice. Holds my 32lb bike with no issues. I took it on a few 300+ mile trips and it held up great.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
VegasDragger45
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great rackfor two bikes.
7/14/2012

Customer review by MrSnowSr

4.0 stars by MrSnowSr

My only disappointment is that the bile rack only brings one size screw to connect to the hitch but the rack itself has three different size holes and the screw only fits one of them. I ended up having to buy a screw that I was able to use with my hitch. I think the bike rack should bring a screw for each hole. Overall the bike rack is really good, steady, and I have taken my bike driven 60 MPH and it handles real good.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MrSnowSr
Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works well. Easy to install.
4/16/2014

Customer review by Silva85

5.0 stars by Silva85

See title

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Silva85
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bike rake
8/4/2012

Customer review by Gr8ImageMaker

5.0 stars by Gr8ImageMaker

Great for the price! I did shop around ; ) Well Engineered! Easy to install 5 Minutes Max! Bike mounts in a couple minutes

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Gr8ImageMaker
Sedona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
GREAT VALUE AT THIS PRICE POINT
8/25/2012

Customer review by moewills

5.0 stars by moewills

THIS IS THE BEST BIKE RACK OF THE THREE I ORDERED AND RETURNED FOR VARIOUS REASONS. THIS IS AS GOOD AS IT GETS AT THIS PRICE. NICE AND TIGHT BOLTING TO THE HITCH.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
moewills
Dundee, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 115 total reviews