Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 50 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

50 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

50 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
7
1-20 of 42 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews
a good work tool
9/20/2010

Customer review by scooter261

5.0 stars 9/20/2010 by scooter261
by scooter261

i work with public saftey in ems and rescue and i have to say that this scanner met my needs in more ways than it needed too, it was very easy to program it has wonderful reception for ex i am in another state than my work, it is a 20 min drive to work and the hospital that we transport to is about an hour from where i live and i am picking up signal from everything out there whether it be city police or fire/ems which is wonderful basically i can hear everything in the county that i work in from the state that i live in which is right on the county line of where i work. so i would recomend this scanner to anyone it is easy to use, easy to operate, a very good price considering it is a base scanner, and mobile that can be hardwired to car or used by 12 v cig lighter, 300 combined programable channels with already pre programed channels like weather etc. hey i couldnt ask for more and for the price its wonderful trust me buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you cant go wrong. i have yet to have anything negative to say about this scanner.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scooter261
fairmont nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
poor reception and not digital
2/20/2012

Customer review by ronnh

3.0 stars 2/20/2012 by ronnh
by ronnh
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had this for some time and it would not receive any channels with the small antenna included. I live on a main st across from the local common about the size of two football fields, There are no factories or businesses nearby that would Interfere with reception. I bought an antenna for a vehicle and set it up in my picture window with the ends that glue to glass glued to each other for better contact. So far I heard I marine broadcast and that is it. To add insult to injury I found out all the police now use digital which this is not. I am disabled and on social security so money is tight. Buying a product that does not work is a bigger problem for me as I just cannot go get another one. I have police and ambulances go by all day and figured it would be interesting to hear what is going on. The digital issue I guess is my fault. I should have talked to someone before ordering online. But in reality if the digital works like this one I would still be out the money.

ronnh
Rochester, NH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:3 months
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A very helpful product
10/6/2010

Customer review by helpmeshopatWalMart

5.0 stars 10/6/2010 by helpmeshopatWalMart
by helpmeshopatWalMart

This is a good Scanner it picks up things a long ways off, when you first turn it on and set the band you want to scan. the scanner might stop on a Frequency that is just static if you lock that one out the scanner will go look for other things to pick up. I am Going to buy another one for my Son, or I might just keep it and put it in my car.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
helpmeshopatWalMart
Ivey, GA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
An Awesome Scanner!!!
10/9/2010

Customer review by RiverCoyote

5.0 stars 10/9/2010 by RiverCoyote
by RiverCoyote

This scanner is AWESOME! Great reception and superb band coverage! As far as plugging it in and turning it on...it does require some time to become familiar with the controls and settings. Programming individual frequencies can be tricky, but a "Programming for Dummies" step-by-step is available directly from the manufacturer via email at no cost to you. This is really a GREAT scanner that definitely has exceeded my expectations! This is also the best price you will find! Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RiverCoyote
Minnesota River Valley, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a good deal
7/19/2010

Customer review by buyitlow

5.0 stars 7/19/2010 by buyitlow
by buyitlow

The uniden scanner I purchased was a good deal ... it picks up the fire emergency bands great and I could even use an old computer speaker plugged in the back for a better volume. On a scale of 1-10 I rate it 10.

Was this review helpful? (36) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buyitlow
Acme, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great receiver, other points somewhat lacking
6/28/2011

Customer review by JohnnyJoe123

3.0 stars 6/28/2011 by JohnnyJoe123
by JohnnyJoe123

I've been using programable acanners for over 25 years now and this one caught me off guard. Even after reading the specs, instructions and reviews it never dawned on me until I received it that this scanner can't be programmed in the traditional sense. There isn't any numeric keypad, so freq's can't be entered directly. It comes with pre-programmed, heavily-utilized freq's that will most likely include anything you want to listen to. Once you find an active freq, you save it. Now, here's the snag. How do you enter rarely used freq's from your local source? By that I mean, how do you enter your smaller sized, local PD's detective or car-to-car freq if it's rarely used? Here's how: first you have to KNOW the freq, then have the scanner do a search in that band. When you get close to the freq, HOLD the search and move it up one increment at a time until you get to the exact freq, then save it. That's the only way unless the freq just happens to be active at some point. The audio is slightly disappointing, in both maximum level and tonal quality. It's not bad, I just expected a bit more. Weak and tinny, even through a nice external speaker. I am still trying to figure a suitable way to use it in my car so it can be heard above the road noise. The receiver part of it is great. Excellent sensitivity even with the included telescoping antenna. It's too bad the other issues detract from the overall impact of this scanner. But considering the amount of bang for the buck, it's a great value for indoor listening in average noise environments.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnnyJoe123
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
good little scanner but
2/28/2013

Customer review by swampfoxoutdoors

4.0 stars 2/28/2013 by swampfoxoutdoors
by swampfoxoutdoors

I have 2 of the scanners one at my work and one at the house. These would be great if you could program it with computer. It isn't supper hard to program but does take time. The antennas that come with these scanners are pretty poor, it has a BNC type connector for the antenna so i urge people to use the one that is sent with the unit until it breaks then buy a new one from ham radio outlet. The reception is very good and speaker is very loud. I do wish that the face of the scanner would not have all of the WX, Police, Fire etc buttons, I would like to see this radio just have buttons numbered 1-4 each button have a 20-50 memory bank and have it where you can save each number button with a alpha numeric name when you select that number. example button number 1 County ****** then button 2 could be Public works ****** etc. I think It would make the unit more usurer friendly. Simple = better with everything.

swampfoxoutdoors
Carnesville, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Best scanner for the money
1/22/2012

Customer review by jisake1

4.0 stars 1/22/2012 by jisake1
by jisake1

Many reviews state this is a difficult scanner to program, but if you take the time to follow steps below, it is not that difficult. I programmed private to 74 channels and still have room for 26 more. To program, know your desired frequencies then do as follows. ~ Press band to desired frequency range. Then press hold and unit will stop at a random freq. # ~ Use the UP or DOWN buttons to manually step to desired freq. (ex. 453.4750) ~Then press PROGRAM button ~Then press PRIVATE button ~Then press PROGRAM button Then just repeat the sequence above for each desired individual frequency. I first bought the BC 72XLT and couldn't hardly receive the weather. The BC355c not only picked up one but two different area weather stations.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jisake1
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great scanner for anyone!
7/15/2012

Customer review by RW1969

5.0 stars 7/15/2012 by RW1969
by RW1969

Don't let its small size fool you (the demensions listed are wrong#! This is the best scanner for the money you can find anywhere! It comes with everything you need for setup: AC adaptor, antenna, DC adaptor, hardwiring cables, a mobile mounting bracket, and even a mobile antenna. Unlike some people, I had no problem programming this scanner #there are videos on youtube) and the close call feature lets me know when there is activity nearby. In addition, the built in speaker is surprisingly loud. The signal is also impressive even with the small included antenna. I pick up transmissions from law enforcement in surrounding counties. I also get a great signal from my local police department and it is 15 miles away. I would recommend this to anyone looking to listen in on anything from local law enforcement to airplanes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RW1969
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Gets the job done.
7/10/2012

Customer review by kHammet

4.0 stars 7/10/2012 by kHammet
by kHammet

I got this for my father in law to listen to rail road traffic. It took a little figuring out but once we got it (duh read the manual) selecting the frequencies he wanted to hear was easy. Good for analog scanning.

kHammet
Texas, USA
Length of ownership:3 months
Did not pick up needed frequencies
7/3/2011

Customer review by pmedic

2.0 stars 7/3/2011 by pmedic
by pmedic

I was very disappointed with the scanner as it had no way to manually program in the needed frequencies and they were not already in. It was a hassel to l/o unwanted channels. Not at all what I hoped for.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pmedic
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
bc 355c scanner
12/15/2010

Customer review by lightnin83gt

1.0 stars 12/15/2010 by lightnin83gt
by lightnin83gt

im not real familar with scanners but this ones has been a major problem. this was a gift that is all but useless to me. there is no working issue with this scanner, the problem is with programing it. if you live in a rural area like i do, this may not be the scanner for you. if you only want to scan a few local channels and you already know your frequencies, there appears to be no easy way to get them programed in. i've had mine a month and still haven't figured it out, and haven't found an answer on the webb either. and uniden does answer my phone calls or e-mails either!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lightnin83gt
hemphill tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
No reception in the country/rural area
8/15/2012

Customer review by Dfude1

2.0 stars 8/15/2012 by Dfude1
by Dfude1

We tried this for a week+ and returned it, rather than buy a more powerful antenna. We live about 15 miles between a significant city and 3 miles from a smaller town, with city PD and FD on a major state highway in rural Minnesota. There was little/no reception, other than NOAA weather info, but this duplicated a weather radio we already had. I had researched various products and liked the price/value of this item, just felt it was not worth the extra expense of putting up a more permanent antenna than that which came with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dfude1
Mapleton, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Not worth buying.
8/13/2012

Customer review by Jdepp

1.0 stars 8/13/2012 by Jdepp
by Jdepp

I could not get the scanner to work right. Lots of static, low sound, also It would not find the local police frequencies. I had already bought another Uniden scanner bct8 that did not work, from another store. So they both were taken back. I have two radio shack scanners and they work fine. So I would not recommend this product. But I would definitely buy from Walmart again. They have a good return policy and most of their products are excellent. I would suggest investing more and getting a better scanner.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jdepp
Columbus, Ms
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/2/2012

Customer review by Jimaish

3.0 stars 8/2/2012 by Jimaish
by Jimaish

No programming required but it does not receive any digital frequencies.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jimaish
Fla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Uniden Bearcat Scanner 800mz
12/2/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 12/2/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I would not recommend this product, great price from Wal-Mart BUT programming this unit is NOT fun. User manual is pitiful, lots of features, that will frustrate you to no end. Worked on it for over a week... returned it yesterday. To top it off, I am a licensed Electronic technician, online computer software support. Good luck, scanning just your private bank of freq's.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Grants Pass, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Patience needed
11/8/2010

Customer review by Officialreviewer101

4.0 stars 11/8/2010 by Officialreviewer101
by Officialreviewer101

Product is difficult to use- you will need to invest some time and have plenty of patience to program and use this product. However, once you find and program channels the product is great. I do wish the volume level would increase. It is okay if you stay in the same room as the scanner- if you walk into the next room you will be straining your ears to hear!

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Officialreviewer101
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
3/29/2012

Customer review by RayBob24

2.0 stars 3/29/2012 by RayBob24
by RayBob24

The scanner while it works well was hard to program and impossible to program numbers with four numbers after period. Will do 153.8900 or 154.8450 will not do 153.8525. A scanner where you program in the numbers instead of picking pre programed is much better. Also I have a scanner that is 20 plus years old that receives better than the new one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RayBob24
Warsaw, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/7/2012

Customer review by SpikeoKc

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by SpikeoKc
by SpikeoKc

I am very happy with this scanner. The price was right and the shipping was super fast. I really like how easy it is to program. It took me no time at all to have it programmed and scanning frequencies. I would recommend this to anybody looking for a entry-level scanner if you are just starting out with scanners.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SpikeoKc
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Interesting
9/17/2010

Customer review by SirenChaser

4.0 stars 9/17/2010 by SirenChaser
by SirenChaser

I love this product. Have had it about 2 weeks and enjoy it very much. One problem is when I want to use my land phone, I have to turn the scanner off, as I can hear the phone on it. It shows up as B1, found. Other than that, it's great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SirenChaser
Chincoteague
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews