Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

35 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

35 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

50%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
8
1 stars
8
1-20 of 32 total reviews
50%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
WONDERFUL!!!!
11/12/2010

Customer review by TwinSquirt

5.0 stars 11/12/2010 by TwinSquirt
by TwinSquirt

This surveillance system is great so far. set it up yesterday. one camera I put in the front of my house which you can see well over 200 feet and the other camera in the back of my house which you can see over 500 feet this is in the day time. now at night you can see but its better if you have some kind of lighting or filtered lighting in your yard then you can see the picture on the monitor clear as day but you can only see 60 to 100 feet or as far as your light shines. but if you have it at the front of your door no problem you'll be fine to see who is at the door before you open it at night. It comes with everything you need all the plugs are included. it comes with the software for your computer XP or Vista I haven't used it yet. The cameras have sound ,That you can control the volume on/ off/high/low through the monitor and thats great if someone pulls up to your house and blows the car horn you will here it or if you hear a noise you can look at the monitor to if you see anything. and if you or someone pulls the plug on the camera the last image will freeze on your monitor thats really good someone knocks out your camera you know who or what did it. The picture is in color during the day and at night with some kind of Filtered lighting or black and white with no filtered lighting. Wonderful little surveillance system not only can you see you can hear no matter where you put it inside/outside your home or business. I still have to see what happens on a rainy/stormy day it does take batteries if powers goes out. I put the cameras 100 feet from the monitor. HSN.COM has the same product for $289.95 plus $11.95 for S&H not including taxes so I checked Walmart.com which has the Best price for me. I used site to store got it within 3 or 4 day, and There is a 3 month return policy which is nice. Thanks Walmart Great product,Just what I've been looking for.

Was this review helpful? (178) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TwinSquirt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Baby monitor
5/12/2011

Customer review by KJHFLIGIERIGFBKSAJUGCLIGF

1.0 stars 5/12/2011 by KJHFLIGIERIGFBKSAJUGCLIGF
by KJHFLIGIERIGFBKSAJUGCLIGF

This product really is not intended for the person who wants to use this to protect their home. The surveillance system software is very unpredictable for recording; my system had stopped recording at times . I could not replay recorded video on my computers video players. You can only record just one camera with a scheduled recording but you can record any one camera manually. You can only monitor one camera at a time and there is no audio while recording or monitoring. The motion detector feature is not reliable to set alarm off every time, the alarm would sometimes go off when people walked by. The picture is good but not great far away, it is hard to make out facial features and tag numbers. The zoom feature is not a truly a zoom but a blow up and the picture gets fuzzy. There are no plans to upgrade the software thru Uniden. The 7-in color receiver has the option to monitor one or all four or cycle thru all cameras one at a time. With the receiver you do have audio and a good picture as long it is not too far away, but does not have a recording feature. The zoom is not a truly a zoom but a blow up and the picture gets fuzzy. So it is a great as a monitoring system but who has time to set in front of a screen all day and night?

Was this review helpful? (50) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KJHFLIGIERIGFBKSAJUGCLIGF
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not a good system
12/22/2010

Customer review by lenucanotier

2.0 stars 12/22/2010 by lenucanotier
by lenucanotier

the cameras seem to work ok, but the small monitor displays the best. But to record the camers you need a VCR that records for a long time. Now the PC software that comes with it only allows to record one camera per time slot and to view any other cameras you have to manueal switch them. Over all this is a very poor security system in the way it works, but if you just want to watch your kids by the pool it would be good for that.

Was this review helpful? (61) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lenucanotier
Would recommend to a friend? No
Won't work a Mac.
9/23/2010

Customer review by Hazelnut4950

2.0 stars 9/23/2010 by Hazelnut4950
by Hazelnut4950

Returned the product. Good quality of the display picture. The software would not work on a Mac. Which is what I have. The product description should have stated that it would not work on a Mac, which it did not. So I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (42) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hazelnut4950
Sweet Home Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Works well as a baseline no-frills camera set.
6/13/2011

Customer review by tronbarr

4.0 stars 6/13/2011 by tronbarr
by tronbarr

Does great as an entry level security or monitoring camera set. The display is much larger than others on the market at comparable cost and is very clear. The camera image is clear enough, but don't expect clarity at distances offered by more expensive units. The pan and zoom features controlled by the remote are digital, the cameras themselves do not move or refocus. The added pixelation that goes with the larger image size barely makes the zoom worth while for seeing details, but has use. Perfect for seeing who is at the door, but don't expect too much.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tronbarr
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Only records one camera at a time.
5/8/2012

Customer review by CoBeachbum

2.0 stars 5/8/2012 by CoBeachbum
by CoBeachbum

The pros: Easy set up (I do mean EASY). The cameras had pretty decent clarity in both daylight and at night. The negatives: You can only record from one camera at a time. (Deal breaker for me). In PC mode (to record) if you have a motion detection set up on camera 2, and you happen to be monitoring camera 1, camera 2 will not record as it should.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoBeachbum
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Walmart associate
Excellent
7/7/2012

Customer review by ooblygoobly

5.0 stars 7/7/2012 by ooblygoobly
by ooblygoobly

I had researched, searched and read reviews from multiple places on this system. I was leary. While in Walmart one day it was on sale so I decided to buy it. Hooked up a camera on my front and back porch. Paired them per directions. Eazy peazy. Very, Very, Very satisfied with it. I have no experience whatsoever with camera's etc. They are under roof but not completely out of the way of rain. I was hit with the 80 mph wind and rain recently. The camera's did get rained on, some. After the storm was over, gently dried them off, no problem. I Even put the quad screen on a small television. I added two more camera's since purchasing this system, it will take a total of 4. The fourth camera I had a problem pairing it. So I called Customer service expecting a bad experience because of various reviews in some places. I couldn't have been happier with the customer service. He was knowledgeable, curteous and I was only on hold less than 3 minutes waiting for him to answer, and he spoke English. Now, I can see when the UPS man is in the drive way, or someone walking up to my door...The night vision works very well too. I also have a 'sound annunciator' system, motion detected so when someone walks through the yard or someone is in the drive way etc, I have an audible alert, then just check the monitor to see who it is or what is happening. I use this Uniden system mostly for viewing during the daytime. And a separate record all the time system for security to record everything. I have the Swann recording camera system with DVR as well, I use it to record all the time. I am very pleased with it as well. Personally, the picture and distance view is better on this Uniden than it is on the recording system. I use this Uniden set for watching not recording. The monitor is portable and lasts about 4 hours til needing recharged. It's usually just left on the adapter on charge, where I am at most of the day, or while moving around doing chores etc. I have wireless phones, cordless phones several freezers, microwave, internet etc. I have NOT experienced interference. I did purchase a new router that handles different bands. I don't know if that's why I don't have a problem or not. I'm just happy I don't have a problem. Occasionally, the screen will flicker etc. for a mini second. Must be normal. I accidentally knocked one of the camera's over when first getting ready to hook them up. It lost it's color viewing. I gently tapped it,GENTLY, til it came back. I don't know how that works, but you can 'knock' them into night mode if not treated gently. It's not had a problem one, since. I couldnt' be happier with this system. I've had it about a month now. It's been rained on several times, and going through this heat wave we are in, without a problem. # it is under roof# Color is beautiful and the night vision is great as well. My camera's are about 25 feet from the monitor, mostly watching my doors and entrance/exits but see's far enough out that I can see traffic coming and going. I can see all the way down the end of my street. It seemed for me, the best view is by placing the camera's about waist to shoulder height. Not up high. I experience 'white out' from sun bouncing off the grass when the camera is up high. but at waist or shoulder height, no white out. Fortunately for 3 of the camera's I could position them at those heights. One camera that is up high does have white out during the time of day when the sun is shining out in the grass. The camera is in the shade, the porch is roofed, but the yard will 'white out' on that one camera, but the porch #shaded# does not white out. The other 3 camera's are between waist or shoulder height and do not have that problem....Can't explain how that works. But hope it helps you. Resetting and re pairing #not as in fixing, but as in pairing the camera to the monitor# is sooo easy, Only have had to do it once for one camera after we had lost electric. We have lost electric several times and didn't need to do the re pairing. Once I had to for one camera though. You can view in quad mode #for 4 camera's# or single view or scan through the different camera's. You can zoom and pan the view as well. I love this system. I can't speak to it's long term durability yet. But so far it has exceeded my expectations. I think it's excellent. I do not work for and am not affiliated in anyway with the company or walmart. Just a happy customer of this system.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ooblygoobly
Near Morgantown, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Very pleased
11/25/2011

Customer review by pennster

5.0 stars 11/25/2011 by pennster
by pennster

Out of the box and up and running in about 30 minutes. We use it to keep an eye on our kids in the basement playroom. Software was real easy to install and is very user friendly.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pennster
S.W. Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product
5/9/2012

Customer review by vom357

5.0 stars 5/9/2012 by vom357
by vom357

I bought this to keep an eye on our lambing ewes. The barn is about 300 feet from the house. I did not want to use my PC so I just tried to hook up the system hardware. It fired up and worked perfectly. Not a glitch at all. Camera quality is very nice and works really well at night too. Picture on the little dedicated screen is excellent. Signal is strong in 300 feet with minor obstructions. Add one or two more obstructions and the signal goes in and out. All in all unbelievable good performance, especially at this price point. (and if you don't care to record why pay for a dvr?) Plan to buy another set.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vom357
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
don't buy this product
12/22/2011

Customer review by christinexxy

1.0 stars 12/22/2011 by christinexxy
by christinexxy

We bought 2 uniden systems. Both crash constantly. Cant allocate the dib handle is the error we get. I am running 6 gigs of ram and this junk won't stop crashing.. Buyer Beware. Software stinks.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
christinexxy
Manchester NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very poor system for the money
8/15/2012

Customer review by wrbred

1.0 stars 8/15/2012 by wrbred
by wrbred

the camera software is a very poor program for the camera to start recording on motion detect you have to set each camera up by the hour if you set camera 1 up to start recording motion at 6:00 am that is the only camera on the system that can record motion in that hour after 7:00 am you can set up another camera on the system to record any motion for an hour. each camera does not detect motion and record it on its on unless you set it up for that certain time

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wrbred
Ocilla, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great security camera, good value
9/22/2012

Customer review by rlocsin

5.0 stars 9/22/2012 by rlocsin
by rlocsin

Bought this today and installed in less than an hour. Video is clear and audio is a plus. Software installed without problem. Alarms when motion detection is activated and has option of alarm plus record. Overall, very satisfied with the purchase plus price was marked down to $189.00 in our local Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rlocsin
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A very good product
1/20/2011

Customer review by pondbuilder

4.0 stars 1/20/2011 by pondbuilder
by pondbuilder

Love all the functions of the camera system..

Was this review helpful? (7) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pondbuilder
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Camera Quit Working after 8 Weeks
12/19/2012

Customer review by GregHD

1.0 stars 12/19/2012 by GregHD
by GregHD

I spent a good deal of time getting the cameras mounted and the system operating. Video quality was OK, but motion sensors on the cameras did not work properly, and have an annoying siren. Night vision is not effective except at very close range. One camera quit working after about 8 weeks. Called Uniden and they told me to ship the defective camera to them at my expense and they would repair it and ship it back to me. -Long wait time for Uniden customer service. Fortunately I retained the packaging and receipt. Walmart accepted the return for a store gift card.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GregHD
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Camera
9/3/2012

Customer review by deb7383

4.0 stars 9/3/2012 by deb7383
by deb7383

Good product, but I just wish when I unplug camera ( screen )I could walk around with it . Other camera I had I could walk around with it before battery died. Have to leave it plugged in to work.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deb7383
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Motion Detection recording Limited to one camera
7/9/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 7/9/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The remote monitor can show any one of four cameras (system only comes with two cameras) or can show up to four cameras (in quad view). However, the Windows PC - Motion Detection recording software can only be set for one of the four cameras and in one hour time blocks. For example: If you set camera #1 to detect and record motion between 3:00 am and 6:00 am. You can not set another camera, say camera #2, to detect and record motion between 3:00 am and 6:00 am. In summary, the system is effectively a one camera security system when it comes to recording and motion. In the dark, the cameras will see insects flying near the lens and will cause the monitoring software to see motion and trigger a recording event, even when set to mid-level sensitivity. Unless, I have a faulty camera, the night IR images are too poor a quality to identify a person that is more than 15 feet away.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/26/2012

Customer review by bigdog269

5.0 stars 8/26/2012 by bigdog269
by bigdog269

this is a verry verry good system

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigdog269
younstown oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great bang for your buck.
9/12/2012

Customer review by GiGi

5.0 stars 9/12/2012 by GiGi
by GiGi

The only thing I wish is that you could watch on your smart phone, and that you could talk to those you see on the monitor. Other than that, very good for the price range. It took 15 min to set up.

GiGi
Florida, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
great product
1/6/2013

Customer review by DrDeath

5.0 stars 1/6/2013 by DrDeath
by DrDeath

100% satisfied got on sale due to the store bought to many :) so price was awesome and works great to watch what thos pesky cats do when you leave the house :)

DrDeath
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 month
for those that want to watch
5/21/2013

Customer review by smartman

5.0 stars 5/21/2013 by smartman
by smartman

If any of you want to watch from another computer from around the world download teamviewer 8 set it up on both computers and you can watch anytime you like. Works great and teamviewer is free as long as it is not for a company and if a company then it is cheap for what it does. I use it to fix computers around the world for my friends .

smartman
ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews