Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 236 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

236 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

236 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
94
4 stars
81
3 stars
17
2 stars
16
1 stars
28
1-20 of 213 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 213 total reviews
1-20 of 213 reviews
Great priced point and shoot
3/2/2011

Customer review by Cheffienet

4.0 stars 3/2/2011 by Cheffienet
by Cheffienet

I am not a big fan of the point and shoot types of cameras but have been having a lot of fun with this one. It takes BIG bright and clear pictures. The 'PROGRAM' mode makes it very versatile even in low light. My only gripe is that I got mine and within three days I noticed a 'dead' pixel on the screen (which is big and very easy to look at at most light levels). I am considering sending the camera in for a replacement but would miss not having it with me. The lens shoots at a pretty wide angle, this was an unexpected bonus since i shoot a lot of nature and landscapes. It zooms in tightly and the pictures are large enough to allow some cropping while not sacrificing content and quality. This camera boots very quickly and is ready to shoot in <3 seconds. that is a huge bonus when you like to shoot like I do. I would consider this to be a great value and a really nice camera, even for more money it would be a great value. The attached photo was three shots stitched together with no modifications. I believe it as shot at 10MP, not the full 14.1 that this camera is capable of.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cheffienet
Colorado USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A very good product
4/10/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/10/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Camera easy to work and takes very good pictures and very easy to down load pictures to faebook, or e-mail. would buy it again. was a very good price

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Camera!!!
4/8/2011

Customer review by Mommyfixit1

5.0 stars 4/8/2011 by Mommyfixit1
by Mommyfixit1

I purchased this camera about 2 months ago. It takes great shots of the kids in motion and beautiful close-ups. You have to hold the camera VERY still for long zooms or ditgital close-up. But the 8x zoom is a huge improvement over the 4x zoom. The battery lasts for about 2 days of constant pics, reviews, and name tagging before it needs to be recharged. (about 2hrs of charging time) There is not a battery life display so you only get a bout 5 min of warning before the battery runs out. The only down side is if you are reviewing/deleting/tagging multiple pics at once the camera will freeze up and I have to turn it off and back on again. The facial recognition is great, it learns faces from different angles and gets better with use. It has a smart option so the camera will select the best setting for the scene/lighting but I find that it is easier to set the scene myself because the camera will adjust to very minor changes in light/object distance, which can cause delays in snapping that quick pic.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mommyfixit1
Atlanta, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Meets my expectations
5/15/2010

Customer review by VacationPeople

5.0 stars 5/15/2010 by VacationPeople
by VacationPeople

I bought my Pink Kodak M580 on Walmart.com. I absolutely love it! It was really hard to find reviews on this product, and when I did, one was positive the other negative. And Let me tell you it is worth the money. The negative review had mentioned poor flash and buttons hard to push, I have no problems. I took pictures last night with NO lights on, and the flash made the pictures look as if lights were on. No complaints so far, Love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (56) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VacationPeople
Malone, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not what I expected
9/30/2010

Customer review by datwuck

2.0 stars 9/30/2010 by datwuck
by datwuck

I've been using a Sony Cyber-Shot 3.2MP w/5X zoom for about13 years. It's a GREAT camera but the battery that it takes is difficult to get now and it's not a "Pocket" camera. I like to have my camera ready at ALL TIMES and the sony was just to bulky, had to "keep your eye on it" all the time cause it doesn't fit in a pocket. I take the pictures for my husband's band when they play out, so most of my pic's are in Low Lighting of Clubs and I like to get shots of the WHOLE room or Crowd. This camera didn't have a strong enough flash and the pic quailty wasn't any better then my 3.2MP. Pic's looked good in the preview on the camera, but when i downloaded them onto my computer they weren't as light or bright. You didn't get the people in the back ground like you thought you did. It was very frustrating & disappionting! I returned the Kodak & I'm now trying out another Sony.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
datwuck
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Great Camera!
7/8/2010

Customer review by TheSimulator

5.0 stars 7/8/2010 by TheSimulator
by TheSimulator

Love the big viewing screen, but it does get finger prints easily! Takes wonderful pictures and love the 8x zoom. My last camera was a Kodak; 6.1 mp and 3 x zoom; it still works like new after 4 years, but wanted more mp's. Have to get used to the tiny buttons, but that shouldn't take long.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheSimulator
W.Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Camera
12/24/2010

Customer review by TheDigitalDiva

5.0 stars 12/24/2010 by TheDigitalDiva
by TheDigitalDiva

I can highly recommend the Kodak EasyShare M580. I upgraded to this model after using a Kodak C653. I love the 8x zoom, which I've used to photograph local birds. It's easy to use and I've been very pleased with the overall picture quality. This was the only camera with 8x zoom at the store where I purchased it... and the price was very reasonable. The Scenes and Program modes are easy to use and Smart Capture is good for general photography. I've done a lot of experimentation with the camera and it's great for capturing images from the TV and in low light situations. I've had a few problems with the video portion in that it sometimes stops and processes before I'm ready! I'm also happy that I don't have to carry batteries around with me any longer. I love being able to recharge the camera and it's good to go for a long time. This was a hassle with the previous model, but Kodak did it right with this model. Overall, this camera is priced right, produces great photos and is easy to use. Congratulations, Kodak, on a great product.

TheDigitalDiva
Waldport, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Camera
5/21/2011

Customer review by Kortick

5.0 stars 5/21/2011 by Kortick
by Kortick

I bought a Kodak camera a LONG time ago, it is the size of a brick, but it STILL works. I got another brand as a gift a few xmas ago, and it was an expensive piece of junk that broke quickly. So I went back to my Brick Sized Kodak. Finally I decided to get a new camera and saw this one. I am pleased with all the features, the zoom lens, the picture quality, ease of use, and it is not a brick. I have found Kodak to be a good company product wise as well for answering questions. I am happy with this camera.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kortick
Providence, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Best camera i have had
1/16/2011

Customer review by Manda

5.0 stars 1/16/2011 by Manda
by Manda

I have a few different brands of cameras but this kodak camera is by far my most favorite camera! I love the pretags how it recognize faces i love the quality of the picture its very good picture even if its zoomed or moving. my favorite thing about the camera is the share button! i upload alot of pictures to my computer to print them off or to my facebook and the share button makes it soo easy! i also like how i can charge my battery and its not regular batteries i can just plug it in where ever im at and charge it! this camera was very easy to learn how to use and has alot of good settings and features. this is an wonderful camera and a good price! i would recommend this camera to anyone! the only one issue i have this battery can die pretty quick.. not like real bad.. but a lil quicker then i would like but i just keep it up on the charge. it could be worst but all the other good things cover it lol :) and the lens is amazing also.

Manda
richmond, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This camera Didn't fit my need
7/27/2010

Customer review by BONITAMICHY

3.0 stars 7/27/2010 by BONITAMICHY
by BONITAMICHY

My boyfriend bought this for me as a congrat on the new job. I took a lot of picture of apartment and upload them every other week. but i soon i place the sd card in my pc it said no picture was found. I use my Job sd card cause i needed it real Quick As soon as i took a few pictures i check to see if they was still there and it said No picture or video was found. So i Bought a new card from Staples took a few more and it still said the same thing. Now i know its the camera Not the SD card. Not good when you need it for work. Love the image. Voice sound was great. And the features for tagging your friends are good. Once you tag you can send them to peoples email. So that would be great. But taking your chance and 3 months later the camera get defected. THAT IS NOT OKAY. We work to hard for our money to be letting it go like that.. I'm now trying to get a refund so I can get me a kodak just not this one.. Overall GREAT Name but NOT a great Camera

Was this review helpful? (0) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BONITAMICHY
Bridgeport,CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
3rd times the charm
1/25/2011

Customer review by paulie34

5.0 stars 1/25/2011 by paulie34
by paulie34

c183 had too many issues to list Replaced w/ m580 with bad pixel Replaced w/ another m580. Although I had initial bad luck this camera is well built and has many nice features. Takes great pics,battery really lasts long, the 8x zoom lens is way better than digital zoom and is built solid! I love this camera!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
paulie34
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
All event, all conditions bargain
1/12/2012

Customer review by Porgie

4.0 stars 1/12/2012 by Porgie
by Porgie

As an avid outdoor kind of guy, I have always admired the beauty of nature. I have driven many people crazy telling them about the things I see. Then, I started using those inexpensive point and click. They just don't like weather. Then I tried mini digitals...but the quality just wasn't there. For Xmas, 2010, I was given the Kodak M580. WOW!!! I started playing with it, read up on the manual... as my pictures became better, the "WOW" factor continued to grow. I have used the video feature as well for my sons football.... again, "WOW"!!! The features of this camera continually amaze me. From bright snow days, to night pictures at The Grand River... a versatile unit to say the least. I LOVE MY KODAK! From an extreme close-up, to a distant zoom.... I now carry the M580 with me whenever I leave my place!! It only has two drawbacks, the small almost indented top 4 buttons are hard to use at night, and when using the zoom on video, it goes blurry at full zoom. Still, a great all-round digital that, after a full year, continues to amaze me!! THANKS, KODAK!!!

Porgie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good overall, promblem with lense/zoom
3/23/2011

Customer review by sunflwerchick

4.0 stars 3/23/2011 by sunflwerchick
by sunflwerchick

This will be my second M580 camera within 60 days. I purchased the 1st one and it worked great from the start; took good pictures, nice zoom, small enough to fit in pocket and loved the wide shots. Then after about 60 days I was taking pictures and out of no where I went to zoom and got an error message. Then I shut it off and the lense wouldn't close all the way. When I tired to turn it back on no picture untill I smacked it a bit and the picture on screen showed up, but still would not close all the way. Then after about a week of smacking it to take a picture, the lense wouldn't zoom at all. I was still within my return policy time frame and I took it back for another one. So far been working for a week, hope it doesn't start to not work after 60 days. Overall I like this camera, it takes really clear photos, it's lightweight and was a good price. Battery life is short, so I just charge it after every use now.

sunflwerchick
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I like my new camera but....
11/1/2011

Customer review by ANNIE4

4.0 stars 11/1/2011 by ANNIE4
by ANNIE4

The camera does take good pictures. I wish I didn't shake it so much because sometimes my pictures come out blurry but with two small kids that is expected. It is super easy to upload the pictures to my computer and facebook. I just wish my shutter would work right . It doesn't like to open or close properly so I need to get that fixed. Otherwise I like the camera. Don't be afraid to push some buttons and see what the camera can do. I have done night shots, portrait shots, action shots (which help with the kids). I do find that if the flash is on indoors it tends to take less blurry pictures. I wish it would allow you to view a picture, zoom in on a shot and then make it a new picture. My old camera would allow you to do this which was nice when you didn't have time to shoot the picture right the first time you could correct the photo later when viewing adjust it and then save it without losing the original copy.

ANNIE4
wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
NOT very CONVENIENT hook-up to computer
1/5/2011

Customer review by DanDE

1.0 stars 1/5/2011 by DanDE
by DanDE

I found that this camera (KODAK Model M-580) is EXTREMELY INCONVENIENT for "Hooking-Up" to your computer. You need to DESIGN & OFFER a CRADLE so that you can CHARGE & DOWNLOAD Photos at the same time so that you may keep the CABLE hooked-up to your computer at all times. You must Hook-Up the applicable cable to the computer to DOWNLOAD and to CHARGE the Camera, you must DISCONNECT the Cable from the Computer and connect an ADAPTER to the same side of the Cable that connects to the Computer. THUS; you can never leave the USB CABLE CONNECTED TO A USB PORT ON YOUR COMPUTER. I find this to be a MAJOR Defect with this Camera and its design. I have found other camer's that have the CHARGING & DOWNLOADING Cradle and they work GREAT. If in fact the Model M-580(b) does have a CHARGING/DOWNLOAD CRADLE, please advise since I have not found it noted in the manual. I am not please with the quality of photos.

DanDE
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pretty Good Camera
5/11/2011

Customer review by AlyK

4.0 stars 5/11/2011 by AlyK
by AlyK

I've had this camera for about 5 months now. It's simple and takes really great pictures. The only issue I've been having is using a memory card that has been previously used in other cameras. When I would go to review my pictures, sometimes the screen would turn black or would jump to a random picture I took several weeks ago. I would have to shut the whole thing off, wait a few seconds and then turn it back on. Apparently you now have to format your memory card with the camera. I've had 3 other Kodak cameras and have never had an issue with switching the memory card. However, I called Kodak customer service and when they instructed me to put in an unused memory card, I had no more problems. I would suggest if you are using a memory card for one camera use, this one is an excellent choice! If you are like my family and sometimes move around the memory cards, this camera might not be for you.

AlyK
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera Great Picstures
8/28/2010

Customer review by chse720

5.0 stars 8/28/2010 by chse720
by chse720

i have had this camera for about a week, and so far it has greatly surpassed my expectations. i love the 8X OPTICAL ZOOM, with this feature you can still take pretty decent pictures from very far away. i have never had a very steady hand, but with the sport mode on this camera my shakey hand isn't an issue, and i love the fact that it has 720p recording, it saves me from having to keep a camcorder and a camera, i can just carry this one piece of tech, instead of two. i would highly recomend this camera, the only problem i have with it, is that it doesnt take very good pictures of light sources, such as the moon, sunrise/sunset, or candles, and if it can see in low light it might take a good pic as long as you dont move, even the slightest movement in low light will blur the picture, check out the pics on the side for some pics using the 8X OPTICAL zoom, its amazing!!!!

chse720
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Beginner
Easiest Camera to Use
2/9/2012

Customer review by grandmaB3

5.0 stars 2/9/2012 by grandmaB3
by grandmaB3

This is the second Kodak easy share camera I've owned and it is far superior to the former one. This one charges in the camera and holds a charge for a long time . It is easy to down load onto the computer and shares easily with friends and family. It has a lot of useful options including a video option with sound that is wonderful with the grandchildren at the beach. It is so easy that I carry it all the time now and rarely use my camera phone like I used to . I suggest you get those vinyl shields to cover the large viewing area as it, like all other video stuff is prone to scratch and make the fun a little less. I bought a case and carry it around all the time. I haven't found anything about it I don't like . The quality of the pictures is great and the wide angle feature has resulted in some neat pictures of the whole family that I would never have tried before.

grandmaB3
Pittsburgh,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Kodak Does It Again!
1/1/2011

Customer review by BoogerBoyMeister

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by BoogerBoyMeister
by BoogerBoyMeister

I’ve had great success with Kodak Easyshare in the past. I own an older Easyshare CX7530 and it stills works perfect. It was time for an upgrade though, so I picked out the Kodak Easyshare M580. The Kodak M580 is a top notch digital camera. It takes absolutely stunning photos and you can even crop and edit your pictures right off your camera! It also shoots in crystal clear 720P HD and it looks and sounds fantastic! You can even zoom in and out while your filming. It’s very easy to use and so simple. The M580 uses it’s own battery and charges in about an hour or two for me. The LCD screen is very bright and can be turned down to save battery life if you want. It’s such a great camera to own and will for sure bring you lots of joy. I’ve only had it a few weeks and have had a blast using it. The Kodak software is pretty easy to use as well. You don’t even need a cd, you just plug it into your computer with the usb cable. It’s a great camera to own for those that like to take pictures on the go, or make videos clips. The Kodak Easyshare M580 is easy, affordable, and absolutely awesome camera! Highly recommend it!

BoogerBoyMeister
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Camera but Frustrated
4/22/2010

Customer review by Mkay

3.0 stars 4/22/2010 by Mkay
by Mkay

I bought this camera yesterday online and it was delivered to me today. WOW that was fast. Opened up box and was assuming that it would take a while to master using the camera, however usage of the camera is so easy that a manual is not needed much. Of course reading the manual is always a good idea. There is only one problem with the camera. The strap has to be put on. I have tried and tried to insert the strap into this little tiny hole and it just won't go. I finally passed it around to coworkers to see if they can install the strap. After 8 people attempting to get the strap on with no luck, I give up. Unless I can reach someone at customer service that can help me, I am returning the camera. I know it is just a strap, but I need the strap. All in all the camera is extremely nice and a good value for the money, provided you don't want a safety strap on it.

Mkay
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 213 total reviews
1-20 of 213 reviews