Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 447 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

447 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

447 reviews | 4 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
225
4 stars
119
3 stars
30
2 stars
20
1 stars
53
1-20 of 369 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 369 total reviews
1-20 of 369 reviews
Very user friendly
11/23/2009

Customer review by favoritegrill

5.0 stars 11/23/2009 by favoritegrill
by favoritegrill

I researched lots of cameras before finally deciding to purchase this one. I am so glad I did because it takes beautiful pictures and is easy to use. I have never even glanced at the owners manual and I know how to use every feature. The smile dectector is so cool. Just set it to smile mode and as soon as the camera sees a smile it automatically snaps the picture for you! The sports setting is great because it allows you to take several pictures in a row by continusly hitting the button. You dont have to wait for the picture to show up on the screen when you take pictures in this quick sequence so you never miss your shot. The panorama setting is great too because the camera shows you on the display how the pictures will over lap so that the camera will give you the exact panaramic shot that you want. This camera only takes 30 second video, but it will play the video back on the screen and also has sound when you play it back on the screen. Play around with the different settings, portrait, landscape, fireworks ect.. I was at a indoor party with a dj playing and strobe lights going and a fog machine running and although the camera's easy setting was taking good pictures that night, I was able to put it on portrait i think, and got even better pictures! Again, I cant express how easy this camera is to use. And I put a cheap set of already slightly used batteries in this camera and have used it for weeks now on many different occasions and the batteries still are fine. ( although when i do replace them i will buy lithium AAs for it because they seem to last forever). The 3"screen makes such a huge difference in playing back your pictures and videos too! I am very happy with this purchase and may have just become a Nikon customer for life.

Was this review helpful? (126) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
favoritegrill
Butler, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nikon Coolpix L20 is "Hot"
12/13/2009

Customer review by Johnsr1

5.0 stars 12/13/2009 by Johnsr1
by Johnsr1

I purchased the Nikon L20 camera online from WalMart. I wasn't expecting to much for $99, which included a 4GIG Card. I'm a camera buff from way back "1950's" and always carried a 35 mm camera everywhere I went including my stint in the army. I have since updated to digital camera's with my latest being a Canon D10 with all of the various lens options. When the L20 arrived I was surprised at how easy it was to use. It has a great menu system and if there was any questions the manual was very easy to read. Within minutes I was not only taking pictures, but video's also and they all came out far beyond my expectations for a camera in this price range. I found that the best still shots were taken in the Auto Mode. I set up the flash to auto and turned on the red eye reduction feature. The pictures are amazing and there was virtually no red eye to be seen in any of my pictures of family members. The video mode has both a record and playback mode, with sound and video directly from the camera, or via om computer or TV with supplied cables. The video rivals many regular video camera's and beats any cell phone video's by a mile. If users take the time to understand how to use all of the endless features that this little camera has, I can't see how anyone would be disappointed with it, Especially for a camera that you can carry in your pocket. The battery life is good also. I started out with regular AA pen lite batteries that are supplied with the camera. After 2 weeks of shooting dozens of pictures and several video clips, the batteries finally were exhausted. I installed Energizer Lithium batteries which should last about 8 times longer. I'm extremely happy with this amazing little camera.

Was this review helpful? (84) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Johnsr1
Wallingford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
EXCELLENT CAMERA
12/16/2009

Customer review by ChauffeurCheckWritingMom

5.0 stars 12/16/2009 by ChauffeurCheckWritingMom
by ChauffeurCheckWritingMom

This is only my 2nd digital type camera and I was always loyal to Canon but this Nikon, for the price, is OUTSTANDING. It snaps pictures QUICKLY so you don't miss great shots which my Canon was ALWAYS doing. It's nice that it hasn't eaten batteries yet (like my Canon) and I've had it a few days and already snapped 100 pictures! Excellent value!

Was this review helpful? (80) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChauffeurCheckWritingMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Typical Fantastic Nikon Product
8/21/2009

Customer review by VegasShutterBug

5.0 stars 8/21/2009 by VegasShutterBug
by VegasShutterBug

Very easy to use camera right from the start. Had razor sharpness thanks to Nikon optics which are best in industry. I was mgr of camera dept in large store in Colorado for 8 years and lived and died by Nikon as the 'old standby' for optimum quality. This camera is no exception. It is a great camera for 'relaxed' photography. It lacks professional features like SLR or interchangeable lenses, but this camera fulfills ALL other needs of the beginner-intermediate phtographer. It allows for special effects to some extent. Bravo! I am so glad I bought one! I recomend and would gladly sell this camera with no qualms to what would be thrilled customers!

Was this review helpful? (52) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VegasShutterBug
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome Camera
4/29/2009

Customer review by Zachsmama2006

5.0 stars 4/29/2009 by Zachsmama2006
by Zachsmama2006

I have owned 2 other digital cameras, a sony and a kodak. This is by far the best digital camera I have owned. It takes excellent pictures for a point and shoot camera. It captures vivid color and amazing detail. I read through the whole manual, and "played with different shots and lighting to use it to it's full potential. The automatic feature is also very helpful when I'm wrangling the kids- it always gets the perfect shot. I am very impressed with the quality for the price!

Was this review helpful? (47) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zachsmama2006
New Castle, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Camera!!
7/3/2009

Customer review by AtomicMonkeyMan

5.0 stars 7/3/2009 by AtomicMonkeyMan
by AtomicMonkeyMan

This is my first camera, and I gotta say I'm impressed! The features were great for my small budget, and even then I had money for a case, batteries (I recommend rechargeable), and a 4gb memory card! I had been wondering if I should have bought the canon 8mp, but now I understand how good 10mp really is. The camera is great with closeup shots, scenery and portraits, but its still great with any other photo type. I'm a little confused about the fireworks mode, but I'm sure it'll be great for July 4th. I don't really notice the motion detection that often, although the icon appears a lot. The video modes are normal and T.V. for when you connect it with the A.V. cable, so its not camcorder caliber, but its still good for me. Also, I tend to leave it out of its case, but it is very durable. (Just don't try to dip it in the bathtub.) Anyway, I definatly recommend this camera, and I plan buying from Nikon in the future.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AtomicMonkeyMan
McMinnville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
definitely a good camera.
7/29/2009

Customer review by Melodeesmommy

5.0 stars 7/29/2009 by Melodeesmommy
by Melodeesmommy

Coming from someone whose owned quite a few digital cameras, I think its safe to say I know a good one from a bad one. This camera is a real good buy. All of these negative reviews I read sound like there is a problem with the user more so than the camera. If you know how to operate the settings, this camera is for you. But even if you dont there is an easy auto mode that does it all for you. Trust me.. its a win win. Also.. for the money, you can't get better features. If I was to say any negative thing about the Nikon L20, It would only be that when you record a movie.. the sound isnt crystal clear. But its okay. Bottom line.. if you are looking for a camera to take amazing pictures.. than this is the one.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Melodeesmommy
Tampa, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Camera!
8/14/2009

Customer review by 79ChevyMan

5.0 stars 8/14/2009 by 79ChevyMan
by 79ChevyMan

I bought this camera at the last minute while on vacation out of state because I left my other one home. I have to say I was very impressed with this camera! It is well worth the money and it takes absolutely great pictures! I have read some of the negative reviews and can't believe they are talking about the same camera. I am not a professional photographer but I know a great looking picture when I see it, and this camera really delivers some fantastic ones. It's super easy to use and the large display really tops it off nicely. I would recommend this camera to anyone looking for a great deal on a high-end brand name digital camera. Well worth every penny spent! With the 4Gb memory card, I got almost 1200 very high quality, HUGE photos. I do like the quality of the video mode also, although I have not had a chance to use it much. Also, I've had this camera for several months now, taken many, many photos and have not had to replace the batteries (lithium) yet.

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
79ChevyMan
Temple, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Loved It
6/14/2009

Customer review by TechFreak09

5.0 stars 6/14/2009 by TechFreak09
by TechFreak09

This was the first digital camera I have ever owned and I love it. My fiance gave it to me for Christmas but I got it on sale so it was a bit cheaper then it is now. I've had it for almost 6 months and I'm still discovering new things on it. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TechFreak09
Ellenwood, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for the money but with a few quirks
12/26/2009

Customer review by MomTo4Blessings

4.0 stars 12/26/2009 by MomTo4Blessings
by MomTo4Blessings

After reading all the reviews, I was leery about this camera but it seemed like a good deal so I went for it. I was initially very disappointed with the picture quality out of the box and thought the negative reviews were right. I played around the with the settings and found that using Auto instead of Easy Auto resulted in a MUCH better picture. I could not get any pictures (even of inaminate objects) to be in focus on Easy Auto. But almost all of my pictures are perfectly clear and focused in Auto mode. The Smile mode is incredible and a great feature and the red eye works very well. Indoor pictures in poor lighting do come out very yellow but I've seen that in a lot of cameras. I think this is a good camera for the price and I am happy so far. I wanted a camera I could keep in my purse since I don't like carrying around my digital SLR all the time and this will fit the bill.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomTo4Blessings
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
pic quality ok, plastic latches not
11/2/2009

Customer review by picturguy

4.0 stars 11/2/2009 by picturguy
by picturguy

Wanted a quick point and shoot for fishing trips. fills the bill where picture quality is concerned. The plastic latch on the battery door is very light for the pressure it takes from the battery springs. The latch broke very early. The software operating the camera it meant for photo neophytes, wont allow any sort of manual operation. focus is totally automatic and if scene doesnt contain sufficient contrast, focus will not operate. It should be fine for a person who just wants a nice point and click for shots of the kids and pets.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
picturguy
central Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not good quality
11/13/2009

Customer review by PamelaH

1.0 stars 11/13/2009 by PamelaH
by PamelaH

After purchasing this product I was able to use it for 6 months no problems. Then, one day it suddenly froze up, said lens error. No damange , I was just carrying it in my hand, had taken a picture 2 minutes before. After researching online I found out this is a very very common problem. Google "nikon coolpix L20 lens error" and you will see many reviews from differnt sites. Wish I would have known about this first because it malfunctioned during a vacation. Contacted Nikon and was told I would have to mail it in, they were not sure it could be fixed, would take approx. 3 months to return and I would have to pay processing and shipping totaling around 65$. (Even though It's still under warranty) For that price I could almost purchase another camera. May want to do some research on this one before you purchase.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PamelaH
Lumberton, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Very poor purchase...
5/29/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 5/29/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this camera with caution, I owned a Nikon L16 prior to this camera and the screen randomly stopped working after about 9 months (and of course i didnt keep the reciept). I truly thought Nikon was a good brand, so I purchased the same camera only the new version (L20) hoping to have better luck and made copies of the reciept :). I also made a point to buy the 10 dollar replacement warranty as well. Well, I specifically purchased this camera for a vacation (the day before we left) and immediately was dissatisfied with it. The screen is blurry, though it is large, it makes every picture look out of focus although it may not be when uploaded to a computer. I also noticed that at night - it is nearly impossible to get an in-focus photo; I spent over an hour and tried every setting possible. (these were very obviously out of focus on the screen). --if you look up other reviews outside of wal-mart on this camera, they also indicate it's screen pitfalls.-- Two days into our vacation (3 days after purchase), the camera wouldn't turn on despite multiple battery changes. I must have gotten a huge dud or something, but since this is the 2nd Nikon for me to buy and fail, I will definitely not purchase another and I would definitely not recommend others to buy this camera. Obviously, I returned this camera. This camera is on the larger side as well. The only positive point i can think of - is that it is pretty easy to navigate the menus and a basic point and shoot camera (when it works). The camera also seemed to not drain the batteries that fast despite my heavy use on our vacation. I took over 400 pics in 2 days.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Camera
7/14/2009

Customer review by hondarider2009

5.0 stars 7/14/2009 by hondarider2009
by hondarider2009

After my bad experience with my Sony Cybershot, I decided to get a Nikon. I have never owned this brand before, and I figured there was a 1st time for everything. This camera is awsome. I have put so many pictures on my myspace with it. All in all, it just takes great pictures. It has so many different features on it, I would suggest reading the manual. I would deffinatly recommend this camera to anyone. Great price and great quality.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hondarider2009
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/1/2009

Customer review by kthiry

5.0 stars 12/1/2009 by kthiry
by kthiry

Fantastic Camera! No flaws...would strongly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kthiry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Great Camera
12/15/2009

Customer review by ShopsForTherapy

5.0 stars 12/15/2009 by ShopsForTherapy
by ShopsForTherapy

Lots of bang for the buck. This is my 3rd Coolpix. I use digital cameras (the point and shoot kind) everyday, and this is a favorite. Easy to use! Great results! Uses AA batteries, making it available anytime without a recharging issue. LOVE it!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopsForTherapy
Salem, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nikon CoolPix L20
7/6/2009

Customer review by Shop2Drop67

4.0 stars 7/6/2009 by Shop2Drop67
by Shop2Drop67

I orderd the Nikon CookPix L20 for my trip to Jamaica based on reviews. This camera came in 2nd for the price, ease of use, and features. I was extremely easier to use, and most of my picture came out fabulous. Some of the night picture were difficult to capture, but I think this was mainly because of the lack of adequate lighting at times, and the reflection of the flash off the sand. Other than that, it took great, clear, crisp pictures and video. My husband loved it and tried to take it and make me use his...that is the main reason why I ordered the Red one. =) If you choose this camera know that you cannot find another camera that has as many features for the price, while still takes excellent pictures. The image with this review was taken on my Jamaica trip with the camera.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shop2Drop67
Katy, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exactly what we needed
10/15/2009

Customer review by riddicksmom

5.0 stars 10/15/2009 by riddicksmom
by riddicksmom

I searched and researched before I replaced my old digital point and shoot. My goal was to spend about $100 or less. I ended up getting this product because it had the most specs I was looking for. I use it primarily for taking pictures of a four year old boy, who never sits still, what boy doesn't. This camera works great for this and more. It is light, fast and easy to use. The shutter lag is almost non existent compared to many other cameras in this price range. It is comparable to canons and sony's that cost more. The ISO and shutter speeds allow for quick accurate pictures. I've only had it a few hours, but so far I am ecstatic, this was definitely the best choice for us, at least until I can afford an SLR; even then this will still get plenty of use. I tested this out by getting my son to jump up and down and run while I clicked away. Also, it is out of the box usable, I didn't even have to download the software to use it with the computer, just plugged it in and went. This has a nifty feature that if you use rechargeable AA's you can plug it into the computer to recharge them, no taking them out and doing it. Nice and handy... Recharge while you upload photos. LOVE IT Plus the colors are richer and trues than any other low cost camera I have seen.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
riddicksmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Deal
1/7/2010

Customer review by Thor1234

5.0 stars 1/7/2010 by Thor1234
by Thor1234

Product was just as described. I bought the camera as a gift for my girlfriend and she loves it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thor1234
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
great value
3/10/2010

Customer review by napabema

4.0 stars 3/10/2010 by napabema
by napabema

easy to use, great pictures, great value

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
napabema
maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 369 total reviews
1-20 of 369 reviews