Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 114 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

114 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

114 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
36
4 stars
32
3 stars
19
2 stars
13
1 stars
14
1-20 of 106 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 106 total reviews
1-20 of 106 reviews
I love it!
10/1/2010

Customer review by Only1me2005

5.0 stars 10/1/2010 by Only1me2005
by Only1me2005

I just picked up my camcorder today from site to store. When I purchased it I was skeptical about buying it because I read the reviews first and everyone was complaining about the sound. Yes, when you play it back the sound does play back low BUT when you watch it on your laptop or tv the sound plays back perfectly. I didnt buy a camcorder to watch back on the camcorder. I bought one to record and my kids to watch themselves back on the TELEVISION. With that being said, This camera is perfect. Its shows real clear, very small and classy. I love it. The sound is NOT a problem if you plan on watching it from the television.

Was this review helpful? (291) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Only1me2005
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Same Camera is $249 at best buy!!!!
8/29/2010

Customer review by lilyspad

5.0 stars 8/29/2010 by lilyspad
by lilyspad

I cannot believe how good this camera is for 179.00. The touch screen is excellent, the video quality is superb, and the fact that it comes with a remote control and HDMI cable to hook into your TV is icing on the cake. The sound quality is not bad at all so I'm not sure why the other reviews were saying it was so bad. The zoom is the only thing that could be a little better so if you need a better zoom then go ahead, spend an extra $200!

Was this review helpful? (73) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilyspad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/10/2010

Customer review by Benjamass

5.0 stars 6/10/2010 by Benjamass
by Benjamass

I will highly recommend this product! It's a great camera at a great price. Great high defenition video! I give this camera an A+++

Was this review helpful? (56) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Benjamass
Sullivan, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Expectations Not Met
6/16/2010

Customer review by TheMojoMan

3.0 stars 6/16/2010 by TheMojoMan
by TheMojoMan

I purchased the Toshiba H 30 for the sole purpose of making videos for my granddaughter as well as making cooking and dog handling instructional videos for friends. The good news is that this camera has better video quality then any other camera in its class. The images shot even at HD mode are awesome. The quality gets even better at full High def mode and the still shot photos this camera takes is superb. It is an easy camera to operate, understand and the touchscreen menu was easy to navigate. The overall build quality of this camcorder is typical Toshiba - very high. One note here. In regards to full HD mode, you will need to use a trip pod as there is not image stabilization feature for this mode. The normal HD mode does have it, but the Full High Def does not and the image is extremely jerky even in a steady hand. The bad news. The audio is extremely poor. If you wan to capture audio along with video then this camera is not for you. You will be very disappointed the first time you play back the video and hear this off in the distance muddled voice. I ran a battery of tests to see if I could make a difference in audio quality and all failed. I loved this camera because of its phenomenal video quality but the very poor audio quality has forced me to take the camera back to the store. I am really discouraged because it does shoot great videos and still shots. In a nutshell, if your looking for a video camera, then look no further. The quality of the video blows the competition out of the water. If you need good audio as well, look elsewhere. Chris

Was this review helpful? (92) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheMojoMan
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
More for your money
5/13/2011

Customer review by dtdNC

5.0 stars 5/13/2011 by dtdNC
by dtdNC

Just took it out the box, and it is more than I expected for just a little over 100 dollars. The only thing is that you have to get a tripod for really good videos. I read complaints about battery life on most websites, but I get almost 90 min. Love this camcorder, I put my more costly sony down because the video is better on this, and weighs less.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dtdNC
Henderson, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Outstanding Product
5/23/2011

Customer review by austin37

5.0 stars 5/23/2011 by austin37
by austin37

I highly recommend this product, great price, easy to set up and use, quality is great, no complaints. pictures are great but good enough, video is outstanding, decent battery life, touch screen is unbelieveable!

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
austin37
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Very Good Starter Camcorder
5/15/2011

Customer review by olygene

3.0 stars 5/15/2011 by olygene
by olygene

I started 25 years ago with a VHS recorder, went to 8mm video, then mini DVD 5 years ago and now to the HDSC recorder. In 5 years there will be a newer media recorder. Thus I refuse to buy more than a starter recorder because I have to upgrade every 5 years. But the HDSC card is the handiest recording medium so far. I use a 16g, Class 10 card and it records about 120 minutes in enhanced HD. There is a noticeable difference in picture quality between standard HD and enhanced HD. The picture is sharper and more definitive in EHD. Also, use the Class 10 HDSC card as the Class 4 - 6 cards results in a video that skips as the slower speed HDSC cards cannot keep up with the recorder. If you use a Class 4 or 6 card and you view the video, you'll think there is a problem with the camcorder--but the problem lies with the HDSC card.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
olygene
WA and AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Can't be beat for the price!
5/31/2011

Customer review by jeff1947

5.0 stars 5/31/2011 by jeff1947
by jeff1947

This camera does everything it says it will do. The only drawback I see is no fading or wipes when you stop recording, but his is minor. The picture quality is great, and other reviews complain about the sound, but I find it more than adequate sound-wise. I bought a 32gb card, and can record up to 17 hours of full HD video. Charging is a snap and the battery lasts well over 6 hours of intermittent use. What a great little pocket camera!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jeff1947
Belvidere, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Camera, But It Has It's Flaws
7/6/2010

Customer review by MorningStar760

4.0 stars 7/6/2010 by MorningStar760
by MorningStar760

This camera is pretty good for a cheap price expected a little more but hey what can i say the more you pay the better the camera, but i was on a low cash budget and well i wanted a vid. camera that can at least do the job in recording my upcoming vacation this week and well i love the quality of the video and i hate the fact that i am not sure if i am able to record with light during the dark, i have tried to see if i can get it but i can only get flash for when taking pix. only and i also don't think that you can pause a video while you are recording so you have to make a who punch of clips. zoom doesn't go far enough, not much features but i am satisfied for a low price HD vid. camera. It is mostly recommended for first time, low budget or families who aren't really into electronics.

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MorningStar760
760,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Amazing, but
7/7/2011

Customer review by Sketched22

4.0 stars 7/7/2011 by Sketched22
by Sketched22

It is an amazing camera, it shoots in slow motion, HD, and has a stabilization effect. I would recommend it. The only problem i had was when i tried to upload to my mac, it wasn't compatible. I had to download Handbrake, so i could convert the video from AVI to an MP4 file. It is free, but takes some time.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sketched22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Camera, but no Mac support
10/11/2010

Customer review by blahbityblah

4.0 stars 10/11/2010 by blahbityblah
by blahbityblah

love the camera, and the ease of downloading images directly to the computer. only drawback is the .AVI format is not really well supported on Mac OSX. found the free DivX player, and VLC (also free), but wish there was better support for Quicktime or iMovie. anyway, GREAT picture, very easy to use. all in all a very good buy.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blahbityblah
St Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great for video.. not so great for pictures
3/24/2011

Customer review by elizaentertains

4.0 stars 3/24/2011 by elizaentertains
by elizaentertains

This is a great little camera for traveling and taking video! I bought this for my trip to Italy and figured I would just use it to take pictures as well as video- big mistake! The camera doesn't show you what the picture looks like after you take it ( like a normal digital camera does), so i had no idea for the first 3 days i was there that most of my pictures were blurry :-(. But I bought it for video, and the video is great, especially for the price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
elizaentertains
orlando, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product!
4/19/2012

Customer review by Hondaluv08

5.0 stars 4/19/2012 by Hondaluv08
by Hondaluv08

I really wanted to buy a camcorder but did not want to spend an arm and leg for one. I read the reviews before I purched this and they really helped. I recommed this product!!! Its youtube ready and you can upload to any computer!! For the price it is a great steal!!! So if you are thinking about it take my advise and buy it!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hondaluv08
Ephrata,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Purple streaks
10/5/2010

Customer review by hurck

1.0 stars 10/5/2010 by hurck
by hurck

This camera had purple streaks in the viewer screen and on the video during playback. Previous reviews on walmart.com and other review sites wrote about this problem. The response from Toshiba was that the customers did not remove the protection film from the lense. The protection film has the word "REMOVE" in red letters in a diagonal position and it was stated that this was the reason for the streaks. Now knowing about that issue, when my camcoreder arrrived the first thing I did was remove the lense protective covering. The second thing I did was charge the unit and take test videos. When I downloaded and played the video back, the picture was horrible. There was one long purple streak diagonally in in the upper left hand corner and another smaller one in the lower right hand corner. The streaks were present in the viewer and also in the video during playback on my pc. This unit was returned.

Was this review helpful? (8) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hurck
Evansville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Good for beginners
6/3/2010

Customer review by ObeforetheA

4.0 stars 6/3/2010 by ObeforetheA
by ObeforetheA

The camera is very light and easy to use. I like the touch screen feature.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ObeforetheA
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
6/28/2010

Customer review by ColonelGaryB

5.0 stars 6/28/2010 by ColonelGaryB
by ColonelGaryB

Very nice compact video and still camera. I am very pleased with the overall quality, and the price was excellent.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ColonelGaryB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great
10/17/2010

Customer review by billsbow1

5.0 stars 10/17/2010 by billsbow1
by billsbow1

Everything works great. The only thing that would make it better, is if it had more zoom. Billsbow

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
billsbow1
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
not as clear
9/3/2011

Customer review by Gormph

4.0 stars 9/3/2011 by Gormph
by Gormph

while it doesn't record as clear a picture as detailed in other reviews it does meet my expectations for a camera in this price range and im quite pleased with it, for the price i cant complain, and it gets the job done just fine for me, if i have time to set up the area the video quality is pretty good and the pictures turn out great, just don't expect to get a clear shot of anything moving. all the wires allow me to hook this baby up to anything form my HDMI port on my tv to av connection to usb etc. for the price i think its a fine camera and your not likely to do better without paying a good bit more.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gormph
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Is it worth it?
8/30/2011

Customer review by LookingForQualityDeals

4.0 stars 8/30/2011 by LookingForQualityDeals
by LookingForQualityDeals

The only bad thing that I can say is...if you are using it indoors...make sure your house is well lit. The lighting on it is not very good...other than that...I love it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LookingForQualityDeals
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
It's ok for the price
6/30/2011

Customer review by Camera1235478560876

3.0 stars 6/30/2011 by Camera1235478560876
by Camera1235478560876

I picked this camera up because it shot full 1920 x 1080 hd which it does. But it has some ridiculous proprietary codec that attempts to force you to use the bundled software in order to edit anything. It is possible to convert the files to something useable, but it is a wasteful and annoying step. Image stabilization does bot work in Full HD, so it is really only useful for static shots. Even with a tripod, any time you touch it, you see the shake in crystal clear HD!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Camera1235478560876
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 106 total reviews
1-20 of 106 reviews