Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 122 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

122 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

122 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
42
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 stars
19
1-20 of 108 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews
You cannot miss this camera!! Research helps!
8/8/2011

Customer review by Luminsty

5.0 stars 8/8/2011 by Luminsty
by Luminsty

This camera is wonderful, you cannot miss it! I've been doing video editing as a hobby from games like Maplestory, etc etc for three-fours years. I finally wanted to make an actual video and film but I never had a camcorder before. I wanted an HD one is this is the one was the affordable ones, so I did a bunch of research. I admit, I was afraid to buy this camera because I heard of a red streak, horrible quality, battery dying, etc. Pffft. Don't make me laugh. Let me explain each issue: The red streak caught me too. I was too excited opening my camera from it's box and turning it on. I opened it and saw the mark there. I thought "NOOOO!" but then realized I didn't take off the remove tag from the camera. JUST REMOVE THE REMOVE STICKER ON THE LENS. I can't believe some people actually returned their cameras because of that. I laughed. Horrible quality was from someone who commented it was slow and bad quality. This camera has features of SLOW MOTION. Which I admit has less than desired quality when you use it but any other video recording is fine. I do not have any use of the slow motion so I do not care for this feature. I have not used time lapse yet. The battery life, I have no problem with it as of yet. I do admit though if you want more than an hour of recording (with nothing else but whatever you are recording in the memory of the camera) you may want to get a memory card that is more than 4GB. The 8GB, I could only assume, gives you about two hours and the pattern goes on. This camera is amazing, if you want something affordable (I'm quite economic) and great quality, get this camera. My favorite part is zooming in and everything gets in focus and it's just beautiful. I was joking around with a friend saying this is more beautiful than what my eyes could normally see!

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Luminsty
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lovely to look at but fails to produce!
7/22/2011

Customer review by Tomorrowsphere

1.0 stars 7/22/2011 by Tomorrowsphere
by Tomorrowsphere

I wanted to like this camcorder, but here are a few things that made me return this product. Pros: • Looks nice • Light weight • Cheap (you get what you pay for!) • Comes bundled with remote, HDMI cords, USB cord, TV cord..etc. Cons: • Camcorder is not mac compatible. • Over exposed video images in sunlight. • Too little controls on camcorder to fix image problems • Software (Windows only) is useless, unless you like trial software. I bought this because I been using a hybrid camcorder that only shoots 640x 480 video...Thought it might be nice to have some HD video. I was just using the 720p setting, since 1080p is a storage hog. I had the camera less than a day and tried to figure out why this camcorder could not handle a bright sunny day. All video shot was over exposed to the point where yellow flowers were pure white. I even pointed the camcorder at the brightest object to allow it to adjust, but that did not work. My 7 year old hybrid camcorder handled high contrast situations better than the X100 :(. I did not have enough time with it to see how long battery life was, but when it could not handle a typical outdoor setting I knew it was time to bring it back. Sorry Toshiba. See video stills below...no need to explain

Was this review helpful? (2) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tomorrowsphere
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sweet compact camera - but has bugs!
7/25/2011

Customer review by danpend

4.0 stars 7/25/2011 by danpend
by danpend

Two weeks ago after going over videos and reviews I decided to purchase this Toshiba Camileo X100 full 1080p HD camcorder and I must say that there are some bugs that needs to be worked out. My bugs were this. I don't know if it was my SD card (which I've never had any previous problems with), or the camera, but a couple of my videos were jumpy and I had to erase them. The other issue is, the auto focus went blurry on all my time laspe videos except one. The 1080p or 720p video is very good. The camcorder is lightweight and compact and I'm sure most reviews are going to be positive. However, I became dissatisfied with this camcorder about a week after I bought it. I think my next HD 1080p camcorder will be an upgrade to something a little better. My advise for someone wanting a good HD camcorder is to save your change and upgrade to something a little better and be totally satisifed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
danpend
Lexington, KY USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great HD camera for the price.
5/10/2012

Customer review by Marktrot1

5.0 stars 5/10/2012 by Marktrot1
by Marktrot1

I purchased the Camileo X100 several months ago from Walmart.com with a tripod, case, and SD card for a killer deal (Christmas special). The camera works great for the most part. Pros: The camera is very easy to use and has 1080p/30fps and 1080i/60fps. The touchscreen menu is great and so is the time lapse special effect. Cons: The slow-motion is not clear, at all. It is still cool, but not nearly as clear as time lapse or regular HD. Those are the major features I like/dislike. Also, do not get a cheap or slow SD card. My "offer" came with a 4gb class 4 SDHC card. This card makes the camera seem terrible. The HD video is only clear when moving slowly; any fast motion blurs terribly. The camera does not do this with the internal memory, so therefore I know it is the cheap SD card doing it. So get a class 6 or higher SDHC card for the best results. Also, I tend to get better video in 1080p/30 than 1080i/60.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marktrot1
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
8/10/2011

Customer review by zach5

5.0 stars 8/10/2011 by zach5
by zach5

this is a relay good camcorder for use and if you get a 1gb card for it you will have allot to take pitchers of and yes i wood recommend this to people.it takes good pitchers 2.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zach5
ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Camileo X100 review
10/2/2010

Customer review by EmmZed

5.0 stars 10/2/2010 by EmmZed
by EmmZed

Does well in daylight and indoor lighting. Picture quality becomes grainy at lower to non-existent light levels. The quality of the still images is also good at or above indoor light levels. The touch screen works so well, that I've decided not to take the protective cover the camera shipped with off. My one problem is the difficulty in taking a picture while recording video. For all practical purposes, I don't think you can do both at once simply from how you have to use both hands to press buttons. Another possible negative is that the battery is shipped installed in the battery compartment, with a plastic protective strip over the the contacts. Since you have to remove the battery to remove the strip, I'm not sure what the point is in paying someone to put it in the camera as opposed to dropping it in the box. Overall, a vety good basic HD video camera. On a final note, I used class 10 SDHD cards in all of my testing and use. It seems likely to me that using lower class cards may result in picture quality issues.

Was this review helpful? (123) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EmmZed
Phoenix, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Not all it's cracked up to be.
8/13/2011

Customer review by gray4362

2.0 stars 8/13/2011 by gray4362
by gray4362

Okay, here's the skinny. We bought this thinking "Wow HD video at a fraction of the rest". Sadly dissapointed. The video was grainy no matter the setting. But if you are looking for an inexpensive camcorder, you may like this one. Our MAIN issue with it: the mic does not pick up the sounds at all! I had some one talking not 2 feet from the mic and it did not pick up the voice. The thing got rather warm after just 20 minutes of being in use. It was supposed to have a 4 hr battery life....NOT. Fully charged battery and the icon on the tray said the battery was nearly dead after just using it for 20 minutes. The sound of the lens trying to focus is loud. Well, at least louder than we expected it to be. It had a hard time focusing. We were dissapointed to say the very least. We took it back and bought a Sony Handycam DCR-SX85, which has far more functions, far better video quality (even though it's not HD video), and you can actually hear the people you are trying to record on video.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gray4362
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
8/10/2011

Customer review by Arjacee

4.0 stars 8/10/2011 by Arjacee
by Arjacee

Bought this camera based on three things -- it is HD; brand is Toshiba; and price. Took a gamble and bought it right before leaving for vacation so I was really hoping for the best ( I brought along my old back-up camera just in case ) Well, my gamble paid off. This camera shoots very decent HD for the money! And I easily uploaded vids to my computer and then burned them to a DVD and now have lasting memories of my vacation. I had concerns that it was only 10x optical zoom but was not an issue. The only issue I came across was shooting in bright sunlight when facing the sun -- the resulting video can get washed out. You just need to adjust your angle of shooting. And , of course, in bright sunlight, viewing the LCD screen is nearly impossible, although this is common in many cameras. But I do love this camera and look forward to using it for the upcoming school sports seasons. If you have any questions, just let me know and I will try to answer.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Arjacee
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AMAZING!
7/15/2011

Customer review by purple8zebra

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by purple8zebra
by purple8zebra

this camera is amazing for the price! i just recently got this camera and im in love with it! it has everything i expected. im a beginner in youtube vids and home movies so i wanted a good camera i could actually understand and feel happy with. so this is my first camcorder and im and sooo glad i chose this one. i spent a long time trying to search for a good camera knowing i was on a budget. and this camera really caught my eye... the price seemed right...i love that its HD...the reviews seem great...so then i bought it! i love that it comes with a carrying pouch and the remote is really helpful, and i love that its sooo easy to understand! the camera is a perfect fit for my small hands and i love the touch screen. the touch screen is very responsive and useful. i would definitely recommend this camera to anyone...but ofcourse a person who is a pro with camera stuff might look at this camera and call it garbage...but in reality this camera is a great camera in the market! :)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
purple8zebra
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good product
4/19/2011

Customer review by lysy1972

4.0 stars 4/19/2011 by lysy1972
by lysy1972

It is good product for very low price if you need basic camcorder for home use without any useless gadgets that you propably never use this is it.Picture quality very good easy to use

Was this review helpful? (105) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lysy1972
new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Good for its size and price.
8/3/2011

Customer review by dwdardog

4.0 stars 8/3/2011 by dwdardog
by dwdardog

I purchased this camcorder to record my new grandson. I wanted something small, easy to use and affordable. When It came I was so pleased with it, and how easy it was to use. I gave it to my son and ordered another for my self. It connects to my Tv easily. The picture quality is great. I do recommend a tripod to avoid shaking. The remote makes taking group pictures so easy. And the display flip so you can line up your shots just perfectly.The mic sound quality is awsome. It picks up everything. (I mean everything) The only problem I see is the battery doesnt hold a charge long enough. I did purchase the extended warrenty with it. Hopfully I wont need it. I would give this 5 stars if the battery lasted longer, But still a excellent beginner camcorder.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dwdardog
western Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Picture Quality OK, Sound Quality TERRIBLE
8/12/2011

Customer review by CrankcaseWilly

1.0 stars 8/12/2011 by CrankcaseWilly
by CrankcaseWilly

I did a test run of the camera in my car. First, most users state that bright objects "wash out" out the image. They are correct. Further clarification of this is HIGH CONTRAST images are not handled well by this camera. Second, the image quality is not high-definition, crystal clear HD. What do you expect for $159 though, right? I was expecting just a tad bit more, however. The image quality is slightly blurry and grainy, with unacceptable graininess in low light conditions. Absolutely terrible! Third, the sound is an abomination. Very quiet pick-up and the sound pops and chatters like crazy. Low frequencies such as the rumbling of the engine or wind drives the microphone nuts, with just pops and chatter being recorded. This is unacceptable. And finally, most users complain of slow focus. They are correct. It is miserably slow. Bottom of the line: Save your $160. I am returning the camera tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CrankcaseWilly
Would recommend to a friend? No
6/1/2011

Customer review by nh7432

4.0 stars 6/1/2011 by nh7432
by nh7432

I almost didn't buy this camera because people said it had: poor battery life, bad, or muffled sound, a "red streak" in one corner of the viewfinder. None of this was true. I did find out that it's hard to "get to the place" to play back videos instead of still pictures--which may be my fault for not knowing how to do it. Also the stabilization at 1080i (not available at 1080p) was so bad the video looked like it was shot by someone with a nervous disorder. It's either this or buy a Sony HDR CX110 with no time lapse, but with great stabilization (it does have slow motion) for more than twice as much ($170. vs. $400.) from some other place than Walmart because they don't carry the model. The competitor charges about $60. if you need to return it unlike Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nh7432
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great!
6/30/2011

Customer review by jleeimports

5.0 stars 6/30/2011 by jleeimports
by jleeimports

Just got it and used it on a trip. Amazing quality on 1080p. Just connect to usb to transfer video. I don't understand some people mentioning bad things about the sound, but there's nothing wrong with it. It's crisp and clear.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jleeimports
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great cam
12/28/2010

Customer review by sk8rdude

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by sk8rdude
by sk8rdude

this camera is awsome time lapse slow motion i use it at the skate parks and to shoot time lapse of nature it works very good and u cant beat the price

Was this review helpful? (81) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sk8rdude
toledo ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty good camera with a flaw or two
6/5/2011

Customer review by Vicious187

4.0 stars 6/5/2011 by Vicious187
by Vicious187

This is the very first digital camcorder I have bought, as I have always wanted one in my entire life. And because of the full 1080p on it, along with the fact that it doubles as a digital camera, I had to purchase it based on all the needs I was looking for in a digital camcorder (quality, price, and durability). I've done some test videos and they both captured every detail in spectacular fashion. The high definition does its job to the fullest, and the microphone on it picks up the voice and sounds flawlessly. Pictures are outstanding too. But since no product on earth is perfect, there are two noticeable flaws on this camcorder. The first, which I did research heavily, is the auto focus mechanism. It is a little slow, especially when you zoom in really fast. And because it has no manual focus on there, you're really stuck with what you have. But this is something I can live with, as long as it doesn't get too excessive. The second flaw on this thing is the night capture. If it is dark outside or even if it has low light, this camera can't really pick it up too well. With the auto focus flaw in there, I tried zooming into traffic that was moving up the street, and all I saw were small dots that represented the headlights and taillights on the cars. It can, however, pick up really good when there is plenty of light around, so if you were going to a carnival or an amusement park or downtown New York City at night, this would be great to capture that night life. But overall, those two flaws shouldn't really stop you from buying this camera. It is true 1080p HD at 30fps, making your videos movie like. Of course, there is a 1080i option at 60fps if you're going to use it for things such as funerals, weddings, or other family events. You can tape an hour of video and take nearly 800 pictures on its 16MP setting without an SDHC card (it has 4G built in). I would recommend it to anyone who wants to use it for personal use and for fun, but for the professionals, you're better off digging deeper into your pockets and grabbing a camera without those two flaws.

Was this review helpful? (43) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vicious187
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Bang for your buck
9/4/2011

Customer review by SaadH

4.0 stars 9/4/2011 by SaadH
by SaadH

I've been eyeing this camcorder for a while now and the price was phenomenal for what it came with so a few weeks ago I pulled the trigger and ordered one. In my time with the camcorder I'm still impressed by just how much I got for the $170 pricetag: full HD recording, real 10x optical zoom, and 4 GB of internal memory. Plus it comes with a few packed-in goodies I wasn't expecting like a cleaning cloth, an HDMI cable (VERY grateful for that), and a remote to control the cam while its recording or for playback. However there's also something to be said about WHY it's so cheap. The Camileo X100 isn't the nicest quality camcorder ever. It's really plasticky and so it collects oil and smudges on its surface very easily. Plus I'm not sure how tough this camcorder would be, so if you were planning to pick this up for action-heavy stuff and a lot of movement then be careful! I'm pretty sure it would break if it dropped more than 3 feet on a hard surface. Then there's the quality of the software. While the 3" screen is nice, the actual touchscreen part of that isn't anything to write home about. If you're used to blazing fast iPhones and Droids, you might get frustrated by how slow it feels to move through menus through touch. It's easy enough to use, just slooooow. How's the video quality itself? In my experience it looks great, but only if you have a lot of light while recording. For low-light situations the quality really takes a dip and you get a very "grainy" look. The camcorder also does autofocus which is very useful for what I do with it (I run a site about Windows Phone smartphones) but sometimes the focus has a hard time figuring out what it's trying to look at. So when you playback the video you may notice a lot of really fast blurring and refocusing, so be warned. Besides that the video is very smooth, high quality, and it offers a lot of different recording modes (my favorite is 720p at 60 frames -- definitely the smoothest). If you're not looking for the most advanced camcorder in the world but still want something worth the money, I haven't found a better deal than this and it hasn't disappointed me yet.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SaadH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camcorder and camera!
6/7/2011

Customer review by thommyc

5.0 stars 6/7/2011 by thommyc
by thommyc

Purchased for my husband, he loves it, the video quality is amazing, along with the quality of still images. The battery life is good, the features are more than enough for us. We have had it less than a month, so we are still getting used to it. When zooming in for extremely close shots I would recommend a tripod unless you have a very steady hand. The price is amazing as they were $349!

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thommyc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good camera
8/10/2011

Customer review by Gr8bigdawg

5.0 stars 8/10/2011 by Gr8bigdawg
by Gr8bigdawg

I bought this camera to film my daughters wedding. It did a fantastic job, could not be happier with the quality of the video. The sound could have been better but it was ok for an outdoor event.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gr8bigdawg
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good camera overall
8/9/2011

Customer review by kiwi75

4.0 stars 8/9/2011 by kiwi75
by kiwi75

love the touch screen features, add a memory card for extra recording time and transfer easily onto your pc for burning to dvd. the only drawback is image stableization function is unavailable in true HD so prepare for shaky video however, if you lower the quality of HD, you still get HD but you can use image stableization. so for the low cost & features this camera is a good buy

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kiwi75
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews