Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 122 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

122 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

122 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
42
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 stars
19
1-20 of 108 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews
Over exposed video images
7/22/2011

Customer review by Tomorrowsphere

1.0 stars 7/22/2011 by Tomorrowsphere
by Tomorrowsphere

I wanted to like the X100, it looks nice, but looks are deceiving. I bought this from a nations chain online. I returned it within a day. Pros: • Looks great, nice design. • Bundled with remote, HDMI cords, USB cord..etc. • Nice weight and easy to hold. Cons: • Over exposed video no matter what setting (outdoors sunlight) • Not mac compatible, but I worked around it. • Bundled software (windows only) is filled of trial software offers and no instructions and is useless I have never bought a Toshiba product before, after some debating on buying, I dove in. First day I had it I shot some 720p video outside in bright sunlight. You would think that it would be ideal, but when I uploaded the video, I was shocked. Over exposed areas of sunlight on grass areas, white washed pavement. I went through every setting and the same thing. I even pointed the camcorder to bright areas and allowed the aperture to adjust, but it seemed to do little once I moved. As for battery life, I did not have it long enough to see. I have a 7 year old hybrid camera that can deal with high contrast areas better than the x100. Maybe I got a faulty camcorder, but I am seeing more reviews that express that the video images are over exposed.

Tomorrowsphere
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Definition but trouble transferring to BD-R.
8/27/2011

Customer review by Doug

4.0 stars 8/27/2011 by Doug
by Doug

I've been using this camera for about a month. The definition is incredible for movies and digital pictures. The movies look great on the tv when using the HDMI chord. However, I don't like the fact that you can't turn the display off when viewing movies. I decided to transfer all my movies to BD-R discs. I filmed all my movies in 1080i/60. But my computer tells me that isn't the case. The properties tell me that the movies are only 29fps instead of 60. So the playback on the disc is jerky. When switched to 720p/60, the video playback is smooth. I just want to know why it says I record at 1080i/60 and they come out at only 29fps? Other than that, the camera is great. Suggestions?

Doug
Orofino, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
For an indie film
4/8/2012

Customer review by turbowebguy

4.0 stars 4/8/2012 by turbowebguy
by turbowebguy

Bought this camera when it first came out (two of them) for shooting an indie film, PLUS, 60 FPS is nice, high res stills, they are a little bit noisy but still pretty good for price, also, 60FPS recording, very nice, hard to tell it's interlaced at 60FPS, it auto detects and compensates for florescent lighting which is a huge plus (or can be manually set) considering I am doing a lot of composite work, the end result is pretty good. Downside, auto-focus, sometimes doesn't know what to focus on where there is a lot of movement, but still, excellent footage and resolution for the price.

turbowebguy
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrible autofocus.
11/27/2011

Customer review by Natnie

3.0 stars 11/27/2011 by Natnie
by Natnie

This camera makes quite good quality video with the right lighting, BUT the autofocus is the dealbreaker. If Toshiba could release some firmware that fixes it, I will be MUCH happier with this camera. But as it is, it's nearly unusable when even slightly zoomed in, because it just keeps trying to focus on different things constantly. One other problem is the fact that the microphone on the camera is on the flip-out panel. Which means, if you turn it the other way to film yourself, the audio quality suffers immensely.

Natnie
Wollongong, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Prombelms!
10/29/2011

Customer review by JDOG

1.0 stars 10/29/2011 by JDOG
by JDOG

I'm not sure if I got a faulty camcorder or what but I have been expirencing a lot of problems. For one thing, the white balance is terribly off, even with adjusting the settings. Everything is overexposed and white-washed. Another problem is with the 1080p at 60fps feature. IT DOESN'T WORK. It makes 2 videos instead of one. One video is at 240p at 60fps and the other one is 720p at 30fps. What's the point of that? I would recomend the Camileo H30 because it is cheaper but with much higher video quality.

JDOG
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great buy
11/17/2010

Customer review by j1e2f3f

4.0 stars 11/17/2010 by j1e2f3f
by j1e2f3f

For the money this thing cannot be beat. Amazing video quality! The Auto-focus can be a little slow at close range and in low light. Still shots are just ok, but that is what I would expect of a video camera. Overall, I am very happy with this camera.

j1e2f3f
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor battery life for video recording!
8/12/2010

Customer review by Bosse

2.0 stars 8/12/2010 by Bosse
by Bosse

you must set the settings each time you open the camera that draws battery time. Poor software supplied with the camera, there is much that was not needed and that you have to pay extra for it if you want something that fits and that can be used

Bosse
Sweden
Would recommend to a friend? No
why so low voice record, why?
5/3/2011

Customer review by Regrent

3.0 stars 5/3/2011 by Regrent
by Regrent

Everything is OK: Low battery charge lifetime, time spining between view and voice (sometimes), abnormal heating in longterm records, etc...But the low level voice record makes me crazy ! Please listen and reply me !

Regrent
Turkey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Overexposed
2/1/2012

Customer review by Coconut

2.0 stars 2/1/2012 by Coconut
by Coconut

I notice there are lots of complaints about the overexposure/whitwash effects with still pictures and no way to correct this. Is there a filter that can be adapted to the camera that might help

Coconut
Miami
Would recommend to a friend? No
does not work with IMAC
6/8/2010

Customer review by Kittike

4.0 stars 6/8/2010 by Kittike
by Kittike

Camera and quality is good, not so good is, that there is no software for MAc users- it is really hard to edit videos or even see then at MAC.

Kittike
Estonia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera
8/23/2010

Customer review by California outdoors

5.0 stars 8/23/2010 by California outdoors
by California outdoors

Great HD picture,easy to use, a lot of features for the price,convienience for its size. would be nice if it was Mac compatible.I love it.

California outdoors
Palmdale,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Junk
8/27/2010

Customer review by tim

1.0 stars 8/27/2010 by tim
by tim

This thing is a pice of junk!!! Only used it twice and now the buttons don"t work and it wont record. It only has 10 minutes of use

tim
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Camcorder
8/12/2011

Customer review by Yellow Jacket

4.0 stars 8/12/2011 by Yellow Jacket
by Yellow Jacket

Good product for the price. Lots of great features for an inexpensive camcorder. Battery life is poor at best.

Yellow Jacket
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not Bad!
11/2/2010

Customer review by frycook

4.0 stars 11/2/2010 by frycook
by frycook

Not a bad Camera for the money. Sometimes it is slow to focus when there is a lot going on. Battery is ok.

frycook
Choudrant, la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Like a professional
6/25/2010

Customer review by FMP1.net - Misi

5.0 stars 6/25/2010 by FMP1.net - Misi
by FMP1.net - Misi

This lens performance like a lens of Canon 5d mark II. As well as that has very cool futures.

FMP1.net - Misi
Hungary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Camera Ever
5/9/2010

Customer review by Greathasan

5.0 stars 5/9/2010 by Greathasan
by Greathasan

Very nice Camera and easy to sue and lots of options really it's the best camera ever

Greathasan
Luxor, egypt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great for the price
4/17/2012

Customer review by teddy

5.0 stars 4/17/2012 by teddy
by teddy

very go video picture and people are always surprised at the quality

teddy
atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is not a Camcorder! It's a SuperCamcorder!
6/8/2010

Customer review by Gpanos

5.0 stars 6/8/2010 by Gpanos
by Gpanos

The Best Camera I've ever seen ! In an Excellent price!

Gpanos
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
toshiba camera is excellent
5/23/2010

Customer review by sajid

4.0 stars 5/23/2010 by sajid
by sajid

as per the price value its very good product.

sajid
riyadh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/13/2011

Customer review by muddawgs357

2.0 stars 5/13/2011 by muddawgs357
by muddawgs357

batteries wont last long at all

muddawgs357
mission tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews