Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 490 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

490 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

490 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
222
4 stars
178
3 stars
35
2 stars
19
1 stars
36
1-20 of 428 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 428 total reviews
1-20 of 428 reviews
Excellent purchase for the money I spent.
8/15/2012

Customer review by Mrtibbs51

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by Mrtibbs51
by Mrtibbs51
Walmart associate

The machine works exactly the way its supposed to, and thought I work for Walmart, if the machine was a piece of junk I would not hesitate to say so. I am very happy that I bought this Gym. I also bought the 2 yr warranty which I have actually used on two other occasions for two different items and I did not have to come out of my pockets with no money at all either times. A friend of my assisted me with assembleing a small portion of this gym together... I did the rest piece-by-piece, and I have and injured neck. I do not perform any work that will cause me to risk injuring my neck again. Take your time and pay close attention making sure you use the right part to avoid having to disassemble the machine once you get started. I purchased the rolled floor mat to separate the machine from the carpet in my room.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mrtibbs51
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Best Budget Machine
9/20/2009

Customer review by GlockNinja

4.0 stars 9/20/2009 by GlockNinja
by GlockNinja

For what I paid, I can't complain. It takes up very little space and its a great work out for beginners who want to get in shape. Its also great for teens, and since there are no free weights there is very little danger of injuries. For the money, you get a lot of variety of work outs. The assembly process was not too hard but you should do it when you have a lot of time. I took 4 1/2 hours to put it together. Move very slow and make sure you follow directions and you should be ok. After putting it together I worked out on it and aside from the noise it makes it works good. The box that it comes in will fit in any station wagon, SUV, pick-up, or even a hatch back with the seats folded down. Needless to say that the box is heavy since it has the weight in it. Again, for the money, I'm very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (196) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GlockNinja
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Bargain Gym!!
3/31/2010

Customer review by True2Form

4.0 stars 3/31/2010 by True2Form
by True2Form

This is a great bargain for the home gym system! One thing I'm not fond of the the length of the low cable. You CAN NOT perform standing curls or anything that involves lifting past your waist with the lower pulley. It is a little bit irritating, but if you innovative enough, you can work around it. Other than that, it is a bit noisy. Overall, the gym has good resistance (more than the chart says because of the friction) and a good amount of exercising can be done on it. I would recommend this gym to anyone considering a budget home gym. Plus, if you already have a small bence or treadmill, then this will complete your own home gym!! ENJOY!!

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
True2Form
Hubbard, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Better than expected
11/16/2009

Customer review by TurboSocks

5.0 stars 11/16/2009 by TurboSocks
by TurboSocks

First off, id like to say i HIHGLY recommend this machine to ANYONE on a budget. I was looking for a good workout machine for a little while that was cheap and had good reviews. This machine had good reviews, but seemed a little 'too good to be true' Lets start with dimensions and packaging.. the package is 18"x18"x48" or so and 229lbs. It fit in the back seat of my 2005 Neon to put it in perspective. Everything is packaged VERY VERY well. The hardware is sealed in seperate 'cardboard backed' vac. sealed packages and fool proof. Each piece of the equipment is individually packed in its own bag. The machine took me about 3.5-4 hours to setup by myself and was very easy to follow the directions. You will need a small Phillips, a #2 Phillips, Vice Grips, 13mm and 5/8" (15 or 16mm) sockets and the included allen wrench's. The pulleys seem a little bit noisy, which is my only complaint, but i am very picky. with some 'workout' music, you wont be able to hear the pulleys at all. Each station works well to my standards. The lower station has A LOT of resistance, especially if using the lower pulley. The upholstery and steel have very nice finishes ans seem to be of good quality. Another PRO to getting this machine is that is doesn't take up much space at all. I would recommend this machine to ANYONE looking for a god workout machine for a low price. Obviously there are better machines out there, but for 300$, this machine is a GREAT deal. I tried out a couple 400-600$ machines at sports authority and this machine has everything that the other machines had and has a very 'solid' feel just like the more expensive machines. I will attach two pictures, one of the assembled machine, and one of the hardware packaging. I read alot of reviews on other machines that said the parts/cables/diagrams were very confusing and even had some missing parts, so this REALLY impressed me. Everything was very easy to distinguish where it went, which cables went where, what bolt/nut combo was for what step, etc.

Was this review helpful? (578) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TurboSocks
ABQ, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Buy & Easy To Put Together
12/30/2009

Customer review by Jlowery

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by Jlowery
by Jlowery

The equipment was easy to put together and I cannot believe it was priced right. It right in the space perfectly. All I need now is the Gold's Execise Bike. I'm going to love my home gym and everything so far is under 600.00 dollars total.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jlowery
Atlanta, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very Good Product!!!
5/30/2010

Customer review by MrNumber1

5.0 stars 5/30/2010 by MrNumber1
by MrNumber1

I decided to buy this product because I'm making my home gym. This product will complete my home gym. The product arrived early. The driver, which is also the attendant, helped me moving this thing into our house. (I thought it was going to be left on the curb and I am the one who's going to move it alone inside the house). After inspecting the box for any flaw, I signed the paper and opened it immediately. I was really scared because I have read lots of reviews here where they got the box with missing parts. But luckily, I got a box with the whole/complete parts. Before you assemble this, you'll need a GOOD READER if you are not and GOOD INSTINCT. I assembled it alone which took me one-two hours more. Assembling looks like hard but read the manual CAREFULLY and you'll be done early. DO NOT RELY ON PICTURES. I made lots of mistakes because I used the pictures as a manual and didn’t read some parts when assembling. The parts of the product (like cable, handle, etc) were not labeled correctly (except the nuts, bolts and washers). You'll need to figure out yourself which is what and which is which. But not really a big deal. Just use instinct (here, you can rely on pictures in the manual). ALL EXERCISE CHART ARE THE SAME. READ THE WHOLE THING! Look at the lower part of the Chart exercise. This are the exact words: " This poster shows a selection of exercises that can be perform using GOLD'S GYM weight system. Note that weight system may not have all the features shown on the poster..." So it means that you can only perform some exercises on the chart. Dont think that you got a wrong chart. DONT COMPLAIN. Look at the price. You wont get any perfect product (perfect welding, paint, etc) for a cheap price. LOOK DOESNT MATTER. WHAT DOES MATTER IS YOU CAN USE THE PURPOSE. If you want good quality buy some $1000 plus home gym. For sure, you wont get any complain. Yes, It is a bit noisy because of the bumps between the combined tubes in the weight stack. HEY!! Gym's are noisier than this. Not a big deal.. The resistance are different in evry exercise station. For instance, you're doing a high pulley exercise with 1 weight stack. That is about 18 pounds which changes when you do a low pulley exercise. It becomes 46 pounds. Yes, you cant perform some of the exercises in the low pulley because of the high resistance (heaviness). But if you've been working out for a long time you will figure out some other exercises. For beginners, SEARCH the web for exercises... All in all I am satisfied. I am just hoping that this product will last long because I am going to use this 5-6 times a week and in advance mode (heavy load). I really recommend this product to every one. Buy this product if you love/like working out and in tight budget, and dont if you are stagy and looking at the looks not the purposes, uses and performance.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrNumber1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
great for the price
4/21/2014

Customer review by Azulee

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by Azulee
by Azulee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We got this put together with minimal problems which was mainly using the wrong pulleys on the top of the machine. Once we figured that out was not a big deal since we realized it pretty quick. Wish the parts would've been marked. Other then that it took 3-4 hrs to put together. So far I enjoy using it. I am 5'5 and my husband is 6'2 it is working great for us. To bad the seat cant be adjusted back and forth it would help to get your arms in place properly just takes some wiggling around. I think was a great price with it being on sale. Also it doesn't take up too much room and its very easy to change the weight and extra workout pieces. Great addition for our workout room. I did the free ship to store it came in faster then they said it would, about a week earlier. Definitely recommend if your on a budget.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Azulee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the price but lower pulley needs work.
1/10/2014

Customer review by Lookeba

4.0 stars 1/10/2014 by Lookeba
by Lookeba

I'll start out by saying I am 6'3" and around 205lb and had no trouble fitting in the gym other than a slight limit in range on the upper lat bar. My wife is 5'8" 105lb and she fits fine. My first impression when opening the box was that it was packaged very well and everything seemed neat and in order including the individually labeled, shrink wrapped nuts & bolts along with very concise and easy to use instructions. It took about 4 hours total to put together by myself and I didn't have any trouble with the pulleys or cables or anything else. The only halfway tricky part was getting the cable to screw into the weights without making the pin unable to go in but after letting it settle a bit with the weight stack fully locked in, it seemed to tighten up properly. Once I got it all put together and gave it a good runaround I was really impressed with the upper body workout even though it's a bit noisy and the whole machine shakes a bit when you're doing the lat bar facing the seat. The weight stepups are fine for me on the upper but the lower pulley is way too heavy even with just the one weight on it for proper curls. Try putting two weights on and it's a definite no-go. The range of motion for curls is all wrong too so I've just written off that exercise and will end up getting a free weight and just using the preacher pad. The leg exercises aren't quite as difficult with the one weight and I could even use 2 or 3 weights for the sitting leg curl. The reverse leg curl feels a little off at first until you get your leg into the brace properly and get it raised up a little bit. Overall I'm pleased with the purchase and plan to use it for a long time as long as it all holds together.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lookeba
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
it was a B-day gift from my wife 2009-nov.
2/28/2011

Customer review by abdul215

5.0 stars 2/28/2011 by abdul215
by abdul215

date i wrote this comment 2-28-11,as soon as i got it i put it together in about 7-9 hrs by my self,do think two people are better than one!as for machine great just what i been looking for,just make sure you place grease in right places,i moved so fast to put it together and forgot to put the grease in between the pulley's,i later did took it apart & greased it down,its a whole lot smoother now,from my 1 1/2 yr of useing this machine out of 1 to 10 i'll say 8 1/2 caues i seen better machines but for your home ill give it a 10 for the price,AS long it put together correctly you cant go wrong with getting in shape i say about 1hr aday 5 days a week what!,very highly would & will stand behind this machine as if im selling it!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
abdul215
phila,pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
not bad for the money
5/1/2014

Customer review by bongo870

5.0 stars 5/1/2014 by bongo870
by bongo870

I really like it. I am a beginner and it is perfect for me. It took me 4 hours to put it together and I was alone. The only thing is the pics in the instructions may be hard to understand time to time. Some screws just doesn't work. Such as for the seat they went half way in and stopped. my seat is a bit loose but oh well. Also the bars the weights roll up and down have a seam in the middle where the weights go *click* but then again it is cheap. I was afraid to buy it because some people say they were missing parts but I had everything. The nuts and bolts and so forth are all numbered and very easy to find what you need. I can do so many things with this and that rocks. You do get a lot for the money. I highly recommend this for us beginners.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bongo870
nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product!
8/11/2010

Customer review by MGSkittle

5.0 stars 8/11/2010 by MGSkittle
by MGSkittle

This is the first home gym that I've ever purchased/used and I find that it is an EXCELLENT machine. All parts were in the box when it arrived. It was easy to assemble, but it did take a while. The weights ride up and down the guide poles very smoothly. And the seats are actually comfortable. I absolutely love the small foot print that this machine has. I placed it in my bedroom and still have room to move around. I was surprised at how compact it was. This machine is very quiet, as long as you are using controlled movements and not just letting the weights slam into each other. Over all I absolutely love this machine and would HIGHLY recommend it to others. The only complaint I had was that the shipping took a while.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MGSkittle
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice machine for the money for sure
3/17/2011

Customer review by SCOOTER196741

5.0 stars 3/17/2011 by SCOOTER196741
by SCOOTER196741

JUST RECIEVED IT AT WALMART A FEW DAYS AGO. TOOK A FEW DAYS TO PUT TOGETHER WITH ALITTLE EXTRA HELP. I WOULD SAY 6-8 HRS OF READING AND UNDERSTANDING SET UP. INSTRUCTIONS WERE EASY TO FOLLOW JUST BUY LOOKING AT THE PICTURE AND NUMBER ON EACH PART ,SCREWS,BOLTS WASHERS ,NUTS,ETC.ETC.ETC. ALL STUCK ON CARDBOARD AND LISTED AND ALL MATCH TO INSTRUCTIONS. I HAD A FEWS OOOPS'S. BUT FIGURED IT OUT. I WOULD RECOMEND IT TO ANYONE....DOE NOT TAKE UP ALOT OF ROOM. IF YOUR TRYING TO GET IT IN THE HOUSE ON STEPS OR BASMENT...OPEN THE BOX AND CARRY ALL THE PARTS DOWN SINGLEY...ALOT LESS STRESS OR GETTING HURT.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SCOOTER196741
WADENA,MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent
5/25/2014

Customer review by Judjan

5.0 stars 5/25/2014 by Judjan
by Judjan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's been four days since I'm using this amazing gold gym xr45 and I really enjoy it. I saved my monthly fee going to the gym. Thank you for this excellent invention that help me to maintain my physical fitness. Keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Judjan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very useful
9/21/2013

Customer review by Biscuitron

4.0 stars 9/21/2013 by Biscuitron
by Biscuitron

I've had this a little over two years and don't think I've reviewed it yet. Going to a gym wouldn't be convenient for me, and I figured I would have less of a barrier to exercising if I could just go in the next room and do it. I ordered this, shipped to the store, and two Walmart guys wheeled it out to my vehicle and loaded it. Assembly was easy (once I started) with very clear coding and parts very clearly labeled in two "punch-out" packages. I suggest assembling it with lots of light and comfort. Assembly requires no heavy lifting or holding several things at once, so I was able to do it by myself. I can't criticize this machine the same way other people did since I have no prior experience with other equipment, so the noise and having to pull out pins or reattach the preacher curl station is just normal to me. It does not include enough grease for post-assembly maintenance, and the poster with examples of exercises shows other machines and exercises that can not be done on this one.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Biscuitron
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Value
4/21/2010

Customer review by gothedistance

5.0 stars 4/21/2010 by gothedistance
by gothedistance

While looking for a home gym, I had to satisfy two criteria - 1. The ceiling in my basement is only 80 inches high, and 2. I'm the opposite of a handyman so the product had to assemble easily. This product fit both criteria. At 79 inches high it sits less than an inch from the ceiling. Before assembling, I read all the instructions and many of the previous reviews. The reviews were VERY helpful. I'll offer two tips: Use a ratchet set instead of wrenches and measure the two cables that look alike (one is longer than the other). I took my time and finished it in 5-6 hours over the course of three evenings. It does make noise and it's not as smooth as the equipment at your local gym, but it's solid. And you can get a great workout with it. For $277, I wasn't expecting much, but I was wrong. This is a GREAT product and a GREAT value. (I've never felt strongly enough about a product, positive or negative, to actually go online and write a review about it...until now). Go buy it now.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gothedistance
Niagara Falls, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Value Home Gym
4/3/2013

Customer review by lecat1

4.0 stars 4/3/2013 by lecat1
by lecat1

The XR45 is much cheaper than most other home gyms. It offers about 7 or 8 basic exercises which is sufficient for my needs. Assembly took me about 5 hours but it can probably be done in about 4 hours. I liked the way the screws were numbered so I could follow the instructions without the going by the names of the screws. On the other hand, the drawings in the manual were somewhat difficult to figure out -- they should be enlarged and have more detail for each part of the assembly. The one negative about the gym is the minimum weight to set which is 20 lb. In my opinion 10 lb would be better. The gym is rather cheaply made which is what you should expect for the price. However, I expect it to have a long life because I'm a lightweight person who doesn't put a lot of stress on it. The sheet of exercises provided with the equipment is not very helpful because it is apparently for other gym models. The gym manufacturer could easily provide a sheet with exercises specifically for the XR45 for a few cents more.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lecat1
Naperville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far So good
6/7/2010

Customer review by EtchASketch101

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by EtchASketch101
by EtchASketch101

I'm happy so far. It took a little while to setup (took me and a friend about 5 hours to assemble). And to anyone getting this, just a head's up... the manual tells you to NOT tighten any of the lock nuts while assembling the frame. Then at the end of the frame section it tells you to tighten them all. Only one problem... the bolts and nuts that hold the back legs on are underneath the weights and are next to impossible to tighten (if you wait until the end like the directions tell you to) unless you have two socket wrenches, each with a long extension and two of the correct socket. Do yourself a favor and tighten the bolt/nut for the rear legs BEFORE you put the durastack weights on. If you don't, you'll have to basically take the rear section apart in order to tighten them. Other than that the setup was easy and it's been working well. I'm glad I got it and it is by far the best deal out there.

Was this review helpful? (41) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EtchASketch101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice product for the money
1/13/2014

Customer review by NextJen

5.0 stars 1/13/2014 by NextJen
by NextJen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My friend and I picked this up yesterday afternoon and assembled it in just about 3 hours. My friend is a mechanic and good at this sort of thing, and I'm pretty good at following instructions, so we didn't have a hard time....however, if you are doing it alone, it will probably take you more than 3 hours. I think most of the comments are averaging around 4-5 hours. The instructions were easy to follow and the hardware is packaged nicely to help you find them and figure out what everything is. The parts weren't labled, but you can tell from the pictures in the instructions what you need when referenced. I've probably not seen instructions written this well and easy to follow in any other item I've ever put together. Since we just put it together, I can't really comment on how durable it is, but it seems pretty sturdy and I'm hoping to get quite a bit of use out of it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NextJen
Chesapeake Beach, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value
12/22/2011

Customer review by stratocaster62

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by stratocaster62
by stratocaster62

I researched several home gyms around this price range. I kept coming back to the XR45. It seemed the best for the money and also had the best reviews. Ordered it online from Walmart with free shipping. Some reviewers say it fits in the backseat or the trunk, but I picked it up with my truck and was glad I did. Its only around 4 feet long, but was very heavy. I opened the box when I got home and made several trips carrying it all in. It took me 5 and a half hours to put it 2gether by myself and the directions were very good. The pics of the ends of the cables were hard to identify, so I just lined up the 3 lengths and went from there. All the parts were there and easy to identify. I love the complete workout I am getting. Using the preacher curl with the lat bar or single handle is a little hard to use, so I have been using my dumbbells for now. The weights and resistance are MORE than enough for my legs and chest press. I am not a big guy.....5'9, 155 lbs, 46 years old, but I am getting alot of definition in my chest and legs, and I have had it for 3 weeks. Very well made. I am pleased with this purchase and would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stratocaster62
Port Orchard, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good for small fitness center
3/16/2011

Customer review by ALWeathergeek

4.0 stars 3/16/2011 by ALWeathergeek
by ALWeathergeek

Very heavy product to pick at the store. You will need a hand truck or furniture dolly to get it to where you want to set this up. One person can put this together in about 90 minutes. Be aware before you start that it calls for you to grease several points, but does not include any grease in the box, so get some before hand. Be sure to grease the rods that the weights travel up and down well, especially where the two pieces screw together, as the weights on mine caught at this point before I just coated that area with grease. This is the one design issue I have with this. Either this should have been a one-piece rod, or the area where they screw together should have been higher up on the rod. I understand they wanted it low, to allow you to install the weights without lifting them over your head, but that is short sighted of the longer term use of the equipment. Also, work the pin that goes between the weights to loosen up the small bearings or be prepared to bust your knuckles a few times putting it in the tight space allowed. Overall, this is a good piece of equipment and we will see how this helps my office staff with their health.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALWeathergeek
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 428 total reviews
1-20 of 428 reviews