Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 43 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

43 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

43 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 43 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
great pellet gun
8/22/2010

Customer review by steveypsi

5.0 stars 8/22/2010 by steveypsi
by steveypsi

using a centerpoint 4X16X40 bought at wal for $64 bucks, most places this scope is $109.00 great scope but needs the rings changed from weaver type to 11 mil grove type which I had on hand. shoots 840 fps with air arms Falcon ccuracy plus 13.43 gr pellets the best can be bought at Pyramydair.com also the rings are 9.99 and these are great rings, come in med and high, the high will allow clearance for the front of the scope Leapers Accushot 1" Rings, High, 9.5-11.5mm Dovetail , tried many pellets and but these shot perfect Air Arms Falcon .22 Cal, 5.52mm, 13.43 Grains, Dome, 500ct, also at pyair The pump was fairly easy, ran it down to 900 PSI and got 35 shots, took 75 to 80 pumps to bring it back to 2000 PSI , I am tall and old (69) and out of shape, it wasn't that bad, take your time and use slow strokes and it takes 5 minutes to pump up, don't feel a lot of resisantance while pumping like a bike pump has, pump weighs more than the gun. I have 4 other pellet guns, this is by far the most accurate and made in NY USA, I am really impressed with this pellet gun, trigger pull could be smoother and lighter for target but it shoots the center out so what can I say, must not be that bad. I was leary of a pump but I don't think I am going to invest in a scuba tank, take 5 or less minutes of not hard pumping and shoot 35 shots, good enough for me Going to try posting to phots of the groups at 16 yards off a rest

Was this review helpful? (62) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
steveypsi
Ypsilanti mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Outstanding American made
7/1/2010

Customer review by RichardIl

5.0 stars 7/1/2010 by RichardIl
by RichardIl

For pest or small game hunting you won't beat this price or quality . Very accurate with the right ammo to 50+ yards and greatest accuracy starts generally about 1800 psi. Little loud if you have someone close who would worry about that . I shoot 22 cal rifles a lot and this thing compares to the best of them and the pump is easy to use . It has been reviewed by full time Air Gunners and rates about a 5 of 5 from most of them . Price is right too . It is Quality American made and at 68 years old I like that . Oh yes it's made by BenjamiN not BenJamiM .

Was this review helpful? (69) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RichardIl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
10/4/2013

Customer review by Death2squirrels

4.0 stars 10/4/2013 by Death2squirrels
by Death2squirrels

Bought this gun to control the squirrel population since they had been chewing into my house. Gun is a little loud out of the box but that can be remedied with a muzzle brake. And also have to be careful of background as this gun will shoot a pellet through a squirrel even at close to 40 yards. But so far a very accurate gun with a good scope.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Death2squirrels
Aberdeen,MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Highly Accurate Rifle. Very Powerful. Hard Impact
7/9/2012

Customer review by TrapperSean

5.0 stars 7/9/2012 by TrapperSean
by TrapperSean

I searched for a .22 pellet rifle and read many reviews. I watched youtube videos and finally decided to buy the crossman nitro venom break barrel. While I waited for that gun I also ordered the Benjamin discovery. The benjamin discovery is a better rifle hands down. It is extremely accurate at 50yards. The limits of the gun are strained at 100yards. The pump that is included works well about 80 pumps for the first fill then abount 30-40 pumps to add additional pressure for shooting. You get about 15-20 good shots on a fill. The gun has zero recoil. When paired with a shooting post this gun will hit anything you aim at. The scope I recommend for the Discovery is the CenterPoint Illuminated 4 16x40mm Scope. The illumination really helps the crosshairs stand out against a wooded back ground and is highly adjustable and easy to scope in. I did decide to buy a scuba tank and fill connector for the rifle. The scuba set up I bought on ebay and the tank I bought on craigslist. The scuba set up fills the gun in 2 seconds or less vs the pump that can take 2-5 minutes. It will cost another $150 for the set up but it is worth it. I have not used the hand pump since I got the scuba tank. I will keep the pump for emergencies I am a animal trapper and can only use air rifles in city limits. This gun will take down a hog.

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TrapperSean
Tampa,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Simply Amazing!
1/21/2012

Customer review by AirgunNoob

5.0 stars 1/21/2012 by AirgunNoob
by AirgunNoob

This rifle and pump combination for $299 had to be the best deal I've ever seen. The Benjamin Discovery PCP air rifle is acknowledged as one of the best entry level rifles out there. To combine it with a pump that goes for about $139 to $175 was extraordinary. First, I cleaned the barrel with an organic citrus solvent as I do with ALL my new air guns. Next, I charged it up, left it over night, and checked to make sure it held pressure. It did. Then I took it outside to fire. Boy, was it loud! I put a TKO muzzle brake on it and that quieted it down to about the noise level of my .22 Benjamin Titan GP and my .177 Gamo Whisper break barrel rifles. Now I can shoot it in my cellar. When I tested some different pellets at 10 yards using a CenterPoint 4-16X40mm AO scope (Wal*Mart -$70), I shot a five round group of Beeman (H&N) 18.21 gn Cro-Magnum pellets that made a hole of 0.25" in diameter. That's 0.03" larger than the pellets I was shooting. I used a chest freezer as a bench with a sand bag under the fore stock. The accuracy is astounding! If Walmart.com offers this package again, grab it. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AirgunNoob
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great value
1/6/2012

Customer review by Huklbery

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by Huklbery
by Huklbery

PCP works much the same as older style American Benjamin/Sheridan pump rifles, without the whack whack whack. Essentially you do your pumping at a slow steady pace prior to 16 or more full power shots. This rifle was purposely set at 2,000psi to make it much more hand pump friendly than the typical 3,000 psi PCP air rifle. Over the chrony I get 16 full power shots (850fps with 14.3g Crosman premier hollow points) and you can figure about 3-4 pumps per shot. Comparable effort to a Benjamin 392 with far more power, and much more hunting friendly with out the noisy whacks between shots. About the noise, its expels air and isn't quiet compared to a spring powered rifle. Two inexpensive improvements are available, an inexpensive kit to lighten the trigger & a muzzle/crown protector that helps with the expelled air issue. Do a google on tko air rifle and the options for many air rifles are available. The size and handling are outstanding, comparable to an older Crosman 160 or more recent QB 78 import. Its a great backyard pest rifle and just fun in general.

Was this review helpful? (26) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Huklbery
So Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Benjamin Discovery combo 22 cal.
3/30/2011

Customer review by seastorie

5.0 stars 3/30/2011 by seastorie
by seastorie

Had read many reviews and done my home work, this product was just as expected. Very accurate and powerful. Added Scope, modified trigger and made power adjuster. If you are looking for an entry to PCP air rifles this is IT, and walmart.com has by far the lowest price anywhere on the rifle/pump combo. Site to Store was quick and painless .Highly recommend both. Target is 5 shots at 25yd. before installing power adjuster. Velocities are stock rifle...cls

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
seastorie
Springfield, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
JUST WHAT THE DOCTOR ORDERED
1/13/2011

Customer review by LCWOOD

5.0 stars 1/13/2011 by LCWOOD
by LCWOOD

Within the past 12 months i've purchased six(6) break barrel air rifles.7th purchase was the pcp benjamin discovery .22 cal.This gun is awesome.I love my break barrels guns but i have not looked at them since receiving the pcp.Accurate out of the box at 30yds.1" group with second 5 rounds open sight shots.Can't wait until she's scoped.85 pumps from empty to 2000psi with ease @ 5'9" 155lbs.This gun is a tad loud for a pellet gun but thats the trade off for this much fun.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LCWOOD
Bham,Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
WOW!!!
1/16/2011

Customer review by chipshot

5.0 stars 1/16/2011 by chipshot
by chipshot

Nice rifle cant ask for much more for the price, very accurate 1" groups at 35 yards no problem with crosman premier domed .22 cal. 14.3 gr. pellets, pumps up very easy, average shot count is around 15 good power shots average velocity is 840 fps. excellent weight for walking out in fields, small and easy to shoulder and im 5-11 170lbs, my son liked it so much i was going to buy another one but i dont see them here no more?? so i order the marauder from PA and it is very nice, alittle heavy but the trigger is sweet. i have lots of springers and nitros but i dont even look at them no more. this is the way to go, have fun.

Was this review helpful? (23) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chipshot
Lodi, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great gun!
2/10/2012

Customer review by Saltyscallion

5.0 stars 2/10/2012 by Saltyscallion
by Saltyscallion

Just got my Discovery a few days ago and couldn't be happier with its performance. The first thing I did when I got the gun was clean the barrel. The barrel was quite dirty but only took a few minutes to clean up. Next I mounted a cheap Bushnell 4x32 rimfire scope on the gun and got ready to shoot. I hooked the pump up to the gun and pumped it approximately 70 times (didn't count# to reach 2000 psi. I found the pump fairly easy to pump but it got a little harder to pump as it got up around the 2000 mark. Set up some targets at 25 yards and started sighting in the gun shooting off of a bench with a good shooting bag. It only took about 6 shots to be hitting the center of the target and all of the shots started grouping very well. There was no break in period as is customary with the break barrel guns. This is the most consistent shooting pellet gun I have ever seen! I have been able to consistently shoot dime size groops or smaller at 25 yards using Crosman Premier pellets, which are the only pellets I have tried in the gun. The trigger on the gun is the weakest part, being a little heavy with some creep but not as bad as many pellet gun triggers. With a better scope and a little trigger work this gun would be incredible. The gun is well balanced and fairly lite but it does make a fair amount of noise when shooting #as loud or louder than most break barrel guns). The gun has very little or no recoil when shooting. I have tried several different break barrel guns and was not happy with there accuracy, then I shot this gun and couldn't believe how much easier this gun was to master. You don't have to hold this gun in any special way for it to shoot accurately as is customary with most break barrel guns. If you want an easy to shoot , accurate and fast gun, this is the one for you.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Saltyscallion
Ocala,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This gun is great
3/21/2012

Customer review by Finchlkake

5.0 stars 3/21/2012 by Finchlkake
by Finchlkake

This gun is now my favorite, I have 4 break-barrel guns before I bought this one. They are all gathering dust now. The Benjamin Discovery will out shoot all of them. I am making shots I could only dream about with the break-barrel guns. I am useing JSB exact heavies 18.1gr and can group 1/2'' at 40 yards.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Finchlkake
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Gun
3/2/2011

Customer review by Jooky

5.0 stars 3/2/2011 by Jooky
by Jooky

I was really excited to see this air rifle with the pump for only $300. Once I got this gun home I read through the paper work so I would get it pressurized correctly. I about 5 minutes I had it pumped up to 2000 psi and ready to shoot. The first couple of time out shooting at targets I really stuggeled to get a good group. I then changed my pellets to the Crossman Permier domed hollow points that came with the gun, and everything was great! It's so much fun to shoot in the backyard. I can't wait to get out and try it hunting this spring and summer.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jooky
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very Nice For Entry Level PCP Rifle
2/20/2014

Customer review by sdantive1964

4.0 stars 2/20/2014 by sdantive1964
by sdantive1964

If you are used to springers or even gas piston this rifle will take you to the next level. Even with hollow point rounds it easily penetrates 1/4" plywood at 25 yards. By penetrate I mean it DESTROYS IT! Report is somewhat less than a .22 rim fire but the neighbors will hear it, if that is a concern. If you plan to mount a scope (and who wouldn't) make sure to get the tall rings otherwise getting the pellet into breach under the scope is cumbersome.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sdantive1964
Imperial Beach, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/20/2012

Customer review by phillipjonnybob

5.0 stars 3/20/2012 by phillipjonnybob
by phillipjonnybob

excellent air rifle,70 bucks cheaper than other sites..mine is a tack driver out to 50(1/4")yards.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phillipjonnybob
greenwood,ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/31/2012

Customer review by Elroy01

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by Elroy01
by Elroy01

This gun is a blast to shoot I have a benjamin 397 pump and a benjamin nitro piston 1500 and a crosmon optimis thease guns are nice but the discovery hands down is the best this is a true classic

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Elroy01
Deville La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice Quality American made airgun
5/30/2012

Customer review by thisismyrifle

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by thisismyrifle
by thisismyrifle

The Discovery lives up to it's promises. Everything works and is built with quality in mind. The stock is nice and the metal work is also. Shoots much harder and more accurately than any other break barrel or multi pump airgun I have. The Centerpoint 3-9 X40 scope goes great with the Discovery. Really nice value.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thisismyrifle
Kaufman, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Massive fun for a great price!
3/16/2014

Customer review by Whylliecoyote

5.0 stars 3/16/2014 by Whylliecoyote
by Whylliecoyote

This gun is deadly accurate, much easier to shoot than spring piston guns, and has more heft than multi pump guns. The only serious issue is that it is loud, about 120 db according to one YouTube video, however there is a baffle available that reduces the noise enough to make it backyard/basement friendly. I have it on mine and it works perfectly. If you are interested in this gun, I'd suggest watching some of the YouTube videos about it. One thing is for sure, it has been around a long time and still remains highly popular for a very good reason. It's a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Whylliecoyote
Des Moines, Ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
One flaw...
7/26/2012

Customer review by aRepublican

5.0 stars 7/26/2012 by aRepublican
by aRepublican

Pros Accurate and Powerful. Cons Loud and sights Adding a scope to the rifle makes loading very difficult. However 20 shots at 15 yards left just two holes. One was obviously my mistake. Stock seems short, I extended it a full inch.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aRepublican
Orlando
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Pressure Gauge Issue
5/10/2012

Customer review by SafariDave

2.0 stars 5/10/2012 by SafariDave
by SafariDave

The rifle fired great the first 25 or so shots but after re pumping the gun the pressure gauge went bad. Not sure if its a gun issue or just WalMarts shipping issues. The gun was shipped in the original box inside a giant box that had no packing material, so the gun had plenty of run to bang around while in transit from FedEx. Powerful gun is all I can say. Sent it back to Walmart after being defective.

Was this review helpful? (7) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SafariDave
Tampa, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
GREAT GUN
1/6/2011

Customer review by bigguy3

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by bigguy3
by bigguy3

This is a very nice gun.Took me 100 pumps to fill it up.Very powerful.This gun is as loud as my 22 rifle,or louder.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigguy3
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews