Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 63 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

63 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

63 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 54 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews
Skil 4-1/2" Angle Grinder
2/7/2011

Customer review by bongonatty

5.0 stars 2/7/2011 by bongonatty
by bongonatty

bought to do odd jobs around the house. met all my needs, powerful 6A motor. did the jobs with ease. the tool does all the work. came with grinding disc, and all the accessories needed to get the job done. fine tool for BIG jobs for a small price.

Was this review helpful? (44) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bongonatty
kingston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Angle Grinder
7/13/2016

Customer review by topcrop

4.0 stars 7/13/2016 by topcrop
by topcrop

Back to the old grind, Works great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
topcrop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Difficult Switch
6/13/2016

Customer review by jim49

2.0 stars 6/13/2016 by jim49
by jim49

Overall, the grinder works well for the price. I cannot understand why you made the switch so difficult to use. My thumb hurts ! Unacceptable component

jim49
Pennsylvania, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
awsome grinder
8/9/2011

Customer review by kachinski

5.0 stars 8/9/2011 by kachinski
by kachinski

i got this to replace the b&d i got first this grinder is way better then the bd it got more ferrter and is more powerful skil is one of top tool brand craftsman and skil r my top tools brands im a handyman so i need good tools i put my word on craftsman and skil

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kachinski
new brighton pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Tool...........Until the Switch Failed!
12/12/2013

Customer review by FarmerMechanic

2.0 stars 12/12/2013 by FarmerMechanic
by FarmerMechanic

Until the switch failed today, I was very happy with the value and power of this grinder. As another reviewer noted, the switch is a little hard to use, but as long as it worked, this has been a good addition to my larger and heavier angle grinder that I have used (and abused) for 30 years (Craftsman). I don't really have many hours of usage on this tool, but today it started losing power, required a "bump" to get it to start and then, the switch finally didn't work at all. It's out of warranty, so I thought I had nothing to lose by trying to get to the switch to see if I could repair it. Unlike my Craftsman grinder, this tool is not made for any kind of repair by the owner. The brushes are like new (from very little total usage) but are not assessible from the outside, making future replacement (as suggested in the owner's manual) very difficult. Basically the entire motor assembly slides, fully assembled, down the barrel. Getting that assembly out of the barrel is not obvious and requires a lot of force and the proper tools. I'm probably going to scrap this tool and find something better, even if it costs a significant amount more.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FarmerMechanic
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good for the price
4/29/2016

Customer review by onthejob

4.0 stars 4/29/2016 by onthejob
by onthejob

My old grinder quit in the middle of a job. When I went to replace it, the sales person tried to sell me a more costly model, so I left that store and went to another. I have never owned a skil product before, but I am happy with this one. I like the idea of carrying the tool in the handle, but I wonder if it will still be a tight fit after a few years. The switch should be on the top of the machine, not on the side. It would be easier to control as I do not lock it on. I think it was a good choice to get this Skil grinder.

onthejob
Nova Scotia, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Replacing grinding wheel
5/2/2016

Customer review by Dennis

3.0 stars 5/2/2016 by Dennis
by Dennis

I can't loosen the lock nut to replace the grinding wheel. It won't budge. Based on what I see it should loosen if I apply pressure while pulling to the left. Is this right or does it loosen by pulling to the right?

Dennis
Good price, very happy.
12/9/2011

Customer review by Macey75

5.0 stars 12/9/2011 by Macey75
by Macey75

I like how the wrench fits into the handle, no more losing the wrench, excellent idea.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Macey75
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great grinder for the do it yourself type person.
6/13/2012

Customer review by Bestglideflare

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by Bestglideflare
by Bestglideflare

Bought this to cut the hub off of a cast iron soil stack. It worked very satisfactorly. Plenty of power to get the job done and the price was resonable.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bestglideflare
Shamokin, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A great grinder at agreat price.
4/12/2012

Customer review by theleetbeagle

5.0 stars 4/12/2012 by theleetbeagle
by theleetbeagle

This is an awesome, powerful grinder at a good price. That's all I can say really. A grinder is a tool that is going to be beat up, abused and disposed of. There is no reason to spend $200 on a Dewalt when you can buy 5 of these for the same cost and get a new one each time. Heck, this may even last as long as a Dewalt. Remember, Skil is a Bosch product, whom I have huge respect for.

Was this review helpful? (15) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
theleetbeagle
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A more powerful Grinder
7/22/2014

Customer review by billyhere123

5.0 stars 7/22/2014 by billyhere123
by billyhere123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This Skil Grinder is a little more powerful than any of my previous grinders. It has a 6amp motor and the best price I could find anywhere. Tired of the cheapo models, this ones a step above. Did you know Bosch makes Skil power tools? :-)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
billyhere123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love my Skil grinder
2/27/2016

Customer review by JeepinSteve

5.0 stars 2/27/2016 by JeepinSteve
by JeepinSteve

Bought this to do some concrete work a couple years ago. Since then, I retired and started taking welding classes and use this little grinder on all my projects. Looking at buying another so I don't have to swap accessories so often. Highly recommend this grinder.Great value for a good price.

JeepinSteve
Arizona, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
doing the job for which I purchased it for!
6/30/2014

Customer review by milop1

4.0 stars 6/30/2014 by milop1
by milop1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Key to change disks is in handle, very nice. feels good and secure in my hands. trigger to start is a little awkward but getting use too. good grinder for what I paid for it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
milop1
Oswego, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/9/2013

Customer review by karuk

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by karuk
by karuk
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

As a do-it-yourselfer this tool will come in handy. I have had for only a couple of days but have already used more than once. It cuts with ease and is not too heavy. Would recommend to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
karuk
Citrus Heights, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Skil Angle grinder
3/8/2016

Customer review by RobK

4.0 stars 3/8/2016 by RobK
by RobK

I purchased the Skil Angle Grinder primarily to sharpen my lawn mower blades. They do a good and quick job of sharpening the blades. It used to take me several minutes to sharpen the blades with a file. Now I do it in few seconds without lot of effort. This unit is fairly cost effective and a good value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RobK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skil Angle Grinder
4/14/2013

Customer review by Codfthr

5.0 stars 4/14/2013 by Codfthr
by Codfthr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Fairly light weight, runs exceptionally well, easy to use, and easy to change disc's. Easy to grip while applying pressure.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Codfthr
Bremerton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Skil 9295-01 4-1/2" Angle Grinder
2/24/2016

Customer review by svandervoe

5.0 stars 2/24/2016 by svandervoe
by svandervoe

Great tool for the price

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
svandervoe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Value for the Price and well designed
9/10/2015

Customer review by TommyD

4.0 stars 9/10/2015 by TommyD
by TommyD

I bought this to grind off broken screw and bolt stubs in a vintage travel trailer. It works just fine for that, has adequate power to handle bolts and smoothing welds down. I like the handle having three positions, and being able to move the blade guard around so it doesn't block the work. I have no complaints so far and I hope I can still like the tool a year from now!

TommyD
Grass Valley, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Awesome!
8/27/2015

Customer review by Vorricks

5.0 stars 8/27/2015 by Vorricks
by Vorricks

This tool is perfect for me. It does exactly what I need it to. I was worried about how cheap it was and if it would last. Not anymore, skil is now a brand I trust and am actually saving to buy more tools from.

Vorricks
Larchwood, ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
good value
5/19/2014

Customer review by chiwii

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by chiwii
by chiwii
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to use and does a great job

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chiwii
Robert, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews