Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 48 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

48 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

48 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 41 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
Skil 4-1/2" Angle Grinder
2/7/2011

Customer review by bongonatty

5.0 stars 2/7/2011 by bongonatty
by bongonatty

bought to do odd jobs around the house. met all my needs, powerful 6A motor. did the jobs with ease. the tool does all the work. came with grinding disc, and all the accessories needed to get the job done. fine tool for BIG jobs for a small price.

Was this review helpful? (42) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bongonatty
kingston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
awsome grinder
8/9/2011

Customer review by kachinski

5.0 stars 8/9/2011 by kachinski
by kachinski

i got this to replace the b&d i got first this grinder is way better then the bd it got more ferrter and is more powerful skil is one of top tool brand craftsman and skil r my top tools brands im a handyman so i need good tools i put my word on craftsman and skil

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kachinski
new brighton pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good price, very happy.
12/9/2011

Customer review by Macey75

5.0 stars 12/9/2011 by Macey75
by Macey75

I like how the wrench fits into the handle, no more losing the wrench, excellent idea.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Macey75
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A great grinder at agreat price.
4/12/2012

Customer review by theleetbeagle

5.0 stars 4/12/2012 by theleetbeagle
by theleetbeagle

This is an awesome, powerful grinder at a good price. That's all I can say really. A grinder is a tool that is going to be beat up, abused and disposed of. There is no reason to spend $200 on a Dewalt when you can buy 5 of these for the same cost and get a new one each time. Heck, this may even last as long as a Dewalt. Remember, Skil is a Bosch product, whom I have huge respect for.

Was this review helpful? (13) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
theleetbeagle
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great grinder for the do it yourself type person.
6/13/2012

Customer review by Bestglideflare

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by Bestglideflare
by Bestglideflare

Bought this to cut the hub off of a cast iron soil stack. It worked very satisfactorly. Plenty of power to get the job done and the price was resonable.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bestglideflare
Shamokin, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1/9/2013

Customer review by karuk

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by karuk
by karuk

As a do-it-yourselfer this tool will come in handy. I have had for only a couple of days but have already used more than once. It cuts with ease and is not too heavy. Would recommend to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
karuk
Citrus Heights, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A more powerful Grinder
7/22/2014

Customer review by billyhere123

5.0 stars 7/22/2014 by billyhere123
by billyhere123

This Skil Grinder is a little more powerful than any of my previous grinders. It has a 6amp motor and the best price I could find anywhere. Tired of the cheapo models, this ones a step above. Did you know Bosch makes Skil power tools? :-)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
billyhere123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
doing the job for which I purchased it for!
6/30/2014

Customer review by milop1

4.0 stars 6/30/2014 by milop1
by milop1

Key to change disks is in handle, very nice. feels good and secure in my hands. trigger to start is a little awkward but getting use too. good grinder for what I paid for it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
milop1
Oswego, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Tool...........Until the Switch Failed!
12/12/2013

Customer review by FarmerMechanic

2.0 stars 12/12/2013 by FarmerMechanic
by FarmerMechanic

Until the switch failed today, I was very happy with the value and power of this grinder. As another reviewer noted, the switch is a little hard to use, but as long as it worked, this has been a good addition to my larger and heavier angle grinder that I have used (and abused) for 30 years (Craftsman). I don't really have many hours of usage on this tool, but today it started losing power, required a "bump" to get it to start and then, the switch finally didn't work at all. It's out of warranty, so I thought I had nothing to lose by trying to get to the switch to see if I could repair it. Unlike my Craftsman grinder, this tool is not made for any kind of repair by the owner. The brushes are like new (from very little total usage) but are not assessible from the outside, making future replacement (as suggested in the owner's manual) very difficult. Basically the entire motor assembly slides, fully assembled, down the barrel. Getting that assembly out of the barrel is not obvious and requires a lot of force and the proper tools. I'm probably going to scrap this tool and find something better, even if it costs a significant amount more.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FarmerMechanic
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Skil Angle Grinder
4/14/2013

Customer review by Codfthr

5.0 stars 4/14/2013 by Codfthr
by Codfthr

Fairly light weight, runs exceptionally well, easy to use, and easy to change disc's. Easy to grip while applying pressure.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Codfthr
Bremerton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DURABLE, DURABLE, DURABLE & NEVER DIES!!!
4/26/2013

Customer review by HANDYMAN08833

5.0 stars 4/26/2013 by HANDYMAN08833
by HANDYMAN08833

DURABLE, DURABLE, DURABLE & NEVER DIES!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HANDYMAN08833
LEBANON, NJ 08833
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good value
5/19/2014

Customer review by chiwii

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by chiwii
by chiwii

Easy to use and does a great job

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chiwii
Robert, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What I found on the Shelf
8/1/2014

Customer review by bvhhick

3.0 stars 8/1/2014 by bvhhick
by bvhhick

I went to my store and located two - both boxes open, 1 returned, and 1 new but both missing the spanner wrench. I hoped the one I had at home would fit; It didn't, but the lock washer from my other unit did work, thus I had a spanner wrench to use. I will follow up with the store Manager and get the part ordered that I need. Right at this moment I will be an average review. That can change depending on the quality and resources i experience from customer service. The tool itself is right for the specs of the application and will be evaluated over time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bvhhick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
handle breaks - cheap bolt
6/10/2015

Customer review by MWILL

1.0 stars 6/10/2015 by MWILL
by MWILL

Nice powerful grinder. BUT!!! cheap bolt in handle breaks after 15 to 20 hours of use. Dangerous to use without handle on certain jobs. Frustrated! Useless tool without handle.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MWILL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great camera for a beginner
12/27/2013

Customer review by navejas

4.0 stars 12/27/2013 by navejas
by navejas

Great camera for a beginner

Was this review helpful? (1) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
navejas
calexico 92231
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Holds up in commercial use!!
9/26/2013

Customer review by Fabguy4130

5.0 stars 9/26/2013 by Fabguy4130
by Fabguy4130

I run a small fab shop and have used just about every brand of angle grinder out there. I beat this Skill angle grinder as hard as I can week after week and it still keeps going strong. Plenty of power for abrasive cut off wheels, sanding discs or wire wheel. Knocked off my work bench a dozen times or more. The cord for it is junk though, I repair my cord on a monthly basis. It will crack and short out every month, never fails! But like I said, I use this thing in a pretty abusive environment and it does great! I would recommend replacing the cord with a good industrial cord and you'll be set. I am extremely pleased with this tools performance and plan to buy 2 or 3 more of them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fabguy4130
Lakeside, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very good product
6/19/2014

Customer review by cuci01

5.0 stars 6/19/2014 by cuci01
by cuci01

does what I wanted it do

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cuci01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Buy !
11/19/2014

Customer review by tinkermen50

5.0 stars 11/19/2014 by tinkermen50
by tinkermen50

Works great was just what I needed at a reasonable cost .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tinkermen50
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Satisfied
6/5/2015

Customer review by DadOf4

5.0 stars 6/5/2015 by DadOf4
by DadOf4

Works great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DadOf4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great
7/24/2014

Customer review by 1470tiger

5.0 stars 7/24/2014 by 1470tiger
by 1470tiger

Works great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1470tiger
Greencastle,Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews