Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1091 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

1091 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

5 stars
750
4 stars
240
3 stars
39
2 stars
30
1 stars
32
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 970 total reviews
Good for my back
4/17/2011

Customer review by Clarity

5.0 stars by Clarity

After purchasing this AND the Dorel, I've come to the conclusion that the more expensive is not always better. I've struggled with back pain & sciatica now for over a year. After purchasing the Slumber 1 twin for a spare room as a "test" (which came after playing musical mattresses including a memory foam pad), I thought that the Dorel would be even better - as it is a thicker mattress, and they would be very comparable. Not so. The slumber 1 is firm with some give, yet the pillowtop is like sleeping on a cloud. The Dorel is firmer, and it's pillowtop is not soft, and I can feel the coils through the pillowtop. The Dorel was really making my back pain worse. The Slumber 1 is more supportive than the memory foam mattress I have. So I would absolutely recommend the Slumber 1 if you have back problems. It is really an unbelievably comfortable mattress. I just ordered another Slumber 1 for my bedroom, and the Dorel is going down in the basement where it belongs. We originally planned on holding off getting a king size mattress that was more expensive when we move into a home we are buying, but after sleeping on Slumber 1, I'd take this much less expensive mattress over a luxury one any day. So we're just going to purchase another Slumber 1 in the King (hopefully Walmart will get that back in stock). My husband and I have very different tastes in mattresses, and miraculously we both love the Slumber 1.

Was this review helpful? (393) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Clarity
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Awesome Mattress!
8/7/2010

Customer review by ParentofaLittlePrincess

5.0 stars by ParentofaLittlePrincess

This mattress is great! Purchased it in the king size and it was such a great deal for such a roomy, comfortable mattress! Been getting the best sleep ever! I will say we were confused at 1st considering the mattress comes in a box that can fit in the trunk or back seat of most larger cars, but don't let that fool you...1st of all the box weighs almost 100 lbs. and once opened the mattress is in a vacuum sealed bag and is shockingly a great mattress despite the way it is packaged.

Was this review helpful? (312) (63)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ParentofaLittlePrincess
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very disappointed!
3/28/2012

Customer review by KarMc

1.0 stars by KarMc

I've had this mattress since April 4, 2011, not even one year yet, and there's a sagging crater in the center and it's killing my back. My dog, an occasional cat, and I are the only ones sleeping on it and I'm not an overly large person (5'2", 150), but even if I were this should not be. The springs make a horrid noise also. It looks nice but that's about the only good thing I can say. There is a 5 year warranty and I plan to make use of that if I can find more info on how to go about it.

Was this review helpful? (72) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KarMc
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So comfortable. But not perfect.
7/26/2011

Customer review by dman22221

4.0 stars by dman22221

This is by far the best mattress I have ever slept on in terms of comfort. Soft, yet supportive. But just keep in mind it's kind of a cheap mattress in a way. It's very thin. I put it on a platform bed and when I go to "plop" down on it, I hit the boards on the bed. Also, the sheets I got do not fit snugly to it. So just keep that in mind. I'm considering getting another cheap mattress to put underneath it - but then it may make my bed too high. The other thing is that the edges make it feel cheap. If you sleep or sit on the edge, it will feel like you're falling off. It doesn't have those firm edges that I'm used to. But for the price, this bed can absolutely not be beat and overall, I'm very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (155) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dman22221
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Should you buy this mattress
2/28/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

I read all the reviews for this mattress, and it still didn't have me completely convinced if I should take a chance on this slumber 10 pillow top mattress or not. Well I did buy it. I love this mattress, it's soft but not to soft to where you sink into it and feel like you fell asleep on a love seat. I was most concerned about myself as I am a big guy. I weigh 260lbs and have been getting the best sleep I've had in years. It's kind of crazy how much I like going to bed now. I am very happy I took a chance and bought this mattress. I bought a king size and used my original box springs, my original mattress was a sealy. And this bed is very nice especially for the price. I can say the very first night didn't give me the full effect of the pillow top since it hadn't fluffed up entirely before me and my wife went to bed, my wife who is a tiny thing feels the same as I do about our bed. We are both pleasantly surprised and very happy to have taken the chance on this mattress.

Was this review helpful? (77) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than my expensive Sleep Number bed!
6/26/2014

Customer review by xyzp

5.0 stars by xyzp

I LOVE THIS BED! I was very hesitant to buy it because the product is advertised so awfully. I couldn't imagine that any bed this inexpensive could be of very high quality. I agonized over the decision to buy it. My biggest hesitation was wondering if the outer material on the mattress was the same as a "typical" expensive mattress. I didn't see how it could be and it appears to look saggy in the pictures. I was desperate so I ultimately made the purchase. The box arrived and I was already regretting it. My son and I set it up and we let it air out for 24 hours. They recommend longer but that was all I could do. It didn't seem to be a problem. I think the longer you air it out, the more the odor dissipates. The odor really wasn't that bad and a week out, I hardly noticed it. I have historically owned very expensive beds, including a Select Comfort Sleep Number Bed. I liked the Sleep Number bed but my former cat destroyed it. I didn't want to spend a couple thousand dollars on a bed ever again so I entertained the idea of some of the less expensive beds on Walmart.com. I'm SO glad I did! This bed makes me feel like I'm sleeping on soft, fluffy clouds. I don't know how long it will last, but at $269., I can buy a new one every year for almost 10 years before I total the amount of an average, King size, Sleep Number bed. This bed appears to be made from the same material typical, more expensive, spring mattresses are made from. Everything about it is wonderful! I haven't slept this well in years! BTW: I'm a very heavy, stomach sleeper and it's exceedingly comfortable! My husband likes it too!

Was this review helpful? (142) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
xyzp
Thousand Oaks, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Great Bed if you have aches and pains!!
10/17/2011

Customer review by LoveR2Boxers

5.0 stars by LoveR2Boxers

My husband and I purchased this mattress about 4 months ago and I wanted to wait to write a review and let the newness wear off. It is a wonderful mattress. We both were waking up with back aches, hip aches (im 41 and he's 51) and the first night in our new bed was like sleeping on a cloud. We no longer have the aches and pains we once woke up to. We just love it and every night we crawl into bed we say "ahhhhh, I love this bed" It was well worth it. Great bed for a great value!! Now I was concerned when it came shrink wrapped and in a small box and thought "oh my this should be good!" I thought perhaps I spent our hard earned money on another let down but NO I didn't. We are very pleased and it is the most comfortable bed we ever had. Im not a big fan of online purchases but Im glad I went out on a limb on this one. Dont hesitate, go for it!!

Was this review helpful? (47) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LoveR2Boxers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Purchase!
6/9/2011

Customer review by lexley

5.0 stars by lexley

I bought this mattress solely off of the reviews on Walmart.com because i needed a full mattress that was comfortable and I'm a college student that just moved into a new apartment that was furnished with a full bed frame. Someone did a review between the Slumber 1 and the Dorel which was EXACTLY the 2 mattresses that I was trying to decide between and after reading his/her review I decided to get this one. IT IS SO COMFORTABLE! Its definitely one of those beds that makes you fall asleep almost instantly. I have had hard, spring poking beds before and I wanted a new one that would be softer, yet stable and I LOVE THIS one. No more tossing and turning. Its incredible it came in a box! But it expanded just fine and I am so glad I purchased it. Good value for the price on a student's budget. Only problem is now I have an even harder time getting out of bed in the morning!

Was this review helpful? (199) (77)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lexley
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Crazy Great Value for Price
8/8/2011

Customer review by WalmartUser8888

5.0 stars by WalmartUser8888

My husband and I needed a new mattress for a new bedroom set that we purchased and we decided that upon the great reviews here we would try the king size mattress in a box. I was extremely hesitant, but decided we could always return it and put the order in for in store pickup. My order came in about a week later and we picked it up and amazingly it fight fight in our trunk. A mattress...in our trunk. The box was heavy, but set up was a breeze. The mattress seems nice, it actually seems to be the same or better quality of any mid priced mattress that I've ever owned. Nice and soft but it also provides a ton of support, even for my husband who is a very big guy. I want to address two issues that I noticed a few other people mention, the first being the smell. I have to say that I didn't notice any smell. Also, a couple people mentioned the king size being a little smaller than the average king size mattress...this is NOT the case. I have a king size pedestal bed and the mattress fits in perfectly, nice and snug. This is a great mattress for the price. I have to assume that it's not going to last forever, but for the price I'll just buy another one in a couple years.

Was this review helpful? (48) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
WalmartUser8888
St. Clair Shores, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Where's the "pillow" on this pillow-top mattress?
5/11/2013

Customer review by kwisatz

2.0 stars by kwisatz

I was very disappointed in the pillow-top portion of this mattress. It is virtually non-existent. It has the casing where the cushioning should be but it seems to be missing! Also, it's not very plush. I bought this mattress because it rated high on the plush scale (3, I think) but it's more on the firm side. See the pictures I've included. The positives of this mattress are that the stitching is solid and it seems sturdy overall.

Was this review helpful? (54) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kwisatz
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/29/2011

Customer review by EJNJ

1.0 stars by EJNJ

Purchased this item. Shopped this item without ever seeing one since it was an online item only. Ad looked great and was comparable to other stores. Got the mattress and it came in about a 20"square box witch I was not aware that was how it came. Needless to say it was folded and rolled tight to fit the box. With a positive outlook I unpacked it and unrolled it giving it 48 hours to expand as stated in the instructions. With great disappointment the mattress had this low spot across the middle like an old worn out mattress. Kinda like a rent a bed where it stays folded most of the time.

Was this review helpful? (67) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
EJNJ
Lenader, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not as good as the first one we bought!
8/1/2012

Customer review by wierdwally

1.0 stars by wierdwally

The first mattress we bought did not have the pillow top and it was GREAT! The second one we bought just a couple of months ago had the pillow top which went flat at the pressure points (hips, shoulders) just where you need it the most and we are not over weight. I am very disappointed in this product. I would buy the first model again but never this one.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
wierdwally
Waynesville
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Took a chance and so far I'm a satisfied customer.
12/11/2012

Customer review by CJTH

5.0 stars by CJTH

Just got done in less than 15min in from the time I pickup at Walmart to unpacking at home and I will say that it feels great. When I lay on it, feels almost firm, but with a plush touch. Sitting on the side of the bed holds up really well, I'm suprise, so its possible to sit here for long periods of time without having to worry about sliding off. I purchase the queen size and just so you can have and idea this is on a bed frame w/slates that I purchased from IKEA - you can look this up on there website... MALM Bed frame, birch veneer $149.00 part# 398.498.55 Also note that I'm 5'7" slender built and weigh about 145 pounds. This is just 30min in and I can say that I am a believer in high tech memory form beds. This 10" is perfect, was thinking of getting the 8" but I'm glad I didn't. Nice material with the pillow top. You wouldn't know that this was a bed in a box literally if I didn't say anything to a friend or family. I hope that this last 3 or 5 years and if it can last this long and mantain the stucture without it being worn in certain places or that sunk in feeling, then I will be satisfied beyond the expectation of this bed. I almost forgot... there is no smell to this since I first unpack/unrolled this. I even put my nose onto this bed and it smells like a new bed. No worries about awful smells related to foam mattresses with this one. I'll write a review in a year or so, maybe sooner if this bed fails expectation.

Was this review helpful? (39) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CJTH
Plano, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy
2/2/2011

Customer review by Silvastar32

5.0 stars by Silvastar32

I cannot describe the wonder of great sleep on this bed. Like others before me have said, do not let the packaging fool you, this is a great buy. I will definitely buy another for my daughter and guest bedroom.

Was this review helpful? (70) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Silvastar32
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My family is jealous because I have this mattress!
10/29/2011

Customer review by Alisiah

5.0 stars by Alisiah

I absolutely love this mattress. It's plush and amazing for my back. For the first time in months I've been able to lay down and feel no pain or to be uncomfortable. I can't feel the springs or the bars of the frame. By far the best mattress I have ever laid on. It has a great bounce to it and soft quality. It's neither too soft or too hard, it hits the perfect medium. Also the twin is a perfect size. I could fit two people comfortably on my bed. I actually look forward to going to bed and being able to wake up pain free and comfortably. My sisters and my mom are all surprised the quality of this mattress especially because it came in a box. I wasn't even the first one to lay down on it because they all took turns laying down before I even had the sheets on it. They love it as much as I do. This mattress is worth the money! I would buy this and a frame before I had spent the 120 dollars on a futon a few months ago!

Was this review helpful? (87) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Alisiah
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy Comfort.
7/17/2013

Customer review by intrepidtraveler13

5.0 stars by intrepidtraveler13

I've only had this mattress for two weeks, but I'm loving it so far. It's sturdy and plush: just what i was looking for. It also sits nicely on my platform bed. Set up was easy; just open the bag and watch it magically grow. It's a great buy for those on a budget.

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
intrepidtraveler13
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Like being on vacation!
8/22/2011

Customer review by WannaWalmart

4.0 stars by WannaWalmart

Pros: Cozy, firm, comparable to sleeping on a Cloud 9 at the Hampton. I can sleep through the whole night now. Looks as nice as anything you'd see at a major mattress retailer Cons: The box is big and heavy-needs two people to unpack and the mattress is hard to move around once out of the box. Unless you have a high bed frame it sits very low even when fully expanded.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
WannaWalmart
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
More than my wife and I expected
8/22/2012

Customer review by nesting2

5.0 stars by nesting2

Bought 2 of these mattresses for the twin size storage beds that I built. We were amazed how they came back to the original size after unpacking them on the beds. The mattresses were way more comfortable to sleep on then we expected. We are senior citizens and very happy with the product.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
nesting2
Lewiston, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
coils but no foam
1/29/2013

Customer review by MemoryFoamFromNowOn

1.0 stars by MemoryFoamFromNowOn

I read lots of reviews here and I believe I have something completly different. After 3 days the mattress is still 8 inches, with no feel of foam (they might have forgoten to insert foam). It feels like an old, beat up mattress. There is no foam cushioning, when I put my hand on it I can feel the coils, when I lie down, I feel the coils. I have a 4" topper which I put on hardwood floor and it still feels like night and day compare to this mattress. Maybe this was a defective mattress but I would not recomend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MemoryFoamFromNowOn
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
3/3/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars by An anonymous customer

We were very surprised to see this mattress come in such a small box. The instructions were easy to understand and after an hour or two the mattress was ready to be slept on. My husband has a bad back and he woke up the very first morning after a full night sleep with no back pain. We would definitely recommend this mattress to our friends - we feel was a good buy for the price. We look forward to seeing how long it holds up - hope for a long time.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
1-20 of 970 total reviews