Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 13 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

13 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

13 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-11 of 11 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

5/16/2012

Customer review by Matt93312

5.0 stars 5/16/2012 by Matt93312
by Matt93312

I did a lot of research before buying this combo and I can tell you that it is a very good value for the money. It was $125 after tax and home delivery and arrived in three days for 2 bucks! When I opened it and saw how sturdy the pole and reel were, I ordered two more for my nephew and father-in-law. These are the same rods that our favorite sportfishing company rents for $10 a day. Very strong and dependable.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Matt93312
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
You cannot go wrong with Penn
11/29/2010

Customer review by PortMonster

5.0 stars 11/29/2010 by PortMonster
by PortMonster

This is a very sturdy boat rod good for trolling or medium to heavy weight fishing. Penn quality with Walmart prices!!!!

Was this review helpful? (41) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PortMonster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/23/2013

Customer review by romanrcp

4.0 stars 8/23/2013 by romanrcp
by romanrcp

GOOD QUALITY ROD AND REEL FOR THE PRICE. WAS USED DOWN IN MEXICO, BAHIA DE LOS ANGELES TO BE EXACT. COUGHT YELLOW TAIL AND DORANDO. USED TROLLING AND WITH IRON JIGS. ONLY COMPLAINT IS THE SHIPPING METHOD, WAS IN CHEAP BUBBLE WRAP AND CARD BOARD BOX HAD HOLES IN IT. UPON INSPECTION I NOTICED ONE INNER RING WAS BROKEN. I WAS LEAVING FOR MY TRIP 3 DAYS BEFORE SO I WAS NOT ABLE TO RETURN AND REPLACE. I TOOK DOWN TO MY LOCAL BAIT AND TACKLE FOR QUICK FIX. OTHER THAN THAT NO COMPLAINTS. GOING BACK DOWN TO MEXICO AGAIN IN A MONTH. HAPPY FISHING AND TIGHT LINES.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
romanrcp
long beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great set up for boat fishing,great value.
1/22/2014

Customer review by Jimmiepirate

5.0 stars 1/22/2014 by Jimmiepirate
by Jimmiepirate

I have had this rig since I was ten years old and that one is fifty years old. The reel still works like a clock. I bought two more from Walmart this winter because my son and nephew are ready for their first eight hour trips this year. This rod can be set-up and rigged to fish everything in South Jersey waters and beyond. From Black Sea Bass, Fluke, and of course the superb Striped Bass,considered by many to be the best fishing during the spring run up the coast. On the way they stop and gorge on all the bait fish and run up the Delaware Bay to spawn. But The fall run when they are coming back down they are fat and happy and they stop at Cape May. This rod is perfect for many presentations for whatever they are eating: live bait like a nice fat spot. or sometimes they are munching on clams. You can chunk bunker with it. The possibilties are endless. Anybody who is starting out.this rod can teach them everything about wreck fishing, fishing the reefs. Best!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jimmiepirate
Cape May Courthouse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/19/2013

Customer review by Shizyfishermen

5.0 stars 8/19/2013 by Shizyfishermen
by Shizyfishermen

Great price for a 4/0 penn with a heavy stick. Shipping could be better, not well packed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shizyfishermen
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Came in Damaged but usable
9/3/2013

Customer review by mpep

4.0 stars 9/3/2013 by mpep
by mpep

Ordered two and one of the rods had bent eyes upon arrival but I needed these to fish that weekend.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mpep
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
combo
2/6/2014

Customer review by lyn738

4.0 stars 2/6/2014 by lyn738
by lyn738

rod and reel combo well worth the money.Shipping is a problem came with bent eye didn't have time to return it for another.They definitely need to do better packageing on it

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lyn738
ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Broken
11/28/2013

Customer review by malo69

1.0 stars 11/28/2013 by malo69
by malo69

Reel was excellent but pole so poorly wrapped it broke and eyes smashed in shipping. Returned and bought from another company.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
malo69
El Centro
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Damaged Fishing rod
7/25/2013

Customer review by OOluck

1.0 stars 7/25/2013 by OOluck
by OOluck

Ordered because price of combo was very good and had gotten one previously from local Walmart. Received with box crushed, retaped, and fishing rod guides broken; package had no "fragile" or "do not bend" labels. Returned to local store for credit as none were available on site. Bought from local retailer to allow inspection before purchase. May have made sense to have store delivery instead of home.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OOluck
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent
12/16/2013

Customer review by Davidyg

5.0 stars 12/16/2013 by Davidyg
by Davidyg

perfect

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Davidyg
Monterey, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can't beat a Penn!!!!
6/12/2015

Customer review by Yakattack03

5.0 stars 6/12/2015 by Yakattack03
by Yakattack03

Bought a few of these combos for shark fishing on the beach. They are well built reels meant to last love them.

Yakattack03
Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.