Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 88 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

88 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

88 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
55
4 stars
26
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 65 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 65 total reviews
1-20 of 65 reviews
Worth It
9/1/2010

Customer review by LetmetalktoSampson

5.0 stars 9/1/2010 by LetmetalktoSampson
by LetmetalktoSampson

Very happy with this laptop. Did quite a bit of research, and this unit was one of the best for the price. Have had it for over a month with no issues. Very easy set up, runs efficiently, looks great. Only three minor beefs I have are: 1) As many have said, the glossy black trim around the screen sucks in finger prints. 2) The volume is weak. 3) The touchpad is not recessed, so as you type you have to be aware of where your hands/fingers are, because the slightest touch will transport your cursor to another spot on the screen as you type. Rather annoying, but I have learned to adapt. So, besides these little things, the laptop is great. Definetly worth the money. The battery life is real good as well. Rec'd. And for all the people unhappy with Vista, I love 7.

Was this review helpful? (45) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LetmetalktoSampson
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value
7/7/2010

Customer review by Purepoet

5.0 stars 7/7/2010 by Purepoet
by Purepoet

This laptop is very fast and easy to set-up and use. I use it when I work from home and have had no trouble adjusting to it. I have always used desktops but this laptop makes it easy to work anywhere. Very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Purepoet
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HP LAPTOP~ awesome qaulity,low price
7/9/2010

Customer review by Stephanie26

5.0 stars 7/9/2010 by Stephanie26
by Stephanie26

I LOVE love love this computer!!! I go through at least two laptops a year dut to heavy usage,and I have never owned a HP such as this one but this is AWESOME. I work from home and this is soooooo fast! Picture quality is AMAZING!! Price is great and well worth it! I use Virgin Mobile broadband and this computer packs a punch with dowloading video speed!Incredible deal Broadband is known to be slow but with this particular computer it's lightening fast,as I use a computer 14 hours daily,so I have shopped around internet wide and this is the best quality for the buck without killing your wallet.Thanks again Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stephanie26
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Surprised on Boot Up
8/19/2010

Customer review by JusJane

5.0 stars 8/19/2010 by JusJane
by JusJane

I had read the product specifications, but apparently I didn't read them very well. This laptop is a speedy thing with a 7200 rpm hard drive. I missed that in the specs and in looking for laptops previously, they've all been 5400 rpm. I'm really pleased. Windows 7 immediately detected my wireless router and let me set it up with my password protected access. It also detected someone else's unprotected access which we ignored. I knew I liked Windows 7 already as I have it on my desktop but it's nice to have it on the laptop and able to sync the two so easily. The HP laptop has a long battery life and it comes with the cords in order to charge it. The initial charge was 20 hours but it's certainly held it's own since then. It's a little heavy at 5.5lbs if I were a student, but I'm not so the weight isn't a concern for me. Since I am a hunt and find type, I still haven't found all of the pluses here. I did go to online chat for help because I could not find the right click nor any information about it. They told me to press the bar in. Silly me. I had been clicking it. I REALLY like this lap top and am giving it 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JusJane
Summersville, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fast, productive, easy to setup
7/29/2010

Customer review by ScottShopper18

5.0 stars 7/29/2010 by ScottShopper18
by ScottShopper18

This computer first of all is a beautiful design. I highly reccomend it, i did alot of research before i bought my first laptop and came to find this one has great specs for a great price. I have all my music and pictures on here now. I have never started up a computer before, and i had this one out of the box and running in 10 minutes. LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScottShopper18
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Few Quirks But Great!
8/30/2010

Customer review by graymatter

4.0 stars 8/30/2010 by graymatter
by graymatter

The laptop looks great and runs right. It is very easy to set up right out of the box. There are two minor things that bother me. First, the cursor pad is right under the meat of my thumbs when typing and I accidentally touch it, moving the cursor away from where I had it. A pain if you need to type fast and the heels of your hands like to rest on the surface. The other thing is taht the DVD Burner key right next to the left-hand tab key so I hit it a lot too. It loads then I have to close out that program and get back to whatever I was doing. I like the keyboard feel. I like the crisp graphics, good sound, and light weight. Buy it unless you have big or clumsy hands.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
graymatter
Lexington KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for Average Users
8/8/2010

Customer review by DMFNR

4.0 stars 8/8/2010 by DMFNR
by DMFNR

BEFORE I GET TO MY REVIEW I WOULD LIKE TO ADD A MESSAGE FOR ANY WAL-MART MERCHANDISERS WHO MIGHT SEE THIS: I think it would be a great way for Wal-Mart to continue to offer low prices if they would include in their computer selection computers with GNU/Linux operating systems preinstalled. Linux is no longer a "hacker" OS and some distributions are more user friendly, visually pleasing, stable, and powerful than any version of Windows (including 7) will ever be. Also as free open source software they cost nothing, removing the $70-100 markup included in the price of Windows pre-installs. I AM NOT AFFILIATED WITH GNU IN ANY WAY OTHER THAN THE FACT THAT I AM AN OPEN SOURCE DEVELOPER AND RELEASE MY APPLICATIONS UNDER THEIR LICENSING. I have also done work on a few GNU affiliated projects, but anyone who knows anything about open source will know that is not an equivalent of "working for a company" or even "being affiliated with a company" as GNU is an organization dealing in non-proprietary copyleft licensing, I am an open source software developer and I purchased this computer to replace an ancient HP desktop, and for mobility to increase my productivity. After getting this computer I immediately found the new Windows 7 (not the computers fault) to be the usual Microsoft garbage bloatware (the better computers get, the more their software is designed to slow it down). After reformatting and installing Ubuntu Linux I was very impressed with the computer. Very speedy, can handle all of the fancy graphical features Ubuntu has to offer, and very stable. I was amazed at how fast programs installed and the speed with which my own programs compiled. 7200 RPM hard disk is a nice feature on a lower end notebook. The wide screen is great for debugging. Almost everything worked right away with Linux (except the sound required a little work). Overall I would recommend this computer to average users who spend most of their time surfing the web, office uses, multimedia, and it is very good for application development. Gamers and power users might want to look for something a little more powerful as the processor clock rate is lower than most desktops 5 years ago and the stock 3 GB (really 2 if you count graphics memory) of memory doesn't even begin to take advantage of the 64 bit OS. Very good, very happy with my first notebook.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DMFNR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/11/2010

Customer review by Therealfrugalshopper

5.0 stars 8/11/2010 by Therealfrugalshopper
by Therealfrugalshopper

very impressed so far,great speed good solid feel and excellent display,originally started with a mini netbook but watching hulu etc. video was really choppy because of only having an atom processor. This one is super smooth.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Therealfrugalshopper
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this laptop
11/1/2010

Customer review by jbarberbarb

5.0 stars 11/1/2010 by jbarberbarb
by jbarberbarb

I orginally owned an hp laptop that I loved but I had an accident with it and it couldn't be fixed. I was in Sam's Club so I purchased a Dell. I hated it. It's heavy and awkward. The left mouse button was always sticking; sometimes the wireless feature worked; sometimes it didn't. I took it back to Sam's and bought an hp laptop from Wal Mart.com. I love this computer. It's sleak and light and travel is a breeze with it. It's fast and the graphics are beautiful. I will never go with another brand of laptop again.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jbarberbarb
Miller Place, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
great price
7/22/2010

Customer review by bobdotc

5.0 stars 7/22/2010 by bobdotc
by bobdotc

Opened the box and set up in 30 minutes. very fast and very good battery life. tried LightScribe for the first time and was impressed. would recommend this laptop for the price.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bobdotc
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/12/2010

Customer review by shalalababy

4.0 stars 9/12/2010 by shalalababy
by shalalababy

I am very happy with my purchase! Its a great buy. Its a very simple laptop with a nice design and lightweight so you can carry it with you to work and school. The only thing I was dissapointed about was that it didn't come with a webcam. =( Other than that I would recommend this nice laptop.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shalalababy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Good Price .. BUT .....
7/8/2010

Customer review by DezzyN

4.0 stars 7/8/2010 by DezzyN
by DezzyN

I just bought this laptop the other day for school && I loved everything EXCEPT one thing .. NO WEBCAM :0( Good price .. great speed && a good brand though .. Not going to return it just to get another one with a cam .. A seperate one will do just fine!

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DezzyN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Laptop
8/1/2010

Customer review by khcrazy

5.0 stars 8/1/2010 by khcrazy
by khcrazy

I love this laptop its not my first hp my other one wich has windows 7 and is only 2 months old is terrible then i bought this one its just amazing i love windows 7!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i would recommend this computer!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
khcrazy
Cape Coral, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A good deal.
8/9/2010

Customer review by sfoyyz

4.0 stars 8/9/2010 by sfoyyz
by sfoyyz

The HP G62 from Walmart is a great deal, for a medium computer. It is not recommended for 'gamers', as the build in video card is slow. However I think if you have a Uni/college student this would make a good computer for not too much brass.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sfoyyz
SFO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
HP G62-219WM Laptop PC review
8/13/2010

Customer review by Flartist1201

4.0 stars 8/13/2010 by Flartist1201
by Flartist1201

The computer is fast and easy to use. I had to return the first unit in that it was TOTALLY! screwed up. HP on line via India was helpful the first call. The second person I worked with from India totally messed up the operating system, along with being rude. I returned the unit to a local Walmart. The exchange was flawless. The new computer is wonderful. But, be prepared to do a load of updates; I truly mean a lot of continuous updates. I might add that my profession includes being a school district technology director, which allowed me an in-depth perspective of this product. The included HP software is excellent.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flartist1201
kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great deal but!!
6/12/2010

Customer review by kcerdz

3.0 stars 6/12/2010 by kcerdz
by kcerdz

its a great product but the only thing that im disappointed is NO WEBCAM...????

Was this review helpful? (25) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kcerdz
Midlothian,VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
First Laptop
9/25/2010

Customer review by Katieee549

4.0 stars 9/25/2010 by Katieee549
by Katieee549

Currently I am on this computer writing this review. I bought this for my daughter as her first laptop. Since their were no more we bought the display, 10% isnst bad. no scratches or scuffs in good condition.it is really good in quality and for 448 w/o 10% off is a good deal for a hp overall i am very impressed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Katieee549
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
12/14/2010

Customer review by LoveMyHP2010

5.0 stars 12/14/2010 by LoveMyHP2010
by LoveMyHP2010

Love this laptop. It's pretty fast to boot up and open programs and pages. Since I use a wireless mouse I'm glad I can disable the touchpad. I haven't gone through all of the features of Windows 7 it's worked just fine for my use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveMyHP2010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excelent value/perfect for college or everyday use
8/16/2010

Customer review by TexasWolf

5.0 stars 8/16/2010 by TexasWolf
by TexasWolf

I am a college student and an admitted apple fan (my other laptop is a macbook) most of the time. However some of my classes use software that is not mac compatible and so a Windows based pc was a must have (I refuse to run a windows simulator on my macbook). I lokked at quite a few laptops before picking this one and this hp laptop gives you the most for the money. It is fast, quite running, and very well designed. By no means is it a gamming computer but then again most laptops are not designed for gamming (only really high-end models are) and I don't game on my computers anyway. This laptop is sleek in apperance and is very rugged. I have carried it around town and will shortly be carrying it around campus to class along with my macbook and so far it has held up very well. The screen is bright and very clear and the colors are very nice. I never though I would say this but with this HP laptop I am not even minding working with Windows ( I am on this laptop right now). Overall this is a great laptop for college and everyday use in general, although you might want an extended life battery if you have to go a hugely long time with rechargeing the batrtery or being connected to an ac power source. The battery does last for about four hours under normal use. I highly recomend this HP Laptop to any student or anyone looking for a reliable and afforable laptop.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexasWolf
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
First laptop
10/3/2010

Customer review by Parklander

5.0 stars 10/3/2010 by Parklander
by Parklander

I am extremely happy with this computer. I was able to set it up within a few minutes myself, the instructions are simple and clear. The customer service from HP has also been great as I had difficulty with my internet service about two weeks after the initial set up. No computer problem just user lack of knowledge. I am learning everyday something new and find this laptop is easy to use even for an older mom, trying to catch up on technology.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Parklander
Parkland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1-20 of 65 reviews