Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 29 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
Pretty good installment into the series
9/15/2010

Customer review by link121088

5.0 stars 9/15/2010 by link121088
by link121088

I haven't gotten through the entire game yet, but from what I've played of the game thus far, I am very impressed. The game-play is easy to get used to as well as the controls. The story-line is also good. I really appreciate how they incorporated the 3-d aspect with the side-scrolling feeling. It's very smooth. Sometimes when you are permanently stuck in 1st person to look around the environment to look for clues I've found that it can be a bit puzzling to lock onto the object that I need to in order to progress. Oh, and I LOVE that TeamNinja helped on this one. I like the special ways to kill enemies that, obviously, were taken from TeamNinja. Good job overall!

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
link121088
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I freaking love this game
9/20/2010

Customer review by GameSlayer3000

5.0 stars 9/20/2010 by GameSlayer3000
by GameSlayer3000

really really great installment to the series team ninja rocks great graphics even for wii amazing cut scenes only complaint is I wish it used the wii classic controller pro just because the first person view isn't all that great... other than that great game

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GameSlayer3000
germany
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Game
12/27/2010

Customer review by 1968Ohioman

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by 1968Ohioman
by 1968Ohioman

Bought this game my son. He loves it. It's a great addition to the metriod family. Some of the parts of the game reminds me of the older versions of side scrolling Metriod games.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1968Ohioman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome installment to the series.
7/13/2011

Customer review by Movieteen

5.0 stars 7/13/2011 by Movieteen
by Movieteen

I bought this game, being a fan of the series. I was not disappointed! This is a very fun game, has beautiful cut-scenes, and has very nice graphics. However, this game is a little more violent and more intense than the other games such as Prime 1, 2 & 3. Blood is shown in some scenes, however, it is shown green, yellow, and in one case, black. There are a few disturbing looking enemies, and a couple half decayed, and frozen bodies. That said, this is a very fun game for most hardcore gamers, 12+. I would recommend this in a heartbeat!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Movieteen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
One of my favorite of the series
9/21/2010

Customer review by phntmshp

5.0 stars 9/21/2010 by phntmshp
by phntmshp

I have loved Metroid from the first game on NES and have played most of them including on gameboy and gamecube. This game gets back to the basics and takes the best of all of them into an interesting and unique combo mode of play. I had trouble playing any of the Metroid: Prime games for long. After a while they'd give me a headache, get frustrating, lose interest, and the "saves" were too far apart that you had to commit at least an hour of play to move forward. "The other M", still uses the first person perspective in a fun way, but for the most part you play the game as a third-person, yet 3D, platformer. This lets you really see and feel the great action Samus has in her movement while still being able to switch back to first person view at anytime you want to search an area and/or blast some baddies. The game control is also VERY intuitive and simple. This allows for almost anyone to pick it up at anytime and jump right in. The game also moves along at a good pace with good storytelling, missions being clear and save points being frequent so you can play for only 20 min if you want, or more time if you have it. There is also a story recap when the game loads so you can remember where you're at if you haven't played in a while making it easy to jump back into. The only complaint I have is that when you destroy enemies, there are no missile or energy to collect as every other Metroid game, so the only reason you really have to kill any is if they are in your way. However, there is a new "concentrate" method that let's you replenish your missiles at any time and your energy when extremely low...it's not bad, just different and a new strategy to play from other Metroids. I know there's a lot of critics out there thinking that the franchise was ruined, but I honestly feel this is one of the most enjoyable Metroid's in a long time for both the casual and fanatic gamer. The graphics are beautiful, the gameplay is engaging, and everything moves along at a great pace with a lot of fun action and puzzle solving.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phntmshp
Feeding Hills, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
ITS DUAL LAYERED!!!
9/29/2010

Customer review by Shwee

3.0 stars 9/29/2010 by Shwee
by Shwee

I pre-ordered this game at first, and it didn't work on my Wii. So I returned it and got another one. Also didn't work. Wii couldn't read it. Found out that it's because this is a DUAL LAYERED DISK! Only Brawl and Metroid: Trilogy are also dual layered, and they are a LOT harder for the Wii to read. The laser needs to be aligned perfectly to play it. I have yet to play it, and I really want to, but to repair my Wii it will take $65. So if you had your Wii for a while or you can't play Brawl on it, WAIT! Get the Wii checked out first.

Was this review helpful? (0) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shwee
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Other M review from BIG Samus fan
9/20/2010

Customer review by jnpmc

1.0 stars 9/20/2010 by jnpmc
by jnpmc

this game has horrible controls, horrible gameplay very very dissapointed

Was this review helpful? (0) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jnpmc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Total Disappointment
9/27/2010

Customer review by aFan217

1.0 stars 9/27/2010 by aFan217
by aFan217

I have played most of the Metroid's since Super Nintendo, and have enjoyed them all, especially with advancements in technology and detail. I just bought this one because all the others were great. I was wrong. It was short. My wife completed it with all acquired items in less than 20 hrs, with lots of pause times for kids. Usually with other games it takes her much longer to complete a game relative to mine, so 20 hours is very short for her. The 3D-ness was poor and limited in movement, especially when pointing the remote at the screen (no movement). With the maps, you could not tell what room you were in, and the orientation was not in line with the quick map on the play screen, so directionality is thrown out the window. You also could not move the map around to see it better, no matter how hard you tried. You could not shoot and move at the same time, especially when moving away from targets. And the idea of, technically, having the equipment you will use and merely were given permission to use it from the Commander, instead of acquiring them, was ridiculous. Very not in line with the other games. I refused to finish the game, and in a week and a half traded it in. The game manufacturer changed which is why I think it was so different, but the quality and design are two or three steps backwards. This should have been the N-64 variant, which never had a Metroid, though I waited patiently at the time for there to be one. But with actual 3D from Gamecube and Wii, this was a failure. Not Recommended. It mad me very sad.

Was this review helpful? (0) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aFan217
Salt Lake City
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Awesome Game
9/17/2010

Customer review by TheSpanishInquisition

5.0 stars 9/17/2010 by TheSpanishInquisition
by TheSpanishInquisition

Yet another excellent Nintendo game. Other than some minor hiccoughs with the controls. Using the wiimote isn't the most intuitive. Joysticks would have been better. Using the wiimote was hard at first. Soon I got used to it. Truely the story was excellent. Largely in part due to Team Ninja, it's the best story out of any Metroid game. Original style gameplay when compared to other Metroid titles. Still, this is solid enough to stand on it's own. Tons of exploration. The graphics are excellent too! Hours of gameplay. Exciting boss battles. Great storyline. Although it wasn't developed by Nintendo directly, it's still holding true to their quality standards. Metroid: Other M is a awesome game. Everyone should play it, and make note of the first letter of every sentence.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheSpanishInquisition
UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A Worthy Addition to the Series
9/17/2010

Customer review by MrMost182

5.0 stars 9/17/2010 by MrMost182
by MrMost182

While some of the game's aspects might be considered off-putting, such as Samus's dialogue and obvious femininity, the game itself is to the franchise what New! Super Mario Bros. Wii was to its franchise. If you appreciated games like Super Metroid and Metroid Fusion, you'll enjoy this. If you're expecting another 'Metroid Prime', look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrMost182
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/20/2010

Customer review by SamsoniteMan

5.0 stars 9/20/2010 by SamsoniteMan
by SamsoniteMan

It has a new way to use the controller. I just have to get used to it. I'm getting there.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SamsoniteMan
Columbia, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great new game continues in Metroid traditon.
9/16/2010

Customer review by frequentcontributor

5.0 stars 9/16/2010 by frequentcontributor
by frequentcontributor

This game is fun. If you've liked any Metroid games before, this has a little bit of all of those combined to create a really perfect new experience. The story is a little boring, but the gameplay is top notch. While the controls take a little time to get used to, the switch between 1st and 3rd person views is not as annoying as everyone has said. Lots of exploration, here, too, and not just killing things, which was a concern since Team Ninja made it. Definitely buy this if you own a Wii.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frequentcontributor
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome as anticipated.
9/19/2010

Customer review by revyouare

5.0 stars 9/19/2010 by revyouare
by revyouare

Finally, and worth the wait. Like the feel of the classics only 100 times better graphics and play.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
revyouare
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Metroid Game Yet
9/16/2010

Customer review by ElkinFencer10

5.0 stars 9/16/2010 by ElkinFencer10
by ElkinFencer10

I've played Metroid, all 3 console Metroid Primes, and Metroid Prime Hunters for DS, and I can honestly say that Metroid Other M is the best one I've played. It goes back to the classic 3rd person overhead, but has a first person mode for examining and firing missiles. It's perfect; Team Ninja perfected this game, and it's worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElkinFencer10
Boone, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good Game
9/18/2010

Customer review by Ultimatej142

5.0 stars 9/18/2010 by Ultimatej142
by Ultimatej142

I got this game two days after it came out, so that is one good thing. I played it and thought it was amazing so in my opinion get this game.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ultimatej142
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Game
3/25/2013

Customer review by LinuxBrandon

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by LinuxBrandon
by LinuxBrandon

Definitely a fun game, although not what I originally expected. The exploration and puzzle segments are ridiculously easy (fans expecting old-school Metroid style puzzles need not apply), however the combat is fast paced and awesome, thanks to work done by Team Ninja. Fans of Devil May Cry and Ninja Gaiden are sure to be pleased.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LinuxBrandon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great game
9/9/2010

Customer review by STUDBEEFCAKE

5.0 stars 9/9/2010 by STUDBEEFCAKE
by STUDBEEFCAKE

Fantastic graphics for wii and a good story as well this game will not disappoint!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STUDBEEFCAKE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Game
9/9/2010

Customer review by Kaplah

5.0 stars 9/9/2010 by Kaplah
by Kaplah

This is an excellent addition to the Metroid universe. If your first exposure to Metroid was on the NES, GameBoy, or SNES you'll instantly love this title. The controls are based on the classic 2D set with a first person mode that is reminiscent of the Metroid Prime series. The story will keep you involved until the end.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kaplah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT GAME
10/12/2010

Customer review by kickme

5.0 stars 10/12/2010 by kickme
by kickme

This game is great !!! Good graphics for Wii, engaging story great voice acting, easy to use controls, stunning animation.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kickme
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Wii game
9/8/2010

Customer review by Coolray

5.0 stars 9/8/2010 by Coolray
by Coolray

Next to Mario Galaxy, the coolest game for the Wii ever.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Coolray
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews