Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 8 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

8 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

8 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-7 of 7 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great Versitility in the Palm of your Hand
7/14/2010

Customer review by MattfromSAC

5.0 stars 7/14/2010 by MattfromSAC
by MattfromSAC

As a state employee, we can not endorse any particular product, but we can talk about the sutibility for our particular need and how well it meets them. The Pentax W90 has really exceeded most of my expectations with regards to a rugged and versitile compact point and shoot camera. First off I was going to complain that the battery can be inserted backwards, which at first I thought was a design flaw, but in reality, it is nice since you can reverse it so that it can not be turned on inadvertantly while packed or carried on the trail. It is easy to remove and reverse. Battery capacity was very good, even in very cold weather and cold water too. The 720P video is sharp and clear, and the interval shooting is easy to use and has alot of control including time delay before starting the sequence. We used that to do some time lapse footage of a den entrance. The waterproof function was especially nice since we used it as a second camera to shoot spawning golden trout in creeks at 11,000 in the Sierra and the shots were quite good. One downside to video recording is at full 720p it is limited to 10 min 48 sec per file so after that you have to restart the recording process. The camera's abilities to program time lapse and choose flash, no flash, soft flash, etc is very nice, and made the difference in some situations this trip. All the functions and modes are very comprehensive and I am sure many of the shooting modes will get good use. The Macro mode is awsome, and the three led's that illuminate the subject do a very good job. We are getting ready to do time lapse shots of eggs being raised in a fish hatchery, and look forward to seeing how well this works over a couple day period. I have recomended this to several people I work with, and in fact some of our employees are being issued them for work on the job in the field. So far I know of at least a dozen being purchased. The Carabiner clip is cute, but of little use, I guess it was provided so you can clip it on, either a belt loop or a strap on a pack, but do I really want that thing swinging around as I walk or ride? Don't think so, and the carabiner is likely to scratch the display or worse yet the lens. All in all the W90 is a great RUGGED little camera with a big heart. Having up to 12mp is pretty nice, though I have started shooting in the 9mp wide mode to get the 16:9 format to match High Def video footage. I would buy it again in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MattfromSAC
Sacramento
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pentax optio
8/14/2010

Customer review by karissag

5.0 stars 8/14/2010 by karissag
by karissag

I really love this camera. The underwater feature works great. The panoramic and wide picture modes are also really cool. This camera also takes amazing macro shots. The downsides of the camera are that it can only hold up to 10 minutes of video all together. This camera records in hd and can connect to a hd tv, but does not come with the hdmi cable and walmart does not offer it either. Overall this is a great outdoors camera and I would totally reccomend it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
karissag
Anaheim, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awsome produce
8/12/2010

Customer review by kthyjmrls

5.0 stars 8/12/2010 by kthyjmrls
by kthyjmrls

This is a great little camera. The best I've found for Macro's. The microscope setting is outstanding. The only problem I have is getting the subject matter to hold still. You can see the fur on the bees and the pollen on the flowers. Landscape is pretty good also but mostly I do Macro's

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kthyjmrls
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product
6/16/2010

Customer review by Hambone79

5.0 stars 6/16/2010 by Hambone79
by Hambone79

Overall great product, pictures turn out awesome and it has tons options. The video is a little funny when zooming in the image tends to get blurry.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hambone79
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Outdoor Camera
6/28/2010

Customer review by frausami

5.0 stars 6/28/2010 by frausami
by frausami

I bought this camera for my husband to use while fly fishing and during many of our outdoor activities. We live in MD, catch and release state. I now have proof that he does indeed catch trout and quite a few of them. Proof is in the pictures. Easy to operate, tough, and proven to be waterproof as unintentionally tested by my husband.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frausami
Pasadena, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
awesome OUTDOOR camera!
8/26/2010

Customer review by BooBooTheeBear

5.0 stars 8/26/2010 by BooBooTheeBear
by BooBooTheeBear

I bought this camera specifically because I am going on a backpacking trip to Yellow Stone in a few weeks. I read many reviews and knew when I was buying it that is made for the out doors. Saying this the pictures taken in doors are not the best but the pictures you get out side are amazing for a point and shoot. I tested the under water capability of this camera in the Malibu Creek State Park in Cali and am so happy with it! We took it under water to shoot photos and they turned out great. If you spend a lot of time out doors this is the camera for you!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BooBooTheeBear
Northern Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
intuitive, fun and great pictures/video to boot
7/1/2010

Customer review by pm9dcr

5.0 stars 7/1/2010 by pm9dcr
by pm9dcr

All good. From start, ordering, to finish, shipping and receiving in short order, all good. The Pentax is easy to use, light, for pocket carry, instant on, one button change from stills to movie, great 5x optical zoom, 4gb card provides 1400+, dense, 12megapixel shots, unknow how much video can be stored. Software provided with the camera is easy to load, eash to use with Windows XP. The water proof feature is VERY nice. Handed the camera to my daughter's 10 year old in the pool and I didn't worry about a thing. He had a blast taking pictures at and below water level. Took the camera kayaking in Tampa bay (Calidisi Is.) and again, didn't worry about a thing and took some terrific beach and water shots. Still to be tested: Software build of a movie (have only viewed the AVI's imported from the camera) have not compiled a move from multiple AVI's yet. Multiple pictures settings (snow, sand, night etc), We've only used the 'P'rogrammed mode so far. Time lapse mode Timer mode Probably some modes I don't evey know about.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pm9dcr
Tampa, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days