Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 26 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

26 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

26 reviews | 4 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 23 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
Not for heavy cutting or chopping!
11/10/2010

Customer review by NotImpressed13

1.0 stars 11/10/2010 by NotImpressed13
by NotImpressed13

I bought this machete for clearing mountain bike trails from time to time. For very light brush and palmettos, it works just fine. Just don't try to use it for chopping any branches of any significant size. On the first attempt the blade bent and after a couple minutes of use, part of the blade actually broke off! I couldn't believe it and returned it the next day.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NotImpressed13
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Machete
7/10/2010

Customer review by KentuckyGunGuy

4.0 stars 7/10/2010 by KentuckyGunGuy
by KentuckyGunGuy

Was a little thinner, and lighter than I would have liked. Over all fine machete for the price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KentuckyGunGuy
Louisville, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Best value
5/9/2011

Customer review by ssvermont

5.0 stars 5/9/2011 by ssvermont
by ssvermont

This Nachete came with a great edge that was sharp right out of the pK and has great balence as well. Love the reverce side with the saw the only thing I wish it had was a longer handle. But over all I love it !

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ssvermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Read this! I know what I'm talking about =)
6/3/2013

Customer review by BULLSEYE458

5.0 stars 6/3/2013 by BULLSEYE458
by BULLSEYE458

Short and sweet summary for people who don't want to read a paragraph: BOTTOM LINE (conveniently at the top =) ) -- best machete under $50. I know why the military uses it. Great machete, just don't use it wrong. You have to know what you're doing if you want to keep this thing in good shape. Keep in mind that its not fair to compare this to $75+ machetes -- WARNING: this is not novice-proof. If you chop like a maniac and whack the side of the blade it will warp. Not break, warp. Chop right (and use the saw on HUGE logs that truly deserve an axe or chainsaw - I consider 2.5-3" max for this machete, it shouldn't take more than 5-6 strokes to get thru a tree - to save your edge. THAT'S WHY THERE'S A SAW ON THE SPINE!) and it will last forever and hold an edge well. GET IT More details for the person who likes to research like me: The value is unbelievable. Holds an edge unbelievably and is strong! I do yard-work (have for months) and can chop through 2 inch trees in one stroke. Unbelievable to me. I honestly ABUSED this machete. I used it like a hatchet like I said not to and it didn't get hurt aside from a (when I say minor I mean only me, a VERY picky person when it comes to chips and warps in my blades, would notice) minor ding in edge that is only aesthetic and has yet to affect performance. I suggest a combination of sawing and chopping for best results with least strain on blade. You do have to know what you're doing in order not to hurt it (which, not to toot my own horn, I do). Chopping at an angle helps a lot in getting through saplings with one stroke for a number of reasons. USE THE SAW BLADE! I can't stress this enough! There's a reason the designers at SOG put them there: they make life easier for you and your machete! If its a huge law, saw it! It doesn't feel like it but trust me its faster than chopping if you do it smart and it saves your edge and strains the blade much less. DONT WORRY ABOUT YOUR BLADE SNAPPING. I don't know what these guys did to their machetes in other reviews but unless they TRIED they couldn't abuse these enough to snap em. Maybe SOG started heat treating them since the reviews? I abused this for a while and it has performed WAY beyond expectations. The kraton grip makes a world of a difference. The gerber's rubber is like oil in comparison. I love this machete and you will too. This review is going to be controversial but I don't know what else to tell you - I have owned this machete for months and it has survived impressive abuse without sharpening and is still just as good performance-wise as when it came out of the box. Sure, if you drive over it in an F-350 it probably won't look good, but are you really going to treat it that badly? If so you're going to need a lot more than a machete. I've owned plenty of knives and this definitely stands out beyond the others. Good luck finding a better one in the budget or even out of it. What else could you honestly do to Improve this thing? Is high carbon, heat treated, sharp, kraton handled, razor-backed...etc. I can't think of a way to improve it can you? I guess to sum it up: it's never let me down. Should do the same for you. Also Walmart will take it back easily so no risk.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BULLSEYE458
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I bought 3 of these
12/26/2012

Customer review by LT1966

1.0 stars 12/26/2012 by LT1966
by LT1966

I purchased 3 of these, two of them for gifts. I went out in the front yard today to trip some small limbs and bushes in the front yard of which are mostly small pines. Easy soft wood. It worked great clearing limbs and vines until it completely snapped in half. Right in the middle of the blade it just broke. I have since now read reviews on other sites and have found this is a common problem with this blade. I can not in clear conscience recommend this. This was its first use. I have used Machete's for years and have never seen one do this.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LT1966
Irmo, Sc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Solid slicer!
11/8/2013

Customer review by RCLO

5.0 stars 11/8/2013 by RCLO
by RCLO

The machete is nice and long, which I like, and has a nice, thick blade. I think it will be suitable for slicing through heavy vines or saplings. I also bought the Whetstone 25 Colossal Heavy Duty machete and the Gerber (Fiskars) Gator Machete, both of which are lighter than the SOGfari Machete 18. All were comparably priced. If I were to be restricted to one of the three, I'd choose the SOGfari, which has the thickest blade and sturdiest construction.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RCLO
Lutherville, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Absolutly EXTRAVAGENT!!!!!!!!!!:)
8/10/2010

Customer review by chefboy529

5.0 stars 8/10/2010 by chefboy529
by chefboy529

The perfect machete....how could i ask for more?a blade on one side and a saw on the other,18",and a sheath!?!?!And amazingly its all for $19.98 AMAZING!

Was this review helpful? (4) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chefboy529
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
but the cheap 6.99 one at your local walmart
7/12/2011

Customer review by bigbill01

1.0 stars 7/12/2011 by bigbill01
by bigbill01

I have sog knifes there great. This machete machete should not say sog it is worthless had it on a last camping trip cut great for the first 2 chops in the fieldwith high grass went to cut up the path at a vine that was the diameter of a dime and the blade totally eat the subpar blade

Was this review helpful? (2) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigbill01
Would recommend to a friend? No
SOG Machete
11/15/2010

Customer review by laughorsmile

5.0 stars 11/15/2010 by laughorsmile
by laughorsmile

Excellent item, great price and ideal for camping outdoors activity. I would highly recommend anything from SOG. They have great quality materials.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
laughorsmile
oceanside, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
8/27/2012

Customer review by steveinAZ

5.0 stars 8/27/2012 by steveinAZ
by steveinAZ

once again SOG has put out a high quality product that us regular guys can appreciate and afford, couple this with an association with Walmart and you have a home run. Good job SOG and Walmart. As for you hunters out there, I took this machete up on the Mogollon Rim above Payson,Az. for a whitetail hunt and we were rained on every night, this machete was left outside and no sign of rust or damage of any kind. It also maintained its cutting edge and proved to be a exellent addition to my hunting gear. Great machete, Great price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
steveinAZ
parker,az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great yard tool!
6/14/2014

Customer review by SUPERCAT49

5.0 stars 6/14/2014 by SUPERCAT49
by SUPERCAT49

Reminds me of "breaking brush" in the jungles of Vietnam..... makes short wotk of the palm fronds and other yard vegetation. BE CAREFUL; THIS IS NOT A TOY!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SUPERCAT49
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice knife.
8/5/2014

Customer review by retiredinmontana

5.0 stars 8/5/2014 by retiredinmontana
by retiredinmontana

Nice knife for the $.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
retiredinmontana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
best bang for buck!
10/29/2014

Customer review by Necho

5.0 stars 10/29/2014 by Necho
by Necho

Not my first machete, but my favorite. Good weight. Good handle. Even better Blade. Metal will not chip, bend, or roll. Dead dry oak and walnut 5 to 6 inch in girth, no problema! Back saw really sharp too. Let's not forget good home defense tool!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Necho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/11/2010

Customer review by GhostWalker33

5.0 stars 7/11/2010 by GhostWalker33
by GhostWalker33

Overall a good machette. The handle is very comfortable and it comes sharp. More than capable of doing your camp/outdoor shores. Would recomend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GhostWalker33
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
cutting brush
2/19/2014

Customer review by fishingmandanny

5.0 stars 2/19/2014 by fishingmandanny
by fishingmandanny

really sharp

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishingmandanny
Rockford, Illinios
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent features
11/12/2014

Customer review by DocJ

5.0 stars 11/12/2014 by DocJ
by DocJ

excellent tool for clearing brush and maintains edge

DocJ
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Useful!
11/13/2014

Customer review by TPScot

5.0 stars 11/13/2014 by TPScot
by TPScot

Comes out of the package ready to go! I did sharpen it after using it a while with my SOG countertop sharpener. :) The saw blade on the top chews right through just about anything you'd want to cut. Good product!

TPScot
Plymouth, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good all around
11/12/2014

Customer review by Waldo602

5.0 stars 11/12/2014 by Waldo602
by Waldo602

Good all around Machete for the price my wife uses it often around the house

Waldo602
Western North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SOG THE ONLY BLADE TO OWN
7/20/2015

Customer review by JMKQR

5.0 stars 7/20/2015 by JMKQR
by JMKQR

What better larger blade to own ? I have used mine repeatedly to clear brush, whack small saplings, I have used the end of the pommel for a hammer, Man this has got it all when you need a big blade to get the job done. What i really like is that it rides nice on your belt, and the blade is easily maintained to a super sharp edge. I highly recommend this one to all those in the woods or field thus the name "SOGFARI". This puppy does the job and keeps asking for more. I highly recommend this to anyone who love SOG, a collector or someone who needs a piece that is ready for the workload I have put mine through. sincerely James

JMKQR
Niles, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Light Blade
5/24/2012

Customer review by rvaco2005

4.0 stars 5/24/2012 by rvaco2005
by rvaco2005

I purchased this and the Gerber Jr. to make my own comparisons. The blade on this was very sharp out o fthe package, and after trimming back half a maple sappling's smaller branches (2" diameter or less), I found it did an excellent job and kept that fine edge. The saw is why I didn't give this 5 stars and am not totally happy with my expectations of this. The Gerber Jr. saw put this to shame. Dispite this blade have an extra few inches of saw teeth, the Gerber Jr. cut a 3" to 4" branch in half the time. I almost felt like this saw wasn't cutting hardly at all to be honest. All in all, this is still an excellent machete. The fit in my hand with the rubberized grip was perfect. I do wish that SIG would have included a lanyad strap like the Gerber instead of just a hole in the ihlt for one. Also, I wish that the sheath had either a velco leg strap or some other way to tie it to your leg or pack at the bottom. That's a lot of sheath flapping around when it's on your belt. Still, a very fine item for the price, good value indeed!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rvaco2005
Rustburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews