Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

16 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Very Dissapointed
4/23/2011

Customer review by IDOUTDOOR

1.0 stars by IDOUTDOOR

This has got to be the worst product SOG makes. The materials are cheap, the serrated edge couldn't saw through warm butter, out of the box mine had rust on the back of the shovel blade, the spray paint finish comes off easily, the shovel head was riveted on crooked the taps at the top of the shovel were bent differently (one side the tab is bent down correctly the other side the tab and about 1/8" of the top of the shovel is bent down) the cheap case started falling apart out of the box and I could probably dig better with an old coffee can. I have had good experiences with SOG products in the past but if this is the kind of junk they want to put their name on I guarantee I will never buy anything else from them.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
IDOUTDOOR
Would recommend to a friend? No
SOG ETOOL
8/18/2010

Customer review by 39Duke5Mar

5.0 stars by 39Duke5Mar

WOW - WALMART U HAVE DONE IT AGAIN - A GREAT SOG PRODUCT AT A KILLER PRICE - PUT ONE IN MY CAR AND ONE IN MY GARAGE - U NEVER KNOW

Was this review helpful? (3) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
39Duke5Mar
MINN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
wow
3/27/2015

Customer review by TerroristHunter

5.0 stars by TerroristHunter

Nicest looking knife I byever purchased. I also have a SOG multi tool I received as a gift back in 2003 that I love and take everywhere.

TerroristHunter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sturdily built
4/17/2014

Customer review by WhatUuP

4.0 stars by WhatUuP

Haven't had the opportunity to use this shovel with any real figure as of yet. However it seems to be well built. I didn't realize that it had a pick with in it, so that was a nice surprise. I did notice that if you screwed the lock down securely that it was difficult to back off.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
WhatUuP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ditch digger
2/22/2015

Customer review by Bassmaster

4.0 stars by Bassmaster

Very compact, all around great tool for your backpack.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bassmaster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice pack piece
4/30/2014

Customer review by Waylon444

4.0 stars by Waylon444

The e tool is a little smaller and lighter than some of the standard ones out there. I'm using mine for backpacking and it is perfect. The saw edge is more for roots than anything and it's pick is unsharpened but I love it. Great buy for the price. The one downside in my opinion is the lack of a case for it meaning it has to sit in my pack.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Waylon444
Saint Cloud MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can't be beat for the price (under $10)
4/14/2013

Customer review by mrlumu

4.0 stars by mrlumu

Seems to be a good solid little shovel. When set as a shovel the joints are tight and I like the "D" shape handle for turning the soil in my raised bed garden. However when setting the head on a 90 to act as a hoe it won't tighten all the way so there is quite a bit of slop in it. When folded up this shovel is quite small. Less than 7"x 9"! As a final plus this come with a holster/sheath.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mrlumu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent E-Tool for an insane price
11/12/2014

Customer review by Doc_Woz

4.0 stars by Doc_Woz

As good or better than a lot of e-tools that cost 3-4 times as much.

Doc_Woz
Dearborn, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sturdy, light and compact
11/14/2013

Customer review by bugoutdoug

4.0 stars by bugoutdoug

Haven't had a chance to use it yet, but seems well built..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bugoutdoug
Southeastern VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sog Entr. tool 50-50 chance on getting working 1
10/15/2014

Customer review by SOGknifeowner

3.0 stars by SOGknifeowner

Ordered two units of the item. They were shipped to my house fairly fast. One worked and the other didn't. The collar nut that snugs the tool up couldn't be tightened try as I might on defective one. On the one I kept the collar was stiff but would tighten all the way so that you can use it. The shovel "head" is much smaller than the usual military model so note the dimensions before buying. It folds down really small and that's useful to me. Can't comment on effectiveness in use as I have not used it to date. It does come with an attached pick tool and a light cover. Price was very good and does come with a lifetime warranty. I own several other SOG products and found them to be very good values. Good luck getting one that works as I suspect sample to sample quality for product may be an issue.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SOGknifeowner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It is small and compact.
10/3/2014

Customer review by trumpetladie

3.0 stars by trumpetladie

I guess I should have looked at the size more closely. The spade part of the shovel is about the size of a garden spade. If you are looking for something small enough to fit in the the front of your backpack well this is it. It looks to be sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
trumpetladie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quality equal to low cost unit
10/9/2014

Customer review by throttlejockey

2.0 stars by throttlejockey

I expected a higher quality Entrenching tool from SOG. In my opinion the quality equal to other low cost units that i currently own. When using the units in digging while pushing on it with my foot the threaded collar did not stay tight. This allowed the shovel to rotate. I bought this unit in a combo back with a knife and Axe. The axe also appears to be of equal quality to the Entrenching tool. The knife is a quality piece.

throttlejockey
Minnesota, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not worth the money
11/25/2014

Customer review by brodieb

1.0 stars by brodieb

This tool does not seem well made. After only a little light duty work, the blade has a lot of play when locked open (because the washer became deformed), and the blade eventually bent.

brodieb
Would recommend to a friend? No