Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 198 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

198 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

198 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
119
4 stars
44
3 stars
5
2 stars
9
1 stars
21
1-20 of 156 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 156 total reviews
1-20 of 156 reviews
Well Worth The Price...
7/20/2013

Customer review by YouAreCanned

5.0 stars 7/20/2013 by YouAreCanned
by YouAreCanned
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a black-&-white kitchen, so after many years living with a slate blue kitchen garbage can, I decided it was time for a change. I started my Internet shopping by going to another big named retailer. I was shocked at their prices! $40 for a plastic kitchen garbage can!? Even one of there reviewers who bought one of those $40 cans admitted that was to much to pay for plastic. So, I headed over to the Wal*Mart site. Found this great Hefty black can with a rollback price of only $15. Great deal! For the first time, I did the "ship-to-store" process. My new can ended-up at my local Wal*Mart in just a few days. It was easy to pick-up while doing my weekly grocery shopping. I'll be using ship-to-store again... My new Hefty can is indeed a Hefty. It is very well made. Hey, my old slate blue one was a Hefty, it's over 20 years old. I cleaned it up and it looks almost new. Will be giving it to my sister who has slate blue things in her kitchen. Thanks Wal*Mart for carrying a great product at a great price!

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YouAreCanned
Mobile, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value must need for any kitchen cook
7/26/2012

Customer review by SCarolinaAnnie

4.0 stars 7/26/2012 by SCarolinaAnnie
by SCarolinaAnnie

I simply got tired of having to re-wash my hands each time I needed to throw something away in t the trash. In order to elevate the problem I needed a hands-free waste bin. This one is perfect. It is made of durable plastic. And works well with the 13 gallon kitchen sized trash bags. I only have a couple of "draw backs" but they are minor and would not stop me from purchasing this item again. 1) Black is the only color Walmart offered. I would have prefered a lighter color. But Black was th only offering. 2) It grips the trash bags fine. However if it gets heavy from food items the bag will begin to slip. 3) It was shipped alone in a very large box with only brown paper as a buffer. The package was delivered by Fedex. But the packing did not hold up to the travel. The box was crushed on one side and the brown paper packing material was not strong enough to keep it from tearing up. The can was okay but did have some scuff marks. Not enough to make me return it but I'm not pleased that a brand new item has damages on it either.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SCarolinaAnnie
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Meets all expectations & then some
4/6/2011

Customer review by esbeedee

5.0 stars 4/6/2011 by esbeedee
by esbeedee

Bought this for my son's apt at college with 4 guys using it...and it has held up! Looked at much more expensive cans and decided on this one, since price was an issue with the others. I only wish it were a matte finish, as it does show scratches since it's shiny and the top and sides do show signs of wear...so that is my only complaint. Otherwise, it's a great trash can!! I expect it will last like my previous hefty can that we bought like 17 years back and we are still using for a recycle bin because it no longer matches our decor in the kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
esbeedee
Newport, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great trashcan for a great price
10/23/2010

Customer review by NeedToSaveMoney

5.0 stars 10/23/2010 by NeedToSaveMoney
by NeedToSaveMoney

Finally, I found a step-on trash can that did not cost an arm and a leg. Why spend $90 or more for a trash can? Buy this one. My last plastic trash can lasted me 15 years, and I expect it will be no different for this one.

Was this review helpful? (78) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NeedToSaveMoney
Washington D.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Garbage Can with good price!!
12/8/2010

Customer review by Samlovefuton

5.0 stars 12/8/2010 by Samlovefuton
by Samlovefuton

I love this garbage can. I order this, because i want closed top. It is pretty good price. I would recommend this product

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Samlovefuton
Kearny, nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product
5/21/2012

Customer review by highhatsize

4.0 stars 5/21/2012 by highhatsize
by highhatsize

I was looking for a step-on kitchen trash can and this fit the bill. 13-gal trash bags fit snugly over the top of the can and the lid has a lip that discourages odor. The step-on feature opens the wide top completely. I am somewhat concerned about durability since the plastic palls that hinge the lid are quite short but so-far so-good. The shiny finish quickly becomes dulled in use but that's not a big issue. It still looks very nice. The price was right as well. Delivery was delayed twice.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
highhatsize
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good garbage can
1/11/2011

Customer review by BargainShopperBK

4.0 stars 1/11/2011 by BargainShopperBK
by BargainShopperBK

This is a very good trash can for general or kitchen use! I like that it has a cover so it blocks some of the food smells from the trash. Also the step opening function is excellent so you need no hands to open the top. It is adequately large for pretty much anything.

Was this review helpful? (45) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BargainShopperBK
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/8/2012

Customer review by magicmtn13

5.0 stars 4/8/2012 by magicmtn13
by magicmtn13

I love not having to touch the dirty trash can lid while I'm cooking- I don't have to wash my hands as frequently and my dog can't open it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
magicmtn13
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not thrilled
1/10/2016

Customer review by Nick

2.0 stars 1/10/2016 by Nick
by Nick

Shipping was fast but all four that we ordered were all scratched up in the front. Not happy with the appearance at all but they were needed for our childcare center so we kept them

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nick
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good
1/8/2016

Customer review by Nick

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by Nick
by Nick

Has worked without any problems.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Scratches galore
11/30/2014

Customer review by Scratchedcan

1.0 stars 11/30/2014 by Scratchedcan
by Scratchedcan

Reviews stated that there were problems with scratches on these trash and that people were having better luck ordering them online than buying them in the store. I ordered one online with store pickup. It arrived packaged in a box. I opened it at the store and there were scratches all over the trash can. I was very disappointed. The woman at pickup was very nice and went back to see if she had any in the back with fewer scratches. She did not. I immediately returned it. This was the trash can I wanted - I just did not want one with scratches all over it to start off. I like the glossy finish. Walmart and Hefty need to beef up their quality control. I want to buy items made in the United States, but I expect companies manufacturing items in the United States to show a standard of excellence, not mediocrity or poor workmanship. I have no idea where these trash cans get so scratched up, but something needs to be done about it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scratchedcan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not the best
9/25/2011

Customer review by SuzyCat

2.0 stars 9/25/2011 by SuzyCat
by SuzyCat

The wastecan is a good size, holds a 13 gallon trash bag insert, is a good height when working in the kitchen. However, the opening mechanism isn't very sturdy, has popped off at least every other day since I've been using it! The price is good, but not sure it's worth the investment because I'm not sure the can is going to last very long. I've only been using it for about 10 days, and I'm just not impressed.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SuzyCat
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not that great of a garbage can
3/31/2011

Customer review by Dobermans

2.0 stars 3/31/2011 by Dobermans
by Dobermans

The lid on this garbage can doesn't really stay on that well. When you have to pop it back into place, you feel if you aren't careful you will break off the knobs in the back that keep it attached and that makes the foot peddle work. I think the design is flimsy, and I don't think the lid will be working for too long because I think those little knobs that hold it on will eventually be worthless. I expected more quality from this company.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dobermans
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice kitchen trash can
12/15/2015

Customer review by Alice

4.0 stars 12/15/2015 by Alice
by Alice

The trash can has a nice pedal feature to open & close the lid. The lid can be easily removed if needed. The 13 gallon bag fits well--not too big or small.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alice
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/23/2013

Customer review by Mvbs

5.0 stars 10/23/2013 by Mvbs
by Mvbs

Prompt delivery,great price.. I always wanted a step on trash can,but the ones in Walmart store were too expensive. Was surprised to find this at this rate online and had a lot of doubts before I ordered,but the minute I opened the package,I loved it! Lid was a snap fix and works smooth! The shiny black color is what impresses me the most! Gives it a cool appearance rather than the Matt finished ones !

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mvbs
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works great!
12/10/2013

Customer review by Emeraldstar

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by Emeraldstar
by Emeraldstar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This trashcan fully met my expectations in quality and as to how it works. Be sure to follow and read the instructions on the bottom of the lid as to how to snap the lid in place. It works! I am very pleased with this purchase and haven't been able to find it anywhere except through Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Emeraldstar
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/18/2012

Customer review by quintard

5.0 stars 4/18/2012 by quintard
by quintard

I shopped around for a 13 gallon step-on trash can. The prices were out of sight, and besides I really don't need a stainless steel trash can. After reading the reviews I ordered this to be delivered for a small fee. It was delivered really fast. It arrived well packed and in perfect condition. The lid is packed separately and took about 15 seconds to snap into place. Thirteen gallon trash bags fit this container. I've had it for several weeks and am very pleased. While black would not have been my color of choice, it looks fine. Yes it is shiny and shows dust, just give it a swipe now and then. I would recommend it and would purchase again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
quintard
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I'm very surprised!
1/10/2014

Customer review by Katiekates2

5.0 stars 1/10/2014 by Katiekates2
by Katiekates2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had one of those metal tall and skinny garbage cans and it was getting a bit rough looking (dented and the lid hinges were very dirty) and the step-open feature was broken - so I was looking to replace it with the same kind of metal can. Then I read the reviews on this one and I'm so very glad I got it. You can't beat the price and the step-open feature on this garbage can is solid and works every time. Also, another great feature is that the garbage bag fits snugly and doesn't fall down when you put garbage in the can and it's bigger in design then my old one, so it holds more garbage. Overall, this is an excellent garbage can.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Katiekates2
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's a trash can.
6/21/2013

Customer review by AnnieBettyBoop

4.0 stars 6/21/2013 by AnnieBettyBoop
by AnnieBettyBoop
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Assembly was a snap - literally ;---). We haven't yet mastered how to get the bag to stay put. (The hinge for the lid prevents placing the bag all the way around the opening.) It definitely keeps the smell in -- that's a big plus. It's a little more imposing than our previous 13 gallon can but we'll get to used to it. When we're ready for new bags, we'll buy black.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnnieBettyBoop
Springfield VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good step-on trash can
8/18/2012

Customer review by Maky1000

4.0 stars 8/18/2012 by Maky1000
by Maky1000

I found lot of choices at wal-mart for lesser price when I went to collect this piece. Initially I was disappointed, then I closely inspected all other models and got convinced this product is definitely worth for the price. Two reasons for that 1. It is durable 2. Step on type. Others are also durable but there was no step-on available at this price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maky1000
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 156 total reviews
1-20 of 156 reviews