Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 159 reviews
5 stars
95
4 stars
32
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 stars
20
Sort by: 
1-20 of 129 reviews
1-20 of 129 reviews
Felt great, but sole broke when I first wore them.
9/2/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
They aren't the best looking shoes in the world, but when I slipped them on in the store, they felt great on my feet and fit quite well. I always need a wide fit, and Dr. Scholl's has always fit my foot well. Also, I do a lot of walking, so I was looking for something lightweight, which these are, and durable since walking is my primary form of exercise. Unfortunately, after an initial moderate 2 mile walk, the heel of the sole, with the gel on it, started tearing away from the bottom of the shoe and bunching forward (screenshots included). That's just not going to cut it with the amount of walking I do. I gave everything a 'Fair' to average rating, but for Overall Quality, it gets a 1. If it breaks apart after just a simple walk, I can't see myself wanting a pair of these. They are going to get returned ASAP.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (51)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dr scholls men`s Tundra shoe
4/30/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
They get flimsy quick. A $9.00 shoe at best. Sizing seem right. There are better choices that are cheaper. Look at the pic. These haven`t been worn that often . Just worn as a casual shoe. No sports or work.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Gel A Problem
8/10/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
I bought these for a friend that loves to jog everyday. He said anything would be better than the ones he was wearing. He received these & thought at first YEH !! Gel insoles, but to his surprise the gel will not level out, it keeps going back & bunching up in one spot. This is hurting his feet. You can't remove the the insole either or you have nothing. There is a definite problem with the gel insole of these sneakers. The gel moves around but will not level , like I stated. It seems to want to gather in one area of the shoe, makes the shoe very uncomfortable to even walk in. Also after only 3 days of wear the outer soles are showing signs of wear, like a tire on a car wearing out. These are not for running , jogging or any kind of physical activity. Possibly if you wear them just for show to go to the store or something , they may be OK. I feel bad I bought them for my friend. I guess You get what you pay for. I thought Dr. Scholls would have been good, I was wrong.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great walking shoes
12/10/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I go walking and running a lot, and have problems with plantar fasciitis and overpronation causing my shoes to wear excessively on the inside of my shoes. These shoes are the first pair I've had that did not do this. After about 230 miles of walking (I log my mileage) they started to wear in the dead center under the heels and balls of the feet. I applied some Shoe Goo to the worn spots (it forms a very hard patch) and continued wearing them. Today, I passed 350 miles on them, and they're still holding up just fine. There doesn't seem to be much additional wear on them since I patched them, and they look like they're going to hold up for at least another 200-300 miles. Normally, my shoes give out between 350-400 miles; so these are holding up extremely well, even compared to much more expensive shoes. I will definitely be buying another pair of these in the future when these do finally become to worn to continue using.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Keep your receipt & Keep eye on gel insole
11/13/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Have gone through several pairs of these in the past few years. Initial comfort very good but gel insole looses its cushioning properties faster than hoped for. If not properly installed at factory, insole will come loose or shift to one side. Good shoe for the price but after repeated problems have started returning and exchanging them at first sign of insole coming loose. It was time to send Dr. Scholl's and Walmart a message that poor quality was not going to be tolerated. Last year, returned 3-pair in a row over a period of a few weeks then finally got a pair that had an insole that stayed properly attached. Just bought another pair hoping that Dr. Scholl's has fixed their manufacturing quality control problems. If they have, I would upgrade the shoe a "Good" rating. One last thought--In as much as Dr. Scholl's sells aftermarket insoles, why don't they sell replacement soles & adhesive. This would help the wearer maintain insole cushioning properties over the life of the shoe.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The BEST shoes for my feet!
3/21/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
LOVE THESE SHOES! I hope they NEVER change them! Have been buying them for years and, literally, DEPEND on them. For all around wear, these shoes give my feet and legs the best cushion and support EVER! Especially on the heels, where I need it, the strong gel makes standing and walking so much easier and not tiring. They are not too soft or too hard in the arches, either, and are simply quite comfortable and they are not leather, so they are not hot. Love the gray color, too, as it goes with anything and doesn't stand out like a white or bright sneaker does. These have worked better than a more expensive shoe, so the price is right too!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
i love em
7/25/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i bought these in the stores bout 4 months ago and wear em everyday...feel good.. will only buy dr. scholls now
Was this review helpful?
Yes (63)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Shoe
11/5/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got these for my husband, who usually wears New Balance. These were such a great deal I decided to try them. He raves about the comfort and they are holding up really well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (41)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best shoe out there.
9/8/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've bought 8-10 pairs of these shoes, never had a problem with them. Its a shame Walmart is discontinuing them. Now I have to find something else for work.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dr. Scholl's - Men's Tundra Air-Pillo Gel Sneakers
3/10/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Most comfortable shoe I ever owed after being out all day I can keep these shoes on , so good I bought 2 pair
Was this review helpful?
Yes (45)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good price, nice look but hurts heel
11/12/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have always been happy with Dr. Scholl's products, so I thought this shoe would be great. What I tried it on in the store, the gel pad felt firm, but I assumes that was intenctional to make up for compression as it broke in. It did not take long for the 1/16" rise of the gel pad started to hurt my foot. This is the first athlete shoe I have ever owned that hurt my feet. After wearing them a day touring a college campus, my heels feel like they are bruised days later. Considering the number of running that like it, maybe I got a bad pair.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Fit, Comfort...Quality??
3/11/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
OVERALL I like this shoe very much and it works well for me. This is my second pair of these Dr. Scholl's Tundra model shoes. First off, they fit me and are very comfortable. Being 6 ft 300lbs and wearing a size 12 WIDE can be challenging when it comes to comfort, fit and price. So for these things, the shoes are GREAT. Had my first pair for a total 1.5 years of hard use is the hot desert. I would like Dr. Scholl's to improve the quality of the adhesion of the gel insole which was the first part to separate at around 2 months and eventually come out (I replaced with new inserts but these should have lasted)...this time, for this new pair I bought heavy duty adhesive in case they come loose again. I won't apply it unless they do. The soles began separating a bit from the heal area of these shoes at about 9 months- so better stitching and/or gluing would be nice. At 1 year they separated totally at the heal and became dog walking/garden sandals for 6 months. The price is GREAT, the fit and design are very good. They look good. The quality can be improved on the above issues.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for an active boy.
5/31/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought these for my grandson, who is extremely hard on shoes. Now I just have to keep him from wearing them into the river.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Poor quality: Not recommended
1/2/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The shoe looks fine and feels fine at first, but after a month of use, the heel gets very soft and fails to provide support. The outsole wears away to the midsole. Not recommended.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My surgeon said my ankle is horrendous
5/15/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Outstanding shoe. If an operation could do, what these shoes have done for me, I would insist they were the best surgeon alive -- or dead. If I had always worn such shoes, I doubt I would have injured my ankle so bad to start with. I was playing a lot of racketball, despite the pain. Eventually that ankle just kinda crumbled in one place. They called it osteochondritis dissecans . I called it a lot of pain, I was on a walker, crutches, had surgery. And it still hurt and I limped badly much of the time, They repaired it best they could, but it looks "horrendous" my recent doctor said, when he saw the X ray. Horrendous is not a word surgeons use lightly. They can't do much for my ankle, I should have injured a knee. Even after losing about 40 lbs, it hurt, and I often, typically, limped. I had to give up tournament table tennis and racquetball. I found these shoes and they have just the right amount of cushion, I guess, It made all the difference. I can walk, walk fast, no limp most of the time, play table tennis -- but I won't be reckless and run. I ride bikes. I have to be careful though, and walk on even surfaces, and not run. I also put in the same brand cushion heel things. Almost any other shoe-- even wear them for twenty minutes-- and often Im limping. I was very lucky to find these. Not magic, just good shock absorbing right in the spot I need it. I can play a little table tennis now, and walk an hour or two. Compare that to keeping a walker in the truck, and crutches at work. I still get pain in the ankle, it's not 100% or even 80 or 70% of what it was, but its USABLE and I do most things fine. PLEASE continue to make them I wish they had dressier shoes, different looks, but the same support and cushion. People I know are just accustomed to me wearing them, even to dressy events, weddings and so forth. No one cares what you wear anyway. The look great IMHO,
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not good to run in.
4/10/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Using the words AIR-PILLO GEL threw me off. I thought they would be comfortable even to run in. But they are not very cushioned and I got a blister the first time I ran with them on. I guess they would be an okay walking shoe.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
DO NOT buy these shoes
6/6/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Dr. Scholls is known for foot comfort. It's what they've built their brand on. These shoes fail in ever respect. I just bought a pair from Walmart for a price of about 30 dollars. Which, I'll admit, is a very good price for a pair of shoes. However, I didn't even keep them a day before returning them. They have an oval of RAISED gel right under your heel. It acutally started HURTING my feet as I tried to break them in. I gave up. Why would I want to wear shoes that hurt? I am a size 9 also, and the size 9s I bought were 1/2 a size too big. Now, maybe this is all my fault for not trying them on in the store. But now that I've tried them on and can tell you about them, I'm telling you: DO NOT BUY THESE SHOES.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't waste your money.
3/14/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The single most uncomfortable pair of shoes I have ever worn. I tried them on in the store, and the gel pad felt okay. Wore them to work the next day, and that's when I started having problems. After about an hour, the gel pad started to feel like a giant rock in my shoe. By the time my shift was over, I was limping and wincing with pain at every step. When I took them off, I had a giant bruise on my heel. I was able to make them bearable by the addition of two sets of padded insoles. Now, I've had them for about 3 months. The inside lining has ripped out of the sole, and the stitching on the outside is ripped as well. They are literally falling apart after THREE MONTHS. I've learned my lesson: Cheap shoes are cheap for a reason. Poor quality and poor design.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Favorite shoes ever
2/28/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought a tan pair (only ones available at the time), and have worn them about 75% of the time for over a year. One of the "gel pads" has loosened, but otherwise they have held up wonderfully. Extremely comfortable, good utility styling (I can wear 'em to work with Dockers, & they look natural with jeans & a T, too), and great price. Wish they still had the tan - I'd buy a couple of pair for future use!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Big Toe Relief.
2/18/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I'm using this sneaker for indoors only. Since I have a loss of cartilage in my left big toe (Hallux limitus), I need a sneaker with a reasonably stiff sole. I already have custom insoles from my Podiatrist that are somewhat conducive to pain easement, but not good enough. I also purchased Dr. Scholl's® P.R.O. Pain Relief Orthotics for Ball of Foot cushions to transfer pressure a bit in the ball of foot area. This works to a degree also. With this wide and somewhat stiff sole Dr. Scholl's Tundra sneaker and the other two above mentioned appliances, my left toe DOES NOT hurt when I walk. Hallelujah!! This is the first time in years, that this has happened. The sneaker itself is very comfortable width wise and at a size 12 is just a tad bit long for my foot. But no big deal. After buying shoes that cost $100+ to get relief and finding none, Dr. Scholl's was a surprise. Currently, I purchased several other pairs of Dr. Scholl's to see what I can find that is suitable for outdoors. I can't judge overall quality as I've only had the sneakers for a couple of weeks.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640661, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-