Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 6 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

6 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

6 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

33%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-6 of 6 total reviews
33%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

My Topsy Turvy Tomato Planter Review
8/9/2011

Customer review by LisaJulia5678

5.0 stars 8/9/2011 by LisaJulia5678
by LisaJulia5678

I bought my mom a planter for mothers day in April 2011. She filled it with a tomato plant and potting soil. The tomato plant did really well in this. She also added some plant food from miracle grow about a month later. The tomato plant produced 2 tomatoes in 3 to 4 weeks time. It would been sooner if the plant was more mature. She hung it on her back porch outside on a hanging hook where it could get sunlight. One thing you must do is water the plant everyday also when you water the plant do not water it during the hottest part of the day. Water it in the morning or in the evening when the sun is going down. Don't forget to water it 1 gallon of water every time. Plants will produce tomatoes better if you don't skip days watering it.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LisaJulia5678
Birmingham
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/12/2011

Customer review by jkc4863

1.0 stars 6/12/2011 by jkc4863
by jkc4863

I couldn't wait to start my tomatoes. I'd read all the reviews, saw how the plants really took off from the beginning, and I was thinking... well, just couldn't wait. I went so far as to take pictures of my plant every day because it was just growing by leaps and bounds. But is the growth the most important thing? No, it's the tomatoes. And tomatoes do not like to have water drip onto them filled with the great things that's in potting soil. Are bunnies going to get your plants (or whatever "critter" you had concerns about)? Nope. But the birds will. The tomatoes don't get as big, but that doesn't really matter because you won't get to eat them anyway. Would never purchase again. Oh, about 5 weeks or so into it.... the plant kind of looks like they do in the fall as they start to die out. It's like playing an old record on too fast a speed. It lasts only as long as it was going to, and the song is over just that much faster.

Was this review helpful? (24) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jkc4863
Would recommend to a friend? No
works under certain circumstances
5/25/2013

Customer review by AnonymousKansasShopper

3.0 stars 5/25/2013 by AnonymousKansasShopper
by AnonymousKansasShopper

I use to have a a window seat area in my kitchen and I was able to grow 2 topsy turvies in doors (just shook my plants to help pollinate them) and they just grew and grew. I had a 15 foot ceiling and my plants grew to almost touch the floor and yielded quite a bit of fruit. So for that they worked out great and I thought they were awesome! Well the last two years since I moved I have tried to use them outside. No matter how much I water them they are dry. The plants grew to a okay size and had 4 or 5 tomatoes each, but I was not happy. BUT then again we live in Kansas where the wind is constantly blowing and dries out the plants and bangs them against buildings, and we had weeks of 110 degree days, so it was not the best conditions for a topsy turvy and my in ground plants did much better. Also smaller cherry or roma tomatoes do best the larger ones do not do well at all.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnonymousKansasShopper
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
We Made the Mistake Using It, Gr8 Product Though
5/20/2013

Customer review by Mardigras

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by Mardigras
by Mardigras

We bought one of these in 2010. Hubby doesn't eat tomatoes but I love them and my parents were excited to get some green tomatoes to fry, which are delicious. We picked out perhaps too lg. of a plant for starters. Then planted it in 'Miracle Gro Moisture Retention' soil. We were the talk of the neighborhood with all our tomatoes. Many of them too had purchased these. I then REALLY goofed up by 'Re-Miracle Gro' it about a month later. Huge mistake. It started making too many and they never got lg. or red. My father-in-law, who's an ace gardener, said we should have been clipping some of the extra branches off so the nutrients would go to fewer tomatoes. Before I got that info, I got angry and gave it away. Now we just ordered another one and I'm excited to get it, learning from my mistakes, this time should be fine.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mardigras
Appleton, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Top 250 contributor
Topsey-Turvey, doesn't work....
4/5/2013

Customer review by Jemo777

1.0 stars 4/5/2013 by Jemo777
by Jemo777

I bough two of these planters in 2011. I followed the directions to the T. Didn't get a single, solitary tomato out of either of them. Thought I'd try a different variety in 2012, same results. Been farming all of my life and have got to guess that it's not me, they just don't work. Don't waste your time effort or money, tomatoes weren't meant to grow upside down, period!

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jemo777
Nacogdoches tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Save your money
5/28/2013

Customer review by SnarkyRedhead7

1.0 stars 5/28/2013 by SnarkyRedhead7
by SnarkyRedhead7

The plants do not get as large as with traditional planting methods, and the tomatoes are significantly smaller if they ripen at all. Save your money and buy a better planting system, like the EarthBox.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SnarkyRedhead7
West Warwick, RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Never