Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

44 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

44 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 42 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews
Herbal Assence set me up
2/4/2016

Customer review by RIGOMJR

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by RIGOMJR
by RIGOMJR

Great product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RIGOMJR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gentle smell
1/30/2016

Customer review by Showdown

5.0 stars 1/30/2016 by Showdown
by Showdown

Works great on my hair. I use three products on my hair and this gel is my go to product when I'm in a rush.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Showdown
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this product
10/24/2015

Customer review by Brie

5.0 stars 10/24/2015 by Brie
by Brie

This is the only gel that I can use in my hair. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing
10/23/2015

Customer review by Mimi72

5.0 stars 10/23/2015 by Mimi72
by Mimi72

I love love love this spray gel. I have tried numerous different kinds since I can no longer find it in the stores and nothing else comes even close!!! Why isn't this available anymore?

Mimi72
Massapequa, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
BEST spray gel ever
10/1/2015

Customer review by jackie3

5.0 stars 10/1/2015 by jackie3
by jackie3

I have very curly hair and this gel I cannot live without!! It is the best spray gel and plz plz plz bring it back to stores!!!! I am ordering it online now.

jackie3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Call me a control freak...
7/8/2015

Customer review by angziety

1.0 stars 7/8/2015 by angziety
by angziety

...but I need hair products only in my hair. This is not for anyone who prefers low-maintenance locks. My store no longer carries the squeezable tubes of gel, so I purchased this hoping it wouldn't be as bad as I imagined it. I was very surprised at what actually transpired after less than 15 seconds. My hands hurt from squirting this stuff not only on my hair, but also the floor, my back, face, ears, and shoulders. Now I remember why I stopped purchasing sprays. I'm not even sure if I got all of my hair covered. I plan to pour this into a different container and use my hands the way gel is meant to be applied. It says on the bottle "without being stiff [sic]". Well, my back is crunchy. So is my hair.

angziety
Would recommend to a friend? No
AMAZING!!!
7/13/2009

Customer review by Anna1209

5.0 stars 7/13/2009 by Anna1209
by Anna1209

I love the spray gel so much! it is not expensive and it lasts pretty long. i have really thick hair so it doesnt last as long as it may for some people but it works great! What i do is I shower every night before I go to bed and after i get out i towel dry it to get the excess water out. when my hair is damp I put some of the "none of your frizzness smoothing leave in cream" on the mid sections and tips (a small amount, if you put too much it will leave your hair looking greasy around the tips). Then every morning I flat iron my hair. (I use CHI heat protectant spray which works really well). after i am done I use this spray gel al over my head and it keeps my hair smooth, soft, non frizzy and straight all day! I would seriously suggest those two products to anyone who was thick hair and who likes to flat iron it in the morning! Hope this helped :)

Anna1209
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
LOVE THIS STUFF!
10/5/2015

Customer review by PrettyButEvil

5.0 stars 10/5/2015 by PrettyButEvil
by PrettyButEvil

I have tried numerous hair gels but this is the only one that holds all day long no matter what the weather and my hair doesn't feel weighed down.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PrettyButEvil
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Small, goes quick with long hair
3/2/2011

Customer review by IHeartWlMrt

4.0 stars 3/2/2011 by IHeartWlMrt
by IHeartWlMrt

I bought the 3-pack of this hairspray and all 3 were gone in under 2 months. I have long hair, so that's understandable. It smells good! It would be perfect for people with short hair and use spray gel.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IHeartWlMrt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Please stock this in stores
9/14/2015

Customer review by grambo

5.0 stars 9/14/2015 by grambo
by grambo

So about every 6 months or so I find myself going from store to store trying to find this spray gel. I buy as many as I can get. Usually 4-6 because that is all they have. Well it is that time again and I am down to my last bottle. I have been to 2 Walmart's and at least 5 or more other stores. I give up. I will order them online this time

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grambo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very good product
6/7/2011

Customer review by Bluetopaz1

5.0 stars 6/7/2011 by Bluetopaz1
by Bluetopaz1

very good scent, easy to apply and good value

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bluetopaz1
Shasta Lake, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this product
1/27/2009

Customer review by bobbi

5.0 stars 1/27/2009 by bobbi
by bobbi

I love this product. I've used it for years now, and went into shock once when the label changed and I thought at first that it had been discontinued, and then again recently when I couldn't find it at my local store. But, looks like it is still going strong, so I just have to try an alternate store. I have shoulder length curls and HATE crunchy curls. This is the only product that I have found that works for me - no crunch, no oily feel, no dark "wet" look (I have light brown hair), no frizz - just great spirals all day long, no matter what I'm up to. While my hair is wet, I scrunch my curls using John Frieda Dream Curls, dry my hair with a diffuser or air dry and put the spray gel on AFTER my hair is completely dry and "picked" out. I don't spray it on my head - I spray five pumps on my hands, rub them together and then lightly pat my hair. I get volume (because I pick out first) and hold without crunch. Best of all, if there is crunch after it dries (maybe because my hands were too wet and I patted too much in one place), I just use my hands to gently scrunch the curl, and crunchiness is gone but hold is still going strong. Clairol, never stop making this product!

bobbi
Virginia
THE BEST OF THE BEST!!!!
10/11/2010

Customer review by mikita007

4.0 stars 10/11/2010 by mikita007
by mikita007

I agree with most of the reviews, I have been a loyal customer since I'm like 16 years old, now I'm almost 30. So its been a loooong time. The old GEL SPRAY IN THE CLEAR BOTTLE was the best of the best. This new one and the purple bottle gel spray work ok. The only thing I am having a really haaaarrrrddd time its finding the spray gels in particular. Every where I go I look for them and when ever I see more than one bottle I buy them ALL. Because of that reason I am in this web site, to see if I could buy them directly from you. But unfortunately no, I hope the company takes into consideration all the reviews to either or both, to BRING THE OLD SPRAY GEL BACK &/or MAKE THE NEW ONE MORE ACCESSIBLE to the loyal customers like myself and many more... come on listen to us.

mikita007
Set Me Up Extra Hold Spray Gel
6/28/2010

Customer review by Rings

5.0 stars 6/28/2010 by Rings
by Rings

I agree w/all the others the SPRAY GEL is really hard to find any where. I use it in combination w/Set me Up Gel in a tube. But use lots of the Spray Gel ALL over, before, during and after and also when straightening. It makes my fine soft hair feel like hair. Also still looking for your Dangerously Straight Iron Me Flat and Shimmery Nights Spray Gel products that seems to of disappeared also. I used to use a Gel 2 Mousse but that also is off the market. It is costing me lots of money to find a product - only to have it disappear. Herbal Essence people - hope you have read these reviews - we need this SPRAY GEL - not that hair fixative hair spray one!

Rings
Redondo Beach, CA
5/8/2011

Customer review by Joan33

5.0 stars 5/8/2011 by Joan33
by Joan33

So hard to find this product anymore, been using it for about 5 years and love it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joan33
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What happened??
5/4/2010

Customer review by Frustrated

2.0 stars 5/4/2010 by Frustrated
by Frustrated

I have been using the spray gel for years and was extremely pleased with the product up until recently....As others have written many things have changed, and NOT for the better. First the bottles started to shrink while the prices increased. Ok, I will deal with that because I loved the product. But then the spray gel started to disapear from stores. Now I cannot find it anywhere including on this website which proclaims to offer it. The tousle me softly spray gel does not work as well and is so strong smelling I consider it almost offensive. PLEASE BRING THE OLD PRODUCT BACK OR TELL US WHERE WE CAN FIND IT!!!!!!!!!!!

Frustrated
Why can't I find this in stores anymore???
5/2/2014

Customer review by kimi13

5.0 stars 5/2/2014 by kimi13
by kimi13

I need this spray gel for my daughter's hair, it helps smooth and control those wispy hairs around her face whether I'm putting in a pony tail or combing back into a barrett. BUT...I can't find in stores anymore. I've been out for months, every time I go to Target or grocery store I search and search. I've been trying to remember to go online to see if I can buy. Took me forever to remember. Busy mom. Please bring back to stores like Target!!!! I'm relieved however that I can buy on-line, just kind of a pain.

kimi13
Murrieta, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Want Old Product BACK!
8/11/2010

Customer review by bunny

3.0 stars 8/11/2010 by bunny
by bunny

I understand improvements. BUT...the old Extra Hold Spray GEL in the clear bottle was the BEST! The new gel is adequate but not great. If the old stuff were available I would chose that in a minute. Perhaps when you had something good, you should have left it alone. I really miss the old spray gel and hope you would consider bringing it back to the shelves. And for those reading this....if you know of any place in the U,S, to buy a supply of the old spray gel, how about posting it here so we can all share in the good find.

bunny
Underrated Product!
7/21/2009

Customer review by LusciousLocks

5.0 stars 7/21/2009 by LusciousLocks
by LusciousLocks

I sprayed this gel on damp hair, and it is the only product that has actually helped me blow dry my thick hair straight. [I've been trying to avoid using a straightener]. The scent is good, but pretty faint, which I like because it doesn't interfere with the scent of my new fave [hydralicious reconditioning]. This product is really versatile, and I love that it can also hold a curly style all day without any crunchiness. I hope others can discover how amazing this stuff is. Please don't stop making it ever!

LusciousLocks
STL
Nice to use
4/22/2009

Customer review by LuPo

4.0 stars 4/22/2009 by LuPo
by LuPo

I only need a bit of spray gel to keep the hair around my face from flying loose and tickling me all day, so this is a great product for that. I have long hair that I like to wear in a pony tail or braid and I like being able to anchor back the flyaway fine, short hair right around my forehead. This is perfect. I usually spray a little on my fingers, "brush" the hair back, rinse my hand and I'm done. No annoying spray landing where I don't want it, just a bit where I need it. Thanks for a nice product!

LuPo
Bay Area, CA
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews