Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 139 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

139 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

139 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

42%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
21
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 stars
66
1-20 of 131 total reviews
42%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 131 total reviews
1-20 of 131 reviews
Dirt Devil Steam Mop
1/5/2013

Customer review by Tracie97

3.0 stars 1/5/2013 by Tracie97
by Tracie97

I received this as a gift and the mop cleans well but, in my opinion has several drawbacks. After cleaning it does leave streaks, it's hard to push, the triangle head is great for corners but not for going straight on at a wall, the head doesn't swivel so, moving it sideways parallel to the wall requires two hands, and the long cord gets in the way a lot. The durability of this mop seems questionable as well. The handle connects to the head by a short plastic semi hollow tube about the diameter of a penny (I've included a picture) it feels like this is going to snap off with any heavy pressure and I'm a small person (5' 4") and I don't have a lot of strength in my arms. For this price there may be better options for a little extra money.

Was this review helpful? (14) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tracie97
ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Not a sturdy machine!!
11/2/2013

Customer review by ObsessiveCleaningMom

1.0 stars 11/2/2013 by ObsessiveCleaningMom
by ObsessiveCleaningMom

I bought this mop based on the reviews, but after owning it for <6months; it started leaving streaks on my floors and did not steam as well as it did when I bought it. My entire house has hard wood floors (1600 sq ft). The handle that connects to the upper part of the metal tubing cracked and I fixed that with electrical tape and it continued to hold up. Don't get me wrong it worked fantastically well the first 2 months (20-25 uses). Then it started leaving streaks on my hard wood floors. I didn't like the wobbly head (always felt like it was about to break) and in order to run the mop head along the wall edge it had to be done using two hands. I did like the extra long cord. Hated that I had to continuously refill the reservoir 3-4 times with the funnel and pour cup. I did like the height adjustment though. Overall it is not a very sturdy machine. Would NOT buy this product again and would NOT recommend it to a friend!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ObsessiveCleaningMom
Broken Arrow, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
poor quality
1/30/2016

Customer review by Jamie

1.0 stars 1/30/2016 by Jamie
by Jamie

Worked well for a year and then stopped steaming. From the reviews here it seems to b a common issue. Nothing should only last a year. It's the only dirt devil product I've owned. If their product can only last a year then the quality of dirt devil products must b poor. Will be avoiding dirt devil products from here on in.

Comment from Joscelyn - 2/2/2016

Hi Jamie! Oh my, your Easy Steam Mop should last more than just a year's use. We have a few tips to help alleviate the issues you're experiencing. To maintain product longevity and to ensure the unit can operate without any hassles, we recommend using distilled water instead of tap water. Tap water can cause mineral deposit buildup over time. Try this, remove the cleaning pad and check the tube for any clogs. Wipe around the tube with a damp cloth. After doing this, your steamer should work like a charm. If you still need any more assistance, please don't hesitate to call us at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8:00-6:00 p.m. EST.) Thank you!

Jamie
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? No
So far so good...
8/4/2010

Customer review by MomOf4inMontCo

5.0 stars 8/4/2010 by MomOf4inMontCo
by MomOf4inMontCo

I bought this after my other steam mop of a different brand broke after only a year. It does the job it's supposed to do and I like the fact that I don't have to "pump" the handle like the other brand mop that I used to own. These steam mops are great for really getting the floor clean, but remember that if there is any trace of dust/dirt/hair/food crumbs, etc. on your floor, you will steam over them and have a pile-up of yuck on your mop. It's important to really sweep the floor prior to using. Other than that, it has worked well for us and is great for a quick clean-up.

Was this review helpful? (117) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomOf4inMontCo
MontCo, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Extremely good at regularly cleaning tile and linoleum floors for 3 years BUT no steam out of the bottom any more
8/24/2015

Customer review by elizabethB

4.0 stars 8/24/2015 by elizabethB
by elizabethB

I recently moved house and the Dirt Devil stood upright in a corner of my kitchen (without a pad attached) for two months. This morning, I filled it with distilled water and plugged it in, ready to clean my kitchen floor. Light was on, I could hear gurgling from the tank as the water heated, but no steam came out of the BOTTOM of the machine (pad was dry) - only a small amount where the stick handle meets the cleaning head. First time this machine has ever let me down. Unable to find specific help for this online, and currently waiting for a callback from the Dirt Devil customer service#. Can I unscrew the faceplate from the cleaning head? Could there be mineral buildup and, if so, how do I remove it? Has something corroded inside the cleaning head, and can I fix it? I hope that DD customer service is able to help ..... we'll see. Until this morning would have given this steamer an Excellent rating, but if buying a new one is the only advice I receive from DD, the overwhelming number of very negative reviews I'm seeing is cause for concern.

elizabethB
Orlando, FL, United States
Great Job!!
10/26/2010

Customer review by ybeauty

4.0 stars 10/26/2010 by ybeauty
by ybeauty

This was my first time using a steam mop, and my floors looked great. Plus they dried in half the time as when I used a regular mop. I was able to clean the floors in my laundry room, kitchen and bathroom without refilling the water. This was a great investment.

Was this review helpful? (67) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ybeauty
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
LOVE IT!!!
4/7/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I hate to mop with a wring mop, so I decided to purchase a steam mop. I have alot of tile floor that must be mopped once, sometimes twice a week. This device far exceeded my expectations! It does a great job. I actually enjoy using it!

Was this review helpful? (69) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Addison, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Like others said - it quits after a few uses!
12/22/2015

Customer review by peter20

1.0 stars 12/22/2015 by peter20
by peter20

We used it 3-4 times and, like many others stated, steam no longer comes out. I hear it heating, the reservoir is hot but the pad is dry. We only used bottled, distilled water. I say that because that seems to be the company response to complaints. I am wondering about taking it apart and seeing if I can figure it out. It I can't, no loss - it's garbage the way it is now.

Comment from Joscelyn - 12/23/2015

Hi peter20! Your concern is really important to us and we want to help make this right for you! You'll be receiving a private email shortly for further assistance. Thank you!

peter20
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy and cleans well
11/2/2010

Customer review by johnelroy

5.0 stars 11/2/2010 by johnelroy
by johnelroy

The item arrived damaged. The cheap plastic handle was split. It seemed that it left the factory in that condition. However, customer service is replacing the entire item for me for free. I did try to use the product. It is very easy and cleans very well!

Was this review helpful? (41) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
johnelroy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
stopped working after using twice
11/30/2015

Customer review by DaveW

1.0 stars 11/30/2015 by DaveW
by DaveW

I bought it more than a year ago, so the warranty is expired. I used it briefly when I bought it, and pulled it out yesterday to use it again. I used it for about 2 minutes, and set it aside to move furniture. When I went to use it again, there was no power... no red or green light. Yes, I tried several outlets. The product didn't even last long enough to get one of the cleaning pads dirty.

Comment from Joscelyn - 12/2/2015

Hi DaveW! Your Easy Steam Mop should still be going strong even after a year of use and the good new is, there are plenty of other steam models to choose from. We have a special offer we'd like for you to take advantage of, you'll be receiving a private email shortly! Thanks.

DaveW
Defiance, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Stopped working after a handful of uses
11/28/2015

Customer review by pwsp

1.0 stars 11/28/2015 by pwsp
by pwsp

Stopped heating/producing steam after only a handful of uses spread out over a year and a half of ownership. Water tank too small, had to refill frequently. Not worth the money.

Comment from Joscelyn - 12/1/2015

Hi pwsp! This is not good to hear and to maintain product longevity, we recommend using only distilled water or Dirt Devil cleaning solution instead of tap as it can cause mineral deposit build up. We need just a bit more information, so you'll be receiving an email shortly. Thank you

pwsp
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
STEAM MOP
12/18/2015

Customer review by Granny

5.0 stars 12/18/2015 by Granny
by Granny

ONCE WE FIGURED HOW TO USE IT ..THE STEAM MOP REALLY LIFTED THE DIRT OFF THE FLOOR LEAVING IT CLEAN AND SANITIZED I LOVE IT

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Granny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked twice and died! DO NOT BUY THIS!
10/19/2015

Customer review by Tinapuppy

1.0 stars 10/19/2015 by Tinapuppy
by Tinapuppy

I read the reviews and thought it can't be that bad. Well, it is. I used twice. Third try it gets hot at the base where it connects to the steamer head, sounds like it's working but nothing comes out. No steam, nothing. I stored it dry hoping it would not get messed up by storing it with water. Made no difference. I have to admit that when it worked it did a great job but apparently there is no quality in the construction of this steamer. I got this almost free using my Sears card points but still, what a waste of points! I should have bucked of the extra money and gotten the Shark.

Comment from Kenya - 10/21/2015

Hi Tinapuppy! That does not sound like Dirt Devil quality. Surely you should get more than two uses out of your Easy Steam Mop. We want to help. We have some tips to get you back up & running. If you can hear and feel the unit getting hot there may be a blockage preventing the steam from coming out. Try this: unplug the unit and let it cool down. Remove the pad. Insert a paper clip into the steam port and move it around to remove any clogs. If you have hard water try using distilled water on your next use. Hope this helps!

Tinapuppy
Cape Cod, MA, United States
I love this mop!!
9/30/2011

Customer review by LoveOnlineShoppingMom

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by LoveOnlineShoppingMom
by LoveOnlineShoppingMom

I always buy something judging by how many bad reviews there is and depending what they say. I decided to go ahead and get it anyway and I'm glad I did! The handle could be a little stronger but so far it's done perfectly. It steams perfectly and got up messes I thought were permanent. After using it everyday for a week the pads aren't sticking to the floor anymore (which made it more difficult to push) I would suggest washing the pads at least 3 times before using them so they lose their stiffness/stickyness. Overall this is a great product and for the price it's worth it!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveOnlineShoppingMom
Concord NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
horrible horrible steam mop
11/5/2015

Customer review by wiza

1.0 stars 11/5/2015 by wiza
by wiza

i bought this steam mop and it does heat up but does not steam . i can put the steam mop on my bare foot and feel that it's not heating at all. i do not recommend this horrible product at alll!!!!!

Comment from Joscelyn - 11/5/2015

Hi wiza! This does not sound like Dirt Devil quality and your Easy Steam mop should be holding up to its standards! We want to help so we'll be reaching out to you privately.

wiza
Orland Hills, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
spring for the shark
3/27/2011

Customer review by awood11

3.0 stars 3/27/2011 by awood11
by awood11

I like my dirt devil fine however I would spring for the shark if I were to do it again. The reason for this is the dirt devil has continuous steam which is great...but it leaves streaks. The head is not interchangeable and does not swivel. So you are stuck with the triangle mop head. Also because of the continuous steam it goes through water quickly. I usually fill it a couple times to finish the kitchen. I have used the shark model and I think it is worth the extra cash, but my mom tells me it leaves streaks too. The dirt devil gets the job done at a decent price, but if you plan to use it often you might want to upgrade. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (15) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
awood11
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Faulty Cleaner?
10/28/2010

Customer review by EZMJ

1.0 stars 10/28/2010 by EZMJ
by EZMJ

My biggest reason for choosing it was the diamond head design to get in corners. I was very happy with this little steamer the 1st time that I used it. The 2nd time it barely steamed and I had to go back and clean by hand. I filled the tank again, then turned it on. All of the water went through the tank and there was no steam. The pad was ice cold and soaked. I'm returning this item today. I'm hoping this was just a faulty item and you all have better luck than I.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EZMJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
6/10/2012

Customer review by Origato

2.0 stars 6/10/2012 by Origato
by Origato

When I turned it on, it made a horrible sound and didn't start "hissing" "in 30 seconds" like the directions said it would. Eventually the sound stopped and the hissing started, and it did clean up some bad spots, but it left streaks all over the floor, so I will have to reclean the floor with some other product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Origato
Fairfax, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Dirt Devil Steam Mop
9/23/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 9/23/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased 2 - one for a gift and one for myself. I used my weekly and it only lasted 3 months The gift I purchased was only used 6-8 times in a 3 month period and it stopped steaming also this is a piece of junk and yes the price was not real expensive but you would think it would last at least a year!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
7/11/2011

Customer review by Ashley17233

1.0 stars 7/11/2011 by Ashley17233
by Ashley17233

I bought this steam mop back around christmas. It started acting up about 2 months after I bought it. It would just stop steaming for a couple minutes, then start back up. It led to not working at all. The handle on it broke within the first 2 months after I bough it, then the whole pole broke off after 7 months. I will never buy a cheap steam mop after the issues ive had with this one and my previous one.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ashley17233
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 131 total reviews
1-20 of 131 reviews