Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 149 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

149 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

149 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

40%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
34
4 stars
22
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 stars
73
1-20 of 141 total reviews
40%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 141 total reviews
1-20 of 141 reviews
Dirt Devil Steam Mop
1/5/2013

Customer review by Tracie97

3.0 stars 1/5/2013 by Tracie97
by Tracie97

I received this as a gift and the mop cleans well but, in my opinion has several drawbacks. After cleaning it does leave streaks, it's hard to push, the triangle head is great for corners but not for going straight on at a wall, the head doesn't swivel so, moving it sideways parallel to the wall requires two hands, and the long cord gets in the way a lot. The durability of this mop seems questionable as well. The handle connects to the head by a short plastic semi hollow tube about the diameter of a penny (I've included a picture) it feels like this is going to snap off with any heavy pressure and I'm a small person (5' 4") and I don't have a lot of strength in my arms. For this price there may be better options for a little extra money.

Was this review helpful? (17) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tracie97
ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Not a sturdy machine!!
11/2/2013

Customer review by ObsessiveCleaningMom

1.0 stars 11/2/2013 by ObsessiveCleaningMom
by ObsessiveCleaningMom

I bought this mop based on the reviews, but after owning it for <6months; it started leaving streaks on my floors and did not steam as well as it did when I bought it. My entire house has hard wood floors (1600 sq ft). The handle that connects to the upper part of the metal tubing cracked and I fixed that with electrical tape and it continued to hold up. Don't get me wrong it worked fantastically well the first 2 months (20-25 uses). Then it started leaving streaks on my hard wood floors. I didn't like the wobbly head (always felt like it was about to break) and in order to run the mop head along the wall edge it had to be done using two hands. I did like the extra long cord. Hated that I had to continuously refill the reservoir 3-4 times with the funnel and pour cup. I did like the height adjustment though. Overall it is not a very sturdy machine. Would NOT buy this product again and would NOT recommend it to a friend!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ObsessiveCleaningMom
Broken Arrow, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
So far so good...
8/4/2010

Customer review by MomOf4inMontCo

5.0 stars 8/4/2010 by MomOf4inMontCo
by MomOf4inMontCo

I bought this after my other steam mop of a different brand broke after only a year. It does the job it's supposed to do and I like the fact that I don't have to "pump" the handle like the other brand mop that I used to own. These steam mops are great for really getting the floor clean, but remember that if there is any trace of dust/dirt/hair/food crumbs, etc. on your floor, you will steam over them and have a pile-up of yuck on your mop. It's important to really sweep the floor prior to using. Other than that, it has worked well for us and is great for a quick clean-up.

Was this review helpful? (123) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomOf4inMontCo
MontCo, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Leaves a film...even with distilled water.
7/4/2016

Customer review by Pmta

1.0 stars 7/4/2016 by Pmta
by Pmta

I bought this a year ago and have never had good luck with it. At first, I thought I just had a really dirty house!! It kept leaving a film and streaks from day one, but I thought it was from the Swiffer Wet Wipe cleaner I had used before this. Now, I realize that it just does this! I followed the recommended usage of distilled water from the onset but it didn't make a difference. I'm done with it.

Comment from Karissa - 7/6/2016

Hi Pmta! Oh no, your Easy Steam Mop shouldn’t leave behind a film or streak after use. If distilled water is being already being used the issue may be the pads themselves. For optimum performance we recommend replacing the pads every 6-12 months. The pads can be found here: http://bit.ly/1ogFMMs. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We’re here for you!

Pmta
Cambridge, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Job!!
10/26/2010

Customer review by ybeauty

4.0 stars 10/26/2010 by ybeauty
by ybeauty

This was my first time using a steam mop, and my floors looked great. Plus they dried in half the time as when I used a regular mop. I was able to clean the floors in my laundry room, kitchen and bathroom without refilling the water. This was a great investment.

Was this review helpful? (71) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ybeauty
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
LOVE IT!!!
4/7/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I hate to mop with a wring mop, so I decided to purchase a steam mop. I have alot of tile floor that must be mopped once, sometimes twice a week. This device far exceeded my expectations! It does a great job. I actually enjoy using it!

Was this review helpful? (72) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Addison, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Rubbish
6/27/2016

Customer review by Susanob16

1.0 stars 6/27/2016 by Susanob16
by Susanob16

This is the second mop I have purchased and both have broke. After a few weeks the mop stop produces steam same happened to both . Sadly I have lost my receipt so am stuck with it . Will never purchase this make again!

Comment from Karissa - 6/27/2016

Hi Susanob16! Your Easy Steam Mop should last longer than this. We want to help. Here's a few suggestions to get your unit up and running: 1. Allow the mop to cool completely until the bottom pad is no longer hot, then remove the pad. Do not allow the unit to touch the floor without a pad on. 2. Check the bottom of the unit for any residual buildup. Use a pin or paperclip to clean out the little holes where the steam comes out from. 3. Ensure the tank is full with water and the cap is closed securely. Once completed the unit should begin to steam. For optimum performance we recommend using distilled water to help prevent residual buildup. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 M-F from 8a-6p EST. We’re here for you!

Susanob16
Uk
Would recommend to a friend? No
Replacement
6/11/2016

Customer review by Hammer 2

5.0 stars 6/11/2016 by Hammer 2
by Hammer 2

After having a problem with the first unit, Dirt Devil made it easy to get a replacement for the faulty machine. I wish to thank them for that. It makes it nice when a company does the right thing like Dirt Devil. Bless you!

Hammer 2
Bay City, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Carpet? does it work?
6/11/2016

Customer review by kailovelady

4.0 stars 6/11/2016 by kailovelady
by kailovelady

Has anyone used it on carpet like is says you can ? What were the results? Thanks

Comment from Karissa - 6/13/2016

Hi kailovelady! The Easy Steam Mop can be used on carpets by using the carpet glider accessory. This will help to steam and refresh your carpets. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We're here for you!

kailovelady
Received free product:Yes
Easy and cleans well
11/2/2010

Customer review by johnelroy

5.0 stars 11/2/2010 by johnelroy
by johnelroy

The item arrived damaged. The cheap plastic handle was split. It seemed that it left the factory in that condition. However, customer service is replacing the entire item for me for free. I did try to use the product. It is very easy and cleans very well!

Was this review helpful? (43) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
johnelroy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Broken out of the box.
5/17/2016

Customer review by Phillyboy0726

1.0 stars 5/17/2016 by Phillyboy0726
by Phillyboy0726

Bought this at Walmart yesterday, returned immediately to the store since it wouldn't heat up and steam. Got the new one back home and it steamed for maybe 15 minutes before it started to make a loud clicking noise and quit. The green light stays on but the mop will not steam. Now I am stuck with a glorified swiffer duster. Sad!!!

Comment from Karissa - 5/18/2016

Hi Phillyboy0726! Oh no, your Easy Steam Mop should last longer than this. We want to help. Please give the following steps a try: 1. Allow the unit to cool until the bottom pad is no longer hot, then remove the pad. Do not allow the unit to touch the floor without a pad on. 2. Check the bottom of the unit for any blockages. Use a pin or paperclip to clear out the little holes where the steam comes out from. 3. Ensure the tank is full with water and the cap is closed securely. Place the pad back onto the unit. Once completed plug the unit back into the wall and turn on. The green light should come on within 60 seconds and steam will start to produce.. For optimum performance we recommend using distilled water to help prevent residual buildup. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We’re here for you!

Phillyboy0726
Atlanta, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Extremely good at regularly cleaning tile and linoleum floors for 3 years BUT no steam out of the bottom any more
8/24/2015

Customer review by elizabethB

4.0 stars 8/24/2015 by elizabethB
by elizabethB

I recently moved house and the Dirt Devil stood upright in a corner of my kitchen (without a pad attached) for two months. This morning, I filled it with distilled water and plugged it in, ready to clean my kitchen floor. Light was on, I could hear gurgling from the tank as the water heated, but no steam came out of the BOTTOM of the machine (pad was dry) - only a small amount where the stick handle meets the cleaning head. First time this machine has ever let me down. Unable to find specific help for this online, and currently waiting for a callback from the Dirt Devil customer service#. Can I unscrew the faceplate from the cleaning head? Could there be mineral buildup and, if so, how do I remove it? Has something corroded inside the cleaning head, and can I fix it? I hope that DD customer service is able to help ..... we'll see. Until this morning would have given this steamer an Excellent rating, but if buying a new one is the only advice I receive from DD, the overwhelming number of very negative reviews I'm seeing is cause for concern.

elizabethB
Orlando, FL, United States
Steamer mop
5/1/2016

Customer review by road service

2.0 stars 5/1/2016 by road service
by road service

Retired service tech. and do not recommend this product for the following reason. Used it apprrx. 5 times and I dropped it! No big deal, I thought! I will order replacement part and all will be "good". Surprise!! Part that I broke comes apart but you cannot purchase this part. Next purchase of anything will have to come with a complete parts list availability, if not, it with be a no sale!!

Comment from Michael - 5/10/2016

Hi road service! Oh no, that sounds frustrating. We want to help. We will be reaching out to you privately for further assistance. We look forward to hearing from you!

road service
PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
I love this mop!!
9/30/2011

Customer review by LoveOnlineShoppingMom

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by LoveOnlineShoppingMom
by LoveOnlineShoppingMom

I always buy something judging by how many bad reviews there is and depending what they say. I decided to go ahead and get it anyway and I'm glad I did! The handle could be a little stronger but so far it's done perfectly. It steams perfectly and got up messes I thought were permanent. After using it everyday for a week the pads aren't sticking to the floor anymore (which made it more difficult to push) I would suggest washing the pads at least 3 times before using them so they lose their stiffness/stickyness. Overall this is a great product and for the price it's worth it!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveOnlineShoppingMom
Concord NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Piece of poop!!
4/30/2016

Customer review by Manda34

1.0 stars 4/30/2016 by Manda34
by Manda34

This is this biggest waste of money I've ever spent!! After 2 months it doesn't steam!!!

Comment from Michael - 5/5/2016

Hi Manda34! Oh no, that doesn't sound too good. Your Easy Steam Mop should definitely be steaming. We want to help. Try this: Fill the tank with water. Distilled water is better for the unit and will help to extend the life of your steamer. Plug it in. The light on the front should be green. Press the steam pump switch to the on position. The cleaner should begin steaming within about 30-60 seconds. If it's still not releasing steam, it may be clogged. Turn the cleaner off and unplug it. Make sure it's completely cooled. Use a paper clip to clear out the steam holes underneath the nozzle. That should do it. Let us know if you still need us!

Manda34
Norfolk, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
spring for the shark
3/27/2011

Customer review by awood11

3.0 stars 3/27/2011 by awood11
by awood11

I like my dirt devil fine however I would spring for the shark if I were to do it again. The reason for this is the dirt devil has continuous steam which is great...but it leaves streaks. The head is not interchangeable and does not swivel. So you are stuck with the triangle mop head. Also because of the continuous steam it goes through water quickly. I usually fill it a couple times to finish the kitchen. I have used the shark model and I think it is worth the extra cash, but my mom tells me it leaves streaks too. The dirt devil gets the job done at a decent price, but if you plan to use it often you might want to upgrade. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (16) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
awood11
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Really, Really Hard To Push!
4/14/2016

Customer review by cooksdelight

1.0 stars 4/14/2016 by cooksdelight
by cooksdelight

Got this about 2 months ago to replace a steam mop that 'exploded' (the head blew off because the inlet was clogged). The old mop (when it worked) was easy to push over our laminated flooring. This one is a BEAR! Really hard to push and it leaves streaks all over the floor (we only use water in the steam mop). Not at all happy with this product.

Comment from Karissa - 4/19/2016

Hi cooksdelight! Your Easy Steam Mop should not be difficult to push during use. We want to help. Please try washing the pad to make sure there is no sticky debris on the bottom of it. If hard water is being used this can cause streaking. To help prevent this we recommend using distilled water in the machine. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We’re here for you!

cooksdelight
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Faulty Cleaner?
10/28/2010

Customer review by EZMJ

1.0 stars 10/28/2010 by EZMJ
by EZMJ

My biggest reason for choosing it was the diamond head design to get in corners. I was very happy with this little steamer the 1st time that I used it. The 2nd time it barely steamed and I had to go back and clean by hand. I filled the tank again, then turned it on. All of the water went through the tank and there was no steam. The pad was ice cold and soaked. I'm returning this item today. I'm hoping this was just a faulty item and you all have better luck than I.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EZMJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
I thought it was great...
4/6/2016

Customer review by sk12

1.0 stars 4/6/2016 by sk12
by sk12

This was our first steam mop, and it was the greatest thing I thought, saved so much time and energy to clean the wooden floor. We kept great maintance and wash the cloth each time. But after less than 5 uses, the machine failed, light & sound was on, but no steam. I didn't expect to be researching on another brand so soon, I was disappointed as we had other great experience with Dirt Devil before.....

Comment from Karissa - 4/12/2016

Hi sk12! We don't want you to feel disappointed with your Easy Steam Mop. We want to help. Here's a few suggestions to get your unit up and running: 1. Allow the unit to cool until the bottom pad is no longer hot, then remove the pad. Do not allow the unit to touch the floor without a pad on. 2. Check the bottom of the unit for any residual buildup. Use a pin or paperclip to clean out the little holes where the steam comes out from. 3. Ensure the tank is full with water and the cap is closed securely. Once completed the unit should begin to steam. For optimum performance we recommend using distilled water to help prevent residual buildup. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We’re here for you!

sk12
Would recommend to a friend? No
7/11/2011

Customer review by Ashley17233

1.0 stars 7/11/2011 by Ashley17233
by Ashley17233

I bought this steam mop back around christmas. It started acting up about 2 months after I bought it. It would just stop steaming for a couple minutes, then start back up. It led to not working at all. The handle on it broke within the first 2 months after I bough it, then the whole pole broke off after 7 months. I will never buy a cheap steam mop after the issues ive had with this one and my previous one.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ashley17233
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 141 total reviews
1-20 of 141 reviews