Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 163 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

163 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

163 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

40%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
24
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 stars
80
1-20 of 155 total reviews
40%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 155 total reviews
1-20 of 155 reviews
Dirt Devil Steam Mop
1/5/2013

Customer review by Tracie97

3.0 stars 1/5/2013 by Tracie97
by Tracie97

I received this as a gift and the mop cleans well but, in my opinion has several drawbacks. After cleaning it does leave streaks, it's hard to push, the triangle head is great for corners but not for going straight on at a wall, the head doesn't swivel so, moving it sideways parallel to the wall requires two hands, and the long cord gets in the way a lot. The durability of this mop seems questionable as well. The handle connects to the head by a short plastic semi hollow tube about the diameter of a penny (I've included a picture) it feels like this is going to snap off with any heavy pressure and I'm a small person (5' 4") and I don't have a lot of strength in my arms. For this price there may be better options for a little extra money.

Was this review helpful? (20) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tracie97
ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Not a sturdy machine!!
11/2/2013

Customer review by ObsessiveCleaningMom

1.0 stars 11/2/2013 by ObsessiveCleaningMom
by ObsessiveCleaningMom

I bought this mop based on the reviews, but after owning it for <6months; it started leaving streaks on my floors and did not steam as well as it did when I bought it. My entire house has hard wood floors (1600 sq ft). The handle that connects to the upper part of the metal tubing cracked and I fixed that with electrical tape and it continued to hold up. Don't get me wrong it worked fantastically well the first 2 months (20-25 uses). Then it started leaving streaks on my hard wood floors. I didn't like the wobbly head (always felt like it was about to break) and in order to run the mop head along the wall edge it had to be done using two hands. I did like the extra long cord. Hated that I had to continuously refill the reservoir 3-4 times with the funnel and pour cup. I did like the height adjustment though. Overall it is not a very sturdy machine. Would NOT buy this product again and would NOT recommend it to a friend!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ObsessiveCleaningMom
Broken Arrow, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
So far so good...
8/4/2010

Customer review by MomOf4inMontCo

5.0 stars 8/4/2010 by MomOf4inMontCo
by MomOf4inMontCo

I bought this after my other steam mop of a different brand broke after only a year. It does the job it's supposed to do and I like the fact that I don't have to "pump" the handle like the other brand mop that I used to own. These steam mops are great for really getting the floor clean, but remember that if there is any trace of dust/dirt/hair/food crumbs, etc. on your floor, you will steam over them and have a pile-up of yuck on your mop. It's important to really sweep the floor prior to using. Other than that, it has worked well for us and is great for a quick clean-up.

Was this review helpful? (128) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomOf4inMontCo
MontCo, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Great Job!!
10/26/2010

Customer review by ybeauty

4.0 stars 10/26/2010 by ybeauty
by ybeauty

This was my first time using a steam mop, and my floors looked great. Plus they dried in half the time as when I used a regular mop. I was able to clean the floors in my laundry room, kitchen and bathroom without refilling the water. This was a great investment.

Was this review helpful? (74) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ybeauty
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
LOVE IT!!!
4/7/2011

Customer review by EtinAddison

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by EtinAddison
by EtinAddison

I hate to mop with a wring mop, so I decided to purchase a steam mop. I have alot of tile floor that must be mopped once, sometimes twice a week. This device far exceeded my expectations! It does a great job. I actually enjoy using it!

Was this review helpful? (73) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EtinAddison
Addison, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Easy and cleans well
11/2/2010

Customer review by johnelroy

5.0 stars 11/2/2010 by johnelroy
by johnelroy

The item arrived damaged. The cheap plastic handle was split. It seemed that it left the factory in that condition. However, customer service is replacing the entire item for me for free. I did try to use the product. It is very easy and cleans very well!

Was this review helpful? (43) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
johnelroy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love this mop!!
9/30/2011

Customer review by LoveOnlineShoppingMom

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by LoveOnlineShoppingMom
by LoveOnlineShoppingMom

I always buy something judging by how many bad reviews there is and depending what they say. I decided to go ahead and get it anyway and I'm glad I did! The handle could be a little stronger but so far it's done perfectly. It steams perfectly and got up messes I thought were permanent. After using it everyday for a week the pads aren't sticking to the floor anymore (which made it more difficult to push) I would suggest washing the pads at least 3 times before using them so they lose their stiffness/stickyness. Overall this is a great product and for the price it's worth it!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveOnlineShoppingMom
Concord NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
spring for the shark
3/27/2011

Customer review by awood11

3.0 stars 3/27/2011 by awood11
by awood11

I like my dirt devil fine however I would spring for the shark if I were to do it again. The reason for this is the dirt devil has continuous steam which is great...but it leaves streaks. The head is not interchangeable and does not swivel. So you are stuck with the triangle mop head. Also because of the continuous steam it goes through water quickly. I usually fill it a couple times to finish the kitchen. I have used the shark model and I think it is worth the extra cash, but my mom tells me it leaves streaks too. The dirt devil gets the job done at a decent price, but if you plan to use it often you might want to upgrade. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (17) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
awood11
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Faulty Cleaner?
10/28/2010

Customer review by EZMJ

1.0 stars 10/28/2010 by EZMJ
by EZMJ

My biggest reason for choosing it was the diamond head design to get in corners. I was very happy with this little steamer the 1st time that I used it. The 2nd time it barely steamed and I had to go back and clean by hand. I filled the tank again, then turned it on. All of the water went through the tank and there was no steam. The pad was ice cold and soaked. I'm returning this item today. I'm hoping this was just a faulty item and you all have better luck than I.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EZMJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
7/11/2011

Customer review by Ashley17233

1.0 stars 7/11/2011 by Ashley17233
by Ashley17233

I bought this steam mop back around christmas. It started acting up about 2 months after I bought it. It would just stop steaming for a couple minutes, then start back up. It led to not working at all. The handle on it broke within the first 2 months after I bough it, then the whole pole broke off after 7 months. I will never buy a cheap steam mop after the issues ive had with this one and my previous one.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ashley17233
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
6/10/2012

Customer review by Origato

2.0 stars 6/10/2012 by Origato
by Origato

When I turned it on, it made a horrible sound and didn't start "hissing" "in 30 seconds" like the directions said it would. Eventually the sound stopped and the hissing started, and it did clean up some bad spots, but it left streaks all over the floor, so I will have to reclean the floor with some other product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Origato
Fairfax, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Dirt Devil Steam Mop
9/23/2011

Customer review by Chinajunk1

1.0 stars 9/23/2011 by Chinajunk1
by Chinajunk1

I purchased 2 - one for a gift and one for myself. I used my weekly and it only lasted 3 months The gift I purchased was only used 6-8 times in a 3 month period and it stopped steaming also this is a piece of junk and yes the price was not real expensive but you would think it would last at least a year!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chinajunk1
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Extremely good at regularly cleaning tile and linoleum floors for 3 years BUT no steam out of the bottom any more
8/24/2015

Customer review by elizabethB

4.0 stars 8/24/2015 by elizabethB
by elizabethB

I recently moved house and the Dirt Devil stood upright in a corner of my kitchen (without a pad attached) for two months. This morning, I filled it with distilled water and plugged it in, ready to clean my kitchen floor. Light was on, I could hear gurgling from the tank as the water heated, but no steam came out of the BOTTOM of the machine (pad was dry) - only a small amount where the stick handle meets the cleaning head. First time this machine has ever let me down. Unable to find specific help for this online, and currently waiting for a callback from the Dirt Devil customer service#. Can I unscrew the faceplate from the cleaning head? Could there be mineral buildup and, if so, how do I remove it? Has something corroded inside the cleaning head, and can I fix it? I hope that DD customer service is able to help ..... we'll see. Until this morning would have given this steamer an Excellent rating, but if buying a new one is the only advice I receive from DD, the overwhelming number of very negative reviews I'm seeing is cause for concern.

elizabethB
Orlando, FL, United States
Talk about streaks
9/2/2012

Customer review by jutie

1.0 stars 9/2/2012 by jutie
by jutie

Disappointing. Left streaks all through the floor even after a new install of bamboo. Floor wasn't even that dirty and it left streaks all over. I followed all instructions so it's too bad they don't test a product or if they did still put it out there for consumers. You can do better Dirt Devil.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jutie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bad Deal
11/21/2010

Customer review by LittleMeMe

1.0 stars 11/21/2010 by LittleMeMe
by LittleMeMe

First online order for me. Good price, bad product. Quick and prompt shipping though. Unit had to be returned because it would not heat up at all. Very disappointing. Saw another review with same problem but ordered anyway. Just hoping for the best. Not to happen.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LittleMeMe
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
great product & good value.
9/28/2011

Customer review by Busynot

5.0 stars 9/28/2011 by Busynot
by Busynot

I needed a new steam mop & did not want to spend a lot of money so I chose this one. I was not disappointed. My floors have never been so clean and the pads come clean easily. I have a bad back so ease of use is important. I would highly recommend this mop.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Busynot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
DIRT DEVIL EASY STEAM MOP
3/10/2017

Customer review by SAP61343

5.0 stars 3/10/2017 by SAP61343
by SAP61343
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

LOVE THIS MOP. HAD SOME STAINS ON MY CERAMIC BATHROOM FLOOR THAT WAS HARD TO CLEAN UP. RAN THE STEM MOP OVER IT A FEW TIMES AND STAINS WERE GONE. AM GOING TO ORDER THE PART FOR DOING RUGS.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SAP61343
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
only works when IT wants to.
10/24/2013

Customer review by ThaQueenBCici

3.0 stars 10/24/2013 by ThaQueenBCici
by ThaQueenBCici

I did EVERYTHING right and it stopped working after 3 months...... fix the product please!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThaQueenBCici
LKPT, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
9/6/2011

Customer review by bammbamm2

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by bammbamm2
by bammbamm2

Very pleased for the money. Easy to use and cleaned without soaking my wooden floors with H2O.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bammbamm2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Not too bad!
5/31/2012

Customer review by pegm

4.0 stars 5/31/2012 by pegm
by pegm

It cleans my vinyl VERY well and leaves is VERY soft. The pads are washable, but they do cake up very easy if your floor is not VERY well swept, and there is not allot of goop of on your floor. If this happens, the pad will get too dirty to continue with cleaning until you simply wash out the pad in the sink to get the yuckies off. Also, the steering over dry dirty floors takes a little muscle because the hot steam makes it kind of stick to the floor causing allot of friction.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pegm
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
1-20 of 155 total reviews
1-20 of 155 reviews