Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 150 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

150 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

150 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

40%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
22
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 stars
73
1-20 of 142 total reviews
40%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 142 total reviews
1-20 of 142 reviews
Dirt Devil Steam Mop
1/5/2013

Customer review by Tracie97

3.0 stars 1/5/2013 by Tracie97
by Tracie97

I received this as a gift and the mop cleans well but, in my opinion has several drawbacks. After cleaning it does leave streaks, it's hard to push, the triangle head is great for corners but not for going straight on at a wall, the head doesn't swivel so, moving it sideways parallel to the wall requires two hands, and the long cord gets in the way a lot. The durability of this mop seems questionable as well. The handle connects to the head by a short plastic semi hollow tube about the diameter of a penny (I've included a picture) it feels like this is going to snap off with any heavy pressure and I'm a small person (5' 4") and I don't have a lot of strength in my arms. For this price there may be better options for a little extra money.

Was this review helpful? (17) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tracie97
ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Not a sturdy machine!!
11/2/2013

Customer review by ObsessiveCleaningMom

1.0 stars 11/2/2013 by ObsessiveCleaningMom
by ObsessiveCleaningMom

I bought this mop based on the reviews, but after owning it for <6months; it started leaving streaks on my floors and did not steam as well as it did when I bought it. My entire house has hard wood floors (1600 sq ft). The handle that connects to the upper part of the metal tubing cracked and I fixed that with electrical tape and it continued to hold up. Don't get me wrong it worked fantastically well the first 2 months (20-25 uses). Then it started leaving streaks on my hard wood floors. I didn't like the wobbly head (always felt like it was about to break) and in order to run the mop head along the wall edge it had to be done using two hands. I did like the extra long cord. Hated that I had to continuously refill the reservoir 3-4 times with the funnel and pour cup. I did like the height adjustment though. Overall it is not a very sturdy machine. Would NOT buy this product again and would NOT recommend it to a friend!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ObsessiveCleaningMom
Broken Arrow, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
So far so good...
8/4/2010

Customer review by MomOf4inMontCo

5.0 stars 8/4/2010 by MomOf4inMontCo
by MomOf4inMontCo

I bought this after my other steam mop of a different brand broke after only a year. It does the job it's supposed to do and I like the fact that I don't have to "pump" the handle like the other brand mop that I used to own. These steam mops are great for really getting the floor clean, but remember that if there is any trace of dust/dirt/hair/food crumbs, etc. on your floor, you will steam over them and have a pile-up of yuck on your mop. It's important to really sweep the floor prior to using. Other than that, it has worked well for us and is great for a quick clean-up.

Was this review helpful? (124) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomOf4inMontCo
MontCo, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Cute mop
8/22/2016

Customer review by Nurse72

5.0 stars 8/22/2016 by Nurse72
by Nurse72
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My old steam mop quit working after 7 years, so I bought this one which is similar in style and functioning like my old one. It cleans nicely,and is just the right height for me. It is light and easy to use. I hope it lasts as long as my old one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nurse72
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE IT!!!
4/7/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I hate to mop with a wring mop, so I decided to purchase a steam mop. I have alot of tile floor that must be mopped once, sometimes twice a week. This device far exceeded my expectations! It does a great job. I actually enjoy using it!

Was this review helpful? (72) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Addison, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Job!!
10/26/2010

Customer review by ybeauty

4.0 stars 10/26/2010 by ybeauty
by ybeauty

This was my first time using a steam mop, and my floors looked great. Plus they dried in half the time as when I used a regular mop. I was able to clean the floors in my laundry room, kitchen and bathroom without refilling the water. This was a great investment.

Was this review helpful? (71) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ybeauty
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Leaves a film...even with distilled water.
7/4/2016

Customer review by Pmta

1.0 stars 7/4/2016 by Pmta
by Pmta

I bought this a year ago and have never had good luck with it. At first, I thought I just had a really dirty house!! It kept leaving a film and streaks from day one, but I thought it was from the Swiffer Wet Wipe cleaner I had used before this. Now, I realize that it just does this! I followed the recommended usage of distilled water from the onset but it didn't make a difference. I'm done with it.

Pmta
Cambridge, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy and cleans well
11/2/2010

Customer review by johnelroy

5.0 stars 11/2/2010 by johnelroy
by johnelroy

The item arrived damaged. The cheap plastic handle was split. It seemed that it left the factory in that condition. However, customer service is replacing the entire item for me for free. I did try to use the product. It is very easy and cleans very well!

Was this review helpful? (43) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
johnelroy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Rubbish
6/27/2016

Customer review by Susanob16

1.0 stars 6/27/2016 by Susanob16
by Susanob16

This is the second mop I have purchased and both have broke. After a few weeks the mop stop produces steam same happened to both . Sadly I have lost my receipt so am stuck with it . Will never purchase this make again!

Susanob16
Uk
Would recommend to a friend? No
Extremely good at regularly cleaning tile and linoleum floors for 3 years BUT no steam out of the bottom any more
8/24/2015

Customer review by elizabethB

4.0 stars 8/24/2015 by elizabethB
by elizabethB

I recently moved house and the Dirt Devil stood upright in a corner of my kitchen (without a pad attached) for two months. This morning, I filled it with distilled water and plugged it in, ready to clean my kitchen floor. Light was on, I could hear gurgling from the tank as the water heated, but no steam came out of the BOTTOM of the machine (pad was dry) - only a small amount where the stick handle meets the cleaning head. First time this machine has ever let me down. Unable to find specific help for this online, and currently waiting for a callback from the Dirt Devil customer service#. Can I unscrew the faceplate from the cleaning head? Could there be mineral buildup and, if so, how do I remove it? Has something corroded inside the cleaning head, and can I fix it? I hope that DD customer service is able to help ..... we'll see. Until this morning would have given this steamer an Excellent rating, but if buying a new one is the only advice I receive from DD, the overwhelming number of very negative reviews I'm seeing is cause for concern.

elizabethB
Orlando, FL, United States
Replacement
6/11/2016

Customer review by Hammer 2

5.0 stars 6/11/2016 by Hammer 2
by Hammer 2

After having a problem with the first unit, Dirt Devil made it easy to get a replacement for the faulty machine. I wish to thank them for that. It makes it nice when a company does the right thing like Dirt Devil. Bless you! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Hammer 2
Bay City, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Carpet? does it work?
6/11/2016

Customer review by kailovelady

4.0 stars 6/11/2016 by kailovelady
by kailovelady

Has anyone used it on carpet like is says you can ? What were the results? Thanks [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

kailovelady
I love this mop!!
9/30/2011

Customer review by LoveOnlineShoppingMom

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by LoveOnlineShoppingMom
by LoveOnlineShoppingMom

I always buy something judging by how many bad reviews there is and depending what they say. I decided to go ahead and get it anyway and I'm glad I did! The handle could be a little stronger but so far it's done perfectly. It steams perfectly and got up messes I thought were permanent. After using it everyday for a week the pads aren't sticking to the floor anymore (which made it more difficult to push) I would suggest washing the pads at least 3 times before using them so they lose their stiffness/stickyness. Overall this is a great product and for the price it's worth it!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveOnlineShoppingMom
Concord NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
spring for the shark
3/27/2011

Customer review by awood11

3.0 stars 3/27/2011 by awood11
by awood11

I like my dirt devil fine however I would spring for the shark if I were to do it again. The reason for this is the dirt devil has continuous steam which is great...but it leaves streaks. The head is not interchangeable and does not swivel. So you are stuck with the triangle mop head. Also because of the continuous steam it goes through water quickly. I usually fill it a couple times to finish the kitchen. I have used the shark model and I think it is worth the extra cash, but my mom tells me it leaves streaks too. The dirt devil gets the job done at a decent price, but if you plan to use it often you might want to upgrade. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (16) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
awood11
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Broken out of the box.
5/17/2016

Customer review by Phillyboy0726

1.0 stars 5/17/2016 by Phillyboy0726
by Phillyboy0726

Bought this at Walmart yesterday, returned immediately to the store since it wouldn't heat up and steam. Got the new one back home and it steamed for maybe 15 minutes before it started to make a loud clicking noise and quit. The green light stays on but the mop will not steam. Now I am stuck with a glorified swiffer duster. Sad!!!

Phillyboy0726
Atlanta, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Faulty Cleaner?
10/28/2010

Customer review by EZMJ

1.0 stars 10/28/2010 by EZMJ
by EZMJ

My biggest reason for choosing it was the diamond head design to get in corners. I was very happy with this little steamer the 1st time that I used it. The 2nd time it barely steamed and I had to go back and clean by hand. I filled the tank again, then turned it on. All of the water went through the tank and there was no steam. The pad was ice cold and soaked. I'm returning this item today. I'm hoping this was just a faulty item and you all have better luck than I.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EZMJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Steamer mop
5/1/2016

Customer review by road service

2.0 stars 5/1/2016 by road service
by road service

Retired service tech. and do not recommend this product for the following reason. Used it apprrx. 5 times and I dropped it! No big deal, I thought! I will order replacement part and all will be "good". Surprise!! Part that I broke comes apart but you cannot purchase this part. Next purchase of anything will have to come with a complete parts list availability, if not, it with be a no sale!!

road service
PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
7/11/2011

Customer review by Ashley17233

1.0 stars 7/11/2011 by Ashley17233
by Ashley17233

I bought this steam mop back around christmas. It started acting up about 2 months after I bought it. It would just stop steaming for a couple minutes, then start back up. It led to not working at all. The handle on it broke within the first 2 months after I bough it, then the whole pole broke off after 7 months. I will never buy a cheap steam mop after the issues ive had with this one and my previous one.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ashley17233
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
6/10/2012

Customer review by Origato

2.0 stars 6/10/2012 by Origato
by Origato

When I turned it on, it made a horrible sound and didn't start "hissing" "in 30 seconds" like the directions said it would. Eventually the sound stopped and the hissing started, and it did clean up some bad spots, but it left streaks all over the floor, so I will have to reclean the floor with some other product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Origato
Fairfax, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Dirt Devil Steam Mop
9/23/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 9/23/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased 2 - one for a gift and one for myself. I used my weekly and it only lasted 3 months The gift I purchased was only used 6-8 times in a 3 month period and it stopped steaming also this is a piece of junk and yes the price was not real expensive but you would think it would last at least a year!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 142 total reviews
1-20 of 142 reviews