Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 84 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

84 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

84 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
11
1-20 of 81 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 81 total reviews
1-20 of 81 reviews
Battery dies quickly
7/4/2016

Customer review by Pat Chan

1.0 stars 7/4/2016 by Pat Chan
by Pat Chan

I have the same issue as the first reviewer (1 star): "Bought this and battery goes out quicker and quicker each time. Now after about a year, it doesn't last after hours of charging." This is obviously an issue with memory effect - If these batteries are recharged repeatedly after being only partially discharged, they gradually lose usable capacity owing to a reduced working voltage. It's a shame that Dirt Devil uses technology as old as this. My last Shark hand vac never had such a problem. Unfortunately I broke it by accident. Really regret having bought the Gater.

Pat Chan
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Powerful and effective, short battery life
7/28/2012

Customer review by chelentaz

4.0 stars 7/28/2012 by chelentaz
by chelentaz

I bought this hand vac to replace a cordless Shark hand vac I'd had for years. This Dirt Devil is more powerful than the Shark ever was! It also empties cleaner and easier. I like the brush attachment and the retractable crevice tool. The only "cons" of this vac are that it is quite loud and the battery life is quite short. The charge only lasted about two hours.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chelentaz
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Dirt devil 18.0 gator bagless handheld vacuum
7/30/2016

Customer review by senior

4.0 stars 7/30/2016 by senior
by senior
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

works well.... good suction....some difficulty when removing the brushroller attachment.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
senior
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what i Expected
9/23/2010

Customer review by twoboys19

3.0 stars 9/23/2010 by twoboys19
by twoboys19

I loved this product the first day i got it, it had this retractable spout that made it easy for tiny places, but after a day that spout got stuck inside and i still havent gotten is out, still works great without it but, that feature is worthless. Also loved theattachment, used it on my couch to get the dog hair up, worked perfect then the attachment kept falling off, not sure if its because the spout is stuck, but its annoying to keep puttng it back in,,

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
twoboys19
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So far so good
6/29/2016

Customer review by Rocky

4.0 stars 6/29/2016 by Rocky
by Rocky

This is a replacement for our first Dirt Devil which would not hold charge. The warranty registration information is on the unit, but extremely difficult to read. (Decal with microscopic white letters/numbers)

Rocky
Ballwin, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Job!
3/26/2012

Customer review by HotLady2010

4.0 stars 3/26/2012 by HotLady2010
by HotLady2010

This is my second D/Devil. This one has more power. The charge lasts a long time. Easy to empty filter. I use it mainly to clean around my cats litter box. Good price too!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HotLady2010
Marietta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pet hair gone!
9/5/2013

Customer review by Catsmeow69

5.0 stars 9/5/2013 by Catsmeow69
by Catsmeow69
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was unsure if this vacumn would pick up pet hair. I tried it out on a bench with a cloth covering where my pet loves to sleep. It did a great job. Easy to use. I would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Catsmeow69
Pensacola,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
functionally good
12/28/2015

Customer review by joefromaustin

4.0 stars 12/28/2015 by joefromaustin
by joefromaustin

good unit but no way to mount on wall

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
joefromaustin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works as described
8/30/2013

Customer review by Whit49

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Whit49
by Whit49
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I read many of the reviews on this product. Many complained about power/suction and I have found it very good. I use the vacuum to suck up small table crumbs on the floor/kitchen and lint on the carpet and couch, thus not a great amount of time in use, but the vac does its job and I really like the power brush attachment. I prefer the direct AC/DC plug in versus a large wall stand because it can be easily put away in a drawer. So far the charge lasts a long time without being recharged every time after use. Only complaint is that the cleaning out the vacuum is not real simple, but if you take your time to not drop the dust catcher, you'll be fine. Do like the crevice extension feature also.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Whit49
Haymarket, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great customer service.
6/3/2016

Customer review by Bravo V

5.0 stars 6/3/2016 by Bravo V
by Bravo V

Our vacuum stopped charging, they replaced it with a new handheld vacuum! We use it on our boat is compact and does a great job. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Bravo V
Lake Superior
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great with 3 pets!
5/13/2016

Customer review by mustloveanimals

5.0 stars 5/13/2016 by mustloveanimals
by mustloveanimals

This little machine has lots of power for cleaning up after 2 dogs and a messy parrot! My first one's battery started to lose power quickly, but the customer service team replaced it very promptly and we're back in business! I am very happy with this company and their product!

mustloveanimals
Saskatchewan, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good value for the money
10/19/2011

Customer review by gabrom

4.0 stars 10/19/2011 by gabrom
by gabrom

Great suction power and a the extra brush attachement is really helpful,for a battery operated vacuum it has lots of suction power,would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gabrom
Chicago IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The Dirt Devil 18.OV Hand Vac is a lifesaver.
9/30/2011

Customer review by oak94612

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by oak94612
by oak94612

The Dirt Devil 18.OV Hand Vac is a lifesaver! Easy to set up Good suction Gets the job done!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oak94612
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No suction.
10/8/2013

Customer review by Kristi

1.0 stars 10/8/2013 by Kristi
by Kristi

I loved this hand vacuum for the first 2 minutes, then the suction went away. I was unable to even pick up a bug. I felt the filter may have gotten clogged, as we live in an older home...and it is hard to stay ahead of the dust and bugs. At this point I emptied the vacuum and tapped the filter against the garbage to make sure it was empty. I did this 3 times, all three times with the same result (only I only had suction for the first 30 seconds now). Then I read the manual, checking the area where the dirt goes in the vacuum to make sure it wasn't clogged. I then gave up for the day, washed the filters, let them air dry, and 2 days later I tried again. I had the same result (great for first 30 seconds). So I called DirtDevil.com and exchanged this product for the Dirt Devil I had for many years-the Ultra Hand Vac (excellent suction, had cord and bag, just thought this unit would be an upgrade).

Kristi
Waukon, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
2/22/2013

Customer review by AthleticsFan

5.0 stars 2/22/2013 by AthleticsFan
by AthleticsFan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Though I've had only a week, thus far I am very pleased with this product. Finally I think I've found the perfect hand vacuum for my purposes. I recently purchased one about $150 more than the Dirt Devil and was extremely disappointed with it, so far this meets my needs perfectly. My main use is cat hair on bedspread during the day and blanket at night. Thus I use it at least twice daily and it's terrific for this. Haven't tried it for loose litter, but I have faith it will prove to meet the test. I LOVE that it also provides a long battery charge (as opposed to the expensive one which gave me about 30 min at best before needing to recharge). Good weight; not too heavy. Easy cup emptying. I'm a happy camper.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AthleticsFan
Santa Rosa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really good power, especially considering it is a cordless.
4/21/2016

Customer review by TopToad

5.0 stars 4/21/2016 by TopToad
by TopToad

Trouble with the first one i was shipped (bad battery), but replacement is flawless, very useful for quick clean-ups of lint and scraps without getting out my canister vac. Keeps me ahead in the cleaning game. Their Customer Service is great. Very easy exchange process.

TopToad
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bought it for a gift!
5/22/2016

Customer review by Rograd

4.0 stars 5/22/2016 by Rograd
by Rograd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered it a while back fro my Mom for Mother's Day. Not sure if she's used it or not so not sure what to write!1976

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rograd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
HANDY
4/19/2016

Customer review by Monstra6

5.0 stars 4/19/2016 by Monstra6
by Monstra6

This is so handy and simple to use. It has the power for quick cleanups and is ready at a moments notice. I am really glad I made the Dirt Devil-Gator purchase.

Monstra6
Temple, Tex, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed
4/5/2016

Customer review by ValerieatHome

2.0 stars 4/5/2016 by ValerieatHome
by ValerieatHome

Just bought this two days ago and upon first use I was sorry. Reviews I read said it didn't hold a charge long enough but I had no idea it only lasted for about 20 minutes. The brush rollers immediately became clogged with pet hair, etc. wrapped around the rotator with no way to remove hair or to clean it. I will have to but tweezers or needle nose pliers to pull the jammed hair out of the rush roller.

ValerieatHome
Would recommend to a friend? No
Battery dies really quick.
4/16/2016

Customer review by House clean

1.0 stars 4/16/2016 by House clean
by House clean

Bought this and battery goes out quicker and quicker each time. Now after about a year, it doesn't last after hours of charging.

House clean
Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 81 total reviews
1-20 of 81 reviews