Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 121 reviews
5 stars
67
4 stars
28
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
15
Sort by: 
1-20 of 118 reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews
Total Disappointment
10/13/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought the second one thinking I must have gotten a lemon the first time. What are the odds? The second one is junk too. The power brush they are so proud of in their ads is turned by a very thin PLASTIC gear. Guess how long that lasts. Also, their battery/charging technology is ancient. They need to hire a technician or engineer from Makita, or Milwaukee, or Porter Cable, etc who can teach them how to make a charging system that doesn't overcharge the battery and toast it in 2 months. And on top of that, the battery isn't replaceable, DUH! Even when new the charge only lasted about 15 minutes. No more Dirt Devils for me
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Powerful and effective, short battery life
7/28/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this hand vac to replace a cordless Shark hand vac I'd had for years. This Dirt Devil is more powerful than the Shark ever was! It also empties cleaner and easier. I like the brush attachment and the retractable crevice tool. The only "cons" of this vac are that it is quite loud and the battery life is quite short. The charge only lasted about two hours.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not what i Expected
9/23/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I loved this product the first day i got it, it had this retractable spout that made it easy for tiny places, but after a day that spout got stuck inside and i still havent gotten is out, still works great without it but, that feature is worthless. Also loved theattachment, used it on my couch to get the dog hair up, worked perfect then the attachment kept falling off, not sure if its because the spout is stuck, but its annoying to keep puttng it back in,,
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Job!
3/26/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is my second D/Devil. This one has more power. The charge lasts a long time. Easy to empty filter. I use it mainly to clean around my cats litter box. Good price too!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works as described
8/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I read many of the reviews on this product. Many complained about power/suction and I have found it very good. I use the vacuum to suck up small table crumbs on the floor/kitchen and lint on the carpet and couch, thus not a great amount of time in use, but the vac does its job and I really like the power brush attachment. I prefer the direct AC/DC plug in versus a large wall stand because it can be easily put away in a drawer. So far the charge lasts a long time without being recharged every time after use. Only complaint is that the cleaning out the vacuum is not real simple, but if you take your time to not drop the dust catcher, you'll be fine. Do like the crevice extension feature also.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pet hair gone!
9/5/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was unsure if this vacumn would pick up pet hair. I tried it out on a bench with a cloth covering where my pet loves to sleep. It did a great job. Easy to use. I would recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Powerful little vacuum
8/15/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It is powerful for a handheld vacuum. It does the work of picking up dirt and debris. The only thing is the pull-out nozzle cannot reach some tight spots in the car. I wish there was an attachment that slim to reach these spots.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good value for the money
10/19/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great suction power and a the extra brush attachement is really helpful,for a battery operated vacuum it has lots of suction power,would recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The Dirt Devil 18.OV Hand Vac is a lifesaver.
9/30/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The Dirt Devil 18.OV Hand Vac is a lifesaver! Easy to set up Good suction Gets the job done!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
functionally good
12/28/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
good unit but no way to mount on wall
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/22/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Though I've had only a week, thus far I am very pleased with this product. Finally I think I've found the perfect hand vacuum for my purposes. I recently purchased one about $150 more than the Dirt Devil and was extremely disappointed with it, so far this meets my needs perfectly. My main use is cat hair on bedspread during the day and blanket at night. Thus I use it at least twice daily and it's terrific for this. Haven't tried it for loose litter, but I have faith it will prove to meet the test. I LOVE that it also provides a long battery charge (as opposed to the expensive one which gave me about 30 min at best before needing to recharge). Good weight; not too heavy. Easy cup emptying. I'm a happy camper.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
No suction.
10/8/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I loved this hand vacuum for the first 2 minutes, then the suction went away. I was unable to even pick up a bug. I felt the filter may have gotten clogged, as we live in an older home...and it is hard to stay ahead of the dust and bugs. At this point I emptied the vacuum and tapped the filter against the garbage to make sure it was empty. I did this 3 times, all three times with the same result (only I only had suction for the first 30 seconds now). Then I read the manual, checking the area where the dirt goes in the vacuum to make sure it wasn't clogged. I then gave up for the day, washed the filters, let them air dry, and 2 days later I tried again. I had the same result (great for first 30 seconds). So I called DirtDevil.com and exchanged this product for the Dirt Devil I had for many years-the Ultra Hand Vac (excellent suction, had cord and bag, just thought this unit would be an upgrade).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Powerful compared to the cheaper model.
12/4/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
To my surprise this hand vac is very powerful. I originally had bought the cheaper model and after failure I bought this one. I love it! I should have never wasted my money on the cheaper one! This one has much more suction!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wonderful first hand vac!
4/21/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We are very pleased with our purchase of the Dirt Devil 18.0 V Gator hand vac. It's extremely handy and perfect for quick clean up of crumbs and messes.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lots of power
4/25/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This hand vac has tons of power. I just love it. The only thing I wish ot had was something to hang it on the wall.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/12/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I mainly wanted this for my couch and wooden stairs and i have to say, besides a short battery life (15 + mins), it works great! I have a small baby so my sofas get all the lil crumbs and whatnot and my stairs get too dusty and this product has been great! I try not to leave it plugged in all night for the sake of battery life. As for cleaning, i felt that instead of just opening up its front to shake the dust off (very messy) , it is better to simply take out the filter and give it few swipes with an old toothbrush, still lil messy but at least u have a clean filter each time! and i think thats mainly the reason why it has been working so great for me!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great hand Vacuum
10/24/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this vac. It works great for pet hair and other pick up. I do wish the battery power would last a little longer but for the most part it works wonders.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Gator 18V
12/9/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Lots of power and the brush can't be beat. Unlike any other hand vac out there.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Poor Poor Suction
4/30/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased because of the good reviews, but taking into account the bad ones.... Well, my experience with this hand held was not positive at all. I charged it for 24 hrs. before using it, but the suction is not good, I tried vacuuming my car, it sounded powerful, but would not really pick up much. I will be returning it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Powerful for a cordless.
10/7/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I own a conversion van with thick pile carpet throughout. I am impressed with the suction power this little handheld vac creates. And with the brush head attachment, its even better. By far the most impressive cordless I have ever used.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642852, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-