Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 80 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

80 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

80 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 stars
15
1-20 of 77 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews
Really good power,
1/17/2016

Customer review by TopToadOne

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by TopToadOne
by TopToadOne

Unit worked very well for a couple of months, then i found that i happened to receive one with a bad battery. Would not hold charge for any time. Eventually contacted customer service and found the replacement procedure would not be bad like i expected. I followed their "test" instructions and then the lady told me what to do for a replacement. I did not have to return bad unit which was really nice. Just had to peel off info label and return it with my personal information. The replacement unit arrived very quickly. The new one is powerful; roller attachment works well. I use it mostly on area rug in kitchen so i don't have to pull out my big vacuum. Couldn't be better. Lots of applause for their customer service.

TopToadOne
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
READ REVIEWS!!!!!! The battery dies and there is no replacement. Bad design job!!!
1/2/2015

Customer review by Nelson

1.0 stars 1/2/2015 by Nelson
by Nelson

We bought this Dirty Devil because of what it said it can do. For the most part, for the first few months, it did. Great suction, gets into hard to get places & attachments are great. What they do not tell you is that your battery will last, at most, 6 months. It won't hold a charge, nor can the batteries be replaced.... Basically useless... No lie my wife and I noticed that it wasn't holding a charge so we moved the charger to 3 different outlets. We charged for over 24 hours like they tell you and still nothing. It's good now if you have a simple pick-up that won't take longer than 60 seconds, then it dies. If it was up to me I wouldn't even give this thing a star... The rating Poor is to good for it. We should have known better, this is the second Dirt Devil that has done this to us, battery sucks & cannot be replaced. I have to question whether the designers of this machine ever actually cleaned or living the good life on the money they have made off this quality product (sarcasm)

Nelson
Seymour, CT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Weekly
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Male
functionally good
12/28/2015

Customer review by joefromaustin

4.0 stars 12/28/2015 by joefromaustin
by joefromaustin

good unit but no way to mount on wall

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
joefromaustin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerful and effective, short battery life
7/28/2012

Customer review by chelentaz

4.0 stars 7/28/2012 by chelentaz
by chelentaz

I bought this hand vac to replace a cordless Shark hand vac I'd had for years. This Dirt Devil is more powerful than the Shark ever was! It also empties cleaner and easier. I like the brush attachment and the retractable crevice tool. The only "cons" of this vac are that it is quite loud and the battery life is quite short. The charge only lasted about two hours.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chelentaz
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pet hair gone!
9/5/2013

Customer review by Catsmeow69

5.0 stars 9/5/2013 by Catsmeow69
by Catsmeow69
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was unsure if this vacumn would pick up pet hair. I tried it out on a bench with a cloth covering where my pet loves to sleep. It did a great job. Easy to use. I would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Catsmeow69
Pensacola,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what i Expected
9/23/2010

Customer review by twoboys19

3.0 stars 9/23/2010 by twoboys19
by twoboys19

I loved this product the first day i got it, it had this retractable spout that made it easy for tiny places, but after a day that spout got stuck inside and i still havent gotten is out, still works great without it but, that feature is worthless. Also loved theattachment, used it on my couch to get the dog hair up, worked perfect then the attachment kept falling off, not sure if its because the spout is stuck, but its annoying to keep puttng it back in,,

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
twoboys19
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Job!
3/26/2012

Customer review by HotLady2010

4.0 stars 3/26/2012 by HotLady2010
by HotLady2010

This is my second D/Devil. This one has more power. The charge lasts a long time. Easy to empty filter. I use it mainly to clean around my cats litter box. Good price too!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HotLady2010
Marietta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Works as described
8/30/2013

Customer review by Whit49

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Whit49
by Whit49
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I read many of the reviews on this product. Many complained about power/suction and I have found it very good. I use the vacuum to suck up small table crumbs on the floor/kitchen and lint on the carpet and couch, thus not a great amount of time in use, but the vac does its job and I really like the power brush attachment. I prefer the direct AC/DC plug in versus a large wall stand because it can be easily put away in a drawer. So far the charge lasts a long time without being recharged every time after use. Only complaint is that the cleaning out the vacuum is not real simple, but if you take your time to not drop the dust catcher, you'll be fine. Do like the crevice extension feature also.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Whit49
Haymarket, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
dies fast
12/12/2015

Customer review by gspent

1.0 stars 12/12/2015 by gspent
by gspent

doesnt hold a charge, when its freshly charged it lasts about 2 minutes.. Takes forever to fully charge then goes dead quickly. Not a good vacuum for the dirt devil name...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gspent
Would recommend to a friend? No
some things i wish i knew about this vacuum
11/3/2015

Customer review by nathan824s

4.0 stars 11/3/2015 by nathan824s
by nathan824s

wish it had cradle to mount it to the wall with. also the motorized brush is weak and does not stay attached very well, and the whole system of emptying it and changing the filter is weird and not the best. the recessed vacuum crevice extender is pretty nifty and the whole thing does a good job of sucking. we shall see how long the batteries last.

nathan824s
missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good value for the money
10/19/2011

Customer review by gabrom

4.0 stars 10/19/2011 by gabrom
by gabrom

Great suction power and a the extra brush attachement is really helpful,for a battery operated vacuum it has lots of suction power,would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gabrom
Chicago IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The Dirt Devil 18.OV Hand Vac is a lifesaver.
9/30/2011

Customer review by oak94612

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by oak94612
by oak94612

The Dirt Devil 18.OV Hand Vac is a lifesaver! Easy to set up Good suction Gets the job done!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oak94612
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No suction.
10/8/2013

Customer review by Kristi

1.0 stars 10/8/2013 by Kristi
by Kristi

I loved this hand vacuum for the first 2 minutes, then the suction went away. I was unable to even pick up a bug. I felt the filter may have gotten clogged, as we live in an older home...and it is hard to stay ahead of the dust and bugs. At this point I emptied the vacuum and tapped the filter against the garbage to make sure it was empty. I did this 3 times, all three times with the same result (only I only had suction for the first 30 seconds now). Then I read the manual, checking the area where the dirt goes in the vacuum to make sure it wasn't clogged. I then gave up for the day, washed the filters, let them air dry, and 2 days later I tried again. I had the same result (great for first 30 seconds). So I called DirtDevil.com and exchanged this product for the Dirt Devil I had for many years-the Ultra Hand Vac (excellent suction, had cord and bag, just thought this unit would be an upgrade).

Kristi
Waukon, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
2/22/2013

Customer review by AthleticsFan

5.0 stars 2/22/2013 by AthleticsFan
by AthleticsFan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Though I've had only a week, thus far I am very pleased with this product. Finally I think I've found the perfect hand vacuum for my purposes. I recently purchased one about $150 more than the Dirt Devil and was extremely disappointed with it, so far this meets my needs perfectly. My main use is cat hair on bedspread during the day and blanket at night. Thus I use it at least twice daily and it's terrific for this. Haven't tried it for loose litter, but I have faith it will prove to meet the test. I LOVE that it also provides a long battery charge (as opposed to the expensive one which gave me about 30 min at best before needing to recharge). Good weight; not too heavy. Easy cup emptying. I'm a happy camper.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AthleticsFan
Santa Rosa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Tool for Easy Clean up
11/4/2015

Customer review by sandy

4.0 stars 11/4/2015 by sandy
by sandy

I bought this hand held vac because I am a stay at home mom, constantly having to bring out broom and dust pan to clean crumbs left behind, this is a small yet powerful hand held vac that helps me relax when messes are made because all you have to due is grab, vac and go. Great price as well from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sandy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dirt Devil 18 volt portable vacuum cleaner and warranty replacement /customer service
9/3/2015

Customer review by Dell2657

5.0 stars 9/3/2015 by Dell2657
by Dell2657

I've had this product since October 2014. About 2 months ago it started not holding a charge. It came with a 3 year manufacturer warranty...... I contacted the company, explained the problem, followed their specific instructions and procedures. In a few days, I was sent a new replacement unit. The replacement unit works perfectly. I commend the customer service staff for their professionalism and courtesy. I am happy to recommend Dirt Devil products to any and every body who seeks an opinion about the company or their products. I am a VERY HAPPY AND SATISFIED CUSTOMER!

Dell2657
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Stinks !!! No power ! No suction hardly!
9/20/2015

Customer review by Mell

1.0 stars 9/20/2015 by Mell
by Mell

I have purchased 2 of these in the last 5 years. (One about 6 months ago) I don't know why I was stupid enough to buy another one. It has loss of power soon after purchase, the same thing both times! And it just doesn't get evendors the smallestimate job done because of that !!!! Seriously..for that price, I expect a heck allot better !!! WILL NEVER EVER BUY AGAIN! EVERRRRRR

Comment from Kenya - 9/21/2015

Hi Mell! That is not good to hear. You should be getting at least an 8-10 minute run time on a full charge with your Gator. We are sending you a private email, we have a few more questions. Thanks!

Mell
Deer Park, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
GREAT PICKUP, super for quick use
8/24/2015

Customer review by LulusMom

5.0 stars 8/24/2015 by LulusMom
by LulusMom

This little, powerful guy is a must have in my house. I have one lightweight upright that only does floors, and another little bullet shape tank type for everything else. I've always had a handheld vac for kitchen crumbs, bathroom hair, tiny bugs on the window ledges and AC and air cleaner tower filters (rather than washing every time). The little brush attachment is great for mini-messes on the carpet. Only had this one less than a month and, so far, it works very well. I've read over a dozen customer reviews and it looks like the Dirt Devil people will back me up if I have a problem.

LulusMom
SE Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this little vac!!!
6/30/2015

Customer review by Frank85

5.0 stars 6/30/2015 by Frank85
by Frank85

I've had this unit for about two weeks, and so far it is performing great. I'm surprised at all of the negative reviews here....I was comforted by the fact that your warranty seems to have satisfied most of their problems ( mostly battery concerns). I followed the instruction to charge the unit for 24 hours, and so far it's great. When it starts to slow down, I charge it until the light goes out, then it works like a charm. One thing I noticed about all of the reviews....people seem to think they can vacuum the whole house and expect it to run for long periods of time.....come on.....get a full size unit for the floors and stairs, and use this little baby for small quick clean-ups for two or three minutes, and it will perform perfectly.

Frank85
Calgary, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Male
Two Years And Running Strong
8/8/2015

Customer review by CMSgt Lou

5.0 stars 8/8/2015 by CMSgt Lou
by CMSgt Lou

The frist one I owned was given to my by my employer as a reward from longevity. (I chose the reward from a list of choices) It remained in a box for a couple years. I took it out and put it into use two years ago. My wife and I use it every day, almost without exception. It has held up better than five other brands we've used in the past. I honestly purchased another a few weeks ago for our vacation house. That's how good we feel it is. Good price. Good quality. Good name with a good reputation.

CMSgt Lou
Cypress Cove Nudist Resort, Kissimmee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Male
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews