Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 118 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

118 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

118 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
66
4 stars
27
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
14
1-20 of 115 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 115 total reviews
1-20 of 115 reviews
Excellent with lots of power!
1/21/2017

Customer review by RosieR

5.0 stars 1/21/2017 by RosieR
by RosieR
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This hand vacuum is the best one I've ever had! Good, strong suction. Single use time isn't that long, but that has never bothered me. I even saw this exact same model being used in a grocery store to keep the produce shelves free from loose debris! Highly recommended!

RosieR
Aurora, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very powerful!
12/5/2016

Customer review by Blondie07

5.0 stars 12/5/2016 by Blondie07
by Blondie07

This little handheld vacuum is awesome! The first surprise with the Gator is its weight but that isn't a concern because it performs so well. With one pass, the Gator picks up everything. It's bagless and cordless which makes it more convenient than my regular vacuum. I use it often and the charge lasts and lasts. I'm so glad that I purchased this hand vacuum to replace my 7-year-old 7V Dirt Devil. I liked the old 7V but the 18V Gator is much more powerful and it may even last longer.

Blondie07
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No suction.
10/8/2013

Customer review by Kristi

1.0 stars 10/8/2013 by Kristi
by Kristi

I loved this hand vacuum for the first 2 minutes, then the suction went away. I was unable to even pick up a bug. I felt the filter may have gotten clogged, as we live in an older home...and it is hard to stay ahead of the dust and bugs. At this point I emptied the vacuum and tapped the filter against the garbage to make sure it was empty. I did this 3 times, all three times with the same result (only I only had suction for the first 30 seconds now). Then I read the manual, checking the area where the dirt goes in the vacuum to make sure it wasn't clogged. I then gave up for the day, washed the filters, let them air dry, and 2 days later I tried again. I had the same result (great for first 30 seconds). So I called DirtDevil.com and exchanged this product for the Dirt Devil I had for many years-the Ultra Hand Vac (excellent suction, had cord and bag, just thought this unit would be an upgrade).

Kristi
Waukon, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
GOOD LITTLE VAC
10/13/2016

Customer review by Nick Danger17

5.0 stars 10/13/2016 by Nick Danger17
by Nick Danger17

I purchased my Dirt Devil Gator Vac about a month or two ago. I find it very easy to use and does a very good job on quick clean ups. I use it mostly for pet hair clean ups and also use it for auto rug clean ups. The Gator has good power with it's 15.6 volt motor and holds a charge for a long period of time before it needs a recharge. It's also easy to store and reasonably priced.I recommend The Gator to anyone.

Nick Danger17
Largo, Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good
11/12/2016

Customer review by Princetongirl 38

3.0 stars 11/12/2016 by Princetongirl 38
by Princetongirl 38
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It does the job.

Princetongirl 38
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic light practical machine
10/12/2016

Customer review by Carmela

5.0 stars 10/12/2016 by Carmela
by Carmela

I bought this super hand held vacuum 2 yrs ago. Powerful for its size, light and luv that it's cordless! I would highly recommend it to anyone. I use it not only in the household but to vacuum my car! I also luv that it doesn't take up much space in the laundry room. For the price, you can't beat it! By

Carmela
New Jersey, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Any part of the House
10/12/2016

Customer review by ssteen2

4.0 stars 10/12/2016 by ssteen2
by ssteen2

I have had my vacuum now for 6 months and just love it. I can clean up quick messes on most of the carpets and kitchen floor. It is quick charging and I am able to use it several times before another re-charge. It has great power for picking up most objects and messes. A definite must have for every house.

ssteen2
St Clair Shores, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Warranty is A-one
9/13/2016

Customer review by AWSinOV

5.0 stars 9/13/2016 by AWSinOV
by AWSinOV

The original was marginal in performance and battery life was horrible. I called Customer Service and they deemed the unit defective. They instantly replaced it and the new unit really SUCKS, no pun intended.

AWSinOV
Ocean View, DE, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Battery dies quickly
7/4/2016

Customer review by Pat Chan

1.0 stars 7/4/2016 by Pat Chan
by Pat Chan

I have the same issue as the first reviewer (1 star): "Bought this and battery goes out quicker and quicker each time. Now after about a year, it doesn't last after hours of charging." This is obviously an issue with memory effect - If these batteries are recharged repeatedly after being only partially discharged, they gradually lose usable capacity owing to a reduced working voltage. It's a shame that Dirt Devil uses technology as old as this. My last Shark hand vac never had such a problem. Unfortunately I broke it by accident. Really regret having bought the Gater.

Pat Chan
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Really good power,
1/17/2016

Customer review by TopToadOne

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by TopToadOne
by TopToadOne

Unit worked very well for a couple of months, then i found that i happened to receive one with a bad battery. Would not hold charge for any time. Eventually contacted customer service and found the replacement procedure would not be bad like i expected. I followed their "test" instructions and then the lady told me what to do for a replacement. I did not have to return bad unit which was really nice. Just had to peel off info label and return it with my personal information. The replacement unit arrived very quickly. The new one is powerful; roller attachment works well. I use it mostly on area rug in kitchen so i don't have to pull out my big vacuum. Couldn't be better. Lots of applause for their customer service.

TopToadOne
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this little vac!!!
6/30/2015

Customer review by Frank85

5.0 stars 6/30/2015 by Frank85
by Frank85

I've had this unit for about two weeks, and so far it is performing great. I'm surprised at all of the negative reviews here....I was comforted by the fact that your warranty seems to have satisfied most of their problems ( mostly battery concerns). I followed the instruction to charge the unit for 24 hours, and so far it's great. When it starts to slow down, I charge it until the light goes out, then it works like a charm. One thing I noticed about all of the reviews....people seem to think they can vacuum the whole house and expect it to run for long periods of time.....come on.....get a full size unit for the floors and stairs, and use this little baby for small quick clean-ups for two or three minutes, and it will perform perfectly.

Frank85
Calgary, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Male
So far so good
6/29/2016

Customer review by Rocky

4.0 stars 6/29/2016 by Rocky
by Rocky

This is a replacement for our first Dirt Devil which would not hold charge. The warranty registration information is on the unit, but extremely difficult to read. (Decal with microscopic white letters/numbers)

Rocky
Ballwin, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
powerful
8/7/2016

Customer review by harin4627

5.0 stars 8/7/2016 by harin4627
by harin4627
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this one month back and happy with the power and cleaning effectiveness

harin4627
Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing, but short battery life
3/20/2016

Customer review by Sidonie

4.0 stars 3/20/2016 by Sidonie
by Sidonie

I bought it a few weeks ago to pick up dog hair, cat litter, and mess around our wood burning fireplace. It's great! Love the built in crevice tool, and I'm very happy I picked the one with the attachable electric powerhead on the end - it actually picks up dog and cat hair from the couch! My only complaint so far is the battery seems to run out very quickly, especially when using the attachment. I'm beginning to wonder if I got a faulty machine, as I am not hearing that from other reviews.

Sidonie
BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great customer service.
6/3/2016

Customer review by Bravo V

5.0 stars 6/3/2016 by Bravo V
by Bravo V

Our vacuum stopped charging, they replaced it with a new handheld vacuum! We use it on our boat is compact and does a great job. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Bravo V
Lake Superior
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great with 3 pets!
5/13/2016

Customer review by mustloveanimals

5.0 stars 5/13/2016 by mustloveanimals
by mustloveanimals

This little machine has lots of power for cleaning up after 2 dogs and a messy parrot! My first one's battery started to lose power quickly, but the customer service team replaced it very promptly and we're back in business! I am very happy with this company and their product!

mustloveanimals
Saskatchewan, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good suction for small jobs but I'm disappointed
2/7/2014

Customer review by Bunny

3.0 stars 2/7/2014 by Bunny
by Bunny

I bought this a month ago and I would not do it again. Yes you can squeeze two little buttons and a lid drops down and lets some of your dust/dirt/hair out, but very little. Most of it sticks to the inside filter or dust bag. Also, After vacuuming for about two or three minutes using the brush, it was wound with hair(human) and threads. It was difficult to unwind the string or hair from the brush. Would to Goodness that a vacuum like this would have an old-fashion removable and/or replaceable bag for the catchings. Disposable bag vacuums are much cleaner to deal with than any of today's "BAGLESS" vacuums. I use it to vacuum crumbs off the table after meals.

Bunny
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
Disappointed
4/5/2016

Customer review by ValerieatHome

2.0 stars 4/5/2016 by ValerieatHome
by ValerieatHome

Just bought this two days ago and upon first use I was sorry. Reviews I read said it didn't hold a charge long enough but I had no idea it only lasted for about 20 minutes. The brush rollers immediately became clogged with pet hair, etc. wrapped around the rotator with no way to remove hair or to clean it. I will have to but tweezers or needle nose pliers to pull the jammed hair out of the rush roller.

ValerieatHome
Would recommend to a friend? No
Liked the powerhead feature
6/16/2016

Customer review by not excited

3.0 stars 6/16/2016 by not excited
by not excited
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Find it works well on the carpet to pick up small bits. The roller brush makes it easy and it is effective to get the visible bits off. Not much suction though when I use it without the roller brush attachment. A piece of popcorn won't fit through it's opening.

not excited
Ucluelet BC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really good power, especially considering it is a cordless.
4/21/2016

Customer review by TopToad

5.0 stars 4/21/2016 by TopToad
by TopToad

Trouble with the first one i was shipped (bad battery), but replacement is flawless, very useful for quick clean-ups of lint and scraps without getting out my canister vac. Keeps me ahead in the cleaning game. Their Customer Service is great. Very easy exchange process.

TopToad
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 115 total reviews
1-20 of 115 reviews