Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

29 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

29 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 29 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
So far so good, good quality lens.
7/13/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/13/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Now if I could fiquire out how to keep the bugs still while I focus, I would have it made.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Morrisville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very fun lens
6/13/2016

Customer review by Stothek Monster

5.0 stars 6/13/2016 by Stothek Monster
by Stothek Monster

I really enjoy this lens for taking pictures of flowers and people. Granted that to get anything beyond a face with an 85 mm lens you need considerable distance, nevertheless the image quality is great and creates a lovely bokeh.

Stothek Monster
Jerusalem, Israel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Brilliant 1:1
11/28/2012

Customer review by IZzi

4.0 stars 11/28/2012 by IZzi
by IZzi

I am fairly new to macro. Recently I found my ground and needed a good lens for a good price. I bought 40mm before this, but the distance was always an issue with me, so I ended up buying this and I know I will never regret this decision. The lens is amazing. The ergonomics are a little slow, but that could be because I am using d3100 with fewer focus points then a pro level camera, but this lens delivers! 1:1 ratio is amazing!! Only reason I gave it 4 stars and not 5 because, I would have liked to see f 2.8 instead of 3.5. I am learning and growing more into macro photography everyday because of this lens. Very soon, I am planning to upgrade to d7000. I hope this lens works on it. I really do ! If you are like me and make second - third decisions on everything. STOP! This is the right one. Buy this lens if you are serious about macro photography. Expand your horizons and grow. Below are some of my pictures.

IZzi
Plano, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A LOT of chromatic aberration.
4/22/2016

Customer review by macroshooter

1.0 stars 4/22/2016 by macroshooter
by macroshooter

This lens creates a lot of chromatic aberration. In almost every single picture I have taken with this lens, there is a good amount of irritating blue and yellow chromatic aberration. I would recommend this lens to someone who is new and doesn't notice things like this in their images , but for someone who cares about image quality and wants it to be the best possible, i would tell them not to get this lens.

macroshooter
Would recommend to a friend? No
A 'must have' lens!
4/20/2011

Customer review by Lobo

5.0 stars 4/20/2011 by Lobo
by Lobo

I only learned about Nikkor Micro lenses relatively late in my film camera days, but they quickly became favorites. This 85mm is the best yet. I love taking pictures of the various plants and shrubs I have in my yard and the ability to get in close for a dramatic image has enhanced my enjoyment of both the plants and the photography. Mated with the D7000, I have the perfect 'rig' for taking these photos. The sharpness of the images and the smoothness of operation make taking pictures a lot more fun. The biggest surprise was the discovery of the fine, delicate, details of blossoms, leaves, etc. I had not seen them before. When I post some of them on my facebook page, I get almost immediate feedback. Some of it comes from folks I don't even know. If you haven't ever tried a micro lens, you owe it to yourself to do so. It will open your eyes to a whole new world of subject matter.

Lobo
Bristol, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Compact, light, easy to use
4/21/2011

Customer review by Michael

5.0 stars 4/21/2011 by Michael
by Michael

We bought both the 85 mm DX micro and the 105 mm micro for work. I read that the 85 has significant barrel distortions and is below par for a Nikon lens. In contrast, the 105 is considered excellent. I have used both extensively for close work on small inanimate objects. For what I am doing, I see no difference at all between the pictures I get with 85 and the 105. The 105 is certainly more solid, but considerably heavier and twice the price. If you rather carry around a much lighter lens, the 85 should do just fine. I find both VR and auto focusing to be quite helpful. I have never had to manually focus, despite what I have read about the need for doing so under high magnifications. I also take all my close-ups without a tripod because the VR works so well. This is certainly not the advice I have seen. Everything I read says that micro picture must be taken with a tripod.

Michael
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great
4/10/2016

Customer review by Herbie

5.0 stars 4/10/2016 by Herbie
by Herbie

i used Nikon D750 with this lens AF-S DX Micro NIKKOR 85mm f/3.5G ED VR. ISO 2500 1/60 F/3.8 I love the out come. i will recommend this lens to any

Herbie
Washington, DC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Brand New World!
11/1/2013

Customer review by KLFNikkie

5.0 stars 11/1/2013 by KLFNikkie
by KLFNikkie

I knew I wanted a macro lens. It would be my first, and as all my other lenses are Nikon made, I wanted to 'keep it in the family'. Like many, I did my research before committing to a purchase. I chose this, the 85mm after careful consideration and many great reviews on various sites. For a maiden voyage, I took it to a combo flower/butterfly show. How did it fair? Incredible, fantastic, marvelous...need I go on? I won't say every shot was perfect. They never are, right? Yet, when I got home and had the chance to really see what I'd shot on my 27" LED monitor, I almost couldn't believe my eyes. Bottom line? I'm thrilled with this lens! I feel like I've opened the door to a brand new world of creative possibilities. Now go get yours! I'll try to get some of those first shots up soon!

KLFNikkie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Super sharp details in all photos taken at all distances.
12/26/2013

Customer review by Flyrod

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by Flyrod
by Flyrod

I have taken over 400 photos of different subjects at different distances. The details are sharp clean and crisp in all the photos, except those where I failed to hold the camera steady or where I snapped the shutter before the AF functioned. A photo of a pecan laid on a table cloth snapped at a distance of about 12 inches was so sharp that the linen fibers in the threads on the table cloth were visible and all the texture on the pecan was lear. Photos of a rosemary plant at 30 ft showed the texture of the leaves. Color was correct on all subjects. specially nice is a shot of ice covered tree limbs with the sun shining through and a deep blue sky background. I have six other lenses ranging from a 50 mm prime to a 150-500 mm zoom. so far, none of them are superior to the 85mm f3.5.

Flyrod
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth the wait. Excellent clear close-ups.
9/26/2014

Customer review by That camera guy

5.0 stars 9/26/2014 by That camera guy
by That camera guy

This is my 3rd foray into micro-nikkor lenses, and I just may hang on to this one! With the VR function it is easier to use, however at really close work a tripod is pretty much required to get the best out of the lens. I got it for a D5000, and have since moved to a D5300, and it is so clear and sharp, and the colours are very rich. It helped to adjust the camera to force the lens to a higher f-stop in order to get the depth of field needed for most three-dimensional items, With a little care to the camera work, the final results are certainly worth the effort! I have a list of small valuable items that will eventually get photographed, and I'm looking forward to the results. Attached image is mildly compressed to fit this website's requirements.

That camera guy
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A superb lens for a botany photographer!
9/8/2011

Customer review by Suzanna

5.0 stars 9/8/2011 by Suzanna
by Suzanna

This lens is an excellent intro lens for those looking to practice micro/macro photography. It is fast, easy to focus, and very accurate. I use it in botanical gardens and have consistently turned out quality captures using the camera in a hand-held, rather than a tripod, shooting method. The lens produces images with great clarity for the price. I've also used it for portraits and it excels there as well, especially when you don't want to be too close to your subject. You can walk it out for landscapes, also. I have used this lens, simply because it is so much fun to use, more than my wide angle and zoom lenses. It opens up a whole new world of artistic expression and composition that you wouldn't suspect otherwise. Highly recommended!

Suzanna
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Micro Lens and Portrait Lens Combination
3/16/2015

Customer review by Scripps23

5.0 stars 3/16/2015 by Scripps23
by Scripps23

I put my Nikon 85mm DX Macro Lens through its paces this weekend. It performed extremely well as both a macro lens and a portrait lens. Its light weight makes it very portable and the optics are excellent. Below is a photo of a Paper Kite butterfly taken at the annual San Diego Zoo Safari Park "Butterfly Jungle" exhibit. The shutter speed is 1/250 of a second, the aperture is f/16, the ISO is 560, white balance is "Flash," and exposure is "Matrix Metering." Also below is a portrait of my grandson at his first T-Ball game. The shutter speed is 1/200 of a second, the aperture is f/3.5, the ISO is 100, white balance is "Auto," and exposure is "Matrix Metering."

Scripps23
San Diego, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Everyone who enjoys macro should own this lens.
7/8/2011

Customer review by wrecker

5.0 stars 7/8/2011 by wrecker
by wrecker

This lens is absolutely FANTASTIC! I love taking pictures of insects, and the amount of wonderful shots I've gotten this spring/summer so far is just amazing. I've never had so much fun. It takes you in close and the picture quality is astounding. I use it with my D3100 (A terrific, user friendly SLR). It's also very light and all the focusing and mechanics is internal so there is no lens movement to scare away potential subjects when you're in close. I will include a few of the shots I've gotten so far. This lens should be in everyone's camera bag. The price is right also.

wrecker
Rockaway, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice macro and portrait lens
8/29/2013

Customer review by foodwriter

5.0 stars 8/29/2013 by foodwriter
by foodwriter

I was looking for an 85 for portraits on my D7000, with the DX crop that would be close to what a 135 would be on a film camera. I also wanted a macro to shoot food and flowers. After some research I decided on this lens. After four months of use I can say it was a good purchase. This is a nice lens that performs well. It does hunt occasionally, the nature of the beast, and when it does I switch to manual focus and move the camera back and forth to get what i want. For portraiture it gives a nice blurred background (I don't like the term Bokeh).

foodwriter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great closeups!
7/31/2010

Customer review by Rick

5.0 stars 7/31/2010 by Rick
by Rick

I've been shooting with Nikon equipment, both as a pro and as a hobbyist for forty five years and have never been disappointed . I bought this lens a few weeks ago and immediately tested it out shooting in my garden...both flowers and insects. The lens provides incredible 1:1 detail. At this distance I usually focus manually, but I did shoot several shots on autofocus with good results. Another happy Nikon purchase! Now, if I could only get those bugs to sit still for a minute while I focus!

Rick
Parsippany, New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Almost as good on DX as its big 105 mm FX sibling
9/1/2010

Customer review by Dragonflies

5.0 stars 9/1/2010 by Dragonflies
by Dragonflies

The AF-S DX Micro NIKKOR 85mm f/3.5G ED VR has wonderful sharpness and contrast. When used on our D90, we have found the 85 mm to often be the equal, in sharpness and clarity, of its bigger and heavier sibling, the AF-S VR Micro-NIKKOR 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED used on a D300. This conclusion was based on hundreds of close-up hand-held insect photographs, taken under natural light and flash, using a monopod as an effective inertial stabilizer.

Dragonflies
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little macro lens for the money!
11/29/2012

Customer review by Grimbot

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by Grimbot
by Grimbot

The Nikkor Micro 85 mm VR is a great macro lens for the money. Quite sharp with almost no distortion at all. For DX users this is a superb addition to your kit. The VR enables good macro results hand held, and the 85mm focal length is great for general photos and portrait work (as long as you don't need super smooth bokeh). For a modest price this macro lens opens up a whole new world of creativity.

Grimbot
Grimsby, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great lens for macro and portrait
8/2/2010

Customer review by Billmcfa

4.0 stars 8/2/2010 by Billmcfa
by Billmcfa

This is a great lens to carry around for many uses. It is very sharp and the VR helps in low light or hand held macro photography. I have used this mainly as a walk around lens which will give me the ability to do macro photography if I find something to shoot close up. The portraits are also excellent. The lens is very sharp and fun to use.

Billmcfa
Manassas, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great lens
11/7/2014

Customer review by Webbs

5.0 stars 11/7/2014 by Webbs
by Webbs

This lens is amazing. I've used it for portraits, nature, animals, etc. Photos are sharp yet has just the right amount of bokeh around the focus point. Occasionally will search for focal point, especially in low light, but it's nothing to really complain about. Overall it's an amazing lens to have.

Webbs
Vancouver, WA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Stunning quality of photos
7/30/2010

Customer review by tjhess1962

5.0 stars 7/30/2010 by tjhess1962
by tjhess1962

I recently purchased this lense to add to my arsenal. I have only had a couple of opportunities to take it out, but I was amazed at the detail I was able to capture. I was taking shots outside and this is by far one of my favorite lenses. I would definitely recommend this lense.

tjhess1962
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews