Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 85 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

85 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

5 stars
51
4 stars
7
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 stars
12
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 79 total reviews
Amazing color
9/16/2010

Customer review by BlueStar420

5.0 stars by BlueStar420

I have been using the Garnier Vibrant Reds for a few years now, and this line is the only one I've ever used that stays red. It does still fade, but instead of fading to a brownish color, it just gets lighter and lighter, but stays red. This color was absolutely amazing! I have tried for years to find a really bright red, that stayed red, and boy is this it. I am naturally blonde, and this hair color being for naturally dark hair makes it VERY bright for me. I personally like this, but beware if you are not looking for something bold, and you have naturally light hair. Now, about 3 months later, the color has faded into a beautiful shade of red, that almost perfectly matches their True Red shade. It's really just so fantastic to be able to limit how frequently I color, and still have a nice shade of red.

Was this review helpful? (61) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BlueStar420
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Finally... a red that grabs on dark hair!
7/19/2011

Customer review by NickiBee88

5.0 stars by NickiBee88

I've been dying my hair red for years and this is the first dye that actually gets my dark hair that intense reddish auburn. Most other dyes either don't grab enough or fade WAY too quickly. While anyone who used red dye knows that red fades quickly, I have to say that my hair has stayed red longer with this dye than any other brand or color. And yes, your hair does get REALLY intensely red after the first dye, but fades to a really nice color after a few washes. I've gotten so many compliments from such random people. I will definitely be re-purchasing this.

Was this review helpful? (46) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NickiBee88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Nice and bright, but fades quickly.
5/20/2011

Customer review by JammyDodger

4.0 stars by JammyDodger

I was pleasantly surprised by this. It does end up a VERY bright red (right between natural and reminiscent of my punk days), and while it does fade quickly like any red dye, it did last longer than most I've used. NOTE: If your hair is dyed a darker color, this will NOT work on your hair. They put this info on the box, and they're not kidding.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JammyDodger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great for Dark Hair!
9/20/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars by An anonymous customer

I finally found a brand that is for dark hair! I love this dye because it catches your dark hair without bleaching it, I hate bleaching my hair because of the damage it does to. This dye turned my hair red with just one use, but I would like it to be a little lighter, it only shows when you are in the sun. But the color did turn out great, I will use this color from now on I love it! -ohh also, I have really long black hair, im asian (=]) so for a dye to turn my hair the first time I used it is...AMAZING.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Owatonna, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
love it!
7/24/2010

Customer review by thischickrox816

4.0 stars by thischickrox816

i really like this color, it is exactly the color on the box, and it was easy to use. the only drawback was that it fades fairly quick, but most reds do. overall, i love this dye.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
thischickrox816
Orlado, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
True to color
8/17/2011

Customer review by KristyMya

5.0 stars by KristyMya

I always wanted to dye my hair a red color, but I didn't want a crazy bright red color, and I heard garnier had really good red hair dyes so I decided to try out this light intense auburn color, and I absolutely LOVE it. The color is pretty true to the pictures on the box, and what I really like about it is indoors my hair looks like a dark reddish brown, but once I walk outside in the sun, it's a hot red color. I bought it on sale for only 5 bucks too so it's definitely worth it for such a good pay off. The red hair dye stained my skin though and it takes a few days to wash off. but other then that, it's really great.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KristyMya
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
AMAZING. RED RED RED HAIR!
3/7/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

I used R3 Light Intense Auburn! This product worked TREMENDOUSLY WELL! I still use it and it's been 6 months. The color on the box is actually darker than what the actual outcome is. My hair was a light brown with caramel streaks throughout the bangs, after I dyed my hair with this it became EXTREMELY red, not as red as a SPLAT/Manic Panic dye, but still extremely red for being box dye from Garnier! One of the best reds that I've used! Although red bleeds A LOT when washing out, this one holds extremely well onto my hair! I currently have blonde underneath so I've been afraid to re-dye it due to bleeding, but it's been about 2 months and it's still extremely red even considering that I shampoo it everyday (I do NOT use color protecting shampoo and/or conditioner). Cold, cool, or lukewarm water is good for keeping it red and vibrant!! It covers up my heavy dark brown roots really well also. This product color of red doesn't fade as fast because it is permanent color, also if you know how to take care of it right it also reduces fading. If you're going to dye your hair red, do your research before actually buying the product and doing it!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
The Only One that Works For Me
4/20/2014

Customer review by Beauswifey

5.0 stars by Beauswifey

I've been using this (R3) on my hair for about a year now, and I absolutely LOVE it! In the sunlight, it looks like strands of red Christmas tinsel, and my husband says that when I move, it looks like it's changing color. I'm always getting compliments on the color., and this is the ONLY red hair color that has ever worked on my hair. The only downside is that it takes about a month before I stop seeing red dye in the rinse water whenever I wash my hair. But even then, it still fades very little.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Beauswifey
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Perfect !
9/16/2012

Customer review by Daniellethemarvel

5.0 stars by Daniellethemarvel

I have black hair and this color showed up perfectly from the moment I stepped out of the shower. Like others said it does take a long time for the water to rinse through as clear, but so worth staying in the shower an extra 10 minutes. The color is so rich and vibrant, and like I said I had black hair and it is perfectly red now. Will use this color every time from now on! Please note the color does not show well in the photo but gives a general idea :)

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Daniellethemarvel
Spring Hill, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
My favorite red dye
3/22/2012

Customer review by RainbowMistress

5.0 stars by RainbowMistress

I have naturally medium/dark brown hair and I was ecstatic when this came out a while back.It is the only red dye that I use now because it shows up really well on dark hair. It will fade after about 2-3 weeks,but you are not left with some weird color. It starts out an amazing red that absolutely stuns in sunlight and it fades to a lovely subtle red. It goes on about as easily as any other dye and it will look orange during the process,but no worries. It smells amazing too! To make the color last longer,try only washing your hair a few times a week,using the conditioner that comes with it now and then,as well as maybe getting some shampoo and conditioner that protects color;Garnier actually has some that works nicely. When it does fade,it's not that big of a hassle to re-dye it because it is super affordable.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RainbowMistress
Niceville,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
LOVE the Color!
8/6/2012

Customer review by Brooklyn95

5.0 stars by Brooklyn95

I dyed my hair with the R2 option of this color, and I have medium to dark brown hair. I had no trouble figuring out how to mix it and such, and I quickly got it all into my hair, using all of the dye. I let it set longer than the recommended time, just to make for sure that the color would take, and began rinsing out my hair. When the water FINALLY ran clear I began drying it and everything. I was so so SO happy with the finishing result! My hair looked like a soft, shiny red velvet cupcake. The color lasted about 2 months before my roots starting showing, and the fading was noticeable. I am very excited and can't wait for the next time I get to dye it this color! Overall, this is a WONDERFUL product, and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to have a gorgeous hair color. ^w^

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Brooklyn95
Portsmouth, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Great!!
7/21/2013

Customer review by TheLittleMermaidJodi

5.0 stars by TheLittleMermaidJodi

This was my first time ever putting dye in my hair and i LOVE IT I have medium dark brown hair and my hair is RED it is absolutely gorgeous the only thing i would change next time is i would get two boxes instead of one because of my extremely thick hair

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TheLittleMermaidJodi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product!
9/24/2013

Customer review by Beauty77

5.0 stars by Beauty77

I love this product! I researched a good bit before I decided on this color. It was the first time I would be coloring my hair since going natural and I wasn't sure it would take. Initially I didn't think it did but yes my hair is red and I LOVE IT! It colored my black and the stubborn grays and I've been getting lots of compliments on my hair! Try it you won't be disappointed! Just be sure to rinse VERY well or some of the color will remain.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Beauty77
Greenville,SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
I love this red.
10/24/2013

Customer review by Tvue

5.0 stars by Tvue

This hair coloring kit is made especially for those who have darker hair. I use it on my black natural hair and it gives it the red I want, nothing to overly red, but just light enough that my friends notice. None of them can get their hair this auburn on the other kits and I've recommended this kit to several friends. I've even had a hair stylist complement me on my hair color and when I told her I did it myself and out of a $7.00 box, she was shocked. I love it and I continue to touch up with it. :D

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Tvue
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product.
8/7/2014

Customer review by MEagain1236

5.0 stars by MEagain1236

I had extremely dark hair and wanted to go lighter without using bleach. The blonde I got was awesome! I love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MEagain1236
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/3/2012

Customer review by Derry13

1.0 stars by Derry13

Their True Red Color was extremely disappointing, it was supposed to come out a deep red according to the box, instead it came out a dark, dark, chocolate brown. Their help line wasn't helpful, basically saying oh well, sometimes it happens. Try again in a few weeks. Like I'd waste my money on Garnier again. Friends said it wasn't bad looking on me but that I looked better as a red head. So I'll try another brand one that backs their products and hopefully has better costumer service.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Derry13
Derry, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Did not show up well
11/7/2013

Customer review by LibsyB

3.0 stars by LibsyB

I bought the R3 dark intense auburn hoping that it would work as good for me as the other reviewers had stated it worked well for them. I bought two boxes because my hair is down to my butt. Before I applied the hair dye I also used protein filler because I was hoping it would help the color hold better. After I applied the hair dye I actually left it on for 45 minutes. After I rinsed the hair color out I let my hair air dry and discovered that my hair looks almost the same as before I dyed it. My hair was previously medium brown. I have been dying it medium brown for the past year as I have been getting gray hairs. My natural hair color is medium brown. Any how you can kind of tell there is a red tint to it in certain light. I think the color definitely took better to my roots because you can see more of the red there. Maybe the problem for me is the fact that I have been using brown hair dye and this dye just can't cover it too well. I might try this dye one more time but in a different shade like R1 or R2.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LibsyB
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Best Hair color ever!!!
3/20/2012

Customer review by KatieH11

5.0 stars by KatieH11

I have dyed my hair many times. For awhile I was doing dark brown but decided I wanted to go for a red. I bought some red hair dye, and it just wasn't "red" enough for me. So, a few weeks later, I went for this one. It is awesome. It fades, but not too much, and it really went over my dark brown very well. You could actually see the red. I got so many compliments on how red my hair was. I love it. I can't wait to buy it again!!! Also, I use pantene Color Preserve Smooth, and I think it helps a lot in keeping the color alive.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KatieH11
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
PERFECT COLOR!
1/22/2015

Customer review by MandyG1992

5.0 stars by MandyG1992

I had used the same burgundy color but from revlon and the color did not show at all, its like it completely rinsed out. I then got this color and the color came out absolutely marvelous! Exactly the color i wanted and its been a month and the color is still vibrant and beautiful! Created beautiful tones in my hair since the bottom half was bleached and my bangs. I go out and people say wow your hair is so shiny and vibrant. I am not guna lie my hair waz badly damaged, after adding this color to my hair it somehow made my hair softer and less frizzy. I would definitely recommend this brand to everyone! My hair is such a beautiful reddish purple color.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MandyG1992
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love this product :)
8/9/2012

Customer review by emeraldisle2728

5.0 stars by emeraldisle2728

I have been dying my hair for about 20 years now. I'm a natural blonde who had red highlights and dark roots. The blonde made me look washed out and people accused me of dying my hair anyway so I figured I would dye it a color that looked better on me. The problem is most dyes the red fades out quickly leaving just brown hair. I was having to dye my hair every month. With this product I don't have that problem. The intensity might fade but it stays red. I have to dye my hair now every 3 to 4 months which saves me a small fortune. If you want red hair then this is the product to buy. Also, unlike many dyes out there, my hair feels softer and in better condition after I dye it. It's not brittle or straw like at all. I have recommended this product to many people who have complimented me on my hair and then they are surprised to find out it came from a bottle; they thought it was natural!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
emeraldisle2728
Holiday, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 79 total reviews