Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.1out of 5 stars
3.1 out of 5 | 30 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
8
Sort by: 
1-20 of 22 reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews
For the kids room....
5/20/2010
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Disappointment. Not 5.1 , Feels cheap, smells cheap, yes, tech geeks can smell the cheapness. My coby 2.1's sound better. No built in equilizer so you cannot adjust the bass(which is NON Existant) , cant adjust the center, rear, nothin. its po%^. usually, when a company puts 5 +1 sub in a box you can set the system for surround. You cant set nothin. The menu looks cheap too, I mean I couldve slapped together a nicer menu on my PC. You can only change a few things in the menu, and they could have programmed this system to do these things on an auto setup when turned on. This system has NO features really. I cant wrap my mind around why they would sell this set like this. You just plug it up and sound comes out the speakers.... and I mean whatever is coming out of the front right is the same thats coming out of the rear left and center, and etc... since you cant adjust the volume of each speaker, you have to turn the volume to max to hear any bass AT ALL, but then the center channel is busting your ears with squelching, i mean lol , this system is going back first thing in the morning. thats how bad I hate it. DONT BUY THIS ! !! !1 111!!! one oneone!!! 111
Was this review helpful?
Yes (81)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not what I expected!
7/29/2010
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this RCA Surround Sound in a package that included a 42" Proscan LCD TV. The TV is unbelievable, but this RCA system does not meet my expectations. I have never owned a surround sound system and assumed that all of them are rather robust and loud. This system is not robust or loud. After using it for a few days, (and listening to a few of my neighbor's systems), I now understand that it is a "low end, very basic" system. It worked...but considering the quality of the TV, the surround sound needs to be much more. I returned it after one week. Sorry RCA...but I would not recommend this system to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/9/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
it works really good. the surround sound is awesome.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very cheap
12/18/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very disappointed. Product does not work correctly or respond to inputs. Have to push buttons 5 or 6 times to get anything to work. Was a gift and reciever is highly disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Horrible!
12/4/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just bought this system this afternoon at my local Walmart....Once I got home and unpacked the box I immediately noticed how cheap the product looked in the box. Once I set it up and turned it on to listen to the sound...it was laughable just how bad the sound was! Not only can't you control the Base you cannot equalize anything! I guess you get what you pay for...the system I bought 5 years ago that was much less value works 10 times better! I am re-packing the system in the box and returning it back to the store ASAP. I am very disappointed, I figured with RCA it could not be that bad...well I was wrong, it was worse!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
OK but kind of cheap.
7/1/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This unit seems kind of cheap and flimsy and doesn't have alot of power. The tray that you put the CD's on is so flimsy that it feels as if it might break off if you apply a little too much pressure to it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/22/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
A terrific system in every way!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Poor sound
11/29/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The sound on my tv was going out so I decided to go to walmart and look for a cheap surround sound system. I purchased this thinking that some sound would be better then none. I was wrong. The sound coming out of this is more annoying then having none at all! It was ok when watching sports but if it makes watching any kind of drama unwatchable. Would not recommend this to anyone. Returned it the next day.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First box...
11/21/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had to swap out the sub-woofer but it's an awesome product to have.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First surround sound, impressed
12/15/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is our first surround sound and I am very pleased. A little irritated I had to go back to the store to get cables, but that was my fault. Overall good product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
you get what ya paid for
6/29/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
bought for my sons room, has no bass no EQ it sounds terrible and only has one input so if you need to hook more stuff like your tv or game station forget it. so gave it back got recever and speaker combo from somewere else best by. but bought the dvd recorder here its my second sony recorder. works great. never by in all in one unite you can't hook up more then one thing or do more stuff with it plus if the dvd breaks the thing is useless to you. by a reciver combo & allways by a warrenty no matter were get it they allways cover lighting strikes. and in most cases give you new one then repairing it
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product for the Money
8/11/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Unless you're an audiophile, this is a great product for what you pay. It allows you to listen to your ipod through the speakers, get surround sound on DVD & cable (if you have a cable box), and listen to the radio. The quality is nice. The only thing that makes this a 4 star instead of 5, is that the volume control could be better. The radio & ipod volume needs to be low, but if you put in a DVD player, you almost need it on MAX volume to get good sound. So, if I forget to turn the volume down after I play a DVD, and then plug in my IPOD, it comes out REALLY LOUD!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Waste of Money
6/7/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this as a gift for my daughter, spent 2 days trying to make it work. The DVD/CD player would not work. I called RCA and was told by the representative that I needed to buy a cleaning disc and clean it 3-4 times and it would work. I could not get her to understand that it would not play at all and only spit the disc out at you. Took it back to Walmart for a refund and purchased a different unit at a different store and a much better brand!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good product for surround sound to smaller areas.
11/28/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My old DVD player and receiver I had in my bedroom finally crapped out, so I bought this system and the system has been great once I worked the input confusion out. I was disappointed at the quality of the out put from the side speakers. If you want a inexpensive system for a smaller room this is a good buy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Difficult to Program and No Bass
10/16/2010
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It seems cheaply made (it's very light). The surround sound doesn't get very loud, barely has any bass, and the I find the unit to be difficult to program (not intuitive). I'll have to keep my instructions. It was inexpensive though, as I bundled it with a TV.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bundle package
9/8/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Easy hook up,the sound is not loud enough for a surround sound hook up.You will have lots of speaker wires showing if you don't hide them. The volume is poor.The dvd and fm tuner are a good product.over all its ok for the bundle price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't waist your money
8/1/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was extremely disappointed with this product. I only got a chance to use the system one time before it broke. I will never purchase this brand again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Weak Sound
6/29/2010
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The sound is not worth what I paid for this system. There are much better systems (with blue ray) out there for less or about the same price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
OK Product
7/8/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The unit works fine but the DVD player is very noisey. Sometimes if we take the disk in and out several times the noise reduces.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
work one day
8/22/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We hooked up system and it work for one day. The system will not turn on and is not useable,
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640664, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-