Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 430 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

430 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

430 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
201
4 stars
132
3 stars
44
2 stars
28
1 stars
25
1-20 of 375 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 375 total reviews
1-20 of 375 reviews
A love-hate relationship
10/26/2012

Customer review by hotsam

2.0 stars 10/26/2012 by hotsam
by hotsam

Does NOT allow you to put an address in the phone directory. Does NOT have or allow any games. Does NOT allow any apps to be installed. Does NOT have GPS. Does NOT allow you to use Google or Bing maps on the browser because it does NOT allow Java Script. This lack is a problem because it prevents many sites from showing information. Bcause it does NOT allow Java script, many prices, e.g. at Amazon, do NOT show. I do not recommend this phone any longer. And, does NOT block phone numbers from anyone outside of Straighttalk customers. Does NOT stabilize pictures when using 1.3 megapixel camera. Does NOT allow editing of pictures, such as rotation. Pro: Does allow up to 16gb miniSD card for music, pics and ringtones. Keyboard works well even with my large fingers. The battery life is a week or more for me who does not use the phone much, and about 4 days if I use the MP3 player, which I do daily for an hour or so. Use earbuds instead of the weak phone speakers. The screen is a good size for a cell phone. It is visible in sunlight by adjusting brightness.

hotsam
hotchas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
This product is very easy to use.
4/4/2011

Customer review by MSW0412

4.0 stars 4/4/2011 by MSW0412
by MSW0412

I love the full keyboard, it makes sending a text message or e-mail very simple. I also enjoy being able to plug in the usb cable to my phone and downloading all my favorite music, I am also able to plug the usb cable from the phone into my car stereo and listen to my music through my stereo system(was able to get rid of all the cd's that tend to wind up scratched). Just so you know I did have to buy the sd card and usb cable seperately, but it was more like in investment than a seperate purchase, like I said I dont have to carry around cd's anymore. It is also easy to find everything on this phone.The only thing I would change about this phone is..... It does not have video. I am unable to view some of my e-mails because of this. Overall this is a great phone and I would recommend it to anyone looking for great value at a great price.

MSW0412
Wilmington,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Great phone for the money.
3/27/2011

Customer review by Hornet

4.0 stars 3/27/2011 by Hornet
by Hornet

Have used this phone for about a year now with no problems, having come out of a contracted service, for both calling and texting. I bought it for the small size and many features. The features all work well as advertised. I wish the ringer was louder and internet access was more than very basic, but overall this is a great product for the money. It is small and durable, with only a few scratches now on the screen (I can't "baby" my phones), and has survived a drop into a water puddle this past winter and still works. With my increased texting requirements and this phone having a small keyboard, I may have to switch to a bigger keyboard (some older friends can't see the letters, something to consider) like the R341c, but I'll use this one until its service life is over. Very satisfied overall.

Hornet
Rural Western PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Great texting phone
3/26/2011

Customer review by Luv2Code

3.0 stars 3/26/2011 by Luv2Code
by Luv2Code

Pros: -Relatively inexpensive -Great sound quality on calls -Great sound quality on MP3 player -Excellent voice dialing feature (works great with bluetooth headset) -Allows texts sent as email Cons: -Can't enter people's physical address, thus not feasible as full-fledged address book. -Can't start music player if in vibrate mode. -Hard to figure out how to set ringer up to ring and vibrate - you have to hit volume first!!! -Can't hide number I am calling from (that feature exists even in Nokia 1600). -Alarm clock rings once - as soon as you hit a button you won't hear it again - no snooze function -Calendar reminder when phone is locked is automatically silenced when you hit any button (even when you hit the soft button "view now" which does not let you view the appt, telling you the phone is locked), then goes off again 5 mins later at which time the phone has automatically locked again even if you had unlocked it previously - you can stay in this vicious cycle forever unless you go in and disable auto lock or delete your calendar appt. -No synchronization of calendar or address book with PC -No games -If browser is important to you, you may need a different phone - this browser is slow, I knew before I bought so not a big issue for me. -No international texting (you can do that even with my old Nokia 1600)

Luv2Code
Omaha, NE
Expertise:Intermediate
Just a messaging phone...
2/27/2011

Customer review by Hellboy

3.0 stars 2/27/2011 by Hellboy
by Hellboy

There isn't much that this phone can do except for texting, calling and browsing the internet. There are no apps, or games for this phone. It doesn't even come with a data cable! Overall this phone is overestimated and overpriced. After using this phone for a while I understand that buying it was a mistake and do not recommend it to anyone else. Now with all of these cons, this phone does have some pros. It has a battery life of up to 2-3 days. It is pretty hard to break if it falls. The sound quality is pretty good and despite what anyone else says, the keyboard is not to small. I am a person with chubby fingers and I can use the qwerty board with ease.

Hellboy
Colorado, US
Would recommend to a friend? No
The Latest Offering From Straight Talk: Worth It?
4/2/2010

Customer review by nightrocket

4.0 stars 4/2/2010 by nightrocket
by nightrocket

PROS: 1. Well-priced messaging phone 2. Good keyboard, even for adult fingers 3. Nice size 4. Big screen 5. Straight Talk has excellent call plans. Customer service? I'll find out... CONS: 1. Unclear as to whether contacts can be synced with computer. If not, a meaningful minus. (This might also be determined by how Straight Talk configures this phone for its service) 2. Materials: Decent but battery cover is thin and merely "clicks" in. Plastic could be more solid/thicker and finish more attractive. 3. No video. Not a major drawback for me but depends on individual user. 4. 1.3 MP camera is behind the curve.

nightrocket
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Buggiest phone I've ever owned
11/29/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 11/29/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this phone in February. In June, the backlight stopped working for about a month and a half. It did start working again. In September, the charging circuit broke and the phone malfunctioned and the phone thinks it's charging all the time. I have to unplug it from the charger when the batteries get warm. In September, the bluetooth stopped working. It would be understandable if I worked in a harsh environment, but I am an engineering instructor working at a college whom keeps the phone in a shirt pocket. There are also issues with the human interface that makes usage difficult to adapt to. Text messaging is particularly awkward. A phone that can only store 100 messages? This isn't 1983 anymore where flash memory runs $20 per 128K. Really guys? Can't even save them as a text file? Has anybody wrote an entire message in punctuation and numbers because the function key was pressed just to get a '?' symbol? Web browser also has memory constraints. There are even wikipedia pages that this browser can't render. The phonebook, why can't I {up/down}load my contacts list from a text or CSV file? These are simple software decisions that Samsung never thought of. In this day in age, I expect more innovation. This is the first Samsung product I have bought and I will be more careful choosing my next phone. The phone speaker/microphone quality is pretty good though, that is primarily what I use a phone for.

An anonymous customer
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Expert
Worst phone ever
4/18/2011

Customer review by DIGIORNO

1.0 stars 4/18/2011 by DIGIORNO
by DIGIORNO

This is the worst texting phone I have ever used. It doesn't let you scroll through received messages, it will only hold 100 messages in the inbox, it erases your hole message if you exceed the 160 characters maximum, the web browser is slow, and there is no missed calls icon so if you bump a button before noticing there was a missed call it never tells you there was a missed call. I can not say enough bad things about this phone. DO NOT BUY IT!!!! I am downgrading to a flip phone just to be rid of this terrible device.

DIGIORNO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't expect a lot, but it works
10/3/2010

Customer review by ditchdigger

3.0 stars 10/3/2010 by ditchdigger
by ditchdigger

Functions just fine as a PHONE, but that's it. Don't expect to use the browser for anything but messaging and e-mail. it's great for that, but that's it. great as a phone. No browser, the alarm does't work unless it's set up perfectly. No snooze either. It asks, then lets ya sleep right on through work. very durable though. hit the pavement a couple of times but still works. If you want a better browser get a 401 instead.

ditchdigger
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
If only the buttons were bigger
6/17/2012

Customer review by MugsyLee

3.0 stars 6/17/2012 by MugsyLee
by MugsyLee

I used this phone for 18 months, then gave it to a friend when I got an Android. She is still using it, and delighted to have Internet access on a phone for such a reasonable price. My only criticisms are the difficulty using the teeny tiny buttons for dialing -- and the lack of downloadable applications through SmartPhone. If it had had Apps, I probably would have stayed with it, because the price is right!

MugsyLee
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Great phone for the texter
4/26/2010

Customer review by phatspeed7x

5.0 stars 4/26/2010 by phatspeed7x
by phatspeed7x

I recently picked up this phone to replace the slider qwerty keyboard phone I had. I like this one much better. Don't need to slide it open to reach the keyboard, and the screen is a little bigger. Still has all the familiar samsung phone features I'm use to. Would recommend this phone to others. Accessories are plentiful too. It's the same phone as the Samsung R350.

phatspeed7x
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
i'm disappointed
3/31/2011

Customer review by hewilson425

2.0 stars 3/31/2011 by hewilson425
by hewilson425

i thought i was upgrading when i ditched my old LG phone for this one. the full keyboard is nice but i can't get this phone to play videos attached to e-mails. i went to the community forum to ask how. now i can't get back to the forum to see if an answer was posted. there are no apps available either. i should have stuck with my LG. more phone for the money.

hewilson425
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
good basic phone with a few tweaks
1/22/2011

Customer review by RedDiva

4.0 stars 1/22/2011 by RedDiva
by RedDiva

this is a Tracfone/Straight Talk phone. It has bluetooth capability, a music player, will play mp3 ringtones, has a browser but it's kinda limited. You can check your email and use some of the social networkign sites, but as I said, kind of limited. Pretty fast too, the qwerty keyboard is a plus, which is why I got this one. I think it's a pretty good phone.

RedDiva
Jacksonvile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Lots of Issues
8/10/2011

Customer review by FirstHandReview

1.0 stars 8/10/2011 by FirstHandReview
by FirstHandReview

I'm constantly having issues with text not coming through. I usually have to enter the browser and wait a couple of seconds for all the text to come through then exit out and answer them. Half the time I want to through the phone out the window. I don't recommend this phone. It's nice the first month but after that, it hardly works.

FirstHandReview
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Samsung R355C
2/12/2011

Customer review by Daceman

4.0 stars 2/12/2011 by Daceman
by Daceman

Good pre-paid phone for just needing basic phone with keyboard. One big drawback is not being able to back up your contacts via the USB or SD Mini Memory Card. Web use is VERY limited. If your looking for a no frills, pre-paid phone, this is the one for you. So in that, it's a good phone. Just wish you had a way to back-up contacts.

Daceman
Southeast Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
awsome phone--- gr8 txtin fone :D
4/25/2010

Customer review by ravensfan2000

5.0 stars 4/25/2010 by ravensfan2000
by ravensfan2000

this phone iz awsome. i got this phone with straight talk. the reason i got is because my samsung r451c broke. that was also a nice phone. this fone is esay to txt with, once you get used to the keyboard. it took me a couple days but i rock with it now.the camra is very good. its between VGA or a 1.3. overall this phone awsome.

ravensfan2000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great phone
4/25/2011

Customer review by Robertsbabygirl

4.0 stars 4/25/2011 by Robertsbabygirl
by Robertsbabygirl

I love this phone; however I would like to be able to connect it to my laptop and be able to transfer things. I have not found a way to do this other than going through the micro-sd card to do so. I would like to be able to use Samsung PC Studio to do this; however I am not able to find one that will work for this phone.

Robertsbabygirl
Southern, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
EXCELLENT PHONE!
3/28/2011

Customer review by 1HappyUser

5.0 stars 3/28/2011 by 1HappyUser
by 1HappyUser

This phone is excellent! It just WORKS! The user's guide is skimpy, but the setup and controls are easy and intuitive. It is easy to learn how to use. Don't expect the web connect to display like a pc, but the data-only display of the internet is quite adequate and the browser has many nice features.

1HappyUser
Nashville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My R355c
1/31/2013

Customer review by Groovy1

5.0 stars 1/31/2013 by Groovy1
by Groovy1

This was a phone I originally got because it was a deal I could not pass up. However, after having it for a couple months now, I have come to love it. It does everything I need it to without any problems. Not only that, but I still get a good deal every time I add minutes. No complaints here!!!

Groovy1
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
my phone/ no downloads
8/15/2011

Customer review by captaintim38

4.0 stars 8/15/2011 by captaintim38
by captaintim38

My sch-r355c is a good phone, the battery is really good, but it has no games or application to select, no downloads available. no chance for anything else than a simple phone, I would reccomend it only if that is what you want and need, if your looking to do more later on, no.

captaintim38
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
1-20 of 375 total reviews
1-20 of 375 reviews