Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 430 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

430 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

430 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
201
4 stars
132
3 stars
44
2 stars
28
1 stars
25
1-20 of 375 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 375 total reviews
1-20 of 375 reviews
Quality Product & Best Bang For Your Buck
12/13/2010

Customer review by Bestphoneandnetworkever

5.0 stars 12/13/2010 by Bestphoneandnetworkever
by Bestphoneandnetworkever

Here we go, I read, read, & read all the reviews on Walmart.com and a lot of other places trying to decide which Straight Talk phone to purchase without paying the extremely high price for one of the two smart phones they had to offer. In other words, the best bang for the buck. The Samsung R355C came out on top. It did not disappoint, it does everything I need it to do without all the bells & etc of a smart phone that I honestly believe most people do not use anyway so therefore not worth the cost of the high cost contract with one of the other carriers. It would have been nice if there had been a way to transfer the address book over to it from my other phone but I don't know how to do it, anyway just took a little time but got it done. The keys are small true enough but to my surprise I Navigated with them quite well. Very comfortable to use. The Qwerty keyboard is excellent going from a phone that did not have one so texting etc was wonderful. I just got the phone yesterday but already I am impressed with it, I live in a rural area and I get a signal anywhere from 1-3 bars when I had to fight to get one from AT&T where I live. I have no complaints so far with the phone and believe I will enjoy it for a long time, but like all things for sure time will tell. I got the $30 plan from Straight talk which is way more than I'm going to use anyway, 1000 minutes, 1000 texts/photos, 30mb of surfing web, very adequate for myself. I will post another review after I have been out and used the phone some more but if it works decent at my home I have no doubt it will work fine elsewhere. Cut ATT loose and went with Straight Talk, you should also and save a ton of money. Activation on-line went just fine, probably took me about 30 minutes entering all the requested info as I'm a little slow with these things and I was very concerned about my accuracy to make sure I got it correct. My number was ported over in just a few minutes. they state it could take up to 2 business days if you are porting a wireless number but longer if you are porting a landline number. This worked fine doing it on-line. Was trying to stay away from the dreaded customer service experience from Straight Talk I have read about. If you have been thinking about converting, DO IT, you will not be sorry. Just make sure you renew your minutes by the end of the 30 day mark or you might loose your number. Note: One thing a lot of people do not understand is Straight Talk uses more than one Network, do your research. If the phone model number ends in a "C" it does not have a sim card and will operate on the CDMA network which is Verizon. If the phone model number ends with a "G" the that particular phone is a GSM phone, has a sim card and operates on either AT&T or Tmobile so watch out for this. Verizon is the way to go for me.

Was this review helpful? (537) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bestphoneandnetworkever
Morton, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Not a Blackberry, but it works!
1/12/2011

Customer review by Ivy86

5.0 stars 1/12/2011 by Ivy86
by Ivy86

I bought this phone back in March or April, right when Straight Talk was first coming out. I was looking for a replacement to my Verizon prepaid because it was getting very expensive. I then stumbled upon this, and after doing some research, I found out it works on the SAME network! I chose this phone because I liked the QWERTY style keyboard. Yes, they keys are a bit small, it just takes some getting used to. I like the big screen as well. You just have to keep in mind that this is NOT a blackberry. You CANNOT do the same things on this phone that you can a blackberry. I call this the "poor man's blackberry" because its so much cheaper to run, and not with all the bells and whistles. With the internet... yes, it is slow. No, it is not anything like any other smart phone. It even states in the TOS that it is the most basic internet available. You cannot stream video on this phone, load a full page of facebook, ect. Even checking e-mail can be taxing at times. But, for the money, and what I pay per month to use it, its worth it to me. The phone operation itself can be a pain at times. When you go into your pictures, it takes a while for the screen to change to start loading pictures. At times, if you try to push buttons too fast to go through the menu, it will freeze up, and you have to pop out the battery to restart it. Pocket dialing is HUGE with this phone. The keyboard lock will quickly become your friend... trust me. One thing I do like about this is I can make my own ringtones. I have bluetooth on my computer, and I have it synched up with my phone. I can send music to my phone, since it can act as a very "i really really need music right now" mp3 player. I usually send very short mp3 clips to my phone and use them as ringtones. The camera is pretty basic. Its 1.3 megapixels, and if you have it for the highest quality, the zoom feature is non-existent. If you set it to a smaller reso, then the zoom can be used... but even then its not the greatest. The calls with this phone are VERY CLEAR!! I had a samsung phone in the past with Verizon, and it was a more expensive phone that was very hard to hear me on. I also live in an area with little-no coverage, and I get at least 3 bars sitting in my house. I can even make a call from my basement, where most other phones and plans, I had to find a good spot outside... living in minnesota, this was NOT fun most of the year. Even with some of the issues the phone has, its still very worth it. Even after losing it in a snow bank recently, it still works perfectly. The battery life is fading fast, but in the beginning i only had to charge it every other day, with heavy use of texting and calling. I use the internet sparingly, but like I said before, its very limited as is. One thing I do recommend for this phone is investing in some sort of case (silicon/gel/or otherwise) and a screen protector, because of the size of the screen its more prone to scratches. Its a great little investment, and with some searching on ebay you can get them VERY cheap.

Was this review helpful? (356) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ivy86
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Superb Phone!
9/15/2010

Customer review by phs59

5.0 stars 9/15/2010 by phs59
by phs59

I started of using the R451C model and had nothing but trouble...no service in our area even though it said there should be...dropped calls and it was a real nuisance to have to use the key pad that pulled out. At first i thought that would be really cool...but i found it to be a real hassle and when I UPGRADED to the R355C I found out what i had been missing! Wow, talk about a FABULSOUS PHONE..not only do i have 1-3 bars in our rural area, but i've got great reception, no dropped calls (even in buildings in our rural area or in the city) and using the qwerty keyboard on this phone is far more user friendly than that pain in the bum pull out pad the other phone had!! This phone has all kinds of other really nice features that make it more fun and user friendly! I would recommend this phone over any of the other Samsung phones they offer at this point. I can't give any info on any other brand they offer, but I LOVE MY NEW R355C AND WOULDN'T TRADE IT IN AT THIS POINT FOR ANYTHING!

Was this review helpful? (307) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phs59
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value
4/21/2011

Customer review by Bargin4

4.0 stars 4/21/2011 by Bargin4
by Bargin4

The Straight Talk Samsung R355C is a very good value, especially for someone like myself who lives in a rural area. The R355C uses the Verizon network and that's pretty much my only other reliable option. I had been an every two-year customer with Verizon for the past six years - no more. Registering with Straight Talk service on their website was flawless. It took about two hours to port my cell number. I even received a confirmation call from a ST rep to confirm my website transaction. The R355C is user friendly and gets great reception. My new Samsung Blue Tooth unit works very well with the R355C. I also purchased accessories inexpensively on Ebay. The R355C takes up to a 16GB microcard to store music files or digital photos. The camera features work well but the phone does lack video capability which would have been nice. But, overall the R355C is a fine choice and Straight Talk's $45 Unlimited Plan provides me much more value than I was paying for and receiving from Verizon. I highly recommend switching to Straight Talk.

Was this review helpful? (214) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bargin4
Ocean Shores, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Overall A Good Phone
8/8/2010

Customer review by Ttdurx3

5.0 stars 8/8/2010 by Ttdurx3
by Ttdurx3

I love this phone! Although it does have some Cons. Pro's Mp3 Player 2.7 headphone Jack…So u can use regular earphones Big screen You can record your own Ringtones Has a Calendar & Voice SVC short cut on the Keyboard QWERTY Keyboard Also has A Vibrate shortcut on the Keyboard so if u press it, it will autuomatically go on vibrate I'm not sure if it's because of my location or not, But the Web is fast and the photos load quickly on my phone. The camera has 29 fun frames,zoom,normal, black n white, Sepia, Negative, and green. Has an icon Glossary MP3 player an hold up to 16GB with sim card. PROS You can't change to color of the layout menu You can only send up 5 messages to different people at a time. Not sure if this is good or bad but u have to hold the camera button for like 2 seconds until it comes on. So if u accidentally press it, it won't come on. Camera is Average You can't record Or play videos. It has no games. …And Yeah, That's all I can think of :)

Was this review helpful? (84) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ttdurx3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
5 Star Phone
5/22/2011

Customer review by AdoptAStrayPet

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by AdoptAStrayPet
by AdoptAStrayPet

Happy with phone and service. No longer under contract. We will pay half the price of last contract with more options. The R355C is on the Verizon network. All Straight Talk phones ending in letter C are on Verizon network. The phones ending in G are on AT&T network. I found this out thru research on internet. I plan on being a Straight Talk customer from now on.

Was this review helpful? (80) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AdoptAStrayPet
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this phone
6/12/2011

Customer review by tommeboi

5.0 stars 6/12/2011 by tommeboi
by tommeboi

Ok, its not a smart phone or an ipod, but if you are looking for a phone for talking and texting, this is the one. Once you get used to the smaller keys, its a snap. Phone has lots of features, including volume, which is something samsung has lacked in the past. Great battery life as well as takes great pics, even tho there is no zoom. Very user friendly and changing from one talk phone to another i did online in like 2 minutes...Cant go wrong, especially at the reduced price. Very thin and lightweight....Love it!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (61) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tommeboi
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Helpful Information
4/30/2011

Customer review by countrygal26

5.0 stars 4/30/2011 by countrygal26
by countrygal26

This is to all the people who are first time straight talk buyers. Make sure what cell tower company you want your phone to work off of. Look for the color of map on the phone ad. Blue maps work off AT&T towers and red maps work off Verizon towers. If it has a sim card it's AT&T tower. If the model numbers have a "C" at the end it will run off a verizon tower.

Was this review helpful? (55) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
countrygal26
Coudersport, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not a bad little phone
5/21/2011

Customer review by darasdad

4.0 stars 5/21/2011 by darasdad
by darasdad

After having a smart phone at work, this one's not quite that feature-rich, but it's a great little phone for what I paid for it. A qwerty keyboad (without a slide) was mainly why I bought this phone. The service is great. Like most phones the exterior is slick, so you might want to buy a rubber skin/cover to keep from dropping it. The only thing I don't like is that all text messages are separate. What I mean is that if you have an ongoing back and forth texting conversation with someone, the messages aren't grouped together.

Was this review helpful? (58) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
darasdad
Terre Haute, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
EXCELLENT PRODUCT!!!!
1/3/2011

Customer review by Researcher2010

5.0 stars 1/3/2011 by Researcher2010
by Researcher2010

I purchased this phone after being very unhappy with the coverage I was receiving (or not receiving) with AT&T. The Straight Talk coverage area is great and far much much better than AT&T. I have traveled (up and down the east coast) with this phone and had great coverage everywhere I've been! These phones are serviced by Verizon so you can count on excellent coverage everywhere you go. Posting my current cell number was also easy. Also, you simply cannot beat the cost especially if you have teenagers. The cost savings with Straight Talk cannot be beat. Say goodbye to your contract phone now!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (46) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Researcher2010
Danville/Charlottesville VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Except for Web browser, great phone
1/18/2011

Customer review by SJCPuma

4.0 stars 1/18/2011 by SJCPuma
by SJCPuma

Don't confuse this with a "smart" phone. It isn't. But with the straight talk plan, you're getting a great phone for a great price. I went with the "All You Need" plan for $30 per month and I'll never max out the 1000 minutes of talk or 1000 texts. The 30MB browser download is another matter, but the browser is so limited and slow I won't use it that much anyways. If all you'll need the browser for is to look up a phone number or get directions then you'll be fine. I like the QWERTY keyboard and navigation on the phone is relatively simple. Sound quality is pretty good for playing mp3s as well. Quality of workmanship and durability seem pretty good, too. Glad I ditched my old 2-year contract with AT&T. The Verizon network on this phone has better coverage, too. I get good signal in locations I never got with AT&T and it hasn't dropped a call yet.

Was this review helpful? (52) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SJCPuma
Southern Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone, great price
9/11/2010

Customer review by mrfreez87

4.0 stars 9/11/2010 by mrfreez87
by mrfreez87

I got this phone to replace my expensive Blackberry service. I primarily used my Blackberry for calls and texting, and ocasionally used the browser to check sports scores and surf craigslist. I also used the Gmail app lightly. While this phone is not at all technologically sophisticated like the Blackberry, it gets the job done very nicely. It is one of the simplest phones I've had, and the QWERTY keyboard is very easy to use. The phone calls are crystal clear (the phone runs on Verizon towers) and I've never had a problem with my texts. While you cannot download apps to this phone, I have used the browser to very easily check my Gmail -- and it does work with the secure https connection. Also, checking sports scores and surfing craigslist has been pretty easy too. I have read several complaints about if you have the $30/month plan, when you place a call, it tells you how many minutes you have left. Some people don't like that -- but you can have them remove it. I've left it on mine, as I don't mind the reminder. For anybody trying to cut their phone bill in half and willing to give up a bit of their elite smartphone status, this phone is a great way to go!

Was this review helpful? (49) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrfreez87
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone
12/2/2010

Customer review by MissouriRon

5.0 stars 12/2/2010 by MissouriRon
by MissouriRon

My wife and I both bought two of these cell phones in June, 2010. We dumped our landline at home and use the ST cell phones exclusively on the $30 a month plan. We have used these phones on both coasts of the US and always have a strong signal. We live in the mid-west and have a strong signal as well. We have not experienced a drop call. What we like about the phone is the simplicity of texting and using the other phone features. When people ask if our phone is a 'Blackberry' I joke that our phones are 'Blueberries'.

Was this review helpful? (41) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissouriRon
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love my new phone
10/16/2010

Customer review by AngieisShopping

5.0 stars 10/16/2010 by AngieisShopping
by AngieisShopping

This is a great deal and a great phone. I have no problems using the phone and just knowing i don't have to worry about minutes anymore is priceless.

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AngieisShopping
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/30/2011

Customer review by Doublelsega

4.0 stars 5/30/2011 by Doublelsega
by Doublelsega

Have had my phone for about 3 weeks now and no complaints. Easy to figure out, able to activate and keep my old phone number from another phone company. Instructions clear and easy to folllow for learning all the features, love the QWERTY keyboard for texting and the mobile web to check email and send/receive pictures.

Was this review helpful? (40) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Doublelsega
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/26/2011

Customer review by blessedatfortysix

4.0 stars 1/26/2011 by blessedatfortysix
by blessedatfortysix

A good phone for some phone who just need it to talk and text and get pictures. I thought the keys were to small at first but after using it a couple of time you get used to it .

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blessedatfortysix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Great phone, great deal
2/22/2011

Customer review by pjspjs

5.0 stars 2/22/2011 by pjspjs
by pjspjs

I am the type who does a LOT of research before doing something like switching cell phone service, and I could not be more pleased with this product and the Straight Talk plan. My husband and I each bought this phone and switched over from Verizon. Both our numbers ported over within 10 minutes with no issues, although I would recommend doing this on-line and having ALL your info ready from your old service including account numbers and any passwords on your account. We made sure to buy a phone that used the Verizon network (ones with a 'c' on the end) and have had great coverage, both in NC and on our trip to Texas. We love the phone itself, we really wanted a qwerty keyboard, and yes, the keys are small, but very usable and not problematic at all. We each have the $30/month plan, which is so much cheaper and has so much more than our Verizon plan! For the 2 of use, we were paying $75 for just 750 talk minutes between us. I don't come close to using the included talk or text minutes, or the 30 MB of web--I rarely use the mobile web. I have found the mobile web to be fairly limited, I can get on facebook, yahoo, and the weather, but can't get on a lot of other sites, which is fine, it's more than I had with my other plan! During my research, I was told that 30 MB would be like 500-1000 pages of web. (NO idea if that is correct.) Random other notes, the camera is actually pretty decent, and you can e-mail the picture to yourself. Phone seems to hold it's charge pretty well. I also use it for my morning alarm, and it works well. So far, so good, and I am very please with Straight Talk and my new phone!

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pjspjs
Piedmont area of North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome
8/8/2010

Customer review by SewsAlot

5.0 stars 8/8/2010 by SewsAlot
by SewsAlot

I'm an insurance agent and totally love this company and phone. I got accessories from ebay and DecalGirl, a cool skin for my phone, under the R350 number, the same phone just a different provider. I totally love the service that keeps me from paying a huge bill from calling all of my clients with so many minutes used each week!! Others in my office have switched over too because their bills were sky high on their old companies considering their unlimited plans were $85. Get this company and their phones!!!

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SewsAlot
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/27/2010

Customer review by Liljoybug

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by Liljoybug
by Liljoybug

I like a simple phone. I'm electronically challenged so I don't need all the whistles and bangs that some of these phones have. I was with Verizon for the 2 year contract and it was so expensive and the bill was never the same each month. I hate that especially when you're on a budget. I saw Straight Talk being advertised but I did want a phone that had a keyboard so I could txt easier. I ordered the Samsung R355C phone simply because it did have the keyboard. I ordered online as it was actually quite a bit cheaper ($78 vs $109.88) and I like the $45 unlimited everything. So far so good. It took some getting used to the phone but that's always the case with a new phone. I found the instruction manual quite confusing and not very clear however. This phone doesn't have the "banner" capability which was disappointing but I can live without it. I LOVE the fact that it's unlimited txt and calls without the worries of going over my limit and for $45 you certainly can't beat that. Once I got used to the phone it's pretty easy to use even for me. LOL I like that it fits nicely in the palm of your hand and that the keyboard is narrow. I tried the Net10 keyboard phone and didn't like it because it was wide and you needed two hands to txt. My family has Cricket now and they actually like my phone better. Straight Talk is certainly cheaper than even Cricket. I would definitely recommend this particular phone and the service especially if you're like me and on a budget and don't like surprises or contracts.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Liljoybug
Flagstaff, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good alt. to a blackberry
1/24/2011

Customer review by Wheatster

4.0 stars 1/24/2011 by Wheatster
by Wheatster

I am used to a blackberry, this is pretty close, though the keyboard keys are extremely small for my big thumbs, I got used to it. no instructions for key pad lock . (press and hold the space bar, to unlock, press top left menu button then space bar). accesories are easy to find on ebay, ringer is nice and loud and plenty of ring tones to choose from, camera works pretty good, speaker phone could be louder, but it does ok. so far the best phone for the money.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wheatster
Norton, MA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 375 total reviews
1-20 of 375 reviews