Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

35 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

35 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 stars
5
1-20 of 27 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
Steam ruins games
11/16/2010

Customer review by wolfepk1

4.0 stars 11/16/2010 by wolfepk1
by wolfepk1

While the game itself is awesome the fact you have to sign up to and use the steam program to play the game ruins the experience. Even though steam allows for an offline play setting it still creates issues with game play. The fact that nowhere on the packing does the game state you have to join steam before you can play it on your own PC offline is inexcusable. Due to this all people who purchased this game without the notice of having to sign up to some online site before being able to play should be refunded the cost of the game.

Was this review helpful? (148) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wolfepk1
Van, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
horrible
10/1/2010

Customer review by pcgamer2

1.0 stars 10/1/2010 by pcgamer2
by pcgamer2

This game does not meet the standard. It constantly freezes due to the fact that it is stored offsite on steam. You must install and use steam to play the game. You cannot create or modify the game in anyway except to download from steam. Steam will constantly download updates without your knowledge. Do not buy this game.

Was this review helpful? (60) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pcgamer2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very unhappy!
9/25/2010

Customer review by CivGamer

1.0 stars 9/25/2010 by CivGamer
by CivGamer

Very disapionted that three days after recieving this game I have not been able to play it. I paid next day freight and once on this "Steam" website it needed another 15hours to down load the rest of the game... that was three days ago. I have contacted the "Support" many a times with no responce. I have a Broadband internet connection and it is still taking this long. I have owned every "Civ" game out there and cann't beleive that now they would put a game out there like this through a website that can not handle the traffic... Something needs to be done and soon...

Was this review helpful? (52) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CivGamer
Toledo, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
great game, but requires steam
3/12/2011

Customer review by marvin42

4.0 stars 3/12/2011 by marvin42
by marvin42

This game is mucho fun, especially if you like turn based strategy! Most of the complaints about this game is because you have to download steam to play the game. Well first if you PC gamer you should already have steam! and secondly get used to it, because nowadays you need internet to register games and play them and steam is easier for the developers to do that. Also I have had 0 trouble from steam, the game however has had many glitches but are now updated enough that the game is finally polished!

Was this review helpful? (41) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marvin42
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Steam problems
11/19/2011

Customer review by ninjab51

4.0 stars 11/19/2011 by ninjab51
by ninjab51

This game has one problem; you have to install and upload this Steam thingamajig to play the whole game. The game will just freeze the game and have a pop-up saying 'please install Steam.'

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ninjab51
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expected Better Overall
6/6/2011

Customer review by Meatbag

2.0 stars 6/6/2011 by Meatbag
by Meatbag

The best thing about this game is the beauty of it but it ends there. The game is slow with very predictable civs. With the 5th edition of this great franchise I was expecting better layouts of civs beginning with the number of leaders to the units inside and I was very disappointed with how few civs came with the original game. I am a diehard civ fan but will not waste my time purchasing expansions that should have come with the original.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Meatbag
Warner Robins, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Have to download 5 Gig to install game.
12/17/2011

Customer review by someguy2011

1.0 stars 12/17/2011 by someguy2011
by someguy2011

I liked the old Civ game, and thought it would be nice to have a newer version. I bought this at Walmart, and it does come with a CD. To install it, you'll have to install Steam and download over 5Gig worth of files to get it to do anything. If I had known that I wouldn't be able to play the game for a couple of days, I would have left it at the store. I'd give zero stars if I could.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
someguy2011
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Not Good
10/5/2010

Customer review by Gamertime

1.0 stars 10/5/2010 by Gamertime
by Gamertime

Problem with Steam, very little product support, game is unfinished, no in game map editor, very disapointed overall. Just buy Civ IV

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gamertime
Madison WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
More graphics than game
4/19/2011

Customer review by DBLO

2.0 stars 4/19/2011 by DBLO
by DBLO

Graphics are great, and some features are an improvement over previous versions of CIV. But the graphics are so overwhelming it gets in the way of the game. When playing large world scenarios, the graphics are to detailed and micromanagement of the map is necessary.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DBLO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Civ 4 in better wrapping
10/17/2010

Customer review by dajanra

3.0 stars 10/17/2010 by dajanra
by dajanra

For all intents and purposes this game is a re-release of Civ 4 with better graphics and a few improved or added game elements. Not what I was expecting at all and I am very disappointed. Wait a year and buy this once it has been reduced to $19.99, trust me, you'll feel alot better about buying it at that price and might not be as annoyed with the game as I am.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dajanra
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Disappointment
10/6/2010

Customer review by poorbiker

2.0 stars 10/6/2010 by poorbiker
by poorbiker

Call me a die hard for the old format, but the game play, and format in general, stinks. Don't bother.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
poorbiker
Raymondville, MO.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Civilization V
1/11/2011

Customer review by Junkman2010

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by Junkman2010
by Junkman2010

Great purchase for the money. Continual entertainment and learning with historical content. Great for teenagers learning history.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Junkman2010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
outstanding product
1/12/2011

Customer review by SailorGnome

5.0 stars 1/12/2011 by SailorGnome
by SailorGnome

Outstanding performance, unusual load procedure in that it requires Steam to download the game product instead of running off the DVD as in the past. Game is great though once loaded..

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SailorGnome
Queen creek, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Can't justify the purchase right now
10/11/2010

Customer review by knowswhathestalkinbout

2.0 stars 10/11/2010 by knowswhathestalkinbout
by knowswhathestalkinbout

This game had really high expectations that just were not met. The game itself has SO much potential it is just broken right now. As you probably already know there have been drastic changes in the gameplay but unlike most people I LOVE these changes. If I wanted to play a game like CIV IV I would play that, this games is truly a new Civilization. Once an update or two gets thrown out at this game I can recommend this easily, just hold on for now.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
knowswhathestalkinbout
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
One of the best games ever played.
11/1/2010

Customer review by Zhaadum

5.0 stars 11/1/2010 by Zhaadum
by Zhaadum

This game is amazing. I started playing Civ 19 years ago when the first part came out. This one gives you everything. Depth but nothing that confuses you. Graphics, strategy, tactics ...I am already addicted to it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zhaadum
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great game
9/22/2010

Customer review by Alodar

5.0 stars 9/22/2010 by Alodar
by Alodar

This is another great entry in the Civilization series, maybe the best one yet. Certainly worth purchasing. I was very happy that I could register it to my Steam account also....

Was this review helpful? (6) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alodar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent game for the genre
10/24/2013

Customer review by ScrapbookWidower

5.0 stars 10/24/2013 by ScrapbookWidower
by ScrapbookWidower

Good Points: Superb Graphics, Good Pacing and progression though the different Techs. Only to be expected from a fifth generation game. This is a really impressive update to an old friend. I've owned the first release, the 3rd, 4th and now this one. Downers: Memory HOG. I have 8GB on board (max for my older system) but still received low memory warnings. I was able to win a match on Chieftain without any real issues, but it crashed when I tried a mod match on Warlord. I found that my page file was quite small so I raised it to 8GB virtual RAM. I’ll be checking out that fix after I finish this review. I’m pretty sure it’ll fix the problem. All that being said I’d highly recommend this game to anyone who likes a change of pace from blowing things up all the time.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScrapbookWidower
Westmoreland, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Back to the basics...
10/4/2010

Customer review by JanDzban

5.0 stars 10/4/2010 by JanDzban
by JanDzban

The original Civilization game got me hooked big time. Subsequent versions did not live up to the original and I quit playing. Version V brings the fun back and adds graphics that are so real you will not believe them. Start playing...

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JanDzban
Canton, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Civilization V, Boring
7/23/2014

Customer review by ihod

2.0 stars 7/23/2014 by ihod
by ihod

Program lacks the excitement of past civ games. Improved graphics, but sacrificed this for less action. Used to play old civ games for hours, and look forward to more action. This one is boring.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ihod
Bismarck ND
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Strategy Game
12/13/2010

Customer review by FLmom99

5.0 stars 12/13/2010 by FLmom99
by FLmom99

My 15 year old son and I both play this game. I am currently on the "settler" setting of the game to learn the ropes. It really seems like the only feasible way to "win" the game ie by miliatary action against other players. There is an on-line play but I haven't tried it yet. I am about 3 hours into playing it so far and haven't won a game yet. There is additional actions over what was available on the Xbox 360 version "Civilization Revolution" - however it still has the "advisors" that give you suggestions during the game in order to help you learn.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FLmom99
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews