Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 132 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

132 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

132 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
89
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
1-20 of 105 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 105 total reviews
1-20 of 105 reviews
Best Workout Game!
11/18/2010

Customer review by WebBuyer2009

5.0 stars 11/18/2010 by WebBuyer2009
by WebBuyer2009

I've only had the game for a couple of days but I spent quite a bit of time playing with it and I also have the Active 1 game. I am a little disappointed that of the 3 versions of this game (Wii, PS3, and XBOX) the Wii version is the only one that isn't completely hands free because there are times you must hold on to the Wii remote. In fact when I saw the packaging with the picture on the box showing the woman doing arm exercises still holding on to the remote I was a little mad because that was one of my biggest gripes with Active 1. However it's not that bad and I'll explain further. Here are the best improvements to the game from Active 1. 1. The leg strap - the Active 1 leg strap is awful and breaks after a short time using it. Plus you are constantly retightening it as it continues to slip down your leg. However with Active 2 all of the straps are an elastic fabric with loop on one side and rubber gel lines on the back to grip. I did a very hard workout last night involving lots of sprinting and I didn't have to adjust the leg strap (or any of the straps) once. They stayed in place and because it isn't lycra covered neoprene I think it will last a long time. 2. Hands Free Exercises - I'm not sure if all the arm exercises are hands free but all the ones I tried were in fact hands free where you do not have to hold the Wii remote. This is fantastic because with Active 1 I couldn't use a resistance band with nice foam grips and the nylon handles that it came with hurt my hands. Now I don't have this problem. Plus now I can use hand weights when I want to. You may be wondering how it registers movement on the arm without a sensor but they changed the arm exercises slightly from Active 1. Now the arm exercises have you move both arms at the same time (both arms do the tricep kickbacks, bicep curls, etc) rather then one arm at a time and the game just assumes you are moving the arm without the sensor. I also love that now you don't have to waste time putting the nunchuck in the leg strap and then taking it out for a different exercise as you do in Active 1. The game moves much better because you don't have to do those things anymore. 3. The Heart Rate Monitor - I like the addition of the heart rate monitor. It is nice to see how hard you are working. Supposedly as you continue to workout it will track how well your hear rate recovers which would be cool to know. I think it probably results in more accurate calorie calculation as well. 4. The game is MORE like a game - Active 1 is nice because it was like having a personal trainer at home. However you will work harder with Active 2 and have more fun. It has a mountainboarding exercise where you have to jump from one leading foot to the other and has points you can get on each side. You also have to squat and jump and then run up hills. In addition it has a Fitness Trail - Sprint Outrun exercise where you have to actually catch up to and outrun 6 runners on the trail. The thing is that when the other runner sees you getting closer they start running harder so they are hard to pass. This got my heartrate up to 185 bpm trying to pass the other runners. It definitely pushes you harder. I am disappointed that additional motion sensors aren't sold at the release of the game because I would like to race my husband on some of these games and will be buying the extra sensors as soon as they become available. I am also looking forawrd to finding someone I can workout with online. 5. The Wii Balance Board can be used to weigh yourself. However don't feel the need to get the Wii balance board if you don't have it because every exercise that uses the Wii balance board also has the same exercise which doesn't use the Wii balance board. 6. Custom Workouts - There are 13 Upper Body, 22 Lower Body, 11 Full Body, 12 Cardio, 26 Fitness exercises (including boxing, step aerobics, mountainbiking/boarding, dance, & kickboxing), 6 Core, 15 Basketball, 15 Soccer, 8 Warm Up, and 8 Cool Down exercises to choose from. Most are between 1 and 2 minutes long with some like the Step Aerobics actually lasting 10 minutes. You can create a custom workout with a combination of any of the these exercises to make longer or shorter workouts as needed. 7. Online Community - With Active 2 you can join online workout groups which hopefully will help you stay motivated. I joined one and time will tell if it really helps me but it can't hurt and it's nice to see there are other people like you trying to get fit. Here are my disappointments 1. I wish the game were completely hands free. I feel like the PS3 and Xbox versions are better than the Wii because they are truely hands free. I haven't had a chance to do all the exercises but I won't be surprised if I don't run across an arm exercise that requires the remote be held since the packaging show a woman doing this. I just don't understand why the PS3 version comes with 2 arm sensors and the Wii version doesn't. 2. I wish the extra motion sensors were available now as it would be fun to play with another family member. Sure they could do it with you but you'll push yourself more if you can race them. I do understand however that EA is probably anticipating huge demand over Christmas and likely won't have the time to create straps for the multi-user option until after the holidays. After all selling the straps separately now may create a shortage of the game which would cause prices to rise. 3. I wish the workouts on the 9 week challenge would allow you to choose how long you want to workout. All of the workouts are around 30 minutes long. I would love to have the option of doing a 1 hour workout. I can achieve this with the custom workouts but it would be nice in the challenges too. The game will also formulate a workout for you based on what you want to workout but again it will only make a workout that is up to 30 minutes long. 4. The resistance band that comes with it is still cheap. Go buy the resistance tubes with nice handles for $10 - $15. All in all though this is a fantastic fitness game. I workout with a trainer too that does much of the same things throughout his class. He is impressed with the game and will be helping me choose which exercises to do so I can make some great custom workouts. If you don't lose weight and get fit with this then it's because you eat too much and don't actually play the game very often.

Was this review helpful? (412) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WebBuyer2009
Allen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great workout
12/26/2010

Customer review by baby81299

5.0 stars 12/26/2010 by baby81299
by baby81299

I really like active 2 for wii. There are three levels: easy, medium, hard. This is great for a beginner all the way to an athlete. The "game" is easy to follow and understand. The exercises are all within reason to complete. The one thing that I don't like is that there is too much of a "break" in-between exercises which allows the heart rate to drop. It is a great workout and only takes about 20 minutes to complete.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
baby81299
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
What a disappointment!
12/31/2010

Customer review by bluskies

1.0 stars 12/31/2010 by bluskies
by bluskies

I own both the original EA Sports Active and EA Sports Active More Workouts and have been very happy with both (Wii versions). The original was a good start and More Workouts was a home run. So, I had high expectations when I purchased EA Sports Active 2 (Wii version). What a disappointment. First, as all Wii owners know, the Wii remote turns off when not in use after a few minutes (designed feature to save batteries). This is not a problem, unless you are using EA Sports Active 2. Even though the Wii remote is not required for most of the workouts, when the remote turns off Sport Active 2 stops whatever it is doing and prompts you to turn the remote back on. This also happens with the Wii balance board, whether the board is being used or not, when it turns off (again, a designed feature to save batteries) Sports Active 2 stops whatever it is doing (mid exercise) and prompts you to turn the board back on. The fix for the balance board issue is to change the program's setting to opt out of using the Wii board. They only fix for the remote issue is pressing the A button every few minutes. Also, the program takes a lot of time to transition from each exercise resulting in a lot of standing and waiting (and hear rate dropping which defeats the purpose of aerobic exercising). Speaking of heart rate, I thought the heart rate monitor function would be great, and it would be, if it was anywhere near accurate. For some reason, when doing a light aerobic exercise, the heart rate monitor gave very high readings (I routinely workout with a heart rate monitor and have never seen readings as high was what Sports Active 2's monitor was showing). Also, for many of the aerobic exercises with high reps where each rep is counted based on body sensor movement, only about 70% of the reps are counted. This wouldn't be so bad since I don't mind doing extra reps, but the game's trainer badgered me about trying harder to the point that the exercise was more annoying than entertaining. It's like a whole new team of programmers created Sports Active 2, because these issues were non-issues with the previous versions. After reading of similar problems and complaints on the EA Sport Active forums, I was able to return mine for a full refund noting that the product was defective. Maybe in a few months to a year, EA will address these issues and correct them. And, even the, I will check the EA Sports Active forums before I purchase another EA product again. Until then, I'm sticking with More Workouts. Bottom line: Buyer Beware! Check out what others are saying at EA Sports Active forums before buying this product. Advice: For those of you who own EA Sports More Workouts and want to go cordless (chucking the nunchuck cord), try a wireless nunchuck. I purchased the Kama brand wireless nunchuck that's Wii Motion Plus compatible and have used it for several workouts with More Workouts. Works great! Same motion capture as with the corded nunchuck and fits in the leg strap perfectly, but no cord! So, save your money for now until EA gets their act together, and instead drop a little money (I found mine locally for $20) and purchase a wireless nunchuck. A wireless nunchuck is something you can use with other games too.

Was this review helpful? (27) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bluskies
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good exercise game addition
12/5/2010

Customer review by heifermoo

5.0 stars 12/5/2010 by heifermoo
by heifermoo

I paid $100 for this but if you get it for $60 on the cyber week sale than you definitly got a good deal.Its a good addition to my active sports /more/my fitness coach games. Its a harder than the " MORE".The remote will "lose connection" if you don't hit a button now and then.One bad thing is it wont let you workout on the program you've chosen on a rest day.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heifermoo
oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product!!!
3/24/2011

Customer review by NeededAChange

5.0 stars 3/24/2011 by NeededAChange
by NeededAChange

I am a 27 yr old woman with two children. I was exceedingly over weight with my first pregnancy and have fought a battle with my weight since then 9yrs ago. As well have been in a car accident resulting in hip problems, have disc problems, and was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia along with depression. I hit almost 200lbs again in my life and was just fed up. I had never gone to a gym and was considering it when I found this product. I have been using this for about 2 months now and am down 20lbs. and stronger than I have been in years. I can even pick my 3yr old up again. If you are a parent reading this you can imagine how priceless that is in itself. But all that aside if you would like, I can assure you that you can NOT pay a trainer 40 dollars one time and get these results. If I can keep my kids from touching the disc I'll have this for a very long time. And I will never use anything else if I can help it. There are so many accessories to add with this as well. I haven't purchased any yet but the variety out there is really great. I can't praise this product enough for the change it made in my life. If you are looking for something that you can do for 25-30 min. a day (at home) that is semi-intense (for someone not used to doing these type of workouts like me) and have the ability to increase the intensity from easy, medium, to hard this is for you.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NeededAChange
North Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
10/10/2011

Customer review by lbj2000

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by lbj2000
by lbj2000

Heard that it had problems with the arm and leg senors but for me they work 100%. It keeps me going when I slack back abit. I think this is the best deal I got in a long time.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lbj2000
seguin, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great fitness game
5/23/2011

Customer review by westcoastink

5.0 stars 5/23/2011 by westcoastink
by westcoastink

I love this game because I have kids,busy mom but I don't even have to go to the gym to work out.It's been 4 days since I bought this game but I already notice the change of my body.I also wear SAUNA SUIT when I work out so I can sweat more.I love this product!!!!!It works for me.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
westcoastink
San diego,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this!
1/29/2011

Customer review by Terri1of8

5.0 stars 1/29/2011 by Terri1of8
by Terri1of8

We have had this since Christmas, and it is wonderful. My husband and I are doing the 9 week training at the easy level. The first week I did this, I was actually sore from the workout. The intensity increases as the weeks go on, and you are guided through exercises that work different muscle groups harder on different days. This is similar to when I've used a trainer in the past. Unbelievable! I would highly recommend this to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Terri1of8
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
12/18/2011

Customer review by CTCH99

4.0 stars 12/18/2011 by CTCH99
by CTCH99

Bought this item after I used the first version for over one year. This one is more improved. Really like the workouts. The best thing is that it is completely wireless. For the first version you needed the nun chuck for some workouts and that got in the way sometimes. Also the resistant band is stronger and does not rip. The only negative is that the programm will stop and you have to click the A button to continue since the Wii remote is not needed much. I always click the A button after 2/3 exercises and that works and does not hinder the workout. The positive is that you do not have to hold the remote all the time, like in the first version. Overall I like it and I get good workouts at my convenience with a free personal trainer.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CTCH99
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Surprised
1/11/2011

Customer review by pdbarrett71

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by pdbarrett71
by pdbarrett71

Ea sports active 2, was better then expected! Has a ton of options to challenge you aswell as fun sport activities to get your blood pumping. I am a personal trainer and would highly recomend.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pdbarrett71
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Active 2
1/9/2011

Customer review by DarkdragonL

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by DarkdragonL
by DarkdragonL

Had no idea a game like this existed. Got it on impulse while I was shopping for another game. Brought it home and have been using it non stop since! I love it. Gives your body a really good workout and you can feel the difference in your body after a few days of working out. Do not buy this if you are older out of shape. I am 30 and relatively healthy and active my muscles hurt from the workouts! My 60 year old mother who is somewhat out of shape tried to use it and it was very difficult for her. There is options to put in your age and weight however It gives the same workout regardless of this info. She could not handle the first workout and has not touched it since. Other then that A+

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DarkdragonL
Lakeville, Ma.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wii Active 2
1/16/2011

Customer review by Aimee39

5.0 stars 1/16/2011 by Aimee39
by Aimee39

I love it!! I did it this morning before work and it is going to be my everyday workout. I have no time for the gym and I work odd hours so it is perfect. If you are looking for something that motivates you to get moving, this is it. Now I am on the hunt down for an extra heart monitor and leg strap sensor so my husband and I can workout together!! Well worth $59.00

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aimee39
Howell, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWESOME game!
1/22/2011

Customer review by SLBM

5.0 stars 1/22/2011 by SLBM
by SLBM

As a New Years Resolution, I made the decision to be healthier and work out. So, I went out and bought this game. I've had it for 3 1/2 weeks, and can already tell a difference. I've lost over 18 pounds and 10 inches since starting this. I'm recommending it to all of my friends and family that want to get a jump start on their resolutions also. It's also fun to work out with someone else too. My step-son plays this game with me when we have him. He's 6 and breaks out in a sweat..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SLBM
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Fitness Game Ever!
1/3/2012

Customer review by PatootiePie

5.0 stars 1/3/2012 by PatootiePie
by PatootiePie

This program is awesome! The workouts are great and activities rotate so you never get bored. I love the idea of having a virtual personal trainer. I highly recommend this program! It is excellent for beginners (like me!) but also has settings that would be more appropriate for those who are more advanced. An excellent value and one of the best purchases I have made recently!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PatootiePie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than the gym!
2/18/2011

Customer review by CallenJames

5.0 stars 2/18/2011 by CallenJames
by CallenJames

This game is amazing. I have been losing weight on a weekly basis and saving on a gym membership at the same time. I wrote an article about it going into more detail.Overall I think this is a must own for everyone! http://gameolosophy.com/games/ea-active-two-is-better-than-the-gym/

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CallenJames
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!
3/21/2012

Customer review by TandKmommy

5.0 stars 3/21/2012 by TandKmommy
by TandKmommy

I bought this game in January and i LOVE it! I am addicted! I am currently on phase 3 of the 9 week challenge :) It'd helped me lose 15 lbs in 11 weeks :) I lose that is mostly wireless :)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TandKmommy
Eldora, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
11/8/2011

Customer review by DaBaller

5.0 stars 11/8/2011 by DaBaller
by DaBaller

I was excited when I put the disc in and saw that the program was 90% workout and not just a bunch of kid games. It gives you the option to use free weights instead of a resistance band, and I can feel my muscles burning. I'm a 16 yr old guy and I usually use 35ibs but for this I used 20ibs. It slows your reps so that you get maximum relults curling, pressing, or whatever you choose. Look forward to getting ripped with this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaBaller
Wilmington NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not good for a harcore workout
10/4/2011

Customer review by Merce426

3.0 stars 10/4/2011 by Merce426
by Merce426

I bought this product because I got it through the website for only $20!!! I was so excited to have a new exercise program in my routine especially one that tracks your heart rate and calories burned. Unfortunately my expectations fell very short with this. I am a seasoned exerciser so it takes quite a workout to get me going. I felt this program, even on the hardest setting, wasn't doing it. Some exercises are great but it's the time in between each generated exercise that takes more than a few seconds to load thereby defeating the purpose of circuit training which is non stop. Also some exercises like side planks have you do 1 side plank for 10 secs on each side and that's it!!! What a joke! This would be good for someone just starting out (easy setting) or more active (hard) but not someone looking for a really intense heart pumping butt kicking. I prefer Jillian Michaels's "30 Day Shred" or "The Biggest Loser" for Wii on the hard or intense setting although the calories burned on that program are wayyyyy off. Still an excellent training tool.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Merce426
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great workout
12/11/2010

Customer review by USMC12

4.0 stars 12/11/2010 by USMC12
by USMC12

This product is much better than the first one. The leg band stay in place and I like the use of the Heart Moniter. I have just finished the 3 week quick start program and it has been a great workout. Looking forward to doing the 9 week workout.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
USMC12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
3/22/2012

Customer review by googoodnw

4.0 stars 3/22/2012 by googoodnw
by googoodnw

It really had me sweating everytime I worked out!! my muscles were even sore the next day, so I know it was working. The only thing that was frustrating, some times it would not count all the reps, so you would end up doing more... but I guess it works out in my favor.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
googoodnw
Milford, De
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 105 total reviews
1-20 of 105 reviews