Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4out of 5 stars
4 out of 5 | 153 reviews
5 stars
81
4 stars
40
3 stars
7
2 stars
8
1 stars
17
Sort by: 
1-20 of 150 reviews
1-20 of 150 reviews
Good value!
4/30/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Well built bike at a good price offering great value! The assembly went well and took about 30 minutes. The instructions came in handy. A point to note is the LH and RH threads on the pedals; do not mix these up. Delivered to our door by Fedex and there was some damage to the flimsy cardboard packaging. I took digital pics of the damage in the event of any claims. Turned out not to be an issue. Do not worry if you see some minor damage (tears) on the carton.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (100)No (29)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Bike
5/11/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was very disappointed at first because I checked out the blue one in the store and loved it, then ordered the lime green one (my favorite color) online. I had it shipped to the store so they could assemble it for me. So, I was shocked when i saw it and the paint finish was completely different, the handle bars and gear system were different, too, from the blue one I tried in the store. Even though they are the exact same model! Once I got over my initial disappointment with those differences I decided to give the bike a try cause I loved the color and didn't want to switch. It had a squeak and the gears slipped several times when I first rode it so I took it to a local bike shop for adjustments. Fifteen dollars later it rides beautifully! Still has a slight break squeak, but for the money it is a good bike and good ride. I am 5' 10" and over 200lbs. and it fits me well. I'm riding to improve my health and I like my new bike very much now even after several weeks of riding. It's a GOOD BIKE for the money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best bike ever (please read this)
6/20/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
When I got this bike it was almost $300 when it first came to Wal-Mart I got the black one the only difference is mine had a different shock like shown in the picture of my bike, but still its the best bike I have ever own the only thing that every messed up was the inner tubes needed replaced when I get the money I will be getting the green one because I like the color of it, and I'm glad they have lowered the price of it and has more varieties of colors, in the stores they also have a yellow, and orangish red one to but if you want a good reliable bike this one is the one to get, O also this bike has also saved my life from being hit by a car, and also hitting someone that is how good the brakes are on this bike they will stop on a dime the only thing is if something goes wrong with it like wear and tear it is expensive to get it fixed most everything on the bike is shimano witch if you don't know about bikes shimano is the BEST bike parts ever made, well I think I have made my point so if you want to get a bike get this one LOVE IT thanks for reading
Was this review helpful?
Yes (84)No (25)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good product for the price
9/8/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I've been riding for about 2 weeks now. About 2-3 miles at a time. All road, choppy shoulder and sidewalk. This bike has performed well. The gears are responsive. I don't mind the 2 switch system. Brakes are great. Seat is terribly uncomfortable and i'll be replacing it very soon. A lot of people mentioned replacing the pedals. I think they're a fairly robust plastic that suit my needs. I am commuting to school so I bought a rear rack for books, etc. I found that many 2 point racks won't work on the dual suspension bikes, so be mindful of what you intend to do with the bike before purchase. A side note: I am 6'3", 270 and if you have a bit of a belly like me this bike has a very far forward lean to the stance and yer belly may get in the way from time to time. I figure that will go away the more I ride though.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What a nice surprise for a Walmart bike.
3/1/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased 2 26" Genesis V2100, the white one, and the black one. My grandson is really into biking, and loves the look of the bikes, especially the white one. He road to a park which has several bike trails (MTB), and is amazed on their performance. If anything was to be improved he would suggest a upgrade on the front suspension. Although the description states 80 mm of travel, it is closer to 40-60 mm. Overall, this is a great bike.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (122)No (30)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First ride, front disk fell apart.
4/26/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Got the bike today. Assembly was fairly easy once I remove the 20 or so zip ties. Wheel bearings felt real stiff but spun the wheels a couple of times and they seemed smooth. After assembly took it for a short spin around the front yard and all seemed good. I guess I only used the rear brake because when I went up the street about 3 houses and went to slow to turn around the front brake started to work then a click and the lever went loose. No front brake. it has nice disk brake in the front so I took a look at them and there was no brake pad lining on one side of the brake. I slipped the pads out and sure enough one of the brake pad lining had come completely off and the brakes would not work at all. I'm not planning to return the bike because it did ride nice so I ordered new brake pads.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Been Put To The Test And Did Amazing
9/17/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this about 1 month ago and I put a good 6-8 miles on it daily. I ride on the street, on rough off road trails, anywhere pretty much. The gears are responsive the brakes are amazing in fact they're too good I've flipped a few times. The only problem I had with this bike are the pedals they break easily but I just bought $10 aluminum pedals and now they're fine. My rim also bent after being landed on by one of my friends that weigh about 230 lbs so I wouldn't worry about it for you though. It's a great bike and I recommend buying it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great bike
6/29/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great bike 149.99 is a great price for this bike. The first day on it me and my girl friend rode 7 miles on it with no problems on a biking trail. Only one thing i changed the seat. The one that comes on it is not very comfortable.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (113)No (44)
Report
Was this review helpful?
excellent Bike, but difficult to find instruction
2/12/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This bike is excellent and easy to set up. But I was looking everywhere inside the box for the instruction. It was inside the seat.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (51)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
You get what you pay for...
7/14/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I got two of these bikes for my boyfriend and I. They came shipped to us so we had to assemble them. The instructions were not the easiest to follow, but after the first one (taking over an hour to get together) the second one was much easier. Taking only about twenty minutes. They turned out to be pretty decent. But you definitely get what you pay for. They both needed major personal adjustments before they were comfortable to ride. And we are already thinking about upgrading the pedals and seats. The biggest disappointment was that for one bike I did have to get extra washers to get the handle bars to tighten, because what was provided was not sufficient.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good value
8/5/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had this bike for a few weeks now, and I truly enjoy it. The bike has all the features I was looking for, dual suspension, disk brakes, and a 26" size. You cant beat the value, for a 160 and tax its very good entry level bike. I have ridden it on only 2 trails in the few weeks that I have had it. The bike performs well, the drive train is a bit noisy but I havent taken the time to index the gears and fully dial in the dive train yet. The brakes proform well, I like the front disk, and I would have prefered a rear disk but thats just a personal prefence . The only negative I have noticed is the weight, but I can live with it. Overall I am happy with my purchase, I had to buy and return the bike 3 times before I got a good one but that has more to do with the assembly department at the actual walmart than with the bike itself, I have upgraded the tire tubes, the saddle, and the pedels, and I now have a great affordable trail bike.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (43)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent mountain bike all around dirt/road
2/25/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
so ive seen this bike a couple times at walmart and just the look of the frame and suspension looks highly durable and for a good price. i was looking for an aggressive style mountain bike to ride fast down trails and to jump with and this bike just looked and felt like it could handle what i wanted to do on the trails, so i bought it! the bike straight from the store needed little adjustments like tire inflation, the handlebars, the bolts on the wheels,the neck and remove kickstand and reflectors haha i took it to the trails for the first time, it handled excellent i was flying down trails with ease and jumping any bumps and hills in the way! the only thing that i recommend doing if your gonna be riding dirt trails is changing out the tires and the brake pads in the back, the tires are excellent all around but the tread is a little to low for cornering on downhill dirt trails it kept slipping out a bit so im planning on upgrading the tires soon, and the brake pads in the back squeak alot when using the brakes. overall this bike is an excellent purchase! get out there and ride!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (79)No (26)
Report
Was this review helpful?
excellent value bike
6/11/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 100 contributer
i got the black one online about a month ago. i guess the price difference is only on the bike colors and the equipments and attachments are the same. full shimano drivetrain is excellent, after a few adjustments, works perfectly. i've been to hilly dirt trails with jumps and small waterway crossings in michigan, absolutely perfect. this bike performs alongside an expensive Trek. plan to get more high end tires once the original ones thin out. did the assembly once delivered at home, and one tip guys, make sure to tighten all bolts properly, tweak brakes and gears, and enjoy the ride. i am just a weekend rider, and this fits value perfectly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (204)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I bought this at the store, love it for the price.
3/14/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
the best bike I ever bought for the money. You get what you pay for, but sometimes you get a bargain. The big thing is -- keep this bike out of the weather. I ruined other Walmart bikes by leaving them out all night . But this one I am more careful, and I don't go into puddles or in the rain. It looks great and I get wonderful exercise on it. It's heavy -- don't expect otherwise. My house scale shows an impossible 35 or more pounds for the bike. But I'm not in a race, and this does have a few extra pounds for the great front break, the good seat, the suspension. I love the kick stand, the breaks, the suspension. I could not be happier. Ive had it for about six months, ride it 2-4 times a week. Im not sure it's for tall folks, but you can just go by the literature than comes with it. If there is one issue - I wish the seat would come up and stay up another two inches. I need to work on getting it to stay up where I want.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Most incredible bike and features for the money
6/15/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this bike a few days ago - retired recently, and cannot see myself becoming a couch potato. Anyway, got one in the box and did my own assembly / set-up / adjustments. I cannot stress enough how the high end technology has trickled down to bargain bikes. What you can get for the price is amazing. A little adjusting, and the derailleurs are just click, click, click. Smooth and perfect. Checked wheel truing and it was good - only did a little touch up. Same with the V brake - releases perfectly and evenly. The front disc brake is not the top of the line component, but after fine adjusting, works quite well. Frame seems sturdy - and with the linkage design, seems more rigid than other full suspension bikes I have ridden. Front and rear shocks are what they are - they soak up the large bumps effectively - they were not meant for competition. I agree with other reviewers - the seat needs to be changed out immediately. Bottom line is the bike performs well, shifts, rides, brakes fine. Anyone who wants to compare this to the specs of a $2500 bike needs to be realistic - this is not made for professional downhill. But for the price it is a great, serviceable bike, that does all it should perfectly, and should not be sneered at by the "hard core" riders.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GREAT PRODUCT, INSANELY CHEAP!!!
12/9/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got my CA Drivers License suspended for 30 days, and thought all was lost...... Until I spotted this BRIGHT green mountain bike w/: Dual Suspension, front disk brake, 21 speed Shimano gears, 26in. Tires, and best of all, a "Clearance Tag" labeled "sold as is" for $107.80...... I grabbed it and went to compare to brand new model in back and found nothing wrong with it.... When I rode it home my expectations of the quality and comfort were totally blown away! I've been riding bikes for 25 outta the 29 years I've been on this earth, and I feel COMPLETELY CONFIDENT in recommending this bike to ANYONE who needs a ride! You will not be disappointed!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not for Alaska
11/13/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this bike because it was the best bike walmart had to offer. I paid $200 for it in Kodiak, so overpriced from the get-go. The first time just riding it down the street the Shimano gears failed to shift properly upshifting and downshifting. When I got to the end of the street, I attempted to shift gears and the chain popped off the main sprocket. I then took it down the side of a mountain where the brakes were 50/50. The front brake is a disk brake, which is the preferred type of brake for a mountain bike, and that works great although its noisy and was warped from the store. The rear brake, which is the brake you will actually use for mountain biking, is your standard rim brake and after just one ride, the pads are about 40% gone and I have to mash the handle to get the bike to stop. The bike should have been designed with a rear disk brake and a front standard rim brake. I will either try to return this bike or keep it as a guest bike.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5/26/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I'm 70 years old. I've also had a total hip replacement, & I haven't riding a bike in 40+ years...This is a great bike, smooth easy ride. However; be sure you set the bike up for your particular height, leg length etc, otherwise one might experience difficulties. I ride it daily up & down varying topography.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (113)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Spend the extra money
8/6/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this bike brand new brought it home made all the adjustments, took it for a ride, didn't get 1/4 mile down the road and the front tire blew out. I should have done my research before buying this. Going back to Walmart for sure.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Bike
4/15/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Even though i have only had this bike for a day and have ridden it only a short distance. I can see this is a great bike. Im 220 lbs and 5'7'' and this bike holds and fits me fine. The shocks make the ride very comfortable. Great Value for $150
Was this review helpful?
Yes (155)No (31)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641768, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-