Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 304 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

304 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

304 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
130
4 stars
101
3 stars
25
2 stars
19
1 stars
29
1-20 of 276 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 276 total reviews
1-20 of 276 reviews
Very good mountain bike starter's bike
2/4/2013

Customer review by plan316org

4.0 stars 2/4/2013 by plan316org
by plan316org
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been doing mountain biking for many years. I own a high end bike with very good component which has been with me for many year. I started looking for a low price good quality bike to test with the possibility to buy 10 more to send to Venezuela to a team of Christian missionaries who are working with WAYUU Indians. After looking around for different options and prices, I selected this one. After removing all the plastic reflectors and the stand and test riding it at Markham Park mountian bike trails, going through the Intermediate and expert trails, I can tell you that I am not dissapointed at all. For the price this bike handles very good. The only item that I would replace would be the plastic pedals. I am buying and upgrading to medal pedals. Of couse, I haven't owned this bike for very long (a week or so) and cannot provide a comprehensive analysis, but for what I can tell it's a good starters mountain bike at a very good price. Happy trails!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
plan316org
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Black & White
10/4/2011

Customer review by Glen44

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by Glen44
by Glen44

I purchased this bicycle from a Wal-Mart in Rogers, AR. There are several things that I like about this bike. The bike is light! It weighs more than 6lbs less than my last bike. The top cross bar is diamond shaped not round. This makes it easier to lift in to the back of my truck. The rear suspension spring is in cased inside of a rubber housing. Which will keep spring clean. The gear shifters have two leavers one to lower the gear and one to increase the gear. The tires have a real aggressive tread pattern. The ride is very smooth even off road. The disk break on the front wheel helps stop the bike even faster than the normal beaks. And the rear wheel kickstand is awesome! I can move the bike with the kickstand down. Although, the spring loaded release has to be taped with your foot instead of the stand itself. The only drawback is the seat! It was designed for looks and not for comfort. The seat is almost painful to use. I replaced it with an after-market seat. Believe me, you will want to budget for a new seat.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Glen44
Rogers, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
amazing deal
5/12/2010

Customer review by gerwin

5.0 stars 5/12/2010 by gerwin
by gerwin

I was shopping around for a bike and i went to Wal-Mart hoping to find a good deal and did I ever. This bike is wonderful and exactly what i wanted but for much less money than i expected to spend. I would advise getting a different seat though.. i found a bell seat for about $25 that is pretty awesome. took me 5 minutes to take the original seat off, put the new one on, and adjust it. Much much better.

Was this review helpful? (63) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gerwin
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Replace the Peddles!!!
9/18/2011

Customer review by thekingofbargains

5.0 stars 9/18/2011 by thekingofbargains
by thekingofbargains

I researched this bike for the pros and cons for couple months. I was already aware of the plastic peddles needing to be replaced. I went to a local bike store and purchased METAL (not plastic) peddles for less than $12. When I went to Wal-Mart to get the bike; I saw the same bike at the clearance section due to broken peddles. I inspected the bike for any other flaws but could not find anything else. Due to someone not researching and returning the bike, I got the bike for $90...thanks for the return buddy! The bike is perfect with the new peddles!!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thekingofbargains
Kansas City, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This was a birthday gift to me.
5/8/2010

Customer review by specialca

5.0 stars 5/8/2010 by specialca
by specialca

I brought this bike for my birthday and gave it a spin and I was very impressed with the smoothness of the bike even going up the hill. And yes it took me a second to figure out the kickstand being that it was not the traditional kickstand. LOL Other then that I have not hit a bump but if I do I will look into a better set of wheels. I saw a Schwinn with similar features for $229.00. This is a great bike for the price I don't regret purchasing it.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
specialca
Henderson, Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A blank slate for greater things.
3/20/2012

Customer review by Neptronix

5.0 stars 3/20/2012 by Neptronix
by Neptronix

Awfully cheap, useless components, but if you replace all the steel components ( stem, handlebars, shock, cranks, seat post, rear spring, kick stand ) with aluminum ones, this bike can be great! Think of it this way - you're basically buying a frame with upgrade capability for later on! I've seen these things falling apart in the store brand new. The rear shock is actually a spring, and will make creaking noises which are kinda alarming. This is easy to replace with something better. I replaced the original rear 'shock' ( it's actually a spring ) with a fox shock, threw a used rock shox judy on the front, and it rides fantastic & easily dropped 8lbs off the bike, so it's within the weight of something you'd buy at a department store. This is the perfect project for a DIYer who's willing to work on his own bike and tune it into perfection. If you are not knowledgeable with bikes, forget this one - it will be a maintenance nightmare. With good components on it, it is a dream however.. you won't find a dual suspension bike frame for anywhere near the cost of this entire bike!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Neptronix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike for the $$$
9/27/2010

Customer review by jlowrey83

5.0 stars 9/27/2010 by jlowrey83
by jlowrey83

First, this is a sharp looking bike. I've gotten a few compliments on it after only having it a week. I've peeled almost all of the ridiculous stickers off though. Pros- Shimano drivetrain, dual suspension, front disc, looks GREAT. Cons- No rear disc, plastic pedals that feel small, handlebar neck isn't adjustable. Overall- Great bike, good looks. I've added some stuff already(saddlebag, headlight, chain slapguard). But I need to add more. Wider aluminum pedals, and maybe firmer shocks up front.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jlowrey83
Neptune Beach, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Bike--Great Price!!!!
5/27/2011

Customer review by JIROBOY

5.0 stars 5/27/2011 by JIROBOY
by JIROBOY

I love this bike! It looks and rides impressive. Admittedly, i don't jump off cliffs or ride down sheer mountain faces but I ride it hard and it works just fine. I was doubly lucky to find the white whale of the V2100s!! I liked the black on white and was ready to purchase it when by accident I came across this one in one of the local Walmarts. They don't even show this color scheme as being an option on the site.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JIROBOY
Kansas City, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great bike for the price.
12/11/2012

Customer review by Wicked54

5.0 stars 12/11/2012 by Wicked54
by Wicked54

I purchased this bike about one year ago to replace a trek fuel that was stolen. Not to compare the two, I just needed a bike to ride local trails till I had the funds available for a new trek. I thought just to ride this genesis v2100 till it broke down, one month tops, and then dish out the money for a name brand mtb. Turns out this bike can really take a beating. I slowly began to upgrade components, mainly spare parts I had lying around from previous bikes. More than one year later, I have not had the need to replace the bike. Granted, most components have been changed and my point is this. This bike is a great buy for the money. It will get you riding. If you can work on your own bike, it can be upgraded to meet your needs as you go. A bike is only as expensive as the components that are in/on it. High dollar, name brand quality mountain bikes have good components and a very well built frame. I can contest, this bike's frame is well built. What you add to it, only makes it that much better. A great canvas, for good things to come. If you want top notch out of the store, and cant work on bikes, look elswhere. Expect high dollar. If you are handy and can research upgrades, this bike can grow with you as you ride. Thus, you need to look no further, this one is for you. No doubt.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wicked54
Dallas,Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
rigid bike
5/12/2012

Customer review by danxtian

5.0 stars 5/12/2012 by danxtian
by danxtian

i have been using this bike for a year now, it has been my primary mean of transport and it has not given me any problem, i hv used it in d snow n rain, no slippery, it well built and rugged, i have received a lot of complements on this bike...really a good bike for the price...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
danxtian
Jamaica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great
5/17/2012

Customer review by krislizana

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by krislizana
by krislizana

love it gears weren't adjusted when i got it but they were easy to adjust. went ahead and swapped pedals with aluminum bmx pedals this bike is amazing for $160 i would buy it over and over again:)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
krislizana
allen texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Rubbish seat & front suspension
9/8/2011

Customer review by ILuvApple

4.0 stars 9/8/2011 by ILuvApple
by ILuvApple

I like the overall look of the bike. The all aluminum parts (from the chain, rims, spokes, to the sub -frame) are dependable - I dont need to worry about any rusting part. Liked the paddle shifting/trigger style shimano shifters. suspension are smooth. Disk brake is sturdy and strong - feels like its made from "carbon-ceramic" CONS: ! You CANNOT ride this bike for more than 3 miles straight (unless if you are less than 140 lb. or have replaced the seat) or your buttocks will hurt painfully. I suggest your replace your seat ASAP ! Front suspension is wobbly, not firm. It feels like it wont last long. ! V-brake not so strong as the disk ! small space for your water bottle ! Jerky transmission ! feels heavy than expected - pedaling is a bit heavy bottom line: good value for features (if you like disk brakes and dual suspension for less than $ 150) Not horribly made - feels ok only good for light off road or you'll brake the flimsy front suspension

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ILuvApple
Pullman, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
Genesis V2100 bicycle
4/18/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/18/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I love this bike. bought it 2 days ago and and road 2 miles on it right away and then just got done riding a 6 mi ride, which included dirt rocks grass mud street riding loose gravel and sum choppy rocks i guess supposed to be used as steps...up hill down hill..its a very good bike. i will agree however that the seat is a lil ruff on the tush but its an easy fix...love the suspension. when i was 1st looking for a bike to ride to campus and back home an to take back to idaho and ride rougher trails i didnt really want to spend $400+ for a good good mt bike. this 1 i know i wont be going entirely rough back woodsy but what it handled today i was impressed. and its a very good looking bike.. right when i bought it 2 of my guy friends told me to keep an eye on it otherwise they'd snatch it from me lol good bike

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
st louis, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
I haven't replaced the pedals yet
7/5/2012

Customer review by Stonum

4.0 stars 7/5/2012 by Stonum
by Stonum

Reading the reviews here, i guess I better replace the pedals, but after about 50 miles riding (50% paved with some steep hills, 50% flat crushed limestone), the plastic pedals ain't broke yet. I haven't biked in years. I wanted something comfortable with suspension, so I just grabbed this one from the neighborhood Walmart. I put an "old man" style seat on it, a luggage rack, and peeled off the "hood" looking decals. (see pic.). I'm 57 yrs. old, so I doudt if i'm going to be doing much extreme biking. But it seems good enough for getting some exercise. No problems shifting.I think a lot depends on what Walmart employee assembles the bike. It looks like whoever assembled mine did a decent job. I always soak down the chain and derailers with WD-40 b-4 I take the bike out. If anything happens, I'll update this review.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stonum
St. Louis, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Tough! Cheap!
12/7/2011

Customer review by Jimmy30

4.0 stars 12/7/2011 by Jimmy30
by Jimmy30

This bike is good if you do not do any technical mountain biking. I've had this bike for about 2 months and it has worked great for me. I've put about 70 miles on it and it still works. Would recommend it to anyone who is not a really serious biker, but is someone who just likes to get on the trails and have some fun! I thought the directions where not very good, but if your mechanically incline I think you will have no problem putting it together. Note: You shouldn't have to mess with the derailleur, but if you do have a problem take it to the local bike shop to look at it. I did this and they charged like $4.00 to adjust my front derailleur. The front shock is not the best, but you can't get too much for the money you pay. I hope this helps you out when deciding on a bicycle.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jimmy30
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great bike, low priced
9/16/2010

Customer review by NoSweat

5.0 stars 9/16/2010 by NoSweat
by NoSweat

Great bike being used on the road, assembled at home and tuned at the local store in Canada where the equivalent sells for around $450/-. Ride it everyday, no problems. Worth every buck.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoSweat
Toronto, Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
An Amazing Mountain Bike!
7/12/2011

Customer review by RyGuy4u

5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by RyGuy4u
by RyGuy4u

I’ve had my Genesis V2100 for a couple weeks now and I love it! I had it shipped and it was very easy to put together. For the past few weeks I’ve been on mountain biking trails and through my neighborhood and rough terrain and this bike handles fantastically! One of the best bikes I have ever bought for the money. I would suggest getting a gel seat for the seat and make sure you fine tone the gears but once you do that it is an amazing bike.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RyGuy4u
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great deal!
6/9/2010

Customer review by brhall

5.0 stars 6/9/2010 by brhall
by brhall

Got the bike and put it together very quick, but after assembly and riding was skeptical. It was having trouble switching gears and such, and I know nothing about tuning so I took it to a bike shop where they adjusted and tuned for 10 bucks now runs like a champ, and shifting is amazing with the shimano trigger shifters! If you purchase this bike I highly recommend u get it tuned right after purchase so it can reach it's maximum potential... By the way the shocks on this thing is amazing I can ramp and land and not feel a thing its nuts...

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brhall
Spt, IN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike for the price
7/28/2012

Customer review by mtbingagain

4.0 stars 7/28/2012 by mtbingagain
by mtbingagain

Very happy with this bike. I know my way around bikes so when I bought this I did check it over. Too many bad reviews over bad assembly LOL. I did replace the pedals right away to avoid that problem. And crank arms aren't plastic they are steel with a plastic shell. I gave this 4 stars though cause i had a problem with the rear freewheel hub. Bad one from shimano I gather but was cheap fix. Over great bike for the price and easily upgradable to make a good mountain bike and not spend 1000 being as I have been doing it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mtbingagain
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Well made thus far.
8/1/2010

Customer review by Irvinite

5.0 stars 8/1/2010 by Irvinite
by Irvinite

Well, I bought this bike mostly to ride along with my eight year old daughter and after bolting on a few addons and riding about eight miles, I am pleased with this bike. The suspension seems to be rather functional and does a good job. The front disk brake after some minor adjustments works flawlessly. Over all from 1-10, I give the bike about a 9.5. That's from the 160 bucks range of bicycle's. It sure as heck beats the junky Mongoose's. Just my thought though. Happy riding!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Irvinite
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 276 total reviews
1-20 of 276 reviews