Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 464 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

464 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

464 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
270
4 stars
108
3 stars
40
2 stars
17
1 stars
29
1-20 of 460 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 460 total reviews
1-20 of 460 reviews
Gamechanger!
11/23/2016

Customer review by goheels

5.0 stars 11/23/2016 by goheels
by goheels

Let me start off by saying that I've tried many primers (some of them pretty pricey) so I really wasn't expecting much from this primer. BOY, was I wrong... this stuff blew me away. This is by far the best primer I have ever tried and here's why. This stuff makes my skin feel SO SMOOTH... I couldn't stop petting my face (sounds weird but you'll understand once you try this stuff). This primer is so light and feels like second-skin. No more pores or under-eye creases. I even used this on some rough patches and acne and was able to apply foundation and concealer to cover these problem areas without it looking flakey or cakey. What really blew me away was how flawless my makeup looked after traveling all day. Two flights and 12 hours later, my makeup looked the same as when I applied it that morning! As someone that travels for work, I love not having to worry about touching up my face before walking into a client meeting. This primer is a complete gamechanger for me! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

goheels
Durham, NC
Great for oily skin
11/7/2016

Customer review by andrea1118

4.0 stars 11/7/2016 by andrea1118
by andrea1118

I liked this product because it helps my makeup last a little longer than wearing makeup alone. I have oily/combination skin. My nose and T-zone have so much oil by the end of the day that I could almost start collecting it. I definitely like the mattifying effects of L'Oreal Magic Perfecting Base. I also noticed that my makeup can last a few hours longer into the night (I work 10 hours a day) and is moderately resistant to humid and warm Florida weather. The consistency of the cream also makes it good to apply, and only a little bit of cream is necessary. The drawback about this product is that it comes in a jar. I have long nails and I hate having to dip my finger into a cream or makeup because it gets stuck under my nails. To get around this, I use a sponge to apply this on my face and it works well except that I feel it wastes a little bit of product. Overall, I like using this primer and I would consider using it further. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

andrea1118
Tampa, FL
Different from the Others
11/2/2016

Customer review by battie

3.0 stars 11/2/2016 by battie
by battie

I've used this product several times, and I like it ... but I'm not sure that I would purchase it. Why? The issue is probably with MY skin, not the product, but (for me) it doesn't control oil as advertised. My T-zone (forehead, nose and chin) is pretty oily. I tried the perfecting base with two different brands of liquid foundation, and oil still developed over the course of about three hours. I feel that this product may have provided longer oil control than other primers/bases I've used in the past, but the difference was not outstanding. Despite this disappointment, there are things I like about this base. The consistency is like a thick, whipped mousse. The finish is matte but not heavy. I used it under my eyes as suggested, and it makes my concealer spread easier with less tugging. While the results are not miraculous, I feel like it makes the fine lines around my eyes look better when used with my regular concealer. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

battie
Elmira, OR
Not magic, not perfect
11/8/2016

Customer review by ssecnirpc

2.0 stars 11/8/2016 by ssecnirpc
by ssecnirpc

I'm a makeup junkie, but have yet to find the perfect primer. After trying Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base...I'm still looking. I use my primer over a layer of absorbed moisturizer. Digging into the product, I found I had to do just that...dig in. The product comes in a pot, which is hardly the most sanitary way to apply a product, as my fingers were double dipping (cross contamination with face bacteria? Yuck). The formula felt sticky on my face upon application, but did dry into a nice finish. I felt my face looked smoother after application and the wrinkles around my eyes appeared diminished. After applying my foundation, it looked good...but not really any differently than any other primer. A few hours in, I checked myself out in the mirror...my foundation had creased in all my...well...creases. This sure was keeping my foundation on my wrinkles, but no where else, so my imperfections seemed amplified, not perfected. Overall, it's a "meh" primer. With more sanitary packaging it probably would have earned a 3. But really, not worth it to me. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

ssecnirpc
Hoboken, NJ
Goodbye Pores, Hello New Beauty Bestie!
11/23/2016

Customer review by bekkaboo1

5.0 stars 11/23/2016 by bekkaboo1
by bekkaboo1

So, I had been using the Clarins Instant Smooth Perfecting Touch as my pore filling primer. I loved that stuff. It makes my pores disappear, which isn't an easy feat. I thought it was my holy grail primer. So I was curious to try the L'Oréal Magic Perfecting Base and see how it stacked up against my tried and true Clarins. I opened the jar of the L'Oréal Magic Perfecting Base and noticed right away that it looked just like my Clarins. I tested a little of each side by side on my hand. They felt identical. But did it perform the same? Yes and no. They both work great, but to my surprise, I actually like the L'Oréal better! It seems to fill my pores and blur them just a bit more than the Clarins. And after a little research I found out that L'Oréal Magic Perfecting Base is a third of the price of the Clarins! A third of the price for the exact same amount of product (.5 oz). My mind is blown and I'm a total convert now! Pros: Fills pores and blurs imperfections. Gives a smooth base for makeup to glide over. Makes you look amazing even without makeup! Totally affordable. Cons: None!!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

bekkaboo1
Temple Hills, MD
Nice product for even difficult skin
11/4/2016

Customer review by Nativeaz23

4.0 stars 11/4/2016 by Nativeaz23
by Nativeaz23

I've wanted to find a primer base for the past year, but without much luck. The ones I've tried all break me out after a few days. My skin tends to me sensitive to these types of products and moisturizers. However, this product has not had that effect. I was very impressed with both the consistency, which is smooth and creamy, and the nice smell of the product. It goes on easily, not greasy at all, and makes your skin really soft. I have an oily t-zone and it did remove the shine in that area. Once I applied foundation over it, I felt it does make the foundation go on nicer, no sinking into the pores. I also did not feel the need to use powder over my foundation after application, which I usually do to get the final matte effect. I did not feel that it helped much in concealing discolored spots or dark areas under eyes just on its own, but since it made my foundation stay out of the pores and last longer, it did lengthen the time they were concealed with other products. I would put this on just by itself even, for the smoothing effect, soft feel, and nice smell. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Nativeaz23
Phoenix, AZ
A little cakey for my liking
11/18/2016

Customer review by vanahsmom05

3.0 stars 11/18/2016 by vanahsmom05
by vanahsmom05

After trying this perfecting base for right at a week straight, I was not impressed. Heres why: 1) After applying the base, the dry patches of my skin were more pronounced. 2) No matter what type of foundation I used (liquid, matte, loose powder) my face looked as if I applied several layers of makeup. 3) The product seemed light and fluffy on my fingers, but once I applied it on my face, it seemed to weigh my skin down. I gave this product 3 stars out of 5 because I like the idea that it was trying to accomplish. I have never used a perfecting base and also think that others without dry skin would have better luck. The smell was nice and light, and the color of the product was very neutral. I would suggest adjusting this product to accommodate different skin types instead of just having a matter cream-like texture. Overall this is not a horrible product, just not for me. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

vanahsmom05
Kossuth, MS
Bye bye shine
11/22/2016

Customer review by shorty3692006

5.0 stars 11/22/2016 by shorty3692006
by shorty3692006

Ok I never thought using a base was necessary but then a beauty consultant told me why I should use it. She did half of my face with the base and half without. The side with the base looked so smooth and perfect. She also said using a base will make your foundation last longer because you won't have to use as much to get the desired look. So I bought the one she suggested. I had to use shine blotters a few times a day. My face was always so shiny with a base. But then I tried this one! It's amazing! As soon as you apply it you can immediately feel the difference from other bases. It makes your face feel dry and smooth, image the feel of putting baby powder on your face. This is good because it eliminates shine. I now go all day without blotting. I love it! I would like it to be in a different container because girls with nails will have a difficult time getting it out. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

shorty3692006
Bradenton, FL
Disappointed
10/31/2016

Customer review by Shopper0001

3.0 stars 10/31/2016 by Shopper0001
by Shopper0001

When I received the magic perfecting base I was very excited to try it. I used it for a couple of days. My first impression of the base is that it's a very airy light formula. It felt like a lot of it was being dissolved into the skin on my fingers when I took it from the jar and put it on my face. I applied it under my makeup and was pleased with how lightweight it felt, coupled with a nongreasy feeling. The only issue I have with this product, which is so very disappointing, is that it made my sensitive skin break out and it dried out my skin. I would continue using the product if it didn't have such a negative impact on my skin. If you are a person who does not have sensitive skin or who does not worry about dry skin than I would recommend this product. It really feels very luxurious and like it should be from a department store make up brand instead of a much more affordable drugstore brand. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Shopper0001
West Wyoming, PA
Just magic
10/31/2016

Customer review by Lybbn78

5.0 stars 10/31/2016 by Lybbn78
by Lybbn78

I don't typically use a primer or base before putting on makeup but I think I might have to change that. Most primers I have attempted before had a silicone feel to it that just made my face feel slippery. I tried the Magic Perfecting Base and it seriously is the best thing I can put on under makeup! I put it on a clean face and it felt so soft, almost like a powder, but not slippery. It smoothed over my face easily and I didn't need a lot of product, just a few dots around smoothed in. My face looked a little matte, which is exactly what I was hoping for. I then added a light foundation and skipped powder, it just had the coverage I wanted. My pores weren't 100% covered up but they were significantly less noticeable. I did follow with a setting spray as well. Throughout the day, my face didn't get an oily glow (it usually does) and my makeup stayed put. The jar it came in made it easy to get just the amount needed and I'll easily be able to use every last bit of it since it's not in a tube. I just can't wait to try this again when I'm in hot weather to really put it to the test! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Lybbn78
Bothell, WA
Love the Professional Magic Perfecting Base!
10/27/2016

Customer review by Nicolejarrell11

5.0 stars 10/27/2016 by Nicolejarrell11
by Nicolejarrell11

I was skeptical at first to be honest I never really thought using a base primer really mattered. I have used others and I didn't really notice a difference after I applied my makeup. Starting with the packaging, it is appealing and I like the fact of the jar instead of a tube I feel like you can estimate better on how much is left! On the other hand I don't have nails really for it to get under so keep that in mind. Once I opened it looks thick and creamy so I was a little concerned but once I started putting little dots across my face and blending it in I was amazed by how light it was and the difference instantly! I love how it made my skin feel and the finished look before my makeup. Then after applying my foundation I loved it even more! The soft finish it gives it made my face look better than ever before with my makeup done! Just remember a little of this product goes a long way! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Nicolejarrell11
Columbus, OH
Awful!!! Did I get a damaged product?
1/19/2017

Customer review by Dmas14

1.0 stars 1/19/2017 by Dmas14
by Dmas14

Before I even opened the jar, I could see inconsistencies in the jar, air pockets - looked like a lot of product was missing and the formula looked super foamy! Weird texture, felt a bit gritty on the skin. Washed it off immediately. No thanks. Photos are before use. Product didn't look right to begin with.

Comment from - 1/20/2017

We are sorry to hear this and would love to help! Please call us @ 888.448.9617 M-F 9am-5:30pm EST and give the reference number 2015507. We look forward to making this right!

Dmas14
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
awesome base
11/4/2016

Customer review by tinadevilledavis

5.0 stars 11/4/2016 by tinadevilledavis
by tinadevilledavis

First off, let me just say this product does exactly what it says it does. It provides a smooth surface to your skin prior to applying any foundation. It literally glides on to the skin. I haven't encountered any breakouts from this product being I have VERY sensitive skin. After reading a lot of reviews on this product, and hearing many people suffered breakouts from it worried me. I'm glad I finally did buy it because I'm satisfied. It does not change the color of your foundation or your concealer. Also, a little goes a long way being it is so creamy. The texture feels wonderful on the skin. I find it an excellent base under concealers for anyone who constantly gets the creasing in fine lines. Every product works differently on different skin types. I'm still addicted to my smashbox primer and i still use it but again this is a base, not a primer! Their two completely different products. This base is suppose to provide a more smooth and flawless look whereas a primer is to help keep your makeup in tact longer. I hope this review helped and to anyone in doubt, just give it a try. I give it a 10! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

tinadevilledavis
Ville Platte, LA
Mixed review
11/16/2016

Customer review by gragglet

3.0 stars 11/16/2016 by gragglet
by gragglet

I really liked the results I got with this one. It left my face looking smooth and soft, particularly before applying the rest of my make-up. The results were better than the other primers I've tried to date. BUT, I had three deal-breaker problems with it. 1) After about 4-6 hours, it began to feel very greasy. 2) While it looked great before make-up, it made my foundation lay oddly. This may be due to the fact that I use a tinted moisturizer, not a traditional foundation. It almost seemed to sit on top of my skin instead of blending nicely. 3) The biggest problem, it caused minor breakouts. I stopped using it for a few days and then tried again with the same result. This probably has less to do with the product and more to do with my sensitive skin. While I probably won't purchase or use regularly myself, I would recommend giving it a try. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

gragglet
Nashville, TN
Perfecting Base
11/21/2016

Customer review by jillcutright5

3.0 stars 11/21/2016 by jillcutright5
by jillcutright5

When I first received the package in the mail, I was so excited to try this new item. When it comes to make up, I am a very minimalist. Usually just eye liner and mascara with chapstick, but i thought this base would be a good fit for me as well. When looking at the little jar, you wonder how many uses you are going to get out of it. With the little jar, you will get a lot of uses out of it. A little goes a long way. The texture of the base is light a fluffy, but does leave a slight film on your hands. But also makes them soft. When applying to your face, it initially left my face red (I was probably rubbing in circles to hard). But within a few minutes it was nice and smooth and felt great like there was nothing on the skin. I then applied my powder foundation. After wearing the base for a few hours it made my skin feel more oily than it normally would have. But on appearance it wasn't more oily. I tried it again a few days later just by itself and the same thing happened, felt oily but didn't appear oily. I rated it a three because it felt great going on being light and fluffy but feeling oily after a few hours doesn't get the mark. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

jillcutright5
Saint Peters, MO
3/29/2014

Customer review by Catraven

4.0 stars 3/29/2014 by Catraven
by Catraven

UNREAL! The best skin perfector on the planet! Your skin is flawless and it lasts until you take it off. I had to go to an outdoor wedding in the middle of August. It was in the 90s and sunny. Every flaw, pore, pimple, blackhead, acne scar would be crystal clear in that raw sun and heat no matter how much makeup I used. I found this two days before and gave it a test run working in the garden. You put it on sparingly. Wait a couple minutes and then your normal foundation, less than you use usually, then however you like to do your eyes, lips and cheeks. Lasts the entire time no matter what. Only reason I did not give 5 stars is you have to use foundation over it(can't be used alone because it is a primer), and eventhough it's noncomedogenic, you have to make sure you properly clease your face before and after use. It is amazing but it is not a cure for all the problems it solves. Great for while you are in the process of using the proper products to improve your skin.

Catraven
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Absolutely Love !
11/9/2016

Customer review by Crisol702

5.0 stars 11/9/2016 by Crisol702
by Crisol702

I was really excited when I found out I was receiving this product. I really love keeping up to date with new makeup products, and being able to try them out for free thanks to Bzzagent is amazing ! So thank you ! The product itself is great, I really love the consistency of it. When I first tried it I noticed that it was very smooth and creamy, it felt very rich and silky. As I applied it on to my skin it went on smoothly, I didn't need to apply much product, a little goes a long way. That is one of the main reasons I like it so much. It is a great base before putting on your foundation, works as a great primer and my pores appear to seem smaller thanks to this product. I have really dry skin so it felt refreshing on my skin, it did not dry it out which many products do. I really love it, I started using it daily. I would definitely buy again ! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Crisol702
Las Vegas, NV
Velvety smooth primer
11/14/2016

Customer review by Crzyswtgirol

4.0 stars 11/14/2016 by Crzyswtgirol
by Crzyswtgirol

I have been using this primer for a week under both drugstore and high end foundations. There was no difference in either foundations and the finishing was matte, smooth and flawless looking skin. I usually wear foundations for about 10-12 hours a day and my makeup lasted very well throughout the whole day. My skin stayed matte and smooth all day. My skin is both oily and dry. I gave it a 4 star because it clinged and exaggerated my dry spots even after moisturizing my skin. However, it kept my oily spots matte and the oil never once broke through the foundation. The primer has no smell and the texture is velvety, creamy and smooth. I would highly recommend this primer for people with oily skin and for people with dry skin to either apply a thicker moisture creme before primer or just the wear the primer alone. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Crzyswtgirol
Elkton, MD
Perfecting Base
11/16/2016

Customer review by dhwaniko

3.0 stars 11/16/2016 by dhwaniko
by dhwaniko

There are pros and cons to the Magic Perfecting Base: Appearance: I love the look of the jar. It has the appearance of a more high end product. However, I don't like having to stick my fingers in each time. I later started using a brush, which was helpful. Or, it should come with an application tool! Consistency: The consistency is very light and fluffy. It seemed thick when I first touched it, but it felt nice on the skin. This is good for me, because I apply toner, a face oil, moisturizer, and then the primer. I definitely did not want to feel "layered up." Application: The primer goes on smoothly. I learned, after a few applications, that I needed to wait about 5 minutes before going in with foundation. Otherwise, my face looked cakey! I absolutely hated that part. Definitely give a few minutes for the primer to sink into the skin before applying makeup. Afterwards, I did feel that my makeup lasted longer, skin looked smoother, and looked more "put together" overall on days when I applied the primer than on days when I did not apply the primer. Overall, I would purchase the Perfecting Base again. It is more affordable than other products and gets the job done well! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

dhwaniko
Tempe, AZ
Love the coverage!
11/7/2016

Customer review by debima

4.0 stars 11/7/2016 by debima
by debima

I don't generally use a base with my make-up, but I tried Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base and I love the results. It really does even out my skin-tone and gives me a more flawless look. I don't generally want to use a long list of facial products on a daily basis, but I would gladly incorporate this into my daily regimen. I used my usual facial moisturizer and once that had dried, I used a small amount of the base on my cheeks, forehead, and under my eyes. It's not greasy. The only problem I had was the shape of the container. I use my fingers to apply and the jar is a little too narrow. Once I get further down into the container it will be harder to get the cream out. However, for now, i'm just really happy with the look that it gives me and I will gladly continue to use the SSPMPB. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

debima
Minneapolis, MN
1-20 of 460 total reviews
1-20 of 460 reviews