Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 469 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

469 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

469 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
274
4 stars
108
3 stars
41
2 stars
17
1 stars
29
1-20 of 465 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 465 total reviews
1-20 of 465 reviews
Awful!!! Did I get a damaged product?
1/19/2017

Customer review by Dmas14

1.0 stars 1/19/2017 by Dmas14
by Dmas14

Before I even opened the jar, I could see inconsistencies in the jar, air pockets - looked like a lot of product was missing and the formula looked super foamy! Weird texture, felt a bit gritty on the skin. Washed it off immediately. No thanks. Photos are before use. Product didn't look right to begin with.

Comment from - 1/20/2017

We are sorry to hear this and would love to help! Please call us @ 888.448.9617 M-F 9am-5:30pm EST and give the reference number 2015507. We look forward to making this right!

Dmas14
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
L'Oreal Magic Perfecting Base 0.5oz
10/1/2016

Customer review by 2GreenEyes4u

5.0 stars 10/1/2016 by 2GreenEyes4u
by 2GreenEyes4u
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This perfecting base with sunscreen in it, leaves me face so silky soft before applying L'Oreal Infallibles makeup! I first learned of it from the professional makeup artist tutorial from ENTERTAINMENT TONIGHT with Mario Lopez, I bought some other L'Oreal products they recommended as well. Goes on so smooth and stays that way, makeup doesn't crack or shift with your daily facial expressions. LOVE IT! Pat B. from El Cajon, CA. (age63)

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2GreenEyes4u
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
How did I ever go without this stuff??
6/2/2011

Customer review by Tryxie

5.0 stars 6/2/2011 by Tryxie
by Tryxie
Walmart associate

I had read a lot of good things about using face primers and decided to give it a try. They are all expensive, but it is worth the money! Dab it on your face and blend in and it instantly makes your face feel satin smooth. I give it about 60 seconds to dry and then put on my foundation. The primer makes it go on smooth and gives your foundation a nice matte look, instead of a shiny look. The primer also gives you great coverage from dark spots, acne and acne scars. It keeps your makeup looking great all day because it creates a barrier between your pores and your makeup, so it won't sink into your pores and wipe away. I wouldn't do my makeup without it now.

Was this review helpful? (191) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tryxie
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Walmart associate
Gamechanger!
11/23/2016

Customer review by goheels

5.0 stars 11/23/2016 by goheels
by goheels

Let me start off by saying that I've tried many primers (some of them pretty pricey) so I really wasn't expecting much from this primer. BOY, was I wrong... this stuff blew me away. This is by far the best primer I have ever tried and here's why. This stuff makes my skin feel SO SMOOTH... I couldn't stop petting my face (sounds weird but you'll understand once you try this stuff). This primer is so light and feels like second-skin. No more pores or under-eye creases. I even used this on some rough patches and acne and was able to apply foundation and concealer to cover these problem areas without it looking flakey or cakey. What really blew me away was how flawless my makeup looked after traveling all day. Two flights and 12 hours later, my makeup looked the same as when I applied it that morning! As someone that travels for work, I love not having to worry about touching up my face before walking into a client meeting. This primer is a complete gamechanger for me! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

goheels
Durham, NC
Received free product:Yes
I can't believe how well this product works
10/7/2011

Customer review by TimeToBe

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by TimeToBe
by TimeToBe

I never write reviews but I felt I needed to give props where a compliment was due. I love this product! I have been trying to minimize my pores on my face for quite awhile to know avail. I bought this product hoping that it would help cover them before I put on my foundation. And that is exactly what it did. I did not need to use a lot. I just dabbed my pinky into the container and then spread it over my face. A little bit goes a long way. Instantly my face looked flawless - I could not believe it. When I went to work, I received a lot of "I don't know why you look different but you do" compliments. Incredible product at an incredible price. if I could give this product more than 5 stars, I would.

Was this review helpful? (96) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TimeToBe
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
good product
5/20/2011

Customer review by annabree

4.0 stars 5/20/2011 by annabree
by annabree

This is a very good product, i have only tried two primers, this and mary kay primer. This product beats Mary Kay by miles! I have combination skin. Some days it's oily, some days it is dry. Either way this primer helps keep my makeup PERFECT! It helps hide the dry skin and it keeps my oily skin less oily! It is a little high but it is worth it when i do not have to check the mirror every hour to make sure that i don't have patches of makeup on my skin!!

Was this review helpful? (116) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
annabree
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
help where you need it
9/26/2011

Customer review by imn2jesus

5.0 stars 9/26/2011 by imn2jesus
by imn2jesus

i have acne scars besides being 60 um something and this stuff really works. Try it you"ll love it. Just like l'oreal to keep making great affordable beauty products!

Was this review helpful? (79) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
imn2jesus
wesson.ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Best Primer
5/1/2017

Customer review by Lindseyyy

5.0 stars 5/1/2017 by Lindseyyy
by Lindseyyy

I've used this primer for several years now and cannot part from it! Works just as good or not better than any high-end primer and for a great price! It is a tricky to get just the right amount because a little goes a long way and it's easy to put too much on and then it will start to cake up. As long as you apply it in small amounts it'll go on great!

Lindseyyy
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Eye color:Green
Gender:Female
L'Oreal, Prof. Magic Perfect Primer is PERFECT!
12/3/2011

Customer review by RlGEL

5.0 stars 12/3/2011 by RlGEL
by RlGEL

This Primer is the best new makeup product I've come across in over a decade! I got it as a sample from WalMart. I was skeptical but I was truly AMAZED at what a good job it did smoothing out my enlarged pores and camouflage my 'age spots'. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RlGEL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Awesome stuff.
1/31/2012

Customer review by jenilynevette

5.0 stars 1/31/2012 by jenilynevette
by jenilynevette
Top 100 contributor

First off, this is [obviously] a face primer. I've used many more expensive brands and this stuff is either equal or better than the rest. It hides all those fine lines [even for those young folks!], large pores and skin imperfections and makes a perfect base for applying makeup. You can even apply this and then buff in a power and you still look awesome. I will def. be purchasing this again. I get comments on how nice my flawless my skin looks, I always say it's from this product.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jenilynevette
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Top 100 contributor
Not Doing Much For Me
8/20/2012

Customer review by shparts

3.0 stars 8/20/2012 by shparts
by shparts

I usually do not use any primer. I've combination oily skin and I use Revlon ColorStay foundation which lasts all day without any primer itself. I am Asian, I do not have large pores, nor dark spots. I do have some small freckles across my nose, but I've never tried to cover them up. Upon putting this primer all over my face, I can see it make my face a bit lighter in shade. It does not go well with the Revlon foundation though. Without the primer the foundation goes on easily, with this primer, it leaves strikes, hard to even out. How I am going to say this, like if you use a pencil to draw on a regular paper, it's easy. But if you make the paper as smooth as glass and then use to pencil to draw on it, it's hard to leave a mark. Another thing is this product will not hold well if you sweat a lot which is my case, since I live in FL, and I love outdoors. It's better of to use milk of megnesia, which absorb oil and sweat efficiently. BTW, if you've never heard of using milk of megnesia as primer, go on YouTube to find out, it's like a wonder.

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shparts
Deltona, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Great Product
3/14/2017

Customer review by MeKay

5.0 stars 3/14/2017 by MeKay
by MeKay
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MeKay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good primer
2/14/2017

Customer review by SRHes

4.0 stars 2/14/2017 by SRHes
by SRHes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wear this only in my oily T-zone, as that's where I have the largest pores and where I need a product that mattifies too, such as this product. I wear this as a standalone product. I had recently been using a primer that cost twice as much as this one. This one does a pretty good job as well. The only thing I notice sometimes, depending on which moisturizer I wear underneath it, is that after I apply this primer, I might have to go back 5 or 10 minutes later and rub what was already applied in again for a couple seconds. Then it's good to go for the whole day. Overall, I like this product!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SRHes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/8/2011

Customer review by Jazzi3372

5.0 stars 12/8/2011 by Jazzi3372
by Jazzi3372

This product is so worth it, I seriously cant leave my house without putting this on. It leaves your face feeling silky smooth and your makeup looking great and long lasting and not oily or greasy. I even put a dab on my eyelids for my eye shadow not to crease and look messy after work. I use to bring my makeup to work to do some re touches and now i dont have to because it ACTUALLY stays on, I'm so glad i bought this product :) !!

Was this review helpful? (36) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jazzi3372
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
My Godsend!
12/17/2012

Customer review by SNikic

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by SNikic
by SNikic

I have normal skin, not dry, not oily... but I do have pot holes, big pores and blackheads and there just doesn't seem to be anything I can do about it. I also have freckles and a birthmark, dark spots, when I'm oh natural, you can also see veins. I start with neutrogena pore minimizing toner, dry, neutrogena oil free lotion, dry, magic perfecting base primer- applied generously over my problem areas and very well blended (and quickly). Dry completely (all these drying sessions can be rushed with a hair dryer or go pick out your clothes, etc. Then, if you have skin like mine or dry skin, liquid foundation, my fav is L'Oreal's True Match, awesome color palette, super blendable, great coverage, wears well, competes with some of the big boys at a fraction of the cost. If you have combination or oily skin or are prone to breakouts, you should find a good powder foundation, again, the True Match may work, but if you have sensitive or acne prone skin, it may be harder to find the right one. You can set you look with a loose translucent setting powder, L'Oreal sells that too. All I can tell you is that this stuff has been a blessing to me, I can't live with out it, it even my skin out so amazingly. It fills in all those pot holes without causing acne. It makes everything smooth and matte, fresh faced, even toned, if I don't have time for any makeup, if I can at least get that on, I look much much better. But although it is basically colorless, it is kinda whitish pink, which is what i am, so it looks great on me, I'm not sure exactly how it wears solo on darker skins, I do know that it works perfectly under any color makeup. I do spray tans all the time and have a dark set of foundation, does great with it too. I think this stuff is amazing, priced very fairly for how long it lasts and well it works and THANK YOU L'Oreal! Please don't stop making it!!!! Sorry I don't have time for proofreading, I have kids. Hope this helped somebody.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SNikic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Under makeup
3/7/2017

Customer review by Kristi4e

5.0 stars 3/7/2017 by Kristi4e
by Kristi4e

Really makes a difference in making your skin look smooth. Hides large pores and fine lines.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kristi4e
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful Product
6/25/2012

Customer review by rainstained

5.0 stars 6/25/2012 by rainstained
by rainstained

I have a lot of allergies so it's hard for me to even find makeup that I can use. When I found this I found it at Dollar General and it was reasonably priced there. I used this product and it was so simple to apply that I was awestruck. My face can be blotchy sometimes and I was just looking for something to mask that a bit, this product makes me feel beautiful one the outside. I do not wear foundation with it and I know that's what it's for but I was so happy with the way this looked on it's own I found I didn't need the foundation. It is a smooth base coat and not much is needed when applying it otherwise it's too greasy. I'm so glad to find a must have item for my makeup collection. My advice though is to try it in the smaller version you can get at dollar general first before purchasing the bigger product they sell here.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rainstained
rainstained
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
3/29/2014

Customer review by Catraven

4.0 stars 3/29/2014 by Catraven
by Catraven

UNREAL! The best skin perfector on the planet! Your skin is flawless and it lasts until you take it off. I had to go to an outdoor wedding in the middle of August. It was in the 90s and sunny. Every flaw, pore, pimple, blackhead, acne scar would be crystal clear in that raw sun and heat no matter how much makeup I used. I found this two days before and gave it a test run working in the garden. You put it on sparingly. Wait a couple minutes and then your normal foundation, less than you use usually, then however you like to do your eyes, lips and cheeks. Lasts the entire time no matter what. Only reason I did not give 5 stars is you have to use foundation over it(can't be used alone because it is a primer), and eventhough it's noncomedogenic, you have to make sure you properly clease your face before and after use. It is amazing but it is not a cure for all the problems it solves. Great for while you are in the process of using the proper products to improve your skin.

Catraven
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for oily skin
11/7/2016

Customer review by andrea1118

4.0 stars 11/7/2016 by andrea1118
by andrea1118

I liked this product because it helps my makeup last a little longer than wearing makeup alone. I have oily/combination skin. My nose and T-zone have so much oil by the end of the day that I could almost start collecting it. I definitely like the mattifying effects of L'Oreal Magic Perfecting Base. I also noticed that my makeup can last a few hours longer into the night (I work 10 hours a day) and is moderately resistant to humid and warm Florida weather. The consistency of the cream also makes it good to apply, and only a little bit of cream is necessary. The drawback about this product is that it comes in a jar. I have long nails and I hate having to dip my finger into a cream or makeup because it gets stuck under my nails. To get around this, I use a sponge to apply this on my face and it works well except that I feel it wastes a little bit of product. Overall, I like using this primer and I would consider using it further. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

andrea1118
Tampa, FL
Received free product:Yes
Different from the Others
11/2/2016

Customer review by battie

3.0 stars 11/2/2016 by battie
by battie

I've used this product several times, and I like it ... but I'm not sure that I would purchase it. Why? The issue is probably with MY skin, not the product, but (for me) it doesn't control oil as advertised. My T-zone (forehead, nose and chin) is pretty oily. I tried the perfecting base with two different brands of liquid foundation, and oil still developed over the course of about three hours. I feel that this product may have provided longer oil control than other primers/bases I've used in the past, but the difference was not outstanding. Despite this disappointment, there are things I like about this base. The consistency is like a thick, whipped mousse. The finish is matte but not heavy. I used it under my eyes as suggested, and it makes my concealer spread easier with less tugging. While the results are not miraculous, I feel like it makes the fine lines around my eyes look better when used with my regular concealer. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

battie
Elmira, OR
Received free product:Yes
1-20 of 465 total reviews
1-20 of 465 reviews