Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 607 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

607 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

607 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
334
4 stars
82
3 stars
39
2 stars
30
1 stars
122
1-20 of 600 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 600 total reviews
1-20 of 600 reviews
VERY NATURAL
10/10/2012

Customer review by Nancy27

5.0 stars 10/10/2012 by Nancy27
by Nancy27

I used the Loreal paris superior preference Medium ash brown on my hair , before applying the dye my hair was very washed out looking from previously putting on nice and easy light ash brown which didnt last long and left it dull and with a orange tint :/ after using this my hair is finnly back to my natural medium brown hair color. It does still have a hint of red when the light hits it which is to be expected I suppose that happens with all brown shades. the ash did take out of orange tint and made it very natural. It did not damage my hair as a matter of fact it feels healthier for some reason. I was thinking my hair was rough from my hard water and wonder if this dye removed the mineral build up from my hair lol because it is so much smoother. I just started using the Lorial cleansing conditioner and love it and I think it will make this color stay in my hair alott longer than if I were to be using my old tresseme with the sulfates in it. Anyway very true to the box color and very natural and undamaging hair dye ;)

Was this review helpful? (49) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nancy27
Waxahachie TX.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Very Natural
6/14/2016

Customer review by KKay

5.0 stars 6/14/2016 by KKay
by KKay

I am a natural 7G Blonde, that's Blonde with a reddish brown undertone. I tried the 8G hair dye and was amazed at how natural it looks. It hyper lightened my natural highlights, so artificial ones will be unnecessary. It looks like my natural shade with the brown removed. So it's not a dramatic difference.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KKay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT PRODUCT BUT NOT ALL SHADES AVAILABLE
7/11/2013

Customer review by MamaLovesABargain

5.0 stars 7/11/2013 by MamaLovesABargain
by MamaLovesABargain

I have used L'Oreal Superior Preference for a long time and it is a terrific product. The conditioner provided leaves your hair so soft, shiny and nice smelling when you are done, the color is fabulous and lasts quite a long time before I need to re-color. ONE PROBLEM!! Walmart does NOT sell MY SHADE!! I use a gorgeous intense red called RR07 INTENSE RED COPPER WARMER ... Walmart needs to offer more shades in this great product!

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaLovesABargain
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Light Auburn Brown 6AM
7/21/2014

Customer review by agnesbitt

5.0 stars 7/21/2014 by agnesbitt
by agnesbitt

I've been using this brand and this shade since 2009! I've never had any issue or dye job gone wrong. I have natural dark strawberry blonde hair and it doesn't look good on me at all. When I decided to go a few shades darker, I chose 6AM. It was simple to do at home and my color always turns out gorgeous and shinny. The color last and last. I'll never use any other shade OR brand!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
agnesbitt
Hillsboro, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
7/20/2016

Customer review by alex0203

3.0 stars 7/20/2016 by alex0203
by alex0203

So my hair color was somewhere between 7LA Lightest Auburn and 7A Dark Ash Blonde (that weird fading color phase) Anyways, I was pretty disappointed in this color. I figured by looking at the side panel color chart that this would be the right color to get somewhere near a darker Amy Pond type color. I had high hopes but after my hair dried and was rinsed I was upset to find that it only covered my roots (at their natural light to medium blonde shade.) Even though I did get some red color on my roots I was upset about the fact that it was the same ugly shade my hair was at. I though that this color would give me a red copper color but instead it gave me a weird brown with a hint of red instead. Figured I would redye before going to South Africa on vacation. Sad to say ill either have to attempt redoing with Garnier's 76 Rich Auburn Blonde or go on vacation with dull reddish brown hair. The reason I gave it three stars was due to the fact the formula went on nice and easily.

alex0203
Would recommend to a friend? No
8/18/2016

Customer review by DogMa

5.0 stars 8/18/2016 by DogMa
by DogMa

I usually use "professional" color from Sally's but tried 7-1/2A when I was away on vacation and wanted to apply lowlights to my platinum hair. I was VERY pleased! The scent is gentle compared to my old brand & even though I shampooed after processing (hotel towels), the color was exactly like on the front of the box and has lasted beautifully for three weeks now without fading. Best of all the ash is solid - no brassiness whatsoever (unlike what I was using before). Great hair color!!

DogMa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
love the conditioner
5/26/2016

Customer review by Valy

4.0 stars 5/26/2016 by Valy
by Valy

The tube of conditioner that comes with the dye is amazing!!! I have hair down to a little past my elbow and I o my have to use about a nickel size amount of the conditioner and my hair instantly smells good and detangles my hair better than any other product I have used!! Can I buy this conditioner in a larger bottle!?!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Valy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST HAIR COLOR ON THE MARKET
4/10/2016

Customer review by DG65

5.0 stars 4/10/2016 by DG65
by DG65

I RECENTLY SWITCHED FROM NICE'N'EASY TO LOREAL PREFERANCE MEDIUM ASH BROWN - 5A. WHAT A DIFFERENCE. COLOR IS VERY CLOSE TO MY NATURAL COLOR, DOESN'T LEAVE AN ORANGY TINT AS IT FADES OUT AND DOESN'T FADE OUT AS QUICKLY AS OTHER HAIR COLORING PRODUCTS DO. HAIR FEELS AND LOOKS VERY SOFT, SHINY AND NATURAL. IT MAY COST A LITTLE MORE THAN OTHER PRODUCTS OF THIS TYPE BUT IT'S WORTH IT - THE RESULTS PROVE IT. WILL NEVER AGAIN USE ANY OTHER HAIR COLORING PRODUCT. FYI: IF YOU ARE TRYING TO COVER SOME GREY HAIR - IF YOU LET THE COLOR SET IN THE BOTTLE TILL IT TURNS DARK THEN PUT IT ON GREY AREAS AND LET IT SET FOR 10 MINUTES IT WILL COVER THE GREY, THEN JUST REDO THE GREA AREAS AND CONTINUE TO FINISH THE REST OF YOUR HAIR, AND USE YOUR JUDGEMENT ON HOW LONG YOU WANT TO LEAVE IT ON THE REST OF YOUR HAIR.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DG65
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dye didn't color my hair at all.
8/5/2016

Customer review by bt27

1.0 stars 8/5/2016 by bt27
by bt27

I used this hair color not even a week ago and my hair has already faded and you can see my blond again. It did not stay on my hair like it states.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bt27
Would recommend to a friend? No
2/25/2013

Customer review by Sndee

5.0 stars 2/25/2013 by Sndee
by Sndee

L"Oreal Sun Kissed Caramels work great to go from black hair to light brown without damaging my hair.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sndee
Vista,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
GORGEOUS EVEN COLOR...EVEN THE GRAY
6/27/2016

Customer review by Poconocustomer

5.0 stars 6/27/2016 by Poconocustomer
by Poconocustomer

I love to play with color on my hair...so I used Medium Golden Brown...and since I have a little red highlights in my hair...OMG the color is superior to any I have used in the past...gorgeous with a capitol "G"....then I put a blonde hairlightened color throughout and boy...oh boy...something that I never thought of...another gorgeous color...looks like I paid thousands from a salon...and I cut my hair in a long pixie, too...and all the colors mix together beautifully. My normal hair color is Med Brown...so I can go golden...ash or red and the highlights will be different each time... Buy it...you won't be disappointed...follow the instructions and you are good to go in 30 minutes to gorgeous...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Poconocustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Used for years!
7/17/2016

Customer review by Lori

5.0 stars 7/17/2016 by Lori
by Lori
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used this product for the past 3 years. While I do not yet have any grays, I did notice that my hair didn't have the shine and luster as when I was younger. This color is close to my natural color and gives my hair the "boost" it needed. I use this product 3-4 times a year. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lori
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/11/2016

Customer review by lambmomma

5.0 stars 7/11/2016 by lambmomma
by lambmomma

I love this color! I have had very many compliments on my hair. The only down fall is that I cannot find this color anywhere! Now I have to order this color on line. Very disappointing.

lambmomma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/23/2016

Customer review by Ronnee

3.0 stars 3/23/2016 by Ronnee
by Ronnee

I have been home coloring my hair for over 5 years. I have tried several brands but L'Oreal seems to be the best at covering my grays. I am a natural brunette and often use medium brown shades. I decided to try the new Cool Darkest Brown. I was nervous at first that it would be too dark against my fair skin. I was VERY pleased with the color. It seemed very natural and I have received multiple compliments on it. It's been just over 3 weeks and the grays around my hairline and temples are starting to show but this seems to happen no matter what I try. The one negative for me was that the application process seemed messier than usual. I had many drips during application that fell on my face, clothes, counter, even the floor. I always put a towel around me and wear old clothes. Thank goodness I did otherwise they would have been ruined for sure. That is why I gave it 3 stars instead of 4.

Ronnee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/28/2014

Customer review by yumsy

4.0 stars 1/28/2014 by yumsy
by yumsy

This is for UL51 I am asian with black hair and this worked to dye it a medium/ dark brown. I wouldnt say it looks ashy but it wasn't orangey either. It's more of a warm brown though, I'm sure if I had lighter hair it would have different results since asian black hair has alot of red undertone. Well at first I colored it and it only lifted my roots to the brown and my ends were still dark however I REALIZED that I DYED IT black months ago and it cannot lift permanent dark dye. So I went to sallys to get a color corrector/lifter and color corrected the ends only, my hair came out brown and I colored it with the dye on the ends and it all matches now lol!! So if you have VIRGIN DARK HAIR it WILL WORK but if you have dyed your hair dark and trying to go light you will have to strip it first then dye it or bleach. I love this and will stock up on it!! Thanks loreal don't ever stop making this one!! Please make one that will be super ashy for black color hair!!

yumsy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/12/2013

Customer review by Lynn67

5.0 stars 3/12/2013 by Lynn67
by Lynn67

My natural hair is a dirty blond. I had applied Sublime Mousse 7 Dark Blond last year. I was unhappy with the muddiness, so I went to a salon and had it highlighted...stylist botched it...very large chunky highlights about 1 1/2 in from roots!! I then applied SAMY 7 1/2 A to that, thinking it would cover botched highlights it turned my hair very dark with a green tone. I then used Sublime Mousse Med Golden Blonde....it turned the roots bright yellow and the ends dark orange-brown. I then had it toned at a salon in Redken Irish Creme demi. I think it made it more orange, especially in incandescent light. I saw the Paris Couture 8RG, and thought maybe I needed the rose to cancel the ash out and blend the gold, yellow, and now, my natural roots. It came out BEAUTIFUL!!! It is very similar to my natural color of Medium to Dark Neutral Golden Blonde!! It is soft and shiny, and I am back to being my "Sunshiney" self! Thank you, L'Oreal, for making such a great product. Please, never, never discontinue this beautiful shade

Lynn67
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pleasantly Surprised!!! 8RG Rose Gold Blond
9/28/2013

Customer review by BusyNurse5

4.0 stars 9/28/2013 by BusyNurse5
by BusyNurse5

I've colored with other brands but always stayed with brown tones. I went blond for the summer but had horrible roots and wanted to save 100.00 salon fee. Was fully prepared to go running to my hairdresser begging forgiveness. I followed instructions and started with roots. Added all over about the last ten mins. Wow! No orange brassy roots. Blended incredibly well with my old highlights! Not the flat color I expected. Soft shine and did not burn scalp. I will be coloring at home in 4-6 weeks with Loreal. If results like this continue I will be saving a lot of money on salon services!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BusyNurse5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
10/12/2014

Customer review by Vabluegrass

5.0 stars 10/12/2014 by Vabluegrass
by Vabluegrass

I've been coloring my hair for years. I love this product. My natural color is dark brown so I use the 4 Dark Brown to color my hair. I love the color but have figured out over time that I have to leave the color in longer than the recommended time. Since I have a moderate amount of gray hair, the instructions say to leave the product on for 35 minutes. Also, since I am basically just trying to keep the same color over time, I use the instructions for touching up roots, applying color onto new growth at roots only, working from the front to the back of the head. After I've had the product on all of my roots for 35 minutes, I work the color through to ends for an additional 5 minutes. This makes for a total time of 40 minutes with color on my hair which seems excessive but it works perfectly for me. I have wavy hair that is of medium thickness. One of the best things about this product is the conditioner that comes with it. It's da bomb! Also be sure to use a shampoo that is mean't for colored hair, i.e. Sulfate-Free shampoos.

Vabluegrass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/31/2013

Customer review by 1barbiej

5.0 stars 8/31/2013 by 1barbiej
by 1barbiej

I absolutely love this hair color. It was the first time I ever colored my hair. When I was trying to choose a product, a woman in the store suggested I try this one. She uses it and said it was easy. I matched my hair to the color chart, trying to get as close to my color as possible since I mainly wanted to keep my color and cover a small amount of gray. I was nervous the first time but the instructions were very clear and I found a video on YouTube with a woman using the same product and it looked easy enough so I tryed it. I have very long hair and I had plenty to saturate all my hair. It came out exactly like the color I chose! It was pretty easy to do, just messy. The second time I used it, I made sure I covered up well so I didn't get it on my skin. My hair came out so soft and bouncy. It looks better and healthier than it did before. I will definetely use this product again and would highly recommend it, even to first time users like me!

1barbiej
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/15/2014

Customer review by BrandyW

5.0 stars 7/15/2014 by BrandyW
by BrandyW

I love this shade! I've used it for 5+ years with the exception of the past 2 years, in which I decided I needed a change and went redhead. My natural color is very close to this shade on the box. A dark chocolate brown with a red tint to it in the sunlight. I started going grey in high school so this became my go-to shade. It covers grey wonderfully and without the very noticeable lighter hue on the roots or grey that some at home colors can do. It seems to start out very dark, though. To some, this can be discouraging or alarming. However, it is not a bad darker, it is actually a pretty darker. And you have to take in to account that lighting sometimes doesn't show what others see. And, after a wash or two, it lightens up nicely. I am switching back to this color next week. But I highly recommend it to those with fair skin that went grey sooner than they would have liked and want a pretty chocolate brown shade. I always get tons of compliments on my hair with this shade. Even after I first do it and it seems to be really dark!

BrandyW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 600 total reviews
1-20 of 600 reviews